Vendor Reviews for Home Warranty Companies

Are you a home service contractor or a real estate sales professional? Have you worked with any of the home warranty companies listed with us? If so, then we would love to hear what you have to say!

This page is dedicated to testimonials from contractors, service vendors and realtors. From good reviews to complaints and grievances, you can voice them all here. We believe that actual accounts from customers and service vendors help our readers the best, so your words are more than welcome!

While writing a review, kindly refrain from using harsh language. Some incidents may be frustrating, we understand that, but other readers may not take your review seriously if the language used is offensive. Try to report the incident with as much clarity and detail as possible. We also request that you avoid misrepresenting facts at any cost.

138 Responses

  • Clay Olson 03/13/12, 6:32 am

    I am actually a repair person who has been contracted on several occasion with sensible home warranty. On both occasions I was called and e-mail customer information within 24-48 hours of customer complaint of issue which is good. I set up appointments to go to diagnose the problems with the appliances which was same day and then went to step 3 of calling SHW to get authorization for repair and to find out if repairs were covered or not. First repair I did for them in Sept 2011 on a fridge for one of their customers they said was not covered but after the customer called them they got back to me with an authorization number and said it would be covered anyway so I ordered the part factory order and was out a couple weeks later to complete the repair. Customer paid me the deductible for the repair and I submitted the invoice for remaining balance by fax in early Oct 2011. After a month or so with no payment I called their answering service and left several messages with my name and company job number auth number and so on with no response. I went to the website and found that to submit a claim I could scan and e-mail the invoice to the accounts payable department which I did along with a message that I had already submitted the invoice a month prior with no response so I was re-submitting it via e-mail. After another month I was was called by them with another job to do and even after still receiving no payment from first job I regretfully took that job and completed it end of Dec 2011. I then scanned and e-mailed both invoices to the company explaining I was re-submitting the first invoice again since I still had not received payment. I called SHW a few days later and actually talked to someone that wasn’t an answering service and they confirmed they had received the e-mail copies of the invoices but could only read the amount due on the first one and the scan had cut off the part of the invoice that showed the amound due on the second. I checked the scan picture to verify this and the invoice in question was actually on the first half of the scan and all the information was visible, but I sent them another scan anyway. I finally took to calling my first customer from Sept 2011 in Jan to see if they would have anymore luck getting a positive response from them and they called me back to say that SHW said they would be sending me a check for the repair and to call them back if I didn’t receive it. It is now mid Mar 2012 and I have gotten no check for either job and don’t really expect to at this point. So I’m taking this as a $300 lesson and will not do any work for them in the future. On the upside it appears they are pretty good at getting their customers taken care of even if they have to prod them a bit to get them to authorize a repair but I suppose if they have no intension of paying the tech who actually performs the repair it doesn’t matter if they authorize repairs or not. SHW surprisingly still calls me on occasion with more jobs to do but I’m not willing to do work for free anymore.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • plumbco services 03/20/12, 6:25 am

    contracters, beware they will not pay for services rendard, contracter relation rep KEVEN WILLIAMS does not return phone call or emails, neather does account payable, BIG SHAM, i will be contacting theyre states attourney general as well as theyre local newws and the BBB, shame on you sensable home warranty for pretending to be a reputable company,

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Marie Lemert 03/20/12, 6:29 am

    I read quite a few ratings on this Sensible Home Warranty – The reviews that were good were from the home owners commenting on the technicians that ultimately showed up to their homes to repair items FOR Sensible Home Warranty. Those were mostly good reviews.
    The BAD reviews where from the actual CONTRACTORS that were called out by SHW to do the work. Most of them were complaints that THEY HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR THE SERVICE THAT THEY PROVIDED!!!!
    My company was ALSO called out to provide service for Sensible Home Warranty in 12/2011 – as of yet I HAVE NOT BEEN PAID AND THEY WILL NOT RESPOND TO E-MAILS AND PHONE CALLS – YOU CAN ONLY LEAVE A VOICE MAIL WITH ACCOUNTS PAYABLE.
    This is a horrible way for a business to act. Yes, their (some) customers are happy – the work is done – but why are contractors having this problem with getting paid for this work????????????

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Airotemp Heating & Cooling, LLC 03/20/12, 6:33 am

    We are a contractor, and have done the work for the customer. However Sensible Home Warranty has still yet to pay the bill that is well over 1 year past due. I have made over 30 phone calls, 12 faxes and 14 e-mail with a response the check is going out. Also phone calls never returned by Tiffany and or Kandis there. We were out there on the job for their customer within 48 hours, and completed the job. All paper work turned in, and completed back on November 11th, 2010 and we still have yet to get paid!

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Steve 03/26/12, 5:26 am

    hello.
    i have a garage door service business in sacramento ca.
    my company performed 2 work orders for sensible home warranty. both orders were not paid off by ‘sensible’ to date. they cant be reached by phone or emails despite all attempts. eventually we will have to get back to those poor customers and disassemble the electric door openers that were installed in their garages.
    in order to avoid such potential inconvenience on your side i would recommend to anyone NOT TO GET INVOLVED WITH ‘SENSIBLE HOME WARRANTY’

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Carl Snyder 03/28/12, 10:27 am

    DO NOT DO ANY WORK FOR THIS COMPANY, THEY DO NOT PAY. WE DID SERVICE IN SEPT. 2011. STILL NOT PAID. WILL NOT RETURN CALLS, EMAILS, OR FAXES. WORST COMPANY EVER.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • joe 04/02/12, 5:40 am

    contracters beware, they recruit you, they promise you the world, and then they screw you, you will never see the money they owe, its been 5 months for me, i already have a complaint in will theyre states attourney general, good luck

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • william 04/06/12, 4:11 pm

    BPG sends alot of work but they try to deny claims so its not really worth it. Work for AHS or FNHW, they honor claims and pay their bills. BPG checks come from ADP, kind of like payroll which tells me they are not financially sound. There reps at the CA office are reasonable but if you have to talk to someone in the main office in GA, forget about it. They are rude and think they own you. They need to work on their relationship skills if they want to keep contractors.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Charles Yingst 04/10/12, 9:05 am

    More of the same here! Appliance Repair in Kentucky Wont pay for the excellent service I provided to their customer on behalf of their company! No recourse for business to business claims except small claims court… who has the time or money for that. Attorney generals office cannot help even though this is clearly fraud! actual address of sensible home warranty is…
    1656 East 7th St.
    Brooklyn NY. 11230
    (718) 645-1600
    Do not Do Work For This Company You Will Not Get Payed!!
    Please send all your documentation concerning this companies’ fraudulent practices to the Brooklyn NY attorney generals office! (718) 722-3949
    55 Hanson Pl. Ste#1080
    Brooklyn NY. 11217
    Attn: Matthew Eubank

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Roland 04/11/12, 9:43 am

    summit invoice for payment on 1/20/2012 just talk with them today 4/11/2012 they said the check will be out on the 27. They told me the same last month. I send a bill to the home owner, let the home owner deal with them.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Nayda Easley 04/18/12, 12:24 pm

    I wish I would have read these reviews before we did any work for them. These people called us with a job. We called back with cost of job and got APPROVAL! Did job, sent invoice told we needed proof of insurance. Fine. Then they said we needed to add them as additional insured. We said NO WAY! it would cost about $100 and they should have told us that before they approved work. Then they said we needed to send our invoice showing the cost of what we paid for the pump. My husband told them it was none of there business. They approved the cost of invoice before we did the work and we’re very competitive with our prices. They said they would only pay $600. That’s $300-$400 less than amount they approved. We not only will not make any profit, but we actually lose money with the cost of labor, gas, and insurance. My huband finally agreed just to be done with them and salvage some cost, but after reading the complaints above, I’m not holding my breath for the check.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • tom 04/28/12, 9:37 am

    I have been a contractor for this company for the past 3 years in state of pa on eastern side and I would have to say that I have really never had a problem getting paid from this company and I always highly recommend this company to all my customers because of the economic situation this country is in. To me it is like car insurance you don’t always use it but when you need to your glad you have. I have done many heating system replacements and a/c replacments for them and have made far more successful repairs. They have asked me to become a uni price technician but I declined and chose to stay a bid contractor. I feel I can offer there customers far better service as a bid contractor because I can diag and make repairs necessary. This company had never once treated me like they own me they have made suggestions for me to be able to recieve more work from them. Some I take some I don’t. A lot of there customers still call me outside of there coverage for p/m work because I help them understand that if I do work for them to maintain there system I make sure I let first am know I have done this work and it I believe helps first am make harder decisions like system replacement easier when needed. My recommendation to any contractor is build a repor with this company and always start as a bid tech at a fair labor rate give there customers the same satisfaction you would give your own customers and first am will keep you busy.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Noorul M. Hamid 04/30/12, 1:23 pm

    Sensible Home Warranty is the worst company to work for, they are liars and thieves. We have worked for them since November of 2011 till now and we still haven’t been paid. They owe my company Air Express Appliance at least $10,000 for parts, labor, and traveling fees. It is impossible to get a hold of the people who are in charge of payment, they are a disgrace for a professional business. They are not trust worthy at all and apparently have fake names so you don’t know who it is your speaking to. They keep sending us calls expecting us to repair the problem with no pay! We asked them to stop and they still try to make you us go to there jobs. They are unbelievable and I don’t understand how they are still a running business. PLEASE GET TOGETHER AND FIND A WAY TO GET OUR MONEY FROM THEM. PLEASE CALL ME I AM ABOUT TO TALK WITH ATTORNEY GENERAL OFFICE IN NV THEY WILL HELP US OUT TO GET PAID. PLEASE CALL ME AT 703-971-6576

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Paul 05/02/12, 11:45 am

    Please report Sensible Home Warranty to http://www.classlawsuit.com/report-a-fraud/

    To all my fellows service technicians of all trades. To all home owners using or thinking of using Sensible Home Warranty-BEWARE FOR SCAM!!! There is a big possibility that Sensible Home Warranty will not pay for your service. I am an electrical contractor from Los Angeles and I did electrical jobs for them on 09/22/2011 after their authorization for the jobs- AU 7465 DW (without this authorization they told me “you are not going to get paid”) On the very next day September 23th 2011 I did fax and email my invoice to their account payable department. After a month for not being paid I tried to reach someone at 1-866-959-2212 ex 206(account payable phone) and asked when I am going to get my money? Unfortunately there wasn’t any human being to speak with. Just robotic voice message. After leaving more than 15 telephone messages and emails to them and conversations with people from other departments (with empty promises that they will pass my information to account payable department and they will call me back) finally I am sick and tired.
    To all service technicians of all trades BEWARE. To all home owners using or thinking of using Sensible Home Warranty stay away from this company! Never Ever respond to jobs handled by Sensible Home Warranty! This Scam can cost your money, time and labor in a long term!
    And to all you people if your service company is not getting paid what kind of service do you expect to get?! As well there is a possibility that someone can put a lien on your property and you don’t want to end up at court. So BEWARE!

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • michael 05/03/12, 10:25 am

    iv worked for ahs for a year and 3 mouths and have a contract with then. there are no vendors out where i live but me. the next vendor is 65 to 100 miles away so im it. my rep last mouth shut down my email call and told me if i did not work with her on my cost then no more work. i had all ther cliants here happy and befour me it was a mess and when she did that is now a mess all over. she said she has other vendors to come out here for less and thats a lie nobody will come here for what thay pay.she said i was 50% higher and thats anouther lie. as of last week she told me that if i can not lower my cost she will close my acount. im not even chargeing then what my cotract cost is. nobody is getting service now and thay breached my contract. monday she called me a siaid that she would put me back on but she still wants lower cost and told me thay need me so i can get to there client faster. but sill said we have vendos reddy to do it . they have jerked me around and now is say the day. thay do not care about clients or vendors just money. i did nothing rong and look what thay have done to me. i gess a signed contract means nouthing to the but if you mess up thay can hammer you

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • KEITH 05/16/12, 4:38 pm

    I HAVE WORKED FOR NUMEROUS HOME WARRANTY CO. FOR OVER TEN YEARS AND NEVER DELT W/ ANY COMPANY THAT WOULD NOT EVEN CALL YOU BACK. SENSIBLE HOME WARRANTY WILL NOT LAST LONG IN THIS BUISNESS. BEWARE COMPANIES HAVE KNOWN TO CHANGE THIER NAMES ADDRESS ETC. IF THEY DONT OFFER A CONTRACT DONT WORK FOR THEM. THAT WAS MY FIRST CLUE TO BE WEARY.IM ONLY OUT 1 FAN MOTOR AND THATS ALL THE WILL GET FROM ME.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Debbie Drifka 06/05/12, 10:37 am

    This company is the most unprofessional company we have ever delt with. We have unpaid invoiced dated back to 12/31/2010. We have mailed, emailed faxed these invoices on several different occasions. We have called and left messages and have never had a call back or a returned email. Do not do any work for this company unless you would like to work for free.

    I am going to contact all their homeowners to see if they can get any response back. I could go on and on but I have wasted way to much time with this company.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Michael 06/11/12, 2:59 pm

    Sensible Home Warranty are crooks. I am a customer of theirs. They told me if I paid for the repair they would reimburse me. The check was supposedly sent out 2 months ago. Then one month a go. Then 3 weeks ago. Then 2 weeks ago. Now a wire transfer was suppose to be done beginning of last week…Somthing has to be done about these thieves!!!

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Michelle Jones 06/11/12, 6:15 pm

    THIS COMPANY SUCKS! PLEASE DONT BE FOOLED BY MR WILLIAMS ON THE TELEPHONE. MY HVAC UNIT WASNT WORKING PROPERLY AND I CALLED AND ALL I GOT WAS ‘WE WILL GIVE THE MESSAGE TO THE OFFICE AND HAVE A TECHNICHIAN COME OUT AS SOON AS POOSIBLE. I HAVENT HEARD A THING BUT WHEN I CALL THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER, YOU GET PUT ON HOLD. NO ONE HAS ANYTHING TO SAY ABOUT GETTING A REFUND EITEHR. PLEASE FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST THESE LOOSERS. I WISHH I’D STAYED WITH 2-10 HOME WARRANTY. THEY MIGHT HAVE BEEN PRICEY BUT THEY COME AND DO THE JOB THE SAME DAY OR WITH IN 24 HOURS. I’VE REPORTED THEM TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAURAU AS WELL.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Kendra Bennett 06/13/12, 3:09 pm

    DO NOT DO ANYTHING FOR THIS COMPANY!!!! YOU WILL NEVER GET PAID!!! OUR COMPANY IS IN NORTH CAROLINA. WE HAVE 2 WORK ORDERS OUT SINCE JANUARY, 2012 AND HAVE YET TO BE PAID
    YOU CALL AND EMAIL ACCOUNTS PAYABLE THEY NEVER RETURN CALLS. I GOT THEM TO RETURN A PHONE CALL AFTER WE WERE FORCED TO CALL THE HOME OWNERS TO INFORM THEM THAT THERE HOME WARRANTY COMPANY NEVER PAID US, THEY LIED GAVE ME A BOGUS CHECK NUMBER, SAYING PAYMENT WAS MAILED……THAT WAS 2 MONTHS AGO.

    YOU WILL NEVER GET PAID……
    I WISH I HAD LOOKED THEM UP BEFORE WE EVER DECIDED TO DO WORK FOR THEM

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Abraham 06/20/12, 10:25 am

    It is sickening that sensible home warranty would hold itself out to the public particularly contractors as a reputable company but does not hold its end of the contract. My company has been trying to get sensible to pay invoices that are 4months past the net30 days payment time frame. We are currently pursuing COLLECTIONS ACTIONS DIRECTLY FROM THE CUSTOMERS. So far out of an approximate $6000 worth of service payments due my company, they have only paid $1300. We are still pursuing collections on all unpaid invoices no matter the heart ache it causes the clients; they in turn can hold their warranty company responsible. I STRONGLY ADVISE ANY INTENDING CONTRACTOR TO STEER CLEAR OF SENSIBLE HOME WARRANTY. I do not think they really exist! Cos once they send you a customer and authorization, to get to the accounts payable department would require hell to freeze before you reach them. I would also advise customers to seek other warranty companies; because if the company is not paying contractors, you (the customer) would have to come out of pocket for any payments due.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Abraham 06/20/12, 10:32 am

    This warranty company is a fake and DOES NOT PAY CONTRACTORS. I am pursuing COLLECTIONS ACTIONS DIRECTLY AGAINT THEIR CUSTOMERS. This made them cough out $1005 from a $6000 payment past the net 30day payment time frame. We are aggressively continuing to pursue collections no matter how angry their clients get; the clients can pursue collecting their money directly from the warranty company. I advise all contractors to STEER CLEAR OF THIS SENSIBLE FOLKS, THEY R NOT SENSIBLE! And if they still owe you PURSUS COLLECTIONS DIRECTLY FROM THEIR CLIENTS, DONT BE AFRAID TO DO SO OR YOU RISK GOING OUT OF BUSINESS. And sensible does not care if you are out of business! They have proved it by not paying and you can imagine all the parts purchased on credit from your own vendors.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • Marcos 07/05/12, 1:25 pm

    I’m also a contractor here in Florida,
    they own me more than 1,000.00… has been 4 months already and nothing.
    I wished I could have read this reviews first, I’m already filling a complaint against that fake company for a Government investigation.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • sandea 07/06/12, 3:45 pm

    GLACIER HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING HAS HAD THREE DIFFERENT WORK ORDERS AND AUTHORIZATIONS , OF WHICH WE PROMPLY WENT TO THE HOME OWNERS AND FIXED AND REPAIRED
    THE PROBLEMS . THE FIRST INCIDENT WAS IN FEB OF 2012.WE NEVER RECIEVED PAYMENT.
    THAN WE ALSO HAVE TWO MORE THAT NEVER PAID . I HAVE CONTACTED JUST ABOUT EVERY ONE
    IN ACCOUNTS PAYABLE,BUT NEVER GETTING NOWHERE. THAN I FINALLY GOT TONY AND HE PROMISED TO PAY HALF AND THAN IN ACOUPLE OF WEEKS THE OTHER HALF….. A MONTH HAS PASSED AND STILL NO PAYMENT. NOW THEY ARE TRYING TO GET US TO DO SOME MORE WORK. THINKING WE ARE STUPID ENOUGH TO DO SO.SURE THEY GET PAID FROM THE HOME OWNERS BUT REFUSE TO PAY THE CONTRACTORS, AS I NOTICES WE ARE NOT THE ONLY ONES UNPAID.. HOPE ALL THE CONTRACTORS THEY HAVENT USED WILL FIND OUT THEY DONT PAY BEFORE THEY DO THE WORK.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
  • tom 07/09/12, 5:08 pm

    This co is a “POS” aka piece of shit. They do not pay contractors and try to get contractor to do several jobs ( to keep the total amout due to a point where the contractor won’t bother suing them as it not being worth the trouble.They then seel out more contractors… this goes on and on.

     Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  

Post your comments