Affordable Home Protection Services (AHPS)

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Affordable Home Protection Services (AHPS)

Affordable Home Protection Services (AHPS)

Overall Rating: Not Available Why?
Total Reviews: 8
Total Quotes : 3
Premium $350-495
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or 30 days from...
Years In Business 2016
BBB Rating
Complaint Resolution
Offers Online Claims
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

Warning: This company has gone out of business

30 day minimum guarantee on all parts and labor.

Reviews & Ratings

Austin - TX 05-31-2013
Carrie Lacy,Austin TX
Posted On 05/31/13
Review No. 58960
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a SCAM. We purchased a home in August of 2012 that had a 'premium' home warranty with AHPS for 13 months (covering all utilities and appliances until september of 2013).

Our air conditioner unit broke in May of 2013. We had someone from Stan's come out and do an extensive leak test, discovering that there was a leak in the coil which would cost $2100 to repair. After we had their estimate and they refilled the refrigerent, we remembered that there was a warranty on the system and we called AHPS. The receptionist told me that because Stan's was already there, it is no longer covered but she would make an exception this one time and send out a technician for a $60 charge. A technician from Affordable AC and Plumbing came out and stated the refrigerent was low - (indicating that there was indeed a leak). However, when I asked if there was a leak, the technician told me that he did a leak test and there was not a leak but rather the system was too small for our home (also untrue) and should be replaced for $7-10K. He stated that this was not covered by our warranty.

I called AHPS to allow them the opportunity to do the right thing. The receptionist again told me that she could send out another technician for an additional $60 charge but that it would be several days before one could get out to us. She also stated that the leak test would cost us an additional $129 (again proving that the first guy lied to my face when he told me that he did a leak test and the system was not leaking). Even though she KNEW that I knew what the problem was, she was not willing to admit to any fault.

I would rather spend $2100 on a problem that should be covered by this warranty than work with unhonest people. That should tell you how ridiculous my experience with this company has been. view less
This company is a SCAM. We purchased a home in August of 2012 that had a 'premium' home warranty with AHPS for 13 months (covering all utilities and appliances until september of 2013).

Our air conditioner unit broke in May of 2013. We had someone from Stan's come out and do an extensive leak test, discovering that there was a leak in the coil which would cost $2100 to
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 58960
Austin - TX 03-21-2013
Brenda Dexter,Austin TX
Posted On 03/21/13
Review No. 54997
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Wow I wished I'd of had time to research this company before my closing where there was extra money so my realtor recommended this company highly. They will not send anyone out unless the item is completely broken. I've now paid for a new stove and I will shortly be paying for my own AC replacement. When I needed a plumber they told me it wasn't covered. When my stove didn't work, they felt that slamming the door to get it to work was "still working". Wonder if my realtor gets kick backs for paying premiums on a policy that no one will ever be able to use. Ummmmmmmm insurance companies they always find a way to come out on top. view less
Wow I wished I'd of had time to research this company before my closing where there was extra money so my realtor recommended this company highly. They will not send anyone out unless the item is completely broken. I've now paid for a new stove and I will shortly be paying for my own AC replacement. When I needed a plumber they told me it wasn't covered. When my stove didn't work, they
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 54997
Dallas - TX 03-07-2013
Pavitra,Dallas TX
Posted On 03/07/13
Review No. 54143
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Avoid AHPS like the plague! We had a major malfunction occur with an appliance that caused damage to our house. It resulted in pain and suffering for me and my family. AHPS told us several times "That's not our problem" and is refusing to cover the costs, even after seeing pictures of the damage. We had to pay the contractor who finally fixed the problem out of pocket and even the contractor thinks they should pony up. We plan to hold them accountable by any means necessary. view less
Avoid AHPS like the plague! We had a major malfunction occur with an appliance that caused damage to our house. It resulted in pain and suffering for me and my family. AHPS told us several times "That's not our problem" and is refusing to cover the costs, even after seeing pictures of the damage. We had to pay the contractor who finally fixed the problem out of pocket and even the contractor
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 54143
Temple - TX 01-28-2013
Matt,Temple TX
Posted On 01/28/13
Review No. 51934
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I recommend selecting a different warranty/company. I was charged the service fee for air conditioning repair and had to arrange my own service since I am out of area. I was advised to fax the receipt. After 2 months of no reimbursement, I contacted the company and was advised that the check was being mailed out. The check never came. I attempted to talk to someone at AHPS regarding the matter but was only forwarded to voicemail with no return calls and emails without replies. As of now, I am out a service fee to AHPS and have yet received reimbursement for the repairs. view less
I recommend selecting a different warranty/company. I was charged the service fee for air conditioning repair and had to arrange my own service since I am out of area. I was advised to fax the receipt. After 2 months of no reimbursement, I contacted the company and was advised that the check was being mailed out. The check never came. I attempted to talk to someone at AHPS regarding the matter
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 51934
Little Elm - TX 08-21-2012
Chelsie,Little Elm TX
Posted On 08/21/12
Review No. 39824
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
AHPS recently bought Everything Residential and I called to renew my warranty when AHPS sent me a letter in which I could call or mail a renewal amount of $295. When I called they told me that their price is $350 and they no longer have my package that I had with Everything Residential. Sounds like a bait and switch scheme when I told this to the lady she responded it was their mistake and she apologized when I asked since it was their mistake could I have their package they were offering at $350 at $295 she said no. When I told her that's fine I'll find another company that honors their prices she said fine. There was no offer to speak with a manager or anything she was willing to just let a customer go. I will be contacting a lawyer and better business bureau on their bait and switch scheme and will consider my self lucky not to have felt with a claim with them. I"m wondering how much they would have told me my deductible was, but actually charged me. view less
AHPS recently bought Everything Residential and I called to renew my warranty when AHPS sent me a letter in which I could call or mail a renewal amount of $295. When I called they told me that their price is $350 and they no longer have my package that I had with Everything Residential. Sounds like a bait and switch scheme when I told this to the lady she responded it was their mistake and she
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 39824
Plano - TX 07-22-2012
Chad,Plano TX
Posted On 07/22/12
Review No. 38326
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
WOW! Terrible company. Brice Craig and his wife Jen are in the business or ripping people and contractors off. He will not pay your contractors and will get you involved in serious collection efforts. Contractors liens are being filed in the Plano area due to non payment but this worthless company. Contractors run. He will make it sound good and then get deep in your pocket and jump out and then stop calling you back. He pays on some small invoices and then screws you on the larger ones. Customers you will end up paying for a contract that holds no water and then end up paying the contractor to keep your home from lien action. Just not worth it. view less
WOW! Terrible company. Brice Craig and his wife Jen are in the business or ripping people and contractors off. He will not pay your contractors and will get you involved in serious collection efforts. Contractors liens are being filed in the Plano area due to non payment but this worthless company. Contractors run. He will make it sound good and then get deep in your pocket and jump out and
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 38326
Cibolo - TX 06-18-2012
Lin Trepagnier,Cibolo TX
Posted On 06/18/12
Review No. 33407
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Buyer's beware of purchasing a warranty from this company.

I called in my A/C unit (9yrs old) not working correctly in May of 2012. The temperature in my home was 80 degrees at the time even though the thermostat was set at 75.

An A/C technician was dispatched to my home, took 1 1/2 weeks for a technician to show up. Diagnosis--needed to have a component (compressor regulator) replaced to allow efficient cooling.

AHPS would not replace the part because they said it was partially working and the part needed to be broken. I explained to them the A/C unit is not working properly.

In the meantime due to the unit not working efficiently the fan motor stopped working. AHPS sent out a technician to repair & charged me another deductible because it was a different component.

Fan was installed but A/C unit was still not working (by now June, Hot & temperature above 80 degress in my home). A/C in Texas is a must.

I called/emailed AHPS and told them the A/C unit was still not fixed and said if they did not fix it I had no other option but to file a complaint with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) & the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Contract does not say components for the A/C unit must be broken but not operating efficiently. I have 3 children living in the home with me, unacceptable.

AHPS finally agreed to pay for the faulty component which finally broke. A/C working now however took over 1 1/2 months to fix, the component to finally break & haggling with the warranty company before they would repair. This company only deals with mom & pop businesses with unflexible hours (i.e. 9-5). Can be a hassle if you work and unable to continually get time off to wait on a technician.

Highly recommend searching other options before choosing AHPS. view less
Buyer's beware of purchasing a warranty from this company.

I called in my A/C unit (9yrs old) not working correctly in May of 2012. The temperature in my home was 80 degrees at the time even though the thermostat was set at 75.

An A/C technician was dispatched to my home, took 1 1/2 weeks for a technician to show up. Diagnosis--needed to have a component
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 33407
Wylie - TX 05-14-2012
Scott Moore,Wylie TX
Posted On 05/14/12
Review No. 30987
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I gave this company a low rating for very valid reasons, and not just a rant and rave to make me feel better, or have them look bad. It's my intent to simply explain my experience, so that potential customers of AHPS can be more well informed.

We had a home warranty plan through another company, whom AHPS bought-out in the middle of our coverage. in March, I noticed a leak under our sink, either coming from the dishwasher or plumbing leading to it. I called AHPS to report the problem and have someone come and fix it. They contacted one of their trusted repair services who, they said would call me back that day to arrange an appointment. I never heard from the repair provider, until I called AHPS the next day and got their number. The repairman only had 9-5 hours and did not work weekends, making it very difficult with our own work schedule. AHPS contacted another one of their 'trusted' repair shops, who they said again, would contact me that day. They did not, so I called them to arrange an appointment. The next day after the call, I got a call from the repair provider who said they not longer do business with AHPS because of a history of non-payment from AHPS. I called AHPS and told them I wanted their permission for me to find a repairman on my own, since their options had not worked out, and have them fully reimburse me. They said they wanted to try another one of their trusted repair shops. This time it turned out to be the first shop they contacted, who we were able to make arrangements with to come out.

The repairman identified the problem as leaky plumbing, and not a leaky dishwasher. Since he was a dishwasher repairman, he could not fix the problem. He and I contacted AHPS to inform them of the issue, and to have a plumber come out. After several days of voicemails, and no returned calls, AHPS finally contacted me with one of their 'trusted' plumbers, who would call me that day to arrange an appointment. Never received a call, so I contacted AHPS to get another plumber. They contacted another 'trusted' plumber who actually called me. We arranged an appointment on a Friday, which required me to take time off from work. He never showed, or called to cancel. I called AHPS, left several voicemails. I finally got a call back several days later. I again, told them I wanted them to reimburse me for a plumber I found. They agreed. My plumber showed up the next day, and fixed the problem. I paid for the repair in full, as well as the $50 service call AHPS charges for both the dishwasher repairman, AND the plumber. $100 total in service call fees.

I contacted AHPS to file the receipts for reimbursement. They said I could scan and email it in. Which I did. I received a call back about 3 days later asking if I had sent it my receipt, which I told them I had. I called several times over the next few days trying to get confirmation that they had received it. I resent the email and receipt. I never received any 'bad address' bouncebacks, so I know it went through to the intended address. 3 weeks later, no returned calls ro emails I decided to call the Better Business Bureau to resolve this issue. A few days later, I get a call from AHPS asking if I could resend the receipt. AHPS said that it would take 30 days from the time they receive it to when I could expect reimbursement. I asked that they would rush it through, since I had sent it almost 30 days prior. They said they would see what they could do, and possibly put a rush on payment. They also said they could not reimburse me for 1 of the $50 service call fees. They said they could not, because they have to pay the repair shops for both calls. My claim is that it was their decision to initially send the dishwasher repairman, and that after all the issues I went through trying to get them to honor the warranty and provide even the most basic service, they should refund one of the fees. They said they could not. It's not worth the headache, so I gave up on that part.

Overall, I honestly cannot recommend this company as a home warranty provider in any way. Our previous home warranty was prompt, available and very service-orientated. AHPS had several opportunities over the course of 2 months to resolve the issues. They continually failed to act, provide legitimate options or even communicate. This home warranty company is not worth the risk. view less
I gave this company a low rating for very valid reasons, and not just a rant and rave to make me feel better, or have them look bad. It's my intent to simply explain my experience, so that potential customers of AHPS can be more well informed.

We had a home warranty plan through another company, whom AHPS bought-out in the middle of our coverage. in March, I noticed a leak under
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 30987
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact ahpshomewarranty.com directly.