Home Protect Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Home Protect Home Warranty

Home Protect Home Warranty
Customer Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.5 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 38
Total Quotes : 7
Premium $497
Deductible $100
Effective Closing or 30 days from...
Years In Business 2016
BBB Rating
Complaint Resolution
Offers Online Claims
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

This brand is now part of Total Protect. CCHS is no longer promoting this brand.

Home Protect Home Warranty is a wholly owned subsidiary company of the Cross County Home Services Inc, and have been providing home warranty solutions since 1980s. CCHS claims that their company is dedicated to making home ownership easy and cost-effective.

CCHS is a member of many reputable organizations such as CXPA, DMA and SFIMA. The company is headquartered in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

The company has a 24/7 customer service facility that takes complaints round the clock. The company does not place a restriction on the number of times you can report an issue in a year. Yet another feature is that Home Protect provides a 6-month workmanship guarantee to all repairs they perform. The company also claims that their service professionals are highly experienced and qualified.

The website of Home Protect Home Warranty hosts limited yet all the basic required information about the company. Facilities for renewing existing plans, placing service requests, live demo of the functioning of a warranty plan etc can be found online. There is also an extensive FAQ section to address the common concerns of customers.
 

Details of plans and their pricing is currently unavailable. However, it is known that all major systems and appliances are covered by the warrant plans offered by Home Protect. Coverage can also be extended by picking items from as select list of appliances/ systems.
 

Reviews & Ratings

Laveen - AZ 08-17-2016
Shiraj Mamun,Laveen AZ
Posted On 08/17/16
Review No. 105027
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
In the heat of summer AC broke. Service failed to show up for 3 days. Company wont assign another vendor until the 4th days. I guess they do not realize how hot is 110F is without the AC not working with small children at home or they do not care.
# 105027
Boynton Beach - FL 08-02-2016
Brittany Burns,Boynton Beach FL
Posted On 08/02/16
Review No. 104406
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
After being on hold for more than an hour each time, I have had two agents hang up on me. One last night at least lied and said the call dropped but attempted to call back. This guy today hung up on me and I had to wait additional 30 minutes for another agent. I'm veru upset because it's never a smooth process with this company I've paid every month for 5 years. They don't attempt to get 24 hour service companies in their cirlce of chosen contractors. I'm stuck either paying out of pocket again and not being repaid or waiting until morning to call and be placed on hold for more than an hour, all while my floor is destroyed along with 15 towels. view less
After being on hold for more than an hour each time, I have had two agents hang up on me. One last night at least lied and said the call dropped but attempted to call back. This guy today hung up on me and I had to wait additional 30 minutes for another agent. I'm veru upset because it's never a smooth process with this company I've paid every month for 5 years. They don't attempt to get 24
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104406
Naples - FL 02-05-2016
David Brown,Naples FL
Posted On 02/05/16
Review No. 97297
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
No Company could provide any worst customer service. My claim was submitted July 13, 2015 and it has been a TOTAL disaster since. My claim was elevated months ago and I call and leave messages and they will not return my call. They have changed claim representatives three times. I sent the president Ms. Sandra Finn a very nice letter explaining everything in detail. I have never heard from her.
I highly recommend no one use this Company. view less
No Company could provide any worst customer service. My claim was submitted July 13, 2015 and it has been a TOTAL disaster since. My claim was elevated months ago and I call and leave messages and they will not return my call. They have changed claim representatives three times. I sent the president Ms. Sandra Finn a very nice letter explaining everything in detail. I have never heard from
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 97297
rhonert park - CA 01-10-2016
kevin crowell,rhonert park CA
Posted On 01/10/16
Review No. 96385
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I thought getting the best coverage package would protect me from any problems that may arise! But! I purchased the home warranty and then had my heater fail 4 days after my plan went into effect even though my heater was perfect for 20 years they denied my claim saying it was preexisting ! This is not possible the relay switch was in perfect running order prior! Two yes 2 different technicians said the same thing! Is a simple replacement but due to the age of the heater its not available! Now of course they don't want to pay a penny!!
Does anyone have an attorney to help me with this claim!
In addition to this they kept telling me they would call me and let me know the answer if it would be covered! More than a week passed with no heat and still no call! Finally i called and got the above answer! WOW! This is premium coverage!?? How are they still in business! view less
I thought getting the best coverage package would protect me from any problems that may arise! But! I purchased the home warranty and then had my heater fail 4 days after my plan went into effect even though my heater was perfect for 20 years they denied my claim saying it was preexisting ! This is not possible the relay switch was in perfect running order prior! Two yes 2 different
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 96385
THEODORE - AL 06-15-2015
E. Meyer,THEODORE AL
Posted On 06/15/15
Review No. 88303
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Reported claim on the 11th after placing 6 phone calls. After holding for about 10 minutes, the call is disconnected. Website for claims is not up nor has it been up since the 11th. Called on the 14th to check on status of claim. Told another 6 or 7 calls to connect with someone. They are looking for someone in my area. They will get back with me in a day or two. Now it is the 15th and no idea when they will be able to schedule someone to look at the dishwasher. On hold they offer a chance to use the automated system which just throws you back to hold waiting for someone to answer. Today I have called 16 times and have not been able to talk to anyone. I just I should be thankful it was the dishwasher and not air conditioner, refrigerator, wiring or plumbing issues. view less
Reported claim on the 11th after placing 6 phone calls. After holding for about 10 minutes, the call is disconnected. Website for claims is not up nor has it been up since the 11th. Called on the 14th to check on status of claim. Told another 6 or 7 calls to connect with someone. They are looking for someone in my area. They will get back with me in a day or two. Now it is the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 88303
glendale - AZ 06-14-2015
jesus lizarraga,glendale AZ
Posted On 06/14/15
Review No. 88254
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
I for the most part have been content with my home warranty and have not had many problems. the things I hope they do fix are the companies they contract some do a really poor effort and can try to be deceiving but I am to smart to fall for their actions. Everything I have ever need fixed got fixed, make sure you guys read your contract it is very important to know what is covered and what is not. oh yeah please fix the customer service response time it takes so long to get through. view less
I for the most part have been content with my home warranty and have not had many problems. the things I hope they do fix are the companies they contract some do a really poor effort and can try to be deceiving but I am to smart to fall for their actions. Everything I have ever need fixed got fixed, make sure you guys read your contract it is very important to know what is covered and what is
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 88254
Sparks - NV 06-12-2015
Gabe,Sparks NV
Posted On 06/12/15
Review No. 88212
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This warranty is HORRIBLE!!!! We cant get a hold of any live agent, they put you on hold and after 10 minutes they hang up. The technician showed up to our house but cant do anything because they need aprroval from the warranty. This is the WORSE company EVER!!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 88212
Malden - MA 04-27-2015
Stefanie Alberto,Malden MA
Posted On 04/27/15
Review No. 86792
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have had nothing but good experiences with Home Protect Home Warranty. I have an old house, and for the last two years I have made about 2 to 3 claims per year, the total value of which has exceeded the amount I paid in premiums. I love that I can call day or night and I will receive prompt, courteous service. The peace of mind I have because of this policy is priceless. I never worry about things breaking in my house. I don't worry about repair costs. I highly recommend Home Protect Home Warranty. view less
I have had nothing but good experiences with Home Protect Home Warranty. I have an old house, and for the last two years I have made about 2 to 3 claims per year, the total value of which has exceeded the amount I paid in premiums. I love that I can call day or night and I will receive prompt, courteous service. The peace of mind I have because of this policy is priceless. I never worry about
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 86792
Virginia Beach - VA 11-26-2014
Ralph Lugo,Virginia Beach VA
Posted On 11/26/14
Review No. 81658
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Poor customer service and coverage - After having a policy for going on 3 years I had an issue with my washer so I called in a claim. The repair people come out collect the $65.00 deductible and changed some parts out. They said that they needed to order some other part and would come back out to fix it. I was not given any paper work or informed that I have to pay for the part and labor to fix the rest of the problems. I had to contact Home Protect and Superior Appliances to see when they would complete the work. I was informed that I had to prepay for the part and pay another $50.00 to have it in stalled. That means that I just paid $194.00 to have my washer repaired. I think most people can do the math and see that I could have bought 3 or 4 washers with money I spent on the warranty and repairs and the washer is not fixed. view less
Poor customer service and coverage - After having a policy for going on 3 years I had an issue with my washer so I called in a claim. The repair people come out collect the $65.00 deductible and changed some parts out. They said that they needed to order some other part and would come back out to fix it. I was not given any paper work or informed that I have to pay for the part and labor to
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 81658
Fresno - CA 09-04-2014
Michelle Roehlk,Fresno CA
Posted On 09/04/14
Review No. 78414
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
First I would have given them no stars but that was not an option. This has been the worst experience. My breaker blew on Friday night and I was able to get someone out to inspect it on Saturday. I was told they would have to order the parts and since it was Labor Day weekend I would not hear from them until Tuesday. I called Tuesday asking for a status update as I cannot live in my condo while it does not have power and was told to call my warranty company because they were only going to cover some of the expenses. I had to contact them to get this information. Then I was given a laundry list of things that would not be covered and had to request an itemized list which I was initially told they could not email because of their firewall but that I could write them down. After explaining that I was going to need a list from them I was told I would get that sent from a manager. Two days later and I have still not received anything so I called again to see the status of my claim and was told that they are sending me one, now they can email I guess, and it will take 24-48 hours. It has been a full week and I still do not know what it is I am being charged for and still do not have power to my condo. I do not recommend this warranty company to anyone! Horrible customer services when they actually have to fix something and good luck getting an itemized list of what services are being performed and what is not covered! view less
First I would have given them no stars but that was not an option. This has been the worst experience. My breaker blew on Friday night and I was able to get someone out to inspect it on Saturday. I was told they would have to order the parts and since it was Labor Day weekend I would not hear from them until Tuesday. I called Tuesday asking for a status update as I cannot live in my condo
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 78414
Salisbury - MD 07-11-2014
John Mackes,Salisbury MD
Posted On 07/11/14
Review No. 75243
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
There's a lot of negative reviews here for home protect but I've generally had good experiences with them. Like a lot of other people on here I purchased a foreclosure and received a 2 year warranty with it. We had some minor issues with our AC unit (blew a fuse, maybe something else small?) and we had quick service both times. I let the contract lapse after the two years, but I knew that I had an option to re-sign up within a year of it expiring. After about 6-8 months I decided to call up and see about signing up. At that point home protect informed me that my deductible would be going down (from $100 per call to $65), that the monthly fee would be lower (I don't know what it was originally as it was paid for, but I believe it was in the range of $50 per month, and I currently pay $42.95), and that now they would cover 2 AC units instead of just the one (which was great because I have 2 AC units and they are both as old as the house, around 25 years). Since I've signed back up, my water heater leaked and had to be replaced, and I've just gotten the compressor replaced on one of my AC units. Aside from the wait for approval on both of the fairly large repairs, I am very satisfied with home protect. I think all in all I've come out ahead, since both of those services would have cost me at least $600 a piece. I did have to wait nearly a month for the AC unit, but home protect had it approved within a week or so of it being looked at, it was more problems with the contracted company not showing up when they were scheduled to (granted it is a crazy busy time right now, and we had AC upstairs so I didn't get too upset). We have an issue with the AC repair company not fully completing all the work I had asked for this last time, but I have no doubt that I can get that settled with them. All in all, I'm going to continue to keep my warranty, as it makes sense for me. Most of the appliances in my house are relatively old (getting to be around 10 years now, and the AC/blower units are around 23-25 years), so I know I'm going to have issues in the relatively near future. view less
There's a lot of negative reviews here for home protect but I've generally had good experiences with them. Like a lot of other people on here I purchased a foreclosure and received a 2 year warranty with it. We had some minor issues with our AC unit (blew a fuse, maybe something else small?) and we had quick service both times. I let the contract lapse after the two years, but I knew that I
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 75243
McKinney - TX 07-10-2014
Clay G,McKinney TX
Posted On 07/10/14
Review No. 75132
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We had a dishwasher go out on May 15, 2014. Caused a couple thousand dollars worth of damage in our kitchen i.e., sheetrock, mold, etc. This was the second claim filed on the same appliance within 5 months. Home protect would not replace the dishwasher ($450) but only send out repairman. Parts have allegedly been on backorder for some time now. It is July 10 and we still don't have a working dishwasher. Throughout this whole process, Home Protect did somehow manage to charge my bank account the full year's fees 3 different times, (twice within a 24hr period) even after repeatedly telling them I want to make monthly payments. I will be shopping around for a new Warranty company. view less
We had a dishwasher go out on May 15, 2014. Caused a couple thousand dollars worth of damage in our kitchen i.e., sheetrock, mold, etc. This was the second claim filed on the same appliance within 5 months. Home protect would not replace the dishwasher ($450) but only send out repairman. Parts have allegedly been on backorder for some time now. It is July 10 and we still don't have a
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 75132
thomaston - GA 07-05-2014
lisa storey,thomaston GA
Posted On 07/05/14
Review No. 74772
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have seen a lot of negative comments on here and it has made me a little worried about renewing my policy. A two year plan came with out house. Our central unit stopped working and we had completely forgotten about the warranty so we called a reputable company to come out and look at it. There was a $100 fee, which we paid, and we were going to discuss how to work in the cost of repairs when I remembered the warranty. Called and filed a claim, explained that we had already had someone look at it and paid them $100. This company was not on their list, but the agent was very nice and said she would see what she could do and call me back. She called and said the company we had already paid to look at it was going to do the repairs and the money we had already paid them was going to count as our deductible. Our warranty runs out this month, but last month the pump on our in-ground salt water pool went out, they sent out the best company that we have here to fix the problem. A new pump was installed and it was not a cheap pump but one of the top of the line pumps that we got. We have only had two claims in two years but have been very satisfied both times. They called to tell me my warranty was due to run out and asked about me renewing, they also sent a very detailed guide as to what is and is not covered on every product that we will have covered. view less
I have seen a lot of negative comments on here and it has made me a little worried about renewing my policy. A two year plan came with out house. Our central unit stopped working and we had completely forgotten about the warranty so we called a reputable company to come out and look at it. There was a $100 fee, which we paid, and we were going to discuss how to work in the cost of repairs when
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74772
Soddy Daisy - TN 05-30-2014
Tera Shaffer,Soddy Daisy TN
Posted On 05/30/14
Review No. 73483
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is NOT a reputable business! We bought an older home that was a foreclosure. In every front window of the house, it had a sign for a 2-year home warranty! This gave us peace of mind in buying an older home. Everything would be covered if something messed up, RIGHT???? WRONG!!!!! So here we sit, no air in our upstairs where our children's bedrooms are and if we use the heat, the carbonmonoxide could KILL our children! Thank you so much for that peace of mind. I sleep wonderfully at night now as a mother wondering what else could go wrong in our home that could be DEATH for our family when we were trying to provide a safe home for our children! Thank you so much for cheating me out of that peace of mind! view less
This is NOT a reputable business! We bought an older home that was a foreclosure. In every front window of the house, it had a sign for a 2-year home warranty! This gave us peace of mind in buying an older home. Everything would be covered if something messed up, RIGHT???? WRONG!!!!! So here we sit, no air in our upstairs where our children's bedrooms are and if we use the heat, the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73483
Birmingham - AL 05-28-2014
Chris cagle,Birmingham AL
Posted On 05/28/14
Review No. 73470
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible service all the way around. Felt cheated when my a/c broke. The one service company they sent took my deductible and ran. The repairs lasted 4 months and then when the unit broke they refused to fix it. Then the supervisor,Mark F, would never call me back.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73470
Pendergrass - GA 05-27-2014
Brett Skyles,Pendergrass GA
Posted On 05/27/14
Review No. 73428
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We were provided a Home Protect Warranty when we purchased a foreclosed property. The contract date specifies 05/25/2012 through 05/25/2014. However, we contacted the company on 05/25/2014 when our air condition failed. The company told us that the contract expired on 05/24/2014, which conflicts with the dates on our contract. After talking to several people and getting the run-around, I finally spoke with member services and they asked me to scan and email the contract to them. I did as they requested, and Mary (ref. # 4245) told me that my contract had a "typo" and that they would not honor it. I told her this was unacceptable and she referred me to her supervisor, Jason (ref. #1028) and was to transfer me to Jason. She disconnected me. When I call the number that Mary gave me I cannot reach Jason and the option for calling an extension is not there.
This is not the first problem that we have had with Home Protect Warranty. In June 2012 our cooktop ventilation system failed. We called in the claim, gave the model number and description of the ventilation system. They told us that we were expected to pay the deductible and sent Sears out to repair it. Parts had to be ordered, and they arrived via UPS a few days later. The Sears technician came back out to make the repair and then said the ventilation system was not covered. He did not refund our deductible. It took several months for Home Protect to refund my money.
To date, this company has never honored any contractual agreement. They are horrible! I plan to make a complaint with the BBB as well as contact my Congressman because the warranty was provided to us by the FHA as an incentive to purchase a foreclosure. I'm on the war path! This is completely unacceptable! Do not do business with these people! view less
We were provided a Home Protect Warranty when we purchased a foreclosed property. The contract date specifies 05/25/2012 through 05/25/2014. However, we contacted the company on 05/25/2014 when our air condition failed. The company told us that the contract expired on 05/24/2014, which conflicts with the dates on our contract. After talking to several people and getting the run-around, I
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73428
Greeneville - TN 05-21-2014
David McMahan,Greeneville TN
Posted On 05/21/14
Review No. 73351
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We had our air conditioning unit begin to freeze up and, on August 30, called Home Protect Home Warranty to "open a claim"/request a repair. They sent out a tech from Aaa Hvac Professionals Inc at (865)438-7097 and though it was not as timely as hoped in the heat, it is just warming up and understandable techs would be in demand. We paid our $65 deductible and the tech charged the unit with freon and noted that a switch was failing and needed to be replaced. Our unit was under warranty (BTW - same unit HPHW replaced 4 years ago that everyone who comes to house has said is too small for size of house and cheapest thing made and will break down - my friends are wise), so he said it should not be an issue and he would be back soon after working through HPHW and we should expect it to start freezing up again soon and have to shut it off. Two or three days later, the A/C unit started to click on and right back off, so we shut it off so it didn't burn up the motor and called the tech and he said not to run it any more that we were right it could burn up the unit and they would be out shortly as the piece was to be in from Carrier the next day. This is around 5/8. We then do not hear from AAA or HPHW for awhile. My wife calls after a few miserable nights and the woman who finally answers at AAA tells her two techs just quit, she doesn't know who was assigned to our service call, and she is trying to figure out where things are at. At this point, we are in contact with HPHW who call to ask how things are going - nice timing. Well HPHW calls AAA and then calls back and says that while they have had a heck of a time getting in touch with AAA, things are now figured out and it was all just a parts problem from Carrier and they will be out 5/15 and take care of it and HPHW will waive the recovery fee involved with the repair as a sign of goodwill. Well okay. So 5/15 comes - no AAA. We call HPHW, they say 5/16. 5/16 - no AAA. We call - parts issue, but Monday of course. Monday, 5/19 it will be Tuesday morning, 5/20 at 10:00am, so I cancel appointments and sit at the house - no AAA. We call, now 4:30p. AAA finally arrives and replaces the switch and lets us know how they have been there for us and I just provide southern charm and bite my tongue. Once the switch is "in" the tech comes in and says the compressor is blown with a shucky-darn smile and says he will have to get in touch with HPHW and see what can be done. Unbelievable, but things happen, yet here it comes... Home Protect Home Warranty calls and says that this was our fault as we let it run after he first charged it (note - he left it running when he departed) and now we will have to pay for a $75 recovery charge and then wait and see how long it takes the same incompetents to resolve this issue. Now I am just wondering if they screw it up again, will I have to pay another recovery charge? How many times am I going to pay for the combined incompetence of HomeProtect and AAA and how long will I wait in the summer heat as we are now at 22 days with no working unit. So today I will have to pay the $75 or suffer in the heat - do you think they ever lose these games - the only option is to go to arbitration in...Houston, TX. Really?? Would love to meet them in court and have the bright light of day shine on these unconscionable practices for all to see - can you say bad faith punitive damages... how about detrimental reliance and the ability to find a competent repair technician like you originally expected when the fail to come forward after three weeks and then start requiring you to pay for their incompetence... view less
We had our air conditioning unit begin to freeze up and, on August 30, called Home Protect Home Warranty to "open a claim"/request a repair. They sent out a tech from Aaa Hvac Professionals Inc at (865)438-7097 and though it was not as timely as hoped in the heat, it is just warming up and understandable techs would be in demand. We paid our $65 deductible and the tech charged the unit with
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73351
chattanooga - TN 03-10-2014
ron brown,chattanooga TN
Posted On 03/10/14
Review No. 72207
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company did not honor their contract. They refused to repair or replace my air-conditioning unit. The people were real nice as they took my money.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 72207
Atlanta - GA 01-23-2014
Ying,Atlanta GA
Posted On 01/23/14
Review No. 71557
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is a terrible company. My AC has been not working well since I bought the house with the two years warranty. Recently I got the time to contact this company and they sent a technician to my home to check. The technician wrote it down "the compressor need to be replaced" on my $100 deductible receipt but they called me after and said it is different thing. They said the data he gave me was not right since the out side temperature is 45 degree F. They sent the technician to my home and to test the wrong data and even dangerous to do the test but charged me $100 for it. They said the technician did mean "the compressor need to be replaced". However it is on my receipt. They do not cover any of the AC problems. I believed they do cover to replace the compressor but they denied the technician said so. After this I requested twice my coverage list but I have never got reply. I do not recommend any home owner to go to this company. Do not wast your money. view less
This is a terrible company. My AC has been not working well since I bought the house with the two years warranty. Recently I got the time to contact this company and they sent a technician to my home to check. The technician wrote it down "the compressor need to be replaced" on my $100 deductible receipt but they called me after and said it is different thing. They said the data he gave me was
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 71557
McBee - SC 10-07-2013
Rob Lawrence,McBee SC
Posted On 10/07/13
Review No. 69925
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Do NOT waste your money on this service; you will just be paying for frustration in monthly installments! We called them to repair the icemaker on our fridge, only to find out that "since it does not cool the food it is not a warrantied part." Customer service stated this was outlined in our agreement. Fair enough. But what about the fact that the techs left the water line leaking when they finished, where it was fine before they "repaired" things.

Dishwasher was no better. Customer service says the tech reported replacing a seized motor (which I don't believe they did) when this was not in fact the problem. The problem was a spray arm had dislodged....and my wife repaired it after studying online diagrams.

So in short, unless you want things to be worse than before you call, and you want your spouse to take a crash course in appliance repair, save your money and DO NOT use this rip off program. view less
Do NOT waste your money on this service; you will just be paying for frustration in monthly installments! We called them to repair the icemaker on our fridge, only to find out that "since it does not cool the food it is not a warrantied part." Customer service stated this was outlined in our agreement. Fair enough. But what about the fact that the techs left the water line leaking when
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 69925
Fairfax - VA 07-22-2013
Sam Rhodes,Fairfax VA
Posted On 07/22/13
Review No. 62756
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
DO NOT pay this company any money. EVER! They make it seem like they will protect you if something ever breaks, but they won't! I have called the EPA on them because their providers ignore problems like freon leaks. Most of their companies are awful, lie to your face because they don't want to do the job correctly, will let themselves into your home uninvited, and will never actually fix the problems. The company says they let you go out of network, but them make it so hard on the out of network companies that they eventually back out and refuse to work with them. The company refuses to let you talk to managers when they complain, they tell the companies not to do the real repairs (the companies have told me this), and the EPA even advised me not to work with home warranties as their repairs actually make systems run less efficiently and will cost me more money in the long run. I cannot advise potential customers enough, although hiring a company on your own to do a repair will cost $300-$400, that is far less than paying $100 deductibles every 6 months on top of the $500/year contract fee. I can promise you that the company will NEVER fully replace a system even though on paper they say how much you would save if they did. They refuse to even replace a leaking coil on my 16 year old r-22 system and will only top it off with more freon every year despite EPA regulations that ban knowingly leaking freon. Please just save your money and replace or repair systems on your own. I promise you will save more money in the long run! view less
DO NOT pay this company any money. EVER! They make it seem like they will protect you if something ever breaks, but they won't! I have called the EPA on them because their providers ignore problems like freon leaks. Most of their companies are awful, lie to your face because they don't want to do the job correctly, will let themselves into your home uninvited, and will never actually fix the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 62756
noblesville - IN 06-15-2013
Rebecca,noblesville IN
Posted On 06/15/13
Review No. 59698
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I have had 2 claims with this company. Shortly after I moved in, I was running washer and discovered when it drained, the whole entire bathroom flooded. About midnight I called warranty company and filed a claim via internet. They immediately gave me a number to call. I called the company and they came right out the next morning. They even called to make sure I had listed my problem as an emergency. Diagnosis: tree roots in sewer line out front. He did a little bit of cutting to see if he could work it out. He could not and tree roots are NOT covered under plan. (and in most cases really aren't) I did pay the 100.00 deductible as my plan states.

My second issue was just this week. My toilet base was leaking, slightly. I filed a claim online and then contacted the company they said to. Plumber came out and fixed my wax seal. (took about 3 total..) I didn't like it that he used my seal and two of his..and he seemed like a newby at plumbing..I offered my wax ring coz he didn't think he had another one..and I was afraid he would leave and want to come back next day, and I'd have to take off work etc.


I didn't have to pay the premium coz the Bank who owned my home, paid for it for the first year. (which will end this July)

I'm considering changing companies because the 100.00 deductible seems a bit much! view less
I have had 2 claims with this company. Shortly after I moved in, I was running washer and discovered when it drained, the whole entire bathroom flooded. About midnight I called warranty company and filed a claim via internet. They immediately gave me a number to call. I called the company and they came right out the next morning. They even called to make sure I had listed my problem as an
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 59698
Johns Creek - All 04-13-2013
Joe C. Sailor,Johns Creek All
Posted On 04/13/13
Review No. 56984
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repeated calls to customer service, nobody knows about claim status.
Contradicting answers from CSRs
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 56984
Hemet - CA 04-08-2013
Ariel Espinoza,Hemet CA
Posted On 04/08/13
Review No. 56718
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
LIARS, they are just after your money!!!
I clearly stated the problem I had. My water pressure was not working properly and the representative told me that it was not covered under he warranty. Instead of advising me to contract a plumer outside of the warranty, they still had a plumer come out. The plumer said that the problem I had was the water pressure, which I knew. He called the warranty company to see if it would cover the repair. Why would he call if he works for them?? He should know the policy to see what is and is not covered. Why waste my time?? On top of that he charged me $60 for the diagnosis. Which seems fair, it was his gas and time for coming out to check it out. He basically just came to collect my money!! I did not pay him , I talked to two people from the warranty to waive the charge but didnt work with me. view less
LIARS, they are just after your money!!!
I clearly stated the problem I had. My water pressure was not working properly and the representative told me that it was not covered under he warranty. Instead of advising me to contract a plumer outside of the warranty, they still had a plumer come out. The plumer said that the problem I had was the water pressure, which I knew. He called
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 56718
GILBERT - AZ 02-16-2013
HOWARD COOK,GILBERT AZ
Posted On 02/16/13
Review No. 53176
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The premium was $1100 for 2 years and was a Freddie Mac requirement....to be paid by buyer! If I had had a choice, I wouln't have chosen them. Came out once, re:non-working disposal and left, without saying anything. I didn't pursue it as I could replace it w/o much more expense than the $100 deductible.
I basically was forced ot pay $1100 for "nothing".
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 53176
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact homeprotectwarranty.com directly.