Nations Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Nations Home Warranty

Nations Home Warranty
Customer Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating1.6 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 37
Total Quotes : 3
Premium $410 - 535
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Years In Business 20
BBB Rating
Complaint Resolution
Offers Online Claims
Coverage Area Texas



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

Incorporated as Nations Residential Services in Texas, Nations Home Warranty (NHW) began its operations in 1996. The company is headquartered in Dallas. During it’s initial days, the company has provided services to Dallas/ Ft. Worth area, offering concierge service to each homeowner.

The company claims that they have one of the best customer service facilities and that their plans are designed to help a homeowner run the house smoothly. A major portion of the employees are Dallas residents, this attributes a “neighborly” feel to the company, claims the staff.

Nations Home Warranty has a live customer service facility that is active 24/7 and staffed by professionals who are experienced in handling claims. The company also maintains a large network of independent contractors.

For online services, customers can visit the company’s official website. Details about the various plans and their pricing can be obtained online. New customers can also purchase plans and become members by submitting a form online. Existing customers can manage their accounts and even renew the plans to continue enjoying their services.

Nations home warranty offers a set of comprehensive and tailor made plans to both homeowners and real estate agents. Depending on whether the residence is a condo/ house, plans and premiums vary. For homeowners, the following options are available

  • Basic Package - $425
  • Upgrade Package - Preferred Plan - $480, Ultimate Plan - $585

The Basic Package offers minimum, but reasonably good coverage and includes almost all major systems and appliances in the home. Upgrade Packages enhance the coverage already provided by a basic plan. Additional items like termite control, lawn sprinkler system, garage door opener etc can be added as per the customer’s wish.

For real estate agents, the plans are similar but the pricing changes moderately.
  • Basic Package - $435
  • Upgrade Package - Preferred Plan - $490, Ultimate Plan - $595

Reviews & Ratings

Frisco - TX 11-02-2016
SB,Frisco TX
Posted On 11/02/16
Review No. 106840
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is a SCAM. Used them for 3 years for my rental properties and Nothing was covered with the exception of rekeying service with a $60 copay. In all other cases some clause or reason how it is not covered or the contractor wanted more money than the copay. In my experience going without home warranty and using some other service providers is working out cheaper. I asked them to cancel my month to month warranty and sent in writing by email, but haven't gotten any response on my cancellation notice. view less
This is a SCAM. Used them for 3 years for my rental properties and Nothing was covered with the exception of rekeying service with a $60 copay. In all other cases some clause or reason how it is not covered or the contractor wanted more money than the copay. In my experience going without home warranty and using some other service providers is working out cheaper. I asked them to cancel my
... view more
# 106840
Irving - TX 08-22-2016
Sharib,Irving TX
Posted On 08/22/16
Review No. 105211
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The company will not honor any claim that requires cost more than $100. They refused bot the claims for AC as they needed some $600 repair. This is simply a SCAM. RUN ASAP from this company.
# 105211
Plano - TX 08-12-2016
R.P,Plano TX
Posted On 08/12/16
Review No. 104828
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
3 reviews
1.0 star rating 8/12/2016
I wish they have negative star , cause Nations deserve it worst home warranty ever!! My kids single handle faucet the fell off while my daughter is brushing her teeth, i explained the problem to the representative so they sent Scout Plumbing , turns out that it is not covered AGAIN . They said it's not normal wear and tear and that it broke. There goes another $60 down the drain . view less
3 reviews
1.0 star rating 8/12/2016
I wish they have negative star , cause Nations deserve it worst home warranty ever!! My kids single handle faucet the fell off while my daughter is brushing her teeth, i explained the problem to the representative so they sent Scout Plumbing , turns out that it is not covered AGAIN . They said it's not normal wear and tear and that it broke.
... view more
# 104828
Dallas - TX 06-28-2016
David Terrell,Dallas TX
Posted On 06/28/16
Review No. 102703
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Just a worthless company. A line busted on the a/c in the atic and almost nothing was covered by them. What is the point of these companies. I have six rental properties and they all do this. Nations seems worse than most though.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 102703
Mansfield - TX 04-28-2016
Jess N,Mansfield TX
Posted On 04/28/16
Review No. 100242
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
As they boast customer service, I would have to say I had the opposite experience with them.
I called for an A/C fix on Thursday at noon. And they said they would send someone out on Monday!! That is 5 days from the call time.
As I politely asked to see if they would call a different contractor to get this done earlier, and they were quite adamant and on the point of rude when they specifically said this was all within their stated policy.
Although, I understand they were in their stated time limits, I felt they could have tried to do a bit more. Such as call a different contractor to see if they COULD get it done sooner.

I have Choice Home Warranty for my other rental properties and should have stuck with them. I tried to support local companies, but NOT if they dont have 24 hour service, such as Choice. Its an easy choice to switch. And they were less expensive yearly!

Nation's customer service was absolutely less than their boasted "great customer service". Will not be renewing! view less
As they boast customer service, I would have to say I had the opposite experience with them.
I called for an A/C fix on Thursday at noon. And they said they would send someone out on Monday!! That is 5 days from the call time.
As I politely asked to see if they would call a different contractor to get this done earlier, and they were quite adamant and on the point of rude when
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 100242
Richardson - TX 01-06-2016
Lois Ferrara,Richardson TX
Posted On 01/06/16
Review No. 96250
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Called for HVAC repairs. Contractor came out twice. Wasn't able to get a replacement part due to the age of the equipment. Heat failed twice in a week during the November freezing weather. Went without heat two weekends (used borrowed electric radiators and wore coats). Nations will only pay a reasonable amount to the customer for the part that can't be replaced. So, you might get a small check, but your equipment is still broken. We ended up just buying an entire new HVAC system as with winter temps, we could not risk being without heat. I tried to cancel the contract for a refund now that we have a totally new system, but they won't refund. So, they keep the money and don't have to make repairs. I suspect most of these home warranties work this way. I won't ever buy one again. view less
Called for HVAC repairs. Contractor came out twice. Wasn't able to get a replacement part due to the age of the equipment. Heat failed twice in a week during the November freezing weather. Went without heat two weekends (used borrowed electric radiators and wore coats). Nations will only pay a reasonable amount to the customer for the part that can't be replaced. So, you might get a small
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 96250
Arlington - TX 10-23-2015
Sal Alvarez,Arlington TX
Posted On 10/23/15
Review No. 93306
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company has gone from bad to worst, as they now just tend to deal and contract very poor companies that provide services for their customers, I purchased my current home in early February, home came with appliances, including the refrigerator which as of just a few days starting to defrost and water started going everywhere out of it, called Nations, and they sent out a techinician, situation evaluated and of course Nations found a way to get out of repairing as they claim that due to pre-existing poor lack of maintenance that this appliance seized to work, and according to the Operations Manager, Frank Latko, which of course had to be someone of poor lack customer service, stated that I was in the oblication when I bought the home to have checked the appliances and per his words "should have checked in the internet what I needed to do to maintain the current applicances", bottom line, this company nowadays lacking character managed to get out of repairing our home appliance and now end up with a broken device, this is in a nutshell from all the diffenrent stories that I received the previous day after long conversations with their customer service skills, if you are in the market for a home warranty company, would not recommend at all this company anymore!! view less
This company has gone from bad to worst, as they now just tend to deal and contract very poor companies that provide services for their customers, I purchased my current home in early February, home came with appliances, including the refrigerator which as of just a few days starting to defrost and water started going everywhere out of it, called Nations, and they sent out a techinician,
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 93306
Frisco - TX 06-03-2015
R. Wilson,Frisco TX
Posted On 06/03/15
Review No. 87841
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Called on June 1 to ask about termination of contract procedure as house sold and we are moving out of town. Was told to send an email stating last date service was wanted. Asked about refund of premium already withdrawn for the month and was told to include request in email.

Sent email stating that June 2 would be last day we wanted coverage and asked for refund of remaining fee.

Received prompt return email stating coverage terminated as requested, no mention of refund.

Called today, got a different customer service rep who said that no refunds were given unless you gave them a 5-day notice of intent to terminate. Now had the first rep told me that, when I specifically asked the procedure for refund, I could have extended the coverage 4 days, even though house is empty and sold, but would have received refund of balance.

Was told that contract states this policy. However, my call and question did not ask what was in contract, I called to ask what to do to cancel and receive a refund, a question that clearly was handled to the benefit of the company and not the consumer.

After reading the previous reviews, it appears that Nations' quality of service, as well as customer care, has deteriorated dramatically in the years we have used them. Absolutely do not recommend them any more. Buyer Beware!! view less
Called on June 1 to ask about termination of contract procedure as house sold and we are moving out of town. Was told to send an email stating last date service was wanted. Asked about refund of premium already withdrawn for the month and was told to include request in email.

Sent email stating that June 2 would be last day we wanted coverage and asked for refund of remaining
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87841
Garland - TX 05-30-2015
Murad,Garland TX
Posted On 05/30/15
Review No. 87723
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have used Nations for about 5 years for my three rental homes and I am about to cancel my service with them. They always find ways not to fix the issue by pointing out different exclusions. The service reps are not very knowledgeable and they always give contradicting explanations.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87723
Carrollton - TX 05-26-2015
Very Unhappy Customer,Carrollton TX
Posted On 05/26/15
Review No. 87577
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
BEWARE...DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! I will say that I had been a long-time customer of Nations Home Warranty, but the latest policy that I purchased on my new home in October 2014 has been a complete disappointment. I have made 2 claims and neither has been resolved. The first claim was when I had sewage backed up in my house. They sent someone from Scout Plumbing and he told me it wasn't covered to clean out the line, and that someone would have to go on the roof to do it. I called 2 other companies and got the problem fixed through the cleanout on the side of the house without anyone going on the roof. I sent the documentation and filed a report with Nations and did not hear back. On 5/22/15 the spring on my garage door broke. I called and spoke with the Nations answering service at 6:45 pm as my car was stuck in my garage. As of Noon on 5/26 I hadn't heard from Nations so I called to cancel my policy. I was routed to Jon who proceeded to tell me first that I couldn't cancel an annual policy. Then he called back and left a message regarding all of these fees they were going to charge me with to cancel. I asked to speak to Sharon Harrison the President (as their on-hold message says to tell them how they can improve their customer service) and I was told she was unavailable and no one offered to have her call me back. I will never use Nations Home Warranty again and would not recommend them, as when you attempt to use the policy you frequently hear "that is not covered" so you are out a deductible of $60 and then have to get the repair done yourself. view less
BEWARE...DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! I will say that I had been a long-time customer of Nations Home Warranty, but the latest policy that I purchased on my new home in October 2014 has been a complete disappointment. I have made 2 claims and neither has been resolved. The first claim was when I had sewage backed up in my house. They sent someone from Scout Plumbing and he told me it wasn't
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87577
Richardson - TX 05-14-2015
Robert Hall,Richardson TX
Posted On 05/14/15
Review No. 87281
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
After 16yrs using Nations' contractors for Hot Water Heater, AC maintenance and plumbing issues, Nations denies my claim for the failure of my 34yr old AC compressor citing that evaporator coil and blower unit needed cleaning, although past nations contractors never mentioned those items before as being in need of maintenance. Regardless, the unit was maintained well enough to last 34yrs. Be realistic, Nations. You have 16yrs worth of monthly payments from me. Don't weasel out on me with with technicalities. Honor our agreement. view less
After 16yrs using Nations' contractors for Hot Water Heater, AC maintenance and plumbing issues, Nations denies my claim for the failure of my 34yr old AC compressor citing that evaporator coil and blower unit needed cleaning, although past nations contractors never mentioned those items before as being in need of maintenance. Regardless, the unit was maintained well enough to last 34yrs. Be
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87281
Dallas - TX 03-12-2015
Glenn Roush,Dallas TX
Posted On 03/12/15
Review No. 85732
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I wish I could give this company negative stars. I have a plumbing issue inside my house. The contractor they sent says he has a 75 foot snake and would need to charge me extra to go on my roof and access the drain out. I called Nations and Elizabeth Restivo was of no help. Instead of trying to help me determine how to handle the discrepancy in the 100 feet of snaking my contract covers versus the 75 feet the 1st Class Plumbing brought to my house, she wanted to explain to me that the roof was not covered.

I was trying to ask questions and get a better understanding of the contract. She emailed me a copy, but wouldn't answer any specific questions after sending me the document and then hit me with a "I have another call I need to take." As you can imagine, I have the frustration of a house that is completely stopped up and she "needs to take another call."

If you are looking at what warranty provider to choose for your new home purchase, DO NOT choose Nations. Their contract only protects them. There co-pays are just as much as you calling a contractor yourself for a diagnosis. view less
I wish I could give this company negative stars. I have a plumbing issue inside my house. The contractor they sent says he has a 75 foot snake and would need to charge me extra to go on my roof and access the drain out. I called Nations and Elizabeth Restivo was of no help. Instead of trying to help me determine how to handle the discrepancy in the 100 feet of snaking my contract covers
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 85732
Frisco - TX 12-12-2014
CB,Frisco TX
Posted On 12/12/14
Review No. 82608
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Really frustrated at hearing 'that's not covered' when there is nothing in the contract that says it's not covered. Has anyone sued them?
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 82608
Dallas - TX 11-13-2014
Anthony,Dallas TX
Posted On 11/13/14
Review No. 81070
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a complete rip-off. My frnace went out over the weekend and I called for service. I just purchased my house in Aug. and this is only the 2nd time i have used their service. They sent out a tech and the repair required a relay they did not have so he would have to come back. When i followed up with Nations later that day i was told my furnace had been recalled so my warranty would not cover it. When I did the research and found out my furnace had not been recalled ( Recall was for units sold in Ca.) They said bottom line that replacing the unit was an upgrade and would not be covered. The person i dealt with Elizabeth was obnoxious and arrogant. This company is nothing more than a fraud. They seem to cover small jobs but if you have something major go wrong they wiggle their way out of it. DO NOT USE THEM!!! view less
This company is a complete rip-off. My frnace went out over the weekend and I called for service. I just purchased my house in Aug. and this is only the 2nd time i have used their service. They sent out a tech and the repair required a relay they did not have so he would have to come back. When i followed up with Nations later that day i was told my furnace had been recalled so my warranty
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 81070
Desoto - TX 11-11-2014
Gunnar Long,Desoto TX
Posted On 11/11/14
Review No. 80982
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I'd like to rate them with no stars but it does not give me that option. This company is a crock. They've spent the last two weeks doing everything they can not to pay my warranty claim. Said my issue was caused by a part failure and that they "only cover items that fail under normal wear" This company is a scam!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 80982
Dallas - TX 09-25-2014
Ellen Childress,Dallas TX
Posted On 09/25/14
Review No. 79412
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
We have owned several homes in Texas, now our third time in Dallas. We have had other home warranty services with disastrous results. With Nations, the service has been reasonably timely. The service providers have been knowledgable and courteous. We have had several calls on our current home. When my washing machine could not be repaired, they replaced it with no questions asked. Other calls for clogs in these old plumbing lines, sink faucet repair ending in replacement, etc. Nice people to deal with at Nations and good people to do the work. We are happy to have found a warranty company who contracts with people who know their trades and treat the customers well. view less
We have owned several homes in Texas, now our third time in Dallas. We have had other home warranty services with disastrous results. With Nations, the service has been reasonably timely. The service providers have been knowledgable and courteous. We have had several calls on our current home. When my washing machine could not be repaired, they replaced it with no questions asked. Other
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 79412
ALLEN - TX 09-19-2014
Melissa Evans,ALLEN TX
Posted On 09/19/14
Review No. 78969
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Too bad there is not an option for negative stars!!!! My A/C unit has been breaking every 2 weeks (sometimes twice in a week) since August..Element Mechanical comes out ($69 service fee each visit) and maybe it works 2 days, maybe 2 weeks. BIG RIPOFF!!!!!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 78969
McKinney - TX 09-09-2014
Matt,McKinney TX
Posted On 09/09/14
Review No. 78575
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
If I could give a negative rating I would....

Below is my time line of events with this horrible company. This is my 3rd home, and 3rd time I've used a home warranty company...The first time I've used Nations, and I have to say...I've never experienced these kind of issues with an organization. This warrantly was carried over from the previous owner of the house. Will be switching as soon as the contract runs out....

On September 3rd, after moving into my new home, I noticed that the downstairs area of home was not cooling. I reached out to my realator. Realator came over to check on things, Realator mentioned that the problem could be the damper system. Realator suggested I call Nations Home Warranty to have them repair issue.



On September 4th, at approx 3:30 p.m. (CST) I called Nations to report problem, mentioned to Nations that the problem could be the damper and I would like for them to send a representative out to look at the issue. Nations informed me that dampers were not covered, and I asked them to send out a representative to confirm the issue.



On September 4th, approx 1 hour later (4:30 CST), a Nations Representative called me back and noted that the issue would be covered if it was pre-existing and I did not know of the issue prior to moving into the home. I told the Nations rep I had no knowledge of the issue, they informed me it would be covered in this case.



On Friday, Sept 5th, at approx 3:45 p.m., Nations service reps arrived at my residence to determine cause of problem. Nations service reps noted that they did a temporary fix and would come back at a later date to do repair, but it would not be covered under the warranty. I argued that it was covered - (service rep manager gave attitude and went outside to set in car while other rep obtained my credit card information (for the 60 dollar copay) After Copay was given, service rep informed me they would only repair if I paid an additional 300 dollars. I told them that Nations would cover the issue.



I called Nations back at approx 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Sept 5th - Nations once again confirmed that the "pre-existing" issue was covered and they would make contact with Service Tech -



Today, September 9th at approx (9:50 a.m.) i received a call from service tech informing me that they will fix issue if I pay an additional 300 dollars - They also informed me that I would not be getting my 60 dollars back, nor would it be applied as credit towards fixing of problem....



Worse service I've ever had from a Home Warranty provider... view less
If I could give a negative rating I would....

Below is my time line of events with this horrible company. This is my 3rd home, and 3rd time I've used a home warranty company...The first time I've used Nations, and I have to say...I've never experienced these kind of issues with an organization. This warrantly was carried over from the previous owner of the house. Will be
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 78575
Richardson - TX 08-20-2014
Rhonda Sherwood,Richardson TX
Posted On 08/20/14
Review No. 77279
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I cannot agree more with all the negative reviews on this company. I would like to give them negative stars - more than computer screens would allow. They have now cheated us 3 times - once on water heater and twice on air conditioner. We gave them the second chance on the air conditioner because their contractor did fix one of the problems the first time, but then when problems continued, they required us to pay another copay because they said their contractor didn't report the possible additional problem - even though it was written on our invoice. Now they tell us the parts necessary to repair will cost almost as much as a new system - and conveniently are not covered under the warranty. With the water heater, their contractor supposedly diagnosed the problem - which conveniently would not be covered - without even looking at the water heater! If he had looked at it, which my husband did when we decided to replace it ourselves for a fraction of the "costs not covered," he might have seen a gas valve issue that could have literally exploded and killed us. After 3 strikes, we are preparing our report to the Texas Attorney General's office. They are as dishonest and corrupt as the day is long! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY WITH THEM! view less
I cannot agree more with all the negative reviews on this company. I would like to give them negative stars - more than computer screens would allow. They have now cheated us 3 times - once on water heater and twice on air conditioner. We gave them the second chance on the air conditioner because their contractor did fix one of the problems the first time, but then when problems continued,
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 77279
Dallas - TX 08-14-2014
Jane,Dallas TX
Posted On 08/14/14
Review No. 76984
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I've had to call NHW a few times since moving in two months ago. I had one contractor come out who was great. Well, actually he could only fix part of my problem because the other part wasn't covered. With a separate issue the contractor came out three times before he actually did anything because he could never remember what the issue was. I would schedule appointments with him and then have to call & chase him down when he failed to show. Then he'd ask me to text him my address again. Nice enough guy when he did actually make it, but not exactly confidence inspiring. By the way,by the time the repairs were actually done we had paid $360 & were left with a gaping hole in our drywall which, of course, isn't covered to repair.
This time our ice maker went out & I noticed the ice dispenser door no longer closed fully when not in use & it made our freezer frost up & our ice to freeze together. The service guy came out & told me the issues should be fully covered under our extended refrigerator policy ( which cost an additional $100 over the base policy) but I had to clean under the fridge before he contractually would be able to come back & do the repair. He told me under our fridge didn't look too bad, but that was a NHW requirement. So I cleaned. When I called to schedule the follow up i was told my whole claim had been denied. I called NHW & spoke to a condescending "customer service" rep. He said under our fridge was "filthy" and informed me that unless I could show him a receipt for having had the under fridge professionally cleaned, they wouldn't even fix the ice dispenser door, even though the one has nothing to do with the other. I asked him to send out someone else to look at it & he raised his voice and said "no, I will not send anyone else out." So how is he supposed to see that I cleaned as instructed? He has successfully accomplished his mission of not paying claims as I am going to hire someone independently to do the requested repairs.
We will absolutely not renew our policy. I followed up with our Realtor as well to appraise him of the poor service we've had with NHW & suggested he use another home warranty company with his other clients.
I gave three stars for service timeliness because one contractor was able to come out promptly & make a repair. view less
I've had to call NHW a few times since moving in two months ago. I had one contractor come out who was great. Well, actually he could only fix part of my problem because the other part wasn't covered. With a separate issue the contractor came out three times before he actually did anything because he could never remember what the issue was. I would schedule appointments with him and then have
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 76984
Murphy - TX 07-28-2014
Nations Home-Warranty,Murphy TX
Posted On 07/28/14
Review No. 76465
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I do not recommend Nations Home Warranty. I also will not be renewing through them. My dishwasher panel stopped working and there was a leak. I called it all in. It took 4 days before it was seen by their contractor and we are going on 5 weeks and it is STILL NOT fixed. They came back today with the wrong colored part! On top of that, within 2 days or so of the first work order, I noticed the upper basket lever was broken. So, naturally when the repair man came back to fix the original problem, I told him about the lever. When I called Nations Home Warranty, they wanted me to pay another $60 co-pay to fix the additional dishwasher problem. Even though the first problem is not fixed and the repair man is coming back to fix it. They said that because I didn't mention it the first time, that it would have to be written up as ANOTHER order, with another co-pay. I explained this made no sense, because I already have paid a co-pay for my dishwasher and this was missed. She rudely explained this was their policy and that is the way it works. I guess you have say 20 potential problems, when calling in, just to make sure you don't have to write up 20 different work orders! The customer service was terrible with no effort to make the customer happy or even understand. The timeliness of their contractor is more than 5 weeks (with the wrong part), need I say more. I will not be renewing with Nations Home Warranty and I will not be recommending them for all these reasons. view less
I do not recommend Nations Home Warranty. I also will not be renewing through them. My dishwasher panel stopped working and there was a leak. I called it all in. It took 4 days before it was seen by their contractor and we are going on 5 weeks and it is STILL NOT fixed. They came back today with the wrong colored part! On top of that, within 2 days or so of the first work order, I
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 76465
Dallas - TX 06-15-2014
DFW,Dallas TX
Posted On 06/15/14
Review No. 74073
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My experience has been horrible. Poor customer service. Long delays before service calls are returned and repairmen show up. Nations will use bogus reasons to deny legit claims that should be covered.
Do not contract with nations , you will regret it like I do.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74073
Plano - TX 03-30-2014
Don and Lisa Proeschel,Plano TX
Posted On 03/30/14
Review No. 72529
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I am sending in this review as I was shocked to see all the low ratings and upset customers.
We have been with Nations Home Warranty for 2 1/2 years. Yes we purchased the Ultimate plan. I do not believe that changes how a company serves their customers.
We have called for smaller issues, medium and large issue. They have always been courteous, timely and sent excellent service people. Nations replaced our furnace!
We always give any company a little wiggle room for an error. People are not perfect. I found that customer service can be improved by the way customers show respect back.
If we are ever asked about a Home Warranty company, we say "Nations Home Warranty". view less
I am sending in this review as I was shocked to see all the low ratings and upset customers.
We have been with Nations Home Warranty for 2 1/2 years. Yes we purchased the Ultimate plan. I do not believe that changes how a company serves their customers.
We have called for smaller issues, medium and large issue. They have always been courteous, timely and sent excellent service
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 72529
Plano - TX 02-21-2014
Judy McGee,Plano TX
Posted On 02/21/14
Review No. 72024
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Have 1 year contract for home warranty service purchased last year and thank god only had to call them 1 time last fall. Today I called for annual service to heater and they said they said its past the date for service according to contract. I NEVER received an email (they don't have my email), never rec'd a post card from them advising the period had ended for furnace service ck up. We've had a long winter and they should not have set an end date of feb.
If I had read the reviews last year I would not have chosen them! view less
Have 1 year contract for home warranty service purchased last year and thank god only had to call them 1 time last fall. Today I called for annual service to heater and they said they said its past the date for service according to contract. I NEVER received an email (they don't have my email), never rec'd a post card from them advising the period had ended for furnace service ck up. We've had
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 72024
Dallas - All 01-02-2014
Shoob,Dallas All
Posted On 01/02/14
Review No. 71183
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
I have had Nations for 3 to 4 years... with mixed experience. However, in the end, I have benefited from the warranty and decided to continue. The issues are variable, completely based on the contractor they used.

- Pool, every 2 years, there is a motor related issue, ranging from $100-$350 problem.. gets solved in $60 with the local small pool contractor.
- AC, I have had multiple issues across 3 units, bad compressor to bad circuit board. I am sure it would require me navigating several quotes, coupons and unnecessary fees and parts.. but their contractor is good. $60 solved problem every time.
- Dishwasher, burnt board replaced by very knowledgeable contractor.

The main problem is with their plumbing contractors. All of them are crooks! I had a water heater breakdown. While the replacement was covered, these guys wanted $1500 more for "code compliance" and other fees. I got it done for $350 with a local contractor. Warranty would only cover $150 for replacement heater.. but only after I pay $100 for inspection. $60 down the drain!

Other plumbing issues, like disposal replacement, the plumber came and asked me for the tools like towels to clean up, bucket, asking me to throw the old pipes etc. Other plumber related issues exist.

I also agree that their response time is not ideal for emergency.. but they do not promise otherwise. view less
I have had Nations for 3 to 4 years... with mixed experience. However, in the end, I have benefited from the warranty and decided to continue. The issues are variable, completely based on the contractor they used.

- Pool, every 2 years, there is a motor related issue, ranging from $100-$350 problem.. gets solved in $60 with the local small pool contractor.
- AC, I
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 71183
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact home-warranty.com directly.