Total Protect

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Total Protect

Total Protect
Customer Service 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating3 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 991
Total Quotes : 379
Premium $350 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Years In Business 16
BBB Rating A+
Complaint Resolution Y
Offers Online Claims Y
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

TotalProtect is a comprehensive home warranty offered through Cross Country Home Services, Inc., an established leader in the home warranty industry since 1978. The warranty is known for providing peace of mind and budget protection whenever home systems and appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. With more than 40,000 service technicians in its network, a team of over 500 employees and a large selection of budget-friendly plans, the TotalProtect Home Warranty is among the most respected in the industry.

TotalProtect believes in maintaining a different approach towards home warranty, which essentially includes powering a homeowner with tools to manage and maintain their homes better. The company offers a host of comprehensive plans that ensures savings, convenience and peace of mind.

According to Better Business Bureau, this company also operates under the following alternate business names
  1. Total Protect
  2. Home Protect
  3. Cross Country Home Services
  4. Residential MD
  5. HomeSure Protection of California
  6. Homesure of Virginia, Inc
  7. HomeSure Services, Inc.
  8. HomeSure of America Inc.

TotalProtect’s most popular service is the guarantee that they provide for each repair they do. Each customer gets a guarantee for a period of 180 days during which if the repaired device breaks again, the customer gets it fixed again for free.

The company’s network of service contractors are also one of the best in the industry. TotalProtect claims that each contractor is picked after stringent evaluation. The Vendor Rating System is yet another run to ensure that each contractor is monitored well.
In addition to TotalProtect’s 24/7/365 customer service hotline, a variety of online services are available. At TotalProtect.com, customers can see all the features and benefits of having a TotalProtect Home Warranty. The website allows visitors to:

1. Place a Claim

2. Get a Quote

3. Evaluate the Variety of Available Plans

4. See All the Items that are Covered

5. See Consumer Ratings and Reviews

6. Take a Virtual Tour of TotalProtect Coverage

7. Contact Customer Service

TotalProtect helps customers pay the repair or replacement bill when home systems and/or appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. The warranty offers a 180-day workmanship guarantee on repairs and comes in many shapes and sizes. The variety of coverage allows customers to choose the plan they need at a cost that fits within their budget.

For example, TotalProtect’s optimal plan provides protection for 20 of a home’s most crucial systems and appliances. Customers can also choose from plans that cover just their systems or just their appliances. All plans can be personalized by adding items such as a swimming pool, second refrigerator or an additional water heater to their warranty.

Reviews & Ratings

Delafield - WI 12-06-2016
Joseph D. Kraft,Delafield WI
Posted On 12/06/16
Review No. 107457
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Excellent service, Excellent employees. Great followup and communication. I would, and have, recommended Total Protect to
relatives and friends. Keep up the good work. I am, and have been impressed every time I use your service.
Joe Kraft 262 646 8805
# 107457
Bradenton - FL 12-05-2016
Sheldon Slifstein,Bradenton FL
Posted On 12/05/16
Review No. 107454
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We have been extremely pleased with the Service provided by Total Protect. We were with a different warranty company previously and not satisfied at all.
Knowing that Total Protect will take care of the items under warranty, has given us peace of mind.
# 107454
Port Saint Lucie - FL 12-01-2016
Donald Mitchell,Port Saint Lucie FL
Posted On 12/01/16
Review No. 107390
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I AM SUPREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS COMPANY. That's my headline.
I have had just about all the coverage you can get with TP for 4 years. I've had one or two decent experiences but after 4 years I'm looking for someone else. In previous years I had a package that included a preventive maintenance check on my hvac. The first time I did that the repairmen came and immediately started up-selling me on everything to the tune of about 900 bucks. He told me all kinds of things needed removal or replacement to fix it. They were so excited to fix my 8 year old heater. I sent them home without doing what they wanted and wasted 75 bucks. I researched what they were talking about, pressure washed my filter, put clorox into the drain and never had a problem since. So beware of the Upsale!
Last year I had an issue with my pool heater. So I arranged to have my pool equipment fixed. The pool guy came and said they didn't fix pool heaters and I had to go through an HVAC company. ok...So got those people to look at it and they said I had some rust on the inside of my heater so they didn't fix it because the FINE PRINT SAID THEY DON'T COVER RUST. The hvac guy put freon in my appliance off the record and it worked fine for a few months. Didn't need the heat during the summer but now its cooling down outside.
After that I was informed my plan was not only changing but going up in price. So I got all the bells and whistles to make sure I was covered. What I recently found out is they NO LONGER DO PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE ON AC SYSTEMS. Customer service explained to me I have to wait until my heater/ac breaks until it falls into coverage. I'm sorry that is the DUMBEST BUSINESS DECISION EVER. Small print again...I live in Florida and rarely turn on my heat and simply wanted it checked out before I might need it. Silly me.
In the same conversation I also learned my new bells and whistles policy does cover rust on my pool equipment but since LAST YEAR I was turned down for rust. THIS YEAR they cannot cover my system because I have a preexisting condition of rust from last year. So after they changed the rules, they made sure they still didn't have to do any work and just keep getting paid.
Now for all the things I have to have done without TOTAL Protect what do I need them for? I honestly think TOTAL PROTECT SHOULD CHANGE THEIR NAME TO PARTIAL PROTECT. Because it is now clear they are not really designed to work for the customer but only their profit. You should at least grandfather coverage when you change your small print.
That is a business model of a business waiting to go out of business. I sure the CEO won't mind if they do because he or she probably already has all the flat screen TV's they need.
I gave the Customer service people 3 stars because at least she was polite. Kudos for having pleasant people on the phone.
If you ask someone to help you the first thing out of their mouths should not be why they can't do it. Especially if you're paying for it. Also give your customer service people the ability to fix a problem first time out. I feel sorry for them because every CS person I talked to said they were powerless to do anything. That's pathetic. Mr./Ms. CEO do something for your customer and stop worrying whether you can afford your new boat. This isn't the 80's Gordon Gecko - greed is no longer good. Keeping customers is far more profitable. You're going to lose me and everyone I can convince. That's probably worth at least one 80 inch television or your kid's tuition this semester. view less
I AM SUPREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS COMPANY. That's my headline.
I have had just about all the coverage you can get with TP for 4 years. I've had one or two decent experiences but after 4 years I'm looking for someone else. In previous years I had a package that included a preventive maintenance check on my hvac. The first time I did that the repairmen came and immediately started
... view more
# 107390
Total Protect Home Warranty
12-01-2016
Donald - We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that your recent claim experiences did not meet your expectations. Please know that we try our best to ensure that our claim decisions adhere to the warranty Agreement for covered and non-covered causes of failure. Sincerely – John
Washington - DC 11-21-2016
Marjorie ,Washington DC
Posted On 11/21/16
Review No. 107208
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I have used the Total Protect service several times over the years with mostly satisfactory results. My last experience started out problematic; too long to answer the phone, no return call, vendor no show, but after complaining to the company, I received a good response and the issue was resolved.
# 107208
Oviedo - FL 11-17-2016
Troy Furman,Oviedo FL
Posted On 11/17/16
Review No. 107155
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
This s warranty has been a blessing, although I feel the service tech could have taken more time to analyze the last 2 systems called on.
The dishwasher has completely died, and I'm afraid that I'll be paying $75 to have another tech throw tape on a loose wire.
As for the A/C call. The tech came out and immediately knew how to get the system operational, but I feel they failed to perform the inspection of the "system". There is a terrible leak penetrating the air handler in the garage, and the coolant line is leaking in the attic. view less
This s warranty has been a blessing, although I feel the service tech could have taken more time to analyze the last 2 systems called on.
The dishwasher has completely died, and I'm afraid that I'll be paying $75 to have another tech throw tape on a loose wire.
As for the A/C call. The tech came out and immediately knew how to get the system operational, but I feel they failed
... view more
# 107155
Fort Atkinson - WI 11-16-2016
Artman,Fort Atkinson WI
Posted On 11/16/16
Review No. 107132
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Had a 20 year old refrig take a dump... Was replaced with a new $1300 by the company
# 107132
Tallahassee - FL 11-15-2016
Marsha,Tallahassee FL
Posted On 11/15/16
Review No. 107111
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Although one call re AC system was resolved satisfactorily, the next call resulted in my having to contract with an outside service for repairs. When repairman came to check concerns re washer and dryer, he made no repairs, suggested water leak was normal and that I should simply wipe the door following each wash; he also said vibration was normal although my daughter later adjusted the bottom and totally ended the vibration. Quality of service personnel is inconsistent and undependable. view less
Although one call re AC system was resolved satisfactorily, the next call resulted in my having to contract with an outside service for repairs. When repairman came to check concerns re washer and dryer, he made no repairs, suggested water leak was normal and that I should simply wipe the door following each wash; he also said vibration was normal although my daughter later adjusted the
... view more
# 107111
Follansbee - WV 11-15-2016
Ronald Perito,Follansbee WV
Posted On 11/15/16
Review No. 107109
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have nothing but good things to say about TotalProtect. I have used this service probably for 6 or 7 times and have never been dissapointed.
# 107109
Silver Springs - FL 11-15-2016
Kenneth Vianello,Silver Springs FL
Posted On 11/15/16
Review No. 107073
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This company has exceeded our expectations. They have handled our needs in a very professional and timely manner. We recommend them wholeheartedly.
# 107073
MILFORD - DE 11-10-2016
Lynn E. Myers,MILFORD DE
Posted On 11/10/16
Review No. 106977
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating

the only complaint I have is they would only send Chesapeake Plumbing out which I am highly satisfied with, I would rate excellent in all categories. They sent another company (a one person company) and I always have to ask for Chesapeake Plumbing because they know what to do to solve my plumbing problems.
they send this other company out because Customer Service tells me this other individual is in the system and automatically schedules that other company.. I always have to have Chesapeake to come out after this gentleman and they always know exactly what to do and finish the job. view less

the only complaint I have is they would only send Chesapeake Plumbing out which I am highly satisfied with, I would rate excellent in all categories. They sent another company (a one person company) and I always have to ask for Chesapeake Plumbing because they know what to do to solve my plumbing problems.
they send this other company out because Customer Service tells me this
... view more
# 106977
Jacksonville - NC 11-05-2016
Gaetano Barone,Jacksonville NC
Posted On 11/05/16
Review No. 106900
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been a customer for many years and I have always had great experience with no complaints. The staff have always been helpful and professional and all of the repair personnel that have come to my house have been courteous, professional and expert in their profession
# 106900
Durham - NC 11-03-2016
Total Protect,Durham NC
Posted On 11/03/16
Review No. 106856
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I could be a salesperson for Total Protect. I regularly recommend the service to friends. Yes, occasionally there is some delay to getting a repair person here; but not often. I have had only friendly responses on my calls for service, and useful work when it is done. It once took four calls to make an ice maker work, which is not ideal, but the point is, it got fixed. When parts on an air-conditioner needed replacing, they were replaced, without charge. I am not shocked at the monthly premium--insurance costs money--and I am certain repairs would be more costly if done individually. view less
I could be a salesperson for Total Protect. I regularly recommend the service to friends. Yes, occasionally there is some delay to getting a repair person here; but not often. I have had only friendly responses on my calls for service, and useful work when it is done. It once took four calls to make an ice maker work, which is not ideal, but the point is, it got fixed. When parts on an
... view more
# 106856
Jacksonville - NC 11-02-2016
Gaetano Barone,Jacksonville NC
Posted On 11/02/16
Review No. 106849
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been a customer for many years and have no complaints. Everyone I have talked with at Home Protect have always been professional, courteous and helpful. All service personnel that have come to my house have been professional and very knowledgeable
# 106849
Tualatin - OR 10-13-2016
Brian Jepperson,Tualatin OR
Posted On 10/13/16
Review No. 106508
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Total Protect is completely worthless. When I bought my house new I signed up for them because I was terrified of things breaking down. But of course when things did start breaking down, TotalProtect really was more of a hindrance than I help.

Problems with plumbing and electrical etc., they will always take at least a week to send someone out there, and always at the contractor's convenience, not yours. And they nearly always find reasons to not pay for things. When my microwave broke down after 10 years, they wouldn't cover it because the problem wasn't "mechanical". When toilets and sinks clogged up and the pumbers that they sent suggested remedies, they wouldn't pay. After a while I stopped even calling them when things went wrong, then I knew it was time to dump them. view less
Total Protect is completely worthless. When I bought my house new I signed up for them because I was terrified of things breaking down. But of course when things did start breaking down, TotalProtect really was more of a hindrance than I help.

Problems with plumbing and electrical etc., they will always take at least a week to send someone out there, and always at the
... view more
# 106508
Total Protect Home Warranty
10-14-2016
Brian - I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we make every effort to ensure our claim decisions adhere to the terms of the warranty for both covered and non-covered items. We appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback. Sincerely – John
Greenwell Springs - LA 08-27-2016
Jimmy Nowlin Jr.,Greenwell Springs LA
Posted On 08/27/16
Review No. 105384
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have had total protect for six years and have had no trouble. Have always been able to get a person on the phone with out a long wait and prompt service.
# 105384
Quincy - MA 08-14-2016
Peter H Young,Quincy MA
Posted On 08/14/16
Review No. 104875
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Home warranty programs need to encourage home owners to purchase, because it is like health insurance, it only takes one bad situation and your covered, my son has a policy, my neighbors, do now. People on limited incomes need these policies for major problems. I have told many people to get one of these programs, it has helped them.
# 104875
Sebastian - FL 08-12-2016
Chuck Lombardi,Sebastian FL
Posted On 08/12/16
Review No. 104842
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
BIG RIP OFF!!!

I am a 75 year old man with a pacemaker and had this warranty because I am on a fixed income and could not afford a large bill. My air conditioner broke several times. Instead of replacing they put duct tape on it for over a year. It finally came to the point that it could not be fixed anymore.

It took one month for them to replace the item. I live in Florida and it was summertime so the weather was very high humidity and at least 95 degrees everyday. I bought a small air conditioner and put it in my bedroom and had to live in there for a whole month.

I called them and advised them of my age and health condition. They did not care at all. All the premiums I paid them and I still had to pay $1600 to get it fixed. They got a company named Star Quality to fix it and they charged me for things they did not do.

I saved only about $2000 dollars and had to complain and live very uncomfortable for a month. What a waist. Don't give this company your money. view less
BIG RIP OFF!!!

I am a 75 year old man with a pacemaker and had this warranty because I am on a fixed income and could not afford a large bill. My air conditioner broke several times. Instead of replacing they put duct tape on it for over a year. It finally came to the point that it could not be fixed anymore.

It took one month for them to replace the item. I
... view more
# 104842
Sorrento - FL 08-08-2016
Karen R.Johnson,Sorrento FL
Posted On 08/08/16
Review No. 104629
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
In March I put a cake into my wall oven. Within 10 minutes the entire oven was filled with flames large enough to reach the lining of the door. I shut off the electricty in the panel but the flames peristed so I caled the fire department. They came out and said the bottom coil burnt to the rear of the oven. They checked the wiring of the wall oven and said it was nt an electrical fire but caused by the oven.

I called total protect. They sent someone out a few days later and the technician from Sears said that the oven has a hole in the ceiling so Total Protect would not honor the warranty. Apparently the clip hawhich held up the broiler elemnt had fallen out in the oven during the fire. They refused to replace my oven.

After fighting with them for a month they finally agreed to pay $160 towards a new oven.

I purchased the new oven Memorial Day weekend and until today have not received the $160 reimbursement.

Last week I developed a leak in the water line under the kitchen sink and the next day developed frost throughout my refrigerator.

I called Total Protect and Sears was sent out for the refrigerator. The man said it isn't defrosting and ice was built up in the vents between the freeaer and fridge wall (side by side). He said empty and let it sit off for 3-7 with a fan blowing into it with the doors open. No repair.

Called in four times in a week and told not a mechanical problem. Called six repair places and told the defrost system is what is broken.

Still fighting with Total Protect. Told someone would get back to me in an hour and to date no one has called me.

This refrigerator is just 5 years old. Total Protect replaced it 5 years ago under the plan. Now, they fix nothing and repair nothing.

After resubmitting the bill for the new oven three times I received an email Friday, Aug. 5 stating they will not cover the cooktop or grill I purchased on Memorial Day which is on the same receipt as the oven.They itemized out the cost of the cooktop, and the grill but apparently couldn't see the cost of the oven $969 plus tax saying the entire receipt was blurry -- to resubmit. If it was so blurry how could they read the cost of the cooktop and gill?

Stay away from these folks. Not worth thepaper it is written on. view less
In March I put a cake into my wall oven. Within 10 minutes the entire oven was filled with flames large enough to reach the lining of the door. I shut off the electricty in the panel but the flames peristed so I caled the fire department. They came out and said the bottom coil burnt to the rear of the oven. They checked the wiring of the wall oven and said it was nt an electrical fire but
... view more
# 104629
Los Angeles - CA 08-05-2016
Lisa Otis-Kisor,Los Angeles CA
Posted On 08/05/16
Review No. 104567
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I signed up for this Warranty in February. We filed our FIRST claim on July 29th, 2016 and as of today August 5, 2016, an entire week later, we have not had our AC unit serviced. They sent me 4 companies that do not service our zip code, and 2 companies that do not service our type of AC unit. EVERY time I had to call their number back with wait times EVERY time at 45 minutes. Many were closer to an hour. They never returned my calls as I asked, and although I filed claims online, all I got was a form response email back. I have canceled my service. This was a TOTAL RIP-OFF and cost me a week of agravation and a hot condo in the summer. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY view less
I signed up for this Warranty in February. We filed our FIRST claim on July 29th, 2016 and as of today August 5, 2016, an entire week later, we have not had our AC unit serviced. They sent me 4 companies that do not service our zip code, and 2 companies that do not service our type of AC unit. EVERY time I had to call their number back with wait times EVERY time at 45 minutes. Many were closer
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104567
somers - NY 07-30-2016
robert,somers NY
Posted On 07/30/16
Review No. 104300
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The only thing total protect protects is itself...
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104300
Kansas City - KS 07-28-2016
Leslie roste,Kansas City KS
Posted On 07/28/16
Review No. 104214
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Longtime customer ... Happy until recently. Customer service is rude and not helpful. Cooktop went out and I called with measurements that were verified by installer. When cooktop arrived it was incorrect size... They are charging me a 20% restocking fee and offering me cash equivalent to their distributor pricing minus 20%. The supervisors were just as rude as the customer service reps... Very disappointing. view less
Longtime customer ... Happy until recently. Customer service is rude and not helpful. Cooktop went out and I called with measurements that were verified by installer. When cooktop arrived it was incorrect size... They are charging me a 20% restocking fee and offering me cash equivalent to their distributor pricing minus 20%. The supervisors were just as rude as the customer service reps...
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104214
San Antonio - TX 07-27-2016
Tony Oliva,San Antonio TX
Posted On 07/27/16
Review No. 104118
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a scam operation. Their marketing brochure tells you not to worry about "Pre-Existing Conditions" they don't care about how old, as long as the equipment is operating properly. Well that is a big lie. My air conditioner compressor that was installed new 4 and 1/2 years ago failed. They said it is not covered under their warranty because the installer failed in install a dryer/filter. How is the consumer supposed to know what is proper installation and not proper installation. They will find any excuse not to pay for what they promised. Buyer be ware! view less
This company is a scam operation. Their marketing brochure tells you not to worry about "Pre-Existing Conditions" they don't care about how old, as long as the equipment is operating properly. Well that is a big lie. My air conditioner compressor that was installed new 4 and 1/2 years ago failed. They said it is not covered under their warranty because the installer failed in install a
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104118
Valencia - CA 07-25-2016
Gary Weller,Valencia CA
Posted On 07/25/16
Review No. 104012
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I contacted Total Protection regarding main drain stoppage the had water back up into my showers (tw0) and both toilets. I stated it was an emergency. They sent out a plumber from CSSI plumbing.

The plumber showed up and told me the ($125.00) deductible must my paid in cash only. He then proceeded to tell me the only way to unclog the main drain was to remove the toilet and that would not be covered under the Total Protection plan and the cost would be ($275.00) and must be paid in cash.

I contacted Total Protection to verify what the Plumber told me was true. Total Protection said they would only cover if the plumber used the clean out opening and not pay if the toilet had to come out. The plumber lifted the toilet and then still used the clean out opening to unclog the main drain.

I have contacted Total Protection to demand a refund of the ($275.00) and to cancel my contract. The contractors they use issue receipts with no pre printed information in regards to identify them. They fill in by hand their partial name and phone number.

I would never recommend this company or the contractors they use.

Sincerely
Gary Weller view less
I contacted Total Protection regarding main drain stoppage the had water back up into my showers (tw0) and both toilets. I stated it was an emergency. They sent out a plumber from CSSI plumbing.

The plumber showed up and told me the ($125.00) deductible must my paid in cash only. He then proceeded to tell me the only way to unclog the main drain was to remove the toilet
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104012
Lanham - MD 07-25-2016
Diann Dwight,Lanham MD
Posted On 07/25/16
Review No. 104003
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My hot water heater went out. I was told that there is $500 cap on the water heater. OK. But I asked about installation and I'm told it isn't included. The bigger issue is that they WILL NOT connect you to the claims department. You're on hold for HOURS while they research the question. And the answer is simply the representative reading from some document that they cannot explain. This is a stall tactic and a ridiculous one at that. Everybody needs to make a profit; I get that. But this is a lack of integrity on the company's part. The policy was offered through USAA and I will share my experience with them as well as post on the appropriate boards. view less
My hot water heater went out. I was told that there is $500 cap on the water heater. OK. But I asked about installation and I'm told it isn't included. The bigger issue is that they WILL NOT connect you to the claims department. You're on hold for HOURS while they research the question. And the answer is simply the representative reading from some document that they cannot explain. This is
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104003
Tampa - FL 07-23-2016
Carmen,Tampa FL
Posted On 07/23/16
Review No. 103924
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Our LG refrigerator's control panel worked on and off. We called customer service and spoke to a rep named Tashana. We asked her if it was covered and she said she wasn't sure and would confer with her superior. She advised that it would be covered as it's considered mechanical so it would be covered. When we made the appt we were confident the repair would be covered.

When the repair man came we explained what the control center was doing and that it worked on and off. He examined it and everything seemed to work at that time he inspected it. We explained again that it works on and off and that we were assured it was covered. He took pictures and said he had to get approval. The control panel had peeled about 6 months after the factory warranty. We found out then that LG had horrible reviews and found the some appliances were rusting on the inside. We contacted them and they sent us a new panel. We wanted it in case it ever broke down and we had a home warranty thru out mortgage company so we thought we were covered. Now at almost 3 years it started to malfunction.

I am very upset disappointed with this company and do not recommend them to anyone. view less
Our LG refrigerator's control panel worked on and off. We called customer service and spoke to a rep named Tashana. We asked her if it was covered and she said she wasn't sure and would confer with her superior. She advised that it would be covered as it's considered mechanical so it would be covered. When we made the appt we were confident the repair would be covered.

When
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103924
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact totalprotect.com directly.