ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

Home  /   Companies /   General Home Warranty
icon Last updated: September 17, 2019

General Home Warranty

General Home Warranty (GHW) claims that they create warranty plans that allow homeowners to save money on all kinds of repairs. Warranty plans by GHW promise homeowners 14 months of coverage with quick and efficient repair services. The company is headquartered in and administers business in Albuquerque, New Mexico. GHW warranty products are suited for Realtors and homeowners alike.
General Home Warranty
0 / 5
Based on 6 Reviews | Write A Review

N/A

Estimated Appliance Coverage

N/A

Estimated System Coverage

1

No. Of Active States

No

Complaint Resolution Program

People are also interested in

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield (AHS)

4
/ 5
Based on 13,681 Reviews
Total Home Protection

Total Home Protection

4.5
/ 5
Based on 710 Reviews
Choice Home Warranty

Choice Home Warranty

4
/ 5
Based on 6,876 Reviews

General Home Warranty REVIEWS

Icon

Gall, Albuquerque, NM

On Apr 08, 2019

Melissa the reception person acts like she is a qualified contractor to deny claims. She asked for proof of home inspection that clearly states the warranty covers, & without sending someone still tries to deny coverage. I am calling the AG, BBB, & a lawyer! Screw this fraud company!

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Brendan Gunning, Albuquerque, NM

On Feb 09, 2019

This company is a borderline scam. I had a roof leak on Oct 23 2018 which I reported that same night. I received a phone call back shortly after saying a roofer would be out in 7-10 days because they were busy due to bad weather. I follow up in a week, again same thing 7-10 days. A MONTH LATER, November 28th, I get a call from GHW saying their roofer no longer works on tile roofs and a different roofer w ..Read Full Review

This company is a borderline scam. I had a roof leak on Oct 23 2018 which I reported that same night. I received a phone call back shortly after saying a roofer would be out in 7-10 days because they were busy due to bad weather. I follow up in a week, again same thing 7-10 days. A MONTH LATER, November 28th, I get a call from GHW saying their roofer no longer works on tile roofs and a different roofer would call me within 48 hours. Never got a call. I called back 5 more times and eventually got a call from a roofer on December 21st but I was out of town and had to schedule a visit later. The roofer comes over January 8th and looks at the roof, finds where the leak is coming from, and calls GHW to explain the problem. I follow up with the roofer January 16th, he says he hasn't heard anything from GHW. I've called GHW probably 20 times over the course of this incident. Due to these absurd delays, each time it rains and leaks it drips into my kitchen ceiling which is now damaged. I filed a complaint with the BBB and GHW responded that "bad weather has backed up roofers both estimating and making repairs" and that they had responded to the roofer approving the repair. Excuse me, it's been 3 months - we haven't had 3 months straight of bad weather. I've contacted multiple other roofers who all said they could have an estimate in 1-3 days and repair in 1-2 weeks unless it was a complicated repair, which this isn't. I could have had this repaired in 2 weeks, but it's taken GHW 3 months and counting. GHW has delayed and delayed, and their negligence has caused damage to my kitchen ceiling which I'm sure they won't repair either. This is, without a doubt, the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. This home warranty was just included in the closing of my home and I didn't think twice about it. Do your homework, read reviews, and choose a home warranty company with decent reviews. GHW is a scam, avoid at all costs. ..View less

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Breanna Cordova, Albuquerque, NM

On Dec 04, 2018

I absolutely regret using this company. Got ignored for months. When I would call to follow up, they lady answering the phone kept asking if I wanted to make a claim. The roofer finally called and said he was “just doing it to make me happy.” He left damage to the inside of my home. I spoke with a manager that did not care and gave me a wrong email address to send my complaint to. I called to ..Read Full Review

I absolutely regret using this company. Got ignored for months. When I would call to follow up, they lady answering the phone kept asking if I wanted to make a claim. The roofer finally called and said he was “just doing it to make me happy.” He left damage to the inside of my home. I spoke with a manager that did not care and gave me a wrong email address to send my complaint to. I called to verify that email and was told someone would call me back. That never happened. After all the that, my roof is still leaking and I was told once again someone would call me back. ..View less

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Meghan Sanchez, Albuquerque , NM

On Jan 04, 2018

Was given the run around for almost two months. Melissa promised to “check and call me back” several times, they never answer their phone and never repaired or even inspected the issue. Don’t go with them!

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Bill Harrison, Albuquerque, NM

On Dec 16, 2017

Zero customer service. Stay away from this company. We have been waiting a week to have our furnace looked at. Worthless company

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Bob, Albuquerque, NM

On Jul 27, 2017

This company is a running a scam. Do not even think of buying a home warranty from them. They do not provide timely service and do not cover repairs that they are supposed to.

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ready to share your home warranty experience with General Home Warranty? Click here to write your own review

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020