×

HMS Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for HMS Home Warranty

HMS Home Warranty

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.4 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Write an honest review now !

1625 NW 136th Ave Bldg E # 200 Sunrise, FL 33323-2842
888-351-0908 $360-$500+
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
NHSCA Membership Yes
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 39
Total Reviews 678
Complaint Resolution Yes
BBB Rating B
Executive Profiles Sandra Finn - President, Jessica Nilsen - Senior Director, Tami Thraum - Secretary
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters Sunrise, FL
Address 1625 NW 136th Ave Bldg E # 200 Sunrise, FL 33323-2842
Alias Cross Country Home Services, Inc., Total Protect Cross Country, Total Protect Home Service Plan, Total Protect Home Warranty, Home Warranty Services, Homeowners Marketing Services, Inc., HomeSure of Arizona, Inc., Total Protect Gold, HomeCentric, HMS National, Inc., SystemsProtect, HMS Home Warranty, Homesure HMS Home Warranty Service, Central Protect Home Service Plan, HMS Insurance Agency, Inc., Cross Country Insurance, Home Protect Home Warranty, Homesure of Virginia, Inc., HMS Homeowners Marketing, Appliance Buyline, Residential MD, Systems MD, Long and Foster Home Warranty, TotalProtect Home Warranty, Total Protect Gold Home Warranty

Write an honest review now !

Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

This company also operates under the following alternate business names
  1. Total Protect
  2. Cross Country Home Services
  3. Haa Of Virginia
  4. HMS Home Warranty
  5. Home Warranty Service
  6. HomeSure of Americ

HMS National is one of the leading providers of home warranty products in the nation with over 30 years of experience in the industry. HMS is a member of National Home Service Contract Association and is committed to making homeownership a pleasant experience.

HMS has a network of over 40,000 contractors who are dispatched as and when service requests arrive. The company runs a customer service facility which functions round the clock to take customer complaints.

HMS National has a well maintained, information rich website which practically functions as an online office of the company. Many services and features designed to help planholders are available for use on the website. In addition to that, information regarding the company’s warranty products, prices and articles related to homeownership are available online. Following are some of the other online services available from HMS


  • Submit a Claim
  • Renew an existing warranty plan online
  • Contact Customer Service
  • Information regarding typical Items covered in a Home Warranty
  • Download Current State Brochure for warranty plans – Coverage and Pricing Varies By Region
  • Read about General Systems and Appliances Maintenance Tips

HMS Home Warranty main products are their warranty plans. The plans come in four variations, they are as follows.

  • Seller home warranty
  • Buyer conversion warranty
  • Buyer direct warranty
  • New home warranty
  • Open direct warranty
Other products offered by the company include real estate marketing tools such as Marketopia and a few other useful tools. Marketopia is a customizable tool that agents can use to attract customers.

Reviews & Ratings

glen allen - VA 02-12-2018
varun mehra glen allen VA
Posted On 02/12/18
Review No. 122704
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst company to provide home warranty. Sewer system was blocked and i called the service desk. the provide who was supposed to come call at 6pm saying he doesnot have the equipment. Next i call again and i was told i can use my own provider. since jan1st week i have been trying to get the invoice reimbursement. Today i get the email if the there was no reason of failure there is no-reimbursement. My point is, if the snake doesnot hold anything when it comes out then we dont know why there was a problem. This company only extract money and when its time for reimbursement they will find a reason for not doing it. view less
Worst company to provide home warranty. Sewer system was blocked and i called the service desk. the provide who was supposed to come call at 6pm saying he doesnot have the equipment. Next i call again and i was told i can use my own provider. since jan1st week i have been trying to get the invoice reimbursement. Today i get the email if the there was no reason of failure there is
... view more
# 122704
Bel Air - MD 02-07-2018
DB Bel Air MD
Posted On 02/07/18
Review No. 122535
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Going on 20 days now without heat in the middle of winter. About ten calls to customer service so far. At least half of those calls end with customer service rep saying a member of X department will call me back. Didn't happen once. Last call a customer service rep transferred me to an accounts manager. She was more rude and less responsive than any of the other calls. They would have would had me as an annual member for years if this claim went well. Now, I am worried this may never get fixed after reading the other reviews here. Crazy. view less
Going on 20 days now without heat in the middle of winter. About ten calls to customer service so far. At least half of those calls end with customer service rep saying a member of X department will call me back. Didn't happen once. Last call a customer service rep transferred me to an accounts manager. She was more rude and less responsive than any of the other calls. They would have
... view more
# 122535
Woodbridge - VA 01-28-2018
Sherida Allen Woodbridge VA
Posted On 01/28/18
Review No. 122167
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
BUYER BEWARE!!!!! This company is NOT a true home owners warranty company. Thus far, every claim I've had - a condenser failed on our air conditioning unit....they DISCLAIMED the repair saying it wasn't a system failure thus it wasn't covered, yet without this being repaired we didn't have air conditioning. Make sense to you? Also, our hot water heater was in danger of exploding and releasing 74 gallons of water into my unit and others in my building!!!! Again, HMS DISCLAIMED the repair stating that the Thermal Expansion Tank wasn't a failure of the unit even though this is an integral part of the unit functioning properly. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!! Just be aware.....from what I've experienced - HMS just collects the insurance premiums but FAILS TO INSURE ANYTHING. view less
BUYER BEWARE!!!!! This company is NOT a true home owners warranty company. Thus far, every claim I've had - a condenser failed on our air conditioning unit....they DISCLAIMED the repair saying it wasn't a system failure thus it wasn't covered, yet without this being repaired we didn't have air conditioning. Make sense to you? Also, our hot water heater was in danger of exploding and
... view more
# 122167
Troy - IL 01-19-2018
Samson Troy IL
Posted On 01/19/18
Review No. 121793
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worse company I have dealt with when it comes to costumer service. I have been waiting for A check for claim credit over two months now. Everytime I call it’s a different story with the check being mailed on a different date, I was finally updated and they said they had never actually mailed the check so now they will start over and mail a new one on the 26th of this month. When I asked about priority shipping they said they could not do it. This claim was processed in the middle of November and it’s almost February. It’s only a 146 dollars and some change. I have no idea why they won’t use a different method for payment such as a wire transfer at this point. And the kicker is that they said it takes 7 to 10 business days once it’s mailed to get it. I live in Illinois and have mailed items to my brother in San Diego using standard shipping and it’s only taken 3 to 5 days at the most. What a scam! view less
Worse company I have dealt with when it comes to costumer service. I have been waiting for A check for claim credit over two months now. Everytime I call it’s a different story with the check being mailed on a different date, I was finally updated and they said they had never actually mailed the check so now they will start over and mail a new one on the 26th of this month. When I asked
... view more
# 121793
HMS
01-28-2018
Samson - I am sorry that we have disappointed you. We value you as a customer and want to help get your claim resolved. Please email your claim number or property address and we will help expedite this process. - Tanya
Arlington - VA 01-15-2018
Brian Arlington VA
Posted On 01/15/18
Review No. 121575
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Useless customer service representatives who just want to get you off the phone. They will set up appointments that can't be met by the actual repair group, then they will say they are unable to switch the appointment and you are stuck waiting.

Terrible company. Terrible people.
# 121575
HMS
01-28-2018
Brian - I’m sorry to hear about this experience. It’s definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. I appreciate your feedback and will provide it back to the organization in an effort to improve on future experiences. - Tanya
Cincinnati - OH 12-29-2017
Ellen Cincinnati OH
Posted On 12/29/17
Review No. 120668
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst company I have ever dealt with. Wait time is typically over an hour every time you call. When you finally get through, the call agents are beyond rude. My husband called for a plumber when we had a leaking pipe and the call agent said they didn’t have any plumbers in our area. How do you not have any plumbers in the Cincinnati area?? Many bad experiences in dealing with HMS. This is a joke of a company. Choose a different option! view less
Worst company I have ever dealt with. Wait time is typically over an hour every time you call. When you finally get through, the call agents are beyond rude. My husband called for a plumber when we had a leaking pipe and the call agent said they didn’t have any plumbers in our area. How do you not have any plumbers in the Cincinnati area?? Many bad experiences in dealing with HMS. This is a
... view more
# 120668
HMS
01-04-2018
Ellen - I'm sorry to hear that your experiences have not been what you expected. We aim to provide timely and efficient service and we clearly missed this objective. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your concerns. Please email us at [email protected] with your best contact number and time to reach you. - Tanya
Stoneham - MA 12-27-2017
Orazio Azzarello Stoneham MA
Posted On 12/27/17
Review No. 120585
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
So I need to replace my heating system, HMS tells us they don't have anyone in my network so I need to look at an outside provider which I did and found a company that was willing to help us. (I LIVE IN MASSACHUSETTS AND YOU DON'T HAVE A PROVIDER, THAT RIGHT THERE IS A JOKE)
HMS asked for the provider to call them so they can review the quote which the provider did and they told them they need a itemize billing so they know what needs to be covered. The provider and the other 7 providers I called don't do this and only provide a flat price, basically telling you what is needed.
So I have no heat and HMS does not care I have called several times and have spoken to people that cannot help me. view less
So I need to replace my heating system, HMS tells us they don't have anyone in my network so I need to look at an outside provider which I did and found a company that was willing to help us. (I LIVE IN MASSACHUSETTS AND YOU DON'T HAVE A PROVIDER, THAT RIGHT THERE IS A JOKE)
HMS asked for the provider to call them so they can review the quote which the provider did and they told them
... view more
# 120585
HMS
01-04-2018
Orazio - I can tell this experience has been extremely frustrating and want to help. If you still need assistance please email your claim number or full property address to [email protected] and a member of my team will review your claim and follow up with you. - Tanya



Derwood - MD 12-26-2017
Grant Derwood MD
Posted On 12/26/17
Review No. 120513
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have honestly never been this frustrated with a company in my entire life. I have been a customer for the past 5 years and have had positive experiences in the past; however the past few claims (especially the most recent) have been an absolute nightmare.

On December 13th I submitted a plumbing claim; that day I received an email from HMS stating that a company had been assigned to the claim and an appointment was confirmed for that Friday. After taking leave from work, no company arrived on Friday. I called HMS Customer Service and they said the company had denied the claim due to overbooking and therefore I had to call a new company. I was a little annoyed since HMS left it up to me to call customer service just to find this out since I had wasted 3 days thinking the original company's appointment had been confirmed and also taken a day off work for absolutely not reason.

The next day, I called the 2nd company to schedule an appointment. They scheduled an appointment for Tuesday which they never arrived for (another day of leave for absolutely no reason). The company called me and said they were having 'car issues'. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and rescheduled for the next day from 10am-2pm. A technician called me a 5:45pm the next day and said he was on his way; 3 hours and 45 minutes after the window. Given that I was hosting my family that night, I told him not to come and asked that he have his company call me to reschedule. A few days later, still no call from the company.

This morning, I called HMS Customer Service and simply asked that whoever come to fix my plumbing that HMS can either waive or reimburse me for the down-payment ($125). I waited on hold for literally over an hour just to have Claims tell me that Membership could help me, and then Membership tell me that claims could help me. After about 90 minutes, I finally spoke with someone who seemed like they were going to remedy the issue. However, after holding a little more, I was told that since "it is expected the customer pays the down-payment", they couldnt reimburse me. Sorry, but as a customer, I expect not to have to chase around the warranty company as well as all of the providers for 2-3 weeks after my claim to get the work done.

I pay $500-$600 a year (for the past 5 years) and after a complete nightmare of a claim, HMS won't even reimburse me $125. Completely absurd.

I called back to membership and asked to speak to a supervisor and was sent directly to voicemail. My guess is, I either will never hear back or they will call me 2 months from now with another excuse as to why they can't reimburse me the $125.

I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone and will definitely never extend my coverage.

Absolutely horrible company.

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! view less
I have honestly never been this frustrated with a company in my entire life. I have been a customer for the past 5 years and have had positive experiences in the past; however the past few claims (especially the most recent) have been an absolute nightmare.

On December 13th I submitted a plumbing claim; that day I received an email from HMS stating that a company had been
... view more
# 120513
HMS
01-04-2018
Grant - It sounds like we’ve let you down and we would like to address your concerns. Please email your property address to [email protected] and a member of our team will review your account and follow up with you. - Tanya
unlisted - OK 12-20-2017
AD unlisted OK
Posted On 12/20/17
Review No. 120366
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I'd give zero stars if I could! Terrible company. It's been 6 Weeks and NO HEAT! after 5.5 weeks they finally sent the equipment only to conveniently forget one part. REALLY?! its 5 days to Christmas and I have no heat! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!
The only nice thing I can say is that the customer service reps where very courteous and polite.
# 120366
HMS
01-04-2018
AD - I understand your frustration, 6 weeks is a long time to be without heat and it is unacceptable. I want to help get this resolved for you. Please email us at [email protected] with your claim number or full property address and I will have a member of my team investigate. - Tanya
lexington - UT 12-18-2017
kaysie massie lexington UT
Posted On 12/18/17
Review No. 120233
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
worst warranty company I have ever worked with. It has been 10 days and still no heat. Everytime you call in for help youre on hold for over an hour. Please do yourself a favor and pick anyone else to warranty your investment
# 120233
HMS
01-04-2018
Kaysie - I' m sorry for the delays and extended hold times. I'd like to help expedite a resolution of your claim. Please email us at [email protected] with your claim number or full property address. - Tanya
Baltimore - MD 12-07-2017
Komivi Allagan Baltimore MD
Posted On 12/07/17
Review No. 119607
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I am NOT really giving this SCAM company a single star. It's just that there's no option to give them negative ZERO rating which they pretty much deserve!
I've been with this so called home warranty (or rather home scam) company for over a year now. I placed my very first claim to get my failed microwave replaced, and I paid the $100 deductible to this arrogant and ignorant service provider. For the past 3 weeks since the claim, their 30 minutes hold customer service kept telling me that they're waiting for the service provider to send in a report to further process the claim. How long does it take to receive a report which I believe is not 500 pages long?
Whoever is reading this rating has been WARNED! If you're looing for a home warranty, STAY AWAY from this company to keep your hard earned Dollar! I had to buy a spare microwave, so save yourself the HEADACHE and FRUSTRATION! view less
I am NOT really giving this SCAM company a single star. It's just that there's no option to give them negative ZERO rating which they pretty much deserve!
I've been with this so called home warranty (or rather home scam) company for over a year now. I placed my very first claim to get my failed microwave replaced, and I paid the $100 deductible to this arrogant and ignorant service
... view more
# 119607
HMS
12-22-2017
Komivi - It is clear that your experience was unsatisfactory, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. Your feedback is very important to us and was provided back to the organization in an effort to improve future customer experiences. - Tanya
Ashburn - VA 11-29-2017
K Benson Ashburn VA
Posted On 11/29/17
Review No. 118987
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Not only have I had to hold for a MINIMUM of 1 1/2 HOURS each time to speak with a customer service representative, when I do finally speak with someone they don't have the simple answers to the status of my claim. I have then had to be placed on hold AGAIN.
The individuals sent/recommended to repair the appliances are unprofessional, unqualified to even change a light bulb. This is the most frustrating company, "customer service" and warranty company I could EVER IMAGINE! I will FOREVER tell anyone who will listen to NEVER use HMS! view less
Not only have I had to hold for a MINIMUM of 1 1/2 HOURS each time to speak with a customer service representative, when I do finally speak with someone they don't have the simple answers to the status of my claim. I have then had to be placed on hold AGAIN.
The individuals sent/recommended to repair the appliances are unprofessional, unqualified to even change a light bulb. This is
... view more
# 118987
HMS
12-22-2017
K Benson - I’m sorry to hear about this experience. It’s definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. We value your opinion. If you still require assistance please email us at [email protected] with your claim number or full property address and a member of our team will follow up with you. - Tanya
HMS
12-22-2017
K Benson - I’m sorry to hear about this experience. It’s definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. We value your opinion. If you still require assistance please email us at [email protected] with your claim number or full property address and a member of our team will follow up with you. - Tanya
Pittsburgh - PA 11-28-2017
Robert Johnson Pittsburgh PA
Posted On 11/28/17
Review No. 118901
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
If I could give a 0 I would. We bought a home in June and the warranty came in the deal. Next time I will make sure that the warranty isn't with HMS. Our refrigerator went out on 11-5-2017 and I spent the better part of the Sunday and Monday simply trying to get a hold of someone on the phone with no luck. I then went to the website the automated messaging system gave and submitted my claim. I received an email stating who the contractor would be along with my appointment time (Tuesday 11-7-2017.) I then called him to verify and he said he couldn't come that day and that HMS doesn't schedule his appointments. After explaining the situation he told me he would make the appointment but it had to be in the afternoon as he was busy all of that morning. So I made arrangements for either my wife or myself to be at the house in the afternoon. All is good? Absolutely not! He had his assistant call the next morning to tell me that he wouldn't be coming that afternoon and they were on their way now. So I raced home to meet them. They showed up and I can honestly say I think they were high on drugs. He changed the computer with no luck and then said he needed to order a different part without diagnosing a single item. He was sure to tell me that I owed him my $100 deductible. He said the part would be in on Saturday the 11th and he'd be back to replace it. Friday came and I hadn't heard anything so I called him. He had no idea who I was and said he'd take my number and call me back. He never called me back. Monday came and I finally got an answer...he and his assistant had looked up the schematic on our fridge and the part they needed did not exist. He had sent the info back to HMS for them to find the part. I called HMS and after being on hold for 1.5 hours spoke with someone who had no idea what I was talking about. They told me that apparently my claim was going into a review status and that in 5-10 days if they could not find the part a the fridge would be replaced. We waited 7 days before calling again and was told the claim had been sent back to the contractor. I called him to get a status and again...had no idea who I was. Then said the part was on order and he'd be back on Saturday to fix it (sound familiar?) We had to cancel Thanksgiving dinner at our house due to not having a working fridge. Friday came, I called him to see when he'd be at the house and again he had no idea who I was, asked for my name and phone number so he could research my file and call me back. I called back in 2 hours and he said that he hadn't heard from his office and to refresh his memory as to who I was. I then reminded him of the entire situation and he told me that he needed to get with his office to see if the part was ordered. We called HMS again and have had the claim reassigned so we are now starting back at day 1 after almost a month. We have kept in contact with HMS throughout the entire process with extremely long hold times which is unacceptable. We have been told countless times that our claim had been escalated to a supervisor and we'd be receiving a call within 24 hours, the phone has never rang. I started doing research on both the contractor and HMS and I see the horrible reviews received by both. The responses from HMS are always the same "We are sorry for the inconvenience send us your claim and address in a separate email and someone will be contacting you." I'd love to know if anyone has ever been contacted because the complaints seem to be continuing to pile up which tells me that the appropriate steps aren't being taken to fix the problems at HMS. To put it simply this is fraud. view less
If I could give a 0 I would. We bought a home in June and the warranty came in the deal. Next time I will make sure that the warranty isn't with HMS. Our refrigerator went out on 11-5-2017 and I spent the better part of the Sunday and Monday simply trying to get a hold of someone on the phone with no luck. I then went to the website the automated messaging system gave and submitted my claim. I
... view more
# 118901
HMS
12-22-2017
Robert - It sounds like we’ve let you down. Your experience definitely does not reflect the type of service we aim to provide and we would like to address your concerns. Please respond to this message with your property address and a member of our team will review your account and follow up with you. - Tanya
Ashburn - VA 11-13-2017
Wilbert Clerizier Ashburn VA
Posted On 11/13/17
Review No. 118403
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst company to do business with. They are very dishonest, they take your money and refuse to repair your equipment on time. They should not be in business.
# 118403
Derwood - MD 11-09-2017
Melissa Poinelli Derwood MD
Posted On 11/09/17
Review No. 118273
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Last December my husband and I bought a house that included home warranty. We didn't have this on our previous house so I was pretty excited to know we had a back up plan if something were to break within the first year. Our washing machine wouldn't drain and spin and we paid the deductible for the contractor to come out and diagnose the problem. It took the contractor 3x to diagnose the issue which resulted in the replacement of pretty much every part inside the washer. Instead of replacing the washer, the home warranty company spent more money in parts and labor then what a new washer would cost. After reading reviews about our washer, the issue found seems to be a common problem. Now that it has been 11 months since we bought the home, the washer is doing the exact same thing that it did 7 months ago. Instead of dealing with the home warranty customer service, paying the deductible again and having to take off work to let contractors into our home, we went out and bought a new washer last night. Let's just say I will not renew our membership for another year and will not accept home warranty for any future home purchases. view less
Last December my husband and I bought a house that included home warranty. We didn't have this on our previous house so I was pretty excited to know we had a back up plan if something were to break within the first year. Our washing machine wouldn't drain and spin and we paid the deductible for the contractor to come out and diagnose the problem. It took the contractor 3x to diagnose the issue
... view more
# 118273
HMS
11-15-2017


Melissa - I’m sorry that this was your experience. This is not a typical situation and I’d like to review your claim and invoice for the clothes washer you purchased for consideration of reimbursement. Email your claim number or full property address to [email protected] Be sure to include a copy of your paid invoice for review as well. Sincerely, Tanya

unlisted - KY 11-05-2017
vs unlisted KY
Posted On 11/05/17
Review No. 118135
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Phone lines always busy - takes forever to get through....!! Need plumbing assistance- only 2 names were given (said there were no others in network - uh.... this is Greater Cincinnati with millions of service providers) and both of those providers are terribly rated!!!
# 118135
HMS
11-15-2017
VS - I’m sorry for the inconvenience and that you have not been able to get through on our phone lines. I’d like to help you with expediting your claim. If you still need assistance please email us at [email protected] - Tanya
Dayton - OH 11-04-2017
Kate Dayton OH
Posted On 11/04/17
Review No. 118112
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a scam. How they operate is by sending different companies to fix the same issue each time and charging the deductible each time without resolving the issue. It should be illegal. They will not cover anything that is not what they call "mechanical problem". Plus even for premium they would only cover $1500 when a cost of boiler is $8000, for example. But even that doesn't matter because they would never pay even that. And shame on those contractor companies who work for them, who show up at your house saying that they can't find the problem, but saying that if it breaks down again you will need to pay deductible again. And the repairs they do would cost you less than $100 deductible if you went with someone else who is not a part of their network. I never buy any kind of warranties and I got this with the house I bought. I just want to let people who consider having hms that I do not recommend it. view less
This company is a scam. How they operate is by sending different companies to fix the same issue each time and charging the deductible each time without resolving the issue. It should be illegal. They will not cover anything that is not what they call "mechanical problem". Plus even for premium they would only cover $1500 when a cost of boiler is $8000, for example. But even that doesn't
... view more
# 118112
HMS
11-15-2017
Kate – Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that the warranty was not what you expected. The feedback you’ve provided is very important and I will ensure it’s provided to the appropriate departments. - Tanya
Hot Springs - AR 10-26-2017
Sheila Hot Springs AR
Posted On 10/26/17
Review No. 117831
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Before we purchased our home, a friend suggested we ask the seller for home warranty coverage. Afterwards other property owners told us we were wasting our money. Speaking from our experience, that simply hasn't been the case. We've had this coverage 3 years and are certain the cost of the repairs under this policy have exceeded the premiums paid to date.

The representatives are always knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. When our air conditioning went out (twice), both times service was dispatched within 24 hours during a time of a heavy volume of similar calls for service. My only negative is that there seems to be only one service provider for our area no matter what the claim is for. That means the service provider could be overwhelmed when service is needed quickly. view less
Before we purchased our home, a friend suggested we ask the seller for home warranty coverage. Afterwards other property owners told us we were wasting our money. Speaking from our experience, that simply hasn't been the case. We've had this coverage 3 years and are certain the cost of the repairs under this policy have exceeded the premiums paid to date.

The representatives
... view more
# 117831
HMS
11-15-2017
Sheila – We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for providing your feedback. Our goal is to make your home management needs easier. We are working on upgrading our service network and would like to ensure your area is a part of that upgrade. Please send an email to [email protected] with your full property address. Thanks - Tanya
Alexandria - VA 10-16-2017
Steven Howell Alexandria VA
Posted On 10/16/17
Review No. 117225
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This review is mostly about the phone representative who helped me with my claim on Oct 16, 2017. The system initially assigned Sears to come out and repair my refrigerator. I explained that I needed the service provider to come on a Saturday if possible. She could find no availability for Saturday with Sears, so she asked if I could wait for a few moments on hold while she checked for options. I agreed, and within a 2 or 3 minutes she came back with good news and scheduled me with another provider (American Pro) for the very next Saturday morning. I really appreciated her caring and competent service. I've been with HMS for almost three years, and this why! Great service! view less
This review is mostly about the phone representative who helped me with my claim on Oct 16, 2017. The system initially assigned Sears to come out and repair my refrigerator. I explained that I needed the service provider to come on a Saturday if possible. She could find no availability for Saturday with Sears, so she asked if I could wait for a few moments on hold while she checked for
... view more
# 117225
HMS
10-25-2017
Steven -Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the services we’ve provided to you and for your loyalty! We appreciate your feedback. – Tanya
Alexandria va - VA 10-13-2017
Mike Alexandria va VA
Posted On 10/13/17
Review No. 117169
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolute terrible experience with this company, every person they have come out to inspect the problem is another $50. Then once they inspect it they do not completely fix the issue, that is when you can finally get them to come out. In addition they don’t fix any of the issues caused by a failure. For example, my dishwasher started leaking causing some carpet damage and slight mold by the time they got someone out. We were told they only cover mechanical failure no subsiquent failures.

The people are relatively nice on customer service but poorly trained, as we speak I’m sitting on the phone with someone telling me my claim was denied when just yesterday I was talking about the repair with another representative and was told to call to make he appointment to have the dishwasher fixed today. I’m ready to cancel this and try to re coup some of the money I gave to them. PLEASE BEWARE!! view less
Absolute terrible experience with this company, every person they have come out to inspect the problem is another $50. Then once they inspect it they do not completely fix the issue, that is when you can finally get them to come out. In addition they don’t fix any of the issues caused by a failure. For example, my dishwasher started leaking causing some carpet damage and slight mold by the
... view more
# 117169
HMS
10-25-2017
Mike – It is clear that your experience was less than satisfactory, and we will be glad to review your claim to ensure you received the full benefit of your warranty. Please email your full property address to [email protected] and a member of my team will investigate your claim and follow up with you directly. - Amanda
Wake forest - NC 09-23-2017
Jean Hanighen Wake forest NC
Posted On 09/23/17
Review No. 116431
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
So far we have had a good experience with HMS.
Yes, repairs take a long time and it can be hit or miss with contractors but it is still a money saver for us.

We are going into week 2 of no a.c. but we are hopefully getting a new unit installed next week. Fingers crossed!
# 116431
HMS
10-11-2017
Jean - we appreciate you providing your feedback and taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry for the delays with your AC claim and would like to help expedite the process. If you need further assistance email us at [email protected] with your claim number or property address and a member of our team will review your claim and follow up with you directly. Thanks - Tanya
Baltimore - MD 09-15-2017
William Armstrong Baltimore MD
Posted On 09/15/17
Review No. 116171
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Excellent company to be a part of.
# 116171
HMS
09-15-2017
William - Thanks for the kind words! - Tanya
Pasadena - MD 09-12-2017
Paul Pasadena MD
Posted On 09/12/17
Review No. 116009
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
On 2 separate occasions and for different claims, I have had issues with this company taking anything seriously. They have demonstrated the fact that they do NOT really care about your problem.
First time was a blocked upper level plumbing that had been backing up and putting water into the ceiling for sometime days after we moved into our new house. The ceiling nearly collapsed on a Saturday and HMS wanted us to wait until Monday to start the claim - really?! I have sewage in my ceiling and a ceiling that is collapsing at that! This resulted in us using our insurance company who was fantastic and had the whole thing done right away. The plumber did his thing and fixed the problem with the plumbing, a salvage company took care of cutting out the drywall ceiling, cleaning and drying all done by Saturday night. By that Tuesday, the blowers were gone and the contractor for fixing the ceiling was here doing his thing. HMS would not have had anyone in before that Tuesday - with sewage and water on our ceiling.
Next was an appliance repair specifically our refrigerator that developed a water leak while I was out of town. No water dispenser so had to be from the ice maker. My wife shut off the water and made the claim. No real rush on this matter and was thought to have been repaired until the second occasion of malfunction which happened overnight last night and only 9 days after the initial call. Water leak started again and froze over the vents and entire bottom of freezer inside this time (first time leak was external). The fridge was at a toasty 58 degrees and rising and the freezer was initially at 6 degrees before starting to fall again to as low as -6 degrees. I promptly made a claim to HMS which reopened the initial claim as it was related. I have been calling the repair company all morning and this afternoon leaving (up to this point) 4 messages. I called back to HMS to see if there was anyway we could bypass the repair call with this particular company as they were not answering nor returning calls. They would not. I asked how long I would have to wait in order to have someone actually repair my not previously "repaired" refrigerator that now has spoiled my food. Again, I received a song and dance with no real answer and a resounding, though implied, "we don't really care about your issue".
What these 2 occurrences have resolved me to think about HMS Home Warranty is that we have paid for a service that really offers none and will continue to just take your money as you shell money out for things they claim to cover. They will tell you they believe in urgent situations but really do not and again, they do not care, even when it's sewage in your ceiling or food rotting in your refrigerator and you have to take your family out to eat 3 meals a day for who knows how long. I am most likely capable of repairing the refrigerator myself, but that means I am paying for my own parts and labor vice what I have already paid for - so I double paying and receiving nothing in return.
This is a scam company - DO NOT USE!!!! view less
On 2 separate occasions and for different claims, I have had issues with this company taking anything seriously. They have demonstrated the fact that they do NOT really care about your problem.
First time was a blocked upper level plumbing that had been backing up and putting water into the ceiling for sometime days after we moved into our new house. The ceiling nearly collapsed on a
... view more
# 116009
HMS
10-11-2017
Paul - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on your claims and make every effort to deliver on the our promises to our homeowners as detailed in our warranty Agreement. We respect that you did not request for us to review your claim, however if you would like us to take a look to ensure you received every benefit available to you in your warranty agreement, please email us at [email protected] Thank you - Louise view less
Paul - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on your claims and make every effort to deliver on the our promises to our homeowners as detailed in our warranty Agreement. We respect that you did not request for us to review your claim, however if you would like us to take a look to ensure you received every benefit available to
... view more
Silver Spring - MD 08-28-2017
Pat Carpenter Silver Spring MD
Posted On 08/28/17
Review No. 115433
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
HMS is the most professional, customer-oriented organization I have dealt with in a long time. When you call for help, they quickly assign a claim number and connect you with appropriate vendors. All of my problems were resolved immediately. Can't thank them enough! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM!!!
# 115433
HMS
09-15-2017
Pat – We appreciate you! Thanks for the kind words and sharing your experience. – Janet
Davidsonville - MD 08-26-2017
Bruce Braverman Davidsonville MD
Posted On 08/26/17
Review No. 115264
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is the first and last time I'm subscribing to this warranty plan. First I had an issue with my heat pump. The repair company they referred me to convinced me there was no problem. The company I subscribe to that provides oil and services my furnace found a problem with my heat pump. They fixed it, but I had to pay and Long & Foster would not give me my deductible back. The second problem I had was with a pool pump (I'm paying extra to cover the pool). The first repair company they referred me to decided to not take the job. They claimed they couldn't find a replacement pump (?!). So Long & Foster referred me to a second repair company. It's been over five days and they never got back to me even though I called them two times.

In conclusion Long & Foster picks sub-standard repair companies and takes no responsibility for their actions. In the end you'll do much better taking care of problems yourself. view less
This is the first and last time I'm subscribing to this warranty plan. First I had an issue with my heat pump. The repair company they referred me to convinced me there was no problem. The company I subscribe to that provides oil and services my furnace found a problem with my heat pump. They fixed it, but I had to pay and Long & Foster would not give me my deductible back. The second problem
... view more
# 115264
HMS
09-15-2017
Bruce – I appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry for the delays and to hear that your claim experience is not going as you expected. I’d like to help expedite this process and address your concerns. Email us at [email protected] with your claim and contact number and a member of our team will investigate your claim and contact you. – Tanya
Next

Rate HMS Home Warranty

You may receive the response within 12-48 hours. Please keep checking your Inbox/Spam/Junk box.

You're all set. Now track Complaint Resolution Program (CRP) to get a status update in the next 48 hours!
Thank you for your contribution. Now you can also vote for your favorite company HMS Home Warranty to win 2018 People's Choice award here: https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/poll-for-people?ref=MzQ=
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact hmsnational.com directly.