×

HMS Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for HMS Home Warranty

HMS Home Warranty

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.6 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Write an honest review now !

1625 NW 136th Ave Bldg E # 200 Sunrise, FL 33323-2842
888-351-0908 $360-$500+
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
NHSCA Membership Yes
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 38
Total Reviews 665
Complaint Resolution Yes
BBB Rating B
Executive Profiles Sandra Finn - President, Jessica Nilsen - Senior Director, Tami Thraum - Secretary
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters Sunrise, FL
Address 1625 NW 136th Ave Bldg E # 200 Sunrise, FL 33323-2842
Alias Cross Country Home Services, Inc., Total Protect Cross Country, Total Protect Home Service Plan, Total Protect Home Warranty, Home Warranty Services, Homeowners Marketing Services, Inc., HomeSure of Arizona, Inc., Total Protect Gold, HomeCentric, HMS National, Inc., SystemsProtect, HMS Home Warranty, Homesure HMS Home Warranty Service, Central Protect Home Service Plan, HMS Insurance Agency, Inc., Cross Country Insurance, Home Protect Home Warranty, Homesure of Virginia, Inc., HMS Homeowners Marketing, Appliance Buyline, Residential MD, Systems MD, Long and Foster Home Warranty, TotalProtect Home Warranty, Total Protect Gold Home Warranty

Write an honest review now !

Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

This company also operates under the following alternate business names
  1. Total Protect
  2. Cross Country Home Services
  3. Haa Of Virginia
  4. HMS Home Warranty
  5. Home Warranty Service
  6. HomeSure of Americ

HMS National is one of the leading providers of home warranty products in the nation with over 30 years of experience in the industry. HMS is a member of National Home Service Contract Association and is committed to making homeownership a pleasant experience.

HMS has a network of over 40,000 contractors who are dispatched as and when service requests arrive. The company runs a customer service facility which functions round the clock to take customer complaints.

HMS National has a well maintained, information rich website which practically functions as an online office of the company. Many services and features designed to help planholders are available for use on the website. In addition to that, information regarding the company’s warranty products, prices and articles related to homeownership are available online. Following are some of the other online services available from HMS


  • Submit a Claim
  • Renew an existing warranty plan online
  • Contact Customer Service
  • Information regarding typical Items covered in a Home Warranty
  • Download Current State Brochure for warranty plans – Coverage and Pricing Varies By Region
  • Read about General Systems and Appliances Maintenance Tips

HMS Home Warranty main products are their warranty plans. The plans come in four variations, they are as follows.

  • Seller home warranty
  • Buyer conversion warranty
  • Buyer direct warranty
  • New home warranty
  • Open direct warranty
Other products offered by the company include real estate marketing tools such as Marketopia and a few other useful tools. Marketopia is a customizable tool that agents can use to attract customers.

Reviews & Ratings

Ashburn - VA 11-13-2017
Wilbert Clerizier Ashburn VA
Posted On 11/13/17
Review No. 118403
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst company to do business with. They are very dishonest, they take your money and refuse to repair your equipment on time. They should not be in business.
# 118403
Derwood - MD 11-09-2017
Melissa Poinelli Derwood MD
Posted On 11/09/17
Review No. 118273
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Last December my husband and I bought a house that included home warranty. We didn't have this on our previous house so I was pretty excited to know we had a back up plan if something were to break within the first year. Our washing machine wouldn't drain and spin and we paid the deductible for the contractor to come out and diagnose the problem. It took the contractor 3x to diagnose the issue which resulted in the replacement of pretty much every part inside the washer. Instead of replacing the washer, the home warranty company spent more money in parts and labor then what a new washer would cost. After reading reviews about our washer, the issue found seems to be a common problem. Now that it has been 11 months since we bought the home, the washer is doing the exact same thing that it did 7 months ago. Instead of dealing with the home warranty customer service, paying the deductible again and having to take off work to let contractors into our home, we went out and bought a new washer last night. Let's just say I will not renew our membership for another year and will not accept home warranty for any future home purchases. view less
Last December my husband and I bought a house that included home warranty. We didn't have this on our previous house so I was pretty excited to know we had a back up plan if something were to break within the first year. Our washing machine wouldn't drain and spin and we paid the deductible for the contractor to come out and diagnose the problem. It took the contractor 3x to diagnose the issue
... view more
# 118273
HMS
11-15-2017


Melissa - I’m sorry that this was your experience. This is not a typical situation and I’d like to review your claim and invoice for the clothes washer you purchased for consideration of reimbursement. Email your claim number or full property address to erelations@hmsnational.com. Be sure to include a copy of your paid invoice for review as well. Sincerely, Tanya

unlisted - KY 11-05-2017
vs unlisted KY
Posted On 11/05/17
Review No. 118135
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Phone lines always busy - takes forever to get through....!! Need plumbing assistance- only 2 names were given (said there were no others in network - uh.... this is Greater Cincinnati with millions of service providers) and both of those providers are terribly rated!!!
# 118135
HMS
11-15-2017
VS - I’m sorry for the inconvenience and that you have not been able to get through on our phone lines. I’d like to help you with expediting your claim. If you still need assistance please email us at erelations@hmsnational.com. - Tanya
Dayton - OH 11-04-2017
Kate Dayton OH
Posted On 11/04/17
Review No. 118112
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a scam. How they operate is by sending different companies to fix the same issue each time and charging the deductible each time without resolving the issue. It should be illegal. They will not cover anything that is not what they call "mechanical problem". Plus even for premium they would only cover $1500 when a cost of boiler is $8000, for example. But even that doesn't matter because they would never pay even that. And shame on those contractor companies who work for them, who show up at your house saying that they can't find the problem, but saying that if it breaks down again you will need to pay deductible again. And the repairs they do would cost you less than $100 deductible if you went with someone else who is not a part of their network. I never buy any kind of warranties and I got this with the house I bought. I just want to let people who consider having hms that I do not recommend it. view less
This company is a scam. How they operate is by sending different companies to fix the same issue each time and charging the deductible each time without resolving the issue. It should be illegal. They will not cover anything that is not what they call "mechanical problem". Plus even for premium they would only cover $1500 when a cost of boiler is $8000, for example. But even that doesn't
... view more
# 118112
HMS
11-15-2017
Kate – Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that the warranty was not what you expected. The feedback you’ve provided is very important and I will ensure it’s provided to the appropriate departments. - Tanya
Hot Springs - AR 10-26-2017
Sheila Hot Springs AR
Posted On 10/26/17
Review No. 117831
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Before we purchased our home, a friend suggested we ask the seller for home warranty coverage. Afterwards other property owners told us we were wasting our money. Speaking from our experience, that simply hasn't been the case. We've had this coverage 3 years and are certain the cost of the repairs under this policy have exceeded the premiums paid to date.

The representatives are always knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. When our air conditioning went out (twice), both times service was dispatched within 24 hours during a time of a heavy volume of similar calls for service. My only negative is that there seems to be only one service provider for our area no matter what the claim is for. That means the service provider could be overwhelmed when service is needed quickly. view less
Before we purchased our home, a friend suggested we ask the seller for home warranty coverage. Afterwards other property owners told us we were wasting our money. Speaking from our experience, that simply hasn't been the case. We've had this coverage 3 years and are certain the cost of the repairs under this policy have exceeded the premiums paid to date.

The representatives
... view more
# 117831
HMS
11-15-2017
Sheila – We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for providing your feedback. Our goal is to make your home management needs easier. We are working on upgrading our service network and would like to ensure your area is a part of that upgrade. Please send an email to erelations@hmsnational.com with your full property address. Thanks - Tanya
Alexandria - VA 10-16-2017
Steven Howell Alexandria VA
Posted On 10/16/17
Review No. 117225
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This review is mostly about the phone representative who helped me with my claim on Oct 16, 2017. The system initially assigned Sears to come out and repair my refrigerator. I explained that I needed the service provider to come on a Saturday if possible. She could find no availability for Saturday with Sears, so she asked if I could wait for a few moments on hold while she checked for options. I agreed, and within a 2 or 3 minutes she came back with good news and scheduled me with another provider (American Pro) for the very next Saturday morning. I really appreciated her caring and competent service. I've been with HMS for almost three years, and this why! Great service! view less
This review is mostly about the phone representative who helped me with my claim on Oct 16, 2017. The system initially assigned Sears to come out and repair my refrigerator. I explained that I needed the service provider to come on a Saturday if possible. She could find no availability for Saturday with Sears, so she asked if I could wait for a few moments on hold while she checked for
... view more
# 117225
HMS
10-25-2017
Steven -Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the services we’ve provided to you and for your loyalty! We appreciate your feedback. – Tanya
Alexandria va - VA 10-13-2017
Mike Alexandria va VA
Posted On 10/13/17
Review No. 117169
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolute terrible experience with this company, every person they have come out to inspect the problem is another $50. Then once they inspect it they do not completely fix the issue, that is when you can finally get them to come out. In addition they don’t fix any of the issues caused by a failure. For example, my dishwasher started leaking causing some carpet damage and slight mold by the time they got someone out. We were told they only cover mechanical failure no subsiquent failures.

The people are relatively nice on customer service but poorly trained, as we speak I’m sitting on the phone with someone telling me my claim was denied when just yesterday I was talking about the repair with another representative and was told to call to make he appointment to have the dishwasher fixed today. I’m ready to cancel this and try to re coup some of the money I gave to them. PLEASE BEWARE!! view less
Absolute terrible experience with this company, every person they have come out to inspect the problem is another $50. Then once they inspect it they do not completely fix the issue, that is when you can finally get them to come out. In addition they don’t fix any of the issues caused by a failure. For example, my dishwasher started leaking causing some carpet damage and slight mold by the
... view more
# 117169
HMS
10-25-2017
Mike – It is clear that your experience was less than satisfactory, and we will be glad to review your claim to ensure you received the full benefit of your warranty. Please email your full property address to erelations@hmsnational.com and a member of my team will investigate your claim and follow up with you directly. - Amanda
Wake forest - NC 09-23-2017
Jean Hanighen Wake forest NC
Posted On 09/23/17
Review No. 116431
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
So far we have had a good experience with HMS.
Yes, repairs take a long time and it can be hit or miss with contractors but it is still a money saver for us.

We are going into week 2 of no a.c. but we are hopefully getting a new unit installed next week. Fingers crossed!
# 116431
HMS
10-11-2017
Jean - we appreciate you providing your feedback and taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry for the delays with your AC claim and would like to help expedite the process. If you need further assistance email us at eRelations@HMSNational.com with your claim number or property address and a member of our team will review your claim and follow up with you directly. Thanks - Tanya
Baltimore - MD 09-15-2017
William Armstrong Baltimore MD
Posted On 09/15/17
Review No. 116171
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Excellent company to be a part of.
# 116171
HMS
09-15-2017
William - Thanks for the kind words! - Tanya
Pasadena - MD 09-12-2017
Paul Pasadena MD
Posted On 09/12/17
Review No. 116009
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
On 2 separate occasions and for different claims, I have had issues with this company taking anything seriously. They have demonstrated the fact that they do NOT really care about your problem.
First time was a blocked upper level plumbing that had been backing up and putting water into the ceiling for sometime days after we moved into our new house. The ceiling nearly collapsed on a Saturday and HMS wanted us to wait until Monday to start the claim - really?! I have sewage in my ceiling and a ceiling that is collapsing at that! This resulted in us using our insurance company who was fantastic and had the whole thing done right away. The plumber did his thing and fixed the problem with the plumbing, a salvage company took care of cutting out the drywall ceiling, cleaning and drying all done by Saturday night. By that Tuesday, the blowers were gone and the contractor for fixing the ceiling was here doing his thing. HMS would not have had anyone in before that Tuesday - with sewage and water on our ceiling.
Next was an appliance repair specifically our refrigerator that developed a water leak while I was out of town. No water dispenser so had to be from the ice maker. My wife shut off the water and made the claim. No real rush on this matter and was thought to have been repaired until the second occasion of malfunction which happened overnight last night and only 9 days after the initial call. Water leak started again and froze over the vents and entire bottom of freezer inside this time (first time leak was external). The fridge was at a toasty 58 degrees and rising and the freezer was initially at 6 degrees before starting to fall again to as low as -6 degrees. I promptly made a claim to HMS which reopened the initial claim as it was related. I have been calling the repair company all morning and this afternoon leaving (up to this point) 4 messages. I called back to HMS to see if there was anyway we could bypass the repair call with this particular company as they were not answering nor returning calls. They would not. I asked how long I would have to wait in order to have someone actually repair my not previously "repaired" refrigerator that now has spoiled my food. Again, I received a song and dance with no real answer and a resounding, though implied, "we don't really care about your issue".
What these 2 occurrences have resolved me to think about HMS Home Warranty is that we have paid for a service that really offers none and will continue to just take your money as you shell money out for things they claim to cover. They will tell you they believe in urgent situations but really do not and again, they do not care, even when it's sewage in your ceiling or food rotting in your refrigerator and you have to take your family out to eat 3 meals a day for who knows how long. I am most likely capable of repairing the refrigerator myself, but that means I am paying for my own parts and labor vice what I have already paid for - so I double paying and receiving nothing in return.
This is a scam company - DO NOT USE!!!! view less
On 2 separate occasions and for different claims, I have had issues with this company taking anything seriously. They have demonstrated the fact that they do NOT really care about your problem.
First time was a blocked upper level plumbing that had been backing up and putting water into the ceiling for sometime days after we moved into our new house. The ceiling nearly collapsed on a
... view more
# 116009
HMS
10-11-2017
Paul - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on your claims and make every effort to deliver on the our promises to our homeowners as detailed in our warranty Agreement. We respect that you did not request for us to review your claim, however if you would like us to take a look to ensure you received every benefit available to you in your warranty agreement, please email us at erelations@hmsnational.com. Thank you - Louise view less
Paul - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on your claims and make every effort to deliver on the our promises to our homeowners as detailed in our warranty Agreement. We respect that you did not request for us to review your claim, however if you would like us to take a look to ensure you received every benefit available to
... view more
Silver Spring - MD 08-28-2017
Pat Carpenter Silver Spring MD
Posted On 08/28/17
Review No. 115433
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
HMS is the most professional, customer-oriented organization I have dealt with in a long time. When you call for help, they quickly assign a claim number and connect you with appropriate vendors. All of my problems were resolved immediately. Can't thank them enough! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM!!!
# 115433
HMS
09-15-2017
Pat – We appreciate you! Thanks for the kind words and sharing your experience. – Janet
Davidsonville - MD 08-26-2017
Bruce Braverman Davidsonville MD
Posted On 08/26/17
Review No. 115264
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is the first and last time I'm subscribing to this warranty plan. First I had an issue with my heat pump. The repair company they referred me to convinced me there was no problem. The company I subscribe to that provides oil and services my furnace found a problem with my heat pump. They fixed it, but I had to pay and Long & Foster would not give me my deductible back. The second problem I had was with a pool pump (I'm paying extra to cover the pool). The first repair company they referred me to decided to not take the job. They claimed they couldn't find a replacement pump (?!). So Long & Foster referred me to a second repair company. It's been over five days and they never got back to me even though I called them two times.

In conclusion Long & Foster picks sub-standard repair companies and takes no responsibility for their actions. In the end you'll do much better taking care of problems yourself. view less
This is the first and last time I'm subscribing to this warranty plan. First I had an issue with my heat pump. The repair company they referred me to convinced me there was no problem. The company I subscribe to that provides oil and services my furnace found a problem with my heat pump. They fixed it, but I had to pay and Long & Foster would not give me my deductible back. The second problem
... view more
# 115264
HMS
09-15-2017
Bruce – I appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry for the delays and to hear that your claim experience is not going as you expected. I’d like to help expedite this process and address your concerns. Email us at erelations@hmsnational.com with your claim and contact number and a member of our team will investigate your claim and contact you. – Tanya
Hot Springs Village - AR 08-24-2017
Joe Hot Springs Village AR
Posted On 08/24/17
Review No. 115151
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Only had this for a few months. Have had to use it only once but you guys got me a repair man quick. He came very promptly, was such a nice man and well knowledgeable. Couldn't have asked for better. Thank you.
# 115151
HMS
09-15-2017
Joe - Thank you for sharing, we are here for you! - Heather
Spring Hill - TN 08-24-2017
Charles C Luckett Spring Hill TN
Posted On 08/24/17
Review No. 115146
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I'm so glad I was introduced to you guys, I have had to use your services maybe a total of 4 times since 2013, and every time was quick easy and VERY SATISFYING!!!!!
# 115146
HMS
09-15-2017
Charles – We’re glad we have made your home management needs easy. We appreciate your loyalty and kind words! - Amanda
Hanover - PA 08-03-2017
Michelle Mills Hanover PA
Posted On 08/03/17
Review No. 113783
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This home warranty was recommended by Berkshire Hathaway and also recommended by my bank. It is obvious to me that those recommended this warranty are obviously not users of this warranty. It looks great on paper. The booklet comes all personalized. When you have a problem with your home you find out that your item is not covered. I had toilets backed up and flooding my basement. Their repair person did not see the urgency. Getting outside contract help was disaster. The plumber spent an hour on the phone getting approval only to be told it was approved for 30 minutes. I had issues with dishwasher, electric, plumbing - surprise, not covered beyond unclogging the plumbing drain, no camera to discover cause. Electric light switches (entire house) did not work - not covered again. Dishwasher was actually covered but my deductible cost more than the repair. Contracted service personnel are below average. Getting coverage for a non contracted technician was agony and the phone time was extreme. Overall I would have faired better to do my homework and chosen a plan that actually pays for issues or just not bother with this plan at all. I told every person within this company I was dissatisfied and no one cared. view less
This home warranty was recommended by Berkshire Hathaway and also recommended by my bank. It is obvious to me that those recommended this warranty are obviously not users of this warranty. It looks great on paper. The booklet comes all personalized. When you have a problem with your home you find out that your item is not covered. I had toilets backed up and flooding my basement. Their
... view more
# 113783
HMS
08-14-2017
Michelle – I’m sorry for the inconvenience, and regret to hear that the warranty coverage was not what you expected. There are exclusions that apply with the warranty. The booklet provided outlines the full terms and conditions of coverage and some items or things may or may not qualify for coverage as with all warranties. We appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to share. - Heather view less
Michelle – I’m sorry for the inconvenience, and regret to hear that the warranty coverage was not what you expected. There are exclusions that apply with the warranty. The booklet provided outlines the full terms and conditions of coverage and some items or things may or may not qualify for coverage as with all warranties. We appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to share. -
... view more
Dowell - MD 07-13-2017
Amber Hughes Dowell MD
Posted On 07/13/17
Review No. 112508
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
To whom it may concern at HMS- I have been dealing with the most ridiculous process trying to get an AC unit installed that was on order by one of your subcontractors. This process started almost 3 weeks ago of assessments of my current unit and when the recommendation to replace both my indoor and outdoor units was made by your subcontractor (after no-showing the first scheduled visit), I have had miserable dealings with both, your company and the subcontractor. Last Saturday, when the technician came to replace both units, he replaced the outside unit and then spent about 20 minutes inside. Then they told us the job was complete. I, then, took a look into the closet where the inside unit was and realized they did not replace the inside unit. Upon my inquiry, they told me that they took the coil out of the new unit (that was at this point in the back of their truck) and put it in my old unit. He told me the coil was the only thing inside the unit and that it was just sitting in a "box." For having somewhat of a familiarity of HVAC systems and having common sense, I told him I disagreed- especially since HMS told me I would be getting both inside and outside units. He then said the new unit wouldn't fit in the closet. He proceeded to take out his tape measure, measured the same area twice and said, "yeah, not gonna fit." So he ordered another inside unit. In my mind, we were all good- although I'm not sure what he intended to do with the new unit in the back of his truck if I didn't push back, at least I was getting what was promised. THEN, before he left, I noticed the outside unit wasn't "on" when the WARM air was pumping through the vents. I told him the air wasn't cold. His response - "it's fine." Then he LEFT. I immediately tried calling him to say it's not working but he wouldn't pick up the phone. Then he called back about an hour later and said that he would have to coordinate the "repair" with you. THE UNIT WAS NOT WORKING WHEN HE LEFT. So now, I have no AC.... prior to this shoddy installation, I had AC, it was just leaking. It is 101 degrees outside and is the hottest week of the summer here in Maryland and I'm stuck, with my dog, with no AC due to your company and your subcontractor. It's now been a week and multiple 24-48 hour promises of supervisor call backs and my unit order being placed on priority, and the unit still has not been delivered so the technician can pick it up. During my discussions with your supervisors, I asked if I could be assigned a new technician because in my mind, and what would be apparent to anyone, the technician was trying to steal the new unit by only replacing the coil. But, to get someone else install the equipment when it does finally arrive, we have to start the process all over again. So here I am, waiting almost a week later in the summer with no AC and lack of help from your "customer service" department and the subcontractor. I'm thankful this warranty was purchased by the seller when I bought my home last December because I will not be renewing my contract with a company that lets me live with no AC in the summer and who has been less than accommodating. And I'm still waiting... view less
To whom it may concern at HMS- I have been dealing with the most ridiculous process trying to get an AC unit installed that was on order by one of your subcontractors. This process started almost 3 weeks ago of assessments of my current unit and when the recommendation to replace both my indoor and outdoor units was made by your subcontractor (after no-showing the first scheduled visit), I
... view more
# 112508
Virginia Beach - VA 07-12-2017
George Beebe Virginia Beach VA
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112396
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer service when calling was always good but the response time to get the repair person to the home was somewhat excessive Overall I am happy with the service.
# 112396
Silver Spring - MD 07-12-2017
Selma Silver Spring MD
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112384
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Cant recommend HMS enough. Such a pleasant, pleasant, pleasant warranty company to work with (especially after the nightmare I dealt with in other companies). They are diligent, customer oriented and know how to take care of you. They are now replacing my AC system. So very pleased with HMS and looking fwd to continue doing business with them.
# 112384
Bloomington - IN 07-12-2017
Laura Colvin Bloomington IN
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112373
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
My husband and I got this warranty with our purchase of a house that was built in 2008. We have renewed every year because it has benefited us. We have used it for a microwave, clothes washer, clothes dryer, a/c and heating unit. Some contractors are better than others but we have received timely service each time. I don't expect someone to be available the day my A/C or heat goes out. I usually put in a request for service online and immediately get an email informing me who to make an appointment with. I guess we have been very lucky. I'm surprised to hear of other people's bad experiences. My husband and I are happy with HMS. view less
My husband and I got this warranty with our purchase of a house that was built in 2008. We have renewed every year because it has benefited us. We have used it for a microwave, clothes washer, clothes dryer, a/c and heating unit. Some contractors are better than others but we have received timely service each time. I don't expect someone to be available the day my A/C or heat goes out. I
... view more
# 112373
Parkville - MD 07-12-2017
lewis thomas Parkville MD
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112368
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Love this cpmpany everytime i call they respond had 1 bad experience with one plumbing co they sent, but they took care of that by sending me another job got done. Don't know what i would do without HMS in our life...
# 112368
Beverly Hills - MI 07-04-2017
Danielle Beverly Hills MI
Posted On 07/04/17
Review No. 111825
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Horrible scam of a company! They give you the run around when you call and my hot water heater busted water all over my basement floor and I called them told them it's an emergency and they said someone would be out in 24 hrs- it took 3 days to get someone to my house!!! They wouldn't give me a supervisor after I waited on hold for 40 minutes!!! This company is awful, horrible and I was given a 1 year warranty with them after purchasing my house and I WILL NOT renew warranty. They won't reimburse a technican I choose to come to house either. And the $100 deductible is a joke- I had their technician come out to look at my hot water heater already once before it busted and before he walked in my door he demanded the check for $100, spent 2 minutes in my house and said home warranty won't cover it because it's not busted. I was livid! $100 for nothing! Really?!? Un-believ-able .... never would I recommend or use this company again! NEVER !!!! view less
Horrible scam of a company! They give you the run around when you call and my hot water heater busted water all over my basement floor and I called them told them it's an emergency and they said someone would be out in 24 hrs- it took 3 days to get someone to my house!!! They wouldn't give me a supervisor after I waited on hold for 40 minutes!!! This company is awful, horrible and I was given
... view more
# 111825
HMS
07-07-2017
Danielle – We regret to hear that your experience with your home warranty was not what you expected. We aim to provide service in a timely and efficient manner, especially in an emergency situation and it is clear we did not meet this objective. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your concerns. Please send an email to erelations@cchs.com with your contact number and the best time to reach you. Thanks - Tanya view less
Danielle – We regret to hear that your experience with your home warranty was not what you expected. We aim to provide service in a timely and efficient manner, especially in an emergency situation and it is clear we did not meet this objective. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your concerns. Please send an email to erelations@cchs.com with your contact number and the
... view more
arnold - MO 06-23-2017
natalia arnold MO
Posted On 06/23/17
Review No. 111355
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
HMS home warranty extremely unprofessional company, their main goal is to make money on poor people who fall for their promises. I had a worst experience ever with them after I bough my house a year ago and received that home warranty from seller in case something in a house would break. Well worry free promises on there website turn out in a nightmare in reality. When my furnace stop working proper and had shown signs of rusting inside( while my home inspection did not find anything wrong with it earlier that year) they sent me contractor, who lied straight to my face that all my furnace need is a maintenance and cleaning, so HMS would not have to pay me anything, because they do not cover it. He did not even open my furnace, so how he was able to determine that???
I did not believe that guy and called in an independent contractor who, who stated that heat exchange pipes was rusted out from the inside and any time can start leaking CO2 in to my house, which a deadly gas, could cause serious health problems and even death...
Also he said that a whole system should be replaced including AC, furnace and evaporator coil.
At this point I contact the HMS on that matter and they did not what to believe me and said that they would send another contractor to check it out. Well what was my surprise when the new contractor arrived and I recognized by the name of the company(Partney Heathing and Cooling), that is in fact a contractor, who refused service to me when earlier this in January my furnace quit working in a 20f degree weather, stating that : He would not risk his 50000$ truck to come to my house and get a 100 dollars deductible, because HMS would not pay him enough. I was promised by HMS representative to never have to deal with that unprofessional person and they was supposed to file a complaint against this contractor and here you go... he is at my house!
Well I let him do his job for evaluating a problem with my furnace and even he said that it need a replacement, along with condenser coil. But even then HMS still did not want to pay for replacement and said they need to investigate that case...
Well after over a month, 100 calls I made and emails I sent, the best what they offer its 600 dollars or their contractor who is that unprofessional guy I complained on would do the job on replacing only furnace and I have to pay over 800$ in mystical modification, and their part would be like 400$.... Its was just a joke. when I did not agree on it and ask them to send me price break down and what they would cover, they just start totally ignoring me and I could not reach any one for this matter at all.
I finally moth later got a call from the resolution department, because a filed a several complaints against them , including BBB. That lady who called try to frighten us with talks about that if we would not accept their unprofessional contractor to do the job and they would find another one and he may be find a water damage, they would drop the whole case and would not pay for anything... I said that they can send another contractor, but as appeared they could not find one in my area. Funny, when I looked for HVAC contractor I found at least 25 contractors very close to my house... I just think none of them want to work for such of sneaky and cheap company like HMS. So at this point HMS got lost again... no calls back...no communication what so ever...
I realized that only way I get anything from them its only through the court, so I filed a claim with a small claims court... The lawyer they hired contacted me and offer to settle, but max amount they offered was only 2750$ which not even enough to replace a whole system, because after several estimates the average price comes to min of 4600$.
Not to mention they drove me in sane, by ignoring my needs and been rude. I had to go see a doctor for insomnia and anxiety problem, after the stress they put on me.
The case is still in a court system and gets pushed by their lawyer, so I just wonder if anyone else feel this way and would like to possibly participate in a filing a group case against them also, so we can bring them to justice for all the trouble and money loss they cause. If you would like to participate please email me (Manc85@mail.ru) view less
HMS home warranty extremely unprofessional company, their main goal is to make money on poor people who fall for their promises. I had a worst experience ever with them after I bough my house a year ago and received that home warranty from seller in case something in a house would break. Well worry free promises on there website turn out in a nightmare in reality. When my furnace stop working
... view more
# 111355
Independence - KY 06-05-2017
Ray Independence KY
Posted On 06/05/17
Review No. 110700
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I have had HMS for about 4 years now. Just renewed again!

I have had a few claims, one for the dryer and a couple for the hot water heater. Dryer was fixed with no problem.

First water heater issue required a hard to find part. Customer service worked great to get the part rush shipped and we were up and running again in a few days.

Water heater out now, apparently it needs to be replaced. Waiting to hear the outcome. We have an elderly person living in the house and we need hot water.


So far no real complaints here. view less
I have had HMS for about 4 years now. Just renewed again!

I have had a few claims, one for the dryer and a couple for the hot water heater. Dryer was fixed with no problem.

First water heater issue required a hard to find part. Customer service worked great to get the part rush shipped and we were up and running again in a few days.

Water heater
... view more
# 110700
HMS
06-07-2017
Ray - Thank you for sharing your experience. We help thousands of homeowners like yourself make home management easy. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that we meeting your expectations. Thanks!
Waldorf - MD 06-05-2017
Shirley Swann Waldorf MD
Posted On 06/05/17
Review No. 110689
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
I placed a warranty call for my A/C 5/18/17 because condensate pump was not working. Water had overflowed into the Rec room on the carpet. Tech came out and said condensate pump was not pumping water correctly. HMS employee told me the condensate pump was covered under my warranty, but later discovered from the A/C tech it was not covered and it cost me $165.00 out of pocket cost to have pump replaced. view less
I placed a warranty call for my A/C 5/18/17 because condensate pump was not working. Water had overflowed into the Rec room on the carpet. Tech came out and said condensate pump was not pumping water correctly. HMS employee told me the condensate pump was covered under my warranty, but later discovered from the A/C tech it was not covered and it cost me $165.00 out of pocket cost to have
... view more
# 110689
HMS
06-07-2017
Shirely – We are sorry for any confusion and that your claim experience was not what you expected. If you would like for a member of our team to take another look at your claim to ensure you received the full benefit of your warranty. Please email your property address or claim number to erelations@hmsnational.com. Thanks!
Elkridge - MD 05-30-2017
Paul Newell Elkridge MD
Posted On 05/30/17
Review No. 110539
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Beware! HMS will do a great job, as long as you don't have anything more than a very minor issue.

I have had a home warranty through HMS since January 2012. My experience with HMS and its chosen providers has been hit or miss. Sometimes I call and get an extremely helpful customer service rep who explains things perfectly, other times I'm met with a lackluster unprofessional attitude.

One time I called because a provider had been taking a long time to source parts, and the customer service rep was rude, and kept saying there was nothing to be done. I eventually talked to a manager who called the provider, found out they hadn't actually ordered the parts yet, and ordered them for the provider right then and there. But only after I had to spend 30 minutes with a rude representative begging for help.

Claim resolution can often be difficult. While some providers have done great workmanship, others have left things worse than they found it. I had one provider pull a permit from the city that was required for the work to be done, didn't inform me, and never scheduled for the inspection. I was then left holding the bag when it came to the inspection and subsequent issues.

My most recent issue has to deal with a dishwasher. My dishwasher is from MARCH of 2004, so currently just over 13 years, past the expected work life of a dishwasher. Earlier this year, starting in mid January, I had a major issue with the dishwasher that caused it to break down, and slowly leak water.

This eventually resulted in the replacement of my floor and the toe kick/quarter rounds in my kitchen due to water damage, something that I resolved out of pocket with my home owners insurance.

It took several weeks for the parts to come in, because of the age of the appliance in question. I wound up buying a countertop dishwasher off Craigslist.

The provider installed the parts (the parts costing around 250$), and a week later it broke again. I requested a new provider come out, and he assessed that the first provider had installed it incorrectly, and it was broken again. He also identified two other issues. The parts alone were over $500 for this second repair.

Then, last week, my dishwasher failed again. This time, an electrical problem caused the heating coil inside the dishwasher to be always on, at maximum heat. I luckily discovered this, and turned off the circuit breaker to that part of the kitchen. If the circuit breaker was on at ALL, the coils immediately heated to maximum. If I hadn't realized this, it would have potentially melted or started a fire.

When a new provider came to look at the issue, he also wrote down that it was a fire hazard. He intends to replace the control panel for the electricity, but can't be sure that's the actual issue due to the coil heat making it impossible to diagnose correctly. He noted all this down for the warranty.

So now I'm waiting for the parts to come in for a 13 year old dishwasher, which will again take a few weeks. This first attempt at a repair is estimated at $205. Additionally, they gave me the same repair company as the FIRST INITIAL repair, who I had to wait on for several weeks to order parts, and broke the parts on installation!

I have now, in addition to my annual fee, paid out multiple deductibles over the last 4 months. In the 138 days since January 12th, my first complaint, I have been without a working dishwasher for 87 days.

At NO POINT during this, was I offered a repair credit or replacement. When I asked for a credit instead, I was told it wasn't an option. HMS has spent nearly $1000 in PARTS, not to mention labor costs, since January on a 13 year old dishwasher, that they refuse to replace or offer me a basic credit for towards replacement. I would have accepted the parts-cost each time, but kept being told 'That might be an option for a future repair if it doesn't work out'.

I can't in good conscience, recommend HMS. They don't seem to monitor the quality of work their providers do, and they only care about how much money each individual repair costs. They're not looking at the big picture.

I have been a holder since January of 2012, and it's starting to make less and less financial sense for me to continue using HMS Warranty. If I can expect to spend half my time without a functioning dishwasher, this will be my last year as a policy holder. view less
Beware! HMS will do a great job, as long as you don't have anything more than a very minor issue.

I have had a home warranty through HMS since January 2012. My experience with HMS and its chosen providers has been hit or miss. Sometimes I call and get an extremely helpful customer service rep who explains things perfectly, other times I'm met with a lackluster unprofessional
... view more
# 110539
HMS
06-09-2017
Paul – We apologize for the delays and inconvenience you’ve experienced. We appreciate your feedback and have provided it back to the organization. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this matter. Sincerely - Chase
Next

Rate HMS Home Warranty

Thank you for the feedback. Please regularly check your inbox or spam folder for further updates on this!
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact hmsnational.com directly.