Home Warranty Of America

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Home Warranty Of America

Home Warranty Of America
Rating Timeline
Customer Service 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating3.5 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating

Write an honest review now !

PO Box 850 Lincolnshire, Illinois 60069-0850
888-979-1242 $275 - $695
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the...
NHSCA Membership Yes
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 21
Total Reviews 1704
Complaint Resolution No
BBB Rating B
Executive Profiles Marc Roth - CEO & President, Eddy Collier - President
No. of Employees 201-500
Headquarters Buffalo Grove, IL
Address PO Box 850 Lincolnshire, Illinois 60069-0850
Alias HWA, Direct Energy Home Warranty of America, Inc.

Call Now for a Quote
888-979-1242

Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Started in 1996, Home Warranty of America has been providing services to customers across the country. The company claims to have built their business with the idea of simplifying the lives of their customers and providing them immediate help during times of need.

The company is headquartered in Illinois and is currently one of the largest sellers of home warranty products.

In addition to home warranty plans, the company also provides sales tools for Real Estate Agents. Client contact program, HWA buttons for your website, informative videos, mobile apps etc are a few of them. They also maintain a 24 x 7 customer service wing.

The company’s website hosts numerous articles, news and maintenance tips that cover topics concerning a homeowner. Contact numbers for their customer service wing can also be obtained from the website. For real estate agents, mobile apps and customer contact programs can be downloaded via their website. You can also link your website to theirs using HWA buttons provided on their website.

The company offers several innovative products which start at $24.95 per month. The products are primarily home warranty plans that are customizable. They vary largely depending on the coverage and the cost of the plan chosen. Their plans are unique as they offer the following features.

  • Cost effective plans starting at $24.95/ month.
  • 24 x 7, 365 days of customer service.
  • No restrictions on age or home model.
  • No mandate on home inspection.
  • Coverage for townhouse and condominium.
  • Nationwide coverage.
  • Various methods of submitting payment.

This company has twice emerged as an award winner in recent Annual Home Warranty awards. With consistently good services, HWA bagged awards in Top Rated Company and Best in Service categories in the years 2014 and 2013, respectively.

For information about the awards, visit Annual Home Warranty Awards page.

Reviews & Ratings

Chicago - IL 07-19-2017
Jess , Chicago IL
Posted On 07/19/17
Review No. 112943
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible experience. My AC quit working and the repair man they sent out said it was not fixable and submitted a claim to HWA for a new AC. They refused to fix it because they claimed it was never in working condition when I purchased the house. I sent my home inspection that shows it was- they still refused. They were supposed to follow up with me about why but I still haven't heard from them after about 2 weeks. I finally got fed up and called my own repair man who had my air conditioner working in about an hour. it also took almost 2 months to get my dishwasher fixed and it's already not cleaning my dishes again. I had to repeatedly call them for updates on why it wasn't being fixed and at one point was told that it "must be SO hard having to wash dishes by hand." They are rude, untrustworthy and never getting another penny from me. view less
Terrible experience. My AC quit working and the repair man they sent out said it was not fixable and submitted a claim to HWA for a new AC. They refused to fix it because they claimed it was never in working condition when I purchased the house. I sent my home inspection that shows it was- they still refused. They were supposed to follow up with me about why but I still haven't heard from them
... view more
# 112943
Charleston - SC 07-19-2017
Marcus Brandon , Charleston SC
Posted On 07/19/17
Review No. 112882
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Horrible experience. Moved into a new house and was told after the fact that my appliances were not covered because they were not inspected when we moved,(they were still in the old home),they were not covered. The customer service rep would not transfer me to a supervisor. Dropping this service as soon as new insurance kicks in 30 days.
# 112882
Richardson - TX 07-18-2017
Al Havens , Richardson TX
Posted On 07/18/17
Review No. 112821
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My Water Heater has been out for 4 days. The "reputable" service provider assigned to repair or replace my water heater came in my house for 3 min and wrote down some info off of my water heater. Then proceeded to attempt to charge me and outrageous out of pocket expense to move forward. When I approached the warranty company, I was not so politely told I could either take it, or request a buyout. Would not even offer to let me know the breakdown of what I was paying for. Since, I can not receive an update, nobody will provide me with any kind of an explanation and I still have no hot water. I asked for a supervisor and was told that one is not available and it usually takes 24-48 hours to speak with one. Are you kidding me? I have been a member for 5 years, and the first substantial repair needs to be made and I am dealing with the run around. Don't care at all about their customers and will let you down. Stay away view less
My Water Heater has been out for 4 days. The "reputable" service provider assigned to repair or replace my water heater came in my house for 3 min and wrote down some info off of my water heater. Then proceeded to attempt to charge me and outrageous out of pocket expense to move forward. When I approached the warranty company, I was not so politely told I could either take it, or request a
... view more
# 112821
Roswell - NM 07-16-2017
Lorena , Roswell NM
Posted On 07/16/17
Review No. 112679
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Horrible service!!! Submitted an AC claim on 6-18-17; to this day it has not been resolved. They want proof that our AC was working before we bought the house. We live in 100 degree weather!!! Representatives are horrible!!!
# 112679
Concord - NC 07-16-2017
Joe M , Concord NC
Posted On 07/16/17
Review No. 112647
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
My emergency well pump issue was fixed very quickly and dealing with HWA was very easy. They didn't try to low ball me and paid exactly what the contract called for!
# 112647
Salisbury - NC 07-14-2017
L Smith , Salisbury NC
Posted On 07/14/17
Review No. 112547
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
The service repair man assigned to my case was extremely professional and very quick to respond. He is the only repair person I have ever had show up early for the repair! I was impressed with his knowledge and the efficiency with which he assessed the issue. I would call him again in the future for sure!
# 112547
REDDING - CA 07-13-2017
JOANN FARLEY , REDDING CA
Posted On 07/13/17
Review No. 112513
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
The owner/technician who attended to my dishwasher and microwave problems was very prompt, courteous and professional. Definitely knew what he was doing. Always called if he was going to be a few minutes late and kept in touch regarding when he could get approval, parts, and attend to the problem. Very satisfied.
# 112513
Abingdon - MD 07-13-2017
Donna Tripp , Abingdon MD
Posted On 07/13/17
Review No. 112499
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I am completely satisfied with the service I received from Home Warranty of America. My hot water heater was leaking, the technician stated that it needed replacement, an estimate was submitted to Home Warranty of America, and the install was complete! I could not be more satisfied. I did have to pay a small amount OOP for drip pan and reserve tank to bring it up to code, but it was minimal. Very happy customer. view less
I am completely satisfied with the service I received from Home Warranty of America. My hot water heater was leaking, the technician stated that it needed replacement, an estimate was submitted to Home Warranty of America, and the install was complete! I could not be more satisfied. I did have to pay a small amount OOP for drip pan and reserve tank to bring it up to code, but it was
... view more
# 112499
Potomac - IL 07-13-2017
Cali Brigman , Potomac IL
Posted On 07/13/17
Review No. 112481
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Great company! The customer representative was courteous and walked me through the process of submitting my claim. The technician was kind, courteous, and very helpful.
# 112481
Philadelphia - PA 07-13-2017
Naomi Sonne , Philadelphia PA
Posted On 07/13/17
Review No. 112473
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have had several claims with HWA Home Warranty, and the first few were resolved within a reasonable timeframe. However, my most recent experience with HWA has been extremely frustrating. My washing machine broke over 2 months ago and I have placed numerous calls to both the vendor and HWA, to no avail. I'm continuously told they are "waiting" on information only the vendor can give them even though I can tell them whatever information they need to replace my washer. There are 7 people in my house, one of them a baby, so you can imagine the major inconvenience it is to be out of a washer for 2+ months. I requested a new vendor who would actually respond to the company, but I was told I was not allowed to reassign the vendor even though I have done so previously, and that the only person able to reassign the vendor would not talk to me directly. I called the supervisors line only to leave voicemails that were not returned. It seems that company has recently downturned and I am extremely dissatisfied with the amount of time and energy wasted, not to mention money, on something that could have easily been replaced a long time ago. view less
I have had several claims with HWA Home Warranty, and the first few were resolved within a reasonable timeframe. However, my most recent experience with HWA has been extremely frustrating. My washing machine broke over 2 months ago and I have placed numerous calls to both the vendor and HWA, to no avail. I'm continuously told they are "waiting" on information only the vendor can give them even
... view more
# 112473
Bossier City - LA 07-12-2017
Melody Walker , Bossier City LA
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112425
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Please do yourself a favor and get your home warranty with a better company. We filed a claim 1 month ago to have AC coils replaced because our AC unit went out and as I write this review, we still have not heard back from the company. Keep in mind that I live in the south and we are experiencing 100 degree temperatures daily and nobody within this organization has any urgency with getting this issue resolved. Every time we have called they give us the same excuse with no answer and no AC replacement. This is the worst home warranty I have ever had and will never do business with this company again. view less
Please do yourself a favor and get your home warranty with a better company. We filed a claim 1 month ago to have AC coils replaced because our AC unit went out and as I write this review, we still have not heard back from the company. Keep in mind that I live in the south and we are experiencing 100 degree temperatures daily and nobody within this organization has any urgency with getting
... view more
# 112425
Wesley Chapel - FL 07-12-2017
Sharlene Turner , Wesley Chapel FL
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112415
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
I wrote on 7-7-17 of my problem. The company rectified the payment to our satisfaction.
# 112415
Robinson - TX 07-12-2017
Lyndi De alba , Robinson TX
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112369
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
4 calls, and a month later they never actually filed my Claim.after spending over an hr w the last person going over the multiple items that were suposibly covered she called me back and left a message saying that the only thing that qualified was rekeying at a $100 charge. So after almost a month we started replacing things ourselves that we couldnt wait around for such as AC and water heater just for them to tell us they will not cover it if its been tampered or replaced. So their idea is to ignore you long enough that you just do it yourself! And this is with the highest level coverage. Dont waste your money w this company! Customer service as well as coverage is a joke! Dont believe what the paperwork says its all BS! $550 down the drain. Thanks HWA! view less
4 calls, and a month later they never actually filed my Claim.after spending over an hr w the last person going over the multiple items that were suposibly covered she called me back and left a message saying that the only thing that qualified was rekeying at a $100 charge. So after almost a month we started replacing things ourselves that we couldnt wait around for such as AC and water heater
... view more
# 112369
Dauphin - PA 07-12-2017
Wayne Lesperance , Dauphin PA
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112345
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
DO NOT BUY A POLICY FROM THIS COMPANY.
We were given a Platinum Coverage Contract from the seller of the house we took ownership of a few months ago. One of the very first items on the list of things they claimed to cover is Air Conditioning. Well, after living in the new home and using the AC for almost two months, we had an issue. It started tripping the breaker every time it kicked on. We called, they sent someone out, determined it was a blown compressor and capacitor. We assumed it was covered, as the Platinum policy we have said so...
Well, not so fast. They denied the coverage unless we could prove the AC unit worked when we bought the house.
The house was sold to us privately and we have no such written documentation, as it was not required for closing. We did, however, use the AC for weeks leading up to a problem and it worked fine.

Home Warranty of America referred us to some fine print that says:
If a service request is made pursuant to this contract, HWA reserves the right to request a copy of any visual or mechanical test that may have been performed by a home inspector or other licensed mechanical contractor.

It does not say they REQUIRE a copy that MUST be performed. It says they can REQUEST a copy of a test that MAY HAVE BEEN PERFORMED. This language is loose at best.

The bottom line is this:
We are not making a fraudulent claim.
Home Warranty of America is denying the claim based on a lack of written proof the AC unit was in working order, but Home Warranty of America did not require that paperwork in order to purchase the warranty in the first place.

This is supplemental insurance denial at it's worst. Take your money, then deny the claim when something happens. And the industry wonders why everyone is so jaded when being approached with the "Would you like our supplemental insurance that covers all the things not covered..." pitch.

We have attempted to resolve this fairly by contacting the Home Warranty of America claims department, but were told the clam is going to be denied unless we produce this documentation that was not required when purchasing the policy.

I wonder if the same thing would apply to the host of other items that are supposedly covered by Home Warranty of America? If my refrigerator stops working, do I need to submit documentation that it worked when I bought the house? That's just absurd and we all know it.

THIS SECTION IS JUST FOR THE HOME WARRANTY OF AMERICA PEOPLE:

Know this, Home Warranty of America. I am an online marketing consultant and will devote my free time over the next several weeks and months to warning consumers about your company and your brand. I specifically said this to one of your claims people when I spoke with him. He basically told me he didn't care. I hope it was worth it. I'm pretty sure paying for my AC unit repair would cost a lot less in the long run. view less
DO NOT BUY A POLICY FROM THIS COMPANY.
We were given a Platinum Coverage Contract from the seller of the house we took ownership of a few months ago. One of the very first items on the list of things they claimed to cover is Air Conditioning. Well, after living in the new home and using the AC for almost two months, we had an issue. It started tripping the breaker every time it
... view more
# 112345
Temple - TX 07-10-2017
Dean Jensen , Temple TX
Posted On 07/10/17
Review No. 112237
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
On 5 July 2017 I filed a claim because the electricy to all 240 devices in my home failed to work. This ment no AC in central Texas were its 100°F +. I explained the situation to a rep and was immediately assigned a technician. The technician was unable to make it out until 7 July 2017. On 7 July the technician made it out diagnosed the problem and informed me that he could not fix the problem because HWA would not approve the coverage at the time. I contacted HWA who informed me that they needed a home inspection before they could approve. I immediately uploaded the home Inspection and was told it would take 24 to 48 hours to approve. On 10 July I received an email saying my home inspection had been sent for review. Again I contacted HWA who stated that it would be another 24 to 48 hours before the home inspection could be reviewed, I explained my situation to the service rep who stated that it's the normal processing time. I asked to speak with a supervisor but I was denied. It currently has been 5 days without A/C and still waiting on approval and then a service date from the technician. I also asked if it was possible if I cover the repair cost using their technician and they could reimburse me which was also denied. The customer service reps treated my issue as no big deal mean while in my house I have 240 current abilities or (dryer, water heater, oven, drive top, or A/C). view less
On 5 July 2017 I filed a claim because the electricy to all 240 devices in my home failed to work. This ment no AC in central Texas were its 100°F +. I explained the situation to a rep and was immediately assigned a technician. The technician was unable to make it out until 7 July 2017. On 7 July the technician made it out diagnosed the problem and informed me that he could not fix the
... view more
# 112237
Saint Louis - MO 07-10-2017
Rick M , Saint Louis MO
Posted On 07/10/17
Review No. 112234
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This was one of the most frustrating experiences I have had with any company. Covered refrigerator had multiple problems. It was a high-end GE Café, over $3,000. HWA contacted a service company to come look at it. They looked at it said it needed a controller board and some other electronics. After replacement it was still broke and they replaced the blower motor. That didn't fix it so they said it was unrepairable. That was a month after making the claim. Then HWA contacted another service person who said they couldn't get out for a week or two so I contacted HWA and they assigned another who eventually got to us and confirmed it couldn't be repaired and said they called it in. After a few days I contacted HWA and they said they never got the report. They called the vendor and they again reported the diagnosis. After a few days (now going on 6 weeks) I called HWA and they said they still didn't get the report. Called the vendor and they said they sent it twice and would do it again. Finally, HWA called with a settlement. They offered the GE lowest end refrigerator on the market and IT DIDN"T EVEN HAVE AN ICE/WATER DISPENSER!!! Or $1,270, less than half what was paid for the refrigerator. I highly recommend getting your home warranty from someone else and realtors, do not recommend them. view less
This was one of the most frustrating experiences I have had with any company. Covered refrigerator had multiple problems. It was a high-end GE Café, over $3,000. HWA contacted a service company to come look at it. They looked at it said it needed a controller board and some other electronics. After replacement it was still broke and they replaced the blower motor. That didn't fix it so
... view more
# 112234
Concord - NC 07-10-2017
Brian , Concord NC
Posted On 07/10/17
Review No. 112221
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
HWA did a great job communicating with me and getting my disposal fixed. The technician was on time and did a very good job. My garbage disposal was fixed right the first time. The way it should be. The communication between hwa and myself was great throughout the process.
# 112221
Boise - ID 07-10-2017
Rebecca , Boise ID
Posted On 07/10/17
Review No. 112184
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This home warranty provider is absolutely horrible. They hire the worst rated in the area to perform work and refuse to call for emergencies when it is an emergency! Our AC unit stopped turning on and when we finally gave in after trying everything, we filed a warranty claim. Today the high was 101. When we filed the claim it was above 90. But because we waited to call on the claim to check the status and the temp dropped to 85, they put us on a waiting list saying "Because it's not 90, you will have to wait." Literally everything that can melt in this home has melted! This is not the first claim we have had and the previous one was just as bad! Horrible HORRIBLE customer service and they hire HORRIBLE contractors for each issue!! If anyone ends up reading this review... PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE AND STAY AWAY FROM HOME WARRANTY OF AMERICA!!! view less
This home warranty provider is absolutely horrible. They hire the worst rated in the area to perform work and refuse to call for emergencies when it is an emergency! Our AC unit stopped turning on and when we finally gave in after trying everything, we filed a warranty claim. Today the high was 101. When we filed the claim it was above 90. But because we waited to call on the claim to check
... view more
# 112184
Valparaiso - IN 07-09-2017
Betty , Valparaiso IN
Posted On 07/09/17
Review No. 112178
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I would recommend saving your money or researching a credible warranty (if one exists). Would not recommend HWA to my worst enemy. We had to go through flooded basement, they failed to replace a sump pump which was supposed to be covered under the contract. Furnace was leaking carbon monoxide, the rep stated that she didn't care as long as the furnace is functioning. Techs are awful. Our ice maker is broken for the past 7 months and still not working with 3rd technician working on it. We had no response. Just a word of CAUTION. BUYER BEWARE!!! view less
I would recommend saving your money or researching a credible warranty (if one exists). Would not recommend HWA to my worst enemy. We had to go through flooded basement, they failed to replace a sump pump which was supposed to be covered under the contract. Furnace was leaking carbon monoxide, the rep stated that she didn't care as long as the furnace is functioning. Techs are awful. Our ice
... view more
# 112178
Sugarland - TX 07-08-2017
Zameer Akhtar , Sugarland TX
Posted On 07/08/17
Review No. 112125
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The worst warranty company ever, they will deny your claim based on assumptions. They may cover very minor repairs, bad customer service, they will hang up on you. I had 2 claims, one was stove repair. They guy came in after a week took all the information and a service charge. Told me he will be back and never returned. Second claim guy came and look at the leak and said can't fix it because this is not covered. Be very carefull, they will use every excuse under the sun to deny your claim view less
The worst warranty company ever, they will deny your claim based on assumptions. They may cover very minor repairs, bad customer service, they will hang up on you. I had 2 claims, one was stove repair. They guy came in after a week took all the information and a service charge. Told me he will be back and never returned. Second claim guy came and look at the leak and said can't fix it because
... view more
# 112125
Cleburne - TX 07-08-2017
Jerry Melson , Cleburne TX
Posted On 07/08/17
Review No. 112109
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
HWA Home Warranty of America has been wonderful! I've had several different home warranties over the years. This is the first time I have filed a claim. We have actually filed 5-6 claims this year. We have NEVER had a problem with any of the claims! We are totally satisfied and would highly recommend HWA!!
# 112109
Wesley Chapel - FL 07-07-2017
Sharlene Turner , Wesley Chapel FL
Posted On 07/07/17
Review No. 112091
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Our AC in FL went out 7-3-17 - HWA did get someone out asap on 7-6-17 and then they had to have it reviewed. We were to hear in 24 to 48 hours. Today, 7-7-17 was 48 hours and I called all day (starting at about 1 p.m. trying to get an answer because the weekend is here. Well at 7 p.m. finally the call came and they declined our claim. BTW - it's 90 degrees in the house and there is 81% humidity in FL. My problem is two fold: 1) the service reprs (all were nice but one) kept trying to get a supervisor to call me - it took until 7 p.m. - "she is on the phone, she is in a meeting, she called and left you a message" They never called until the 7 p.m call. 2) Why didn't they call me on 7-5-17 and tell me that it was declined so that I could have someone else take care of it? Very, very Frustrated.. view less
Our AC in FL went out 7-3-17 - HWA did get someone out asap on 7-6-17 and then they had to have it reviewed. We were to hear in 24 to 48 hours. Today, 7-7-17 was 48 hours and I called all day (starting at about 1 p.m. trying to get an answer because the weekend is here. Well at 7 p.m. finally the call came and they declined our claim. BTW - it's 90 degrees in the house and there is 81%
... view more
# 112091
Bastrop - TX 07-07-2017
Michael Blake , Bastrop TX
Posted On 07/07/17
Review No. 112025
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Over the years, we have made a budgetary decision to regularly maintain a home warranty for pure peace of mind. We typically have a claim about once every two years. In our history, we typically experience minor appliance claims, but ever so often a costly failure of a HVAC system component more than offsets those years on premiums. Early on, we used the other high profile home warranty company, but later discovered HWA and found this firm to be far superior in every way. HWA is a first-class company! view less
Over the years, we have made a budgetary decision to regularly maintain a home warranty for pure peace of mind. We typically have a claim about once every two years. In our history, we typically experience minor appliance claims, but ever so often a costly failure of a HVAC system component more than offsets those years on premiums. Early on, we used the other high profile home warranty
... view more
# 112025
Austin - TX 07-07-2017
Disappointed , Austin TX
Posted On 07/07/17
Review No. 112017
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND FIND ANOTHER HOME WARRANTY COMPANY! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. YOU'LL FIND YOURSELF CALLING INDIA TO TALK TO SOMEONE. GOOD LUCK GETTING A RESPONSE BACK.
# 112017
Vernon Hills - IL 07-06-2017
Brenda Cole , Vernon Hills IL
Posted On 07/06/17
Review No. 111971
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
In March 2016, I had an issue with my washing machine- the company that they sent out- told me to put smaller loads in, charged me my trade call fee. I called HWA they sent out someone else- wonderful, it started working again. It stopped working again (less than 90 days later) so because it was a "new" issue, I had to pay another trade call fee (it was the same issue). 3rd opinion to decide if it needs to be replaced- they were able to fix it and it's all good. September 2016, the company that came out in March told HWA that I DID NOT PAY the trade call fee (they cashed my check). I called HWA at least 20 times asking to talk to a supervisor- not ONE call back. NOT ONE. Instead of HWA calling me and asking me of proof that I paid the trade call fee. They suspended my contract- that was a shock! Finally, after calling and calling- a wonderful lady in Realtor Relations called me back- and we got it all figured out- I sent her the copy of the check that they deposited- all good. I renewed my contract because of her.

June 2017- BOY OH BOY! My air conditioner broke , leaking into my downstairs neighbors- I called them and told them it was an emergency ( I know that they do not cover my neighbor- not the issue) I called, they gave me someone to call- they couldn't come out for a week. So, I called HWA again, sent me someone else- they couldn't come out for a week- this is LEAKING into my neighbor's house! So, finally after the 3rd call they determined it (actually) was an emergency. Great, now- because it's an emergency they STILL couldn't find anyone that could come that day (Monday). They finally found someone but it would cost me another $60+ for them to come because of the technician's location. I live in Chicago- you CANNOT tell me no one is available in less than 50 miles. The individual I spoke to on the phone at the HWA call center was rude and disrespectful. I said, "This is why I have a home warranty and why I pay, to make sure that things can get fixed in an appropriate time" his response "you don't pay me, you pay the company!" ARE YOU KIDDING?! That is customer service? I asked to speak to a supervisor- I was told there was no one available. Finally, someone was available. He said he is not allowed to waive the fee and I have to pay the additional money if I want someone to come out that day.

So, I had to contact this wonderful lady again- she's so helpful. If you read the contract (which she told me) I DO NOT have to pay for an additional fee since it's an emergency- ALL of this would have been avoided IF the "supervisor" knew what he was doing. She worked her magic and is doing everything that she can- this review is not about her. It's about the customer service.

The supervisor calls me back and says, "this is a recorded line - just so you know" I said, "Good, I'm glad since you are about to tell me that you didn't do your job"

June 19th my AC broke- it's July 6th and nothing is fixed- WHY? because the HWA doesn't want to pay for it to actually be replaced as it needs to, they want to fix it. Well, they don't make the parts- the company had to come out again for 2 hours on June 29th (not the company's fault- once again HWA) to find the exact place of the leak and do all of this extra work instead of just replacing the parts that need to be replaced.

Now, I have to wait for HWA to approve the costs- and what happens if HWA doesn't? Will my AC get fixed? I don't know.

I was told on my google review to e-mail if I have any other questions, I did. I asked for someone to call me and what did they do? They sent my an e-mail that didn't answer my question. Still waiting for someone to call me.

I have contacted ABC Chicago to inform them of this fraud and the fact that it is 9:17 am and my house is over 84 degrees. My house has hit over 90 degrees in these past 3 weeks. Enough is enough. If I could void my contract, I would.

I've contacted my real estate agent who sold my house and he's the one that recommended HWA, he is no longer recommending HWA and is telling his clients, he's one of the top agents at his company, not to look at HWA but to go elsewhere.

I'm sick of being treated like my life is not respected. This company is a complete fraud. view less
In March 2016, I had an issue with my washing machine- the company that they sent out- told me to put smaller loads in, charged me my trade call fee. I called HWA they sent out someone else- wonderful, it started working again. It stopped working again (less than 90 days later) so because it was a "new" issue, I had to pay another trade call fee (it was the same issue). 3rd opinion to decide
... view more
# 111971

Rate Home Warranty Of America

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact hwahomewarranty.com directly.