Home Warranty Of America

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Home Warranty Of America

Home Warranty Of America
Customer Service 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating3.7 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 1616
Total Quotes : 5745
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the...
Years In Business 21
BBB Rating B
Complaint Resolution N
Offers Online Claims Y
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)

Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 979-1242

Write a Review!

Started in 1996, Home Warranty of America has been providing services to customers across the country. The company claims to have built their business with the idea of simplifying the lives of their customers and providing them immediate help during times of need.

The company is headquartered in Illinois and is currently one of the largest sellers of home warranty products.

In addition to home warranty plans, the company also provides sales tools for Real Estate Agents. Client contact program, HWA buttons for your website, informative videos, mobile apps etc are a few of them. They also maintain a 24 x 7 customer service wing.

The company’s website hosts numerous articles, news and maintenance tips that cover topics concerning a homeowner. Contact numbers for their customer service wing can also be obtained from the website. For real estate agents, mobile apps and customer contact programs can be downloaded via their website. You can also link your website to theirs using HWA buttons provided on their website.

The company offers several innovative products which start at $24.95 per month. The products are primarily home warranty plans that are customizable. They vary largely depending on the coverage and the cost of the plan chosen. Their plans are unique as they offer the following features.

  • Cost effective plans starting at $24.95/ month.
  • 24 x 7, 365 days of customer service.
  • No restrictions on age or home model.
  • No mandate on home inspection.
  • Coverage for townhouse and condominium.
  • Nationwide coverage.
  • Various methods of submitting payment.

This company has twice emerged as an award winner in recent Annual Home Warranty awards. With consistently good services, HWA bagged awards in Top Rated Company and Best in Service categories in the years 2014 and 2013, respectively.

For information about the awards, visit Annual Home Warranty Awards page.

Reviews & Ratings

Slidell - LA 03-26-2017
Melissa , Slidell LA
Posted On 03/26/17
Review No. 109231
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Had them for two years so far. Friday our water heater in the attic broke, valve wouldn't shut off. Attempted to contact them. No answer. Emailed request for emergency repair via their website service. No reply. Sunday, and we have damage to the ceiling in the living room and garage and we have big bins catching the water. Had to get a local repairman to fix it all costing us thousands. Whats the point in having them if they can't be bothered to actually contact us even on the weekend when it's an emergency? We want out of the contract without penalty. We will find someone better. view less
Had them for two years so far. Friday our water heater in the attic broke, valve wouldn't shut off. Attempted to contact them. No answer. Emailed request for emergency repair via their website service. No reply. Sunday, and we have damage to the ceiling in the living room and garage and we have big bins catching the water. Had to get a local repairman to fix it all costing us thousands. Whats
... view more
# 109231
Wylie - TX 03-24-2017
kristy , Wylie TX
Posted On 03/24/17
Review No. 109208
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We just had the easiest claim ever with HWA. Our garage door wouldn't open. $75 service call fee and Less than a week later, we have a brand new garage door system.

When you need it, HWA, really is worth it.
# 109208
Freehold - NJ 03-23-2017
Dan , Freehold NJ
Posted On 03/23/17
Review No. 109193
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Based on the ages of the appliances in the home I purchased, I've had to use HWA a number of times. Each time, I was contacted by a service contractor within 2 or 3 hours of placing my claim, and more often than not, had a technician at my house the same day. Worst case, the technician showed up the following day. We had one issue with a dishwasher technician, but HWA was quick to reassign the claim when we complained. The CSRs at HWA have been fantastic to deal with as well. Always professional and quick to work towards solutions and approve the repairs. view less
Based on the ages of the appliances in the home I purchased, I've had to use HWA a number of times. Each time, I was contacted by a service contractor within 2 or 3 hours of placing my claim, and more often than not, had a technician at my house the same day. Worst case, the technician showed up the following day. We had one issue with a dishwasher technician, but HWA was quick to reassign
... view more
# 109193
Nashville - TN 03-20-2017
Kevin , Nashville TN
Posted On 03/20/17
Review No. 109128
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible experience. Dishwasher broke at new house. HWA says b/c previous owner had installed it in unusual way that they wouldn't fix it. Warranty did nothing for me. Operator at HWA read me fine print on my contract and then tried to upsell me on more expensive coverage. Also had some connector problems with washer and dryer. HWA said that would have to be a separate claim and cost another 60 dollars, even though it's about 5 feet away from my dishwasher. The guy who came to look at the dishwasher noticed it on his own and fixed it on his own in about 30 seconds. In my experience, HWA was trying much harder not to fix things than to fix things. view less
Terrible experience. Dishwasher broke at new house. HWA says b/c previous owner had installed it in unusual way that they wouldn't fix it. Warranty did nothing for me. Operator at HWA read me fine print on my contract and then tried to upsell me on more expensive coverage. Also had some connector problems with washer and dryer. HWA said that would have to be a separate claim and cost
... view more
# 109128
Atlanta - GA 03-17-2017
JD , Atlanta GA
Posted On 03/17/17
Review No. 109122
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
They sent a service contractor to service my oven. When the guy got here, he told me he fixes appliances but would rather paint my house. He charge me the $75, tinkered with my oven but did not fix it. He didn't even replace the burned out bulb -- telling me I could easily find a bulb at any Supermarket if I didn't want to have to wait for him to go and get one. When I called the company, they said their policy is they would have to have him return for no service fee or I would have to pay another service fee for another provider. They would not stand behind the fact that they sent an inapt unethical person to my house. Do not do business with this company! There are plenty other reputable home warranty companies like 2-10, American Home Shield and Old Republic. I paid an appliance guy $80 to come and fix my oven once and for all and moved my policy to 2-10. view less
They sent a service contractor to service my oven. When the guy got here, he told me he fixes appliances but would rather paint my house. He charge me the $75, tinkered with my oven but did not fix it. He didn't even replace the burned out bulb -- telling me I could easily find a bulb at any Supermarket if I didn't want to have to wait for him to go and get one. When I called the company, they
... view more
# 109122
Minot - ND 03-15-2017
Tyler , Minot ND
Posted On 03/15/17
Review No. 109067
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This is the first home I have bought, and he had to use this warranty service twice. Both times were very pleasant. The last time I had to file a claim I thought it was my furnace leaking, but with the help from the technician I was told it was my water heater that had stopped working properly. Although I had to resubmit the claim, it was all figured out within an hour, and I had a new water heater installed and ready to rock and roll with 6 hours of filing the initial claim on the furnace. Great experience, and very happy and fortunate to have this coverage. view less
This is the first home I have bought, and he had to use this warranty service twice. Both times were very pleasant. The last time I had to file a claim I thought it was my furnace leaking, but with the help from the technician I was told it was my water heater that had stopped working properly. Although I had to resubmit the claim, it was all figured out within an hour, and I had a new water
... view more
# 109067
Naperville - IL 03-15-2017
Milan , Naperville IL
Posted On 03/15/17
Review No. 109066
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Excellent experience! Heating went out in freezing weather, service scheduled next day. The technician showed up on time, diagnosed and repaired the issue by replacing the part he had on his truck.
# 109066
Mansfield - OH 03-15-2017
Todd , Mansfield OH
Posted On 03/15/17
Review No. 109064
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
called them twice. the first time it took 4 days for a service rep to even contact us. By then I had called my brother in law who is an HVAC guy and he told me how to do the repair over the phone. The customer service person for this event was very rude. after 3 days of not hearing from a rep I had called HWA back and that's when the rep was rude saying they needed more time and whoever told me that they would have a rep contact me within 48 hours was just an idiot.

the second time I called them for a roof leak, it is now 8 days later and still have not heard from a service tech. I work a lot and I had been hoping to get the leak fixed quickly due to all the storms recently. I ended up having to take a half day off work to repair it myself as more storms were moving in.

Worst company ever. view less
called them twice. the first time it took 4 days for a service rep to even contact us. By then I had called my brother in law who is an HVAC guy and he told me how to do the repair over the phone. The customer service person for this event was very rude. after 3 days of not hearing from a rep I had called HWA back and that's when the rep was rude saying they needed more time and whoever
... view more
# 109064
Georgetown - TX 03-15-2017
Frederick , Georgetown TX
Posted On 03/15/17
Review No. 109063
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Technician was extremely professional and was an excellent communicator. Rapidly diagnosed the problems, explained them, and fixed them. An outstanding service provider.
# 109063
Southern - IL 03-13-2017
Anonymous , Southern IL
Posted On 03/13/17
Review No. 109041
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
My husband and I got our home warranty when we purchased our house. We thought it to be a very good idea since we were first time home buyers. A couple months after moving in our dishwasher started holding water, we called HWA and they said that would get a vendor to call us and set up an appt. We couldn't get an appt. for a week. So the day that were supposed to come fix the dishwasher between 12-4pm, they arrive at 5pm, so I had to stay home all afternoon and I had a lot to do on my way off. The technician was very knowledgable but mad because he's supposed to get off at 5pm, so he looks at our dishwasher does a few things becomes more friendly as I ask a few questions, takes my payment, leaves. I load the dishwasher...so excited! Not only is it not fixed but now it doesn't even get water to it! Call them back, it's Friday night, they can't come back until Wednesday, my husband and I both work so he has to take off to be here, tech comes back with a part, it doesn't work he calls HWA. We can either be bought out or accept a specific model of dishwasher or pay for an upgrade. The dishwasher they will cover is a color most people don't have in their kitchen AND has horrible reviews so you have to take the crappy buyout or pay upgrade. This is bad business. So I call back to tell her we will pay for the upgrade, oh it's after regular business hours so the purchasing dept will call me back between 8-5pm tomorrow. It's 4pm the next day, haven't heard anything call them back and oh no, they will call you back between 24-48 hours and it's Friday so I guess you will hear from them Monday, sorry. Monday, I miss the call. I call back ask for purchasing dept, get transferred 4 times, I'm good between each call to come to the conclusion that they cannot be reached but a message was left for them to return my call!
Good grief!!! Once you put in a claim with them you are the plague!
I paid for a warranty, my dishwasher is covered, it's broken, I want a good dishwasher that's going to last beyond my warranty (and the one I chose was cheaper with great reviews!)I don't understand what is difficult about this.
Just now received a call from purchasing, she was very nice, very informative and helpful. That was a pleasant transaction. view less
My husband and I got our home warranty when we purchased our house. We thought it to be a very good idea since we were first time home buyers. A couple months after moving in our dishwasher started holding water, we called HWA and they said that would get a vendor to call us and set up an appt. We couldn't get an appt. for a week. So the day that were supposed to come fix the dishwasher
... view more
# 109041
Clarksville - TN 03-09-2017
Sarah , Clarksville TN
Posted On 03/09/17
Review No. 108998
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We've had a policy with HWA now for over 5 years. During that time we have had several claims. Representatives are always courteous and the repair is always done in a very timely manner.
# 108998
Oxford - AL 03-06-2017
david , Oxford AL
Posted On 03/06/17
Review No. 108949
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company is a scam! I was set up with this through my mortgage company and paid the premium in the real estate loan. When I needed it, they said I had to go through one of there vendors for service with a heater/air conditioner problem. Having to pay an inflated price instead of looking for the cheaper one. The warranty does not pay for the service call for their approved vendor. When I tried to cancel they said there is a $30 cancelation fee (of course) and it takes up to 6 weeks to get a refund. (of course) I still don't have a total of the refund I will get because I am still waiting for the company to do a simple math question and print a check for the $30 cancelation fee!!!! (going on 3 weeks now) They are a scam! Do not use them! If your mortgage company sets you up with this company, be sure you cancel in 30 days to get a full refund of the premium. signed unsatisfied customer view less
This company is a scam! I was set up with this through my mortgage company and paid the premium in the real estate loan. When I needed it, they said I had to go through one of there vendors for service with a heater/air conditioner problem. Having to pay an inflated price instead of looking for the cheaper one. The warranty does not pay for the service call for their approved vendor. When I
... view more
# 108949
Puente - CA 03-06-2017
Huynh , Puente CA
Posted On 03/06/17
Review No. 108940
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Maria from Home Warranty of America was very professional and she handled my case very well. I just moved in to my new home with my family and the heater wasn't working. I also mentioned that I have a 1 1/2 year old baby girl and Maria said we got to have this incident fixed right away. Maria was very concern for my family matter. I have mentioned this scenario to all my families and friends that have purchased a new home and told them about Home Warranty of America. Maria my family and I want to thank you once again, much appreciated. The technician showed up quick and got to work and fixed the problem within 2 1/2 hours in the rain. Very professional. These people that all help us, Thank you again. view less
Maria from Home Warranty of America was very professional and she handled my case very well. I just moved in to my new home with my family and the heater wasn't working. I also mentioned that I have a 1 1/2 year old baby girl and Maria said we got to have this incident fixed right away. Maria was very concern for my family matter. I have mentioned this scenario to all my families and friends
... view more
# 108940
Corpus - TX 03-01-2017
Kate , Corpus TX
Posted On 03/01/17
Review No. 108904
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
We have always got a timely response and fast service. There have been a couple times where it seemed we paid too much for the service that was done, but good service was sent to us.
# 108904
Murfreesboro - TN 02-23-2017
Rachel , Murfreesboro TN
Posted On 02/23/17
Review No. 108793
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This "home warrantee company" will actually cost you more money than if you didn't have a home warrantee at all. I had a plumbing issue, and contacted HWA to file a claim to get a leaking pipe where my washing machine hook up is located. They only send out their own technicians from their preferred companies. They didn't allow me to choose a plumbing company. The technician came out and looked at the leaking connection and then said he needed to cut the water off to the house to work on the leak. He went into my garauge to turn off the water at the hot water heater. He couldn't get the knob to turn and advised I call HWA and file another claim on the main water shut off valve also being broken so he could look at that issue as well. He then went out and truned off the water at the street and proceded to work on the leak at the washing machine hook up. He cut into my drywall to replace both hose bibs for hot and cold water. He did this BEFORE he informed me that HWA was not going to cover my claim. At that point I had no choice but to allow him to finish. He asked me if I wanted him to look at the main shut off for the hot water heater which I had all ready called into HWA and I told him that I'd have my husband look at it and not to worry about it since he said it would most likely not be covered either. He left a lovley giant hole in my wall and never patched up the sheet rock. Thanks for that His and Hers Plumbing! So I pay them 247 dollars for the work preformed and then they tell me that I also now owe an extra 100 dollars to HWA since I went through them!!!!! WHAT!?!?!? So because I have a home warrantee company, I now owe an extra 100 dollars when they didn't even cover the claim and I paid out of pocket for the work to be completed????? This is a TOTAL SCAM!!!! I would understand a 100 dollar service fee if the claim had been covered, it would basically act as a deductible. I would also understand a 100 dollar service fee if he had come out and I had elected not to have him fix the issue. He came to my house and has to get paid for his time. What I do not understand is an ADDITIONAL 100 dollars added onto my bill when I paid in full out of pocket just for going through HWA. Everyone who has ever hired a service person knows that a service fee is only paid if they come out and work is not preformed...its basically a minimum due for their time. I paid 247 dollars for work preformed and now owe an additional 100 dollars because I have a "home warrantee." Totally ridiculous!!! To make matters even more absurd, when I call HWA to dispute this extra 100 dollar fee they inform me that I actually owe them 200 dollars!!!!! The extra 100 dollar service fee is because I called in a 2nd claim on the main shut off at the hot water heater as the technician advised me to do when he was at my home. My husband actually came home that night and was able to turn the knob with no issue, so there wasn't even anything wrong with the shut off as the technician had stated! So they are charging me for two service calls when they only came to my home once!!! I have filed a claim with the BBB on this company and have advised my realtor to NEVER use this company again with any of her real estate business. Companies like this should not be in business and the public needs to know about them so they don't ever use them and they will be forced to go out of business. Crooked companies like HWA only stay in business if we the consumer allow it. view less
This "home warrantee company" will actually cost you more money than if you didn't have a home warrantee at all. I had a plumbing issue, and contacted HWA to file a claim to get a leaking pipe where my washing machine hook up is located. They only send out their own technicians from their preferred companies. They didn't allow me to choose a plumbing company. The technician came out and
... view more
# 108793
Kansas City - MO 02-20-2017
Charity DeBoard , Kansas City MO
Posted On 02/20/17
Review No. 108703
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Fast response time and great customer service. The claims process was easy to do online and more convenient for me. HWA is a great company and highly recommended!!
# 108703
Austin - TX 02-19-2017
Robert Levens , Austin TX
Posted On 02/19/17
Review No. 108697
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Additional pool and electrical contractors are needed in the southwest Austin area. Nikkis Pool Service and zoos the tech was excellent but located in north Austin.

Otherwise our overall experience has been satisfactory.
# 108697
Joliet - IL 02-17-2017
Dee , Joliet IL
Posted On 02/17/17
Review No. 108685
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I opened a claim with Home Warranty of America in August of 2016. They have sent 3 different vendors over 3 times each and have not been able to repair my fridge. They have replaced the compressor, the freon, 2 different control panels and nothing has been resolved. The last vendor said the problem was out of his expertise and recommended replacement. HWA now wants to get another vendor out as a last ditch effort to salvage the unit. I have 3 kids and have been without a working fridge. Poor service, poor communication, poor follow up is all i can say. I would never recommend this company to anyone. view less
I opened a claim with Home Warranty of America in August of 2016. They have sent 3 different vendors over 3 times each and have not been able to repair my fridge. They have replaced the compressor, the freon, 2 different control panels and nothing has been resolved. The last vendor said the problem was out of his expertise and recommended replacement. HWA now wants to get another vendor
... view more
# 108685
Houston - TX 02-14-2017
Vonda G Trim , Houston TX
Posted On 02/14/17
Review No. 108629
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been extremely pleased each time I have needed to utilize the services supplied by my Home Warranty policy. Customer Service is excellent, the technician referred to assist has been very prompt in responding.
# 108629
Atlanta - GA 02-13-2017
Jef Meulemans , Atlanta GA
Posted On 02/13/17
Review No. 108596
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Two heat pump dampers failed, causing me to shut off the furnace until fixed. How is this not covered? This policy was useless to me.
# 108596
salisbury - NC 02-12-2017
Pamela Ramirez , salisbury NC
Posted On 02/12/17
Review No. 108584
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
It was on a weekend, so, I didn't expect any miracles. But when I called them on Mon. morning, they came that same day and effected the repairs faster than thought possible.
# 108584
Wake Forest - NC 02-08-2017
John Gretsuk , Wake Forest NC
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108522
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Have had to use HWA a few times and the service and people are polite & knowledgeable, I am extremely please I chose HWA for my policy.
# 108522
Sapulpa - OK 02-08-2017
Arlene , Sapulpa OK
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108505
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I have read several unfavorable reviews, but I can honestly say that my experience with HWA has been very favorable. I have had to call HWA for 2 separate problems. Both times the representative was pleasant and helpful. I received a call from technician within an hour. The first problem turned out to be a city line problem, so was handled by the city.
My second problem was with my gas furnace not shutting off at the temperature set on the thermostat. The technician arrived at my home within 3 hours, which I thought was great! Problem was fixed immediately. view less
I have read several unfavorable reviews, but I can honestly say that my experience with HWA has been very favorable. I have had to call HWA for 2 separate problems. Both times the representative was pleasant and helpful. I received a call from technician within an hour. The first problem turned out to be a city line problem, so was handled by the city.
My second problem was with my
... view more
# 108505
Casselberry - FL 02-08-2017
Jonathan , Casselberry FL
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108504
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Purchased home with an aging AC system that finally failed within the first 13 month warranty period. HWA sent two vendors to verify the severity of the fault, after replacing the entire system (air handler and heat pump outside). They did not cover upgrades to bring install to code, which came to about $600.00 out of pocket. Still, it was a $5k+ replacement for $675 out of pocket total. HWA is a warranty, not an insurance, so they strive to only replace what is broken; anything above and beyond will not be covered. view less
Purchased home with an aging AC system that finally failed within the first 13 month warranty period. HWA sent two vendors to verify the severity of the fault, after replacing the entire system (air handler and heat pump outside). They did not cover upgrades to bring install to code, which came to about $600.00 out of pocket. Still, it was a $5k+ replacement for $675 out of pocket total.
... view more
# 108504
Houma - LA 02-05-2017
Jeff Waters , Houma LA
Posted On 02/05/17
Review No. 108452
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I can not write the technician, because he has not come yet.
I can I however representative. The representative accent was so thick that I could not understand her. I kept asking her to repeat. Instead of understanding that there was a communication problem, she spent right through the sheet that she was trying to read.
The representative stated that it was only one plumber that was available in my area. Informed her that my hot water heater had burst and that my laundry room was flooded in water was running out under the carport. She said a technician with call me shortly and I asked her to please call the technician just to verify that he would be able to come out and help me with the problem. Representative said she called and the voicemail told her it will be Monday before the plumber Got Back. Mind you this is Friday afternoon when I'm calling, that is 3 days the water is going to be running and ruining everything in my laundry room and I'm going to have to pay for that water also. The representative said that I could get another plumber to come out and then home warranty may or may not pay fir the repair and if they do it will be a minimum of five weeks. I got the telephone number from the representative and called and spoke to the plumber myself. He said that he was backed up until next Wednesday, that means that if I was not handy enough to figure out how to turn the water off and turn the pilot light off on my hot water heater that my water would be running for 5 days. It is not the plumbers fault but your company does not have subcontractors. That problem lies at the feet the person responsible for hiring the contractors and ultimately Home Warranty Corporation. view less
I can not write the technician, because he has not come yet.
I can I however representative. The representative accent was so thick that I could not understand her. I kept asking her to repeat. Instead of understanding that there was a communication problem, she spent right through the sheet that she was trying to read.
The representative stated that it was only one plumber that
... view more
# 108452
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact hwahomewarranty.com directly.