×

Home Warranty Companies in California

Compare home warranty policies from the top ten home warranty service providers in California. To further assist you in selecting your policy, we have created a graph with a bell curve that showcases the average price of premium and average deductible of the various home warranty policies that are purchased throughout the state of California. View more...  The X-axis indicates the price of the premium while the Y-axis indicates the number of homeowners. The start of the curve indicates the number of homeowners who purchase policies that have low premiums. The curve then rises to indicate the number of homeowners who have opted for the average premium and finally dips to denote the number of homeowners who opt for policies with a high premium. The Average Premium of the California is mentioned at the top of the graph.

You can also view the Average Deductible that is opted for in the state by clicking on the arrows placed on either side of “Average Premium in California”. We have also calculated the average premium and average deductible price for the major towns in California. Click on the city name to know its average policy premium and average deductible opted for.

Go on to read reviews of home warranty companies that provide service in California. To get a comprehensive picture of a home warranty company’s service performance, it’s important to understand the Composite Review Score of a company. This score is based on the all-time reviews received from customers of the company. It can vary from ‘Not Good’ to ‘Excellent’. It also includes the all-time average scores of various parameters like customer service, service timeliness, repair service, and the overall rating. If you have had a positive, negative, or even neutral experience while interacting with a home warranty company, go on to leave a review and help out a homeowner just like you.
View less


First American Home Warranty  Sponsored Disclaimer : We get paid from our Advertising Partner for this listing.
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Total Reviews 1798
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances


Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $320.63
Average Deductible in California: $41.43


Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 9407
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2436
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1798
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1878
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.6
  • Service Timeliness 3.7
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1904
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.4
  • Overall Rating 3.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1733
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.7
  • Service Timeliness 2.7
  • Repair Service 2.7
  • Overall Rating 2.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1074
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.4
  • Service Timeliness 2.5
  • Repair Service 2.4
  • Overall Rating 2.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 469
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.7
  • Service Timeliness 2.7
  • Repair Service 2.7
  • Overall Rating 2.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $380 - $720
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or after 30 days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1998
Total Reviews 181
Coverage Selected StatesAB, MB, NB, NS, ON, PEAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Maryland, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming, , , , ,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.6
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Premium $260-$500
Deductible $55-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1974
Total Reviews 966
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
1.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.0
  • Service Timeliness 2.0
  • Repair Service 1.9
  • Overall Rating 1.8
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Mark Niethamer Date: 2016-07-01 23:19:35

    Review: AHS is responsive to my needs, making sure they work quickly to get me the contractor I need, so the customer service is great. The contractors are always reliable and quick to solve the problem I have.

    Rod Romero Date: 2017-02-21 06:27:54

    Review: My experience was great, what a relief! My A/C was repaired in a timely manner and the contractor was very professional and experienced.

    James Harris Date: 2016-08-22 23:52:01

    Review: My garage door would not open and despite my efforts to lift the door manually, I could not move it an inch to save my life. I called American Home Shield on the phone, they asked for my name/address, my contract was confirmed, and a garage door repair company called me a short time later. The tech that came to the house was very friendly and helpful, and even asked to confirm my contract with American Home Shield before he started any work, just to ensure that the service fee would cover the repairs, and sometimes contracts are written in a way that excludes certain garage door repairs. Nothing to worry about for me, everything was covered, the tech explained what he did (and how much it would have cost had I not had a home warranty), and we were all set and on our way.

    Bruce Leman Date: 2015-04-03 13:11:46

    Review: They person came as promise, did his job and found that I did not qualify for any service beyond this service call because my problem did not qualify per AHS policy. I was fine with it. The person did his job.

    RudyOrozco Date: 2016-08-10 22:06:10

    Review: i am very imppressed with the proffesionalisn of your organization my brother gabrial told me about ahs i could not beleave what i heard so i joined my washer and dryer went out i called you guys you sent a contracter boy it was fixed i will highly recommend AHSto every one

    Shelly Bole Date: 2016-08-19 22:51:33

    Review: My heater quit on New Year's Eve around 5pm. I called American Home Sheild and the agent kept me on the line while she called several different contractors to see who could come the earliest, given the holiday. the contractor was at my house 8am Jan.2. He did a wonderful job and explained to me how my system worked.

    shandley phillips Date: 2014-06-17 12:07:19

    Review: Their coverage is really limited so it's a real waste of money. Customer Service rep told me she wouldn't transfer me. Purposely left me on hold. Don't waste your money. Real estate agents should really start picking something else for the home warranty.

    Stan Abbott Date: 2016-07-30 13:10:17

    Review: Great service the plumber took time to tell me what he was doing step by step. after he was though he made sure everything was draining smoothly

    Dee Badami Date: 2013-01-16 15:00:04

    Review: I had a warranty with this company for two years, and was fairly happy with it - almost never used it. I found service timeliness a bit slow, but otherwise ok. I renewed for this year, but then went on this site to check other companies and found that there is a company with a better rating for FAR less money. I called the new company, interviewed them carefully, and then called American Home Shield (AHS) to cancel (since I was within my legal period for this). Their customer service number said that the "cancellation department" was so overwhelmed with calls that she could not put me through to them, and suggested I dial in to their direct number, which I did. Held for 27 minutes. Finally got a very polite & helpful rep, and was able to cancel. They will now MAIL cancellation letter to me - would not email it for some odd reason. So, I requested a reference number for the cancellation or the phone call, and the rep gave me one for the phone call. They did not offer this proof, and I had to KNOW to ask for it, which I found a tiny bit seedy.

    Heather Date: 2016-04-27 14:09:45

    Review: Don't waste your money. I did and I regret it. The service providers they use are rude and don't care that you are having issues. You are not a priority, you are a number. I called ORHW with an issue with a service provider and they gave me excuses. I never heard from ORHW or the service provider again. I went online and the claim says it is complete. They never followed up to see if the services were ever done. I went out and bought a fridge a week and a half after I started the process because nothing was getting done...there's a reason their services providers are willing to work for so cheap. Only once did I feel like the provider cared about me. He was also the only one I felt safe around...I tried to talk to ORHW and I always get the run around or recordings! Save yourself the trouble and money, don't use them.

    DOUGLAS ALDRIDGE Date: 2017-01-26 06:33:15

    Review: The plumber that AHS sent to our home was great! Always called ahead to let me know he was on the way.

    Ellen Fenten Date: 2016-02-26 21:16:03

    Review: I am unable to get my oven repaired. It has been 2 months and I have spent hours and hours on hold to reach a person at AHS, only to be told they would look into the problem and then there is no follow up. Appliance co. did not report to AHS after the last visit and no one at AHS wants to deal with it. I have had no oven for 2 months. Each call to AHS requires me to stay on hold for a minimum of 45-90 minutes ( then the call drops) because I am unable to reach the first supervisor that promised to address the problem. Either Im promised a return call ( that doesn't happen). Im disconnected, or the line drops after 45 minutes on hold! This is a fraud of a company!

    Jialing Lang Date: 2015-11-11 13:47:41

    Review: I don't understand why this company get good review. If there is negative score, I will definitely give to them. Our furnace was down in the middle of cold winter. I submitted my request online and got a dispatch immediately.The contractor called me in half an hour, but told me they don't have any time until 5 days later. Then I called AHS customer service, waited on the line for 20 minutes to talk to a real person, but was told that was the only contractor available for me, and my only choice was to wait.

    Robert Meneley Date: 2013-12-19 14:58:35

    Review: The service rep was on time and had very good knowledge of the problem. Quickly repaired the appliance then cleaned the area the repair was made. Along with the service provided service rep mentioned other programs that the American Home Shield offered to customers.

    Kevin Date: 2013-11-06 14:16:35

    Review: I made my appointment on line and it was easy. The technician showed up when he said he would and found the problem with my dishwasher in just a few minutes. He had to order a part, which came directly to my home in just two days! The technician returned as scheduled and had my dishwasher up and running in a matter of minutes. The technician was very professional, knowledgable, and kept his work area clean. This effort was not wasted on this customer and was much appreciated. Over all this servace was easy, professional, and met my needs.

    yasir ilyas Date: 2016-03-29 22:15:38

    Review: NEGATIVE 5 OUT OF 5. worst customer service experience upto floor manager. they dont listen and dont take blame for recommending 1 person companies who are prbly cheap but dont know what they doing. you would end up likely with bad contractor like savvy tech, dont recommend at all!

    Andrew Balint Date: 2016-06-15 10:43:58

    Review: We called American Home Shield 8/12/15 and they gave us a Phone Number to : Cathedral City Air Conditioning, the Contractor came within a hour of our call. The Condenser was broken and it was repaired right away. The Customer Service was Very Satisfactory and the cleanliness was Great. We were Very Pleased with the Service. Thank you

    Joe Lam Date: 2015-10-02 17:26:02

    Review: worst services . I enrolled for a year none of the request has been completed. sorry for new people who are buying protection from this company

    Aneesa Haider Date: 2013-01-02 17:58:21

    Review: I have now been without heat for almost 1 month. The contractor network that AHS uses is pitiful. The initial contractor stated that my heating system needed to be replaced and that there were flames shooting out of the firebox. AHS did not respond with any urgency. Instead, they calmly dismissed the contractors assessment stating that it "sounded ridiculous." They asked for a 2nd opinion. The 2nd contractor was impossible to get in touch with and I was unable to schedule an appointment. AHS then assigned another contractor (after a dozen phone calls and threats to retain a lawyer). Third contractor came out and had a completely different diagnosis. I am still waiting (its been 6 days) for the contractor to provide their report to AHS. Meanwhile, it has been freezing. I have moved out of my house and have been staying with relatives. I do not get the sense that AHS has any interest to expedite the claim. Every time I call, it is a different person and I have not been able to escalate my claims to any supervisor level. I have an appointment with my attorney tomorrow. I believe that AHS is an irresponsible company and they have a terrible network of contractors they choose to do business with.

    Lorena Luker Date: 2014-01-22 14:46:52

    Review: Our contractor was reliable, he was prompt & efficient, explained what would be covered and what was not so there were no surprises. American Home Shield's customer service was great from the time we called in all the way through our post repair. The warranty was provided to us by the sellers a year ago, we just sent in our renewal. As always it's better to be safe than sorry.