×

Home Warranty Companies in California

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $314.03
Average Deductible in California: $41.61
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8493
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 527
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2176
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1724
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating F
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1805
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 3.9
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1860
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1029
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1557
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.9
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 2.9
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 432
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.1
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Bill Krumrei Date: 2015-12-18 14:35:51

    Review: I've just fired the company for non performance. After being a member for years a request for a clothes washer repair was not repaired or replaced after 30 days. Very poor service and not recommended in any respect.

    Albert Date: 2015-06-08 12:54:23

    Review: This company was founded by the concept of taking advantage of customers. You want to know why?!! it is pretty obvious and apparent even in their coverage categories!! In which planet Garage Door Opener is an Appliance?! so if you thought that garage door opener should be part of the home system coverage package then you should look for a company who does not insult your intelligence like this with its fraudulent categorization of home warranty! They tell you you can add garage door opener to your home system with an extra payment and I say why I have to pay extra for what that should have been included to begin with?!! AHS you are unfair and You deserve this review.

    Celia Purcell Date: 2013-12-12 12:15:40

    Review: I called American Home Shield with my problem and they were friendly and responsive to my needs. They gave me the name of the company that would be coming out to fix the issue at my home and there was also a follow-up email sent to me with the company's details. The company called me later that same afternoon to schedule when it would be good for them to come out to my house. The person showed up when they said he would and he was very thorough and even gave us ways to improve to keep the problem from happening again.

    Anjana Rajagopalan Date: 2017-08-22 18:26:14

    Review: My washer broke. I made the call on 7/31 and the first diagnosis visit appointment was after a week because there was no appointments available until then. The diagnosis happened on a 8/7 and I don\'t know when information was submitted and I didn\'t get a email regarding the status until 8/11 and an email stating my card will be charged for the service request. At this point there is still nothing working. 8/14 I got a call from their rep indicating that the repair costs outweigh the cost of the appliance and suggested replacement washers. The lady was very nice and walked me through all options clearly and we put the order together right away. And my service request is closed - WHAT??? Today is 8/22 - still no sight of that washer. I got on a call last morning and because of wait times reported, I dropped off. Today am on the call again after a few mins wait on hold and finally the rep tells me that order was placed and the washer is expected to arrive today. But wait??? there was no call requesting for an appointment. What if I was out of town? It will be almost 4 weeks now with no washer. This is the worst experience I have faced after being a customer with them for over 10 years now.

    ramzi salameh Date: 2014-02-05 22:36:26

    Review: everything was a great experience, contractor showed up on time as planned, ordered the parts, came back promptly and rerplaced them, everything worked perfect and left the work area clean and free of debris. five star experience from start to end.

    Erica Date: 2017-09-11 20:57:18

    Review: I had a problem with my pool. Old republic sent someone out to fix it. Of course, that part wasn\'t under warranty. (The repair man said it is with several other companies, but not this one). So I had to out of pocket about $200 for a fuze instead of a $60 trade call. I asked multiple times if this was everything I owed. Did this included my trade call fee? They told me yes. Months later I get collection notices from Old Republic telling me I owe a trade call fee! I explained the situation and told them I have the receipt they still told me I have to pay. So I paid $60 over the phone. Three days later they sent me another letter saying I owe $85! I called and asked why?!?! She said she sees I paid the $60 but now I owe a $25 collection fee!!! The only letter I got stating it was from a collection company was the last letter, dated AFTER I already paid the bill that I don\'t believe I owed in the first place! I told the lady I had just paid the bill! When I called why didn\'t they take the $85 then? This is now twice they have come after me for more money AFTER I HAVE ALL READY PAID IN FULL!!! On top of it it was a fuze! It should have been $20 total! So I asked her how do I know if I pay this bill that they won\'t come after me again asking for more! It\'s disgusting! I was told a manager will get back to me with in 24 hours. At this point I haven\'t paid the $25. The woman was so rude and I really don\'t trust that if I pay it they won\'t charge me again. I feel like they are just billing me to see how much $$$ they can get and just threaten to ruin my credit if I don\'t pay!

    antioldrepublic Date: 2015-09-27 19:55:43

    Review: I have had this service since I bought my house in 2006. Rarely used their services for 7 years. had problem with spa and the service contractor who came out was worst then the company itself. He stated that as there were rat dropping, it needed special handling with suits and gear. Really? kept calling the company and really figured out that I should have never chosen them. Job got done by handyman in $35. again, had problem 2 months later with toilet clogging. called them and they told me that the policy lapsed. They cannot do anything unless I reinstate the policy and I will have waiting period for another 30 days and they did send out the letter. They told me that they do not send emails and they have stopped autorenewals. So much for paying all the premium for so many years:( I really believe that someone in this company really is working very hard to push the company in Bankruptcy and they are doing a great job of spoiling company's name and service. But that's leadership question. I am gald I am off the hook. I am with another company and I hoping a better service from them. Don't ever buy this policy.

    KENNETH HARDING Date: 2017-02-09 06:20:27

    Review: The contractor was called and showed up within 4 hours. I was very pleased with the seed of response as I was getting ready to sell my house and this prevented any delays.

    Dee Badami Date: 2013-01-16 15:00:04

    Review: I had a warranty with this company for two years, and was fairly happy with it - almost never used it. I found service timeliness a bit slow, but otherwise ok. I renewed for this year, but then went on this site to check other companies and found that there is a company with a better rating for FAR less money. I called the new company, interviewed them carefully, and then called American Home Shield (AHS) to cancel (since I was within my legal period for this). Their customer service number said that the "cancellation department" was so overwhelmed with calls that she could not put me through to them, and suggested I dial in to their direct number, which I did. Held for 27 minutes. Finally got a very polite & helpful rep, and was able to cancel. They will now MAIL cancellation letter to me - would not email it for some odd reason. So, I requested a reference number for the cancellation or the phone call, and the rep gave me one for the phone call. They did not offer this proof, and I had to KNOW to ask for it, which I found a tiny bit seedy.

    Ray Jones Date: 2015-10-20 16:54:53

    Review: Wow!! We have had other providers and wanted to try AHS. WARNING!! They do not cover an above ground spa even if you pay for the "extra spa" coverage. When we called to inquire, they said our above ground spa IS covered. We pointed out the contract said above ground is EXCLUDED. He put us on hold to go "check on it." He cam back and said, "Yep, wach y'all do is haf da service call and day turn it in to see if it's covered." We called back to get someone who speaks English. They said the extra spa option is NOT for an above ground spa but for people have have TWO built in spas. Really? No one has two in-ground spa's we said. He said "oh yeah, a lot of people have two spa's." We canceled and got out money back.

    William Schmitt Date: 2014-03-27 18:05:46

    Review: AHS was extremely responsive. I had an assigned contractor with all of the contact information within minutes of submitting a request for service. The contractor was Bear Electric. They contacted me the very same day to set a repair appointment. The morning of the appointment, the contractor phoned me with the time that he would arrive. He arrived for the repairs at the time he indicated. The repair man was clean and professional. He diagnosed the problem quickly and repaired it in a short period of time. He had everything on his truck to effect the repairs. When he finished he insured that he cleaned up any residue and materials before he left. I was extremely satisfied with the service. Both from the contractor and AHS.

    E HIRSCHI Date: 2017-11-07 22:13:23

    Review: Nightmare. Called on a Friday morning due to no hot water and they didn\'t sent a contractor until Tuesday afternoon. Their contractor comes out, looks at the water heater for 5 mins, and states he needs to over a part that has to be overnighted and because it\'s after 1 PM, it won\'t arrive until Thur. Thurs-no part. Fri-no part. Mon-no part. Tues-no part. I have to call the contractor and ask status and they state they didn\'t realize it was on backorder! What?! I receive the part and he installs 2 days later and then states he needs another part. Took another 2 days. IF YOU DON\'T NEED HOT WATER FOR 14 DAYS, PURCHASE AMERICAN HOME SHIELD\'s WARRANTY PROGRAM WHO CONTRACTS WITH TERRIBLE CONTRACTORS! Otherwise, use Fidelity Home Warranty who I had last year and never had one problem with obtaining immediate and excellent vendors who treated customers like customers. I stupidly thought I\'d save $25.00 for the annual cost and went with AHS-not when my contract is up in seven months! Never again...

    E Butler Date: 2017-02-23 16:13:15

    Review: The first contractor didn\'t call and didn\'t return my call so another contractor was assigned. The second contractor has been great. A part needed to be ordered and so the repair isn\'t complete as of yet, but I don\'t expect a problem, this contractor seems to be on top of things and is quick to return calls.

    Anonymous Date: 2014-07-08 11:25:46

    Review: BUYER BEWARE! DO NOT BUY A POLICY FROM THIS COMPANY. IT'S WORTHLESS. I called about a leaky toilet and was told a plumber would call me within 48 hours. I waited a week and called customer service again. They told me the plumber would call me that day. I never received a call from their plumber. Had to contact someone myself. I'm paying for a useless policy!!!!

    Mesa Date: 2017-10-14 04:08:15

    Review: American Home Shield has proven to be an asset to my home. I have already used them twice and both times was greatly satisfied with the prompt and courteous service. I have recommended them to my family and friends.

    Sally Date: 2016-02-18 14:50:24

    Review: I called them for two service requests in rapid succession, and by luck got the same great guy who fixed them both well. Then I called for a third service request. For some reason, they dropped that guy from their rolls, and assigned me to another contractor. When they assign you to a contractor, that person is supposed to call you within 24 hours. Well, that contractor didn't contact me, so I asked for another one, who didn't contact me either, so I asked for a third, and it's been several hours, so I'm guessing that one won't contact me either. I asked for the original guy, and they said they had dropped him from their list for some reason--I guess because he was too good at his job? The moral of the story is that if you happen to get assigned a good contractor, awesome. But apparently they don't do a thing to vet their contractors, so really, this service is no different from you calling a bunch of random people from Yelp or the phone book and hoping that whoever you get is decent. Save your money and don't waste your money on this service.

    Phillip Cooper Date: 2013-06-26 19:43:41

    Review: Loved AHS when I didn't use them but over the past year we have had them out several times Our 1 1/2 HP Pool pump went out last year, & they replaced without any problem. Then a few months ago our Dish Washer went out well after the first tech come out and TS, and ordered parts that took a week to get. A second tech come out to put those parts in, and found that the first technicians TS was wrong and that something else had failed, another week went by, and the parts finally arrived but they couldn't come out to fix it until the next week. A few weeks back the pool filter grids went bad, the ones that worked for 2 years with the old pump without fail (and us operating the filter). This time they got come back and said the grids failed because we operated it wrong, but when I checked with the pool manufacturer we found out the grids also fail from too much flow. So PENTAIR asked me the pump size which was now a 2 HP, now PENTAIR tells me the problem was that we were flowing too much water through the filter that was rated at 96 GPM. Thats was great news for me as it showed the Professional Pool Pump Tech was covering his A _ _ trying to cover up the fact that the same vendor / AHS did the pool pump less than a year ago, alls AHS would do is offer to dispatch a 2nd technician to check up on the first guy diagnosis which I agreed to as long as we didn't have to pay the $75 copay, which AHS agreed with. Well the second opinion came back the same, so I ended up forking out $300, because no one wanted to call PENTAIR to verify that 2 much flow caused the problem. Then last Sat. our wash machine went out, so like a fool I tried AHS one more time, only to find out they wouldn't come out unless I agreed to pay the $75 fee for the second opinion on the pool filter, and pay the $75 fee for wash machine service fee, I refused too allow them to extort the second opinion fee out of me, so I told AHS to have a manager call me. Well 2 days later they called and I was sweet talked into accepting their apoligies, and they schedule a tech out today to check the washer. Guess what this time the washer was missing a part, that they say caused the problem. Well I just checked the records and it was AHS that had a vendor service the unit 2 years ago, that must have left the part off, because it was nowhere to be found. Heres where we are with AHS, we are dropping them like the bad apple they are immediately, and we are gathering our information, and we will see AHS in person before a judge, to let them explain this mess.

    Richard and Sally Stolte Date: 2015-01-22 16:00:49

    Review: We have been without hot water since Dec. 30 and today, Jan 22, still no hot water. We have been given the excuse that the propane water hearer is not in stock three times. No one calls us to keep us updated and we keep getting transferred all over the place. Needless to say, we are very upset. We are in our seventies and it is flu season.

    Ken Dobson Date: 2012-08-02 14:12:52

    Review: Their policy is that an appliance does not require replacement if it "runs," irrespective of whether it performs its function. Our dishwasher "runs" in that it shoots water up and spins; however, it DOES. NOT. CLEAN. Repair has come out THREE times--the extent of their diagnosis is to put a cup facing up on the top rack and run the machine. If there is water in the cup, "there's nothing wrong." I talked to AHS--as long as the machine "runs," they will not replace it, even though it does not clean the dishes. (Pre-washed dishes come out with grime deposited on them by the machine.) We're about to have our fourth repairman visit, for all the good it will do. We are NOT renewing our AHS contract.

    Mary Sylvester Date: 2015-03-27 18:01:23

    Review: This is the second time I called American Home Shield. No, it wasn't for the same problem. The first was an electrical problem. This was because my oven was going on and off at the most inopportune times! Roman fixed that problem. Also, my temperature display was unreadable. He took the board with him and said he'd call when the appropriate part(s) came in. I can still use my stove, but the oven is on hold. I do have a microwave and a toaster-oven, so I'll not be without means of cooking or baking. The repairmen in both cases came at the promised times, were clean and very professional. Thanks AHS!