Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Dist Of Columbia: $313.23
Average Deductible in Dist Of Columbia: $41.35
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7848
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-727-2781
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1688
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-988-5352
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 455
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.7
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-723-4894
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 274
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.6
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3172
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Dist of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 3.9
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-758-4545
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1889
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-771-0896
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1718
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 962
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.1
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-790-9591
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 78
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1736
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.5
  • Repair Service 3.6
  • Overall Rating 3.4
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-979-1242
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Patricia, Bonsall, CA Date: 2012-02-04 16:45:29

    Review: Just moved into our home and our first issue was the leak from the dishwasher and cold water faucet in shower. Old Republic rep put me through the grill asking when escrow closed and when we noticed it and said it would require 2 work orders (1 for dishwasher & 1 for shower) @ $60 each. I decided to cancel the dishwasher work order & bought a new one (saving $60). Plumber called & said he couldn't come out until Monday (5 days after request). Then we noticed hose bib (attached w/hose) could not shut off - had to turn the main line off as water was gushing from the faucet) - called Old Republic and again got the run-around and they said our policy wouldn't cover this (even though hose bib is attached to house! So I got a plumber from our realtor and he's coming out today (Saturday) - called Old Republic to cancel their plumber for Monday and while I was on "hold" had to listen to their recording about Old Republic's "excellent" customer service (had a good laugh while I was hold for 5 minutes). Save your money - Old Republic home warranty is worthless and will cover nothing!!

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2016-02-19 10:18:41

    Review: Mr. Higgins: We understand your concern, and have been diligent in working with you to resolution. Due to the sensitive nature of your allegations, we will not comment in this, or any other, public forum.

    elizabeth mccarthy 212cannon cir greenville sc Date: 2010-07-27 11:15:40

    Review: don t waste your time or money. bad service does not return calls does not fall under normal wearandtear catagory? that seems to be their only reason for denial. old lady in simpsonville sc.....

    Alex Britain, Richland, WA Date: 2010-08-04 15:00:33

    Review: We bought our 1000 sq ft home in April. We purchased a warranty with American Home Shield. The air conditioning failed in June and the nice fellow from Fuse came through and fixed it immeidately, within a few days... The air conditioner failed in the 3rd week of July and we are still without air conditioning. It has been in the high 90's and low 100's... My work has gone to working nights to avoid the heat, so I'm having to try and sleep during the day with no air con. The service guys came out from Fuse and they immediately diagnosed a failed compressor. They indicated that the company would probably want to cash out rather than pay to have the unit fixed. He suggested an upgrade to better, more efficient heat pump and air con. That was okay. I finally got a voicemail back from American Home Shield and they said we had some options to discuss. I called them and the "option" was to give me $900 and not fix the unit. They indicated that it was undersized for the house. I told them that a 1000 sq ft house is well-supported by a 2.5 ton unit. They said that they would give me to the Authorization Department and the direct number if the call fails. I stayed on hold for 20 minutes, 2 x's. I called the direct number and was on hold for 10 minutes and I gave up... It sounds like I may be experiencing the beginning of a similar experience of many of the other people that have written in. I need my air conditioning fixed now. I will return with updates to this situation. Thanks,

    Andrew C.Alonso Scottsdale AZ> Date: 2012-01-11 18:49:22

    Review: Refrigerator stopped cooling, called AHS. Told them it was an emergency.They sent a repairman out at 7 p.m.. The unit was repaired by 830 p.m.. THANKS AHS.

    Tom Fritsch, Houston, TX Date: 2011-10-07 19:18:06

    Review: I have had an AHS warranty for several years. With few exceptions their service is horrendous. Dealing with the people in their call center is a joke. They are rude, incompetent and some can barely speak intelligible English. Once I do get through to them & place a service request I have found the quality of the service reps to be mixed. Some are outright fraudulent. They have sent an air conditioning contractor (Barker's) & a pool contractor who took my deductible, did no work whatsoever & then lied to AHS to make the problem I had with my equipment uncoverable. In every case this has happened I have paid a real contractor to assess the diagnosis of the AHS contractor & in every case they have given me a written estimate which stated that the AHS contractors either did not know what they were doing or lied. I have filed reports with the Texas Department of Consumer Affairs & the Better Business Bureau to report these contractors. The only reason I keep AHS is from what I can tell all the other home warranty companies are as big or bigger crooks than AHS. What a sad state of affairs.

    Is American Home Shield Warranty Right For You? Date: 2010-07-29 14:41:10

    Review: [...] learn more about the pricing and plan details, visit American Home Shield review site which also offers home warranty plan comparison tools, price ranges and ratings for all [...]

    Scott Dale, Las Vegas,NV Date: 2011-09-04 00:15:24

    Review: American Home Shields Service keeps getting worse. I have used them for several years, but they have gone down hill over the last year. I just waited on hold over 30 minutes without being able to speak to someone about a recurring AC problem at one of my properties. My AC went out in July on both units, with one taking over a week and multiple calls to try to repair. I will not renew or order with them again.

    Dorene M Date: 2010-06-21 21:45:09

    Review: I woulf prefer to give it "0" stars if that were an option. I had AHS as part of my home purchase so I didn't pay for it the first yeaar. I did however have to make a couple of service calls. I had to get a new A/C coil inside, and had to pay for "Sheet metal fabrication". When they brought the coil (Triangle shaped thing-so for the non-techie talk) they took it out of a sheet-metal box of sorts. I asked if that is what the sheet metal fabrication was and he said yes, but that I DIDN'T NEED IT. They still had to charge me over $700 for it since it was quote "special ordered'!. Come winter time, by heater quit working. This happened to be what the A/C coil sat upon. 2 more service calls and they ended up replacing the heater, and this time I had to pay for the double-walled duct work to bring it up to code, OK no problem. BUT they decided that the box that holds the filter wouldn't fit. It was more a case of too lazy to fix. did I mention that my heater went out on New Years Eve, and it was very cold? By the time the new heater was getting installed a week had one by with various 'rigged' repairs. No doubt milking AHS money for those useless repairs. Anyway I had to call a few more times to get the heater guy to come back out and figure out a way for me to use a filter! He first cut a hole directly into the ductwork and slid the filter into the middle of it. When he showed me what he did, I lost it. He couldn't wrap his puny brain around the fact that putting the filter into the middle is useless since the air is still going around the sides of the filter- think putting your finger in front of a hair dryer yeah it's there but it doesn't block or 'filter' the flow on the sides!!! The Filter was 10 inches wide, but the ductwork is 20+ inches wide!! The unfiltered air just bypassed right into the blower of the heater! After I explained to the HVAC guy that he royally messed up the ductwork, and the filter was useless, he patched up the ductwork with tape (idiot) and then threw the filter in at the intake register in my living room. So now the filter actually does the job, but only at the register. Aftr the register, there is another 2 feet of paperboard ductwork inside the HVAC area before the air reaches the blower of the heater. All that ductwork is a type of insulated foamboard that is spongy and fuzzy. All these little fuzzies keep getting sucked off the walls of the ductwork and getting sucked into the heater becasue they removed the filter box attached to the heater! My house stays continually dusty with these little 'hairs' of insulation. I literally have to dust everyday. I now have numerous health problems and I'm beginning to wonder if it is from the insulation that is getting sucked into my HVAC system. I have contacted AHS numerous times but all I get is that it will be another service fee, and ductwork is not covered under my policy for repairs/changes. They were the ones that screwed it up, and they wouldn't send the same company back out to fix the problem they created 4 years ago! Since it has been over 4 years now, they won't even entertain the issue anymore. I can't afford an attorney, and I certainly can't afford to have all my ductwork re-worked to accomodate a filter box now. 3 years ago when I was still fighting over the HVAC problems, I did have my built-in microwave go out. I ended up having to get a replacement and the one they said they could replace it with was not of equal wattage at all. It was 200 watts weaker! I told them to just send me a check and I ended up spending another $130 over the check they wrote to get a comparable microwave. AND I still had to pay the $60 'fee' to get someone to install it for me.

    Jill Date: 2010-04-24 14:11:26

    Review: I had a horriable experience with this company. They are refusing to cover the cost of a new a/c which was working upon the tech coming to my house. One hour later he told me I needed a new unit. I will never use this warranty again nor will I tell anyone else to.

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2016-08-03 10:09:46

    Review: We want very much to review this matter and address your concern. However, we are unable to locate your Plan. Please send an email to [email protected] with your property address or Plan number so that we may locate your Plan and contact you. Thank you.

    Phil Barrick Date: 2010-10-13 08:47:29

    Review: We had an A/C failure on a hot & humid weekend in August. It was 99 degrees outside. We were told we would have to wait until Monday before a contractor would be notified. Then they had 24 hours to contact us and 48 hours to come out to our home to fix the problem. Our request for emergency service was turned down. It has to be 104 degrees with someone with health issues living in the home to qualify for emergency service. That left me with the choice of either getting a hotel to escape the heat or calling another contractor and paying out of my own pocket. I choose to call a contractor. He temporarily fixed the problem (a shorted wire) but indicated the entire control cable should be replaced between the outside A/C unit and the thermostat. When the AHS contractor showed up, he just spliced in a piece of wire instead of fixing the problem the right way. We got a "fix it quick and leave" type of contractor. Complaints to AHS went unresolved. I am highly disatisfied with AHS. Avoid this company at all costs.

    Dianne Zachary, Garland, Texas Date: 2011-05-04 09:36:47

    Review: I am retired with a limited income. The last two service calls I have made to AHS for a leaking faucet on the front of my house and today, for a leak in my kitchen sink and the toilet in one of my bathrooms were both declined...costing me $120 total to be told that! I also pay a monthly premium of almost $50/month in the event I need to call AHS to be told they will not cover anything about which I call them. The $720 they have cost me over the last year is a veritable fortune to me under the circumstances, and I urge anyone seeking a home warranty to shy away from AHS!

    Harry, Seattle, WA Date: 2012-01-08 14:59:59

    Review: We had a leak showing up in upstairs bathroom and contractor who came refused to open up the ceiling to even look at what was the problem. Instead he told us to do re-caulking and said that this was not included service in the plan. After re-caulking problem still persisted and when I called AHS for follow-up, they gave the service request to different contractor who was going to charge me another 60$ for the same problem. We had to finally get our own plumber work on this. worst customer service and shady contractors - you are better off without their plan - too much hassle and they will charge you adminstrative fee and whole sort of other charges when you cancel after 30 days - beware of this company and read their contract in full.

    Vickie Phillips, Mableton, GA Date: 2010-12-21 17:44:49

    Review: I have had AHS for 9 years and have paid over $4,500 in monthly fees. They take 7 - 10 days just to schedule someone to check out the problem then an additional week to order a part. My tennant wanted weeks for a simple microwave repair. If I had saved the $40 per month I had paid them I could have easily made the repairs they have made to my house and had money left over. I am canceling my contract TODAY!

    J Spencer Date: 2010-10-29 08:10:54

    Review: Bought a house in Austin, TX that came with an AHS warranty. 2 weeks after move in, the AC went out (end of June, in Texas = very hot). The did send someone out within (3) days. But it took them (17) days to confirm the part that was needed. Another (10) days to have the part delivered. Another (4) days to schedule the install. So, about (1) month to get the ac back on. All of this is part of their policy (I know this because it was repeated to me every single day). But wait, there's more. (3) weeks later, the a/c went out again. AHS sent a different company out because the original installer was booked for at least a week. This new installer found a very faulty installation done by the first installer. Exposed wires, crossed wires, debris and the compressor, which we were charged $250 to remove by installer #1, was pushed under the bushes on the side of the house. Called AHS to complain and was repeated quoted their policy. Basically, they are requiring the original installer to go back out and fix what is broken, again because they have a labor warranty with their installers. Talked to (6) different reps (equating to 6 more days of waiting), all told me the same thing - I am free to hire my own contractor but they would not cover it. Each day I called for a supervisor, but was told that it is not their policy to transfer calls to a supervisor. A supervisor has (48) hours to call you back (according to their policy). Well, (6) days later, a supervisor finally called and told me the same thing - they will send the same subcontractor back out or they will do nothing. (3) total months of no A/C in Texas becaus AHS has the most terrible customer service I have ever dealt with. I know my company would have no customers left if we dealt with them in the same way. Must be their cheap prices that draw people in. Spend a little extra and sign with a reputable company.

    Sanja Naquin Dallas Texas Date: 2011-09-01 00:06:44

    Review: Terrible service, an absolute mockery of a warranty service. They defraud first time home buyers, their business practice is outright thievery, they do not honor contracts, they are dangerously slow to repair vital and neccessary elements in our home, it takes over 20-30 minutes to speak an actual human! Stay away from them! These people are parasites that feed on fears delivered by real estate agents that are coerced into reccomending these despicable companies!!! Further investigations should brought forth by the appropiate local/state/fedreal authorities... These companies are criminally negligent (and in turn liable) in their business practices. I leave you with this thought... Caveat emptor!

    Tom, Columbia, MD Date: 2011-11-30 16:04:35

    Review: Sadly, every problem that happens in our home seems to NOT be covered under the warranty that was given to us when purchasing the home. I feel bad that the previous homeowners wasted their money on this contract. Be careful of what is covered before having a service tech come out to look at the problem cause it could be $60 out of your pocket with an answer of "that is not covered" which seems to be a theme with the company. I was advised of this by their rep with every problem I seemed to ask about. First was mold issues due to water leaks and of course NOT covered. Next our whole house humidifier is not working and of course NOT covered because the humidifier itself was not specifically stated on the contract. Plumbing is covered in the contract but it seems ONLY for the toilets, sinks and bathtubs. Our plumbing valve box for the washer and dryer, small line to the humidifier and other various places are NOT covered either. I was asked to read the contract more thoroughly when it came to plumbing. My advice to anyone is don't waste your money on a contract with these people. What you save can cover your own replacements over time!

    Jonathan, Saltillo, MS Date: 2011-04-21 08:29:36

    Review: Our air conditioner went out the week we bought our house. I called AHS and they sent someone out, he "re-charged" our unit with coolant/freon and that was that. Well, a week later as we were moving in we realized that it was not cooling again. I placed a second call into AHS, they had the same company come out on a friday and he took it apart and realized it was the compressor that was bad. I got a call on Tuesday saying that they would cover the compressor but we had to pay to dispose of the old one (roughly $75)because that part was not covered by the warranty... which I was definitely okay with. It's Thursday and it hasn't been fixed yet so I can't comment on the job he will do on that part, but to this point i have been satisfied with the customer service and timeliness of AHS. I will update after the part has been installed but they said Tuesday they were ordering the part and the HVAC company should be contacting us as soon as they get it. So far i'm happy with our home warranty.

    R Welde, San Antonio, TX Date: 2010-08-10 17:50:54

    Review: A/C has been broken since 13 July 2010. Still not fixed. Have called and called AHS (to include Customer Relations Supervisor-James Leslie, he won't return calls) with no resolution. It has been determined that the evaporator coil is bad, so they want to replace air handler. They wanted to charge me $525 on top of my warranty premium. After questioning the charges, I've gotten it down to $85.50 which is for the disposal. I wouldn't be paying that but if I want my A/C fixed, I have to agree to that. The biggest charge of the $525 was for the plenum. And, it specifically states that plenum is covered. This company is a SCAM AND RIRPOFF. Try another home warranty company.