ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: February 6, 2023

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN birmingham, alabama

Average Premium In alabama

Min Average Premium in alabama Max $ 280.84 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Birmingham
country icon COUNTRY: Jefferson County
state icon STATE: AL
population icon POPULATION: 493806
area code icon AREA CODE: 205
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 35201, 35202, 35203, 35204, 35205
feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in birmingham, alabama

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

Complete Care Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They cover 20 major home appliances and systems. Key features of their services include unlimited claims, no home inspection or maintenance records required, coverage regardless of model, age and make of home devices, etc.

Globe Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have been in the business for over ten years. Their warranty plans cover major appliances and systems at affordable prices. The company offers flexible service agreements and a 30-day money-back guarantee to ensure customer satisfaction.

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company offers a range of home warranty plans for homeowners and realtors. Also, with a strong network of top class technicians, customers are assured of timely repairs. All of First Premier Home Warranty plans are affordable and ensures customers with exceptional service.

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Over the last ten years, the company has protected more than 3.4 million homes in the United States. They are known for providing emergency repair solutions at affordable prices. They offer a one year guarantee on all covered repairs.

Check out the best home warranty companies in alabama

birmingham Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Bob and Judy Everett, Birmingham

On Aug 19, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our a/c went out. We called AHS on Monday 7/29/18. They sent out Myers Comfort Specialist to fix our unit the next day 7/30/18. Could not believe the speed to get somebody out. Joel Stone from Myers arrived on time at 12:00. Replaced the capacitor and checked the whole condenser for more problems. He found a leak and fixed it. He was fast, courteous, very professional, and we could not be any more pleased with the outcome. Thanks

Icon

Charlotte Cook, Birmingham

On Aug 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The last time I had a service call was in March for delivery of the stove. I am not sure this is for that visit. I may have already sent a review? If this is a delayed review please send it back explaining.

Icon

Bill Perrell, Birmingham

On Jul 26, 2018

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

June 2018: Frig not cooling, my wife\'s insulin has to stay cold, called TP, explained my concerns, agent declared medical emergency, plus, a repair man just happened to be in my area, was here in less than two hours, problem fixed. Thanks

Icon

Wanda, Birmingham

On Jul 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS has been very helpful to me. They act fast in getting the help you need. They keep in touch with your progress and makes sure you are getting the right help. Everyone is kind and very helpful. I\'m glad I found them. I\'m not sure how long I have used them but it has been several years. And I have had a lot of work done and things replaced without any problems. They have saved me a lot of money!

Icon

Theresa Ferguson , Birmingham

On Jul 15, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have AMC in Birmingham and in Shreveport. AMC is always great about working with me to get someone out to fix anything that needs to be worked on. The difference is, in Birmingham, the technician takes a lot longer to get in touch and to come out. The first company treated me as if I were a stupid person but the second knew the exact problem. The issue comes in where it takes an extremely long amount of tome for the part to come in and no-one, the service company or ACM keeps in touch to let you know what is going on. Then when the part comes in, you have to take the short notice appointment time in Oruro get your item fixed. No notice at all. People can’t just take time off at no notice. Then the next month, my monthly payment went up by $10.00, yet my contract had not renewed, I was still in the middle of the contract. I like AMC, I just don’t like the Length if time it takes to fix anything here in Birmingham. It doesn’t work that way in Shreveport. And the lack of communication is unacceptable. Communication is key in customer service.

Icon

Janice Thomas, Birmingham

On Apr 19, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have used AHS a few times this year. My last call was about faucets and toilets problems. Although I had to wait a few weeks prior to getting the work done, maybe it was not quite 2 weeks, the young man who did the work was courteous, professional, and very helpful with maintenance tips. When he discovered problems with both toilets, I was a bit apprehensive about it. He said my out of pocket bill would be around $700.00+, and I told him that AHS would cover it, he said that toilet problems, parts, etc for my problems were not covered. I told him that AHS covered this because I had read it in my contract. He looked very skeptical, went to his truck to call AHS, and when he got off the phone, my phone rang immediately with a call from a very nice lady from AHS who said all the problems were covered! The technician/plumber came back into the house and said: "I don't know what kind of contract you have, Ma'am, but you are covered, and I have never seen a home warranty like yours!" I just said: "Told you!" You AHS customers check your contracts, and please note that it is well worth adding everything you possibly can to your warranty. Yes, the premiums will increase, but the money I saved and will save in the future is well worth the extra premium costs that are nowhere near what I would had otherwise paid out of pocket for this one problem. I wouldn't be without AHS!!

Icon

Sandra Barnes, Birmingham

On Jan 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have used AHS to repair several items in my home over the past 5 or 6 years and have been pleased with the work performed by their contractors. I would recommend AHS to anyone needing a home warranty. It has saved me thousands!

Icon

Bill Taylor, Birmingham

On Dec 26, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The refusal of AHS to help expedite service on my malfunctioning heating unit during cold weather is unacceptable.

Icon

Phillip, Birmingham

On Dec 03, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Been using AHS and so far so good. They\'ve been helpful to lean on when we needed some things repaired around the house. The larger item (AC unit) still not been replaced. When it goes, we\'ll see how things play out. Been a customer since about 2006.

Icon

Jerry, Birmingham

On Oct 10, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Went online to schedule washer repair. It took almost a week to get a repairman. The washer required extensive repairs and AHS said they would replace it. They offered a white replacement (my washer and dryer are gray). It took another week to talk to a supervisor. They offered $672.00 towards another washer. It cost me $908.00 to replace with a comparable washer plus $75.00 service call (which wasn’t repaired)!

Icon

Richmond Hosey, Birmingham

On Sep 25, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When you limit A/C freon reimbursement to $10 per unit when the actual cost is $85-95 per unit and virtually all repairs involve freon then you effectively do not cover the majority of A/C repairs. Reseambles an old fashion shell game.

Icon

Sherri Nielson, Birmingham

On Aug 20, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My first year with American Home Shield, I was sold on their service. Since then, having to pay for the visit in advance now (previously, I paid the vendor at my home) and not being able to contest a charge has left me less favorable. I\'m glad I have the warranty. Some of their service companies (namely Sears) have long appointment lead times and I finally had to cancel their last service appointment because they were supposed to be here between 3pm-5pm and still hadn't arrived at 6:30pm and they still expected me to wait for them. I'll evaluate at the end of the year and see if this is still a worthwhile investment. I was able to get an electrician here on time and get them to do the work I had scheduled and pay them when they were finished sure felt a lot better than the service I've been receiving from AHS.

Icon

John Pfrimmer, Birmingham

On Jul 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have had many items including some A/C units repaired satisfactorily in 7 years with AHS. Recently two compressor failures and pinpoint leaks of freon in the kitchen refrigerator condenser coils took over six months to resolve. The first repair company gave up on it and a second opinion repair company found that the leaks were impossible to fix and the coils could not be replaced so we had to get a new refrigerator. The equivalent replacement refrigerator cost twice the maximum allowed. The only other problem is that the bookkeeping on service call payments made versus what is owed has been a headache, but I am told that AHS is no longer going to require paying the service fee to the repair company, so maybe that will clear up the problem.

Icon

Hari Munikar, Birmingham

On Oct 12, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We got our home warranty when we bought our primary house in Dec 2015 and when we called customer service on Oct 2016 about the water heater problem, the representative explained that water heater is in the exclusion list since the water heater was not working when they came to check it out at the time of when we bought the house. I told the representative that we fixed it when we moved into the house. The representative said she needs proof and needs paperwork (receipts). I asked the representative why we were not told that our water heater was in exclusion and if we fix it they need the paper work when we paid the premium. The representative said their business practice is not to tell until the home owner comes back with repair request. I think the business practice doesn't clearly set expectation of what is covered and not covered and what to expect as a home owner.

Icon

Robert Garrott, Birmingham

On Aug 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield provided great service when we had a pool pump quit. The servicing agency called the day of my calling American Home Shield and everything from that time on met our needs. American Home Shield Meets Member Needs

Icon

Bonnie Finch, Birmingham

On Jul 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had coverage for several years. When I had trouble with my air conditioning unit, the service I received was terrible. They wanted to do minor repairs, while a 2nd company I trust told me that wouldn't correct the problem. American Home Shield was very hard to get in touch with and wouldn't respond to my contacts or concerns. They finally gave me a couple of hundred dollars and I had another company do the installation of a new unit. I immediately dropped coverage. Very disappointed - would NOT recommend.

Icon

Douglas Roberge, Birmingham

On Jun 10, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had a prompt and excellent response to our request. The service technicians were very professional and competent. This represented a huge cost savings for us. That is why we renewed for the eighth time and plan to be a customer for quite some time.

Icon

Heather Parrish, Birmingham

On May 11, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I do not even know where to begin with how disappointed we have been with ORHW; we will not be recommending them to anyone and will be advising the realtor who closed our house to look into other options for home warranty providers. We moved in 09/2014 and immediately noticed a leak; we then had several service providers (8-10 of them) out to our home over the course of 18 months, who were all unable to locate a leak. We had an air conditioning provider tell us that we had a problem with our roof, so we spent $1000.00 on roof repair that in turn did not fix the leak. We ended up having to re-grout around the tub to fix the issue, which was not covered under our plan but should have been discovered/noted by one of the many plumbing service providers we had out to our home. We have had 3 holes (a 3 foot by 3 foot hole in our ceiling as well as two 1-foot by 1-foot holes in our bathroom walls) that I was told would be fixed multiple times by multiple "supervisors" (I said I would not be taking the $100 cash out option they originally offered me). Now, I have just gotten off the phone with Lola, a customer service agent, who has informed me that I would be taking a $200 cash pay out and they would be sending me a check (*$200 is not going to be close to covering the repairs needed at this point - not even the "rough patch" that she said I was entitled). I asked to speak with her supervisor and was told that I would "not be speaking with anyone else about the matter" and that this was a claim decision after her review of the details and notes from our plan and file. I asked for a copy of our file with notes and was told that these were internal and would not be provided. I again asked to speak with her supervisor and was told no; she them informed me that this conversation was not getting anywhere, told me she would send me the check, and hung up on me. We obviously no longer have an active plan, as we went with another service provider after more than a year of not having our problem resolved, and apparently this is part of the issue (that our plan is no longer active); I specifically asked and was told multiple times that these holes would be fixed and was given the name of the company who was authorized to do so. So, in the end, we are out $1000 roofing and the cost of re-grouting and left with 5 square feet of various holes to be patched, sanded, and painted with a whopping $200 check from a "customer service agent" who told us we wouldn't be speaking with anyone besides her and hung up on me to end the phone conversation. Goodness! Very very poor customer service all the way around. I will be contacting the BBB with regards to this issue, as I do not wish for others to have the same issues with this company.

Icon

Jillian Suihkonen, Birmingham

On Jan 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had a water heater problem. A contractor promptly came out and determined water heater had to be replaced. Subsequently, the new water heater started to give us problems by not keeping the pilot flame burning. After another call and the contractor coming back out, they took away the new replacement and brought us out an even better and higher capacity than even our original water heater and since then, things have been great. Our appreciation to AHS and their contractor.

Icon

Norman Mustafa, Birmingham

On Dec 06, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Triangle Plumbing called me well within the 24 hours allowed ... were able to schedule an appointment for the next day. Jake, the plumber, did a fantastic job. He was courteous and efficient. He also assessed the issue and made a recommendation for replacement should the refilling of the toilet continue.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020

from ,

requested a free quote