ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN decatur, alabama

city icon CITY: Decatur
country icon COUNTRY: Morgan County
state icon STATE: AL
population icon POPULATION: 64979
area code icon AREA CODE: 256
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 35601, 35602, 35603, 35609, 35699,
city icon CITY: Decatur
country icon COUNTRY: Morgan County
state icon STATE: AL
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 35601, 35602, 35603, 35609, 35699,
population icon POPULATION: 64979
area code icon AREA CODE: 256
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in decatur, alabama

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,352 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,749 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,643 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,301 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(681 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

decatur Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Jody Collinsworth, Decatur

On Apr 22, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Horrible interaction. I called the warranty line because my dishwasher racks were rusting through and the unit was just over a year old, but I had bought the extended warranty. I was on hold for 45 mins and then placed on hold again for 20 more. Once I got through they set up the repair person to come in and check my dishwasher. After the repair person went to the wrong house, they called me and said they would just order the racks instead of coming by to inspect. Got a call the next day from the repair man, that Lowes will not pair for the racks as they are considered cosmetic and are not needed for the function of the item...... Do I just lay my dishes in the tub and hope they come clean? How are the racks not needed?

Icon

Jason Tindal, Decatur

On Jul 29, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I was charged $100 for someone to come out and re-repair something they already repaired because I did not read the FINE print of the "longer than 60 days is not covered" clause.

Icon

Clayton C Schneider, Decatur

On Jul 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

The vendor that is used for the inside appliances (Sears) has been really slow, a long time, in getting to our house and then making the repair after the parts arrive.

Icon

Gerald, Decatur

On Jun 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I contacted AHS on 2 Jun 2018 and informed them that my hot water heater was leaking. They initiated my claim and informed me that I would receive a phone call scheduling service. On Monday AHS contacted me and informed me that a service technician would contact me to set up an appointment for Tuesday 5 June 18. I asked if I could get a service tech out sooner and was told no. The next day a service technician (Drain Go) showed up and informed me that he would need to call in the diagnosis to AHS and would let me know if the water heater was covered. Five minutes later he informed me that I would need to pay $600-$700 above what the warranty covers as a result of State Codes. I asked what State codes he was referring to and he stated that I had to replace a gas line and expansion tank. I informed him that my son was a Master Plumber and looked at the water heater and stated there was no code violations. I purchased my home in Apr 2008 (new home) and there was no work done on my water heater ever. If there was a code violation, they would not have been able to sell me the home. He advised that he would call AHS. I stated that I would call AHS and speak with them. After being placed on hold for 45 minutes, the service tech departed. When I made contact with an AHS rep, I was informed that they had to wait until the service tech called in the diagnosis before they could determine any cost above what the warranty would cover. I advised AHS of what the service tech had informed me and they stated they never received a diagnosis from the technician and I should wait until they receive the diagnosis. AHS called me back later the same day and informed me that I would need to pay $650.00 above what the warranty covered. I asked why and they informed me that it was result of code violations. I informed them that my son was a Master Plumber and he informed me that there were no code violations associated with my water heater. AHS stated they needed to go with what the technician informed them. I asked why would I need a home warranty if the cost to replace the water heater exceeded the cost of the water heater ($600)? What is the purpose of having a warranty? I asked if AHS could cover the cost of the water heater and I get the unit installed myself. The AHS rep stated they would have to get back with me. I called the next day (Wednesday) and the rep informed me that they were considering denying my claim as a result of code violations and I again stated that I had no code violations. I asked the rep if they were aware of my issue (hot water heater) and the rep advised that they were aware and stated that at least I have running water. I thought to myself that they intend for me to heat water on the stove to be able to wash. The rep stated rather rudely that they have 48 hours to respond. As of today (Friday) my issue has not been resolved and my wife was advised today that the cost out department was running behind. Tomorrow will be one week without a hot water heater and my issue has not been resolved. AHS does not care about your issue. I have been paying into AHS since 2009 and this is the service I get. I work in the government and have had several people approach me about AHS flyers they have received in the mail. My initial response would have been to throw away the flyer, however, I will wait until my issue is resolved or not and give them the full experience. The website states "We cover the repair or replacement of components and parts of water heaters, including tankless water heaters and circulating pumps that malfunction due to certain causes, such as, normal wear and tear. Not covered: Auxiliary holding or storage tanks Noise Fuel storage tanks and energy conservation units Besides the specific terms listed here, coverage may be limited by general exclusions and limitations in your home warranty contract. For more coverage information, please read the sample contract, including but not limited to, the "Coverage Overview" and "Limitations and Exclusions" sections. AHS canned response is "I certainly hate to hear that you have received less than satisfactory service. A social media specialist will follow up with you as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience." Totally dissatisfied to date. I am considering contacting the FTC.

Icon

Susan Rulmyr, Decatur

On Mar 17, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our last experience with AHS involved a leak that was coming from a pipe in a wall adjacent to our Bathroom. The pipe was quickly prepared and then we had to contact our insurance to handle the rest of the damage and assess the situation, AHS saved us again!

Icon

Stephen Jones, Decatur

On Oct 13, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I love AHS and recommened to every home owner to carry AHS. My last service call was for being without heat and AHS had the contracter come and they was the nicest well mannered company and I ended up getting a new furance.

Icon

Jon Elliott, Decatur

On Sep 22, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

My latest problem was a malfunction of our clothes washer. The repairman from Appliance Install Repair Service (AIRS) came on the same day we made a repair request. He immediately diagnosed the problem, had the repair part on his truck, and made the repair, all on the same day we experienced the problem.

Icon

Barbara Thrasher, Decatur

On Feb 04, 2014

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

I have a central a/c and heating unit. The last few days we have had trouble with the thermostat. I called OR yesterday a.m. and spoke with Crystal. She was very friendly and concerned with my problem. Last night we spoke with the assigned repair man. He arrived mid-morning today and in less than one hour he had removed the old thermostat and replaced it with a new one. This is my 4th problem I have experienced since purchasing the property and I have been totally satisfied with all four occasions.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020