ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN gilbert, arizona

city icon CITY: Gilbert
country icon COUNTRY: Maricopa County
state icon STATE: AZ
population icon POPULATION: 211167
area code icon AREA CODE: 480
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 85233, 85234, 85295, 85296, 85297,
city icon CITY: Gilbert
country icon COUNTRY: Maricopa County
state icon STATE: AZ
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 85233, 85234, 85295, 85296, 85297,
population icon POPULATION: 211167
area code icon AREA CODE: 480
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in gilbert, arizona

First American Home Warranty

3 / 5
(1,923 Reviews )

They have more than 35 years of experience in the industry. They offer several benefits to their customers, including flexible payment options, 30 days money-back guarantee, unlimited service calls, etc.

OneGuard Home Warranties

4 / 5
(374 Reviews )

Founded in 1990, OneGuard is known for its faster response time. Their warranty plans offer a wide range of coverage with fewer limitations. They offer several benefits to their customers, including a 30-day service recall period, coverage without a waiting period, etc.

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

4.5 / 5
(818 Reviews )

APHW has been in the industry since 1999. The company is known for providing roof coverage and accepting invoices for repairs from technicians they couldn't dispatch. APHW offers several benefits to its customers, such as allowing the customers to get their preferred technicians, among others.

Home Warranty of America

3 / 5
(2,190 Reviews )

The company has been protecting homeowners since 1996. Their policy comes into effect immediately and lasts for 13 months. They are committed to customer satisfaction and therefore offer 30 days recall period on labor and 90 days on parts.

Editors choice

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

2 / 5
(2,270 Reviews )

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

gilbert Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Chaitanya Bathina, Gilbert

On Dec 29, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I just cancelled their membership after 3 years with AHS, my last two calls one in sep 2018 n dec 2018 took 3 hrs on average to get to an agent. Then scheduling took more than a week. I am done with their service department. If you ever want to reach out to service the phone numbers on their website are bogus, they just don’t answer.. call sales instead. Sales line is obviously prompt. They can transfer to service... obviously 1 hr wait on that line too. My review is don’t got with AHS for sure

Icon

Jeffrey Wagner, Gilbert

On Nov 25, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Terrible response time over the phone. I called once and was on hold for at least 45 minutes and finally gave up. Called back, was on hold for at least 30 minutes until someone finally answered then was told nobody could make it out for 3 days.....BUT I HAVE NO WATER!!! Was put on hold for another 5 minutes so she could check other companies and came back and said that's the best they could do. I asked for a manager to help me get my water back on and was put on endless hold........I finally hung up after another 40 minutes. Terrible, just awful service over the phone. I'm a realtor and you want me to pitch your product with that type of service?

Icon

Michelle Zhou, gilbert

On Aug 08, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is a TERRIBLE home warranty company!!! They hire the worst service contractors probably so they can cut their costs by paying the service contractor cheap rates. The service contractors they hire do not respond to phone calls, do not respond to voicemails. Their technicians are unprofessional and unhelpful. Any simple service (ex. fixing malfunctioning faucets) took over A WEEK! Serveral phone calls to AHS and they are unsympathetic and unwilling to help. They basically told me that my service request was assigned to this non-responsive contractor so I'm stuck with them until they reach out to me. The only thing I can do is to wait. After this terrible experience, I tried to cancel my contract with AHS because when I originally signed up with them I chose the month to month payment option. Since I'm only 6 months into this with them and had such bad experience with them, I do not want to stuck with them for another 6 months. They were not helpful at all and told me I have to pay them so much in Admin fees to cancel my contract. So now I am being hijacked by this incapable, unhelpful, unprofessional warranty company who hires only the worst service contractor in the fields so they can pay cheap fees for another 6 months. To say that I'm disappointed and upset is an understatement. So please research this company thoroughly, DO NOT get fooled by the positive reveiws on their own website and on the consumerreports.com website. Those are such scams!!! This company cares nothing but their own bottom line and is very unwilling to look out for its customers as long as they collected their premiums and service fees. So save yourself some headache, go with another home warranty company or just save the money to hire your own service provider but no matter what you do DO NOT EVER get signed on with Amercian Home Shield. They CAN NOT delivery what they promise. All you are getting is frustrations, unsatisfactory service and feelling of being unheard and ignored. PS. during the entire process dealing with them (dozen phone calls), one customer service rep did try her best to help and was sympathatic enough to make me actually feel heard. That's why I gave it a 2 star in customer service. The other areas are absolutely terrible. If there is a negatvie star, I would have chose that for Service Timeliness. It took their service provider A WEEK to fix my 3 standard Delta faucets and according to AHS, that is all pretty standard timing.

Icon

Cecilianne Brueckman, Gilbert

On Aug 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called AMHS Sunday night and someone was suppose to call me back at 10:00pm because they have a 4 hour window to assign your case. They customer service person stated I was in the "emergency" area because temperatures get over 110 degrees. Well they still hadn\'t assigned my AC case to a company. I had to call them Monday morning to find out who they assigned the company to, I never got an email from this regarding this. I tried several times calling the company "Consolidated Mechanical" and no answer, left several voice mails. The Consolidated company finally called me back and they stated they can't come out until Tuesday, and this was suppose to be an emergency, NOT. I went and called another company and they told me to find a vendor on "Yelp" that had good reviews. So this is what I did, the AC doctor and they came out the same day and started getting my air working. I am starting to wonder what good is having AMHS if they are going to referred not reputable companies. So I had a $400 bill which would of only been $125 if AMHS worked the way they were suppose to. Who is going to reimburse me the money that I should of spent.

Icon

sandra copeland, Gilbert

On Jul 23, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS for at least 6 years , probably longer. There has only been two companies they contracted that did terrible work. I let them know and they sent out a more competent contractor so we have been very happy with their service

Icon

Sarah A, Gilbert

On Mar 23, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My pool only has ONE way to program it, and that’s a handheld remote. The $600 remote is not working since we bought the house, but guess what? Warranty doesn’t cover it!!!! So I have no way to program my pool. What a crock of sh$&!!!!!! Will tell everyone to NOT get this warranty company, as logic doesn’t exist.

Icon

Todd Clauson, Gilbert

On Mar 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Stacy with AHS called asking for me to explain my review so I will do so. Publicly. I have 2 houses that are warrantied with AHS currently. I have spent over a hour on hold with their "retention department" trying to cancel these policies. I doubt I will get any one to answer before I have to go home from work. So let me give you an idea who they contract. 2 companies were called out to my 2 separate houses. CNJ Services (AZ) was called for a water leak in my shower that was leaking through the ceiling below. CNJ came into my house and said to my tenant, it is leaking behind the shower panel and through the tile and grout. It needs to be completely replaced. Google CNJ services you see the F rating on the BBB and the 40 some negative reviews on google saying very much the exact same thing. these guys through out a bunch of BS fees to milk the customer from their money. After my tenant said that they said it would be around $2500 to replace the shower and the warranty won't cover it, I stepped in. I went to the house expecting to find a hole in the ceiling where they opened it up to diagnose the leak... No hole. I opened up the ceiling, turned on the water and saw it leaking down the drain. after 10 minutes of searching I found lots of people saying that the brand of shower I have has a wedge lock seal that leaks. its a 35$ repair. I called CNJ back out and meet them this time. I made the tech diagnose the issue with the water off. You see there was calcium from where the drips of water had dried on the outside of the pipe. But of course when I turned on the water it began leaking from the seal that was bad. He ordered and installed the new $35 part. Of course they got it right the second time, because I told them how to do their job... and saved the $2400. So then in the same week. The company assigns APC Athena Plumbing Co. LLC to fix my water heater at my second rental. I knew the water heater was shot the second I saw what it was doing. Expected the plumber to say, it needs a new heater. I meet the kid that diagnoses it. He hands me a paper with $454 worth of "modifications" to my plumbing that is needed. After I challenged the need for the modifications this guy was claiming, he said, "we just don't make enough money" for the installation. At least he was an honest crook. I have since been paid out with a pitiful offer of $477. A reputable company did the install for $865. Don't waste your money with AHS.

Icon

Maryann Bowersox, Gilbert

On Mar 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

First and foremost, I want to commend JJs Fire and Ice for taking care of our heat pump problem. After 2 other companies assessed our problem, JJs Fire and Ice was able to order the part and complete the repair and we are truly grateful. Please note that the part was still under our personal warranty, so no charge to you. Because of the first 2 companies failure to help, we were without heat from before Christmas until January 22, 2018. Fortunately and very grateful, we live in AZ. In addition, I want to communicate that we have been a customer of American Home Shield for many years now, and aside from this situation that I will describe below, we have been very happy with the service. There is a concern I would like to voice. In July, we had our heat pump serviced through American Home Shield. We were informed that we needed X amounts of Freon (cannot remember that exact amount, but we do have a receipt of this costing us over $300). At this time, the service person did not notify us of any leaks in our heat pump. In the meantime, with all the visits to currently fix our heat pump, I have heard at least 2x that Freon should never be needed unless you have a leak. With my own research, I obtained this same information. My concern is that I was not notified of the leak back in July. Now, I have had to pay an additional $640 to replace the Freon needed when the new part was replaced. I am requesting reimbursement for the first $300+ that I spent to replace Freon to a leaking heat pump that no one at that time bothered to tell me I had a more involved problem. They placed a band aid on a problem that progressively got worse and resulted in a larger cost for repair and Freon. Luckily, the heat pump was still under warranty and the part was ordered at no cost. My hope is that you are not retaining this company's service any more. Please advise. You can reach me at 480-728-8302 (work) or 480-220-3134 (cell). Please note that I emailed this concern about 2 weeks ago without a response. Also, attempted to contact via phone. Thanks so much, Maryann Bowersox

Icon

Dave, Gilbert

On Sep 08, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Every time I had to contact AHS, which was 5-6 times, I was on hold for at least an hour. Then they double booked a repair company to come out, and tried charging me twice. It\'s really frustrating when I have to waste hours on the phone to tell them they messed up and charged me twice. I was told a service company would be out within 48 hours, it ended up being 8 days. The customer service agents on the phone were nice, but didn't really seem like they knew what they were doing based on the multiple redundant calls I had to make. I don't have a lot of experience with warranty companies, but I won't be coming back to this one when it expires.

Icon

Paul, Gilbert

On Sep 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Service company had to make multiple trips because the part needed to be ordered. They got it right a few days later and I am very happy with the result.

Icon

Michele Breeze, Gilbert

On Apr 15, 2017

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

Received as a part of a home sale, we added their "star service", which included a rekey of our new home, as well as a few other services. We paid extra for this service ($50) and in the contract, it doesn\'t say anything about a separate deductible/service fee. In fact a lot of their contract language is confusing and unclear. We took advantage of the re-key but only after a payment issue at closing was resolved so we were in our home for a full month+ before we could file a claim. Then, it took the contractor a bit of time to get to us. Contractor did a really crappy job rekeying the home and when we called (we did wait to report the issue so that is our fault), we were told they only guarantee contractor work for 30 days. The problem is that when I called to report the problem, the rep said they would send the original company out and there would not be a charge since the work was bad (you could use ANY key - and just the tip of it at that, to unlock our front door!). I confirmed several times there would not be a service fee as we had already paid $50 to purchase the "star" service and $65 service fee, so we already paid $115 for the first rekey (Also note..... regular price without using warranty on this service if we would have just called a locksmith ourselves is around $100 - so Old Republic didn't really pay out a dime on this). When the contractor came out, not only did they charge the $65 service fee, they added another fee on top of that for a part so we had to pay $95 to fix the first problem due to bad workmanship. All in all, with service fees, parts and the charge for the "star" service, it cost us $210 to rekey our house through Old Republic. They rep said on multiple occasions that there would not be a charge to have the original work corrected, and that promise cost me almost $100. Then trying to get it resolved has been a nightmare. Service reps are rude and talk over you, not letting you explain the problem. First rep that took the claim was friendly but obviously oblivious to their 30 day contractor work guarantee apparently since she promised me there wouldn't be a charge. I asked for a supervisor, took several days for him to get back to me and he is only available until 3 each day in a different time zone, they won't respond via email or mail, only by phone and based on voicemail they aren't planning on resolving or they would have done it already. I give up! In addition, we had a sprinkler contractor come out, took them about 2 weeks to replace the unit with no communication from anyone. Coverage is not as great as they make it sound, no ice maker coverage; we had a hose bib leak over a weekend and no coverage there because the pipe was outside the home. Watch the fine print and watch the charges, there is an upcharge on everything. They specialize in the real estate market (realtors) likely because they know there is only a small chance there will be a problem as most homes are inspected prior to sale and repaired. Price jumps up after first year, probably because they don't want to take their chances on a claim being filed. They have made absolutely no attempts to save a customer or make things right. I had American Home Shield before, no run around and everything was always great. That is who I am headed back to! Realtors, do your clients a favor and avoid this company at all costs, it isn't worth the hassle.

Icon

Erik M, Gilbert

On Jan 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

So, giving 5 stars to a home warranty company may seem like a stretch, but I think it\'s warranted (no pun intended) if you know what to expect. Home warranty business by definition should be hard to deal with because they have to pay out every time you need a repair that exceeds your copay. I\'ve had AHS for about 1.5 years and had to make two claims. The first one occurred about a year ago when our water heater broke. Yes, it was inconvenient because they had to go through the process and pick their contractor (usually people with terrible reputation because they specialize in home warranty business) and wait a few days without hot water (fortunately we live in Arizona, so it was tolerable). The contractor said it was unfixable (something cracked internally) and had to be replaced, but they couldn't do it (I don't remember the reason). So AHS allowed me (upon my request) to get my own contractor who was willing to work with a home warranty company. They paid him about $1,800 for a complete replacement - excellent work. It did involve multiple phone calls and some pain, but it got done costing me only $100 co-pay. Most recently we had to fix our dishwasher. Again, yes, we had to wait three days for the contractor to come, but they came, fixed the thing and it's working great. What else can you expect for $40 home warranty per month? No complaints here at all.

Icon

Ed Vazquez, Gilbert

On Jun 06, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My most recent experience with American Home Shield was a very good one. The entire experience from placing the service request online to the contractor service was stress free, quick and without any issues. The contractor contacted me within about 12 hours of my placing the request online and showed up when promised. My issue was taken care of quickly by a very professional technician and I am completely satisfied with the service.

Icon

John Trippel, Gilbert

On Apr 22, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have always had very good experience with AHS, whenever I needed service., I have been with AHS for 4 1/2 years and I would recommend to my family and friends. We have saved a lot of money on repairs.

Icon

Melida Langsam, Gilbert

On Jan 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our 20 year old HVAC unit was serviced by one of your contractors recently. They were courteous and notified me when they were on their way. I like that! They explained everything they replaced and very detailed about what to watch out for if we had any more problems. Just don't know why your company doesn't use contractors in the Athens area. This contractor was quite a ways away from us but provided great service.

Icon

Chris F, Gilbert

On Oct 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Just frustrated with slow service and no one even acting like they care. I'll try to keep this short: I live in Phoenix, AZ. Last week, the AC unit started acting weird and not running correctly. By Thursday, I knew something was wrong as the one side of the house was not cooling. I called AHS to have a technician come check it out (like what we all pay a warranty company to do). AC company showed up Thursday morning and diagnosed a bad compressor and called it in to AHS. I called that afternoon to CHECK on the situation. AHS stated the order was approved and part was released locally. So I called the AC repair company and scheduled the install for first thing Monday morning. And here I sit, hot! AC company called this morning and said they weren't gonna make it today because they didn't have the part and had contacted AHS and it had got approved again. WT hell? So I have been on the phone with them twice this morning, for about 20 minutes each call, wasting my day off with these 'guys'... I finally asked for a manager to speak to as I understand the operators are just doing their job. They said one would call me back. Unbelievable. But, I'm living it.... I didnt rate the repair service, because from what I have been told, they are doing their jobs and have been cool. A week to get a compressor in an AC unit in Phoenix Arizona?!?!?! Come on. ridiculous!

Icon

Marcus McNulty, Gilbert

On Sep 04, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

3 months same HVAC issue. The 2nd company they sent out charges $75 per pound for freeon which is about $35 more than he should. AHS says either use him or pay for it your self and we will reimburse part of the money. Either way Im out $1500 cash and the warranty itself is 690 for the year. Not a wise choice. When I asked for a manager I was told they are all on lunch. Nice touch Kara5434805. So Kara tells me I will be called by a manager on Tuesday and today is Friday.Five days for a call back. I requested the corporate number and Kara says she doesnt know it. Now I am reading the contract I signed and trying to resolve this on my own. I hired another HVAC company to come out and look at the unit. He charges $40 per pound for freeon. While all this is going on my electric bill soared. Oh and the first 2 companies AHS sent out left me and my family with 90 plus degree air.

Icon

Merle Silverman, Gilbert

On Aug 24, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had multiple calls for two problems - a leaking garbage disposer and stopped up commode. The garbage disposer was examined by the technician and he ordered a new one, delivered the next day. He installed it in a new way, I would never have thought of. That gave me the option of putting in a hand soap dispenser. The second call was for a clogged up commode. The same technician came out and made the repair very quickly. I was impressed about how well the problems were fixed, the fantastic timeliness of arrival very soon after placing the requests using the AHS online service, and the neat workmanship. The technician was neatly dressed, checked that all was working well and cleaned up everything before leaving. Very well appreciated!!

Icon

Tom Dicken, Gilbert

On Jul 03, 2015

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

This company should go out of business, they send the cheapest contractors they can find, normally they problem comes back again in a short period of time. then they refuse to fix it because they offer a 30 day tail light warranty. stay away from this company, terrible.

Icon

Stephanie Peek, Gilbert

On Jun 25, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I do not recommend this company at all, if I could give zero stars, that would be too many. My tenant reported an issue with the ice maker on the refrigerator. AHS assigned a company who called the tenant to schedule an appointment. My tenants works (novel concept, I know) and is only available after 2:30pm each day for an appointment. The company assigned by AHS won't make any appointments after 2pm. Called AHS to request assignment to another contractor but was told they will not reassign due to scheduling. So my tenant has to take off from work to accommodate AHS contractor schedule, this is ridiculous. Had another issue with the A/C unit, was on hold for over 40 minutes to speak with someone regarding a service request because online system would not allow me to schedule, this was on a Saturday with temps over 110 in AZ. Service company did not call to schedule anything until Monday evening and said first available appointment was not until Wednesday, ridiculous, had to have another company come out at my expense as I cannot have my tenants without functioning A/C in the AZ heat!! As of now, I have been on hold for 50 minutes trying to cancel my policy, apparently there is a long line of people trying to do the same!!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020