ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN gilbert, arizona

city icon CITY: Gilbert
country icon COUNTRY: Maricopa County
state icon STATE: AZ
population icon POPULATION: 211167
area code icon AREA CODE: 480
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 85233, 85234, 85295, 85296, 85297,
city icon CITY: Gilbert
country icon COUNTRY: Maricopa County
state icon STATE: AZ
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 85233, 85234, 85295, 85296, 85297,
population icon POPULATION: 211167
area code icon AREA CODE: 480
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in gilbert, arizona

Complete Appliance Protection

3.5 / 5
(180 Reviews )
The company has been protecting homes since 1998. They offer a wide range of warranty plans that cover all major appliances and systems. Their policy comes into effect immediately.

American Residential Warranty

4.5 / 5
(489 Reviews )
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.
Best Regional

Landmark Home Warranty

3 / 5
(1,331 Reviews )
Founded in 2004, they are known for providing high-quality services and quick turnaround time. The standout feature of Landmark Home Warranty is they provide rekey services to new homeowners. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following its purchase.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

1.5 / 5
(223 Reviews )
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

1.5 / 5
(138 Reviews )
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

gilbert Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Sarah A, Gilbert

On Mar 23, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My pool only has ONE way to program it, and that’s a handheld remote. The $600 remote is not working since we bought the house, but guess what? Warranty doesn’t cover it!!!! So I have no way to program my pool. What a crock of sh$&!!!!!! Will tell everyone to NOT get this warranty company, as logic doesn’t exist.

Icon

Todd Clauson, Gilbert

On Mar 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Stacy with AHS called asking for me to explain my review so I will do so. Publicly. I have 2 houses that are warrantied with AHS currently. I have spent over a hour on hold with their "retention department" trying to cancel these policies. I doubt I will get any one to answer before I have to go home from work. So let me give you an idea who they contract. 2 companies were called out to my 2 separate houses. CNJ Services (AZ) was called for a water leak in my shower that was leaking through the ceiling below. CNJ came into my house and said to my tenant, it is leaking behind the shower panel and through the tile and grout. It needs to be completely replaced. Google CNJ services you see the F rating on the BBB and the 40 some negative reviews on google saying very much the exact same thing. these guys through out a bunch of BS fees to milk the customer from their money. After my tenant said that they said it would be around $2500 to replace the shower and the warranty won't cover it, I stepped in. I went to the house expecting to find a hole in the ceiling where they opened it up to diagnose the leak... No hole. I opened up the ceiling, turned on the water and saw it leaking down the drain. after 10 minutes of searching I found lots of people saying that the brand of shower I have has a wedge lock seal that leaks. its a 35$ repair. I called CNJ back out and meet them this time. I made the tech diagnose the issue with the water off. You see there was calcium from where the drips of water had dried on the outside of the pipe. But of course when I turned on the water it began leaking from the seal that was bad. He ordered and installed the new $35 part. Of course they got it right the second time, because I told them how to do their job... and saved the $2400. So then in the same week. The company assigns APC Athena Plumbing Co. LLC to fix my water heater at my second rental. I knew the water heater was shot the second I saw what it was doing. Expected the plumber to say, it needs a new heater. I meet the kid that diagnoses it. He hands me a paper with $454 worth of "modifications" to my plumbing that is needed. After I challenged the need for the modifications this guy was claiming, he said, "we just don't make enough money" for the installation. At least he was an honest crook. I have since been paid out with a pitiful offer of $477. A reputable company did the install for $865. Don't waste your money with AHS.

Icon

Maryann Bowersox, Gilbert

On Mar 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

First and foremost, I want to commend JJs Fire and Ice for taking care of our heat pump problem. After 2 other companies assessed our problem, JJs Fire and Ice was able to order the part and complete the repair and we are truly grateful. Please note that the part was still under our personal warranty, so no charge to you. Because of the first 2 companies failure to help, we were without heat from before Christmas until January 22, 2018. Fortunately and very grateful, we live in AZ. In addition, I want to communicate that we have been a customer of American Home Shield for many years now, and aside from this situation that I will describe below, we have been very happy with the service. There is a concern I would like to voice. In July, we had our heat pump serviced through American Home Shield. We were informed that we needed X amounts of Freon (cannot remember that exact amount, but we do have a receipt of this costing us over $300). At this time, the service person did not notify us of any leaks in our heat pump. In the meantime, with all the visits to currently fix our heat pump, I have heard at least 2x that Freon should never be needed unless you have a leak. With my own research, I obtained this same information. My concern is that I was not notified of the leak back in July. Now, I have had to pay an additional $640 to replace the Freon needed when the new part was replaced. I am requesting reimbursement for the first $300+ that I spent to replace Freon to a leaking heat pump that no one at that time bothered to tell me I had a more involved problem. They placed a band aid on a problem that progressively got worse and resulted in a larger cost for repair and Freon. Luckily, the heat pump was still under warranty and the part was ordered at no cost. My hope is that you are not retaining this company's service any more. Please advise. You can reach me at 480-728-8302 (work) or 480-220-3134 (cell). Please note that I emailed this concern about 2 weeks ago without a response. Also, attempted to contact via phone. Thanks so much, Maryann Bowersox

Icon

Dave, Gilbert

On Sep 08, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Every time I had to contact AHS, which was 5-6 times, I was on hold for at least an hour. Then they double booked a repair company to come out, and tried charging me twice. It\'s really frustrating when I have to waste hours on the phone to tell them they messed up and charged me twice. I was told a service company would be out within 48 hours, it ended up being 8 days. The customer service agents on the phone were nice, but didn't really seem like they knew what they were doing based on the multiple redundant calls I had to make. I don't have a lot of experience with warranty companies, but I won't be coming back to this one when it expires.

Icon

Paul, Gilbert

On Sep 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Service company had to make multiple trips because the part needed to be ordered. They got it right a few days later and I am very happy with the result.

Icon

Michele Breeze, Gilbert

On Apr 15, 2017

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

Received as a part of a home sale, we added their "star service", which included a rekey of our new home, as well as a few other services. We paid extra for this service ($50) and in the contract, it doesn\'t say anything about a separate deductible/service fee. In fact a lot of their contract language is confusing and unclear. We took advantage of the re-key but only after a payment issue at closing was resolved so we were in our home for a full month+ before we could file a claim. Then, it took the contractor a bit of time to get to us. Contractor did a really crappy job rekeying the home and when we called (we did wait to report the issue so that is our fault), we were told they only guarantee contractor work for 30 days. The problem is that when I called to report the problem, the rep said they would send the original company out and there would not be a charge since the work was bad (you could use ANY key - and just the tip of it at that, to unlock our front door!). I confirmed several times there would not be a service fee as we had already paid $50 to purchase the "star" service and $65 service fee, so we already paid $115 for the first rekey (Also note..... regular price without using warranty on this service if we would have just called a locksmith ourselves is around $100 - so Old Republic didn't really pay out a dime on this). When the contractor came out, not only did they charge the $65 service fee, they added another fee on top of that for a part so we had to pay $95 to fix the first problem due to bad workmanship. All in all, with service fees, parts and the charge for the "star" service, it cost us $210 to rekey our house through Old Republic. They rep said on multiple occasions that there would not be a charge to have the original work corrected, and that promise cost me almost $100. Then trying to get it resolved has been a nightmare. Service reps are rude and talk over you, not letting you explain the problem. First rep that took the claim was friendly but obviously oblivious to their 30 day contractor work guarantee apparently since she promised me there wouldn't be a charge. I asked for a supervisor, took several days for him to get back to me and he is only available until 3 each day in a different time zone, they won't respond via email or mail, only by phone and based on voicemail they aren't planning on resolving or they would have done it already. I give up! In addition, we had a sprinkler contractor come out, took them about 2 weeks to replace the unit with no communication from anyone. Coverage is not as great as they make it sound, no ice maker coverage; we had a hose bib leak over a weekend and no coverage there because the pipe was outside the home. Watch the fine print and watch the charges, there is an upcharge on everything. They specialize in the real estate market (realtors) likely because they know there is only a small chance there will be a problem as most homes are inspected prior to sale and repaired. Price jumps up after first year, probably because they don't want to take their chances on a claim being filed. They have made absolutely no attempts to save a customer or make things right. I had American Home Shield before, no run around and everything was always great. That is who I am headed back to! Realtors, do your clients a favor and avoid this company at all costs, it isn't worth the hassle.

Icon

Erik M, Gilbert

On Jan 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

So, giving 5 stars to a home warranty company may seem like a stretch, but I think it\'s warranted (no pun intended) if you know what to expect. Home warranty business by definition should be hard to deal with because they have to pay out every time you need a repair that exceeds your copay. I\'ve had AHS for about 1.5 years and had to make two claims. The first one occurred about a year ago when our water heater broke. Yes, it was inconvenient because they had to go through the process and pick their contractor (usually people with terrible reputation because they specialize in home warranty business) and wait a few days without hot water (fortunately we live in Arizona, so it was tolerable). The contractor said it was unfixable (something cracked internally) and had to be replaced, but they couldn't do it (I don't remember the reason). So AHS allowed me (upon my request) to get my own contractor who was willing to work with a home warranty company. They paid him about $1,800 for a complete replacement - excellent work. It did involve multiple phone calls and some pain, but it got done costing me only $100 co-pay. Most recently we had to fix our dishwasher. Again, yes, we had to wait three days for the contractor to come, but they came, fixed the thing and it's working great. What else can you expect for $40 home warranty per month? No complaints here at all.

Icon

Ed Vazquez, Gilbert

On Jun 06, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My most recent experience with American Home Shield was a very good one. The entire experience from placing the service request online to the contractor service was stress free, quick and without any issues. The contractor contacted me within about 12 hours of my placing the request online and showed up when promised. My issue was taken care of quickly by a very professional technician and I am completely satisfied with the service.

Icon

John Trippel, Gilbert

On Apr 22, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have always had very good experience with AHS, whenever I needed service., I have been with AHS for 4 1/2 years and I would recommend to my family and friends. We have saved a lot of money on repairs.

Icon

Melida Langsam, Gilbert

On Jan 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our 20 year old HVAC unit was serviced by one of your contractors recently. They were courteous and notified me when they were on their way. I like that! They explained everything they replaced and very detailed about what to watch out for if we had any more problems. Just don't know why your company doesn't use contractors in the Athens area. This contractor was quite a ways away from us but provided great service.

Icon

Chris F, Gilbert

On Oct 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Just frustrated with slow service and no one even acting like they care. I'll try to keep this short: I live in Phoenix, AZ. Last week, the AC unit started acting weird and not running correctly. By Thursday, I knew something was wrong as the one side of the house was not cooling. I called AHS to have a technician come check it out (like what we all pay a warranty company to do). AC company showed up Thursday morning and diagnosed a bad compressor and called it in to AHS. I called that afternoon to CHECK on the situation. AHS stated the order was approved and part was released locally. So I called the AC repair company and scheduled the install for first thing Monday morning. And here I sit, hot! AC company called this morning and said they weren't gonna make it today because they didn't have the part and had contacted AHS and it had got approved again. WT hell? So I have been on the phone with them twice this morning, for about 20 minutes each call, wasting my day off with these 'guys'... I finally asked for a manager to speak to as I understand the operators are just doing their job. They said one would call me back. Unbelievable. But, I'm living it.... I didnt rate the repair service, because from what I have been told, they are doing their jobs and have been cool. A week to get a compressor in an AC unit in Phoenix Arizona?!?!?! Come on. ridiculous!

Icon

Marcus McNulty, Gilbert

On Sep 04, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

3 months same HVAC issue. The 2nd company they sent out charges $75 per pound for freeon which is about $35 more than he should. AHS says either use him or pay for it your self and we will reimburse part of the money. Either way Im out $1500 cash and the warranty itself is 690 for the year. Not a wise choice. When I asked for a manager I was told they are all on lunch. Nice touch Kara5434805. So Kara tells me I will be called by a manager on Tuesday and today is Friday.Five days for a call back. I requested the corporate number and Kara says she doesnt know it. Now I am reading the contract I signed and trying to resolve this on my own. I hired another HVAC company to come out and look at the unit. He charges $40 per pound for freeon. While all this is going on my electric bill soared. Oh and the first 2 companies AHS sent out left me and my family with 90 plus degree air.

Icon

Merle Silverman, Gilbert

On Aug 24, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had multiple calls for two problems - a leaking garbage disposer and stopped up commode. The garbage disposer was examined by the technician and he ordered a new one, delivered the next day. He installed it in a new way, I would never have thought of. That gave me the option of putting in a hand soap dispenser. The second call was for a clogged up commode. The same technician came out and made the repair very quickly. I was impressed about how well the problems were fixed, the fantastic timeliness of arrival very soon after placing the requests using the AHS online service, and the neat workmanship. The technician was neatly dressed, checked that all was working well and cleaned up everything before leaving. Very well appreciated!!

Icon

Tom Dicken, Gilbert

On Jul 03, 2015

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

This company should go out of business, they send the cheapest contractors they can find, normally they problem comes back again in a short period of time. then they refuse to fix it because they offer a 30 day tail light warranty. stay away from this company, terrible.

Icon

Stephanie Peek, Gilbert

On Jun 25, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I do not recommend this company at all, if I could give zero stars, that would be too many. My tenant reported an issue with the ice maker on the refrigerator. AHS assigned a company who called the tenant to schedule an appointment. My tenants works (novel concept, I know) and is only available after 2:30pm each day for an appointment. The company assigned by AHS won't make any appointments after 2pm. Called AHS to request assignment to another contractor but was told they will not reassign due to scheduling. So my tenant has to take off from work to accommodate AHS contractor schedule, this is ridiculous. Had another issue with the A/C unit, was on hold for over 40 minutes to speak with someone regarding a service request because online system would not allow me to schedule, this was on a Saturday with temps over 110 in AZ. Service company did not call to schedule anything until Monday evening and said first available appointment was not until Wednesday, ridiculous, had to have another company come out at my expense as I cannot have my tenants without functioning A/C in the AZ heat!! As of now, I have been on hold for 50 minutes trying to cancel my policy, apparently there is a long line of people trying to do the same!!

Icon

Michael Drayton, Gilbert

On Jun 13, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our experience with the American Home Shield team was great. The customer service personnel were courteous and efficient. The contractor was thorough, quick, and clean. Our washing machine was repaired the same day which meant we didn't have to spend one day in the laundry mat. That's a 10 for us since we hate going to the laundry mat. Thanks - keep up the good work.

Icon

Mark Morosoff, Gilbert

On Jan 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had to call in a re-do (second call) for one of our two heat pumps. The contracted company that came to fix it the second time did well. Both companies had stayed in touch, and we appreciated very much the outstanding service that we received from your service operator. She was just absolutely fantastic. The only thing that bothered my wife about the first contractor is that he wedged a rock in the seam of the heat pump where a screw would go to keep it from rattling, and to level the top that secures the fan assembly. He made a note of the model number and manufacturer of the heat pump, I thought for the purpose of either sending us a replacement screw to replace the rock, or that he was going to do so himself. Again, that was the first service tech. When the ticket moved to the second tech/contracted company, that wasn't followed up on, so we still have a small rock wedged in there instead of a proper screw.

Icon

M. E. VanWoert, Gilbert

On Dec 11, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have never dealt with a worse company or worse technicians in my life. I purchased a home warranty with American Home Shield because I had used them about 10 years ago and the service was superb, and the service companies they used were excellent. I don’t know what happened but this company has gone way downhill, and the service companies they use are ones that I would recommend you avoid. The AHS service is poor, every customer service rep you talk to gives a different answer to the same question, and the service companies they use are no better. Even the technician who showed up tonight was shaking his head listening to the AHS rep on my speaker phone repeat back what the tech had supposedly just told authorization, and the tech sat there shaking his head telling the AHS customer rep that he did not tell the AHS authorization dept that, but the customer service rep refused to transfer the service technician to AHS authorization dept. Did I mention that every time anyone, including the service tech, calls AHS it’s at least a 20 minute wait on the phone? I had to have a washer repaired last month and it took the service company 3 weeks to get my machine back to me and they brought it back broken. I had to call again to get the company to come back and fix it again, and when the service tech came he was there for a few minutes before saying that he didn’t have time to wait to hear the loud grinding noise or see it smoke. (this is the service I get from a company that kept it 3 weeks the first time and couldn’t get it repaired right). So he left and I called him back twice so he could hear it on the phone (and he said he couldn’t hear it) and finally I recorded it and called him back a 3rd time before he would come back to repair the machine (apparently a belt that was too tight). Wednesday my 5 year old water heater died and today I spent easily 4 hours on the phone trying to get the issue of whether or not the installation of the water heater was covered, with the final answer about 3pm from both AHS and the plumbing company being ‘yes’ it was. The service technician got here and the first words out of his mouth are ‘you know the installation isn’t covered’. Needless to say I called back to cancel the contract.

Icon

Marc Taylor, Gilbert

On Sep 16, 2014

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

Horrible service, they go out of their way to deny claims. The techs they send out are bottom of the barrel and when you do have an issue with one of their contractors, ORHP won't help. We used it 4 times in 9 months and filed a BBB and ROC complaint on 2, kicked one off our property, and the other did a pretty good job. We have just cancelled because its been a horrible experience. Stay far away!

Icon

Ann Smith, Gilbert

On Aug 14, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a great experience with American home shield. I called the claim number and submitted my claim . I was contacted by the repair within a day. Not he repairman showed up on time and was able to fix the garage door opener quickly. There were. I hidden fees I just paid the copayment and it was finished. The opener works perfectly.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020