ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  California
last_updated_icon Last updated: July 17, 2020

Home Warranties in California

Here is an exclusive list of top home warranty companies in California to help homeowners select an ideal home warranty plan. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled this list by collecting numerous reviews and ratings from the existing customers. The consumer reviews, combined with in-depth research by the editorial team, will help you pick out a plan that perfectly fits your needs.

Expensive systems or appliances breaking down can stir up quite a bit of hassle. A home warranty plan can save you a great deal of time and money by swiftly swinging into action, and all it takes is just a phone call to register your complaint.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVINGS BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

A Glimpse At Average Premium In california

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Companies In California

American Home Shield (AHS)
4.5
/ 5
Based on 13,305 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,626 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 4,299 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
First American Home Warranty
3.3
/ 5
Based on 1,922 Reviews
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Home Warranty of America
3.2
/ 5
Based on 2,189 Reviews
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your home appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time, which when your appliances are exposed to, gradually renders them non-functional.You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your home appliances and systems, usually when they are kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The home service Club has two plans based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

If you are searching for the best home warranty coverage, then here by getting a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a home warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a home warranty to protect them.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair services. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the bigger systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy warranty plans from companies that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on those devices that you either don't own or on the ones that require very little maintenance.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home warranty plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems.

california Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. Our website lists reviews on home warranty companies and their services in California. They provide insightful information. Reviews about home warranty companies and their services help you make the right decision.

Icon

Lisa Amerio, Covina

On Jul 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Excellent Service Home Warranty. No cares & no worries if something breaks. AHS is reliable. We have had them for over 30 years. We don\'t use them every year but just knowing that they are available to repair stuff when it breaks it\'s well worth.

Icon

Dee, Fresno

On Jul 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I requested repair for my stove and received an immediate response from American Home Shield. The repairman came to my house the next business day. He had to order the part so I’m not finished yet. So far, everything has been great.

Icon

hazel, Murrieta

On Jul 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It was a good experience the guys knew what they were doing and fixed the problem very promptly. They were very professional. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for the same service.

Icon

David Sanderson, Sun City

On Jul 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS dispatched MISTER FREEZE HVAC to service my air conditioning system. They quickly diagnosed the problem (weak starting capacitor) and determined the coolant level needed some replenishment. Very quickly I had 47-degree F coming from the remote air flow outlets. Service team was courteous and professional.

Icon

Bill O, Winchester

On Jul 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had an issue with out A/C unit. I placed the request with AHS and we had a technician at our house later that day. Our system was frozen and he couldn\'t do the repair at that moment but was back the very next day and did repair the unit. So far, working well! No complaints with timeliness, quality of service and billing.

Icon

Carole Cooper, Salinas

On Jul 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our 17 year old double door Kenmore refrigerator went out suddenly. This was my very first call to AHS and is the best investment I\'ve made since the passing of my husband. After paying my co-pay I was immediately contacted and given a schedule day/time. The Service Tech that came out had 15 years experience and I felt very confident he knew what he was doing. Thank God it was only a bad relay! He also said our refrigerator would give us many more years of use and that I didn't need to buy a new one. I was very, very impressed with AHS service and coverage.

Icon

Cassius Pierce, Fairfield

On Jul 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'m very happy to have American Home Shield warranty which provide outstanding customer service and pricing. I get quality service when my appliances break and the service is completed in a timely manner.

Icon

Paula Lee, Eureka

On Jul 12, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I placed my need for a visit on the web site. Website said that contractor would contact with in 24 business hours. I had a call within the hour and a same day visit!!!! DANG! Didn\'t expect such prompt service. Contractor (Plumbing as my water heater took a dump for the 2nd time in 3 years) came in identified the problem and had it fixed within a hour. Holy Fantastic service!

Icon

Sina Ouattara , Vallejo

On Jul 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I ve had such a hard time Each call tacks an average of 1.5 before anyone says hello Often they come on the phone and say no response and hang up! When I\'m telling them it\'s a recall they tell me there\'s no service been done at my home at all?? Earlier this week I called to get fridges recalled still not working well freezing fridge Foods\'s. I'm on the phone two hours the rep claims to complete my request. I wait 3 days call sears Ofcourse there's no request made so I call again today to set an appointment over and hour on the phone! The appliance replacement line is a nightmare!! Just did my washer I was on phone 4.44 Dryer same Cooktop 9 hours!!!!!! Unbelievable bad service!!! With range there will be 2 companies one to drop off one to install and take away and because they can't dispose of the unit it's my responsibility?!! Wow ? Really feed up here with longer then life wait times only to get no service repeatedly.

Icon

Alan Markow, Lincoln

On Jun 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We\'ve been delighted with our decision to purchase American Home Shield coverage for our home. Every required repair has been handled professionally and efficiently by an AHS contractor. Replacement items have been of the quality we would have selected ourselves. Best of all, the AHS service representatives respond with a sense of urgency to our needs. They take our issues as if they are their own personal problems and go out of their way to make everything right. In a time of lowering levels of service, AHS provides old-fashioned quality.

Icon

William Sims, Galt

On Jun 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS stepped up and fulfilled their promise. I have a brand new refrigerator because mine old one couldn’t be repaired. I thought it could and wasn’t looking for a new one. But the instant that it was determined that it could not be repaired, AHS contacted me and offered me a replacement with options. No hassles, no delay. I almost missed a sale, so I called and asked if they could expedite the process, not sure what happened but Home Depot issued the gift card for my replacement the next day.

Icon

Maria T Kelley, Cypress

On Jun 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am always very satisfied with the service calls. Service is always prompt. The problem is always resolved. I would recommend American Home Shield to any homeowner. I should have started it a long time ago.

Icon

Nicole Harvey, Oakley

On Jun 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our AC went out, during a week that got over 100° almost daily. I requested service on line, and it was simple, user friendly and easy, we had a contractor contact us with an appointment, within 20 minutes, for the following day. She was on time, well knowledgeable, helpful and very pleasant. And our AC seems to work, better than ever! Getting this type of service, is very rare these days, and it was much appreciated!

Icon

James Buecker, San Diego

On Jun 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

excellent customer service , putting in the water heater. and finished in good time and made sure that it was working properly and explained what to look for on the digital light of what the colors might happen and call the plumber if there is a problem.

Icon

Jim Zhao, Los Altos

On Jun 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I like AHS for its easy to use web portal, everything can be done online, and I got email/txt notification for job assignment, scheduling, etc. However there is NO diagnosis report online, so I don\'t know what malfunction it is and what repair was done, calling customer service is another hassle, wait time is often more than 40 minutes.

Icon

anthony may, San Diego

On Jun 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

my dishwasher quit pumping out the rince water they sent someone out surprisingly quick even though were out of the main stream they informed me that it couldn\'t be repaired and offered a replacement. that i couldn\'t find at lowes or home depot that would be better i took tell the last minute to agree to there offer but once i did they put it together . and there operators were working from home during this pandemic they were great and fun to work with i have talked to other friends who have dealt with other companies and have not been happy.but not one who's been happy with ahs o one big help they find the quality repair people.and that's so fantastic.

Icon

Patricia Johnstone, Grover Beach

On Jun 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Prompt service! Late one night, while running the washing machine, water came up through the laundry room floor drain and master shower drain! I contacted American Home Shield on Friday and a plumber was here by Monday, at 8:15am. He was very professional, and clearly explained everything in detail. The issue was solved within an hour’s time! Extremely happy with American Home Shield’s service!

Icon

Patrick Callahan, Murrieta

On Jun 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My whole house fan was not working properly. AHS referred me to Jaeger Electric. Was not happy with Jaeger Electric. The technician spent less than 5 minutes looking at my house fan and stated I needed a new motor and that he would have to get it approved by AHS. Technician told me to call him in 3 days for the status. I called Jaeger Electric after 3 days and left message and received no call back. Tried calling again for a few days and again did not receive call back. Called AHS explained my problem. AHS informed me that Jaegar Electric closed my work order and stated that my whole house fan was working properly which was not true. AHS referred me to another electrician, City First Electric. They came down the following day and fixed the problem. It was not the motor that needed to be replaced it was the capacitor. I would not recommend Jaeger Electric. Dishonest company and their customer service very poor. Highly recommend City First Electric.

Icon

Bill, San Bernardino

On Jun 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This was the second time we used the home warranty the First time it was the AC it went down needed Freon did not know at first it cost Extra so we payed it but it took almost 3 Weeks to fix . The second time It has been over a week with out a refrigerator Waiting for parts to be ordered may take another week. Thanks.

Icon

Patricia Delatorre , Simi Valley

On Jun 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our Air Conditioner stopped working. AHS made it quick and easy to repair! I am so happy! The tech was so professional and they kept in contact with me during the whole process. It couldn’t have been any easier. Thank you so much!

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in California

Reviews and feedback provided by actual home warranty customers help you get deeper insights and make the right choice. If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company, write your review and help other homeowners in choosing the best company.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020