ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   California
last_updated_icon Last updated: January 19, 2021

HOME WARRANTIES IN CALIFORNIA

California is one of the best places to live in terms of real estate value, but over 23% of homeowners spend about 35% of their monthly income on home maintenance. Homeowners can reduce this fraction of the budget with a home warranty plan that covers expensive unexpected repairs. A home protection plan can also save a great deal of time by swiftly swinging into action.

Here is an exclusive list of the best home warranty companies in California to assist homeowners in selecting an ideal home warranty plan. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled this list by collecting numerous reviews and ratings from the existing customers. The consumer reviews, combined with in-depth research by the editorial team, will help you pick out a plan that perfectly fits your needs and budget.

SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN CALIFORNIA

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 13,863 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
mapicon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,908 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
mapicon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$95

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 4,347 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE & FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
3.5
/ 5
Based on 1,928 Reviews
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
2
/ 5
Based on 2,459 Reviews
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
Editors choice
mapicon

They have a proven track record of paying 97.5% claims.

PRICING

$399-$549

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In california

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 319.96 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty coverage plan that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The Home Service Club has two plan options based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

Are you searching for the best home warranty plan? Then get a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a residential warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a comprehensive plan to protect them from unexpected costs.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair service contractors. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the major home systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy plans from home warranty providers that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on devices that would hardly be damaged within the covered tenure.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home buyer’s plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems. A combination plan offered by most top companies can provide the right coverage at budget pricing.

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your household appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time. When your appliances are exposed to this moisture, it accelerates the rate of normal wear and tear.

You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your major appliances and systems, usually when kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

FAQs About California Home Warranties

Which is the best home warranty company in California?

Several top-rated home warranty companies serve in California and identifying any one company as the absolute best depends mainly on customer preferences. Reviews on our site indicate that Select Home Warranty, Choice Home Warranty, AHS, and Total Home Protection are top appliance plan picks in California. Check out the list above for details.

How is a home warranty different from homeowners insurance?

A homeowner's insurance protects homeowners from the liability of accidents at home or committed by the homeowner, the effects of disasters, thefts, etc. A home warranty is a service contract to offset repair costs of mechanically worn out home systems and appliances or their replacement cost. Home insurance won't cover repairs, while a home warranty will not cover damage due to natural disasters. They are complementary policies and not replaceable.

How much do home warranty plans cost?

The home warranty plan costs vary as per coverage requirements, add-ons desired and region. In California, plans can cost from $300-800, while deductibles may range from $60-125. Many companies have flexible payment plans allowing you to choose the premium and deductible. They save you the thousands of dollars repairs otherwise involve.

What are the home warranty regulations in California?

Home warranty companies in California are self-regulated via the National Home Service Contract Association and government-regulated through the California Department of Insurance. The home warranty providers have to register and meet all the statutory and procedural requirements to operate in California. As per the law, a home warranty contract is a service agreement and not a form of insurance.

California Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of customer service that these companies provide. Our website lists reviews about home warranty companies and their warranty services in California which help you in making the right decision.

If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company and their service technicians, write your review and help other homeowners in choosing the best company.

Icon

Matthew H, Los Angeles

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very happily surprised at how exactly AHS has worked for me. I cautiously signed up hoping I wasn\'t going to have buyer\'s remorse after putting in for a repair. Had a dryer issue , made an appointment, the tech came, ordered a part, came back and fixed it. No surprises. I recommend signing up.

Icon

Harry Fujita, Pittsburg

On Jan 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

One of the worst. Renewed my contract and was not given the $50 discount for paying in full. Called on 1/10/21 and was told the error would be corrected. Washing machine began leaking on 1/20/21 and I went on line for a service request. Was unable to get the service request as my account still reflected $50 due. Called billing and was again told that the error would be corrected. I asked when I could request service and was told it would be 2-5 working days before my account was updated. Geez...my washer is leaking today. In 2019 requested service for a water heater. At the time, my daughter's family was moving and living with us until they could move into their new home; 8 people living here. It took 19 days to get the water heater repaired. Eight people without hot water for 19 days...REALLY? Hoped that was an anomaly, but apparently not.

Icon

Tina Flores , San Jose

On Jan 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our experience with AHS has been a huge disaster and nightmare. There customer service, contractors, the time for contractor to call to schedule, quality of repairs, amount of time for AHS to approve repair, and for resolution are not professional, not knowledge, not timely, not customer friendly and provide false information. We are very unhappy with them and will be canceling our policy with them. We have been with them for years and every year they are getting worse. We finally had it. They caused us unnecessary stress and headaches. On December 29, we called for a service request for our water heater and kitchen faucet. Both are leaking. Honest Plumber was scheduled on January 2 with appointment time 2-4 pm. We got a call from contractors at 10:45 am saying needs to come now. I told him my husband isnt home right now and he wants to be here when he comes. He insisted he comes now or he will not be able to make it. I had my husband come home because of the contractors demand. The contractors came inside to just take pictures and not prepare to work. He only wanted to see the water heater and was rude. We had to insist for him to look at the faucet. He walked outide and my husband ask asked him whats going on? He said he has to make a call and he had to get to his next appointment. My husband told him to make his call and to come back in to let us l know whats going on. We were waiting for him but found out he left. I called the contractor and left a message. I called AHS to complain about the contractors and find out whats going on. I spoke to 4 customer service reps. When asked for a new contractor and to have this contractor added to our do not send list because of the issues we just had, they all said we had to go with this contractor. We asked to speak to a manager they all said the manager is not available. Two of them pretend we got disconnected or they hung up but we can tell they were still on the phone. They didnt want to hang up because they didnt want us to do the survey at the end of the call to rate them. So we tried to wait them out but really need to get our repairs done. This is when we called for the third time which this rep said we would have to pay another $75 for a second opinion. We said we are not asking for a second opinion, we dont even know the first opinion, we are requesting for another contractor. I told them I dont feel comfortable with this contractor and is the one who will be home for the repairs, not my husband. I told them I will not let anybody in my house if I dont feel comfortable and especially when I have my children home. AHS rep didnt care and said we need to go with this contractor and they cant have another contractor come out if one has already been out to our house. I told the rep to have a manger call us because it has been done before when one of their contractors started cussing at my husband. They said a manager is not available. The 4th rep basically said the same thing. My husband told them what will it take for a new contractor to come out here and fix our items? The rep said you have to agree to a 2nd opinion and pay $75 if diagnosed the same. My husband said if that what it takes to get someone out here but he is not really agreeing to a 2nd opinion only for a new contractor. They assigned a new contractor and said the will call us in 48 hours. We told the rep we still want a manager to call us. They said a manager will call us back in a hour. The total amount of time on the phone with AHS reps were over 4 hours and manager never called us. We called again a couple of days later requesting to talk to a manager. Now I did a little research. AHS replace my water heater in September 2015 with a new water heater which I was told it was new by ASH at that time. It was supposed to have a 6 year warranty. I found out that my water heater is a 2004 by calling a plumber trying to get a quote see if this something I can pay for myself which I cant. So now I asked to talk to someone who has authority. The rep said I need to tell them so they can escalate it. They said someone will call me back. On January 5, I didnt here from the 2nd contractor, so I called them and scheduled an appointment on Jan 7. On the Jan 7, the contractor couldnt come out and asked me to take pictures and send them to him. He said he can still diagnose the items. He said some times they do zoom meetings due to covid. He said our water heater and faucet need to be replaced and he will let AHS know. He said AHS will has to approve and send him the water heater. He said he will get the water heater on Jan 11 or 12th and can install on the Jan 14. He said he will call us back with a time. On Jan 13th when we didnt hear back from him or AHS. We called ASH again 5 time. My husband called 4 times. The first two reps told us the job went back the first contractor and couldnt do anything to help us. Then they acted like we got disconnected but they didnt hang up until 5-10 minutes after. As soon as they hung up the survey came on the phone which we took. We call back again and the rep was able to get us a supervisor on the line. As the supervisor **** was telling us what he can do we got disconnected. My husband called for the 4th time. At the same time I researched another number to call AHS and called them. They told us they will call us and a manager will call us back. As today no one has called us back.

Icon

Jane Sueshe, Redding

On Jan 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Without a functional dishwasher for 3 weeks now. AHS contractor came out once before and sort of repaired it. Now it does not work at all and it has been a week since second contractor came out and no updates. The only way I can figure to talk to someone is via internet CHAT or Phone call. No email. However the electrical contractor they sent me was AWESOME. I am shopping around for another program. Oh, and the Phone assistance is outside of USA. RATINGS only for Dishwasher repair service.

Icon

Herb Williams, Valencia

On Jan 12, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The refrigerator is running perfect, Just want my rebate for the water filters (4) that I purchased with the appliance. THE BAD NEWS IS WHEN YOU CALL THE 888-775-6937 NUMBER, YOU NOW HAVE A WAIT OF OVER 45 MINUTES TO SPEAK TO THEIR REP.

Icon

Andrew Mccarville, Redding

On Jan 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Since we are still waiting for results my review is not very good, going on two weeks and still don’t have an operating heater. I guess AHS doesn’t trust it’s own contractors. So far I give no stars. I’ve gotten zero satisfaction.

Icon

Tom Bell, San Diego

On Jan 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

On November 21, 2020 I requested service, on a refrigerator, at one of my rental properties. The first contractor (Antech) assigned could not answer the call, for roughly 2 weeks, so I asked AHS, through their Filipino call center, for a better response time, so my tenant might have a working refrigerator for Thanksgiving. AHS sent Sears Service to my rental, on 11/24/20 and found a bad thermostat. While the technician said he could have the part in 3-5 days, he had no service appointments available until 12/16/20. On December 3rd my tenant received a package which was labeled as a Thermostat, but was actually an Oven Face Plate. Having heard nothing from AHS or Sears, I called the AHS, Filipino call center again, on 12/15/20 to request that Sears pick up the correct part and send a technician to install it. The AHS representative arranged a conference call with a Sears Supervisor, who had no idea that a wrong part had arrived, or if a service call was made to the property as scheduled to install the wrong part. No one had called my tenant. The Sears supervisor, agreed to re-order the Thermostat, to be delivered to my tenant within 1-3 days, and set up a call for 12/18/20. As of 1/20/20, no part had arrived, and no one showed up on 12/18/10. I finally asked the AHS Call Center for an AHS phone number for the USA. I called that number on 12/20/20 and spoke with an AHS representative in Memphis. He agreed to allow me to pick up the needed $14.95 Thermostat myself, and deliver to the rental property. He also set up a technician with another service company, who installed the Thermostat on 12/21/20, and the refrigerator was returned to service, A MONTH AFTER THE FIRST SERVICE REQUEST. So, after all of that, I had to pay not only the AHS Service fee, but $14.95 plus tax, and my time for the part, but also paid my tenant $100, to help cover some of their food loss. TERRIBLE SERVICE AND FOLLOWUP FROM AHS AND SEARS! AHS HAS NOT FOLLOWED UP TO REPAY ME FOR THE PART OR APOLOGIZE FOR THE 1 MONTH DELAY.

Icon

Frank Romero, Modesto

On Jan 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Buyers BEWARE this company is a joke. I\'ve been trying to resolve and issue from back in July 2020. The plumber this company sent out cut their snake and left it in our main plumbing line. We asked for help with American Home Shield to have the contactor they sent out to have them remove their snake. Our water lines is backed up which we knew would happen. A second plumber came out and let AHS know that due to the 1st plumber leaving their snake in our main line that it has caused more damage to our home and that he could not even help us clean out the line until the snake is removed. The plumber went on to say that USA plumbing should've removed their line. I've been calling since July 2020 to get this issue resolved. I can't seem to get anyone to help. All our lines are now backed up we can't use our toilet, shower and kitchen, This horrible especially with the pandemic. It's not like we can run to the corner store and use their bathroom facilities. It's pretty bad when I've had to be on the phone calling to speak to the escalation or resolution department and get the run around. I've made over 6 calls this week alone. Wasted 4-5 hours of my time. No one seems to care.

Icon

Juliet Evans, Rialto

On Dec 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was going to give an excellent rating and then I discovered the toilet is leaking. So I am going to request the technician return and figure out why it is now leaking.

Icon

David Murphy, San Pablo

On Dec 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is very helpful; **** helped me with my latest service request, and I couldnt be happier. Great service in general, and weve saved a ton on fixes so far using AHS. Otherwise we would have had to pay for an electrician to do a bunch of work, wouldve had to pay a locksmith, and now were waiting on a plumber. I just wish I wouldve used AHS for my TV mount!

Icon

Pamela, Sacramento

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I appreciate the promptness with how my service was rendered. The first service dispatched was not equipped to provide the service I needed but I called AHS back and I was immediately given a new service dispatch.

Icon

Pamela , Montebello

On Dec 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The latch on my Bosch dishwasher stopped working and so we called for it to be repaired. The response was almost immediate. A technician arrived the next day. He ordered the part which, due to Covid issues. took 2 weeks to arrive, but when it did, I was called right away and the tech returned the next day and fixed it. I am very happy with the service and the very professional technician who repaired my dishwasher.

Icon

Sandy, Los Angeles

On Dec 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I find the quality of service depends mostly on the subcontractor who comes out. Some of them are wonderful and fulfill their duties quickly and well. Other contractors do not even touch the items that need repair. They view it from many feet away and then lie and say something that makes no sense at all to not do the job. No one at AHS is there to appeal to and evidently no one reviews the rejections as some of them are so ridiculous they have nothing at all to do with the order of what needs to be fixed. I have spent hours a day for weeks on end on the phone regarding some of my orders. One is almost two months already and I have asked repeatedly to have a contractor come out but so far no one has been sent. Many have promised to call me back but so far no one has done so. When things work correctly about 50% of the time, things are great. Otherwise things are dismal with no one to speak to.

Icon

Rande Downer, Santa Maria

On Dec 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our experiences have been very good to excellent. Occasionally, the contractor assigned to the workorder has not notified us within the 24-48 hour window. The workmanship has always corrected the issue and no call-backs have been necessary.

Icon

Ken Durbin, Bakersfield

On Dec 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AC Overhead Garage Door Co. made an appointment from 1pm to 5pm to fix my garage door. I gave them until 6pm and they did not show. They called a little after 6pm and said they were still 30 min. from getting here. I told them to cancel. I will find someone who actually stands behind their word. I will not and can not recommend people or companies that don't do what they say they will do. By the way American Home Shield did NOT cover the repairs. It was coming out of my pocket.

Icon

Anderson Clendeninn, Rancho Cucamonga

On Dec 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been waiting 3 weeks for an update on my claim for a broken water heater. I have called 4 or 5 times and been given a different answer to when I will hear back on the cash out option for this (which is an option guaranteed to me by my service contract). I have not had hot water for 3 weeks and this is unacceptable. Every time I speak with a representative they tell me I have to wait 48 more business hours and "someone will call me" - no one ever does. Then I call back and get told I will have to wait 7-14 more days!!! This process is EXTREMELY frustrating.

Icon

manuwella allen, Hayward

On Dec 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had an exceptional experience with AHS. The only thing that was not so great was waiting for the part to come in for my heater/furnace. Once the part came in my furnace was fixed very quickly.

Icon

Judith G. Beatty, Los Gatos

On Dec 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I took them up on an offer to maintain my hvac. It was cheap. It went well. ***** was very polite and thorough. He came masked, brought his own ladder, was generally competent.

Icon

MK, Redding

On Dec 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not waste your money!! This company is as crooked as they come. I was a customer for approximately a year and a half before my air conditioner quit. The first company sent for repair could not figure out the issue. The second repair service was outstanding. The tech figured out the issue and forwarded his report to AHS. Due to the fact the manufacturer of my a/c unit had been out of business for quite some time, no parts were available for repair. The tech submitted a bid to AHS for replacement of my unit. AHS denied the replacement and offered me $1,500 as a cash out. Their reasoning for denial was that my system was of a type listed under the limitations section of the contract. Absolutely not the case! The so called customer service reps are ignoramuses. Trying to communicate intelligently with them is impossible. I think part of the reason is that English is not their first language and the second is that AHS trains them to talk in circles in order to screw over the customer. If you should be so foolish as to sign on with these crooks, take a close look at you contract. It states that you may not sue them and if you’d like to take them to small claims court, you must obtain their permission by requesting it in writing. If you have a dispute with them, you must handle it through arbitration. If you choose arbitration, it costs $200 to open a claim. Wow, they’ve got you by the short and curly’s no matter what. Don’t do it, these warranties are useless and a waste of money. Especially this crooked POS company!

Icon

Nancy F, Sacramento

On Dec 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Save your money! I have a slow drain in my utility sink that affects the kitchen sink as well and when I do a full load of laundry, the sink overflows and swamps my garage. I submitted a service request to American Home Shield (AHS) and got a plumber referral quickly (November 2, 2020). However, this plumber had only the basic tools/skills and could not resolve my problem. He told me I needed someone with a jetter and that AHS would probably send another guy like him before sending me someone with a jetter. He was right! They have now sent THREE plumbing services, none of whom have a jetter and I have wasted many hours of MY TIME, both on the phone trying to get this resolved or waiting for a plumber who does not have the right equipment to show up and tell me they can't fix it but will recommend that AHS send someone with a jetter! If I could give customer service ZERO STARS I would. When you call to talk to someone, they can't seem to resolve the problem either. After several fruitless calls where I was told they would look into it and call me back and never did, I finally asked to speak to a supervisor. This was about the fourth day of my calling and I still got the runaround where they told me how they are trained to handle all problems (blah blah blah) and then finally that "supervisors do not take calls." They read from a script and make you very frustrated, but nothing seems to get done. The last time I called and wasted yet more of my time (I've called about 5 times now), the agent said I was approved and that they would send someone with a jetter. This did not happen. The guy today said he would also say I needed a jetter, but if they sent someone from another company, they may not do it the first time either. Is this going to go on indefinitely? Seems so. I will cancel at the end of my contract. I've had AHS for years now, but only used them once or twice. I now see that when I really need work done (for heavens sake it is only clearing a plumbing line), they are not there for me even though they deduct that monthly fee from my account promptly each month. It is now December 3, 2020 (over ONE MONTH since the first referral!) and I still have the same problem with no results. I would really like to do a full load of laundry in the near future. Like I said, save your money! For me it is probably cheaper and much less frustrating to just pay out of pocket when I need service.

Icon

Nathan Mueller, La Quinta

On Nov 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our air conditioning stopped working in July. We filed a service request and the repair company got the air conditioning working again. Because we\'re in the southern California desert, we\'ve had no need for heating, but we do participate in a program of semi-annual inspections and our HVAC company doing the inspection informed us that in repairing the AC in July, the repair person had disconnected the heating control wire and turned off the gas to our furnace so that when we needed heat during the winter it wouldn't work. The company doing the inspection diagnosed the issue as a bad control board. I contacted AHS 1. They stated that because 60 days had passed they couldn't recall the company that did the AC repair and left the heat disabled. 2. I then asked that they waive the trip charge, since this should have all been addressed at the time of the original repair. They refused. 3. I asked that they have the company that had just diagnosed the bad circuit board complete the repair (that company IS also a service provider for AHS, in fact that's how we found them). Since they had already been on site and made the diagnosis it seemed unnecessary for me to pay another provider to come and diagnose the same thing. AHS refused. 4. I insisted on speaking to a supervisor, who called me back and asked me to hold while he contacted the repair company that disabled the heat in July. Because I was about to enter a work meeting, I asked that he call me back instead. He promised to call me back after my 2-hour meeting but I've not heard from him since. On some level I can understand the 60-day limit on recalling the repair person, but there's no reasonable way we could determine what the repair person had done to our heating system until months later when we finally did try to turn the heat on. The company should be willing to make exceptions for these types of circumstances.

Icon

Candy Capogrossi, Berkeley

On Nov 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Until recently I was very happy with AHS.It has now been 2 months with a broken dishwasher and stove top.I have been promised a cash buyout as the parts are not available and have spent hours and hours on the phone.Thanksgiving is coming up and I need my Appliances to be working.That’s why you buy insurance!Help!!!!’

Icon

odanel maldonado, Santa Clarita

On Nov 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

On 11/03/2020, I submitted a claim to American Home Shield and paid them the $100 deductible. A couple of days later I received a message from American Home Shield stating that the contractor (active appliances Inc.) had attempted to reach me but were not able to. I immediately called active appliance and told them that I never received a call from them and wanted to know why they informed American Home Shield that they had attempted to reach me via phone. The agent stated that she was not aware of the message and went ahead and scheduled an appointment for 11/10/2020. I tried to get a sooner appointment but she said that was the soonest they can make it to the house. The technician from active appliance arrived on 11/10/2020. After inspecting the washer, he stated that there was nothing wrong with it, as he was running a cycle. After running it for about 9 minutes, he stated that any problems were possibly caused by my wife using too much soap. My wife explained to him that she goes by the measurements on the washer soap compartment. He stated that the information on there was wrong and to use less soap (I guess the manufacturer, Samsung, doesnt know what theyre doing). He then stated that the problem could also be that she was not using high efficiency soap. As a safety measure I got the bottle of soap that we use and pointed out to him that it stated on the label "high efficiency." He then reassure us that there was nothing wrong with the washer. I called my wife over to get more details about when the problem occurred (knocking noice, shaking, and burned rubber smell). After my wife informed him that the problem occurred in the spinning cycle, the technician ran the washer through a complete cycle. Once he heard the noise and shaking coming from the dishwasher, he asked how old the washer was. I told him that weve had it for about eight years. He stated that the problem was that the seal between the drum & door had worn out due to wear and tear and that he was surprised it lasted that long because they usually only last five-six years. He also stated that a support had possibly broken inside and that he was going to submit a quote to the warranty company. Lastly, he stated not to expect too much because it was a two-technician job and that it was going to be very expensive to fix it. On 11/11/2020, I received an email from American Home Shield stating that my warranty had limitations and to call them for details. I immediately called however, it appeared that they agent was working from home because there was a lot of background noise, including chickens and wind gusts. The agent placed me on hold but never came back to the phone. I called back shortly after and spoke an agent. The agent stated that per the technician, the problem was caused by overloading the washer and that it was not covered under their terms and conditions. I explained to the agent that the technician told us that the damage to the washer was caused through wear and tear because the washer was too old. The agent stated that unfortunately the claim will not be covered based on the technician diagnostics. I then asked the agent to email me a copy of the diagnostics. The agent stated that it was not possible because they did not have the capability and told to contact active appliance to get the details. I also asked the how agent that how would the technician know we overload the washer or not? If the the problem was caused by overloading, why did the problem occur eight years later? I then called active appliance and spoke with a customer service representative. I explained to her what the technician told me caused the issue and what American Home Shield was telling me. I additionally requested a copy of the diagnostics. The representative explained to me that per their contract with American Home Shield, they were not allowed to disclose the technicians diagnostics or email copies. She also stated that American Home Shield is the only one that can disclose any diagnostics to me and advised me to call them back. I again called American Home Shield and requested to speak to a manager. ****, pulled up my information and stated that she would transfer me to a manager. After being on hold for about six minutes, the call was terminated. I called American Home Shield again and spoke with another agent. The agent stated that she would transfer me to a manager but needed to pull up my information first. After pulling up my information, she read the diagnostics to me and told me that the claim was denied due to the tubs being damaged by overloading the washer. I explained to her that the technician told us that the damage was caused by wear and tear due to the machine being too old. The agent stated that they have to go by the diagnostics the technician submitted to them. I then requested a copy of the diagnostics. She stated that she could not provide those to me. I then asked the agent if she could transfer me to a manager now. She placed me on hold for an hour and twenty two minutes and then terminated the call. I googled active appliance and read multiple reviews that people wrote about how technicians from active appliance tell them one thing about what caused a problem, and American Home Shield says another. Who really knows whos telling the truth and whos lying. Maybe theyre in it together to deny claims? Due to receiving conflicting information between American Home Shield and what the technician from active appliance told me in person, i decided to pay another certified technician out of pocket. The technician diagnosed the problem and stated that the shaking, noise and burned smell from the washer are due to normal wear and tear on the rear bearing shaft and gear and outer tub. He called to get the parts however, he stated that the parts are back ordered and they do not know when they will come in. The price to fix it $400 in parts plus labor. His diagnosis coincides with what the active appliance technician told me in person and does not coincide with what American Home Shield told me over the phone.

Icon

Robert Terceria, Thousand Oaks

On Nov 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Oct. 3 we contacted AHS that our refrigerator was not working. Oct. 5 we called the repair service AHS had told us to call. Oct. 7 a service repairman came to our home and said a part was needed. Oct. 23 the repairman replaced the control board. Oct. 24 our refrigerator still was not working. We called AHS. They sent another email for another service call. We called the service repair people. They would not make an appointment until they talked to management on Oct. 26. On Oct. 29 we received a call from the service repair that they would arrive on Nov. 4 with a new control board. On Nov. 4 the repairman arrived and installed the control board and this time programmed the control board. On Nov. 5 we called AHS and told them the refrigerator was still not working. AHS said they had to get the report from the service repair company. We asked to speak to a supervisor. We were told they would call us back by the end of the day on Nov. 5. ASH did not call us back. We called AHS on Nov. 6 and asked to speak to a supervisor. We were told AHS would call us Nov. 7. Nov. 7 we called AHS and spoke to the representative. They sent another service request to the repair company. Nov. 7 we called the service company, and they will not make an appointment without the work order. It has been over a month, and we have no working refrigerator. AHS just wants to keep sending repair people out until we give up. We want our refrigerator replaced as per the contract.

Icon

Gweneva Shay Sawyer, Fresno

On Nov 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Everything went well. A technician was at our house within a few hours. We only paid our initial $100, and our works! Thank you American Home Shield!! I\'m going to share your info with my family and friends.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020