ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   California
last_updated_icon Last updated: January 18, 2022

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN CALIFORNIA

California homeowners who already have to keep up with the rising cost of living can find it hard to deal with expensive and unexpected repairs. The state’s real estate market is also costly and dealing with a breakdown leading to an extra thousand dollars in repair can drain your limited savings. This is where a home warranty can help you out.

Home warranties help to reduce a home’s repair or replacement cost. They also arrange for a skilled service technician to repair your item at a reduced amount. More than anything, home warranties are designed to give you peace of mind and have readily available protection in place. Check out our list of popular home warranty companies in your state!

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

TOP HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES OF CALIFORNIA

offer_img

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer_img

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75, $100, $125

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$65, $95, $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

featured-icon

No exclusion for pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$380 - $720

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
mapicon

featured-icon

They have a proven track record of paying 97.5% claims.

PRICING

$399-$549

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Old Republic Home Protection average deductible for a contract is $72.65
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.3
mapicon

featured-icon

Reputed company operating for over 20 years and offering budget plans

PRICING

$260-$500

SERVICE FEE

$55-$100

mapicon

Fidelity National Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.5
  • Been in the industry since 1995
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are among the few companies that offer roof leak coverage

PRICING

$350-$445

SERVICE FEE

$65

mapicon

IS HOME WARRANTY REQUIRED IN CALIFORNIA?

A home warranty can provide comprehensive protection to the interior elements of your home - appliances, and systems. This warranty reduces repair or replacement expenses that you may face in case of an unexpected breakdown and allows you peace of mind. You also get 24/7 customer service when filing claims. Let’s take a look at how it can be of use to the following people -

  1. First-time Buyers - Buying a home in California can wipe out your savings. It can be challenging for first-time buyers to afford expensive repair works after making such a huge investment. A home warranty can be an ideal solution in this regard as it reduces repair and replacement costs by a wide margin.
  2. Old House Buyer - Buying an older home may not be as much of a steal as you thought it would be, no matter its low cost. Its appliances and systems are more vulnerable to normal wear and tear and can bring about unexpected expenses. It is best to have protection like home warranties in place for older homes.
  3. Homeowners - For homeowners, the smooth functioning of appliances and systems is necessary to get through the day. A home warranty can help out in such cases by taking care of any sudden repairs promptly. It can also easily fit into your budget.
  4. DIY-ers - The appeal of DIY is obvious, it can be a great way to save money. However, some things are best left in the hands of a professional. Sometimes your best efforts are not enough to resolve a problem and may cause even more damage. Fixes for HVAC systems, roof, plumbing, and electrical issues, etc., require training and years of experience. Home warranty companies work with skilled technicians who can quickly get the job done.
  5. Home Sellers - Selling your home in California is a harrowing ordeal despite the lucrative real estate market. After all, what can you do when a potential buyer questions your home’s condition? An easy way to avoid such circumstances is to buy Seller’s coverage from a home warranty company. You can use it to repair any existing issues and even attract more potential buyers. And since home warranties are easily transferable, you can offer coverage as a part of the sale to make a profit.
  6. Landlords - Owners of residential properties can benefit from having a home warranty in place. In California, it is mostly landlords who are responsible for the maintenance of appliances and systems. Having a home warranty plan will reduce the time and effort required to find a technician and resolve the issue.

IMPORTANT TIPS ON BUYING A HOME WARRANTY IN CALIFORNIA

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, and Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a residential warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a comprehensive plan to protect them from unexpected costs.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage you want also depends on your expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair service contractors. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the major home systems out of your league.
  5. But if you are pretty inexperienced at fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers more minor repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy plans from home warranty providers that allow you to customize your plan, which means that you can choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on devices that would hardly be damaged within the covered tenure.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then you should get a home buyer’s plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems. You should check the terms and conditions in detail to avoid any surprises.

CALIFORNIA WEATHER CONDITIONS AND IMPACT ON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time. When your appliances are exposed to this moisture, it accelerates the rate of normal wear and tear.

You could also face the problem of the erratic performance of devices. This is because of the monsoon’s season damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your major appliances and systems, usually when kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

A GLIMPSE AT AVERAGE PREMIUM IN CALIFORNIA

The average premium in California is $318.83, and the deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph where the X-axis represents the price of the premium and the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

TOP HOME WARRANTY PLANS IN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty coverage plan that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for California residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan covering 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The Home Service Club has two plan options based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are Standard Coverage and Comprehensive Coverage; suitable for owners of newer and older homes respectively. Standard Coverage would be a good idea if you have some appliances still under manufacturer warranty.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans. Select Home Warranty frequently offers discounts making them a budget-friendly option.

Looking for their exact pricing details? Then get your free home warranty quote!

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Pays For Home Warranty In California?

It depends on various situations but anyone can pay for a home warranty in California. Homeowners can purchase a home warranty for protecting their house and budget. Home warranty companies sell exclusive coverage to both homebuyers and sellers.

Sellers buy it to incentivize buyers and buyers purchase it to have protection in place in case of an unexpected breakdown. Real estate agents tie up with home warranty companies to endorse it and even offer it a gift to the buyer after closing.

Which Home Warranty Company Is The Best In California?

Several top-rated home warranty companies serve in California and identifying any one company as the absolute best depends mainly on customer preferences. Reviews on our site indicate that Select Home Warranty, Choice Home Warranty, AHS, and ServicePlus Home Warranty are top appliance plan picks in California. Check out the list above for details.

What Are The Home Warranty Regulations In California?

In California, Home warranty companies are self-regulated via the National Home Service Contract Association and government-regulated through the California Department of Insurance. The home warranty providers have to register and meet all the statutory and procedural requirements to operate in California. As per the law, a home warranty contract is a service agreement and not insurance.

How Long Is A New Home Warranty In California?

A typical home warranty in California lasts for a year or more, depending on the home warranty company and any offers they may have running. Alternatively, you can also choose to buy a monthly plan which lasts for 30 days.

Is Choice Home Warranty Available In California?

No, Choice Home Warranty currently does not offer its services in the state of California. However, you can check out top companies like American Home Shield and Select Home Warranty that offer additional options like roof coverage, lower deductibles, and comparatively more plan options that offer their services in the state.

How Quickly Are Home Warranty Claims Handled?

Once you file your home warranty claim, the company may take anywhere between 24-48 hours to arrange a contractor to service your repair. After diagnosing the problem, the repair time will be based on the magnitude of the breakdown.

How is a home warranty different from homeowners insurance?

A homeowner's insurance protects homeowners from the liability of accidents at home or committed by the homeowner, the effects of disasters, thefts, etc. A home warranty is a service contract to offset repair costs of mechanically worn-out home systems and appliances or their replacement cost. Home insurance won't cover repairs, while a home warranty will not cover damage due to natural disasters. You can check out our guide on Home Warranty vs Home Insurance to learn more.

California Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Anita Carse, Oakland

On Jan 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS sent a plumbing company whose service was very poor.The plumber misdiagnosed a problem with the toilet. I later engaged a plumber, at my own expense, who thoroughly assessed the problem and solved the leaking toilet issue.This s azad me company is scheduled to replace my water heater and, given the poor quality of work on a much simpler problem, I am more than concerned.

Icon

ANTHONY GALLO, San Diego

On Dec 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

THE CONTRACTOR CAME OUT TO REPAIR MY GARAGE DOOR AND HE SAID MY REPAIRS TO GET THE DOOR ON THE TRACK IS NOT COVERED. I PAID $432 DOLLARS FOR THE REPAIR. I HOME AHS DOES NOT CHARGE ME THE $100.00 FEE.

Icon

Dianne Pyle, Visalia

On Dec 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I needed work done on my washing machine. AHS sent out a great repairman, and the problem was diagnosed. There was a short wait to find the right part, and then R*** S****** came and fixed the problem. He was very competent and professional. I had no problem getting help or getting the work done. I am very satisfied with AHS.

Icon

Debby, Apple Valley

On Dec 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am so thankful for my AHS warranty. I had issues with my AC in the first year and my furnace in the next year or so. Just one of them would have cost me a fortune without my warranty. It was so easy to schedule the furnace repair. I just filled out the online form, payed the deductible and that was it!!! Within minutes I had the workman’s name and phone number. He called the next day (I made the service request at 10pm) and within 48 hours our heater was up and running again. The worker was professional and really good at his job, no hassle, no bargaining, no problems. I can”t image not having this warranty…it is a blessing and saves me from huge expensive repairs.

Icon

kamlesh sharma, San Jose

On Dec 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Please stay away from American Home Shield. Despite good reviews you may read here or on thier website claiming awards and boasting of how good they are, if you get insurance from them, you will not get a single claim addressed properly. I had 3 claims in past 6 months requiring attention - Gas oven, Plumbing and Exhaust. None of these were addressed and they charged me service fees. After contacting them at least half a dozen times over phone( BTW, CS agents are nice but sit overseas and have no authority to do anything) for each of these issues on different times, I ended up filing BBB complain for all 3 issues. On that platform, for 2 of them they agreed to refund my service fees only because I filed with BBB. They mislead on their website about their claims and processing and standing. I had a local level insurance for past many years which served very well and would process most of my claims correctly. I purchased a new home, and unfortunately AHS was the home insurance that came with it. Please get some other insurance and save your sanity

Icon

SUSAN J HANES, Santa Rosa

On Dec 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far, I have been very pleased with the services received through American Home Shield. I had a leaking faucet that could not be repaired with the replacement part that was immediately available from the manufacturer, so the manufacturer was responsive enough to provide a new faucet, which the AHS plumbing contractor then installed. My only issue was that the plumbing contractor's schedule was booked and the times between my receipt of the part (and then the faucet itself) were long. After the first repair attempt I could barely use my sink at all, so had to use bathroom sink. AHS needs more plumbing contractors in my area. I had one other issue this year, with a clothes washer, which AHS took care of right away. The telephone service reps at AHS seem very customer-oriented and eager to provide good service. I was skeptical of what AHS would be able to provide in this first year of owning a new (older) home, and am now a believer.

Icon

Pat Cribbs, Visalia

On Dec 13, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It would be great except the service repair has not been completed. It has been 2 weeks and their has been no follow up. i just want my washing machine fixed.

Icon

Ush Singh, San Bruno

On Nov 28, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The refrigerator I have has failed 11 times...Most of the repair specialists they send don\'t have basic troubleshooting skills. I was told this qualifies for a buy back or replacement. None of this happened as they keep changing the qualification rules. You don\'t get to speak to the person who makes that call. I was also told that the particular model I have is susceptible to ice buildup and failure to cool and that IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. When I brought it to their attention that most of the problems were the same and the repairs included changing out parts or just melting away the ice buildup behind the back panel and that one of their staff had told me it is a candidate for buy back or replacement I was told ....it has to have the same failure 4 times in a calendar year, parts have to be replaced and subsequent failures can't be within 30 days....really !!! I have a problem since a week ago and waited for the repairman all day yesterday and no one showed up. Save your money...don't get a extended warranty through Lowes, get it from a reputable home warranty company. Better still don't buy your appliance from Lowes, they flat out don't stand behind their glorified promises...mostly you will talk to someone who couldn't make it to highschool

Icon

Steve Baker, Desert Hot Springs

On Nov 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They advertise online on their website in bold print free HVAC tuneup with unlimited Freon if you order the platinum shield program. At that time the daytime temperatures are well over 100° out in the desert so I ordered the platinum shield program expecting a free HVAC AC tuneup. I waited a month to make the service call active so I could get the free HVAC tuneup. When I had the appointment they sent out a heating service call. Not for an AC tuneup. Long story short the first time I go to use the heater that was supposedly serviced and tuned up doesn’t work at all and it was working fine before they touched it. Victoria corrected that mistake and made a $100 service call pre-paid to have the AC serviced as stated on their website. There was a bad part on the AC preventing it from turning off they replaced the electrical of the capacitor and now the AC is working normally thank you Victoria. When I started getting phone calls and emails stating that I owe $100 for the service call I checked the mail and there was an invoice stating that I owe them $100 in black-and-white. After being harassed about owing $100 service call fee I called the company and just canceled the contract however I did not know that the heater was not working. So this will be a mighty cool Thanksgiving thank God we have plenty of pies and stuff to bake in the oven so at least the kitchen will be halfway warm. Nighttime temperatures are now into the low 40s and high 30s. This review is expected to be permanent for AHS. Since now, they cannot schedule a service call for the heater that THEY BROKE. You do not need a contract to repair something that was working until AHS touched it!!! Freezing in the Desert

Icon

Joey , Tracy

On Nov 09, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service from M* A******** of N**** M****** was very satisfactory. They have given my repair high efforts until my appliance worked. I am pleased and I recommend others to utilize them.

Icon

earlean conroe, Pasadena

On Nov 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I Love the IMMEDIATE response after submitting a request!! Z*** was sent out, and he was professional, on time, and explained everything that needed to be done. Will request that company if any future problems come up!!!

Icon

Laura Barajas , Rohnert Park

On Nov 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was my first time using American Home Shield. My washer was not locking or spinning so they assigned me a technician to come fix it. The company I was assigned to was not able to even come out and do the first inspection for over 2 weeks. When she came out to do the inspection she said that she would order the part should be no problem a Quick Fix. However two weeks later when she came to install the part she didn't check the part until she got to my home and realized it was the wrong part. She then had to reorder the part which took another week and a half. During that time I had called American Home Shield to complain that this was taking an extremely long time and that I needed the washer to be fixed faster was there any way to speed the process along. I was told that they would see what they could do. Apparently they did nothing because another week and a half she came out and installed the part however it did not fix the problem with my washing machine. So I called American Home Shield to get them to reopen my ticket and they didn't want to reopen it because they said it had been more than 30 days since I opened the work order. However it had been less than six days since the technician was at my house so I had to argue with them for 30 minutes before they said oh I'm sorry you are correct we will reopen your work order. They sent me the same person who didn't even bother to come out she just called me and told me that she was going to order some new parts that should fix the problem and she would get back to me when the parts came in. Another two and a half weeks her Parts came in she came out to fix the machine she left and once again when I went to do laundry my machine was not repaired. At this point it had already been 2 months and 1 week so I called American Home Shield back and told them that once again my machine had not been repared and that I wanted a new technician and they said they would give me a new technician because they were going to escalate it because of how many times she come out and not repaired my machine. However the following day they assigned me right back to the same person who said she would just call them and tell them that I needed a new washing machine however that's not what she did. She requested a second opinion and so then they had to assign me to a whole nother appliance company. When they came after waiting another week the man said this is a complete tub job and you need a new washing machine so he put in for a new washing machine. I will be getting my washing machine exactly three months to the day that I opened the work order. That means I went three months without a washing machine and American Home Shield would not help me expedite this process. In the amount of time that it took them to get me my washing machine I could have bought a new one with the cost of doing laundry at a laundromat. If this is the way that American Home Shield continues to do service I would suggest finding another company. I found out later that the reason my first technician wouldn't say that I needed a new washing machine even though I did need a new washing machine is because she was concerned that her rating with American Home Shield would go down. American Home Shield confirmed that to me so that means that they are putting emphasis on the rating that the technician gets through their company over doing the right thing for the customer. Not ok in my book! When I was given a choice at my replacement washer it was not even comfortable to my current washer so I had to call and get that fixed so that they could give me a new choice so that the washing machine they were placed is compatible with the one I had. In all I am very disappointed with this process and I hope others don't have to go through what I did and that this won't happen to me again.

Icon

Joseph Hart, Visalia

On Nov 03, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

You were honest, professional and efficient. You fixed the problem. No complaints at all.

Icon

Sally Hamilton, Corona

On Oct 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Customer of AHS, since 1986. They are a reputable company. I appreciate their employees, they are happy and knowledgeable. They realize that they are the link that will get you the help you are relying on to fix whatever has broken or leaking in your home. I am still a satisfied customer of AHS, after all these years.

Icon

BERNADETTE ANSON, Chula Vista

On Oct 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractors did a good job on installing the new water heater and made sure it was up to code. I’m a very satisfied customer. Would recommend American Home Shield for home warranty.

Icon

Judith Fraser, Arcata

On Oct 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

All good! Quick and friendly service. Happy to have this insurance coverage. Wasn\'t sure the faucet was going to be able to match the existing (broken) one, but the plumber came back after seeing the job and had one that matched! :)

Icon

Matt, West Hills

On Oct 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As a new homeowner in a not so new home, American Home Shield has been tremendously helpful. When things go wrong, it is peace of mind knowing all I have to do is schedule service and they take care of the rest. I don’t have to worry about what plumber or electrician to call or how much it will cost. I have a busy schedule and it saves me time and energy. I am very happy with the service.

Icon

Amelinda Parkinson, Canoga Park

On Oct 07, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Typical corporate strategy - put everything in a contract and never stray from that. So, read your contract VERY carefully. I thought I was good but even I missed the "administrative" fee for cancelling my contract 30 days after it renewed. Also, NEVER talk to the technician over the phone for the appliance or problem. Tell them you only want them to come over. I explained on the phone the dishwasher problem, was charged the $75 and then was told it wasn't covered because it died in a power surge. I disputed it with AHS, and they said nope, I talked to the technician. That's enough. I have had good experiences, and really lame experiences with AHS. Good luck

Icon

Debbie, San Marcos

On Sep 28, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The A******* Service (un) Protection with Lowes is a scam and the customer service along with Lowes gives you the run around. They either say they cant hear you on the phone, pretend like they dont understand you or argue that you arent compliant with their warranty!!!

Icon

Holly A Duran, El Cajon

On Sep 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Unfortunately, Ive needed American Home Shields service twice this month, first for my washing machine and then for my Air Conditioner. The first service contractor that was called for my washer came out quickly, but was not very communicative as the visit and totally absent from any follow up or returned phone calls. Then they apparently told AHS that the didnt service my brand of washer (surprised they didnt say that from the beginning. 2nd company to come out was at least friendly and told be next steps. This was on Friday of the long Labor Day weekend. First thing Tuesday morning, I had a call from AHS advising me they would be replacing my machine. They asked a few questions and within 30 minutes I had a list of washers to choose from. The company they contacted to deliver and set up (A-* D*******) could not have been more polite, efficient and professional. M**** and J*** represented their company and American Home Shield to the highest degree. Many thanks to them. Then a few days later in the middle of a 100 degree heat wave, our air conditioner decided to stop working. The company AHS contracted to take a look at it responded quickly and came and looked at it within 2 days. M**** was also able to get the part and fix it quickly. I would wish everyone had service like his. With a rocky start, everything else was top notch. Im going to have to give them a 4 star rating because it took forever for feedback and to get back on track with the washer, but in the end I couldnt be more please with the results of the washing machine repair and the air conditioner repair. A happy customer for sure!

Icon

Milind Arvind Konnur, Folsom

On Sep 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience. Quick service and repairs in this instance. Great contractor. They gave me next day appointment. Kept me in know, when they were running behind. Only downside was that cables were not covered in the contract and I had to pay additional $100

Icon

Donald Evans, Mariposa

On Sep 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Bad Service. HVAC unit went out on August 13th; AHS assigned a contract to repair problem; however,after the HVAC Tech. inspected unit he red tagged it, because the unit was leaking gas into to the house whether the heater was on or off. Tech. notified AHS; One month and some days later still wait for this to be resolved by AHS. Meanwhile, we have been experiencing over 100 degree weather in our area. Is this any way to treat a 70 yr old disabled veteran?

Icon

Asem Elsahrgty , Hesperia

On Sep 16, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I has 8 houses with AHS and I do have a problem with the waiting for approval and the tenant have to wait more than a week without water heater . My Name is: Asem Elsahrgty (909)455-7028 I really appreciate your respond ASAP Thanks

Icon

Asem Elsahrgty , Hesperia

On Sep 16, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I has 8 houses with AHS and I do have a problem with the waiting for approval and the tenant have to wait more than a week without water heater . My Name is: Asem Elsahrgty (909)455-7028 I really appreciate your respond ASAP Thanks

Icon

Arlo Van Houten, San Diego

On Sep 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Home Shield recently replaced a master control for my water heater. They were efficient, on time, and pleasant to work with. I renewed my policy recently and will continue to use your service. Thank you.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020