ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   California
last_updated_icon Last updated: March 17, 2021

HOME WARRANTIES IN CALIFORNIA

California is one of the best places to live in terms of real estate value, but over 23% of homeowners spend about 35% of their monthly income on home maintenance. Homeowners can reduce this fraction of the budget with a home warranty plan that covers expensive unexpected repairs. A home protection plan can also save a great deal of time by swiftly swinging into action.

Here is an exclusive list of the best home warranty companies in California to assist homeowners in selecting an ideal home warranty plan. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled this list by collecting numerous reviews and ratings from the existing customers. The consumer reviews, combined with in-depth research by the editorial team, will help you pick out a plan that perfectly fits your needs and budget.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN CALIFORNIA

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$95

mapicon

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
mapicon

featured-icon

They have a proven track record of paying 97.5% claims.

PRICING

$399-$549

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In california

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty coverage plan that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The Home Service Club has two plan options based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

Are you searching for the best home warranty plan? Then get a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a residential warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a comprehensive plan to protect them from unexpected costs.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair service contractors. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the major home systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy plans from home warranty providers that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on devices that would hardly be damaged within the covered tenure.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home buyer’s plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems. A combination plan offered by most top companies can provide the right coverage at budget pricing.

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your household appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time. When your appliances are exposed to this moisture, it accelerates the rate of normal wear and tear.

You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your major appliances and systems, usually when kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

FAQs About California Home Warranties

Which is the best home warranty company in California?

Several top-rated home warranty companies serve in California and identifying any one company as the absolute best depends mainly on customer preferences. Reviews on our site indicate that Select Home Warranty, Choice Home Warranty, AHS, and Total Home Protection are top appliance plan picks in California. Check out the list above for details.

How is a home warranty different from homeowners insurance?

A homeowner's insurance protects homeowners from the liability of accidents at home or committed by the homeowner, the effects of disasters, thefts, etc. A home warranty is a service contract to offset repair costs of mechanically worn out home systems and appliances or their replacement cost. Home insurance won't cover repairs, while a home warranty will not cover damage due to natural disasters. They are complementary policies and not replaceable.

How much do home warranty plans cost?

The home warranty plan costs vary as per coverage requirements, add-ons desired and region. In California, plans can cost from $300-800, while deductibles may range from $60-125. Many companies have flexible payment plans allowing you to choose the premium and deductible. They save you the thousands of dollars repairs otherwise involve.

What are the home warranty regulations in California?

Home warranty companies in California are self-regulated via the National Home Service Contract Association and government-regulated through the California Department of Insurance. The home warranty providers have to register and meet all the statutory and procedural requirements to operate in California. As per the law, a home warranty contract is a service agreement and not a form of insurance.

California Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of customer service that these companies provide. Our website lists reviews about home warranty companies and their warranty services in California which help you in making the right decision.

If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company and their service technicians, write your review and help other homeowners in choosing the best company.

Icon

Phay, Midway City

On Apr 06, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Lowes has the worst warranty! I started having problems with my washing machine 2 months ago. 4 repair visits later I’m still waiting. No communication what so ever, I have had to call multiple times to find out what was going to happen next with my washing machine. Lowes decided to pay 1300.00 dollars to fix my washing machine that I paid less than 500.00 dollars for 4 years ago and have all 10 parts mailed to me . Once all 10 parts get here I am supposed to call and make a service appointment. This is the last time I purchase anything from Lowe’s. I would give them a negative 10 if I could.

Icon

Ken and Lyra Schramm, Menlo Park

On Apr 02, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Gotta say that I\'m very pleasantly surprised. My real estate agent convinced me to get a warranty from American Home Shield... wow glad I listened. Within the first three weeks of moving in 1) the upstairs heater would not work AND the downstairs main furnace PGE forgot to light... so let\'s just say the first night was rather cold, but the second night, AHS scheduled service and had no issues since. 2nd garage electricity went out and rather embarrassed that it was serviced by a simple flick of a hidden GFI switch. 3rd sewer blowout draining into my backyard... serviced with a big snake to root out the problem. 4th rekeying that comes with signing up quick and easy. Let's just say I'm a fan thus far!

Icon

Steve Conrad, Twin Peaks

On Mar 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

****** ********** Plumbing are a top professional company. 2 of their employees came to the house around 2:00 p.m and installed a tankless water heater, they were done by 4:00 p.m. Very impressive

Icon

Michelle Burwasser, San Francisco

On Mar 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very impressed with ** Plumbing. ***, came in and first assessed the issues and then methodically addressed all three issues and educated me on the condition of our plumbing. He shared wise counsel to prolong proper draining. Presently everything is working well. Thank you ***!

Icon

Joseph Sason , Vacaville

On Mar 11, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In dec 2020 we called Sears for a leaking dishwasher. A technician came and said it was the heater and ordered one after 2 weeks we got the heater but another technician came and said it was the copper pipe and was not covered. We ended up buying a new dishwasher. The technician signed us up for a warranty service. They don’t know what is covered and not. I am planning to cancel it. Waste of money.

Icon

cat riedel, West Sacramento

On Mar 03, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Technician for non working refrigerator came out 2 days after contacting American Home Shield. AHS did not respond to calls for updates on parts ordered for needed repairs. Parts from AHS took 3 weeks to arrive and when they did they were defective. Note, parts were remanufactured, not new. Could not get straight answer on when 2nd set of replacement parts would arrive. Yes, there are delays due to pandemic, but I found parts online that could be delivered within 4 days to my home, and the parts were NEW. Lack of communication, incorrect information, and no sense of urgency on the part of AHS. Deplorable customer service on every level. Still no refrigerator after one month. Look elsewhere for your warranty. Nothing but headaches with AHS. This was my first and last experience with them.

Icon

Cats Godot, Morgan Hill

On Feb 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolutely horrible experience with AHS. 2 months without a functional washer, phone agents who wouldn\'t understand the issue (and kept insisting on reading from a script), promises for callbacks that never happened...I finally had to pay for local techs out of pocket to finally resolve my issue. I\'m on this site again only to find a replacement for AHS. Would not recommend them to my worst enemy.

Icon

Sandy, Elk Grove

On Feb 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Part ordered two times, delayed service, it takes two months repair my cooktop. Frist appointment the technician didn’t show up. I spent half of day Waiting. Last technician came with the mask only coverd the month, please next appointment come back to finish cooktop in march 3, 2021. Make sure the technician with mask cove month & nose. Thanks

Icon

Vicki, Panorama City

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Everything went great and in a timely manner. All went well. Everyone involved was very professional and good. Had a good experience and I am happy with the results. Thank you for the hard work.

Icon

Diana J Davis, Sacramento

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As usual American Home Shield sent an extremely knowledgable technician. The problem was found immediately and fixed just as fast. Every time something goes wrong I feel confident it will be taken care of. This is important for an older senior living alone not to worry. It is also a big savings and I\'m very grateful to have found this policy. I have friends that have a great deal of trouble with their Home Warranty experiences. As soon as their companies pay them what they owe them they will change to American Home Shield.

Icon

Ken, North Hills

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We\'ve used our American Home Shield (AHS) a few times to repair our oven and washing machine. Calling for the repair was super easy. Technicians were on time and very professional.

Icon

Todd Thompson, Laguna Niguel

On Feb 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Technician couldn\'t repair sink faucet on first visit as it needed to be replaced. Follow-up visit was timely and professional. Email notification\'s were helpful to track technician arrival time. Very pleased with the new faucet.

Icon

Gweneva Shay Sawyer, Fresno

On Feb 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The HVAC company, Bautistas Heating, assigned was very helpful, timely, professional and efficient. They determined and repaired the issue quickly. I would highly recommend ********* Heating of Madera CA for all HVAC needs.

Icon

TiVo Vote, San Andreas

On Feb 10, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Purchased an ** refrigerator stopped working because of a defective compressor which isn’t filled with refrigerant but butane. Refrigerator is an environmental concern in the state of California therefore it is unrepairable. 10 phone calls to the extended warranty to find out why they will not replace my refrigerator still no answers. Fridge raider went out in September 2020 it is now February 10 2021

Icon

Michael Wilkins, La Verne

On Feb 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had an issue with my refrigerator. I contacted AHS and they sent someone out the next day. The technician diagnosed the problem right away and was able to get the refrigerator working.

Icon

Scott Jacobsen, Visalia

On Feb 09, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been with American Home Shield for years. The online appointment setting feature is awesome. Our most recent claim is a dishwasher replacement. We were issued a ****’s e-card went to our local Lowe’s and our new dishwasher will be delivered next week. Scott Jacobsen, Visalia, California

Icon

Edwin Johnson, Cobb

On Feb 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our heating system broke and at first was set up with a 2 star company which did not show up to even evaluate the problem. Called American Home warranty and they set us up with a different company that came out a found the heater was totally shot. They installed a new heater for us. Works great now.

Icon

TERESA a GREENBERG, San Diego

On Feb 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield (AHS) has been remarkable as I settled into new home. A keying issue was resolved as well as leaky pipe under kitchen sink. The contractors were awesome, on time and did a great job.

Icon

LeRhone Williams , Rio Vista

On Jan 31, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

***’s garage repair did a fantastic job repairing my garage door. They identified the problem quickly and got right to work. The repair team was kind and very friendly. They even found my car keys I left in the trunk key hole. Simply a wonderful experience in a emergency situation to secure my home. Thank you AHS!

Icon

Sandy Rosenstein, Temecula

On Jan 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The plumber and electrician were great. I had to call the electrician though, they did not call me. Electrician will come back and finish job when parts arrive. Both techs were helpful and courteous.

Icon

Bernadette Davalos, Perris

On Jan 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The plumbing company that AHS sent out did a great job resolving part of my plumbing problem by replacing the water heater, but the AHS warranty fell short in resolving the rest of my plumbing problem. The soft water unit attached to the main water line was found to be adding to our plumbing issue and is clogged/malfunctioning, but because the plumbing company didn’t have knowledge on how to safely by pass the water flow without using the soft water tank to restore the 75 psi available on the main waterline or maybe just disconnecting the soft water unit & rerouting the main pipe under the AHS warranty, unfortunately my plumbing problem was not 100% resolved and I can only run water one appliance at a time so that it does not disrupt the washer cycle, dishwasher cycle, someone’s shower, use of the toilet, etc. it’s a big inconvenience that AHS has made it difficult in being able to fix the whole problem by not including coverage on everything that’s needed to correct the whole plumbing issue. Plus, an AHS agent denied me my recall to have the plumbing company come back out to further look into the issue after the water heater was installed.

Icon

Dee Lee, Sacramento

On Jan 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The home warranty sent a contractor to my home that serviced a plumbing issue. My garbage disposal was replaced, however, my toilet needed more service. The ******* Plumbing ******* was the company. The contractor ***** gave me a quote of $125 to install my new toilet that I purchased. The quote also included labor and haul away of the old toilet. I requested to replace 3 toilets. The total would have been $375. The ******* Plumbing ******* gave me a second quote after I scheduled an appointment stating that the job would cost $525, $175/per toilet. They canceled my appointment and refused to honor the quote that their employee gave me because they wanted more money.

Icon

Matthew H, Los Angeles

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very happily surprised at how exactly AHS has worked for me. I cautiously signed up hoping I wasn\'t going to have buyer\'s remorse after putting in for a repair. Had a dryer issue , made an appointment, the tech came, ordered a part, came back and fixed it. No surprises. I recommend signing up.

Icon

Lynne Naylor, Lawndale

On Jan 22, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In Dec 2020 I submitted a request for my built-in dishwasher to be repaired. Three times the appointment was changed. Finally in January 2021 I contacted Cinch and reminded them that my policy guaranteed replacement if the appliance couldn\'t be fixed. I am still waiting for the repaired machine or the new replacement. Worst warranty service ever.

Icon

Harry Fujita, Pittsburg

On Jan 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

One of the worst. Renewed my contract and was not given the $50 discount for paying in full. Called on 1/10/21 and was told the error would be corrected. Washing machine began leaking on 1/20/21 and I went on line for a service request. Was unable to get the service request as my account still reflected $50 due. Called billing and was again told that the error would be corrected. I asked when I could request service and was told it would be 2-5 working days before my account was updated. Geez...my washer is leaking today. In 2019 requested service for a water heater. At the time, my daughter's family was moving and living with us until they could move into their new home; 8 people living here. It took 19 days to get the water heater repaired. Eight people without hot water for 19 days...REALLY? Hoped that was an anomaly, but apparently not.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE