ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
  Home  /  us  /  California
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2020

Home Warranties in California

Getting a home warranty will be a worthy investment if you are looking to buy a new house in California or even in the event you already own one. HomeWarrantyReviews has collected a number of reviews, feedback, offerings, of various home warranties in California to enable you to make a sound investment in your home.

Compare the best home warranties in California, ratings, premiums, deductibles, and home warranty plan waiting periods before choosing a warranty company.

Home warranties in California last up to a year and require to be renewed annually. It is ideal if you live in a home that is more than 4 years old and with a restrained budget.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVINGS BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

Best Home Warranty Companies In California

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty
2.3
/ 5
Based on 2,075 Reviews
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
Editors choice
HMS Home Warranty
2.0
/ 5
Based on 1,440 Reviews
  • HMS Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $90.51
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Offers a coverage limit of $3K
Complete Appliance Protection
3.7
/ 5
Based on 180 Reviews
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.8
  • Been in the industry since 1998
Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty
1.8
/ 5
Based on 218 Reviews
  • Lowe's is the second largest hardware chain in the United States
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.9
Home Depot Home Protection Plans
1.6
/ 5
Based on 129 Reviews
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.8
  • Been in the industry since 1978
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 1.6

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your home appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time, which when your appliances are exposed to, gradually renders them non-functional.You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your home appliances and systems, usually when they are kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The home service Club has two plans based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

If you are searching for the best home warranty coverage, then here by getting a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a home warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a home warranty to protect them.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair services. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the bigger systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy warranty plans from companies that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose what appliances and systems should be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on devices that would hardly be damaged within the covered tenure.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So start your hunt for such money-saving deals.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home warranty plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems.

A Glimpse At Average Premium In california

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim BakersfieldFresno
Long BeachLos AngelesOakland
SacramentoSan DiegoSan Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

california Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. Our website lists reviews on home warranty companies and their services in California. They provide insightful information. Reviews about home warranty companies and their services help you make the right decision.

Icon

Jim Zhao, Los Altos

On Jun 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I like AHS for its easy to use web portal, everything can be done online, and I got email/txt notification for job assignment, scheduling, etc. However there is NO diagnosis report online, so I don\'t know what malfunction it is and what repair was done, calling customer service is another hassle, wait time is often more than 40 minutes.

Icon

anthony may, San Diego

On Jun 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

my dishwasher quit pumping out the rince water they sent someone out surprisingly quick even though were out of the main stream they informed me that it couldn\'t be repaired and offered a replacement. that i couldn\'t find at lowes or home depot that would be better i took tell the last minute to agree to there offer but once i did they put it together . and there operators were working from home during this pandemic they were great and fun to work with i have talked to other friends who have dealt with other companies and have not been happy.but not one who\'s been happy with ahs o one big help they find the quality repair people.and that\'s so fantastic.

Icon

Patricia Johnstone, Grover Beach

On Jun 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Prompt service! Late one night, while running the washing machine, water came up through the laundry room floor drain and master shower drain! I contacted American Home Shield on Friday and a plumber was here by Monday, at 8:15am. He was very professional, and clearly explained everything in detail. The issue was solved within an hour’s time! Extremely happy with American Home Shield’s service!

Icon

Patrick Callahan, Murrieta

On Jun 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My whole house fan was not working properly. AHS referred me to Jaeger Electric. Was not happy with Jaeger Electric. The technician spent less than 5 minutes looking at my house fan and stated I needed a new motor and that he would have to get it approved by AHS. Technician told me to call him in 3 days for the status. I called Jaeger Electric after 3 days and left message and received no call back. Tried calling again for a few days and again did not receive call back. Called AHS explained my problem. AHS informed me that Jaegar Electric closed my work order and stated that my whole house fan was working properly which was not true. AHS referred me to another electrician, City First Electric. They came down the following day and fixed the problem. It was not the motor that needed to be replaced it was the capacitor. I would not recommend Jaeger Electric. Dishonest company and their customer service very poor. Highly recommend City First Electric.

Icon

Patricia Delatorre , Simi Valley

On Jun 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our Air Conditioner stopped working. AHS made it quick and easy to repair! I am so happy! The tech was so professional and they kept in contact with me during the whole process. It couldn’t have been any easier. Thank you so much!

Icon

Carolyn Hopkins , Stockton

On Jun 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It was a great experience. First Class HVAC did an excellent job and were on time. My central air was not working and first class was able to figure out the problem and fixed it in less than 45 minutes. My central air is now working.

Icon

Richard H Bolton, Corona

On Jun 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'ve been with AHS for a few years now and used their service several times. in all occasions the situation was the same. I have a problem and I all them. They take the call and in short order the appropriate contractor is dispatched. They respond in a timely fashion and, in a very professional way, correct my problem. What could be better. Definately a 5 star service.

Icon

Christina Mayo Hessler, Merced

On Jun 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS on my home since 1997. The customer service is helpful if you have to file a claim or have any questions. The repair teams are knowledgeable and work with you and AHS to repair any covered items. It is worth the peace of mind knowing I have coverage on items in my home, and I can look to AHS to help me resolve any issues. Thank you, AHS Team.

Icon

Pete Agres, La Quinta

On Jun 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I used the online website to submit my problem regarding pool filter system. Receive a respond within 30 min. with info on my assigned contractor. Contractor contacted me within reasonable time. Schedule appointment. Repairman came and notified me of problem. Said part was covered. His office going to contact me when part will be installed. Contractor called and said coming and installed part. Service by both AHS and assigned contractor were great. Having AHS, I believe, is essential to homeowners, in protecting their investment in the home.

Icon

Maryanne tecson, Daly City

On Jun 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am happy with the outcome of my shower . It would not shut off properly and caused unnecessary stress for me. The plumber was very efficient . He was able to diagnose the problem and fixed it within 15 minutes.

Icon

dean hammer, Apple Valley

On Jun 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

quick service, and i like the quality of the service company they sent out, i would recommend them, for sure, i hve been useing them for years, and always got great service

Icon

David Dearie, Murrieta

On May 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Noticed water coming from the emergency drain pipe near my roof. I logged into my account and placed the claim that evening. It took almost the full 24 hours before I was contacted by the assigned company near me. The appointment was set for the next day. The company made the repair (although the repairs, in the case, was not covered by the warranty) and I was back in business. Overall nearly two days without A/C but it was not miserable and the overall experience was fine. I\'m still happy to have AHS even though it cost me the deductible and the cost of the repair.

Icon

Charlie Monaco, Sylmar

On May 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Made a claim for plumbing issue and the provider came out 1st thing the next morning. He fixed the issue quickly and was very helpful and friendly. He even went to home depot to pick up a part he needed to finish the job. Very happy with AHS and the plumbing company. Thank you

Icon

Marjorie Yvonne Fernandez , Rancho Cucamonga

On May 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience in customer service. We called for our air conditioning service and we got a call from a company to schedule an appointment right away. Always great service!

Icon

David Fabiano, Manteca

On May 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The A/C stopped working. Called AH warranty and got a repair contractor. The thermostat was replaced. Repair was fast. My renter and I were very happy, since the weather was heating up to 105.

Icon

Whaeed Khan, Stockton

On May 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The Air conditioner stopped working on Friday evening, We submitted a claim online and got an appointment with service provider which was the easiest appointment available on Thursday of the following week. The contractor was running late and called to let us know. The problem was fixed within a matter minutes and explained what the issue was and tested HVAC throughout the house to ensure everything was working.

Icon

don bishel, Camarillo

On May 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our oven stopped working. I notified AHS 05/07/20 and after paying the fee a contractor was assigned to us. Unfortunately, they were unable to come out until 05/16/20. The technician arrived on 05/16/20 between the prescribed hours and got right to work. He quickly determined the cause of the issue and fixed it. He also checked the second oven for temperature accuracy. We are very satisfied with the professionalism, courtesy and workmanship of the technician. He wore a mask and gloves the entire time and kept his distance from us.

Icon

Diane Tachera, Jackson

On May 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My washer started leaking. American Home Shield responded quickly and sent Sears out to fix it. Sears delayed the repair as they needed to order 3 parts one of which was backordered for 2 months. Eventually the parts were delivered and Sears returned and decided that the washer was not fixable, they didn\'t even use the parts. They contacted American Home Shield and reported their findings. Very quickly AMS offered a very nice quality replacement washer. I was required to purchase the pedestal separately but they had it available thru their own purchasing and I was able to get it at a good price. I have no issues with how they resolved this whole issue. It was delayed several months but that was because of Sears not AHS.

Icon

Karen Kemp, Selma

On May 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Filed a claim online with AHS about my pool pump. Got a call about 2 hours later from a repair shop. Made an appointment for the following morning. Service guy was prompt, looked at pump. Replaced some small parts, tested it and was done. What a relief. We were very happy.

Icon

Dennis Chapdelaine, Yorba Linda

On May 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our dishwasher stopped working on Saturday evening and I logged on to my account and put in a repair request immediately. I got the standard text right away but within an hour I had a phone call from the repair service and had an appointment on Monday afternoon. The repair person knew exactly what the problem was and had the part (just a blown fuse) on hand. This is my third submission (came with a home purchase) and all have been just like this.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in California

Reviews and feedback provided by actual home warranty customers help you get deeper insights and make the right choice. If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company, write your review and help other homeowners in choosing the best company.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020