ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  California
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 7, 2020

Home Warranties in California

Here is an exclusive list of top home warranty companies in California to help homeowners select an ideal home warranty plan. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled this list by collecting numerous reviews and ratings from the existing customers. The consumer reviews, combined with in-depth research by the editorial team, will help you pick out a plan that perfectly fits your needs.

Expensive systems or appliances breaking down can stir up quite a bit of hassle. A home warranty plan can save you a great deal of time and money by swiftly swinging into action, and all it takes is just a phone call to register your complaint.

SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

Best Home Warranty Companies In California

HMS Home Warranty
2
/ 5
Based on 1,453 Reviews
  • HMS Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $90.51
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Offers a coverage limit of $3K
PRICING

$400 - $600+

SERVICE FEE

$100 - $200

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews
2
/ 5
Based on 779 Reviews
  • Old Republic Home Protection average deductible for a contract is $72.65
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.3
PRICING

$260-$500

SERVICE FEE

$55-$100

Fidelity National Home Warranty
2
/ 5
Based on 620 Reviews
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.5
  • Been in the industry since 1995
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
PRICING

$350-$445

SERVICE FEE

$65

HomeServe USA
1.5
/ 5
Based on 8 Reviews
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Been in the industry since 1993
PRICING

$239-$379

SERVICE FEE

N/A

Cinch Home Services
2.5
/ 5
Based on 5 Reviews
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 3
PRICING

N/A

SERVICE FEE

N/A

A Glimpse At Average Premium In california

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The home service Club has two plans based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

If you are searching for the best home warranty coverage, then here by getting a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a home warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a home warranty to protect them.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair services. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the bigger systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy warranty plans from companies that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on those devices that you either don't own or on the ones that require very little maintenance.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home warranty plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems.

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your home appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time, which when your appliances are exposed to, gradually renders them non-functional.You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your home appliances and systems, usually when they are kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

california Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. Our website lists reviews on home warranty companies and their services in California. They provide insightful information. Reviews about home warranty companies and their services help you make the right decision.

Icon

Silvia Bergren, Granada Hills

On Sep 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

second time around. the first tech did not resolve the problem, the second one did!! He was very professional. The lst tech was not as thorough - did not inspect like the second one.

Icon

Ashwani Wason, Granite Bay

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

May I get someones attention at AHS - anyone? Customer for a year. Requested service for the first time. Contractor arrived. Didnt do the job at the pretext that the items are not covered when they are clearly listed in my contract as covered - toilet leak and faucet replacement. Was charged two separate $100 charges. Work order on my dashboard left open. Job marked complete. Spoken twice over two weekends to your customer service on 8/29 and 9/5. First to ******* and then to *********. Was assured of call backs. They could not figure out why contractor did not do the job. Said would need to call them. But complete radio silence from your end. You have made it exceptionally hard to provide customer support because you dont allow email. There are no records nothing. ******* did not leave any notes. I could try a third time because it is said to be a charm, but not sure with a service organization as pathologically broken as AHS if it will still help. Would like to help? Look up plan #273433612 and contact me.

Icon

tom, Escondido

On Sep 11, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

LOWES SUCKS BIG, WITH THEIR WARRANTY SERVICE, BEEN ON THE PHONE CURRENTLY 2 F*CKING HOURS, NOT ONE PICK UP! WHAT THE HELL, DO THEY HVE ONLY ONE DIPSHIT ANSWERING THE PHONE? COME ON PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOUR ASSES AND HAVE SOME CUSTOMER CARE HAPPENING!

Icon

Chiara T, Sacramento

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

If you want to call to make a service request, it’s almost an hour long wait. Much easier to request online. Pleased with the tech who took care of all our appliance issues.

Icon

Niloo Soleimani, Stockton

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is a horrible warranty company. It takes 1.5 hours to get the calls answered, even before COVID19. Our drier broke and we opened a ticket online. After the contractor came, he said the dryer needed to be replaced. We received a letter that let us choose between a GE dryer and $600 cash. We chose the GE Dryer. We\'ve waited a month and the dryer has not come. We called many times and after 1.5 to 2 hours of waiting they would hang up. Finally we found a person in the Appliance Dept who took down all the info and said the dryer will arrive in 2 weeks. Three weeks later, when we didn't get the dryer we called again several times, each time waiting 1.5-2 hours before we could speak to a person. they said you never filed for replacement. and now you can't get the GE dryer and gave a model that was much worse and a choice of $400 instead of the original $600. We were so sick of being run around and wasting hours and hours on the phone, we accepted. But this is not right! They are a scam of a company

Icon

Pilar Goodwin, Lancaster

On Sep 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I gave Sun Powerded Solution a good rating because I thought they fixed the problem but it’s not fixed. They came and fix a pipe that was plug up in my air conditioners according to them that was going to fix the leak but when I used the air conditioner the leak started to drip again. The problem was no fixed. I called again to AHS and they set up an order again on Friday, unfortunately it’s the weekend so i haven’t received a call for the second visit. I am little frustrated because it seems to be very time something gets fixed they have to come back twice.

Icon

Clarissa Hsu, Davis

On Sep 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Service was good but the wait to connect to a representative is TOO LONG! Need to have a better system to answer calls of service. Also our repair was not finish so I had to call again and again.

Icon

Rita , Torrance

On Sep 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Plumber came as scheduled, was on time, polite and explained the issue after job was finished. Would use him again. Amerian Home Warranty is the best, have had them for 2 years now and no issues. Scheduling is very easy.

Icon

John Hartmann, Van Nuys

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Worst possible experience. Plumber came over said he fixed the problem under the sink but wouldn\'t fix the faucet which was also leaking. Told me it would cost 260 . I called you and said he tried to charge me 260 you said it should be 120. I have tried for a month to get OnTime plumbing to call me back and they aren\'t answering. I\'ve been on hold for a total over 12 hours calling your phone lines and have been hung up on and disconnected several times. Still can't get the problem solved. I spoke to one nice person who promised to call me back after seeing how long I'd been trying to resolve the problem and she never called me back. Horrible on every level possible. I paid the service fee and the problem still hasn't been fixed . It's been more than a month.

Icon

Rod Pereir, Fairfield

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Thank you so much American Home Shield for saving me time and money. I stated baking again and my ice maker is working again. I really appreciated the prompt response and the contractor\'s quick appointment response. They do such a great job.

Icon

Sylvia M Gardea, Huntington Beach

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It took to long to get a tech to come out almost two weeks. However when they did come out the service went very well . we feel service should be within a week .

Icon

Nicolette G, Paso Robles

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My overall rating with the service and service providers is 5 stars. I am, however, very unhappy that I have been waiting since August 10th to be reimbursed for a service I canceled on August 9th. I think that is a long time to wait for reimbursement for a service I was charged for and am paying interest on and did not receive. Other than that I am very happy with A.H.S

Icon

susan, La Mesa

On Sep 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been happy with services I have received from AHS: dishwasher and microwave and air conditioner. Knowledgeable technicians who are courteous and respectful. I would recommend AHS!

Icon

Vero Martinez, Bakersfield

On Aug 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience with Hero’s Plumbing. Technician was knowledgeable. Efficient & worked in a timely manner. Cleaned up all the mess he made while conducting his job. Tested it 4-5 times to make sure he did his job correctly. No more leaking toilet.

Icon

Fred Ramirez , Fresno

On Aug 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I will keep my AHS They are a great company to have on your side. They fix the AC and it runs great and fixed in a timely manner. Thank you AHS.

Icon

Brandon Hobson, Escondido

On Aug 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I recently bought my home warranty through American Home Shield and I am happy I did. Within a month my AC needed maintenance during a heatwave. I have a 6-month baby, so it was very nice that they prioritized my job. Thank you!

Icon

Marlene Hostler, Fairfield

On Aug 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

On line is good but there are times when you need to speak to a real person.Having to be on hold for an hour is not good customer service.Most of the service vendors have been very good.

Icon

Bayani, Van Nuys

On Aug 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I reported the problem with my Air Condition and Water pressure regulator, American Home Shield send two professionals to fix the problems in a timely manner, great experience so far.

Icon

Richard McGrath, Reseda

On Aug 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I was experiencing a water leak from the condenser of my A/C unit during a prolonged 100 degree period. Using AHS\'s website to schedule a repair visit was simple and easy. The vendor arrived on time and completed the work quickly.

Icon

roy matthews, Palm Desert

On Aug 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield acted very quickly to my request for a/c repair which was essential because the temperature was in the 100\'s. The technician that repaired the problem was very good.

Icon

Sherrie Howell, Pleasanton

On Aug 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Filing the claim was fast and easy, the follow-up not so much! Repair person arrived and diagnosed problem. Refrigerator needed to be replaced, he spoke with a rep who hung up on him, next day my serviced call said closed, no remarks no follow up. I called and was on HOLD for 1.5 hours, (yes that’s 90 minutes) spoke with an rep who said I needed to speak with replacement dept. she transferred my call, on HOLD for one hour and 15 minutes before speaking with someone else. The second rep. said she needed to speak with someone else to get the approval, on HOLD another 35 minutes. Confirmed the refrigerator would be replaced, received the confirmation email. Chose the replacement option I wanted, but have yet to get any sort of reply confirming my option. Another call this afternoon, expecting a long wait again?. Need the refrigerator NOW! I realize we’re living in difficult times, but the wait time on the phone truly is unacceptable.

Icon

Linda Zamora Murillo, Riverside

On Aug 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

No resolution, no call back from a supervisor issue still not resolved after claim was placed 16 days ago. Our air conditioner broke during a heat wave. My daughter got sick from the heat. We have spent over $600 on hotels which probably would have been cheaper just to pay to fix it myself with a reputable AC company.

Icon

Linda Zamora Murillo, Riverside

On Aug 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

No resolution, no call back from a supervisor issue still not resolved after claim was placed 16 days ago. Our air conditioner broke during a heat wave. My daughter got sick from the heat. We have spent over $600 on hotels which probably would have been cheaper just to pay to fix it myself with a reputable AC company.

Icon

Sally D, Ladera Ranch

On Aug 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had a great experience. The service people were very friendly, professional, and arrived on time. Our AC unit is ancient but Is still running great. I would definitely recommend using Metropolitan in the future.

Icon

Lily K, Arcadia

On Aug 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It was so hard to talk to a representative for service request. The phone just ask me to make a request online on website or automatic system. Very BAD customer service.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020