ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   California
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2022

The Best Home Warranty Companies In California - 2022

Whether you have owned a house for a long or plan to buy one, you know there is always the possibility that the systems and appliances can break down. The costly repairs can burn a hole into your pocket, but a home warranty can act as a money saver. If you're wondering which provider to choose for excellent services, we have shortlisted California's best home warranty companies. These are affordable and provide round-the-clock services with great discounts.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

The Best Home Warranty Companies In California - 2022

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$46-$55 monthly

SERVICE FEE

$60-$85

mapicon

Global Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Entered the industry in 2019
  • Provides 30 days moneyback guarantee on all plans
  • The waiting period is 30 days
mapicon

PRICING

$299-$599

SERVICE FEE

$45

mapicon

Sears Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

PRICING

$49.99 - $69.99

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

Is Home Warranty Required In California?

A home warranty can provide comprehensive protection to the interior elements of your home - appliances, and systems. This warranty reduces repair or replacement expenses that you may face in case of an unexpected breakdown and allows you peace of mind. You also get 24/7 customer service when filing claims. Let’s take a look at how it can be of use to the following people -

  1. First-time Buyers - Buying a home in California can wipe out your savings. It can be challenging for first-time buyers to afford expensive repair works after making such a huge investment. A home warranty can be an ideal solution in this regard as it reduces repair and replacement costs by a wide margin.
  2. Old House Buyer - Buying an older home may not be as much of a steal as you thought it would be, no matter its low cost. Its appliances and systems are more vulnerable to normal wear and tear and can bring about unexpected expenses. It is best to have protection like home warranties in place for older homes.
  3. Homeowners - For homeowners, the smooth functioning of appliances and systems is necessary to get through the day. A home warranty can help out in such cases by taking care of any sudden repairs promptly. It can also easily fit into your budget.
  4. DIY-ers - The appeal of DIY is obvious, it can be a great way to save money. However, some things are best left in the hands of a professional. Sometimes your best efforts are not enough to resolve a problem and may cause even more damage. Fixes for HVAC systems, roof, plumbing, and electrical issues, etc., require training and years of experience. Home warranty companies work with skilled technicians who can quickly get the job done.
  5. Home Sellers - Selling your home in California is a harrowing ordeal despite the lucrative real estate market. After all, what can you do when a potential buyer questions your home’s condition? An easy way to avoid such circumstances is to buy Seller’s coverage from a home warranty company. You can use it to repair any existing issues and even attract more potential buyers. And since home warranties are easily transferable, you can offer coverage as a part of the sale to make a profit.
  6. Landlords - Owners of residential properties can benefit from having a home warranty in place. In California, it is mostly landlords who are responsible for the maintenance of appliances and systems. Having a home warranty plan will reduce the time and effort required to find a technician and resolve the issue.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, and Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a residential warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a comprehensive plan to protect them from unexpected costs.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage you want also depends on your expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair service contractors. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the major home systems out of your league.
  5. But if you are pretty inexperienced at fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers more minor repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy plans from home warranty providers that allow you to customize your plan, which means that you can choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on devices that would hardly be damaged within the covered tenure.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then you should get a home buyer’s plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems. You should check the terms and conditions in detail to avoid any surprises.

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time. When your appliances are exposed to this moisture, it accelerates the rate of normal wear and tear.

You could also face the problem of the erratic performance of devices. This is because of the monsoon’s season damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your major appliances and systems, usually when kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

A Glimpse At Average Premium In California

The average premium in California is $318.83, and the deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph where the X-axis represents the price of the premium and the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in california (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty coverage plan that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for California residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan covering 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The Home Service Club has two plan options based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are Standard Coverage and Comprehensive Coverage; suitable for owners of newer and older homes respectively. Standard Coverage would be a good idea if you have some appliances still under manufacturer warranty.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans. Select Home Warranty frequently offers discounts making them a budget-friendly option.

Looking for their exact pricing details? Then get your free home warranty quote!

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Pays For Home Warranty In California?

It depends on various situations but anyone can pay for a home warranty in California. Homeowners can purchase a home warranty for protecting their house and budget. Home warranty companies sell exclusive coverage to both homebuyers and sellers.

Sellers buy it to incentivize buyers and buyers purchase it to have protection in place in case of an unexpected breakdown. Real estate agents tie up with home warranty companies to endorse it and even offer it a gift to the buyer after closing.

Which Home Warranty Company Is The Best In California?

Several top-rated home warranty companies serve in California and identifying any one company as the absolute best depends mainly on customer preferences. Reviews on our site indicate that Select Home Warranty, Choice Home Warranty, AHS, and ServicePlus Home Warranty are top appliance plan picks in California. Check out the list above for details.

What Are The Home Warranty Regulations In California?

In California, Home warranty companies are self-regulated via the National Home Service Contract Association and government-regulated through the California Department of Insurance. The home warranty providers have to register and meet all the statutory and procedural requirements to operate in California. As per the law, a home warranty contract is a service agreement and not insurance.

How Long Is A New Home Warranty In California?

A typical home warranty in California lasts for a year or more, depending on the home warranty company and any offers they may have running. Alternatively, you can also choose to buy a monthly plan which lasts for 30 days.

Is Choice Home Warranty Available In California?

No, Choice Home Warranty currently does not offer its services in the state of California. However, you can check out top companies like American Home Shield and Select Home Warranty that offer additional options like roof coverage, lower deductibles, and comparatively more plan options that offer their services in the state.

How Quickly Are Home Warranty Claims Handled?

Once you file your home warranty claim, the company may take anywhere between 24-48 hours to arrange a contractor to service your repair. After diagnosing the problem, the repair time will be based on the magnitude of the breakdown.

How is a home warranty different from homeowners insurance?

A homeowner's insurance protects homeowners from the liability of accidents at home or committed by the homeowner, the effects of disasters, thefts, etc. A home warranty is a service contract to offset repair costs of mechanically worn-out home systems and appliances or their replacement cost. Home insurance won't cover repairs, while a home warranty will not cover damage due to natural disasters. You can check out our guide on Home Warranty vs Home Insurance to learn more.

California Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Pamela, Ontario

On May 14, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The majority of the time service is excellent and on time. they always go beyond what you expect. Customer service is top quality. Sometimes the monthly cost is high.

Icon

Kelley Holland, Hesperia

On May 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

J**** with J&* appliances was amazing, he was quick to find the problem and get the parts ordered. AHS was quick to respond and make sure that a technician was dispatched out immediately, Excellent service from both parties.

Icon

Kathy Dena, Indio

On May 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We are very happy with the service we received. The customer service and the quality of repair was excellent. Parts needed to be ordered and were done in a timely manner. We highly recommend American Home Shield.

Icon

Jane Nystrem, Visalia

On May 11, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent. Was on time. Analysis of problem and time to execute repairs was quick and accurate. The repairman was very courteous and polite. Explained everything very well He was clean and made sure to explain the use of the new thermostat.

Icon

Denise Flores, Red Bluff

On May 10, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fantastic! Better then I ever expected! I had a poor experience years ago with a different provider and just thought the whole home warranty idea was a big scam. Not so! Just use the right company, I recommend AHS

Icon

Jacqueline Engel, Mission Viejo

On May 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very pleased with the service I received from American Home Shield and highly recommend them. I was a little disappointed that my washer took 2 weeks to be repaired, however it was because parts had to be ordered.

Icon

Hao Xie, El Dorado Hills

On May 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service! The contractor comes out on time and solve the issue. We are very satisfied with the home warranty. We have been using this company for several years and never had any problem.

Icon

Thomas W, El Sobrante

On May 06, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Pleasantly surprised. When our cooktop super burner replacement element was no longer in stock they offered us a new cooktop. Replacement parts were no longer available for our cooktop. AHS was very cooperative and helped us with new cooktop selection, delivery, removal of old unit and installation of new cooktop. The delivery and installation contractors were top notch.

Icon

liliana Brisson, San Ysidro

On May 04, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am beyond disappointed with American Home Shield (AHS) if I could leave 0 stars I would. I had an issue with my water heater in March and the issue was not resolved until May. Since American Home Shield uses third party contractors, they seem to have contracts with each other and take advantage of clients by coming to your home and guesstimating what the issue is without any tools, nor visible proof of what is going on, adding issues that are not there without evidence, wanting to charge more for additional services. Therefore, we had to contract our own plumber and upon sending receipts to the company, I was given the runaround in both English and Spanish. Upon requesting to speak with management, they ignored my call and never followed up. Somehow, they came up with a payout amount two times lower than what we paid without any evidence on how they came up with that amount and why. According to the California Department of Insurance § 2695.7. Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlements. 10 CA ADC § 2695.7 BARCLAYS OFFICIAL CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS: “Every insurer shall conduct and diligently pursue a thorough, fair, and objective investigation and shall not persist in seeking information not reasonably required for or material to the resolution of a claim dispute. No insurer shall attempt to settle a claim by making a settlement offer that is unreasonably low. The Commissioner shall consider any admissible evidence offered regarding the factors in determining whether a settlement offer is unreasonably low”. Which is something American Home Shield did not do or followed. In addition, I never received a letter from them stating why they made that offer, their basis of coming up with that amount nor the breakdown of items that made them come up with that solution, which they have 30 days to do so and never did. Therefore, I cancelled my account and no longer want their poor services. Instead of helping, they added stress and worry.

Icon

Noemi Esparza, Hesperia

On May 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service. All the process was really fast. The guy from the plumbering company was si professional. B**** was so polite. They fixed it so fast. They did the job so fast. I liked the brand of the water heater.

Icon

Mel, Gilroy

On Apr 29, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It was very easy to request service for my refrigerator. An appliance service provider was soon assigned who then called to set up an appointment within 24 hours. The repair service technician was prompt and diagnosed the problem accurately and was able to replace the faulty part in a timely manner. I appreciate the service technician “M**” from T* Service for his competency and diligence. Thank you AHS and T* Service.

Icon

Robert Adams, Pasadena

On Apr 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

A** who did our repair was great! Came to our house late Saturday afternoon and worked very to correct the issue in our kitchen sink! I will ask for him for any future issues and if he is busy I will work my schedule around his. Unreal customer service!! Robert Adams

Icon

Jody Evans, Rancho Cordova

On Apr 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had the best experience! This is my first experience & I was taken care of right away. The repairman called me within an hour, scheduled an appointment the next day & was out. We needed an air compressor which he ordered that day & we had it the following Monday. He came out to repair it. N** is amazing. He is on time, does excellent work, he does over & beyond what he has to. I highly recommend American Home Shield! Thank you!

Icon

Gloria, San Diego

On Apr 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As a real estate agent, I used First American Home Warranty and American Home Shield. My experience with both companies is different. Now I am more interested in choose American Home Shield, which is a well organized, policy clearly expressed. Its online representives are alwayse available and helpful. They can promptly contact a vendor who will schedule an appointment ASAP. It is well recommended.

Icon

Calvin Tuon, Clovis

On Apr 26, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good replacement product. Timely manner, I\'m a happy camper. AHS is legit. It\'s a little more but you get what you pay for, quality. I\'d definitely recommend them easily.

Icon

Theresa A a coleman, Fontana

On Apr 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had some air conditioning issues and the turn around time for a/c Was 4 days they don\'t have people come out on the weekend The customer service lacked But when the contractor came he was awesome

Icon

Susan , Brentwood

On Apr 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had compounded plumbing issues and each one was resolved with the expertise of a variety of technicians. Each technician was punctual, polite and professional. They were identified with the ir company truck and wearing logo uniforms combined with the employee badge. The customer service representative was outstanding as well as the dispatch service for appointments. The process was thorough and fair.

Icon

Yvonne Fernandez, Rancho Cucamonga

On Apr 22, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When we have a problem with our home and we call AHS everyone is very helpful, friendly, courteous and professional. We have been a customer for a long time and we are very happy with the service. When we have a problem with our home it’s so easy to work with the companies and the quality of the repairs are always outstanding. Excellent customer service

Icon

Mary Foster, Riverside

On Apr 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve had American home shield for over 10 years now and every time I have an issue and I call them they have it fixed within a week my last issue was my pool filter housing and leaking pipes and I had it fixed within a week will not use any other home warranty services except for American home shield thank you American home shield

Icon

Gregory B, Riverside

On Apr 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Repair and replacement of bathroom parts were timely, it did however take two weeks to get the part. Plumber showed up on time and the repair was quick and efficient

Icon

Matthew Sandlow, Simi Valley

On Apr 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Listened to me and repair issue resolved. Highly recommend. I have tried others over the years. This is the one I trust. Took care of an issue with one call to customer service.

Icon

Cheryl Glen, Wildomar

On Apr 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Ive used my home warranty last year my washing machine stopped working. It took 2 months to get it repaired because the part wasnt available. The first company assigned to me (A*****) had bad ratings so I called to have it changed to Z** A********. It took several calls before I could get the change made. The second warranty service call was last month regarding my refrigerator, and I specifically asked for Z** A********. They came right out and the took care of the matter. This is my big problem with AHS. They contract out their customer service to individuals in another country. These individuals are hard to understand because of their heavy accents, and I have found that even though they are very positive and seem helpful, the situation rarely gets taken care of the first time. Case in point, when it was time to renew in November 2021, I called and was given a $100 discount on my yearly contract. I paid immediately with a credit card. Two months later I started getting notices that I was $100 delinquent on my payment. When I phoned for an explanation, I was told my contract was cancelled because I hadnt paid the $100. I explained the situation and was told it would be taken care of and that there would be no problem if I needed to file a claim. I continued to get notices that I was delinquent and that my account was sent to collections. Of course, when I phoned, I was not able to speak to anyone in collections nor was I able to speak to a supervisor, but I was assured that it was being taken care of. Then, when I filed my refrigerator claim in March, I was told the contract had been cancelled. It was then that I scoured the website and found an email address, to which I sent a detailed description of what had transpired. I also noted that I have AHS contracts on two properties and that if the situation didnt get taken care of in a reasonable time I was going cancel both...I was furious! A day or so later a representative from AHS did respond and assured me the matter was taken care of. (I havent gone online to double check, but I havent gotten any delinquent messages and I was able to file the claim.) It took over 6 phone calls and 4 months to straighten out the mess someone at AHS made. Contracting out customer service to individuals in another country obviously saves the company money, but it sure doesnt send a good message to customers.

Icon

Beverly Greenslade, Cathedral City

On Apr 10, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS did an outstanding job. They offered Excellent Customer Service, by appointing professional and competent contractors. I had a time issue, as escrow was closing, and I needed A/C repair immediately. AHS saw to it that the work was done. Bravo, AHS

Icon

Owen Falk, Scotts Valley

On Apr 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has terrible customer service and was completely uninterested in resolving the issues that their customers pay for. I submitted a claim for refrigerator repair. It took two weeks to get a technician out and when the technician showed up they were unable to fix the issues. They said they could have come to that conclusion if the information submitted in the claim was communicated to them. When I followed up with American Home Shield they suggested that I call the same company to service the refrigerator. I spent over 4 hours on hold and when I asked to speak the escalations department, the representative put me on hold. What they didn't realize is that after 10 minutes the hold auto ends and I could hear them discussing how they were trying to get me to hang up so they didn't have to connect me with the escalations department. Terrible customer service. When I finally got connected to the escalations department they weren't able to address the issue either.

Icon

Troy Bannister, Sacramento

On Apr 08, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS support is fantastic. I flagged the initial contractor with bad reviews. They helped me select another with high ratings. Technician that came was excellent and repaired the appliance within two hours!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020