ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN bakersfield, california

city icon CITY: Bakersfield
country icon COUNTRY: Kern County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 520197
area code icon AREA CODE: 6,61,805
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 93301, 93302, 93303, 93304, 93305,
city icon CITY: Bakersfield
country icon COUNTRY: Kern County
state icon STATE: CA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 93301, 93302, 93303, 93304, 93305,
population icon POPULATION: 520197
area code icon AREA CODE: 6,61,805
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in bakersfield, california

Editors choice

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

2 / 5
(2,279 Reviews )

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Complete Appliance Protection

3.5 / 5
(180 Reviews )
The company has been protecting homes since 1998. They offer a wide range of warranty plans that cover all major appliances and systems. Their policy comes into effect immediately.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

1.5 / 5
(224 Reviews )
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

1.5 / 5
(140 Reviews )
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

HMS Home Warranty

2 / 5
(1,452 Reviews )
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

bakersfield Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lynda Ash, Bakersfield

On Oct 10, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS was called on May 19, 2018 as my refrigerator (less than 3 yrs. old) stopped working. I got an immediate response and a repair tech was sent out who unfortunately was not able to repair. A 2nd tech was sent on May25, 2018 and again not able to repair. A 3rd tech was sent out on May 29, 2018 and fixed the issues. On Jul7 5, 2018 the refrigerator stopped working again (and for the 2nd time spoiled all the food). Here it is October 9, 2018 and the refrigerator still isn't working at 11 service calls (6 different repair techs). At what point is "enough enough?" Just looking for some type of reimbursement at this time to cover the cost of a new refrigerator.

Icon

kiran kumar, Bakersfield

On Aug 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

its been so long that u guys cant even get one refrigerator fixed its just crazy u have been there so many times and all the repair companies they come -- they say it needs to be replaced but i cant get it -- why u guys keep sending repairing guys and not just get it changed.

Icon

Michael Ivey, Bakersfield

On May 30, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Telephone hold time is way too long but service is great.

Icon

Kim Dettrey , Bakersfield

On May 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Prompt service, they seem to check out the subcontractors well.

Icon

Kenny Williams, Bakersfield

On Apr 10, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS handled my call promptly and dispatched a service quickly . The service company’ arrived and handled it promptly and professionally. Was very happy with with the entire process.

Icon

Rose, Bakersfield

On Mar 14, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Excellent service on repairs and excellent service from staff of AHS.

Icon

Laura, Bakersfield

On Oct 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Seamless transaction. Filed my claim online. The provider called me within the hour to schedule. Issues were resolved in one visit. Very pleased!

Icon

Chris Forzetting, Bakersfield

On Oct 12, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called for a dishwasher repair. On the day of the repair, after the Sears tech had not shown up by noon, I called Sears and found that they had cancelled the visit and not told me. The next available appointment was over a month out. I called AHS, but got nowhere with the automated system, so left a comment on the Facebook page. I was told I would be responded to quickly, but it has now been over two months and I have never been contacted by AHS. Their lack of availability to respond to customer problems puts my rating low. Also, whether this is an issue originating with the companies they use or part of their contract with those companies, but it is impossible for a service call to be scheduled during 'non-business' hours, which means you have to take time off work to get the problem fixed. I had to do this twice for the same issue as said above.

Icon

Lora Burnett, Bakersfield

On Sep 20, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have used three different Home Warranty providers in the last 7 years of owning our home. American Home Shield is, by far, the best .. They professional, timely, and the bedt value. We are VERY satisfied customers! Thank you, AHS, for the prace of mind you give us.

Icon

LaFleasha Owens, Bakersfield

On Jul 09, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I appreciate the timely response time and the technicians were friendly too. I am satisfied with the results of the work.

Icon

Vicki, Bakersfield

On Jul 21, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I bought a new AC unit in January 1999. I have had ongoing problems with AHS for several years now, regarding my AC unit. I've had 5 vendors to service my AC unit since September 2015. It has a new motor, new compressor, new freon installed twice since October 2015 to the tune of almost $1,000.00 out of my pocket (I'm disabled retired), new run cap, new everything. The unit went down again on May 31, 2016. Vendors have been to my home since then (all throughout June 2016). The week of July 17 2016, a vendor has been to my home every other day and twice today (July 21, 2016). The unit blows hot air. AHS does not want to replace the unit. I'm getting the run around. The average temp in my city is 100. The average temp inside of my home this week have been 88. Oh, and did I mention I've been an AHS customer since I bought my home in 1999? I cannot recommend this company to anyone.

Icon

Michael, Bakersfield

On Jun 10, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I've been a customer of AHS for several years now. I submitted a service request for A/C repair on June 3, 2016. The "Simply Heating & Air" Repairman shows up on June 8, 2016, 1 hour past the service window appointment as scheduled. After 2 hours to determine the problem with the A/C, he tells me it's too late in the day to obtain the part needed for the repair, and he won't be able to return with the part for another 5 days because he has other appointments booked. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! And come to find out this Repairman is the only one working in my area for "Simply Heating & Air" that AHS assigned to my service request. RIDICULOUS!!! I would not recommend AHS to anyone, and I will be cancelling my policy with AHS.

Icon

Kergan peterson, Bakersfield

On Mar 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS for over a year and this is the first time using them. It has been a month trying to get a 2 year old washing machine fixed...still is not fixed. They sent a guy out twice that did not know what he was doing at all. Finally got someone out that had the part and could fix it but after talking to 5 employees from AHS could not get the right service code he left without fixing it. It's been a long frustrating process. Still has not been fixed. I would not recommend this company. I hope they can fix soon and be done with this.

Icon

Linda peterson, Bakersfield

On Mar 08, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I went with American home shield to cover a new washer and dryer (Sam sung) which I was a little uncomfortable with the brand. When I did need service after a year of paying my dues for over a year it has been an ordeal to say the least. I have had a repairman out twice who ordered a door latch for a washer that needed a hinge to fix the drum that was bent and banging every time it was on the spin cycle. They finally got a repairman out that had the part but because I had already paid my dedut able to the first repairman and after him and I speaking to 5 employees from American home shield to get a new service number and not getting a new service number he had to leave without fixing it. It has been a month and all the supervisors can say is I'm sorry. I'm sorry but not good enough. It would have been cheaper and a couple of days to call out someone on my own. I would have had it fixed a month ago. Very poor service. I do not recommend this company at all.

Icon

Wesley Michael, Bakersfield

On Apr 20, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

When I called about the shower handle leaking the contractor called me that day. They were able to come to the house, look at and fix the leak within 2 days of my request for service.

Icon

Yesenia, Bakersfield

On Nov 03, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had called AHS for service on two of my ceiling fans and our guest bathroom. The electrician was on time and was extremely knowledgeable about the repairs. He was extremely professional and diagnosed the problem right away and was able to make the repairs on site with parts he had on hand. That same day, we had Hero Plumbing come to our home and repair/replace parts on our guest bathroom toilet. He was on time and addressed the problem quickly and efficiently. He was very professional and we were very pleased with his work. Both issues had been addressed and we were happy.

Icon

Martin, Bakersfield

On Nov 29, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Too bad there are no zero stars. AVOID THIS COMPANY LIKE THE PLAGUE. 1. Bad Central VAC - replaced, but had to pay the deductible PLUS the difference between the repair cost and replacement. 2. Bad Compactor. Took 3 months to repair. Parts issues I was told. 3. Bad Dishwasher - Replaced by me due to Maytag recall. This actually worked out OK, but I did the work, AHS paid for a portion of the DW. 4. Cracked DACOR cooktop. White. 36 inch. They sent a ROPER, Black 30 inch cooktop glass. Nice. This repair could not be made because AHS suppliers could not locate a new glass. I located it after a 15 min internet search. They would not allow it. Finally replaced a very high end DACOR cooktop with a GE. Nice move. This process took 4 months with me being a total PITA to them. Not good. 5. Pool pump howling. Called for service - tech says NOPE not covered. It is still working. Nevermind that the sound could wake the dead. That'll be 75 bucks. After the tech left, timers would not cycle the equipment off. Awesome. 6. CANCELLED Policy after 3 years. Dont do it. Ever.

Icon

Ronda R., Bakersfield

On Nov 17, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS now for almost 9 years. They are ok with minor problems, but when it comes to something more expensive they really suck! We had problems with our A/C unit and called them to fix the problem. Someone came out to fix it, but it broke again. So we call them back and another person comes out to fix it. They said the whole unit needed to be replaced and AHS said that it wasn't covered due to wear and tear. We ask for a second opinion and of course we have to pay for it. The second opinion tells us that the last person who worked on it grounded it wrong and it needed to be replaced. Well, do you think they replaced it? No! They stuck with the first persons opinion. What is sad, is that AHS called out both companies. We gave in and just decided to buy the a/c unit our selves. Now having problems with them again. This time it's a microwave/oven combo for my rental. The frame on the bottom of the microwave broke some how. So I call them to fix the problem because since there is no support for the glass, it's starting to drop. They send someone out to look at it. I was told by the tech that it was old and would be extremely hard to find a door to replace it. He said he will have to let AHS know of his findings. He also asked about the oven. I said, I was told it wasn't baking properly. So he checked that. His findings were; at 350 the temperature read 280. He told me there was nothing he could do about the microwave until he got a response from AHS. This took place on Saturday, so I waited for the next week. I ended up calling AHS on Wednesday, because Monday was Veterans Day. The representative said they were still waiting for the company because the status was that they were researching the item and they have 24-48 hours to research. Then it is sent to AHS and Friday I would get an answer. I get a phone call after 5 pm Friday saying my request was denied. I asked why and was told that the frame broke because the door was miss used. The crack was caused by a loose screw in or near the handle. That when it was tightened it caused a crack that lead to the piece breaking. So I go back to my rental to have another look. I find no screws near the piece that broke except a little white thing that is plastic and you just push it in. There is no way for it to do any damage to the frame. Not once in the report did it mention anything about my oven not heating properly. My opinion is that at one time my oven probably got too hot and warped the frame and it became soft. That's when it eventually broke. I will be calling back on Monday and I'm not giving in this time. I'm also going to be looking for another warranty company.

Icon

Justin Garant, Bakersfield

On Jul 06, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

First call was on fridge. Went well. Second call on dishwasher was a nightmare. AHS actually yelled at my wife. Worst customer service I have ever seen

Icon

gregory heiss, bakersfield

On Jun 18, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would have had nothing but positives. Issues with Dishwasher, central vac and electrical issues have been handled VERY well. Then the cooktop. Wow. It is like I woke up in another universe. Back ordered part, wrong part sent, now they are wanting to replace my Dacor cooktop with a GE. Seriously? The part is available, but since it is not with one of their vendors, they wont order it. It is also available at the factory, but still they refuse to order it. I have a broken glass cooktop in my home and have had for 3 months now, still no resolution. Sickening. I hope my wife or kids don't cut themselves on the thing while we continue to wait for resolution which for me is a new glass top on my existing cooktop. Not too much to ask IMHO, since I have a contract with them. AVOID.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020