ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN los angeles, california

city icon CITY: Los Angeles
country icon COUNTRY: Los Angeles County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 2378448
area code icon AREA CODE: 323
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 90001, 90002, 90003, 90004, 90005,
city icon CITY: Los Angeles
country icon COUNTRY: Los Angeles County
state icon STATE: CA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 90001, 90002, 90003, 90004, 90005,
population icon POPULATION: 2378448
area code icon AREA CODE: 323
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in los angeles, california

Editors choice

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

2 / 5
(2,284 Reviews )

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Complete Appliance Protection

3.5 / 5
(180 Reviews )
The company has been protecting homes since 1998. They offer a wide range of warranty plans that cover all major appliances and systems. Their policy comes into effect immediately.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

1.5 / 5
(224 Reviews )
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

1.5 / 5
(140 Reviews )
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

HMS Home Warranty

2 / 5
(1,452 Reviews )
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

los angeles Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Chris, Los Angeles

On Dec 15, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Terrible experience. If there was a rating I could give that was lower than 1 star I would. Repair service was not completed. Called them back to have the contractor sent back out. After extremely long wait times on hold and being passed around, I was told they would send the contractor back out. Did not happen. Followed up and tried to speak to a supervisor and got a real run around. Customer service is the absolute worst. The system is set up to delay and dismay. Do not do business with this company. If you fail for their pitch, get a refund. You are just giving you money away.

Icon

Jairo , Los Angeles

On Nov 15, 2018

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

I made a call for a water leak underneath the house. The service guy came and said he was going to fix the water leak however he was not instructed to go under the house. He told me to call again and tell them my the leaks. He left without checking anything. I call them again and my mom was home and she told me he went underneath the house and said everything was fine. I came home and check and I still had the water leak. for this leak I had to repair the foundation, the kitchen floor. I used an outside contractor to do the work. OLD REPUBLIC keeps sending me letter to pay for services I never received. Stay away from this company. They want to charge you every time you make a call then they tell you nothing is wrong and you owe them.

Icon

Brenda Mills, Los Angeles

On Jun 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

It took a couple days for technician to be able to tell me my laundry center could not be repaired. After about 5 days I was tired of waiting for AHS to call me about the replacement. Then it took 2 or more weeks for get all info they needed from me regarding replacement laundry center. Even thought I repeatedly told the rep I had a gas dryer she never documented that. I was finally becoming frustrated & called them. Spoke with a lady A.Lofton who clarified what was needed and completed 1st part of replacement process. It took a week or so before I became frustrated with Lofton because no info was forthcoming about replacement machine. Now I am at a month of no laundry center so I called Lofton and asked how to get approval to purchase myself & get refunded. Took a few added days to get this approval. Problem was by time I got this approval and knew monetary parameters I was getting ready to go on a pre-scheduled vacation. I did leave came back home on unscheduled stop to make purchase & schedule delivery date 2.5 weeks later after my return. A.Lofton Gabe me incorrect information. She told me I had to have my laundry center NOT ONLY purchased but delivered & installed before I could submit my receipt for refund. After my installation on 06.12.18 I called spoke with Donna who said I could/should have faxed my receipt to AHS when purchased was completed May 20, 2018. Needless to say on June 12, I faxed my receipt to AHS. AHS does not confirm receipt of fax so I was again waiting not knowing if fax was received. 3 days later I called AHS Trevante said no way to tell if fax recd BUT he would call me on Friday, June 15 to confirm or say fax not recd. no call from Trevante. I called AHS on Monday June 18. Someone else confirmed fax was recd reimbursement check would be sent within 5-7 days. Guess I am waiting for that time to end as no reimbursemen check recd so far. AHS needs a better better system. Their employees should know how to get all required information on initial customer contact. AHS should then give correct information when advising customer on future process plus time parameters before process completed and either replacement equipment or reimbursement is received. Also also, customer should not “be left hanging” not know what is happening. I presume AHS employees recognize if the customer is “left hanging” they and/or another Co-worker will still have a job. Not good business. As a customer I am never happy when I receive incomplete, inaccurate or no follow up contact from a company.

Icon

Tyenishia Webster, Los Angeles

On Jun 08, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I was charged the yearly rate instead of the monthly rate. I\'ve called 5xs to fix this issue to only be told different things each time. First I kept getting sent back and forth between billing and sales. Once that was figured out I was supposed to get my money refunded and the monthly rate applied. Should take 3-5 days Wrong. It\'s been a week now and the agent I just spoke to said she's putting the request in again to the accountant it should take 3-5 days. $439 is a lot of money to be twiddling their thumbs over especially when you are only expecting $39.99 to be withdrawn. Instead if helping me this is starting to cause a hardship and I'm ready to cancel them all together. I am not a happy customer.

Icon

Blana Alfaro, Los Angeles

On Mar 27, 2018

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I purchase a refrigerator was knockdown 1 month after i bout it, and it was down for almost 2 moths. They had me rent a refrigerator, they said i could rent it from any where when i send the reimbursement form they did not want to reimburse me for it. If you don\'t want to stress your self, please don\'t purchase from this lowes. I\'m in the process of taking them to court.

Icon

Michael Barton, Los Angeles

On Feb 18, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS did a terrible job on my plumbing repair. It was impossible to get in touch with anyone at the company. The contractor was completely unresponsive, and when he finally did show up, he did very poor quality work.

Icon

David Lloyd, Los Angeles

On Feb 11, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am very disappointed by the web-based service order form, which does not allow one to specify precisely what appliances or other equipment are in need of service. I ordered plumbing services for repair to two leaking faucets, bathroom and kitchen, and checked a box that said Faucets (plural). When the plumber arrived, he said he was only authorized to mend one faucet and that he had met this issue more than once with AHS. When I tried to call for customer service, to ask, on the plumber's recommendation, for a return visit still on the initial order, I remained on hold for over an hour three times in a row and was never able to speak to a customer service representative. The website does not allow one to send an email detailing a complaint or other such issue, and the tab for customer service merely sends one to the same phone number on which I was placed on hold. It feels as if they do not want to deal with their clients directly. I tried emailing an email that one CS representative had given me when I had other issues with AHS, but it was returned as undeliverable. In the end, since I had to travel out of the country, I had to give up my effort to get the full service I had requested. There are very simple fixes to these issues, including a more user-friendly website and employing more SC agents at busy times. I am extremely disappointed by the apparent wall AHS has set up against getting quick and timely resolution to issues.

Icon

gail nalls, los angeles

On Jan 16, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I call because of event duct leakage duing the rain. A service man promptly came out and told me what the problem was. AHS company would not approve the repairs. Instead just close the order without getting back in touch with me to tell me why they did not approve the repairs. Not good.!

Icon

Cee Gee delete, Los Angeles

On Dec 26, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very happy overall with our service. Please delete this review.

Icon

Marc Bochner, Los Angeles

On Dec 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

It seems their business model is to collect premiums and then deny coverage. Ive had so many of their contractors come out, make false claims about the repair so that AHS denies the coverage. Then after denied the contractor puts in an obscenely high bid for the repair on their own. AHS has an appeals process, but it too seems to be a farce as they have you jump through hoops and then never respond to the appeal. Lately as bad as customer service was, it got way worse, now plan on sitting on hold for between 60 and 90 minutes to get one of their terrible agents on the phone. As I sit here writing this I was on hold for 78 minutes on hold about them denying yet another repair and then placed back into the on hold cue by a supervisor after finding out they are charging me the service fee even though the work was never done. Ive been with AHS for 10 years now... so why havent I left this horrible company yet? well because they are the only ones who cover multiple units and sometimes they actually do the repairs. Today was the last straw, Im back on hold waiting to cancel my account.

Icon

LENNY BAUER, LOS ANGELES

On Oct 29, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

WE HAD THREE APPLIANCES THAT NEEDED REPAIR, REFRIGERATOR ICE MAKER, DRYER AND STOVE TOP BURNER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO REPAIR EACH APPLIANCE DURING HIS VISIT. THE ICE MAKER WATER DISPENSER WAS NOT WORKING AND WAS FIXED. WHEN WE DISCOVERED THE ICE MAKING WAS NOT PRODUCING ICE CUBES HE RETURNED ON THE SAME TICKET AND REPLACED THE CRACKED WATER SUPPLY HOSE. WE ARE VERY HAPPY AND HAVE BEEN A POLICY HOLDER FOR OVER 20 YEARS

Icon

andrew F, Los Angeles

On Nov 08, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

DO NOT USE ONE REPUBLIC HOME WARRANTY!!! They are a complete scam!! We recently purchased a home in Los Angeles and purchased the top plan with One Republic which was to cover everything and replacement if needed. A few months into owning the home our cooktop stopped working. We filed a claim and they sent out a repair technician. We waited all day for the repair guy to show up and he finally came at the end of his 6 or 8 hour window. He was unable to repair the cooktop and said he needed to look for a part otherwise it would be replaced. We paid him $65 (FOR NOTHING) and he said he would be in touch in the next couple of days. A week went by with no call and we began calling One Republic. They still had not found a part and said it would be a couple of weeks before they would replace the appliance. It has now been 4-5 weeks! and we have had to call weekly for updates. We called the repair company directly and everything that One Republic was telling us was untrue and they were not sure the part would even fix the problem. The company told us the part they were looking for may not even fix the problem and they would have to try it and see if another part would be needed. We have had a broken cooktop for over a month! We have tried to contact a supervisor and the only person they would put us in contact with was "Art". He was not helpful and rude. He said we had to keep waiting or he would give us a credit of less than half the price to replace the appliance if we forfeit our warranty. We paid for the top plan to avoid this B.S. yet they are still giving us the run around. He said if we accepted the credit we would lose all rights to our plan. One REPUBLIC Home WARRANTY is a SCAM. DO NOT USE THEM. ART WAS RUDE and we want to talk to HIS BOSS!!! It is so great dealing with all of this with the Holidays around the corner. DO NOT USE ONE REPUBLIC!!!!!!

Icon

andrew F, LOS ANGELES

On Nov 08, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

DO NOT USE ONE REPUBLIC HOME WARRANTY!!! They are a complete scam!! We recently purchased a home in Los Angeles and purchased the top plan with One Republic which was to cover everything and replacement if needed. A few months into owning the home our cooktop stopped working. We filed a claim and they sent out a repair technician. We waited all day for the repair guy to show up and he finally came at the end of his 6 or 8 hour window. He was unable to repair the cooktop and said he needed to look for a part otherwise it would be replaced. We paid him $65 (FOR NOTHING) and he said he would be in touch in the next couple of days. A week went by with no call and we began calling One Republic. They still had not found a part and said it would be a couple of weeks before they would replace the appliance. It has now been 4-5 weeks! and we have had to call weekly for updates. We called the repair company directly and everything that One Republic was telling us was untrue and they were not sure the part would even fix the problem. The company told us the part they were looking for may not even fix the problem and they would have to try it and see if another part would be needed. We have had a broken cooktop for over a month! We have tried to contact a supervisor and the only person they would put us in contact with was "Art". He was not helpful and rude. He said we had to keep waiting or he would give us a credit of less than half the price to replace the appliance if we forfeit our warranty. We paid for the top plan to avoid this B.S. yet they are still giving us the run around. He said if we accepted the credit we would lose all rights to our plan. One REPUBLIC Home WARRANTY is a SCAM. DO NOT USE THEM. ART WAS RUDE and we want to talk to HIS BOSS!!! It is so great dealing with all of this with the Holidays around the corner. DO NOT USE ONE REPUBLIC!!!!!!

Icon

William Cole, Los Angeles

On Sep 30, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Prompt and fair. Although the decision was not exactly what we would have wished for, it was fair and the people were very pleasant.

Icon

Jerry Dennis, Los Angeles

On Aug 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

The contractor involved was quite nice and has his business in New Braunfels. He was very experienced and professional and was quite pleased with the 125-dollar pmt. excellent contractor

Icon

James Harris, Los Angeles

On Aug 22, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My garage door would not open and despite my efforts to lift the door manually, I could not move it an inch to save my life. I called American Home Shield on the phone, they asked for my name/address, my contract was confirmed, and a garage door repair company called me a short time later. The tech that came to the house was very friendly and helpful, and even asked to confirm my contract with American Home Shield before he started any work, just to ensure that the service fee would cover the repairs, and sometimes contracts are written in a way that excludes certain garage door repairs. Nothing to worry about for me, everything was covered, the tech explained what he did (and how much it would have cost had I not had a home warranty), and we were all set and on our way.

Icon

Linda Jolley, Los Angeles

On May 14, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had excellent customer service from your company in obtaining serviice and feel they are extremely knowledgeable of the contracts. The contractors have always been professional, courteous and knowledgeable. the contractors have all been excellent in the cleanup process.

Icon

ANGELA DAVIDSON, Los Angeles

On May 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My first and only experience was a great one. I scheduled work with AHS online, a contractor contacted me to schedule an appointment, and the work was completed to my satisfaction, and the cost was a $75 co-pay.

Icon

Ethel Chamberlain, Los Angeles

On Apr 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My air conditioning unit (a very old one) Stiwas not cooling so I reported it. The contractor came the next day. He found the breaker tripped, replaced several parts, then made sure the system was cooling. Unfortunately it did not last the weekend. The contractor came back on Monday. Found breaker tripped again. He replaced disconnect and made wire repair. No charge for call-back. No further trouble with the AC. Both technicians were appropriately groomed and were very congenial.

Icon

Jean Bonaventure, Los Angeles

On Mar 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I got a quick response to my request for service. The contractor was prompt and professional and assessed the problem and fixed it as soon as possible. The cook top that needed replacing was ordered and installed and the contractor cleaned up and did a great job.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020