ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: August 4, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN sacramento, california

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Sacramento
country icon COUNTRY: Sacramento County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 757530
area code icon AREA CODE: 916
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 94203, 94204, 94205, 94206, 94207
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in sacramento, california

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Founded in 1978, the company has served more than 80,000 customers. They have a network of 40,000 licensed and insured contractors nationwide. They offer three plans which cover a wide range of appliances and systems.

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

HomeLife Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company has been in the industry since 2003. They offer two plans to homeowners, which are renewable, cancellable, and transferable. Their policies will be effective 30 days following the payment. HomeLife Warranty offers a 30-day service work guarantee.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are one of the leading home warranty companies in the industry. They are known for covering appliances and systems with unknown pre-existing conditions and Protection against rust and corrosion.

CRES Hisco Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Located in California, the company has been protecting homeowner’s systems and appliances for more than 35 years. Hisco home warranty makes sure they tend to customers claims quickly to ensure their devices are up and running ASAP

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Over the last ten years, the company has protected more than 3.4 million homes in the United States. They are known for providing emergency repair solutions at affordable prices. They offer a one year guarantee on all covered repairs.

sacramento Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Linda, Sacramento

On Aug 03, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing issue in my home and contacted AHS. Their plumber wasn't available on the weekend and wasn't available to do the repairs for another 2 weeks. I was left with no working bathroom or kitchen due to the leak discovered in my main pipe. I asked AHS to give authorization to have an outside plumber who was available immediately to fix my plumbing problem! The plumber is licensed and insured as required. Due to my emergency plumbing issue I asked for a one time approval to use an outside plumber since their AHS plumber was not available. AHS refused and not willing to work with customers. They are rigid and won't make accomodations given emergency plumbing situations.

Icon

GeorgeAnn Leslie, Sacramento

On Jul 03, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Yesterday American Home Shield sent a plumber out to my house from MSE Plumbing. He spent all of about 20 minutes here. He tipped the front of the toilet stated it was not level and needed shimmed. This was after I had told him the was ring was replaced about a years ago and that the water in the bowel was getting lower and there was a knocking sound in my wall. The Plumbers response was "We do not shim". Being almost 75 I haven't pulled a toilet in about 20 years, the plumber suggested I go to Home Depot and purchase shims and have them installed. When I called American Home Shield to find out what the message was that they left this morning (I couldn't understand what was being said in part because of static and in part because the person didn't speak decent English. American Home Shield they wanted to schedule another appointment with MSE, which made no sense as they had already decided that they would not fix the problem, even though they did nothing much to determine what the problem was. Bottom line I have had a policy with American Home Shield for over 2 years; have used it once for this toilet and paid over $800 for the coverage. The first service call cost me an additional $100 and this so called service call yesterday is costing me another $100, I could have saved this amount, paid what I consider a real plumber and still had money left over. I cancelled the account immediately today and was told it would take 24-36 hours to cancel it. I would get a letter of confirmation within 20-31 days confirming it, I could not be provided a confirmation number today for the cancellation. In reviewing the contract since last year, They increased the cost of the coverage and never notified me.

Icon

Mgm, Sacramento

On Jun 17, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

First hot day of the year and AC doesn\'t turn on. AHS was able to get a repair worker out in a few days. Technician was able to assess problem and within a very short time, was able to repair. Roger of Salyers AC was very professional and knowledgeable. I also appreciated the updates re the appointment time and expected arrival of technician from AHS. Very, very pleased.

Icon

John William Pashenee, Sacramento

On May 14, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Warning Dont shop at Lowes Purchased Power washer and Lowes with an extended warranty. After 6 months the power washer stopped starting due to a spring coming out. took it in and it took 7 days for a callback Lowes sent it to Altaquip. Altaquip sent back saying the problem was stale gas? making the Carburetor go bad so it was my fault? This could be on 20/20 as a bad repair diagnosis because all that's missing is a spring. I wrestled with Lowes because the are going to take AltiQuips word over mine the customer. Dont shop at Lowes and dont buy a warranty they wont honor it

Icon

Susan Reid, Sacramento

On Jan 02, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have had AHS since 2007, minus one year when I did not renew. That was a mistake, as that year our water heater died! They\'ve sent technicians out on most major appliances including washer, dishwasher, stove and microwave. We also have pool warranty. The quality of technicians has been a bit hit and miss over the years, but recently AHS has upped its game. The customer service is GREAT now. Very proactive in scheduling appointments and notifying us of ETA. They replaced my microwave when the control board on ours crapped out and mfr does not make that model anymore. We got a decent budget for replacement, too. Very impressed. FINALLY my dishwasher works. The technician who came out last month actually diagnosed the problem by taking the machine apart. Previously, we've been given little "fixes" we should do ourselves that (surprise) never fixed the problem! My only bad experience was the summer of extended heatwave and our A/C went out. I know AHS was overwhelmed with demand, but we ended up hiring a contractor offline because they couldn't get anyone to come out timely. My AHS membership pays for itself (almost) every year.

Icon

Susan Fonner, Sacramento

On Dec 20, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

good rates and the best thing is they allow you to make monthly payments and have several plans to choose from to suit your warranty needs. Just had a plumber come out and work was done surprisingly fast and accurately!

Icon

Jeremy Olaguer, Sacramento

On Sep 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is the worst example of customer service and a SCAM. Average wait times is 30 minutes to 1 hour to speak to a representative. They will put you on hold and hang up on you. The contractor that sent was to my home was there for 5 to 10 minutes and based on his expert opinion they denied my claim because it was pre-existing and did not notify me by email, phone, or letter. It took me two hours and 3 calls to cancel services. Agents will refuse for you to speak to a manager. Agent refused to provide proof my services cancelled. Also, no refund is allowed since service was rendered.

Icon

Debbe Wallace, Sacramento

On Aug 16, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Happy with our Plan to date! A very good investment for the payments.

Icon

Jimmy Buckley, Sacramento

On Mar 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service Provider: South Placer Heating and Air Roseville, Ca. Requested service because furnace was turning on and off within a short period of time and not keeping the home warm, not matter how the wall display was adjusted. My first complaint is that each time a service provider/technician came to the home it was a different repairman. Situation: After the first repairman came, he initially could find anything wrong with the furnace. After he was shown, pictures take of the furnace with rust and water leakage, he decided to take another look and determined it was the heat exchanger that caused the problems. He left and completed the paperwork necessary to have the furnace replaced. After a week of no heat and appointment was scheduled to have the furnace replaced. During the replacement, the trim around the access door in the ceiling to the furnace was damaged and replaced incorrectly. The newly replaced furnace still didn't work properly. I was told that one of the drain lines was improperly installed and water had accumulated in the pan. This new technician drain the water and re-routed the drain. On the third attempt to repair the furnace, I was told that on the third attempt to repair, the company sends out a SENIOR TECHNICAN. He found a part was damaged , so he used duct/electrical tap to repair the broken line until the replacement part could be found and installed. Meanwhile, he said it was okay to use the furnace but be vigilant about monitoring the carbon monoxide detectors and if the carbon monoxide detector activate turn off the furnace immediately. We are thankful that the detectors did not activate because it was cold throughout this period that the furnace was being replaced. In the mean time, a carpenter was sent out to repair the trim and paint the trim around the access door. After a few days the replacement part was ready to install. The technician arrived to install the part but found that the access door had been nailed shut, so he had to destroy the work that the carpenter had done to gain access to install the part. We have called to have the carpenter return to correctly repair and paint the trim to the access door. After dealing with South Placer Heating and Air in regards to repair of my Air Conditioner, I had made a request to AHS that we did not use them to replace FURNACE, however AHS sent them anyway. My impression is that they are incompetent and for AHS to be associated with them only taints your representation for excellent service. Having two technicians involved before a competent and experienced on is sent to diagnose and solve the problem is a waste of the homeowner's time and wears on their patience, not only in this case being very cold Last comment is that most provider coming to your home will use some shoe protection so that your carpets and hardwood floors are not soiled or damage. Since access was in the attic there was some insulation they fell on the clothes and floor. They neither wore protection or cleanup the insulation. I would not recommend the use of this provider. At least now, we have heat. Jimmy R. Buckley, Homeowner Velma Johnson PS. This Process started on or before January 24, 2018

Icon

G Moore, Sacramento

On Jan 04, 2018

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

STAY AWAY FROM THEIR PROTECTION PLUS PLAN! Started coverage on our Maytag washer when we purchased then let it expire - restarted the coverage last year. Called in for service and they could never find my new policy - kept telling me my coverage had expired. Took 4 weeks and 2 service visits before they decided it was not feasible to fix. After that silence. Eventually I called in multiple times - same story your coverage is cancelled until they would actually look at the file and see that I gave them the new reference id. Multiple times promised that someone would call back - no calls. Opened up a Better Business Bureau complaint and received a call the very next day. They indicated that they will issue a payout 'as a courtesy as my policy expired' - even though I have an active policy - f'n amazing! Unfortunately the payout will be on a Lowes gift card - not really a company I want to do business with. If you do plan on purchasing a plan only buy the plan for a year - cause if they buyout you appliance they will not prorate the amount on your plan! I was stupid and bought a multi year policy so in reality Lowes is only out a few bucks! And if you ever have issues make sure to open a BBB complaint - seems to move them in the right direction.

Icon

Lynn K, Sacramento

On Oct 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As others have written, hold times on the phone are extremely long. Online scheduling works best. Contractor responsiveness is very quick. My only issue is at what point do they say, enough is enough, let\'s get a new one. For example, a service tech has been out three times for my microwave. Each time I pay $75.00. So I have already paid $225 in co-pays to fix an aging microwave plus the time it take to be off work to meet the repair person. I could have had a brand new microwave instead for what it has cost me so far.

Icon

Jennifer MacKinnon, Sacramento

On Oct 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

MA

Icon

Nick Cabral, Sacramento

On Oct 13, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very content with the service, from the time I called to make a service request to the excellent work the technician did everything was flawless. A pleasure to work with this insurance. I wish all of them to be like AHS (American Home Shield)!

Icon

Beverly Hill, Sacramento

On Sep 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My central AC went out of service in May 2017. According to their contract, the service provider must call back within 48 hours. When first contact is made, my appointment was set for 4 days later, six days after my original request during an entire week of over 100 degrees . The technician performed a routine maintenance for which I paid additional. Only a couple of days later, no AC. A few days later the tech returned to tell me I need a new fan. American Home Shield needed to first approve the order, then he could order the fan. 10 days later he returned and installed. All this during another week of 100 degrees. About 2 weeks later, no AC. 2 days later a different service provider replaced the transducer and the starter switch. Since this didn't fix the problem, he informed me I need a new compressor. (The other previous services and parts were needed as well). The technician informed me the place to order the compressor is on the east coast (this was Friday before July 4th 4 day weekend), so Monday they could ask AHS to approve the order of the compressor on Monday July 3. If AHS responded/approved the part the same day, the earliest they could get the order in would be Wednesday the following week from the east coast. After another week of greater than 100 degrees (Sacramento had 4 episode of ten days greater than 100 degrees in a row this year.) The temperatures soared to 110 degrees. I am 68 years old and handicapped. Would you want your handicapped mother or grandmother to go through what I went through? ..... All this to say... there should be a way to expedite certain repairs in certain situations. Service providers should be able to call a 24 hour AHS service approval hot line for emergencies (like mine). AHS should approve certain parts to be shipped to service providers by express-over-night delivery service for emergencies like mine. TY for reading this.

Icon

Wally Sheptak, Sacramento

On Aug 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Expert Service Person Was Fast, Fair & Friendly - Thorough & Complete Evaluation, Explanation & Repair Accomplished In A Timely Fashion. Had A Follow-Up Phone Call & All Is Great !! Repairman Very Sincere & Earnest !!!

Icon

Pamela Lovisa, Sacramento

On Aug 20, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This is my second residence. Heat pump went out in one of coldest months. AHS could not get a contractor out timely so they were agreeable to letting my contractor do the work and took care of charges .

Icon

Jean Engelking, Sacramento

On Aug 08, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had an air conditioner unit go out last summer and contacted American Home Shield for a replacement. The assigned contractor called back quickly and scheduled a visit within a day. Very impressive response! He quoted the job and was ready to do the install but we found a better unit at an even better price with another contractor so went with them. I let AHS know what we did and they immediately cut us a check for their contractors estimated amount less the deductible. Very smooth process and great customer service.

Icon

Rodney Murphy, Sacramento

On Jul 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Every experience with American Home Shield and the contractors that are dispatched has been amazing. Everyone of them are kind and know what they are doing. Service is provided in a timely manner.

Icon

George Clark, Sacramento

On Jul 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very satisfied thus far with service from time of order goes in to the service given by contractors. The last contractor was on time, new the problem and fixed it with no problems.

Icon

Andrew M, Sacramento

On May 17, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Horrible company. They lie, are very unprofessional, and deny claims for unfounded reasons. After paying my $60 call-fee, they told me that my leaking drainpipe was not covered because of the trap in the shower that prevents hair from going down the drain. YES... you read that right. I had a crack in the side of a drainpipe and somehow they weaseled out of responsibility by saying it was this UNRELATED part. And don't bother asking them to prove anything. They'll tell you to get a court order and hang up on you, as Tanisha in their authorizations department did to us. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Save your money and hire a qualified professional yourself.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020