ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: December 3, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN san diego, california

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: San Diego
country icon COUNTRY: San Diego County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 1241364
area code icon AREA CODE: 6,19,858
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 92101, 92102, 92103, 92104, 92105
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in san diego, california

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE
offer

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are one of the leading home warranty companies in the industry. They are known for covering appliances and systems with unknown pre-existing conditions and Protection against rust and corrosion.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img Get FREE coverage for first 2 months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
offer

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was founded in 2003. Since their inception, they have served more than 4 million customers and have been recognized as the most trusted service provider. Service Line Warranties offers three cost-effective plans.

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Founded in 1978, the company has served more than 80,000 customers. They have a network of 40,000 licensed and insured contractors nationwide. They offer three plans which cover a wide range of appliances and systems.

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

HomeLife Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company has been in the industry since 2003. They offer two plans to homeowners, which are renewable, cancellable, and transferable. Their policies will be effective 30 days following the payment. HomeLife Warranty offers a 30-day service work guarantee.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

CRES Hisco Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Located in California, the company has been protecting homeowner’s systems and appliances for more than 35 years. Hisco home warranty makes sure they tend to customers claims quickly to ensure their devices are up and running ASAP

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Over the last ten years, the company has protected more than 3.4 million homes in the United States. They are known for providing emergency repair solutions at affordable prices. They offer a one year guarantee on all covered repairs.

san diego Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

G V, San Diego

On Aug 23, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very very disappointed with AHS. There is no way to communicate with the customer service team through email. Only by phone. Have to wait for 30 minutes to talk to a customer service rep. Be aware of what you sign up. The only way, you could pay for the monthly premium is by giving the credit card. Which mean\'s they won\'t listen to your request to cancel in the middle. I called up Jun 8th, to cancel, waited for 30 minutes on line and was assured everything is taken care, only to know that, they cancel the future year's contract. Called up twice and waited for 30+ minutes each and they mentioned some one from retention department will reach out and no one reached out yet. If AHS is reading this message, you better fix your customer service related to retention department. I am totally pissed off with the experience.

Icon

J, San Diego

On Jul 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve had to call AHS on a number of occasions. On 2 occasions I had to call for a clog (the SAME clog, got charged $75 each time since the paperwork said it was fixed). The plumbers they sent were the absolute worst. They didn\'t fix the clog, made racist comments, and left a gigantic mess in my house. I called for water being backed up into dishwasher, related to the same situation I had called about twice before. The dishwasher was completely un-usable. The guy who came out spent no more than 10 minutes here. Said it was fine and left. Didn't file the official report on time and just said it was not his problem to fix. For both instances I had to get the issues fixed myself. I spent hundreds of dollars for absolutely nothing. Today I get an email saying the contractor was trying to get ahold of me but no information, and contact AHS for more information. I was on hold for over 20 minutes, finally got an operator who made me give all my contract information, name address etc just to tell me that it was a system error and "Don't worry tech support is resolving the issue". Why wasn't this in part of the recording I had to listen to for over 20 minutes? DO NOT GET AMERICAN HOME SHIELD. THEY ARE TERRIBLE AND DO NOTHING BUT TAKE YOUR MONEY.

Icon

Henry Castro, San Diego

On Jul 18, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very poor customer service from American Home Shield and from the repair contractor.I have been waiting to get my washer repaired since April 30, 2018, it\'s now July 19,208. I just received a call from the contractor that the parts have not been received. I called American Home Shield and spoke with Brian to inform him about the delays, he placed me on hold for 20 minutes, and he never came back to the phone. I have been requesting to speak to Supervisor Samantha with American Home Shield, since Monday, 7/16/2018. I have not recieved a call from her yet.

Icon

J ason, San Diego

On Apr 03, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Did not fix a covered issue, and AHS was more concerned about taking the vendors side. Customer service is ridiculously rude and inconsiderate. We asked for a different vendor multiple times and they would not offer a second opinion for the issue due to the first vendor saying the problem was not covered in the contract.. Called again try to cancel, and they said I should have asked for a second opinion which WE DID but they told us they it was not offered because the report said the problem was not covered.

Icon

Lourdes Brannan, San Diego

On Dec 18, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was told by a referral that if a wire was need to be replaced AHS will do it. Well, the house have two shortcuts, one inside the house and the other on the lamp outside. They only repair the outlet inside and even the wires were to old and they didn\'t replaced it. And the electrician said that the lamp outside was not covered. Then the bathroom had a leak, he didn't replace anything, he just adjusted the parts and now is leaking again. The plumber said that leak is from inside the wall and they do not do that. Even said do not open that wall because had a mold behind and AHS do not cover that either.

Icon

Eddy Acheson, San Diego

On Nov 09, 2017

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fridgadare Side by Side Purchased 2 years ago with an Extended Warranty plan. Problem is Ice build up on the Freezer side that creates a fan noise that sounds like a lawn mower. Lowes extended warranty does not believe that 5 visits in a six month period is a replacement qualifier. Getting through to a Supervisor has been a challenge each time service has been needed. Received a call from the department that denies claims for replacement with a supervisor that was far from helpful. I was sent a form to fill out for lost food.

Icon

pamela larson, san Diego

On Aug 09, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Summarizing what follows: Wait time for contractor appointment: unacceptable Wait time for actual repair: unacceptable Wait time to talk to a customer service person: unacceptable Company policies are inefficient and need revamping. This company doesn\'t care about service, they care about the bottom line. We plan to cancel our policies with this company. We have two policies with this company on two properties. And we have used them about 5 times. The first two time was for a broken cooktop. It took over a month (I think 8 weeks?) to finally fix the problem. And that was after multiple technician visits and harangues to the warranty company. However, they did replace the cooktop which is about the only plus I would give them. I wished I'd written a review then, but have forgotten the details of that painful experience. Forgot, the only other positive thing I have to say is when you request service, it can be done via phone tree or website. Not a hassle. However from there things go downhill rapidly. I think policy for contractors is they have 48 hours to contact the client. However, I've seen other reviews that indicate contractors aren't so responsive or even competent for that matter. Response time: If you are fortunate and get a good contractor, they make an appointment within a day. That's not my experience, though. Our first contractor for our present issue made an appointment for 5 days out. That was unacceptable, so I called the warranty company (on hold waiting for them to pick up for 50 minutes)and they gave me another company that was 3 days out. Once they come out, they analyze the issue. They don't fix because they must get approval. They must submit a request for parts or permission to fix to the warranty company. Once that is approval is accomplished, they then make an appointment to return. All this takes time, and if you are like us who have tenants or paying guests, you can't afford waiting a week or more to fix a problem. And that is my experience with this company. We have ended up calling a repairmen outside of the warranty company to fix the AC issue ($200 out of pocket) and fixing the last issue ourselves (my husband ordered the part on line and installed it himself ($75 out of pocket + $75 for the tech analysis visit) due to the fact we can't wait for the warranty company response. Communication: Communicating with this company is a complete hassle. You get someone on the phone immediately if you are buying a warranty. However if you need to talk to a customer service person, to do anything other than purchase a warranty, you wait for someone to answer for a long time. I've never waited for under 30 minutes. My last call to them was a 50 minute wait. And I've had to call them several times. I've read other reviews where the person waited 2 hours or more!!!!! Since we fixed the current problem ourselves, I wanted to cancel the technician's return. I talked to the contractor and they let their technician know, but she tells me I have to cancel through the warranty company. Ok, I face the prospect of calling the warranty company or going to their website. The website has a "cancel" button, but when pressed, it says you have to call them. Oh no! Everything you need to do means getting on the phone with them. And there is no option of leaving a message for a return call. I have to talk to someone and I'm not Looking forward to that hour + wait on the phone. Approval for other repair people outside of their permitted list? Non -existent. So you can't get someone who can respond immediately and submit a repair bill to the company afterward. All contractors must be already on their approved list. Bottom line: this company sucks and we are cancelling our policies. That's more than $1000 a year they will loose from us.

Icon

Nick Beckmann, San Diego

On Dec 30, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had a shower head that broke off, but the threads of the shower head remained screwed in - the pipe broke just after the threads - this part was in the wall (you had to look through the hole in the tile to see the broken pipe that remained). The shower head came off and the break in the pipe was easily visible. I submitted a work order to Old Home Republic and their plumber came to look at the problem. The plumber took pictures of the broken shower head and the hole in the tile. He told me something about the pipe being soldered and said that the wall and tile would have to be cut into, removed, and then new tile affixed to the wall to fix the issue. With this diagnosis the work order would have to be reviewed by OHR to see if the repairs were covered. I paid the $60 service fee and he left. The work order was reviewed by OHR and denied, with no explanation. When I followed up with OHR for more detail, the representative told me that their assessment was that the shower head had been improperly installed and any repair would not be covered by them, since it was not a defect. I hired a plumber to come out and look at the issue and assess the cost of the necessary repairs based on OHR's plumber's diagnosis. He looked in the hole in the wall and explained that the pipe wasn't soldered - it had just broken and the threads of the old shower head remained, making the repair a simple matter. The service he quoted was "BMP to extract nipple" i.e. removing the screw-in part from the broken shower head so that a fresh one could be attached. He then installed a new shower head. The entire process took less than 10 minutes. I called OHR to explain the correct diagnosis of the problem. After much negotiation and explanation they told me to send the invoice from the plumber I hired and they would look at it to determine if a refund of their service fee was justified. They never got back to me. After several months of waiting, I called to follow up. They told me they couldn't tell what the plumber did and referred to the original incorrect diagnosis of an "incorrect installation" as justification for refusing to refund the service fee. I tried leaving my opinion out of the above text. Here is my opinion: At no point has OHR or its plumbers and representatives demonstrated the basic competence and communication a reasonable person should expect from the company - do not work with them if it is at all possible to avoid it.

Icon

Carol Mcdonald, San Diego

On Aug 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very good. The techician was very helpful explaining why a 2nd visit had to be made to correct my original request. Apparently, he did training and took the part that he replaced to use as a "training tool".

Icon

Jeff Leaf, San Diego

On Aug 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I placed the request for service online toward the end of the business day. I didn't expect to hear back from the contractor until the next day, but my phone rang approximately three minutes after I clicked "submit". Even though the contractor was not able to schedule me in for the next day, he getting to me within the next couple days if not sooner. Sure enough he called the next morning said he was going to be in the area for another service call and was hoping he could take care of my problem as well. Fortunately it was going to be my day off from work so we were able to make the appointment work. He showed up and looked neat and professional. He took care of the problem, cleaned up his tools, and moved on to his next appointment.

Icon

Teresa Jackson, San Diego

On Jul 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I placed a service call due to not having any hot water. American Home Shield sent out a plumber to try to fix the problem and thought he fixed it. The next day still no hot water. I called American Home Shield again and they sent out an electrician. The electrician determine that there was a problem with the breaker and he changed the breaker which fix the problem and I had hot water again. I was happy I only had to pay 175 dollar copay.

Icon

Janet Smith, San Diego

On Jul 03, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It has been quite a while since I have used AHS, however, the last time was for one of my major appliances. All that I needed to do was call AHS and they took care of the job for me, by calling the contractor. He called me, came out and fixed the problem the same day. I have never had any trouble with the service and that is why I continue to keep American Home Shield.

Icon

kazi, san diego

On Jun 30, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

this company has the worst service ever, my washer broke down and they sent a guy to check it out, he charged me $100 which I was ok with and said he will have to order parts and a week later they said I need to contact AHS and good luck getting to them 45 minutes on the phone and no response, my washer is still not fixed because I cant get a hold of them kazi

Icon

Ronald Springston, San Diego

On Jun 23, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My AC unit was experiencing heavy condensation. I call Home Shield and contractor contacted me quickly. We made an appointment for the following day. Th contractor arrived at the appointed time and did a through job of inspecting my AC unit and resolving my issue. He was courteous and cleaned up after himself.

Icon

Niall Finnegan, San Diego

On May 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Last Friday I discovered that my washing machine was leaking. It had just been repaired a couple of weeks ago. I received authorization to use an outside service Tech. I did so and the licensed Tech explain that the main bearing was end of life that was causing the seal to leak. He explain the cost to replace would not be less than a new one from GE. Home shield insisted another tech come out to look, at my cost of $100. Then I was told that I had received authorization to replace the washing machine and I would be contacted in 2 days. After I called back in two day s I was told YET AGAIN a tech needed to come out. THIS IS A RIP OFF. The washing machine is clearly end of life. Now they want to send somebody out in 7 days!!!!!!!

Icon

Heather, San Diego

On Apr 27, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Don't waste your money. I did and I regret it. The service providers they use are rude and don't care that you are having issues. You are not a priority, you are a number. I called ORHW with an issue with a service provider and they gave me excuses. I never heard from ORHW or the service provider again. I went online and the claim says it is complete. They never followed up to see if the services were ever done. I went out and bought a fridge a week and a half after I started the process because nothing was getting done...there's a reason their services providers are willing to work for so cheap. Only once did I feel like the provider cared about me. He was also the only one I felt safe around...I tried to talk to ORHW and I always get the run around or recordings! Save yourself the trouble and money, don't use them.

Icon

Edward Kenney, San Diego

On Apr 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Recently we had a leak in the water line to our ice maker. RK Plumbing was dispatched to repair the leak. They arrived when they said they would and were able to fix the leak quickly. The repairman was courteous and clean and cleaned up after making the repairs and had our ice maker back to work in a short time.

Icon

Anderw A., San Diego

On Mar 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have a home warranty through American Home Shield. I noticed a very slow leak, in an exposed pipe. To remedy this a small section of the pipe needs to be removed, and replaced. The total time for repair is under 5 minutes. Rather than fix the pipe the plumber decided, he would need to call it in for authorization. Despite the fact that he told me that this leak had developed over time. The fact that I have owned this house for 6 years, and not once had this pipe leak until now, further suggests it's "normal wear and tear." However, in the absence of that, my contract specifically states that this repair is covered. It's clear that since this plumber will receive $100 whether he does the 5 minute repair or not, he's better off trying to do it another time, when he'll be paid more. Why a 5 minute repair was not done on the spot, is unfathomable. Particularly when this plumbing company gives you 4 hour windows within the middle of the day. It's not enough you take a full day off of work to accommodate this company, you should take two. This type of churning, is not only unethical, it's illegal. It violates CA Buiss. and Prof. Code Section 17200. CA Buis. & Prof. Code Section 17200 prohibits unfair competition. Here the utility of the harmful unethical business do not confer any prevailing benefit to the consumer, thus are prohibited under the code. This is a repair that had I called a plumber directly would have cost me less than the $100 deductible I had. But I have a warranty, I was induced to purchase it by home shield's promises of prompt service, in repairing failed leaks. However, it is clear that HomeShield has no intention to honor the contract they entered into. It's much more profitable to deny everything and hope people don't know they can at the very least bring these unethical practices to other's attention.

Icon

Mike Shelton, San Diego

On Jan 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The job was scheduled very quickly after I contacted AHS - the contractor called me the same day to arrange for a visit. The technician performed a very thorough inspection of our unit to determine the cause of the issue and to resolve it and kept me informed of progress.

Icon

Marilyn Kirchner, San Diego

On Dec 26, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor knew what was exactly wrong with my fridge. He fixed it quickly. He was neat and careful with his tools. He cleaned up after himself. He was polite and punctual. I was totally happy with his service call.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020