ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: October 22, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN san diego, california

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: San Diego
country icon COUNTRY: San Diego County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 1241364
area code icon AREA CODE: 6,19,858
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 92101, 92102, 92103, 92104, 92105
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in san diego, california

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE
offer

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are one of the leading home warranty companies in the industry. They are known for covering appliances and systems with unknown pre-existing conditions and Protection against rust and corrosion.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img Get FREE coverage for first 2 months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
offer

Global Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have been in the business for over ten years. Their warranty plans cover major appliances and systems at affordable prices. The company offers flexible service agreements and a 30-day money-back guarantee to ensure customer satisfaction.

san diego Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Teresa Jackson, San Diego

On Jul 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I placed a service call due to not having any hot water. American Home Shield sent out a plumber to try to fix the problem and thought he fixed it. The next day still no hot water. I called American Home Shield again and they sent out an electrician. The electrician determine that there was a problem with the breaker and he changed the breaker which fix the problem and I had hot water again. I was happy I only had to pay 175 dollar copay.

Icon

Janet Smith, San Diego

On Jul 03, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It has been quite a while since I have used AHS, however, the last time was for one of my major appliances. All that I needed to do was call AHS and they took care of the job for me, by calling the contractor. He called me, came out and fixed the problem the same day. I have never had any trouble with the service and that is why I continue to keep American Home Shield.

Icon

kazi, san diego

On Jun 30, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

this company has the worst service ever, my washer broke down and they sent a guy to check it out, he charged me $100 which I was ok with and said he will have to order parts and a week later they said I need to contact AHS and good luck getting to them 45 minutes on the phone and no response, my washer is still not fixed because I cant get a hold of them kazi

Icon

Ronald Springston, San Diego

On Jun 23, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My AC unit was experiencing heavy condensation. I call Home Shield and contractor contacted me quickly. We made an appointment for the following day. Th contractor arrived at the appointed time and did a through job of inspecting my AC unit and resolving my issue. He was courteous and cleaned up after himself.

Icon

Niall Finnegan, San Diego

On May 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Last Friday I discovered that my washing machine was leaking. It had just been repaired a couple of weeks ago. I received authorization to use an outside service Tech. I did so and the licensed Tech explain that the main bearing was end of life that was causing the seal to leak. He explain the cost to replace would not be less than a new one from GE. Home shield insisted another tech come out to look, at my cost of $100. Then I was told that I had received authorization to replace the washing machine and I would be contacted in 2 days. After I called back in two day s I was told YET AGAIN a tech needed to come out. THIS IS A RIP OFF. The washing machine is clearly end of life. Now they want to send somebody out in 7 days!!!!!!!

Icon

Heather, San Diego

On Apr 27, 2016

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Don't waste your money. I did and I regret it. The service providers they use are rude and don't care that you are having issues. You are not a priority, you are a number. I called ORHW with an issue with a service provider and they gave me excuses. I never heard from ORHW or the service provider again. I went online and the claim says it is complete. They never followed up to see if the services were ever done. I went out and bought a fridge a week and a half after I started the process because nothing was getting done...there's a reason their services providers are willing to work for so cheap. Only once did I feel like the provider cared about me. He was also the only one I felt safe around...I tried to talk to ORHW and I always get the run around or recordings! Save yourself the trouble and money, don't use them.

Icon

Edward Kenney, San Diego

On Apr 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Recently we had a leak in the water line to our ice maker. RK Plumbing was dispatched to repair the leak. They arrived when they said they would and were able to fix the leak quickly. The repairman was courteous and clean and cleaned up after making the repairs and had our ice maker back to work in a short time.

Icon

Anderw A., San Diego

On Mar 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have a home warranty through American Home Shield. I noticed a very slow leak, in an exposed pipe. To remedy this a small section of the pipe needs to be removed, and replaced. The total time for repair is under 5 minutes. Rather than fix the pipe the plumber decided, he would need to call it in for authorization. Despite the fact that he told me that this leak had developed over time. The fact that I have owned this house for 6 years, and not once had this pipe leak until now, further suggests it's "normal wear and tear." However, in the absence of that, my contract specifically states that this repair is covered. It's clear that since this plumber will receive $100 whether he does the 5 minute repair or not, he's better off trying to do it another time, when he'll be paid more. Why a 5 minute repair was not done on the spot, is unfathomable. Particularly when this plumbing company gives you 4 hour windows within the middle of the day. It's not enough you take a full day off of work to accommodate this company, you should take two. This type of churning, is not only unethical, it's illegal. It violates CA Buiss. and Prof. Code Section 17200. CA Buis. & Prof. Code Section 17200 prohibits unfair competition. Here the utility of the harmful unethical business do not confer any prevailing benefit to the consumer, thus are prohibited under the code. This is a repair that had I called a plumber directly would have cost me less than the $100 deductible I had. But I have a warranty, I was induced to purchase it by home shield's promises of prompt service, in repairing failed leaks. However, it is clear that HomeShield has no intention to honor the contract they entered into. It's much more profitable to deny everything and hope people don't know they can at the very least bring these unethical practices to other's attention.

Icon

Mike Shelton, San Diego

On Jan 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The job was scheduled very quickly after I contacted AHS - the contractor called me the same day to arrange for a visit. The technician performed a very thorough inspection of our unit to determine the cause of the issue and to resolve it and kept me informed of progress.

Icon

Marilyn Kirchner, San Diego

On Dec 26, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor knew what was exactly wrong with my fridge. He fixed it quickly. He was neat and careful with his tools. He cleaned up after himself. He was polite and punctual. I was totally happy with his service call.

Icon

Ava Price, San Diego

On Dec 06, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield is a service I'm glad I've signed up for. The contractors contacted and provided service within a 24 hour period of time. The contractors were very professional and very knowledgable of their field. Customer service was efficient iwith connecting me with the best contractor for my needed service. I have recommended AHS to many of my friends and family.

Icon

Brennan Brackbill, San Diego

On Oct 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

All of our experiences have been positive, but our last one was probably the best. Our heat went out in the middle of the coldest winter that our area has seen in decades. I called AHS and within two hours our heater was fixed. The contractor was quick to respond and quick to fix the problem.

Icon

Carolyn Roy, San Diego

On Sep 30, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield just replaced my dishwasher. I love the new stainless steel tub and stainless exterior! My old dishwasher was never so quiet. The man who installed it was extremely professional, so careful of respecting my home and keeping everything clean and tidy while he worked. The men who delivered the new machine took away the old one and did it all so neatly and quickly. I am so pleased that I had the good fortune to have purchased American Home Shield before my old machine gave up the ghost.

Icon

Sue Rasinskis, San Diego

On Aug 27, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Right before the worse bitter cold of this winter, my furnace stopped working. I was frantic wondering how I was going to get through the next several days. I've always felt having American Home Shield was a huge benefit as a homeowner. Knowing a service appointment was only a phone call away...plus, they already have companies available that they know will be there that you can trust because AHS knows they will do their job. Unfortunately, my furnace was not fixed with the first appointment, or even the second. But when the problem ran into a weekend, AHS initially approved my getting space heaters to get me through the weekend, and them found another company to come on a Sunday to resolve the problem. It was a relief to know that if needed, there would be help even on a Sunday!

Icon

Veronica Nuncio, san diego

On Aug 19, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

HS is horrible! To get a customer service rep, the wait time will typically run from 30-45+ minutes to speak with a live person. For a service company, this wait is unacceptable! Then, the AHS "system" assigns contractors and once assigned, they will NOT change contractors for any reason. We were assigned a provider who is KNOWN for TERRIBLE service in our area. (They changed their name due to their bad reputation!) When we asked for a different assignment (before ever being contact by the 1st company) we were told AHS "policy" prohibits contractors changes for any reason - unless they don't show up. When escalated to Brian in Customer Service in TX, his response was, "well, you should give everyone a fair chance and not pay attention to online reviews because people lie." REALLY???? Multiple negative online reviews are lies? This is no lie - do NOT waste your money on AHS - they don't care about the service you receive - and they train their employees the to think the same! - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/memphis/business-reviews/real-estate-maintenance-protection-plan/american-home-shield-in-memphis-tn-22001027/customer-reviews?cacheit=y#sthash.F1ZdEK8o.dpuf

Icon

Mrs. Nuncio, san diego

On Aug 19, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is horrible! To get a customer service rep, the wait time will typically run from 30-45+ minutes to speak with a live person. For a service company, this wait is unacceptable! Then, the AHS "system" assigns contractors and once assigned, they will NOT change contractors for any reashis was a warranty referral American Home Shields AHS Trouble...Read reviews which we should have done before letting this person into our home. It was for a water heater replacement. Home insurance company was handling water damage and used warranty for water heater since this is what we paid for. The problem is AHS makes choice for you of issuing a repair person. The plumber was using same trick you see in other reviews replace values then adding in the cost. The valves he replace leak,better yet the water heater leaks and cause more damage after restoration company already cleaned up the first problem. Trying to get him back to repair what he was suppose to repair is scary. He states he did a favor by giving us a valve. We advise we paid him and he was suppose to finish the project and still billing AHS for service not rendered. He starts writing up all these things he is to do when he never did any of it. We paid for warranty deductible waiting for him to complete work. BE CAREFUL DO NOT LET THEM WORK IN YOUR HOME. Now have more water damage due to poor workmanship no water and now have to deal with someone that you do not want in your home. BBB needs report and AHS needs to be more careful on who they send to your home.AHS was notified and as a senior advised that there is a problem to have these types of contractors sent to take advantage and scare or intimate your. AHS should be under investigation for damages caused to homeowner like myself.

Icon

Carolyn Kitterer, San Diego

On Aug 06, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contact American Home Shield by phone or email. Either way, you will have a prompt response to explain your problem. Shortly after that you will have contact information about whom will be contacting you to set up an appointment as quickly as possible and then a service representative will be on your doorstep at the appointed hour to assess the problem. A repairman will complete the work quickly and efficiently. American Home Shield will leave you completely satisfied.

Icon

Bill O'Connell, San Diego

On Dec 03, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was most satisfied with the entire process, starting with the notification to American Home Shield, the quick response to me re: name and phone number of contractor, and their notifying contractor to contact me. I was favorably impressed with the knowledge and professionalism of the contractor that came to the house to fix our ice-maker. Overall, most satisfied.

Icon

Fred Kerr, San Diego

On Nov 16, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had an issue with our well where the pump was grounding out. This was a problem that needed to be addressed in the very near future. We had water but did not want to risk an emergency situation. when we called AHS they immediately notified the contractor that is the best in our area and we had help on site in less then 48 hours. It was a seamless operation and we had the problem fixed and taken care of that day. it is a real relief to have the secure knowledge that AHS has our back on so many issues. we would have no hesitation in recommending an AHS policy to friends or neighbors. They are a 5 star organization.

Icon

shandley phillips, San Diego

On Jun 17, 2014

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Their coverage is really limited so it's a real waste of money. Customer Service rep told me she wouldn't transfer me. Purposely left me on hold. Don't waste your money. Real estate agents should really start picking something else for the home warranty.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020