Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1618
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7390
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 447
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 256
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.6
  • Repair Service 4.6
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1762
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1649
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.5
  • Service Timeliness 4.5
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 903
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2757
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.8
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 3.8
  • Overall Rating 3.7
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1645
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.7
  • Service Timeliness 3.6
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 74
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Richard Lynch, Albany CA Date: 2011-02-18 18:14:35

    Review: The wait times to report or manage a claim are huge - often more than 20 minutes. The reps who answer the phone seem to have only passing familiarity with the problem they are talking about. We received a renewal coupon from them after the offer had expired and asked them to apply the discount. After two rounds of calls they did but made it seem like they had given us the gift of fire. My oven door broke and wont go back up. There is asbestos in the insulation so it can't be a simple repair. I submited the invoice of over $1,200 to fix the stove (due to the asbestos) fully understanding the stove is not worth that. Now, they won't pay what they have determined to be a reasonable repair amount until I purchase a new stove. This is a shell game and I will not be playing in the future, certainly not here.

    V. Dalley, Houston, Texas Date: 2011-08-05 09:09:08

    Review: My air conditioner went out on 5/24/11 - I called AHS turned in my request, and long story short ... On 8/1 I called a contractor on my own and now have air conditioning in my entire home!! It was the biggest hasstle to turn in a request, (on hold for an hour each time) then had to follow up with the contractor to make sure they had my request! At one point I called anohter A/C contractor for a free estimate. (for my own peace of mind) They told me the unit was over 25 years old and needed to be replaced. We suffered for over 56 days w/out air. They sent the same company out 4 different times and each time they did nothing! It was like they couldn't wait to get out the door, after they acted like they were "fixing" the problem they never waited around to see if the air was cool. The final call on 7/14 I requested a Manager but instead was told they sent my problem to an annalist and this person was suppose to call THE NEXT DAY!! That's yet another day in the heat ... (day 52) The annalist didn't call until 2-days later and assured me they would follow the case until it was resolved. HA! I would never ever encourage my friends, family or YOU to buy into American Home Shield because they do not stand by their promise!!!!

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2016-06-14 17:44:39

    Review: We want very much to review this matter and address your concern. However, we are unable to locate your Plan. Please send an email to [email protected] with your property address or Plan number so that we may locate your Plan and contact you. Thank you.

    Introduction to American Home Shield Warranties | Home Warranty Protection Insurance Date: 2010-10-22 08:28:09

    Review: [...] Yates is a freelancer and has written about American Home Shield and other home warranty companies while covering home and insurance topics. [...]

    Phyllis Ciucci, Royal Palm Beach, FL Date: 2011-07-13 18:15:26

    Review: When moving into our home; we had two leaking toilets that were due to the inner toilet mechanism. We called AHS and were told we would get a call from a service person to schedule. Didn't happen. Called back and was told to call AZ Plumbing (never use this company!!!) They didn't show up when scheduled. Day 3 they finally sent a service person to fix the toilet inner workings. 3 days of not being able to turn on the water while waiting! AHS telling us to call AZ Plumb. About a week or two later, after installing new laminate flooring; toilets are still leaking. (now ruining our flooring!!!) Called AHS and they said they would call someone. Once again, AZ Plumbing did not show up that day! Called AHS and they said they would send someone else. Next day at 5 p.m. another plumber shows up from Fort Pierce! (not even in our county) He says he fixed it and showed up the defective parts from AZ Plumbing which should have been obvious to the first plumber. AHS warranty told us this follow up visit would be waived. AHS told us to deal with AZ Plumbing for reimbursement for damages to the flooring from the first plumber. Then we receive a bill from AHS Warranty for a $60 visit which was supposed to be waived by several agents when I talked to customer service people on the phone. I did not pay this since it was to be waived! Now my air cond. is in need of service and I tried to order a visit on the internet but was told i have a past due balance! UGHH! Then I call the 800 # and in order to talk to someone I would have a 15 minute wait! DO NOT BUY THE CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY!!!! I had been a Realtor in Michigan for 20 years and sold a ton of these warranties thinking they were good! I apologize to all of my clients that had to deal with this!

    Diana Lavery, Mammoth Lakes, CA Date: 2011-11-01 13:03:53

    Review: I have paid AHS for 8 years, on a new house, they replaced my microwave. This Sept my Range broke, and after trying to repair it for 6 weeks, they finally agreed to replace it and sent me a NONRENEW on my coverage when it expires in December!!!!!!! I have paid them more tan $5,000.00 in premiums and now that they had to buy a $1,200 range they non renewed me!!!! Good lucky with this outfit they are the worst!!!!!

    American Home Shield Date: 2014-11-29 14:19:07

    Review: Brian I would be more than happy to have our service resolution department follow up with you concerning this service request for the leak. There could be other options and a different resolution to offer to make things right. We apologize if you are not happy with your warranty. This is not the typical service provided and plumbing contractors are not supposed to make a big mess and cut into things in the home without checking with American Home Shield first. Would you mind providing your covered property address and contact information? I can have a case manager contact you on Monday morning when the department opens.

    Michelle, Houston, TX Date: 2011-10-12 20:18:10

    Review: They assigned me a contractor - Fantastech of Houston - whose ratings are abysmal. Basically when Fantastech didn't show up to make the repairs, they shrugged as if there was nothing they could do about it but keep calling, you got it, Fantastech! In other words, their crummy contractor had them - and me - by the shorthairs. They offered "cash in lieu," which was significantly less than the repairs cost. I am a real estate agent, and I have come to the conclusion that these warranties are worthless. Instead, just get the seller to give you $350 in cash.

    Maggie, Las Vegas, NV Date: 2010-05-21 20:40:52

    Review: My A/C went last year, AHS would not cover as had not been serviced in 2 years. one week later a "Slab leak " was discovered under the foundation, would not cover as NOT in my house. I've had their cover for 8 years with one or two minor issues.. WILL ABSOLUTELY NOT RENEW IN JUNE, USLESS..

    Jeff Vann Date: 2010-12-09 13:23:36

    Review: Like so many others here, I too have been hit (hard) with "parts not covered" expenses. If the warranty says it covers the evaporator core in the air conditioner, and then argues about repairing it or replacing it when it malfunctions, and then adds on ridiculous fees such as $295 for a drain pan ($20 at the hardware store) and another $200 to re-route the drain plumbing (maybe $2 in PVC fittings and a can of $4 glue), it makes me wonder....was it REALLY covered? Or, would it have been cheaper if I had called the A/C company direct? Now that I have had to have my pool pump repaired, my A/C evaporator replaced, and my oven repaired over teh past year, I get a letter yesterday stating that they (American Home Shield) has chosen not to renew my contract. I must say, at first I was bitter, but it turns out it was actually a blessing after searching for other home warranties, as I have found companies with lower premiums and deductibles, AND better ratings! Thank you AHS! I cannot recommend this company. Although the response time was average, it is the "fine print" (that's not even actually printed on the contract) that will get to you with the add-on, not-covered expenses. Be wise, shop elsewhere.

    Anne Date: 2014-05-28 12:47:22

    Review: I've been fighting and arguing with Choice Home Warranty regarding my air conditioner. They sent out Priority Plumbing and Air who temporarily fixed the problem. 2 weeks later my air went out again. Warranty sent out Air Patrol to get a 2nd opinion and technician reported that I had 2 Filter Driers which caused warranty company to deny my claim for a new compressor stating the reason of improper installation. I hired 2 different companies out of my own expense and both stated there was only 1 Filter Dryer and the other was a Muffler. My technician called Air Patrol to see why they are misdiagnosing and the supervisor agreed to come out and look for himself. Supervisor from Air Patrol came out and he did agree that his technician did misdiagnose and was going to let warranty company know. I get a call from warranty company stating claim denied again but this time it's due to rust found which caused a restriction in the freon line. This new diagnosis was never mentioned from any of the other technicians. At this point I will now have to come out of my pocket to get my unit fixed. I have no choice since I live in Las Vegas and having air for almost a month now if unbearable. I want to take this further but I'm not really sure where to start. If anyone out there can help, please by all means let me know.

    T.Herman, Cataula, Georgia Date: 2010-11-18 10:21:36

    Review: Water heater broke, call AHS on Saturday Morning, at 7:30 a.m.. Went to work, Got home check email and had one from AHS telling me the contractor assigned. Contractor called on Monday morning and said he would be out between 2 and 4. Told him the unit was no good and he should bring out a 50 gallon water heater with him. Came out at 2:30, looked at water heater and said it needs replacement. Said he would be back Tuesday or Wednesday with new one, will call. Also said it would cost $380.00 for new one. $120.00 for permit, $65.00 for hauling away old heater and $185.00 to install expansion tank and bring up to code. This did not include my $60.00 service fee. All together $440.00. Call contractor Tuesday to find out when they are coming, they said on Wednesday and would call later in the day to let me know what time. Never called back. Called Wednesday to find out what time, they said they won't be able to make it till Thursday or Friday. I told them they said Wednesday and that I was not a happy camper because my family was without hot water for 5 days already. Called AHS, talked to them, service rep was nice, had me hold on and called contactor. She then got back to me and told me contractor would call me within the hour. 30 minutes later contractor called and said they would be there at 1 p.m. Hot water was installed by 2:30 that afternoon. AHS should check contractors more closely. I checked with 3 other contractors who told me the permit cost $50.00 and the expansion tank with cold up grade would be $90.00. Also told contractor I would haul away the water myself, and they said no, they would have to haul away or they don't do job. Wasn't happy with contractor. A

    Jeff Date: 2011-08-16 13:28:02

    Review: Don't waste your money! They'll only repair very minor things which your deductible will cover. For anything else they'll come up with a million and one reasons as to why it is not covered. Not installed to code, not maintained properly (which may cover everything), incorrectly installed, not proper unit/model for your use. After calling for service, the service company claims they repaired my AC. It still doesn't work. The contractor doesn't know what's going on until they get a report from their technician. It's been over a week, it's hot, I have no AC, and they're still waiting for a report from their technician. Save your money...AHS is not an honorable insurance company which deals fairly and honors its policies.

    Vishal Rajpal , Alexandria Virginia Date: 2011-05-29 08:38:02

    Review: Very Frustating experience to deal with AHS Had to request service twice for 2 plumbing problems my place which was under warranty - Every time the plumbing problem was diagnosed wrong and the estimated charges needed to fix the problem with thrice the actual amount I actually paid to fix the problem The second time the technician did not show up for 2 days and again the same issue - This time I had actually called my technician prior to calling american home shield so I know the real issue - Again they said this problem was due to a warranty item not covered - My suggestion to you save your investment in this warranty purcahase and use it in a better way to fix things in your home - No reason to spend 500$ buy a warranty and pay 60$ a visit for misidentification of problems Please reconsider making this purchase

    Femi, Carol Stream, IL Date: 2010-06-25 09:23:09

    Review: AHS cannot provide service over the weekend. They always try to avoid the repair cost. $60 per visit is too much. We are without A/C for over a week now. They r trying to avoid the repair cost. Overall Rating for them is Zero. Never choose them for your home.

    Kelli Johnson, Houston, TX Date: 2011-09-03 12:40:35

    Review: I would not recommend this service to anyone. I called in problems with my A/C unit over 2.5 weeks ago. At this time they were told I was pregnant with twins and Texas was having triple digit weather. Therefore, AHS coded my order an emergency. Throughout this whole saga, AHS kept giving out my parent's home phone number (the warranty is in their name) instead of my cell number to the providers instead of mine which created all kinds of unnecessary delays. I also later discovered that the first and the third provider they sent out are coded F by the BBB. The first service provider they sent out the did not fix it (just tested it for leaks and added Freon). The second one came out and said the compressor was broken. Apparently AHS did not let the emergency status carry over to the second provider so they ordered the part and said it would take a week for the part to come in. My father had to get on the phone with a manager with AHS to get it re-recorded as an emergency so they would expedite the part. However it still took a week for them to come out and replace the compressor. The second fix only lasted 24 hours. I came home from work and it as 90 degrees in the house. This was very upsetting as my dog suffered the whole day. So I called AHS back and asked for the second provider to come back out. Unfortunately the second provider was booked so they send a third provider out. The third provider did come but the unit was frozen so they said they could not do anything with it. They said they would come out the next day between 9:00 and 11:00 a.m. It is now 12:20 p.m. and they have not shown up. I called AHS and the representative was very rude to me. I asked to be transferred to a manager. She let me sit on hold for at least 5 minutes and then hung up on me. I called back and the next representative said that she did not see that the other representative recorded that I called. Therefore, she covered her tail by not letting me talk to her manager and not recording that I called. Then the second AHS representative tried to call the third provider and she could not reach them either. All AHS said they could do was wait 30 minutes for the provider to call back and if they do not they can transfer the service to a fourth provider. I am not holding my breath that anyone will be available because it is Saturday and it is Labor Day weekend. Again, I would not recommend this provider to absolutely anyone.

    Gene T. Date: 2011-06-09 14:57:00

    Review: Too bad I did not do an initial research before signing up for warrenty with ahs. Number one thing that I learned from the experience with the company is they are based on lies and I have facts prooving this. My air conditioner has recently broke. It happened on Tuesday morning. I called ahs with the emmergency call. First they told me that due to a high volume of emmergencies in my area I cannot have a technician come right away. So the first available window was on Thursday; And that's how they treat emmergencies - two days later. So I took a day off work on Thursday. All of a sudden on Wednesday afternoon someone calls me saying that there's a technician at my door. So I take off work and fly as fast as I can home thinking that I won't have to take off Thursday anymore. I come home and guy tells me he found a hole in the compressor unit. He had not step a foot in my house to see if there's any issue with the air conditioner inside. So he leaves around 3pm. I called ahs 4 times that evening to find out if they received the information from the technician because I need this to be resolved immediately since the temperature in my house reached 91 degrees. I even called twice next morning. Only around 11am next morning someone calls and tells me that there are two holes (instead of one originally stated by the technician) and that ahs does not cover the damange since holes were not wear & tear, but something might have hit it. However, I kept insisting that this isn't true because just 2 months ago I had my air conditioner checked out and tested by another hvac company just to make sure that I'm prepared for the summer. I have all the paperwork from that company stating that my air conditioner is in good working and physical condition on the outsides as well as on the inside of my house. So I ended up taking off work three days hoping that by Friday night things may get resolved. Anyway, it's been 4 days, nothing is done and ahs isn't willing to repair the damage. I am going to cancel my warrenty with ahs, because I feel this company is built on the lies. They are attracting you with their nice words in the policy, however when it comes to the pay off, they will change things around so that you end up paying yourself. Besides all the points that I have made, their customer services is just as bad. Only on Thursday, which is two days after I placed a first emmergency phone call to ahs I find out that my emmergency call was not even treated as an emmergency because someone apparently did not put a checkmark on the computer while taking my call the first time. Finally, they put a checkmark and things are still not resolved and most likely will never get resolved. ahs it's NOT worth a penny!!!

    SJ Drysdale, Houston, TX Date: 2011-07-15 13:08:25

    Review: American Home Shield servic is horrific. Absolutely horrific. I have requested service on my air conditioner which everyone agrees is covered. You will find the following experience with AHS: 1. Their website didn't have AC as a problem area to select requiring a phone call to their 800 number. 2. Consistently the wait times on their 800 service number exceeds 15 minutes. 3. Their representatives absolutely do not care. 4. The contractor they sent was not prepared to do the work. 5. The only way to contact AHS about the lack of preparedness by the contractor they chose was to go through the same time wasting process mentioned above. 6. I have had to repeat this process FIVE TIMES to get my work done. I have had to be at my house SEVEN TIMES while the incompetent contractors they sent out bungle around. AHS absolutely does not care about service. The website is a joke and their reps have told me on the phone it often has problems. I have had to spend hours on the phone on hold and talking to representatives who are little more than order takers. I say again. AHS absolutely doesn't care about the customer experience. It is a nightmare dealing with them. I don't know what other home warranty companies are like but AHS is a nightmare.

    Gavin, Chandler, AZ Date: 2011-06-09 14:14:01

    Review: I have four houses contracted with this company and only used them a coupld of times for small things. This compnay has made lot of money out of my plans. Last week, one of the rental house AC was down, Outside temperature is 102, and the tenants are in Hotel. The AC is still not fixed after 6 days, and my hotel cost is piling up. Worst experience.

    Debra Woodbridge, VA Date: 2011-08-29 09:37:25

    Review: I placed a service call for low pressure in my guest bedroom tub and shower. Customer Service Rep was very professional and she even stated that system was down and that there was a backlog in putting request into system. She said that it may be 6 days before I could get a technician out. This was hardly the case. I received a call back almost immediately from the plumber that was assigned to me and they gave me an estimated date for the next day between 1-5. Technician was early, they called to ask if they could come at about 12:30. He was very professional and he had to leave to get a part and immediately returned and fixed the problem. I am truly satisfied my my service call. It was the first and I hope they will all be like that in the future. My son also, uses them and they are satisfied too.