×

Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Dist Of Columbia: $314.00
Average Deductible in Dist Of Columbia: $41.51
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8349
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 482
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3427
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 287
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.7
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1712
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 1036
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2110
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $369 - $459
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating A
Established In 1994
Total Reviews 232
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1791
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 3.9
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Pete, Fort Worth, Texas Date: 2012-01-12 18:07:32

    Review: Do not use American Home Shield. The only time my problems were actually fixed was when I buttered up the contractor, who then lied to AMS so that they would actually accept the claim. In every instance, however, the contractor told me that the issue would not be covered even though it was clearly within the contractual guidelines. The final straw was when my cooktop went out. AMS stepped up to the plate and sent me a new one. The problem is they sent me the most basic (and cheapest) model, which was no where near the model that I had. In fact, this basic model cost $800 dollars less and was nowhere near the quality, color, etc.. as the one that broke. When I called to speak to them about this, they told me I was SOL and would have to pay the extra $800 in addition to a restocking fee if I wanted the same model that broke. This company really is a scam and I would not recommend it to anyone. All of my friends that have used AMS would agree. It definitely does not provide "peace of mind."

    Audrey Biloon, Savannah, Georgia Date: 2011-05-23 21:59:36

    Review: I'm giving an overall rating of poor because we've been loyal AHS customers for over twelve years (and have told many friends about AHS). We have always made our payments on time and have had a very reasonable number of service requests. Therefore, we were shocked to have received a form letter, with no refernce # on it, with a pre printed signature at the bottom,coldly stating that after our contract term expires this year, our contract will not be renewed.No explanation was given except that the contract says they can choose to not renew. I tried to call AHS and got nowhere. I used the contact form on their website and received an e-mail back saying that someone would contact me within 24 hours and if they didn't I should call The Consumer Services Dept. No one contacted me so after a week I called and again got nowhere. Apparently the letter is sent from an AHS office out of Colorado and there is no way to get in contact with the person whose signature is stamped on the letter or anyone else in that office except by snail mail.

    J. Mcintosh, Newton NC Date: 2010-08-26 18:05:09

    Review: We called old republic to come out and fix a broken ice maker. They reported that ice makers are not covered. We have a leaking sink in our bathroom, and two toilets that run intermittently, fortunately they said these are covered. They sent a nice plumber out, but the plumber said he had never seen this type of sink before and that he would have to call to see if he could get parts. He looked at the first toilet and reported that it was in good shape and did not need to be fixed. He went out to the truck to call about parts for the sink. He came back in after an hour and said that old republic would not cover the sink because he felt the leak was in the sink and not in the pipes. He could not see the leak because of the position of the pipe coming into sink from the wall. He even asked if I had a small retractable mirror so he could angle the mirror up to see what the problem was. I stated that I did not have a mirror like that. But he was able to make the diagnosis despite not being able to see the actual problem. He then proceeded to replace a seal on the toilet that he had just stated did not need to be fixed. I feel he did this because I was becoming agitated that nothing seemed to getting done. He then said I needed to pay a $55 dollar service fee which I refused to pay. Good to know what $450 buys you from old republic….Absolutely nothing. In speaking to old republic they never offered to send someone else out to get a second opinion. All they kept saying is it is not covered. And that I owed $55 dollars which I told them I refused to pay. And the plumber left before looking at the second toilet. old republic said I would have to pay another $55 dollars if they sent another plumber out to look at the second toilet. What a joke.

    Ray Najib, Chantilly, Va. Date: 2011-10-25 10:41:40

    Review: On three service calls I have made during the course of 4 years of my contract with AHS, I have not been satisfied at all. Their services are very very poor.

    Thibaut Poll Date: 2011-09-02 08:58:06

    Review: I strongly advice you not to use this company because of service and cost : - I have posted a request for a dishwasher. Well actually not 1 request but 5 and 3 phone calls before they actually start working on my issue - You have to pay $95 fee for each visit plus the cost of the insurance. So if one item fails during the year you save money if you have it repaired for less than this total which is extremely likely - But most importantly if the item cannot be repaired they choose the replacement item. And guess what, they don't replace by the same item but choose the lowest quality possible. So even if your item is replaced you are very likely to have spend more money on your policy that the price of the new item. - So it could work if you have several items failing in a year. But they are smart enough to have a cap on how much they spend. Overall this is almost impossible for you to be covered for more than what you paid and their customer service is extremyly poor to say the least.

    Kelly, Houston, TX Date: 2011-11-15 18:17:28

    Review: I have used three home warranty companies over the last 15 years. Old Republic has had several techs come out for various reasons. I have never any problems getting something repaired or replaced. I have read my contracts closely and understand the dollar limits ahead of time. Since my husband travels for a living, the peace of mind that I can something repaired for a small fee has been great. Within a week of moving into my house the tub stopped draining. They had a plumber out the next day who spent all morning tracking down the sewer blockage, cleared and never had a problem since. My disposal went out and I wanted to replace it with a better one. This wasn't going to be covered and I knew that ahead of time. I went and bought the one I wanted and replaced it myself. The shelf in my freezer broke. This could have gone either way with some companies. This company never questioned it. The repairman ordered the shelf and a week later came and put it in. Garage door opener stopped working, due to age. They simply replaced and again never hesitated to cover it. I have always felt like they treated us very fairly.

    Tom Jones, Fremont, CA Date: 2011-05-23 15:46:20

    Review: Wow, what a mess! This company used to be decent but now it's just aweful. The reps are rude and unprofessional. This company will do everything it can to screw you. I have had billing problems, repair problems, incorrect information, etc, etc. Stay away.

    Paul, Lanham MD Date: 2010-07-07 12:15:46

    Review: American Home Shield has shown poor follow-up servicing my busted A/C unit. Somehow an external HVAC compressor fan blade got bent. Why, I don't know. All I do know is that it's a pretty hot 100 degrees in the Washington, D.C., area these past couple of days. AHS said they were contacting someone who could come out. But it's a dispatch bureaucracy it seems. They're always relaying info. but no one calls me back to setup an appointment. One guy did come out from the company with whom they contract. He said a bent blade is not covered. In the meantime I'm still waiting for follow up. And waiting. My wind fans just aren't cutting it. Will someone tell me what the heck I'm paying AHS for? Because I'm still waiting.

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2016-04-25 13:40:45

    Review: We sincerely apologize for the circumstances relayed and for any inconvenience this has caused you. We want very much to review this matter and address the concerns outlined. We have tried to contact you to discuss your concerns but unfortunately we have been unable to reach you. Please contact our assigned associate at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

    Darrell, Garden Grove, Ca Date: 2011-05-21 16:33:32

    Review: I've had two claim under the standard coverage plan of $270. The first claim involved a water heater which gave out in the first 3 months of ownership. They replaced it within a weeks time through a contract named Specialized Plumbing Services (SPS). Luckily for for Old Republic, the water heater was still under manufacturer warranty so they only had to cover labor charges for installation. The second claim involved a broken water pipe in my garage. It was the mainline feed coming from the service mete into my garage. They first tried to deny the claim by saying it's not a pipe within the 'house'. I got a customer service representative (CSR) to look at the policy and verify that it is covered. First plumber, A+ Plumbing, said he could do the repair but not until a week later. Who can go a week without water? I call into Old Republic and was placed on hold for nearly an hour before getting a CSR. I asked to used SPS since their previous work was acceptable and fairly quick. I had to call back and forth between SPS and Old Republic to get the two companies to talk and authorize the service (which involved 2 more calls nearly 1 hour each). Old Republic informs me that again, the pipe is outside of the house. BULLSHIT! Its inside the garage. They then said there was already a fix in place so there's no problem. Of course I put in a temporary fix to make sure we could have some water to the house, mind you I have 2 elderly parents in the house (one of which is in a wheelchair), and to prevent future leaking damage to the garage. It was obvious that Old Republic did not want to cover the fix. They resorted to saying that the pipe was improperly installed because a sprinkler system was run off it. The sprinkler system is tapped from the mainline, not the broken pipe! Sure, a previous homeowner tapped from it and didn't make it look pretty, but the lack of aesthetics can't damage the pipe inside the garage! I'm fed up with Old Republic. I will not be renewing my policy with them. From talking to the last plumber, he told me that Fidelity is a much better company to go with and that their customer service is much better.

    ta San Jose, ca Date: 2011-09-07 16:56:28

    Review: We regret that we bought home warranty plan through Old Republic. We didn't read reviews before purchase the plan that is now we suffer with their services. They give us TriValley contractor service come over to take a look at our appliances. The worst technician with less experience came over to take a look. Without open any appliances, and he came up with conclusion calcium deposit so that Old Republic denied to fix it. We tried to call both Old Repubic and TriValley so many times to request to have full technician report over a month already, but we didn't get it. When we were on the phone, they said they will send it, but they never did. If you have different choice, DO NOT CHOOSE OLD REPUBLIC AS YOUR HOME WARRANTY PLAN IT WILL WASTE OF YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!!! If you already purchase it and if they refer you TriValley contractor, try to refuse it. If you want to purchase Home warranty, try to search on the web to see which company has good reviews then purchase. Old Repubic has terrible fixing services, that is why they have very bad reviews.

    Kevin Enochs Date: 2011-07-19 11:01:41

    Review: Never use this company. In the midst of a heatwave American Home Shield refused to allow the company they approved to do the work necessary to fix our Air Conditioning. They demanded the worker ask for a 2nd opinion but said they wouldn't be able to get out to the house for at least a week. In effect they refused to honor our account. This is a disreputable company.

    Rene' Dailey San Antonio. TX Date: 2011-09-25 10:46:34

    Review: Took 2 weeks to get my A/C fixed and all they did was put freon in it!! If that was all it needed why would you send somebody out saying they couldn't fix it because it was electrical. Then send out an electrician that couldn't come out in a timely fashion because their truck was broken. Then come out and say it was the A/C!! The A/C company didn't return calls when you left messages and the receptionist was rude on the phone. The repairman was dirty and smelly and walked though the house without foot covering and NEVER checked the inside unit! Then when I called AHS and spoke with someone, I called the following day to find out she had not put my request in!! I have had AHS for a year and this was the first time I used them, will be the last! If I had been payong for the repairs myself my A/C would have been fixed within a few days NOT weeks!! FACTS!!

    Vivian Date: 2014-06-29 04:17:14

    Review: $2400 and 3 weeks later!! Living in Las Vegas during the hottest time with temps outside of 107 and 91 inside home our A/C went out. Within a year we have had 4 techs from 4 different companies come out on this old A/C unit. Our home warranty company is First American Home Buyers. They have put a band aid until I finally went off. The final tech stated full replacement as this 4th contractor had just came out 3 weeks prior to service. We did get a new unit but it took me to threaten legal action and hanging up after talking myself blue in face reaching different customer service reps from home warranty. The home warranty a $50 credit to go buy some fans. My husband is a disabled Veteran, elderly with COPD and Vascular leg problems. This was stated to Home Warranty from beginning and all of a sudden they offered $150 assistance to buy some sort of cooling device to help. Our friend provided us a small window unit but it was still over 83 degrees in which was unbearable in that room. I relocated my husband, small dog an myself to Red Roof Inn and we stayed there 17 nights that cost us over $1400 due to health reasons. During all of this between the home warranty and contractor provided us with lies throughout the process therefore creating more expenses from our pocket. We were told that we should have had a case manager from the home warranty company from the beginning due to the urgent health situation. We did not hear from this Michelle person until the end when she knew the A/C was finally or believed it to be finally placed on roof. I have documented everything from the start along with pictures of my husbands feet/leg swelling due to not having his medical devices available from home to the hotel. We were told from Contractor that the home warranty was paying everything only to be hit with a $950 bill on top of the hotel expenses we had put out. The contractor hired a metal machine fab shop to finish a part to adjoin new A/C to home and this machine shop made the part off by 11 inches that kept us still at hotel an additional 4 nights due to their screw up. This was after Contractor received their $950. We are now fighting with Red Roof Inn due to over charges on credit card on a amount of over $300. I would like to move forward with filing a complaint for both the home warranty company and contractor for non communication between themselves and with us. It took me to let them know that I will be contacting an attorney to go after them for them to finish this. Not one time did the home warranty nor contractor care about our welfare during this process nor the cost that we incurred during their delays in addressing the issue. Both of these companies need to be addressed on their business practices due to their non professional manner with no regard to anyone but themselves. I will not let this lay still but need to find someone that believes we have a case or not to pursue both companies.

    C Batiste, Dublin, OH Date: 2011-07-30 07:06:58

    Review: My home had no hot water yesterday morning and I immediately put in a service request for a technician. The company finally called me at 1:00 pm to tell me that they couldn't come until Monday. What a waste of time waiting for a call. I tried calling AHS numerous times after that, but the wait time was 15 minutes to talk to someone. AND with the heat, the wait time could be longer. I have never heard of such a thing! So, this morning I got through and I asked AHS to recommend another company that could possibly come out today so we can take warm showers this weekend. I was told that we have to wait until Monday and to heat up some water and put it in the bathtub and take a bath. I couldn't believe it! To sum it up...AHS does not care about the quality of your life and the companies that they put their stamp of approval on do not care either! It NEVER just cost $60 with the companies they recommend. So, we have an appointment with an outside company who can come this afternoon. That's all I wanted AHS to do. Is that asking too much? So, when they harass me this spring to renew my contract, I may have to heat up some water and think about it.

    George Strasser, Denton Texas Date: 2011-02-17 15:32:38

    Review: I have had AHS for almost a year. The biggest problem that I see is that their repair companies are not local. I live in Denton Texas (population 100,000) and when I call in a repair they always send in somebody from Fort Worth which is 50 miles away. They can't make their scheduled appointmentsand they don't know local code. These companies also don't care if they do a good job or not because they are so far out of their area. I have had 3 service calls through American Home Shield this year, once with my AC, another time with the water main, and another time with my fridge. The repair man would not work with the AC because he said the wireing was out of code. I still had to pay the $60 service fee and got nothing. I called a local AC repair company and they said the wiring is within code for Denton and they fixed the problem with the AC for only $50. The repair man for the water main said he could not even look at it without digging up the main line from the street to the house which would cost me $60 per hour. I still had to pay him the $60 service fee and then I dug up the place where the problem was and fixed it with a $15 connector replacement. The repairman for the fridge showed up late then had to order a new part. Because he is from Fort Worth he promised to be back the next day. He finally showed up 2 weeks later to get our fridge running again. There is a 30 day warranty on labor and 90 days on parts. The part broke again on the 91st day and I called AHS and they refused to do anything about it. They offered to send the same company out to look at it again and of course, it would cost me another $60 service fee. I called the local appliance repair shop and they came and fixed it for $55 and they stand behind their work and will happily replace it if it fails again. I have talked with AHS several times. They said they "Understand" my problem but they did nothing to fix the problems. My advice to anyone out there thinking of purchasing a home warranty from American Home Shield it to just put the money that the warranty would cost you into the bank and call your local repair man if something breaks. You will be much better off and probably save a lot of money as well. I had a home warranty through AHS with another home several years ago and at that time they had gread customer service and really did fix things that went wrong. I thought I would get the same great service this time but somehting has changed and all I have done is pay AHS and the service companies they send and they have fixed nothing.

    Mary, Lavonia, GA Date: 2011-06-02 16:37:16

    Review: 800 858 1922 I've had this warranty since I bought my home in 2009. So far, I've used them twice. The first time wasn't too bad. The guy came out to fix an electrical problem in the kitchen, replacing an outlet. The second time I had a leak under my kitchen sink. It took the repairman four hours to get to my house. They called a guy who was 60 miles away! When he finally got here he took five minutes to tighten something and left. Several days later, the leak came back and I had to call a local repairman. Then recently, I had another problem which I called for service on and NEVER got a call from any technician. I called AHS and they said there was no serviceman in our area. BUT I HAD TO CALL AHS to find that out. They never called ME. The last straw was today when I called for service on my refrigerator and was told it wasn't covered in my contract. I had to wait 15 MINUTES on hold to find that out. AHS is A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY! I paid in for TWO YEARS. I should have put that into a savings for home repairs. At least I'd have earned interest on my money. Lesson learned.

    Terri Cobb, Lampasas, Texas Date: 2011-02-03 09:36:38

    Review: I have had AHS about a year. I called recently about our JennAir electric cooktop (one year old) which cracked while cleaning. The service technician was scheduled and showed up on time. The rep was friendly, efficient and professional. He agreed it was design default and AHS offered to replace the cooktop or give me the $$ to use toward any other unit. I opted for the cash since I wanted to install a gas unit. I was paid my $$ share and used it toward installation of a new gas cooktop. However if you go that route they don't cover that unit right away - there's a timeframe you must wait. They offered to get one for me and order through them but I wanted a model they didn't offer so I bought my own and had it installed. I did have a furnace issue and called but they couldn't use our local electrician (whom I trust and who has always been fair) so they said I'd have to use their technician which I believe comes from Sears. I chose not to use the Sears technician and we're debating on what course to take as I'd really like to use my local dealer. We live a long way from the main Sears service area and prior to having AHS I had quite a few negative encounters getting the Sears rep to come 'all the way out there' to work on my Kenmore washer. My neighbor has new Kenmore W/D units which had issues right after installation and it took weeks - months before the Sears folks made it "all the way out there" and finally fixed the problems - we feel Sears isn't responsive at all to those of us in the country... That's the only reason we haven't decided to use the AHS reps... Yes, there is always the issue of fair wear/tear as opposed to owner neglect and I can sympathize as a disreputable repair tech might rubberstamp too many that way. I'm guessing it more depends on the rep on the call as to what kind of service you get. I know of 2 other people w/this AHS service and they've had nothing but positive and overwhelming experiences which is why I chose to sign up. The problem with most 'review' sites is that folks don't take the time to right good experices but they'll take the time to get on their soapbox about the negative. Read the contract and be ready to accept the outcome or follow the process to appeal the decisions.

    BR, California Date: 2011-04-12 16:29:51

    Review: We called AHS to come out and look at our pool equipment which was not working. We were told that service was denied due to pre-existing rust. The customer service rep advised me that I should have waited 30 days into the contract, and then they couldn't have proved that the rust was pre-existing. That made me furious. While the pool repairman was at my house, the commented on another issue he found broken. He called to add it to the claim, but AHS refused to add it. They said I had to file a new claim, and thus pay a new $60 fee to have the repairman come back out. Nothing got fixed with the first $60 I paid, so I was not about to pay another $60. I called customer service to see what the official policy was on whether or not a relating issue could be added to a claim, since it is not directly stated in my contract. Their official answer: "It depends." Yes, it depends on what allows them to pay out the least amount of money. We quickly cancelled our contract and got a full refund because we were within 30 days of starting the contract. Our realtor told us not to go with AHS. I should have listened. I have heard much better reviews on other home warranty companies. Skip AHS.

    d Hough, Edmond, Ok Date: 2010-08-04 17:01:31

    Review: Purchase our home 8 months ago with this warranty. What a joke! After numerous $60 service fees on top of the original cost of the warranty, we have received zero in compensation for a/c repair and duct work problems. Both were 'covered'. I'm investigating class action lawsuits against this company and talking to our lawyer. This company needs to be stopped!