×

Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Dist Of Columbia: $313.23
Average Deductible in Dist Of Columbia: $41.35
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8075
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 470
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1705
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3327
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Dist of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 283
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.7
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2014
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 1009
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1762
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1776
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Kelvin Franklin, Seminole, FL Date: 2011-01-13 19:01:38

    Review: I was a AHS (American Home Shield) customer for 3-4 years. Every year my premium has went up and my satisfaction for the services have went down. I have put in several service request where the problem (dishwasher) was never fixed and every time I have had to pay another service fee. With all the service fees I have paid I could have replaced my dishwasher and got a new manufactures warranty. As it stands the dishwasher still does not clean well despite having all the washer arms replaced, new gasket, new filter, and blade. I have also tried every maintenance trick that I was told by the service techs that come out. I had them out for my refrigerator only to be told that this was not something that they covered and there was nothing they could do. They fixed my over-the-range microwave twice and it hasn't been right sense. Now they will gladly come back out for the microwave for a small fee of course. On a plus note they did fix my A/C which if I would have talked to my neighbor he would have replaced the same fuse for less than the $60.00 service fee. I have come to the conclusion that the company does not care about its customers, but they do care about there premiums. I wish I would have did more research on AHS before I decided to give them my money. I was a new home owner and I didn't want anything to break that I couldn't afford to fix. The thing is with proper maintenance most of your household appliances will last awhile and most service companies offer a warranty with there maintenance plans. As you see I could have had at least 3-4 top of the line dishwashers for what I paid. Home warranties do give you a piece of mind until you realize how much you use it and the service or lack thereof that comes with it. I will also say that the customer service reps have always been nice and pleasant to me even if it was to tell me "not covered" in a pleasant way.

    Jeff erie,pa Date: 2011-08-24 09:26:38

    Review: We bought our house over a year ago and AHS came with it. A year goes by without any problems so we renewed our contract paying AHS around $500. A month later a pipe breaks in the basement and water starts leaking from the floor. I called water works because it was coming from the outside, they came over and found out that the leak was on my side of the property, so i called AHS, they send some guy out that I've never heard of and he tells me that since it's outside of the house then AHS won’t cover it, out of pocket expense was $2000 to fix. A week later water is leaking from the ceiling. I called AHS and they send the same people out. He cuts a 3 x 5 hole in the ceiling to get to the pipe to then tell me that it's leaking from the shower faucet because it wasn't caulked right. Two weeks later my ceiling still has a hole in it and I haven’t gotten a call from AHS or anyone on who’s going to fix it. But then the pipe started leaking again, I called AHS to get the “plumbers” to come back out, they show up a week later and we showed them the pipe that was leaking. They fixed the pipe and AHS covered the cost. The plumbers told us they will notify AHS of the hole in the ceiling so they can get someone out to fix it. 2 weeks go buy and I heard nothing so I called AHS to find out that no one filed the claim, he told me to give him 2 hours to find someone to come over to fix the hole. He calls back to tell me that they couldn’t find anyone to fix it and they will write me a check so that I can find someone to fix it for me. He said the cost to cover everything would be $100. I told him that more of the ceiling is going to have to come down do to mold and he said that AHS does not cover secondary damage. So I have to find a person to come over, rip more of the ceiling down, put the supports back in that the plumber ripped out and repair the ceiling to a rough finish all for $100. I asked the guy on the phone as to how he came to this number and he couldn’t give me an answer. How did he know how big this hole was? So today I canceled my contract with AHS.

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2015-09-30 12:58:29

    Review: We apologize the terms of coverage do not include reimbursing costs for services rendered by technicians you called on your own. Our Plan requires that if a service situation arises, Plan Holders contact us directly for assistance. Service requests can be placed any time, online or by calling us at (800) 972-5985. We truly hope we can be of service to you in the future.

    Alicia, Rock Hill SC Date: 2011-04-17 22:53:06

    Review: My central stopped cooling the home and two service orders had to be entered because the first trip did not fix the issue. The second trip, I was given a different reason and had to wait a week for a response from the repair company. After having to file a complaint w/ AHS, the repair company changed their reason for issue that was reported to me on the 2nd visit and AHS denied the claim. I called the repair company for clarification and was insulted when I was told "it's because of my education that I don't understand what they were telling me". AHS informed me that that was the only central air company that they contracted with in my area. I was also informed by AHS that they could only take the info that the repairman provided them. Guess what? My contract ends in 2 months and I will no longer use AHS. I have lost confidence in AHS and the 1 and only central company that service my area w/ AHS.

    T. Mitchell Date: 2011-04-11 20:38:05

    Review: I bought my first home at the end of December of 2010. In January, there was a very small fire in the master bathroom caused by the heater/exhust fan. The olny real damage was to this unit. I contacted AHS right away, they were very helpful, saying they would contact a company in my city and the repair company would call me to set up a time. A week went by, I called AHS, they gave me the number to the repair company. I called to set up a time for the repair, but the voicemail was in Spanish (I don't speak Spanish). I wasnt sure I had reached the right company, so I called back several times before I finally got a real person. Week two goes by. Finally, I call the repair company again, they come right out to install a new unit, which works great. However, my fiance had to go into the attic due to unusally cold weather to see why I was experiencing really cold air coming from the NEW heater/exhust unit. Oh, they forgot to seal the unit, and some of the parts didn't fit properly. Not to mention, one of the work men didn't realize he could only step in certain areas of an attic. Was this his first time in an attic???? Now the texture in the celing in the entryway, and bathroom is falling. It sure wasn't like that before the repair. Please try to use another company before you waste your hard earned money on AMS.

    T. Johnson, Riverdale, GA Date: 2011-03-28 09:41:46

    Review: I am disgusted and appalled that this company is still in business. We bought a house 9 months ago and have had issues with the AC every since. The warranty came with the house or else they would not be my first choice. They will not cover the maintenance and replacement of items in despair. I am 6 months pregnant and cannot get this issue resolved no matter what I do. It is pretty taxing having to pay $60.00 for a company to come out and just do preliminary things. I have tried to resolve everything with this people and now I have to broaden my plight further. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES USING THIS WARRANTY COMPANY BECAUSE THEY ARE A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2015-09-28 18:00:24

    Review: Our Compliance Manager has contacted you and also provided you a written response in regard to the concerns outlined. Please feel free to contact the Compliance Manager directly for any additional questions you may have. Thank you.

    Nancy Shuff, Lake Elsinore, CA Date: 2011-03-02 13:49:17

    Review: We have American Home Warranty on 3 properties (2 of which are rentals) which we renew yearly. As a realtor, I always recommend a home warranty, at seller or buyer expense, at least for the 1st year. I came to this site because a client, who is about to close escrow on his home is purchasing a policy at his cost. He was concerned that AHS wasn't a good company because of the reviews he read. I was really shocked at his comment because all of our experiences have been great, with the exception of one difficult issue ... the A/C unit. After going back and forth a few times, different service providers, various options, and cost, what was and wasn't covered because of the condition of the unit before coverage was questionable. The end result was that we paid out of pocket to have it repaired. But our local service rep. made everything right, we were reimbursed. Over the last 5 years of recommending this company to clients, I know of only one complaint regarding a tank-less water heater. The home was a 5 yr old home, but never lived in. The question was if it was under warranty by the manufacturer and if it was installed correctly. Because it was taking too long to settle the problem, AHS replaced it. The BBB is a good source to check. AHS has a rating of A+. I recommend American Home Shield. And if a problem arises, get in touch with a local rep. to report bad service or getting help in resolving problems or questions.

    Rachel, Oklahoma City, OK Date: 2010-07-26 10:03:56

    Review: At the end of May, I called ORHP to complain that my AC was not keeping the house cool. Their service company could not come for a week. The technician did not know what he was doing, and misdiagnosed the problem. ORHP ruled that the supposed problem voided my warranty. My father convinced them to send the technician back out, it again took a week, and he again misdiagnosed the problem. After much arguing, ORHP told us we could get a 2nd opinion, and they would reimburse us. We called a reputable company, and our technician told us that the previous diagnosis was completely bogus. After submitting his diagnosis to ORHP, they sent out a 3rd company. They came out in the morning, and said they would have to come back when it was hot. A week later they came back, and found the same thing our 2nd opinion found. ORHP finally said they would replace my AC, but they were going to give me a bottom of the line unit, and I still had to pay $1k for non-covered items, like permits, haul-away & draining the line. Our 2nd opinion tech advised us to ask for the cash instead, which we did. The first offer was just over $800. We finally talked them up to a reasonable amount, and we are going to have our company install a better unit. When ORHP finally agreed to replace the unit, they said it would be 7-10 days. We called our company for the replacement on Friday, and they will be coming to replace it on Tuesday. This has taken 2 months, 5 service calls from 3 companies, much time off work, much hassle with ORHP, and I'm just now getting my air conditioner. If you are having trouble getting your problem properly diagnosed, tell ORHP you want an independent 2nd opinion. If you don't want ORHP's service company to do the repairs, ask for the cash instead.

    Jennifer, Marietta, Georgia Date: 2011-06-02 09:43:59

    Review: Current customer that will NOT be renewing contract. Called regarding my ceiling fan that had been assumed to be covered over the length of our four year contract with them. Had upgraded our account to include everything available to us - $600/year. Customer service informed me that "ceiling fans" weren't covered on my contract, even though it wasn't noted on my contract that it wasn't covered, and that on my user dashboard, was an item available for me to select to be repaired, and even though on their marketing materials (from the front page of the website) it says "Our Basic coverage includes: Heating Systems Plumbing Systems Electrical Systems Water Heater Oven/Range/Cooktop Dishwasher Built-in-Microwave Garbage Disposal Exhaust Fan Ceiling Fans Plumbing Stoppages Ductwork http://www.ahs.com/homeowners/plans-costs/plans-costs.html So....if basic coverage includes ceiling fans and doesn't show that I can expand coverage to include ceiling fans, and I have selected every upgrade available to me, and now ceiling fans aren't covered on the basic portion of "my contract", even though "basic service" on the website covers the ceiling fan, and ceiling fans aren't stated on my contract not to be covered, then....what? According to the customer service rep at American Home Shield, it's not covered. Buyer beware. This customer is DONE with American Home Shield. We won't be renewing, and am currently searching for an alternative solution provider...it's easy to find an alternative by simply typing in "Home Warranty" on google. I suggest the rest of the possible customers follow suit... DOES NOT RECOMMEND.

    Fran Heckrotte, Beaufort, SC Date: 2011-06-21 19:25:37

    Review: As a property manager, I have found AHS extremely problematic when it comes to a/cs and broken pipes. There is no such thing as an emergency since AHS must be called first even if water is pouring into a house. It can take hours before a plumber can be reached. They are resistant to replacing heatpumps and the hidden costs of replacing them is hundreds of dollars. AHS will not pay for hauling off or freon capturing. AHS is pretty much a property manager's nightmare but for home owners they can be beneficial with some things depending on the quality of the repairman and the problem. It took several months to get a stove fixed because they insisted on using one particular service provider even though I had told them this particular vendor was slow to respond and slower to do repairs. Only after getting the regional rep in did the problem get resolved and that took two months.

    Malcolm Platt, Atoka, TN. Date: 2010-10-11 09:13:28

    Review: I called in a service request for my refrigerator which had completely stop cooling, AHS set up an appointment with Sears repair for 4 days later. I called AHS to request an emergency dispatch and was told that was the soonest Sears would be available. I asked if I could arrange service for myself from another appliance repair company and was told that as long as the company was licensed and insured AND was willing to work with AHS (that was my first indication of what to expect) that it would be fine. I called 5 different companies and each of them told me emphatically that they would not deal with AHS as they each had had difficulties being paid by AHS and almost all 5 of them still had outstanding invoices which AHS refused to pay. Sears finally arrived and had to order a part, here it is almost 2 weeks later and no part has arrived. I pay AHS every month on time to act as my agent for any home repair issues I have and they have not acted in good faith. AHS is NOT a company anyone in their right mind should be doing business with. I will also be contacting my mortgage company to let them know how I feel about AHS.

    Oberman, Baltimore, MD Date: 2011-10-01 18:40:47

    Review: We have had AHS for a while but will not be renewing this year. Compliant #1 AHS reserves the right "interpret" your contract the way they see fit. Example our 20 year old furnace needed a new coil however the horrible company that they sent out could not find one. AHS agreed to pay a different coil that would not fit our furnace but would not pay for any modifications and told us if we did have it modified then our warranty would be void. Complaint #2 the vendors that they tend to use have horrible consumer ratings, multiple complaints, and are really terrible. Compliant #3 Terrible customer service. We called when their systems was down for 5 days! Instead of working with us to fix our issue the rep actually stated that we should be grateful that they were allowing us to use an outsider vendor. I could go on but that will take a while. I will be switching warranty companies soon so maybe we can have reliable service.

    D Tampa fl Date: 2010-09-23 23:26:00

    Review: This company is very very sucks and filled with raskles and mother fucker.

    Shannon Gonsalves, gilbert, az Date: 2011-08-08 20:47:04

    Review: American home shield is the worst we have had 2 service calls, 2hrs to speak to a person, then we were left in the AZ heat for days at a time. We are canceling ASAP! don't use this company!

    Annie Kelly Date: 2011-01-21 11:21:25

    Review: I just submitted my review but I think I forgot my phone number which I am including with this submission.

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2015-09-22 18:53:07

    Review: We sincerely apologize for the circumstances relayed. We would like very much to review this matter and address your concerns, however we have been unable to reach you. Please contact our assigned associate so that we can discuss this matter further. Thank you

    M. George Date: 2010-06-04 17:10:53

    Review: Things will get fixed, but not in a timely fashion. If you can wait a week for a refrigerator to be fixed, or two weeks to have a dishwasher fixed this is for you. Your repair will be cancelled at the last minute. Repair companies simply do not prioritize AHS calls. Don’t expect you air conditioning to be fixed although you paid extra for this, they will simple create an excuse why this repair is not covered.

    Aimee, Wilmington, DE Date: 2010-12-13 13:26:42

    Review: Our boiler broke yesterday, we called that day and put in for service. A guy finally make it out aruond noon and said the boiler would need to be replaced. He then says that AHS will not greenlight him to replace it and instead they will contact us about giving us a check so we can get this done at our convience. ITS DECEMBER 13TH, ITS FREEZING OUT AND WE HAVE NO HEAT OR HOT WATER. I'm glad that our family freezing in our house isn't an issue for them. Won't be renewing our contract and won't ever recommend them for anything.

    Rachel, Oklahoma City, OK Date: 2010-11-16 11:28:27

    Review: If you enjoy fighting to get mediocre service, fighting bogus charges and pushing to get your money, then this is the home warranty for you. I left review #208, regarding the difficulty I had getting my AC replaced. Unfortunately, it didn't stop there. As I said before, the contractor came out and misdiagnosed the problem. We argued it with ORHP, and they sent the company out again, and said that if a new problem was found, we would owe a new trade call fee. The contractor's invoice showed that they found the same problem from the 1st visit. Then ORHP sent me 3 invoices for a 2nd trade call fee. Twice I returned paperwork proving that it was a recall. ORHP said there was a new issue found, but couldn't explain what it was. The 3rd time I received an invoice, I called ORHP. The rep agreed with me, and said she would have the charge removed from my account. A month later, I received notice that I was sent to collections. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Attorney General's office, and called ORHP, stating that they were acting in an unethical manner and that I had reported them. That same day, they called me saying how they were sorry, it was an error on their part, and that they had removed the charge from my account. However they later told the State Insurance office that they waived the fee as a "gesture of good-will". When we disagreed with their contractor's diagnosis, we were told we could pay for 2nd opinion, and that if their 2nd contractor agreed with our 2nd opinion, they would reimburse us. So our 2nd opinion diagnosed it, I submitted the receipt, and ORHP sent out a 2nd contractor who agreed with our 2nd opinion. I called a month later to check on the status of my reimbursement for the 2nd opinion, and was told that ORHP NEVER reimburses for 2nd opinions. I called back and spoke with another rep who said they would reimburse me, but that they had never received my receipt, which was false, as it was the same paperwork that caused them to send out their 2nd contractor. So after some arguing, they "found" my receipt and submitted it for reimbursement. When ORHP offered a cash settlement in lieu of replacing my unit, they made me an offer and I accepted. Then they called me a few days later to say they couldn't actually offer me that much and they tried to reduce the amount. I told them that their error was in fact, THEIR error. So they gave me the amount previously agreed on. All in all, this company is more trouble than they are worth.