Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Coverage in Dist Of Columbia () major towns:

Average Premium in : $314.36
Average Deductible in : $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (877) 727-2781

Add to Compare
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (888) 723-4894

Add to Compare
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (877) 770-5669

Add to Compare
                                  4America's Preferred Home Warranty-APHW
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
                                  5Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (877) 771-0896

Add to Compare
                                  6HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
                                  7First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
                                  8Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
 (877) 758-4545

Add to Compare
                                  9Landmark Home Warranty
Premium $425 - $625
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (877) 790-9591

Add to Compare
                                  10Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
 (888) 979-1242

Add to Compare
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $359 - $570
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $399
Deductible $55
Effective At closing for buyers; upon accepting application for sellers & homeowners.
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $379-600
Deductible $69
Effective At Closing or 10 days after purchase
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
  (877) 977-1201

Add to Compare
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $380 - $720
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or after 30 days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $500-$750+
Deductible $100
Effective At closing or after 30 days from the purchase date
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
Premium $402
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
 (888) 826-8212

Add to Compare
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in dist-of-columbia

    SABRINA LANDRY SLIDELL,LA Date: 2012-01-31 16:22:24

    Review: This is the worst company I ve ever had to deal with and I will NEVER recommend anyone to them,once my policy expires,I wil lbe going to another company!!!!!! I called January of 2011 because my refrigerator door came of the hinges per work order#48038335,I advised the Rep that I had 2 refrigerators ,one in the garage and one in my kitchen,he took my information gave me my work order number and advised me that the Appliance company woulD be contacting me to set up a time for them to come out to assess the problem with the door,a few days later the service tech came out and advised me that he would have to order the parts to fix the door on my refrigerator in the garage,I paid my $75 service call fee,after waiting over a month to get my door fixed the tech called me on Jan 30,2012 to advised me that all the parts were in and set up an appointment to come out and fix it,while in route to me the tech called and said that there was a problem with my claim,then the office of the appliance Co.called and advised me that Old Republic would only cover the refrigerator in the kitchen,now mind you when I initially called I advised the Rep that I had two refrigerators and he did NOT ONCE advise me that the only one thats covered was the regerator in the kitchen ,so Im out of $75 plus I had to pay the appliance Co.out of pocket for the parts and labor because I NEEDED TO USE MY REFRIGERATOR.THIS MESSED UP MY WHOLE DAY!!!!I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL THIS POLICY EXPIRES BECAUSE IM DONE WITH OLD REPUBLIC,I DONT LIKE TO BE TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AND THATS WHAT THEY DID,THE REP MADE A MISTAKE AND ME THE PAYING CUSTOMER HAD TO PAY FOR HIS MISTAKE!!!!!NEVER AGAIN !!!!I WILL TAKE MY BUISNESS ELSWHERE!!!THANKS FOR NOTHING!!!!!

    KATHY SMITH Date: 2011-10-27 16:47:56

    Review: THE CALL CENTER IS USELESS. FROM 10/2 UNTIL 10/19 I WAITED, AND WAITED AND WAITED ETC. NO CALLS BACK, NO SERVICE, THE ORIGINAL COMPANY ASSIGNED CAME FOR THE $95 SVC FEE AND ADIOS AMIGO MY HUSBAND CALLED AHS 17 TIMES FROM FRIDAY THRU SUNDAY AND FINALLY GOT A REPLACEMENT SERVICE PROVIDER. I WENT TO THE ADDRESS LISTED FOR THE ANL SERVICE CO AND HE LIVES ON A MARINA WITH TAPED UP BROKEN WINDOWS TWO VANS IN FRONT AND NO ONE TO BE FOUND. ALL IN ALL THE SECOND GUY AIR COMFORT TECHNOLOGY WAS THERE WHEN THEY SAID THE WOULD BE I TOLD THEM OF A SUPPLY COMPANYS ON THE ROAD NEAR US THEY WENT AND PICKED UP THE PART CAME BACK AND IT IS FIXED. I AM LOOKING FOR ANOTHER SERVICE COMPANY. THIS COMPANY IS UNRELIABLE AND A TOTAL NIGHTMARE TO DEAL WITH. ON THE WEBSITE IT SAYS $65 WHY DID I PAY $95?

    Vickie Phillips, Mableton, GA Date: 2010-12-21 17:44:49

    Review: I have had AHS for 9 years and have paid over $4,500 in monthly fees. They take 7 - 10 days just to schedule someone to check out the problem then an additional week to order a part. My tennant wanted weeks for a simple microwave repair. If I had saved the $40 per month I had paid them I could have easily made the repairs they have made to my house and had money left over. I am canceling my contract TODAY!

    Sage Moore, Corona CA Date: 2011-04-25 16:32:39

    Review: Called AHS to fix my A/C, guy came out charged it with freon, tested and said the coils had to be replaced. Left and I got a call from the service company telling me that it's not covered and it would cost me $500.... I called AHS and they said it's not covered. I asked if they monitor the prices the service company they dispatch out and they said no.. The service company was inflating the price big time and let me 2 choices, pay or refuse the service.. Sucks!

    Donna W., Portland, Texas Date: 2010-10-08 15:34:15

    Review: I have been a customer of this company's for almost 3 years. I am sad to say that I will be transferring to a different home warranty company. Over the past couple of years the price has increased and they are not competitive with other warranty companies available. I have had two minor claims in the past two years, one was for a part for my oven, it took almost a month for them to get it operating and the other was work on a toilet. The company they sent out for the oven I refuse to ever use again and when the toilet was repaired they sent me a check to have the wall repaired where the company had cut into it. It has been more effort than benefit using Old Republic so I am moving to a different company.

    Tim Poole, Henderson, NV Date: 2011-07-14 19:29:09

    Review: We have been w/ this company for less than 3 months, w/in those 3 months we had to replace the entire "brains" of our pool control pannel. The cost would have been $3000. we paid ONLY $60. for the service call. HOWEVER, we did have to ask for another company to come to the house to look at our pool controls. The first time AHS sent out #1 (won't mention the company name) pool company they "fixed" the controls w/ a rock...yes, a rock directly off our ground. We had to call AHS and told them that we were unhappy w/ the 1st pool company. AHS was wonderful and sent out Platinum pools, who knew exactly what was wrong w/ out pool. The only down side was, we had to call AHS and stay-on-top of them to fix the problem. AHS was always very nice, but we did have to "push" to have the pool problem fixed. The second time we had to call for our washer and gas oven. AHS sent out A1-Accurate appliance company to our home. The technicial came to the house w/in 2 days, fixed the oven and washer. For a $60. service call we saved $500. which is what we would have had to pay IF we didn't have AHS. Our words for those who are considering AHS, they are a great company to work w/, however, you may have to make a few calls to customver service to stay-on-top of them, but it's well worth $600. initially to save $3500. (like we did in just 3 months).

    Michelle Lisendty Date: 2011-04-15 15:09:53

    Review: I rent a townhome. The owner and the realtor are great when Something goes wrong. The owner uses AHW as her warranty company-Freezer part of fridge is breaking down. owner called this crap company to send someone to come fix it. The tech showed up and said he could not fix it as it is low on freon or a weak compressor and that a part may need to be ordered. I have food in my freezer that is thawing and will go bad-Found out the tech they sent out was "not a main tech" because "all of their main techs were out". All 3 of us spoke with the company they sent to the townhome and all 3 of us asked why they would send out a tech with no tools or supplies to fix the problem. then they said it would be 1-3 days before they could get another tech out b/c they are clsoed on the weekends-since we paid $60 for no reason, I asked the appliacne company "do you plan to flip the bill for my groceries"? I cannot store any meat in my freezer because of the STUPIDITY OF THIS COMPANY. My realtor and owner is trying to get AHW to send out another company----we'll see. DONT USE THIS WARRANTY COMPANY-THEY ARE A SCAM@!!!!!!!!

    Doug McDaniel, Kerens, Tx. Date: 2011-06-21 07:13:32

    Review: I have had AHS now for 4 years and I constantly have problems of cheap parts, bad service, etc. But I am currently in the middle of an A/C problem and this is the last straw with them. It's been 3 weeks and still waiting on a compressor for my A/C. After the 2nd week of calling AHS I found out they never ordered the compressor. It comes from a warehouse only 60 miles from my house yet they won't put a overnight express delivery on the compressor, will not allow me to go pick it up nor would they let the repairman just go ahead and install one and replace his when theirs come in. I am 69 years old and my wife just broke her ankle in 3 place and here we are waiting for a compressor to come in that should have taken 3 days not 3 weeks. I have never seen a company so insensitive to a customer's needs. I highly recommend that no one use this company.

    DJH, Ft Worth, Texas Date: 2012-01-23 13:39:14

    Review: We have used AHS for almost 8 years, and this will be the last. Have experienced the same rude and unresponsive service technicians as everyone else. I wonder why you must elevate your request to a supervisor to get anything accomplished? At that, it is like pulling hen's teeth. Everything is slowly repaired because they insist on ordering all repair parts - great for them, but not for you when it is 110 outside and your air conditioning is out for 2 weeks waiting on the part. OH, and then the part comes in and it's the wrong one! OH, and then you find out that the part isn't made any more and a new unit is required. In fairness, they did get the work completed after that diagnosis within 2 days, but that's because AHS didn't order the new unit. Our friends have been trying to get their dishwasher fixed for months. About 12 visits later, they are still hoping for a miracle. AHS is no longer responsive to their customers. Bottom line. We are taking our money elsewhere and advise you to do the same.

    John M., Menlo Park CA Date: 2010-07-27 12:34:00

    Review: In my new (older but recently remodeled) home one month now. I've called them twice, once for a busted oven and once for a busted dishwasher. AHS customer service people have been courteous In both cases I haven't heard back from the service contractors for over 2-3 days First service appointments never available in less than a week (from the time THEY called ME) In both cases the service guys didn't have the parts on hand, had to order them, adding a delay of at least another week. So, that's 2-3 weeks minimum from my initial call to getting an appliance that works. I've been using the toaster oven alot more and have washed alot of dishes by hand, but I am NOT satisfied with the turnaround time in this system. I do not plan to renew.

    Chris Wassenberg, Tucson, AZ Date: 2011-03-31 22:51:23

    Review: I have a relatively new front loading GE washer that started leaking water at the base of the machine. The service technician found that the housing where the soap dispenser drawer fits was cracked and leaking. His repair order simply stated that the soap dispenser needed replacing – and I was contacted by AHS that ‘soap dispensers’ are not covered. When I tried to explain that the soap dispenser was not broken, but that the housing that is integral to the water inlet to the washer was cracked, they stated my only recourse was to request a second opinion. If the second opinion did not provide a different diagnosis, I would have to pay for both service calls. I agreed, and the second technician (from a different company) found the same issue with the housing – which he agreed was integral to the operation of the washer, was not the ‘soap dispenser’ or cosmetic and should be replaced. He spent almost 30 min on the phone with AHS trying to convince their agent of this, but the repair was still denied. I again called AHS, stating that I could not believe that a problem that would result in water leaking out of a washer, rendering the machine useless, would not be covered. I asked that using their logic, since the entire water inlet system from the hoses to the drum passes through this housing, and was in effect part of their definition of the ‘soap dispenser’, that none of the items would be covered under the warranty, to which the agent agreed. And when I stated that since nearly all front loading washers dispense the soap into the water inlet system, that AHS effectively does not cover most of the workings of a front loading washer, the agent also agreed. I am very disappointed that I have a home warranty just a useless as the washing machine I though it would cover. I will be looking elsewhere for a home warranty company.

    I. Evans, Round Rock, Texas Date: 2011-07-15 11:48:56

    Review: AHS is like dealing with the worst federal bureaucracy to get anything done, and don't count on it getting done unless you're prepared to be treated like a defendant in a murder case. I've had this service for 6 years and the few times I've needed it has been a nightmare. I'm dropping it.

    Scott Dallas, Texas Date: 2010-06-21 09:48:49

    Review: This is one of the worst companies in our country. Do not use them. Either find another home warranty company or put the annual membership fee in a savings account and wait til something happens.

    Rosemary, St. Louis, MO Date: 2010-08-03 17:19:12

    Review: Cancelled this "warranty" over 2 weeks ago and still waiting to receive a refund. I had 3 service calls and NONE of the items were truly covered (despite literature implying same). Also, paid extra for the deluxe plan. What a mistake! It takes 15 - 20 minutes to even speak to a person - then you get transferred or accidentally disconnected. What a ripoff!

    Guy, los angeles, ca Date: 2011-08-25 16:03:52

    Review: When you call to get info about an open claim you'll be on hold for 30 min. Then they say they don't until they talk to the contractor and promise to call you back which takes about a week if you're lucky. Unbelievable!!! I think AHS is better.

    john, portland, or Date: 2010-12-23 13:34:34

    Review: Avoid AHS for Heating / cooling issue. my issue is this... they're cheap - they contract with the "cheapest" service companies - where the technicians are not trained or qualified to work on high efficiency units. all the tech's do in guess and replace pieces hoping that something will fix the issue. in the - they quickly hit the $1500 limit replacing components and the unit still didn't work.

    Kathleen, Gaithersburg, MD Date: 2011-10-04 18:41:03

    Review: 8/2 I had to have a air intake(?) valve replaced. The plumber came out replaced it a couple of days later, had to order part. He capped off an old pipe and seemed to do a good job. He left the back door open, I did not know. Just two months later the pipe that he replaced leaks at the joint where he put in the valve. I have a big puddle, carpet is ruined and now a hole in the wall trying to catch all the water with a bucket. I called AHS to have it fixed and since it is 10/4 I will have to pay for the emergency repair. Such a waste of money. Be very careful if you go with them. Research the vendor before you let them in your house.

    Amy Glenwood, MD Date: 2010-11-07 18:28:09

    Review: I guess that I am like all of the other reviews. Do not buy AHS service. We had always built our prior homes, so used home warranty was not something that I was used to. We purchased a "used" home in Nov. 2009 built in 1980's. At closing, we were told that we had to purchase a $400 policy with AHS. Not knowing any better because the real estate agent did not offer us any other options, we did not ask for another company or review AHS. I wish we had because maybe it would have saved me a year of headache and lost wages waiting for contractors to arrive on their schedules and wasting service fee money. I had to make 4 claims within that year; 3 of which were not covered and contractors wanted us to pay a lot of money to fix items that are clearly listed as covered in the booklet. Sump pump sticking and water level too high: went out within a month of us moving in. I clearly stated the problem over the phone and was told it would be covered. Contractor arrived and guess what? Not covered by AHS. I managed to get AHS rep on the phone while contractor was at my home and I questioned them about the coverage that the booklet stated should be allowed. I was told it doesn't matter what the books says, the contractor said it was broken and AHS would not allow warranty coverage. Contractor wanted $750 to install new pump. My husband fixed it with a little lubricant. Waste of $60 service call fee. AC goes out in July: Needs freon or broken compressor? Who knows? Not AHS contractor. Broken for over 2 weeks before any one showed up to check AC. Three visits, one month, and two days of missed wages sitting at home waiting for someone to show, and 3 AHS contractors later finally fixed. Guess what, recapture/disposal fee of "old" freon not covered. Had to pay over $300 plus $60 service fee. Electrical: circuit breaker keeps tripping and light switch wiring does not work. Broken for over 3 months. $450 for additional breaker (not covered) and was told wiring for light switch was cut during the finishing of the basement before we moved in but worked fine for us for almost 7 months. How did the wire go from working to not then? Who knows. They wanted $150 to run an new light switch less than 3 feet from power outlet. Again not covered. They did not fix a thing. Waste of $60 payment. Dishwasher: digital panel went out. Broken for over 7 months. I had to place three calls for someone to come out. No appointments for months at a time. After 2 missed appointments by one company, I called AHS and asked for a different company. Ha! I had to use the one they had on file unless I had a problem with their service. I then had a 3-way conversation with AHS and the company and 3 weeks later they showed up. I guess luck was on my side that day. I actually got a service tech that knew what was wrong but had to order part. Part arrived on our door step within two days but cannot install for one month. Still no installtion and it has been 6 weeks. Strangely enough as if I had not had enough abuse or headache from AHS, I was going to renew my warranty strictly because of the age of the home and already having 4 appliances break in the first year, but my policy went up over $100. Why, I asked? Because we had so many claims in the first year and they consider our home to be high risk. When I told them that some of the items that I made claims for were not repaired under warranty "clauses" and raising my rate because I made claims did not seem to be justified, I was met by a dial tone. I have reported them to the Federal agency and seeking reimbursement for any service fees and money that that should have been covered. I am in the process of getting an attorney and filing a civil suit. This type of action by AHS cannot be tolerated. I am currently researching other companies and would rather lose an arm than to pay AHS another penny!

    Kamal Ahmad Date: 2011-09-16 00:05:15

    Review: This company is horrible. I had a huge hot water heater leak and called for service. The plumber came out and stated he would try and replace the nipples on top of the heater. If that didn't work he would have to replace the heater. He didn't have the parts readily available so he came back the next day. He cut the pipes on top of the water heater and broke the one of the nipples. He stated he would have to replace the heater and come back later that day. I never heard back from him so I called AHS to find out what was going on. I was told my claim was denied and they would not replace the heater because of a "pre existing" condition. I guess normal wear is a "pre existing" condition now. So now I have no water at all to my bathrooms. My kids have to go to the neighbor's house to shower and all AHS will say is that the problem is under review. I was comforted knowing I had this insurance to cover unexpected repairs. Now in my time of need AHS has not come through. I have had other negative experiences with this company, but foolishly decided to give them another chance. What a mistake. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY WITH THIS COMPANY! You will have to pay for major repairs yourself anyway.

    Frank M, Kyle, TX Date: 2011-04-05 10:14:13

    Review: We're in our third house that's covered by AHS. One of them we actually paid for the warranty because the seller wouldn't. Overall I have been pleased with the service and the coverage. The only issue that we've had was when one of the contractors took several trips to troubleshoot a stove, including replacing the wrong part. When I called AHS to complain they sent out someone else who then said the stove was unrepairable. After that ASH gave us a check, that I thought was a fair amount, and we bought a new stove of our choosing. I just got my renewal notice and was a little taken aback by the price, that's why I came to this site. But it turns out that they're close to being inline after all. So I will renew. b.t.w. So far they've replaced the stove and water heater and serviced the A/C.