Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Dist Of Columbia: $313.23
Average Deductible in Dist Of Columbia: $41.35
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7822
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-727-2781
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1686
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-988-5352
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 455
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.7
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-723-4894
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 274
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.6
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1886
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-771-0896
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3152
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Dist of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 3.9
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-758-4545
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1714
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 956
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.1
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
877-790-9591
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 78
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-351-0908
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1732
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.5
  • Repair Service 3.6
  • Overall Rating 3.4
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
888-979-1242
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Danny Carroll Decatur, Tx Date: 2011-10-16 18:05:15

    Review: Wish I had read all the other dissatisfied people before I signed on for AHS service. Here's my story: 10/11/11 930a I called AHS requesting a plumber come fix the leak under the kitchen sink (conformation #198483542). Was told A+ plumbing would be contacting me and gave me their number 877-400-7889. I received an email from [email protected] confirming my request. Called A+ to see what time they might be coming out, got recording, left a message and return phone # 6:30p Called A+ again, got recording. Called AHS, told them I had not been contacted by A+ to set an appointment. Was told it would take 24 hours. 10/12/11 Called A+ got recording, left message 1:30p Called AHS spoke to Cindy, explained that I still had not been contacted and had had no response or acknowledge from A+. Cindy connected with Stephanie from A+ on conference call, Stephanie said they would be out 10/13 at 8:00am. 10/13/11 10:15a Called A+ got recording, requested acknowledgement if they were coming. 10:15a Called AHS spoke to Kendra, she could see from reports on her end that I was having a hard time getting A+ to acknowledge and was helpful, said she would contact A+, said she had three other numbers and she would call me back. Stephanie at A+ told Kendra she didn’t know that the contractor hadn’t been out. 11:22a Called AHS spoke with Sophia. She also reviewed previous calls, said she would look into it. I requested that another contractor be Called since A+ would not send anyone nor return my calls. Sophia said she would call me back 6:19 Kendra called from AHS, left a message, something about certain times A+ accepted calls or something. I will do my best to tell 11 people who will tell 11 more people and so, until the company can not take advantage of anyone again.

    Michael, Las Vegas,NV Date: 2011-07-14 14:30:19

    Review: We have two plans with this company. BAD idea (will be changing shortly) They refuse to fix a stoppage in the house. Say a rock is stuck in there. Rock came through hole in pipe where the water is leaking out. they said are we sure water is leaking????? It's going somewhere..... idiots. This plan is AWESOME if you never need it!

    Richard, Torrance, CA Date: 2011-12-29 04:05:22

    Review: Since I last posted a comment on here; I just wanted to let people who review this web site to know that after several years with American Home Shield; I finally had to cancel my coverage with them. When I first bought the warranty, they were at that time actually good. Over the years their customer service has deteriorated. They do not have a clue what repairs customers need. They send out wrong vendors who do not know what they are doing or how to repair an item. Last time, I had to pay for a service call from a vendor who charged me to come out and could not do the required repair. I paid the vendor for nothing. That's when I got disgusted and canceled my policy with them. In addition, other members of my family also had coverage with American Home Shield and also canceled due to problems they had with them as well.

    Shelly Reed Jacksonville, FL Date: 2011-05-13 13:49:09

    Review: I have used AHS for my dryer and refridgerator repairs in the past. It took a few days to get a contractor to come out to even look at the items. We managed though. My a/c unit stopped working yesterday though. Here is the back storey on May 2nd the contractor that AHS sent out because the a/c unit was not working correctly said the fan motor was probably going out. HMMM! Wouldn't you fix that problem if you were thinking it was probably going out. Well two weeks later it goes completely out. I call yesterday they come out today and well he doesn't have a fan motor to repair the unit so it will be Monday. He has been to my house looked at my unit two weeks ago even said it was the motor....come on! I call AHS this is not acceptable...I live in Florida. The customer service person calls the contractor and basically tells me that its better for me to just wait until Monday. I will be cancelling my AHS contract when it expires.

    Steve, Crossville, TN Date: 2011-02-17 18:22:23

    Review: We have just renewed for a third year. The first year the policy came,at our request,from the seller of our ten year old home. The first year OR replaced several appliances. The second, when we upgraded the policy and paid for it ourselves,OR repaired three appliances,replaced another and did a major repair to our HVAC. The reason I rate them excellent for customer service and timeliness is,once we called in a claim,they contacted a repair service within the hour and called us at least once per day to make sure the appointments had been made,kept and that we were satisfied with the service. We are in a fairly rural area,so appliance repairs usually took a few days as the repair people were from other cities. The appliances were still working,so it was no big deal. The HVAC problem had someone under our house within hours. Appliance replacement allowances originally ranged from low-end builders models to mid-range value to astoundingly generous. They give a choice of replacement (with installation),a check or Sears gift card. We always took the check or gift card and bought what we want. It's up to you to go on line and check the true replacement value of your appliances so you can dicker with them. The latest renewal is probably a bit pricier but includes a number of important upgrades they did not offer with the original policies.

    Paula Lecht, Petaluma, CA Date: 2011-11-21 13:48:00

    Review: I paid the extra fee to have Old Republic include my pool and spa only to find out when I needed my spa repaired that my spa was not included because it doesn't share equipment with my pool. This was after paying the $60 to have a repair person come out and look at it which they would not reimburse after denying my claim. They also denied a claim to repair a crack in an old gas wall heater saying that the crack was not large enough to warrant repairing. I will NOT be renewing with Old Republic. What a disappointment and total rip off.

    Shelley K. Las Vegas, Nevada Date: 2011-05-19 11:42:01

    Review: Just renewed with another company. In our opinion Old Republic is by far the worse home warranty company we have ever dealt with! They use the worse contractors and even though we bought their best home warranty plan we had to fight with them and placess numerous phone calls in order to have our warranty honored. We have had similar complaints from our friends and according to the internet and social networking sites Old Republic has a real problems with what they promise and what is delivered. Do yourself a favor and stay as far away from this company as possible unless you're willing to spend your valuable time placing countless phone calls and fighting with them in order to have your home warranty honored. I just they hope that they will just wear you down and you'll give up. THEY DO NOT KNOW THE MEANING OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    Is American Home Shield Warranty Right For You? | Washer And Dryer Repair Date: 2011-08-12 16:35:13

    Review: [...] learn more about the pricing and plan details, visit American Home Shield review site which also offers home warranty plan comparison tools, price ranges and ratings for all [...]

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2015-06-17 12:19:39

    Review: We sincerely apologize for the circumstances relayed and for any inconvenience this matter has caused you. Our staff member has contacted you to provide assistance and has confirmed that the issue has been resolved. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we are confident you next service experience will be a positive one.

    Jason Date: 2016-03-08 12:19:09

    Review: I see bad reviews, but my experience was pretty good. I just bought a house 3 days ago and i had a plumbing issue. Called O.R.,they sent someone out within the hour. They hadn't even got paid from escrow yet and still covered it. Contractor was really good and went above and beyond to fix my drains. I'm happy.

    Jorge Yinat, Williansburg, VA Date: 2010-11-05 12:29:37

    Review: I am a customer of American Home Shield about to begin a legal battle over what they claim is not covered under the contract(HVAC Issues). What a waste of time and money this company really is. How unfortunate are the consumers that fall in their traps. Numerous telephone calls amount to no response or action as they will not document in writing anything they tell you on the phone leaving them to change their numerous reasons on what they will not pay or not willing to cover depending on who you talk to at any given day. They hire the most innefective and non-responsive contractors to come out to take your money but do not really repair or replace defective covered items. They are the most incompetent in the business which appeared not to be regulated in the State of Virginia. This is really a scam! Do not throw your money away like I did!

    R.T. Date: 2011-05-18 15:17:22

    Review: Have experienced issues with technicians that have been sent out to do the repairs. Seem that they are not very knowledgable or willing to take the time to disgnose problem. One company, suggesteda solution that would cost thousands of dollars and of course they could do the job. Response AHS was that they would not send them to my house anymore. That is good for me, but they should b removed from their list of technicians so someone else does not have to experience them as well. I am looking for another warranty company.

    Ferris, Bellaire, TX Date: 2010-12-15 11:46:16

    Review: Trying to deny a claim despite the fact that the contract T's and C's indicate it should be covered.

    S. Scott Date: 2010-05-05 13:11:26

    Review: I have had AHS for many years now on 3 separate units. They are great if all you have is a toilet that won't flush properly or a sink clog (things you could do yourself for far less than the $60 service fee.) But a repair that costs any significant amount of money and it's like pulling teeth to get the work done. On top of that, it seems they pay their contracted companies such a dismal amount compared to market rates that those that none of the companies in my area work for them so it takes longer to get someone here. And woe if something breaks on a Friday that doesn't fall under "emergency status" I recently needed a new wall heater due to a faulty valve leaking natural gas. This was a very old heater with obsolete parts The company they sent out said they'd have to order the part and left, no work done (gas still leaking!) On Friday I called AHS to check status and was told the companysaid the model was obsolete, but had given them the wrong model number so they would start searching for the part that day and had 48 business hrs to search before they would then search for a replacement heater. Tuesday an appointment was made for the next morning but I would have to pay an additional $55 for a gas connector and $50 to haul the old one away. I told the repair company to make the appt but that I would call AHS about the extra charges. I called a couple haulers approved by my city and found one that would actually take the old heater FOR FREE (SCRAP METAL)! The repair guy arrives, I tell him I don't need him to dispose of the old one and why and he refuses to install the new wall heater unless I'll pay him to dispose of the old one, and LEFT! So I call AHS and they stand by the repair company! I'm beyond done with this company - there's too many other competitors to deal with these sorts of problems.

    C Albert Atlanta, Ga Date: 2011-06-10 18:19:36

    Review: I originally decided to purchase a warranty through AHS based on the recommendation of a friend. I should have read the reviews here first. My A/C went out about two weeks ago. I called AHS on a Tuesday. They sent me the info on the subcontractor and never got a call. That should have been my first warning. I finally called the subcontractor and got an appointment two days later (Thursday). A little sidebar - living in Atlanta during the Summer, the heat can get oppressive very quickly. I couldn't live in my house while the A/C was out because the upstairs quickly surpasses 100 degrees. So the only option is to stay with friends or get a hotel room. Anyway, when the repair person came out, after about 20 minutes, he said I needed a new compressor. He said it would be there either the next day, or Saturday, or at the latest, on Monday. After not hearing anything by late Monday, I called the subcontractor and the person I spoke with said the repairman shouldn't have told me that. It would be anywhere from 3-10 BUSINESS days. So I called at the end of five more business days after no one from either AHS or the subcontractor had called to update me. Now they tell me the part should arrive the following Wednesday. If it does arrive then, it will have been 13 days and then they'll have to schedule someone to come out and actually install the compressor. Throughout this whole process, I have NEVER received one call from AHS. Also, I don't even know if this will cost me to have the compressor installed. This whole process has been an example of customer service at its absolute WORST !! The people at AHS should try living without A/C in 95 degree weather for a few weeks. Maybe they would get a small sliver of a clue.

    Joe Rull Date: 2011-03-29 14:48:52

    Review: Awful Awful Awful,,,,,,, been calling since December about a heater that was on the fritz. Ran in circles for months finally got someone to come by the house after i woke up with no heat. Technician came out and fixed the humming sound, but apparently the Flew, the carries the carbon monoxide outside is not considered part of the heater. Yes this is leaking and AHS will not fix it, even though the plumber insisted that it IS part of the heater. Never use this company unless you like giving money away

    Paul Gathright, Wichita, KS Date: 2011-09-01 16:00:37

    Review: The worst customer service ever. A fan on our oven has been out for 8 weeks. Each time we call we are told that the parts are on order and "we will let you know" with a tone implying leave us alone. Finally, we were told that they would be out to replace the part on Friday of last week, no one showed. Early this week, we called and were told the repair person would be at our home at 8 am on Thursday. No one showed, called technician at 9 am and the person said that he never agreed to 8 am and that AHS did not set his schedule. Numerous calls to AHS today have only added to my frustration as they seem to believe that a response typical of "it's not our problem or our fault" is a viable answer. I wish I had known how bad the reviews on this company were before I purchased the warranty.

    Meeta Walia, Waukee, Iowa Date: 2011-08-13 22:07:46

    Review: Dad had given us for our new home a American Home Shield warranty. We have been witness to how abhorrent this third rate company mistreated our mom who had to spend more than 10 days in this sizzling heat, all due to the fault of AHS who sent a totally incompetent HVAC guy who did not even know his job. Finally, Dad was forced to spend his money and get the air unit replaced because AHS was totally unresponsive. We immediately canceled our warranty with AHS and purchased a new warranty with Sensible because you are put on hold for two hours when you call AHS. Its the worst company ever.

    Sher, Chatsworth, California Date: 2011-03-20 21:26:11

    Review: AHS... from what I have discovered is a joke. They will rarely pay for anything. I have heard from other vendors that they are instructed to find certain faults with appliances so that they are not covered. Our water heater was acting up, the plumber arrived said there was nothing wrong. Two weeks later the tank was leaking and the same plumber came back out and low and behold noted that our water pressure was too high and that caused the tank to leak...however he never checked the water pressure on the first visit. Of course the pressure was above the "normal" range which AHS does not put what "normal" seetings are in their contract. They denied the claim. Mind you my water heater is 17 years old! I will initiate another class action lawsuit against them and hold the plumber accountable as well. Small claims looks like to be the starting point. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR AHS.

    J Laz, Newport Coast, CA Date: 2011-08-03 23:26:42

    Review: We have had 9 homes & several home warranties. This company is the WORST we have had be far! They alway have a reason why an item is not covered & this is with the premium package. SAVE YOUR MONEY! They have fixed 1 out of 9 claims & that took 7 trips by their repairman with a 4 hour window each time. When you try to speak with anyone they are so condescending & rude while they give you yet another excuse for why your item is not covered.