Home Warranty Companies in Dist Of Columbia

Coverage in Dist Of Columbia () major towns:

Average Premium in : $314.36
Average Deductible in : $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7360
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (877) 727-2781
Add to Compare
                                  2The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 433
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (888) 723-4894
Add to Compare
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
BBB Rating C-
Established In 2015
Total Reviews 400
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (877) 770-5669
Add to Compare
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1682
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (877) 771-0896
Add to Compare
                                  5America's Preferred Home Warranty-APHW
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 249
Coverage Selected States
Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Oregon, Maryland
 (888) 351-0908
Add to Compare
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1592
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (888) 351-0908
Add to Compare
                                  7HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1639
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (888) 351-0908
Add to Compare
                                  8Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2693
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (877) 758-4545
Add to Compare
                                  9Landmark Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 849
Coverage Selected States
Arizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
 (877) 790-9591
Add to Compare
                                  10Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1616
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
 (888) 979-1242
Add to Compare
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in dist-of-columbia

    S. A. Stein Date: 2010-12-07 21:15:27

    Review: Had leak in toilet that was dripping down to the first floor of my home. I have lived in this home for 22 years and have never moved, adjusted or done anything with the toilet except what is naturally what it is supposed to be used for. The toilet was fine for 22 years. To my knowledge, there is no maintenance to a toilet except using it and flushing it and repairing the mechanism inside the tank. When the "water closet" started to leak, I immediately called American Home Shield. They contact a plumber and we set up an appointment. When he came out, he called AHS to get approval for the repair. They denied the claim because the contractor told them that the flange in the floor was supposed to be 5/8 of an inch above the floor line. This toilet worked perfectly for 22 years, and it was never moved. The house was built according to code. Why would they deny the claim? I am rebutting the denial and now they want a second opinion. I think that this company is totally full of what one deposits in the toilet, and that is where they belong. I am furious. I am also overpaying premiums when I start to shop around. These guys are unreasonable and unreliable. I will probably stop doing business with AHS shortly.

    S. Weber Cedar Rapids IA Date: 2011-09-02 17:22:58

    Review: We have had a problem with our central air since the start of the cooling season. We have had two techs. from one company, and three techs. from another company come out for repairs. They have cleaned it,added coolant,removed coolant,and chipped away ice on the coils and it still is not working. We have the temp set at 71 degrees, but it never gets that cool. On September 01,2011 at 12:36am the temperature was 81 degrees! We do not even have our HEAT set that high in the winter!! It is quite obvious someone is not doing his/her jobs. I guess quality customer care,and customer satisfaction is no longer an important goal for this company! How sad in this day and age.

    James Owen Date: 2010-06-04 14:28:29

    Review: Send a company to fix out A/C and it did not work the next day, we called the contractor A + L Thermo and they told us for 3 days they would be back to fix it, they never showed up. My 80 year old parents were in an 85 degree home for 8 days, NOT GOOD

    ISH GRACE Date: 2011-07-15 22:44:47

    Review: I was in 110 degree house for weeks because they did not get my ac fixed. This is a horrible company and the customer service sucks, because they do not help you. They give you the wrong time frame, the local contracted company was backed up with their own job so it took them 2 weeks to come out just to check it out, then 2 more weeks to fix it... DO NOT BE FOOL, THOSE ARE SCAMMERS.... JUST KEEP YOUR MONEY...

    Ken Meeks Date: 2010-07-26 11:00:23

    Review: I had this company for so long I can't even believe how stupid I had been. I do not plan on renewing this coming month. I had an AC/Heating system problem and it took 3 months to finally get replaced and I had to opt out to do it. The new system cost me less than what they wanted me to pay them for repair. I am glad I found someone honest in this area. I am not sure why they are even a company. The worst excuse for home warranty coverage. Don't suggest them to anyone.

    Geri Thomas Date: 2011-04-19 12:34:40

    Review: This company is terrible. I gave them my credit card and because the can't keep the record keeping straight WHEN THEY TRIED TO BILL THE CREDIT CARD IT WAS DECLINED, I have used the same credit card since I use AMS and until February they wasn't a problem collecting my money, but there was a problem with a service request,they lost the number I now get past due notices from the company after I canceled the contract. My last service request was terrible our heater went out I called if they did call a service person they never called. I have a sick husband and mother who is 93. When I finally made contact they stated that they didn't have anyone in our area, I had to wait a week in cold weather and I finally made contact. why didn't someone call me????? Why was I not told that when I enlisted this company services. DON'T THROW YOUR MONEY AWAY.

    Ted Langmack, San Angelo, Texas Date: 2011-12-31 20:18:46

    Review: Well, I can't say anything any worse than what's already been said about this company in other reviews but I'll add mine just to add one review to the total number. I used their service for quite a few years without much problem. But those were minor repairs. When it came time to do what was right on our heat pump failure they failed worse than the heat pump. This company had provided adequate service in the past but something has changed. Their customer service people are simply rude as stated in other reviews. They continually blamed us for having an undersized outdoor unit until I was able to prove to them that it was their company that had put in an undersized unit over 8 years ago. Even after they acknowledged that the unit they placed 8 years ago was undersized, they refused to pay for the full bill . In fact they only paid one fifth of the total. Not an equitable payment after I've paid my premiums for so many years. I would not recommend this company to anyone today. I will also file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in my town. Any company that blames their customers for their own mistakes will eventually go out of business. Any of you who read this can help me get them out of business sooner. Thanks for reading.

    Pam J Garland, TX Date: 2011-08-06 22:31:06

    Review: Our AC unit went out and a local company sent a technician that seemed very rushed, he recharged the unit with freon never checked anything else and left quickly. In two days, the unit was not working again, another tech was sent from the same company that discovered several things wrong that were never discovered by the first tech. Instead of this tech fixing the items he said we would have to call American Home Shield again and reschedule a time for him to come out 5 days later, it was 90+ degrees inside our home already. He basically told us that is the way the system works. We were furious, we had to call another company not under our warranty program to the tune of $1500 and pay for hotel room until the services could be performed. We were placed on hold at American Home Shield to inform them of all of this and never got a "human" to come to the phone. There is no way to email them, it is awful. We are out $1500 and paying on a warranty monthly, in fact the AC company that was part of American Home Shield network ENCOURAGED me to call another AC company. AHS is not a good warranty company!

    C. Slaight, Brentwood, TN 37027 Date: 2010-06-16 16:01:06

    Review: We've been sitting in a 90+ degree home for a week waiting for AHS and their contracted company, ARS, to fix our air conditioning. Enough said. BAD SERVICE!!!!!

    GrandDuchess Date: 2011-04-21 12:47:51

    Review: I purchased AHS warranty, and to my suprise they would not cover a leaking faucet in the powder room and in the master bedroom. My range hood needed to be changed and sears looked at it and said that its an old unit and it needs to be changed. Instead AHS brought another contractor to look at the unit and afterwards said he would look for the parts and unfortunately he could not find the parts and it would have to be replaced. He croony guy wanted to provide me a $98.00 range out of the $275 that was awarded to the project. I suggested that an upgrade to get what is comparable to what I have now but AHS refused and paid the guy $98.00 dollars for not doing anything. This dragged on for more than 3months and I had to finally cancelled my policy. I wish I had read this review before purchasing this home warranty. I guess we all learn from our mistakes. I will never do anything again regarding purchase without performing my research on the company or product.

    Old Republic Home Warranty Date: 2015-06-29 14:17:09

    Review: We apologize that we have been unable to serve you to your satisfaction. We do work with a sincere philosophy of People Helping People, and take great pride in serving others in excellence. We have certain renewal criteria in place to ensure we can continue to serve in excellence, without continually raising our prices. As you may note if you shop for other coverage, we offer the most comprehensive coverage in the industry today, with the most reasonable price points, and most companies employ similar renewal practices.

    While we recently made a conscious choice to stop selling in certain areas in rural Texas due to challenges of serving in excellence (which, I might mention, most other home warranty companies never sold in the areas), those decisions have not had an impact on North Carolina.

    Again, we’re sorry that we’ve upset you, as that was never our intention.

    Respectfully,

    Gwen Gallagher
    President

    Jay Steinkamp, kildeer, il Date: 2012-01-30 19:34:07

    Review: This is a follow up to my posting on 1/20/2012. Today, day 19: microwave problem still exists. It still doesn't function. A second repair person came out to assess the problem and concurred with the prior assessment: its broken. That was a Saturday when he came out (Day 11) but it wasn't until Monday that he called together an estimate on the part. It wasn't until Tuesday (day 14) that he got back to AHS with the estimate. AHS resubmitted for a third opinion, and I lost my mind. Before I went into cardiac arrest for the rage, a nice woman read through all the notes and in a sweet southern accept said "oh my, you've been through enough, I'm going to approve this for repair". It's been another 7 days and still no word. I repeat, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH AHS.

    Butch Ray, Carencro, LA Date: 2011-09-01 19:59:10

    Review: Very disappointed! Not sure why we spent money on coverage. Seems that AHS's definition for components in home systems are contrary to common sense! Be aware that Garage Door Openers mean just that. If the opener fails and door is damaged; NOT COVERED! Sorry Plumbing contractor have been less than professional WHEN they finally came out. (Never did find or fix the problem!) Mechanical guys not much better. How do they keep such high BBB Ratings/

    Scott Dale, Las Vegas,NV Date: 2011-09-04 00:15:24

    Review: American Home Shields Service keeps getting worse. I have used them for several years, but they have gone down hill over the last year. I just waited on hold over 30 minutes without being able to speak to someone about a recurring AC problem at one of my properties. My AC went out in July on both units, with one taking over a week and multiple calls to try to repair. I will not renew or order with them again.

    Kelly, Houston, TX Date: 2011-11-15 18:17:28

    Review: I have used three home warranty companies over the last 15 years. Old Republic has had several techs come out for various reasons. I have never any problems getting something repaired or replaced. I have read my contracts closely and understand the dollar limits ahead of time. Since my husband travels for a living, the peace of mind that I can something repaired for a small fee has been great. Within a week of moving into my house the tub stopped draining. They had a plumber out the next day who spent all morning tracking down the sewer blockage, cleared and never had a problem since. My disposal went out and I wanted to replace it with a better one. This wasn't going to be covered and I knew that ahead of time. I went and bought the one I wanted and replaced it myself. The shelf in my freezer broke. This could have gone either way with some companies. This company never questioned it. The repairman ordered the shelf and a week later came and put it in. Garage door opener stopped working, due to age. They simply replaced and again never hesitated to cover it. I have always felt like they treated us very fairly.

    Lee, Mt. Laurel, NJ Date: 2011-05-04 06:46:30

    Review: We have had this service over 7 years and have utilized this warranty on numerous occassions. It is great to know that you can get a contractor to come out, with a call to AHS... We have found that calling people in the phone book doesn't assure a call back or a service call. We have found the contractors used by AHS to be qualified and helpful. We have used it for our HVAC, washer, dryer, garage door opener, plumbing, and hot water heater (which they paid to replace)... Very disappointed that the service call fee was just increased to $95 from $60... Maybe time to shop for another company.

    Andrew C.Alonso Scottsdale AZ> Date: 2012-01-11 18:49:22

    Review: Refrigerator stopped cooling, called AHS. Told them it was an emergency.They sent a repairman out at 7 p.m.. The unit was repaired by 830 p.m.. THANKS AHS.

    bryan Date: 2011-07-11 15:09:32

    Review: My ac has been under repair for more than 2 months. Parts delivered to the wrong place. 3 weeks we waited and they sent the wrong parts. They blame every everone else! Don't waste ur money!

    Alex Date: 2011-06-13 10:07:43

    Review: Called twice for service. Very prompt. On a ceiling fan, one tech said the remote was missing, so that is the reason for the dead fan. Second tech said the remote has nothing to do with it, it is an electrical problem, not his job. As for the stove, said he couldn't fix it due to animal damage. No animals have been in the house. Hired another repair person who laughed and said this is what AHS techs do, just get their fee, say the job is not covered, and leave. This used to be such a good company, I wonder what happened.

    Round Table Discussion #1 - HomeWarrantyReviews.com Date: 2016-03-14 00:04:10

    Review: […] a standard, Old Republic Home Protection requires Service Providers […]