ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: September 23, 2022

Home Warranties In Tampa

Average Premium In florida

Min Average Premium in florida Max $ 312.23 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Tampa
country icon COUNTRY: Hillsborough County
state icon STATE: FL
population icon POPULATION: 717255
area code icon AREA CODE: 813
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 33601, 33602, 33603, 33604, 33605

Are you a homeowner in Tampa, Florida? Want to protect your major home appliances and systems, especially devices that run continuously to keep your home cool in hot and oppressive summers? Then home warranties in Tampa are your best bet!

A home warranty plan protects your home devices regardless of their model, age, or make. Whether you live in a new home or pre-owned home or own a rental property, home warranties can offer the utmost protection. They also offer support 24 hours, seven days a week, and 365 days a year.

To help you find an ideal home warranty in Tampa, Florida, our team at HomeWarrantyReviews.com has listed the best home warranty companies in your city. The list lets you know more about top companies, plans, prices, coverage options, and other information. Further, we have also listed genuine customer reviews that give an insight into the service quality of popular home warranty companies.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in tampa, florida

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

tampa Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lou Ann, Tampa

On Jan 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a customer of AHS for over 30 Years (multiple properties). Over the last few years... the AHS Customer Service, response time, and problem resolution practices have dwindled down to just about Zero. Want to call them?... You can expect to wait anywhere from 30 minutes to over an Hour on hold before they answer. AHS hires the WORST repair contractors for the job. They evidently don't Vet them and when there is a problem, AHS treats the client like they are an inconvenience and stupid. We recently had our hot water heater quit, so I called AHS. They set up a service order and the contractor NEVER called and NEVER showed up. BUT... the contractor told AHS that we were not home when they came. THAT IS A LIE. We were sitting in the living room with our phones in our hands for the time-frame scheduled. THEY NEVER SHOWED... OR CALLED!! AHS took the contractor's word for it and told us we were the cause of the failure of the service call. I Think I am DONE. I am NOW Shopping for a new company... for ALL our homes' warranties. AHS... IS TERRIBLE !!

Icon

Santiago Balleza, Tampa

On Oct 06, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield\'s main objective is get your monthly premium. They hire contractors whose goal is find excuses to not honor the warranty so you will have to pay them extra for the repair. This has not happened once but on multiple calls. AHS does not even call you back if the contractor does not fix the problem that is suppose to be covered. You stay on hold before you get a live body in their customer support dept. Then they make you wait a long time before the contractor gets to your house only to find that they found another lame excuse to not cover the repair. A real waste of time and money. We have had enough and will cancel the contract. Beware of this company. They took our money and never did anything for us. Do not use them if you value your time and money

Icon

Bettye Dobkins, Tampa

On Jul 31, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The companies and service techs who have been dispatched have been superior.

Icon

Denise, Tampa

On Jul 04, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am so happy with my home warranty service with AHS. The online booking makes getting service quick and easy and I love the peace of mind knowing that if something goes wrong I have some help at my fingertips.

Icon

DENISE TIPTON, Tampa

On Dec 08, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very easy to submit a claim online. I\'ve been exceptionally pleased with the vendors that are contracted with AHS.

Icon

Amy Reck, Tampa

On Jun 14, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My contact with AHS was great. While I had to wait a good while on hold for a customer service representative on several occasions, they were helpful and polite when on the line. My problem was not resolved until after the FIFTH visit from the contractor. Thankfully, my father was able to meet the contractor on several occasions as I would not have been able to miss work so frequently. Ultimately, the problem with my heater was resolved.

Icon

Mary Peyton, Tampa

On Jun 10, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I do have an issue with the $10.00/lb cap AHS levies for adding "Freon". I was charged $205.00 for the trip charge($75.00) and $65.00/lb for Freon. I feel this is excessive. The customer service representatives did try to help when problems arise. Most do not contact the approved contractor, requiring better scheduling. Until yesterday all CSR's didn't try anything additional to help. Then I happened to get a CSR named "Summer", this woman worked for me.. She turned a scheduled day of Monday 6/13/16 to 6/10/16. She understood I have been without AC since 6/2/16.

Icon

ARUN SHARMA, Tampa

On May 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

A no hassle company with rapid contact,contractor called asap and set up appointment .came on time analyzed problem. They were honest and told me needed new part and may take two to three days. As soon as they got part called ,set up appoint came in fixed heating system.

Icon

Cindy Warnock, Tampa

On Jan 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have yet to place an order for service, but in speaking with Customer Service regarding renewal of my contract I was very pleased with the limited amount of time I spent on hold and how helpful & knowledgeable the Customer Service Rep was. Thanks!

Icon

James Ham, Tampa

On Sep 28, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Every experience I have had with AHS has been satisfactory. Their customer representatives are always courteous and helpful. Their contractors are competent and efficient in handling any issues I have had. They even go out of their way to ensure that all aspects of whatever item they are dealing with are in working order.

Icon

Cynthia, Tampa

On Aug 03, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had contacted AMS regarding a plumbing problem in the bathtub and it was fixed in no time. Then I started experience a different plumbing issue (flakes coming out of the bath facet) & called the contractor directly. He was able to diagnose over the phone and tell me what it was & that it should fix itself and if not, to call him again. He said he would leave the ticket open in case it didn't fix itself. The flakes disappeared within a couple of days and everything works great again.

Icon

Heather Alonso, Tampa

On Oct 08, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The American Home Shield customer service has been extremely helpful. Reporting a problem online or over the phone are both very simple and a contractor calls the next day. J&C Plumbing and Sewage were outstanding. They were extremely helpful and went above and beyond. Sears contractor did a great job once they got here but both times they were extremely late and they got the days mixed up.

Icon

Gilbert Sainz, Tampa

On Jul 19, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It is 94 degrees in Tampa and my AC compressor went out. AHS has decided that rather than authorize the purchase of a replacement compressor from a local supplier or expedite the shipping from their resource in order to save a few dollars they expect us to wait 3 to 5 days and have the parts shipped via ground. I asked to speak to a supervisor and they sent me to a supervisor assistant. I asked to speak to a supervisor and now into my 10th hour I am still waiting. I left a message for the service manager to call me back from the contractor Air Doctor and of course they haven't returned the call. They are not sympathetic and the quality of customer service has little to be desired. I purchased a warranty..for the best possible security in the event of an appliance failure...you have failed to live up to your motto.. "Feel confident in knowing we’ve got you covered. " I do not have confidence in you or your contractors...Im also being forced to buy 10 gallons of freon when my unit only holds 8 lbs? Why?

Icon

Joseph Roy Brooks II, Tampa

On Dec 07, 2013

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This is the worst warranty company I have ever dealt with. I was skeptical when the home my fiance and bought came with this warranty. When reviewing the contract and coverage everything looked fine. However, after living in our home for only 2 months our air conditioner was hit by a power surge. In the middle of summer, with temperatures above 90 degrees it took them over a week to have the air conditioner repaired. Shortly after that the timer in our washing machine broke. The repair has been in progress since 11/17/2013 and today, 12/6/2013 is not repaired. When the claim was made they had a technician come out quickly. A few days after the technician came out we received a call from the warranty company asking us if we wanted to take a payout rather than have the washing machine repaired. The payout was so small we decided to opt for the repair. Little did we know that was a big mistake as OR has to order the part and they snail mail it to themselves, then send it to the repair company. The repair company has said they were going to show up on several occasions and did not show up. When we call OR they are no help and often seem like they don't know what we are talking about. Simply put, having a warranty with OR is like having no warranty at all. Do not waste your money or think that you are getting a value in a warranty if you get it for free from a seller. I will never recommend this company to any one. I wouldn't even recommend this company to my worst enemy. RUN, RUN, RUN from this company.

Icon

Robert Tannenbaum,, Tampa

On Apr 24, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are the worst. Used to be good but now take forever to repair. We have a refrigerator and have to wait 7 working days for parts even the repairman is complaining that he is waiting for the parts from them. I t is a ge refrigerator made in America. What a joke.

Icon

Don B, Tampa

On Feb 27, 2013

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very disappointing. The technicians are friendly and they get a contractor to our home quickly, but it's normally someone with minimal knowledge and in three of the four times we've used the service they have not resolved the problem. It is obvious they are not interested in helping the customer. We are going elsewhere to find a company that cares about us.

Icon

Emily Caltagirone, Tampa

On Sep 19, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Love our warranty through AHS. We have NEVER had a problem with AHS or their customer service! We have had problems with the plumbing company they contract in our area (such as not showing for appointments or not following up with an on-going problem) but that's not AHS's problem and we have reported the plumbers.

Icon

Ronald Robinson, Tampa

On Aug 16, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had a problem with our plumbing and the repair was swift and efficient. Our air conditioner went out and we were told the motor was shot and a new one ad to be ordered. This was on a saturday and we were assured it would be taken care of by the following Wednesday. This is summertime in Florida. That Wednesday comes and goes. We start making calls ourselves because no one is calling us. The contractor says they're waiting on the manufacturer, AHS says they have no control over how long they take. We've been going back and forth for over 2 weeks and we are still having to endure this heat. My husband is elderly and has medical issues that they're just shrugging their shoulders at. I don't consider their customer good at all, WOULD YOU.

Icon

Kathy L, Tampa

On Jul 09, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The warning above is telling people not to believe the reviews. I can't believe they did that. My story is real. Who would make up something like this. I believe the other stories too. This letter is a request for claims review to reimburse cost of service paid by me to Cass Plumbing on the above stated date. Explanation of incident On June 7th at approximately 1:30 am I woke up to go to the restroom. Half asleep, as I walked out I noticed that I had stepped on a small spot of water, but figured that it must have come from a splatter from me washing my hands. I went back to bed. I got up about an hour later to use the bathroom again. ( I drank a lot of water before going to bed because I had a head ache and was dehydrated. Sometimes it helps.) I know that part is stupid but I had to explain. When I flushed the toilet I heard an unusual trickle coming from somewhere. I thought of the water that I had stepped on earlier. I looked around to see where it was coming from and noticed it coming from behind the toilet, but couldn’t tell from exactly where. I went to get a pan to catch the water and figured that I could get it fixed in the morning. By the time I came back in with the pan, the water was coming out faster and I realized the pan would surely not hold it. I tried to turn off the valve but it just flowed even faster, no matter which way I turned it. At this point the water is coming out like it was turned on full force and there was nothing I could do. I grabbed every towel to block the water from coming out of the bathroom but they were not working. I was beginning to panic I didn’t know what to do. I tried to wake a couple of neighbors but couldn’t. I had to get someone out to stop the water. I called a plumber and they said they would have someone call me. While waiting for the call I started running around the house picking up things that would be destroyed by the water and unplugging all electrical cords. After ten minutes they didn’t call, I called them back and they said they would try to get them to call me again. By this time the water has taken 3 rooms. I decided not to wait for this plumber to call and called about 3 more plumbers until I got a definite answer that someone is on their way. Finally I got a hold of Cass Plumbing and he told me that he is on his way over. Page 2 At around 3:15 am, and while waiting for Cass I called AHS and spoke to Pat. She was a nice lady and understood the panic that I was in. I explained to her that I already called the plumber and was waiting for him as were speaking. I understood that I was supposed to call AHS first, but this was an emergency. Common sense tells me to fix the problem before it gets worse, and before I call you, and knowing from my past experience with AHS procedures, that I would be answered by a recording and have to go through entering all of the info that was asked of me, then put on hold. When someone answers they ask for the same info that the recording asked. Then they send you to someone else. Then that person will tell you that I will get a call from someone telling me when they will be coming. I could not sit and watch everything get destroyed because of AHS procedures. Does that make sense? What would you do? Cass Plumbing arrived while I was talking to Pat which was around 3:30 am. By this time the water had coved 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms the hallway and a living room. That was half of my house! The plumber (Steve) fixed the problem. He said it was an improper pony pipe toilet supply and a cone washer. He was also nice enough to get a professional company out right away to dry the house in order to prevent more damage from the water. Pat gave me a dispatch number and told me to call 877-490-5688 in 2 hours for authorization. That sounded easy enough. I thought that AHS was going to do the right thing for me and not make me go through more aggravation than what the leak had caused. I called the number and told the young man what Pat had told me and he didn’t seem to hear anything that I said about me already having someone out. He said he would have a plumber call me to let me know when they will be out here. I explained to him again and he didn’t seem to get it. I think I flustered his robot mode and he then put me on hold to talk to someone about it. He got back on and I think that he was the one that told me to call the number on my card. At that point I don’t remember if he had me talk to another person, and that person told me that, or it was him. Also at that point I was just getting too upset with AHS. At 11:00 I get a call from a plumber telling me that he is responding to a service call from AHS. Now I had already told AHS 2 times that I called the plumber myself due to the emergency that I had. I wondered why he was calling at 11:00 when my issue was 7 hours ago, and I asked him why. He said AHS gave him the wrong phone number to call me. Later that evening, as I was checking emails I noticed an email with the subject “Service Request Confirmation” sent at 7:40 am. (4 hours after my initial call to AHS) Stating that I can expect to hear from the Unstoppers Inc. during normal business hours. And when they get here they have to call ASH to get permission to fix it. UH! And they might not even have the part to fix it, and I would have to wait several more days! Page 3 I don’t live at my computer, so I would not have known that an email was sent. Now…If I had followed AHS procedure, by calling them first, and then waited for their plumber to call me, the damage would have been 100 times worse and expensive for me to repair, as fast as the water was flowing. So then I ask what good is AHS if they would rather allow your home to be destroyed than to accommodate a client/customer when the need is clearly present in an emergency situation. I would like to have confidence that the company I hire, will do what they say they will in a timely manner and sometimes go the extra mile to make sure their client is happy that they chose them instead of one the other companies. Included in this letter is : Copy of email from Unstopper Copy of Invoice from Cass Plumbing 1. Please send acknowledgement that Fax was received to Email address [email protected] 2. Also if there is anything else that you need to make this more complete and to expedite the procedure to be reimbursed call me at xxxxxxxx. Please reply no later than 3 working days from date faxed to you I trust that I will have your full cooperation, so I am thanking you in advance. Also I apologize if anything I said insulted the company. I was irritated, so stated my feelings as a customer so your company can learn from this and to get better reviews in the future. Kathy Update...The fax number that was given to me by AHS did not work. I called and was on hold again for 30 min. and had to give all of my info to the recorder. grrr! When someone finally answered, I asked what their fax number was, and she gave me a totally different number! I asked why I was given a different number and she didn't know and had to go ask someone, then said that they had just changed the number that day. What kind of company changes their fax number? Needless to say AHS did not reply to my claim request within the 3 days that I asked them to and of course they denied my claim. The next week I get a call from them asking if I am going to renew my plan with them! Really?????? They want me to give them another $650.00 to let them treat me like crap again???

Icon

Travis Green, Tampa

On Jun 05, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

All they want to do is talk in circles, pass you to a different department and if your lucky to get a repair person "Authorized" to do any thing they will use tape a cardboard to fix a leak. The best is when it starts leaking again AHS wants to blame you for the bad work when you have been complaining about faulty work the whole time.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here

from ,

requested a free quote