ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   Georgia
last_updated_icon Last updated: July 28, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN GEORGIA

Georgia has become a popular state to move to, due to its relatively low living costs. As the homeownership rate is on the rise, many home warranty companies strive to serve Georgia homeowners with annual and monthly service contracts. Home warranties can be a worthwhile investment for a homeowner in Georgia because they help save money on home maintenance.

Nearly half of Georgia homes were built before the year 2000. Homes built over two decades ago indicate that most home appliances and systems are approaching the stage of rapid decline. Studies suggest that about 35% of homeowners spend up to $999 per month on maintenance costs, while 40% spend more than this amount.

A service contract for inexpensive repairs and replacements can help reduce such costs. To help you take the first step in this regard, we have ranked the best home warranty companies in Georgia. Also, find tips to identify home warranty plans that fit your needs.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service Plus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

TOP-RATED HOME WARRANTIES IN GEORGIA

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
mapicon

featured-icon

They have a proven track record of paying 97.5% claims.

PRICING

$399-$549

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Old Republic Home Protection average deductible for a contract is $72.65
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.3
mapicon

PRICING

$260-$500

SERVICE FEE

$55-$100

mapicon

Fidelity National Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.5
  • Been in the industry since 1995
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are among the few companies that offer roof leak coverage

PRICING

$350-$445

SERVICE FEE

$65

mapicon

BFS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.9
  • Been in the industry since 1973
mapicon

PRICING

$219-$299

SERVICE FEE

$55

mapicon

America's First Choice - AFC

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.4
  • Been in the industry since 2009
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer four plans and a workmanship guarantee upto three years

PRICING

$440

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is In 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.5
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • HMS Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $90.51
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Offers a coverage limit of $3K
mapicon

featured-icon

HMS is now known as Cinch Home Services & offers a free water sensor to detect leaks.

PRICING

$400 - $600+

SERVICE FEE

$100 - $200

mapicon

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Total Protect Home Warranty provides a 180-day workmanship guarantee for any covered repairs and replacements
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Offers a coverage limit of $10K
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer coverage for pre-existing conditions & rust & corrosion.

PRICING

$491 - $1055

SERVICE FEE

$100

mapicon

Globe Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 4.4
  • Been in the industry since 1994
mapicon

PRICING

$369 - $459

SERVICE FEE

$50

mapicon

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Residential Warranty average deductible for a contract is $54.26
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Network of N/A service contractors
mapicon

PRICING

$402

SERVICE FEE

$50

mapicon

WHO SHOULD BUY A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA?

Home warranty plans benefit most groups of consumers. As stated above, most homeowners in Georgia lose up to 35% of their income in monthly maintenance costs around the home. Home warranties come in handy, by reducing these costs, especially if you factor in the hassle of finding a qualified repair contractor.

Besides the above points, home warranty customers face differing problems with home ownership and maintenance. Here are some key points to consider when deciding if a home warranty is the right buy.

  1. First-time home buyers: The Georgia real estate market has recovered quickly in 2021, and the global changes in remote work policies have made the state a favored destination for first-time home buyers. The median sale price in Atlanta is around $333,000, due to this demand spike.
    Many buyers show interest in pre-owned Georgia homes, which may be a little more affordable. Home warranty plans bring home buyers peace of mind, knowing that the older home systems and appliances are accounted for, after making such a significant investment.
  2. Home owners: Home maintenance and living costs continue to rise every year in Georgia, and it gets more expensive to hire quality repair professionals. Even if you're a homeowner who likes DIY repairs, you'll eventually run into a problem you can't fix alone. Home warranties provide access to skilled contractors at a fraction of the usual cost.
  3. Retirees: A home warranty can be an essential home protection measure for this group, in particular. Georgia's friendly atmosphere and clean environment make it a good destination for retirees. Maintaining older home systems and appliances can be an extra hassle at this age. So, choosing a home warranty company with special services, like HVAC tune-ups and rekeying, can be beneficial.
  4. Home sellers: Popular cities like Atlanta are a seller’s market at the moment, and sellers can get even better prices by equipping their homes with home warranties. Home sellers in rural areas can also benefit, as top companies provide coverage for HVAC, electrical systems, plumbing, etc.
  5. Landlords: Rental prices are increasing in GA, and in Atlanta, 50% of the homes are rented out. The biggest annoyance for landlords is home maintenance for tenants. Tenants can directly call the home warranty company for repairs and replacements, rather than the landlord run over.

WHAT TYPES OF HOMES ARE COVERED BY A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA?

Home warranty plans are usually purchased by owners of single-unit homes less than 5000 sq. ft. in size. However, they cover bigger houses, and a free quote will help you determine the pricing for these types of homes. The companies also cover multi-unit dwellings, condos, duplexes, and apartments, making them a worthwhile purchase as a landlord.

A GLIMPSE AT AVERAGE PREMIUM IN GEORGIA

Average Premium In georgia

Min Average Premium in georgia Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in georgia (GA) major towns:

Albany Athens Atlanta
Augusta Columbus Macon
Marietta Roswell Sandy Springs

Population : 9,687,711

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

BEST HOME WARRANTY PLANS IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Here are some top home warranty plans provided by the best companies in Georgia to protect your home appliances and systems. Compare each companies' company's offerings and services, and check out reviews to make the right choice for your home.

Total Home Protection: THP offers comprehensive plans at affordable prices. They have a basic coverage plan called the Gold Plan, ideal for homes where the bulk of items have recently expired OEM warranties. Their Platinum Plan is a good option for older homes where many systems and appliances are aging. They also include free roof leak coverage. THP’s customer service is well-rated.

Choice Home Warranty: This company has been favored by residents of Georgia, due to their prompt scheduling when claims are filed. With a good network of contractors across the states they operate in, their plans make for a no-frills, reliable home warranty purchase. They have a Basic Plan and a Total Plan, covering all of the critical home systems and appliances prone to wear and tear. In addition, customers have praised their response time.

American Home Shield (AHS): AHS provides services to a wide range of customers, since the home warranty pioneering decade of the 1970s. AHS only sends contractors from within its network to perform service requests. The company offers three plans, Shield Platinum being the most comprehensive, and they have the best coverage limits among all of the Georgia companies.

IMPORTANT TIPS FOR BUYING A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA

  1. Quite a few neighborhoods in Georgia are affordable. However, others are expensive, like Dahlonega, College Park, Atlanta, Chamblee, Norcross, and Marietta. This means that repairs and replacements for your home equipment can turn out to be a financial blow. So, choose a budget-friendly home warranty if you live in these types of areas.
  2. It takes almost 74 days to sell a home in Georgia. For realtors looking to speed up the selling process, the right Georgia home warranty company can help get the house sold faster. Look out for companies that offer quality home warranty plans for real estate professionals.
  3. Just because you see eye-catching advertisements for a warranty company, it does not mean they are the best. Make sure you read online user reviews of the companies and then decide whether to do business with them.
  4. Choose a home warranty that does not restrict coverage based on the age, make, or model of your home appliances and systems.
  5. Double-check that your preferred home warranty company in Georgia provides extensive coverage and flexible plans.
  6. Not everything will be covered when your appliances and systems get damaged. Home warranty companies have an exclusion list, which states the various circumstances under which they are not liable to provide coverage. For example, most home warranty companies cover devices that have stopped functioning, but if the homeowner has maintained the appliance well. Make sure you read the exclusion list to avoid any future disappointments.

GEORGIA WEATHER CONDITIONS AND IMPACT ON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS

Georgia has a humid subtropical climate with long, hot summers and short, mild winters. As a result, it experiences various weather phenomena that may affect your appliances and home systems, forcing you to undertake repairs or replacements to ensure that your daily routine goes smoothly.

The humid summers of Georgia can also take a toll on some of your most expensive appliances. For example, air conditioners in the hot, humid environment run for extended hours, causing stress, strain, and burnout. This is also true for refrigerators and ceiling fans. Purchasing a home warranty makes it easier for you to enjoy cool summers with quick repairs and replacements.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it worth buying a home warranty in Georgia?

Home warranties may help in significantly reducing the repair and replacement costs of home systems and appliances that are aging and prone to regular breakdowns. For a few hundred dollars, over 10 items may be covered by the plans, based on the company you choose. If you select a company with high coverage caps, the plan may be well worth it.

Who regulates home warranty companies in Georgia?

Although a home warranty is not considered home insurance, the Georgia Department of Insurance may regulate the companies. State law mandates home warranty companies to ensure proper financial backing and insurance, but there is no actual procedure for checking if they have done so. The Governor's Office of Consumer Protection also assists residents with issues.

Does Choice Home Warranty cover Georgia?

Yes, Choice Home Warranty provides services in Georgia and is one of the top-rated companies operating in the state.

How does a home warranty claim work?

When any covered home system or appliance breaks down, you have to file a claim. The company representative will determine if there is preliminary coverage, and assign a service technician to visit you and diagnose the problem. If the technician diagnoses failure of a covered component, the company will decide whether to repair or replace the item. You will be required to pay a trade call fee to help cover the costs of parts and labor.

I have homeowners insurance. Do I need a home warranty?

Although a home warranty is not mandatory, like home insurance (if you have a mortgage), having one can help cover liabilities that home insurance misses. As home appliances age, they are prone to breakdowns, which can be costly. Home insurance does not cover these situations. You can learn more by checking out the differences between the two.

Do builders offer home warranties?

Builders do offer new home construction warranties or structural warranties, an entirely different product. Newly built homes typically have OEM warranty covering the home systems, so a home warranty may not be helpful.

Georgia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Cyndy Oxendine, Perry

On Feb 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very happy with my replacement dishwasher very quick response time couldn’t be happier selection to choose from was very surprising it was like shopping at a local store. Shipping was very fast and installation was same day as delivery. Very happy as always with AHS I’ve been using them with different homes since 1997 and can’t complain. Thanks again.

Icon

Michele Powell, Blairsville

On Feb 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When unable to find a plumber, I was pleased that you approved for me to contact someone and was guaranteed to pay me back for services I paid for upfront. AHS was easy to work for but unfortunately the plumber I selected was rude, unprofessional and got angry when I asked him to answer the 4 questions required by AHS prior to doing work. I will not ever contact him again. Glad that AHS will reimburse me!

Icon

CLAIRE BOYCE, Duluth

On Feb 09, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

TO: AHS Leadership RE: #40342207 Elderly Abusive February 9, 2021 I have been a member of AHS for about 10 years. My refrigerator began struggling to stay cool on December 1,2020. On December 10, 2021 ***** Service came out to repair it. The technician told me that he had to order a diffuser thermistor. I asked him “what if It just stops?” He said the diffuser thermistor was not connected to the refrigerator cooling, and it would continue to work until the diffuser thermistor was replaced in about 10 days. . On December 20th the refrigerator stopped running. I called the ***** service. They said I would have to contact AHS, but I would be charged the $75 service fee AGAIN. AHS refused to present me some solutions. We used the neighbor next door’s refrigerator. It was difficult. My husband is 80 and I at 75 cannot walk the best. Every time** I called AHS (check the record) I would try to EXPLAIN that the refrigerator was NOT WORKING. The representative would give me the “rote” speech that the PART WAS ON ORDER. NO ONE COULD COMPREHEND THAT THE ORDERED PART WOULD NOT MAKE THE REFRIGERTOR START UP AGAIN!!!! I explained my situation to them. They said I could have the repair man come out at look at it, but it would cost another $75 dollars. I keep repeating that it was not working. They assured me it would be in soon. In summary, AHS refused to listen to me when the refrigerator stopped running without attempting to charge me more service calls. On December 30, my son came to care for us. He recognized we were in danger of getting food poison from keeping food in a warm refrigerator. My son took us to ******** for me to purchase a refrigerator ($2,100). It was delivered to our home on December 31, 2020. On January 28, 49 days later the ***** called to say that the diffuser thermistor was in and they were ready to come replace. I attempted to explain that the refrigerator had stopped working. They said, it was not their fault and they would close the case !!!!! After reading this letter I expect some type of compensation/reimbursement for the horrible situation we as senior citizens were involved in. I have trusted AHS through the years. This situation is horrible. My son is very upset. I am trying to handle this. Please reply. Sincerely, Claire Lockman Boyce, PhD. Drlockman08@gmail.com. Tracking # 948215240485 948215240496 948215240500 948215240511 948215240522 948215240533 948215240544 948215240555 948215240566 948215240577 Parts DIFFUSER THERMISTOR

Icon

GB, Lilburn

On Jan 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’ve had a non working pool pump since Dec. contacted AHS in Dec and to date I’ve been getting the run around. No offense but speaking with customer service reps whose first language is not English, and they obviously are not in the US, is incredibly frustrating. Horrible, horrible service

Icon

cynthia w, Marietta

On Jan 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was offered a replacement appliance and upon selecting a washer from “The options that were provided. 1- the washer was not available 2 - I called and spoke with an agent and was told that the appliances had been out of stock for awhile and there was no ETA on when it would be back in stock. 3 - my question then was why is that appliance still showing as an option if it has been out of stock for a long length of time, the agent could not provide an answer. 4- I asked for a supervisor or manager to give me a call back and no one has contacted me. I’m very annoyed at this point because I’m trying to get an appliance the is suitable and has the same functionality as the washer I previously had, this GE appliance in my opinion is not the same but as close as I can get to my Whirlpool appliance. I found the same appliance at an appliance store in my area and called and spoke with another agent regarding possibly getting that item without having to pay or do reimbursement. She was not sympathetic was taking over me and them transferred me to a number where I stayed in hold for about 25 minutes and she didn’t come back to acknowledge or check on me. As a valued customer this experience has been the very worst, unacceptable and frustrating that I have had. This is poor customer service, advertising because your showing a product that you don’t even have and the agents are so unaware of when it while be back available. This is ridiculous, and I am a very, very unhappy and dissatisfied customer whom will be considering not renewing my home warranty. Actually the rating should be no stars, I can’t deselect my rating.

Icon

W Wooley , Columbus

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’ve received AHS service a few times and recently. You’ve been prompt in assigning professional maintenance company/team to resolve our home maintenance problem. My wife and I have been satisfied and pleased each time. We find It beneficial as a homeowner to have your service. Thank you

Icon

Ruth Lewis, Acworth

On Jan 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great, fast service. Never had a problem. The only issue is the cost. We pay a monthly fee (which is not cheap) and still I have to pay $100. for each claim. Last time it ended up being a $2.99 part so I felt a bit cheated. I am told replacement items are comparable to the damaged item, but I find the replacements to be cheap and not meant to last long. I am considering cancelling the service because of the expense.

Icon

Ashley , Hawkinsville

On Dec 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I would recommend ANYONE considering using AHS to save your money. Their “racket” with their service providers is a joke. They do not care about the best interest of their customers once you have signed on. They will not treat you fairly if you do not agree to pay the outlandish non covered charges that the provider can charge and they will not disclose these cost. They will offer a insulting cash settlement with no justification, to try and force you to concede. I’m a contractor and knew what to ask when enrolling, but when time came for service, they had a difference stance. I will be filling complaints and possible legal action. I would give them a lower thank one star if I could.

Icon

JACK PAMPALON, Stone Mountain

On Dec 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service person was very knowledge and explained what he thought was wrong with the ice maker. he suggested we have a plumber to check the water supply line for a blockage (he said it was not his responsibility to do so) and after we had that done he said i should call and let ahs know so ahs could reschedule another apointment (and i presume another service charge would be issued? but at this time of the year and what all that is going on the service charge is needed elsewhere. so for a visit that lasted maybe @ 30 minutes worth an explaniation the visit was a #1 rating. the explation just wasnt what i needed nad another service charge either.

Icon

Barry Waller, Whitesburg

On Dec 05, 2020

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Stay away from this company at all costs! I have had the same issue with my dishwasher not draining properly for over a year. After several failed attempts to repair it, they will not replace it. Total scam!!

Icon

Allan Malloy, Canton

On Dec 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was great at scheduling a repairman for our dryer in a very timely manner. He showed up on time and was professional. He recommended a replacement dryer and AHS agreed. Up to that point it was five star service. My complaint is that nobody followed up with an email, text or call from AHS about my replacement options. I finally had to call and after going through one call, I was transferred and put on hold for TWO HOURS AND FOURTEEN MINUTES. The lady who helped me (finally) was nice and gave me my options. This is the exact same experience I had with our microwave back in June. So, half of the overall experience was good and half was poor. Please improve your service if a replacement appliance is approved. Thank you.

Icon

Jack, Stone Mountain

On Nov 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was the best price for the money and their service is AWESOME. Our refrigerator stopped cooling and it took AHS only 4 days to have a qualified repairman out and he fixed it and was gone in 45 minuets. The ice maker has also stopped working and AHS will have a repairman out very quickly to fix it. It is the best repair service I have found and I have looked, believe me. J. P.

Icon

Renee Hill-Sweet, Smyrna

On Nov 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service to my home heating system was above satisfactory & the technician was a top notch professional. He took care of both of the units and directed me in how to change the filters & told me I should be changing them out every three months.

Icon

Harolyn Smith, Marietta

On Nov 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

i have been with american home shield for about 3 years and have needed them very little . my complaint is several times they have sent out incompetent people that either say there is nothin wrong ,or say it is fixed and it is not ! actually i found and repaired the problem with my toilet when the repair man could not ! however ahs refused to credit my fee ! another time when i had a problem with my garbage disposal the service tec said i must have put something down the disposal tha gloged it ! i haired a local plumber and within 5 miniutes he saw the drain elbo was at too sharp an angle, and repaired it in about 30 min. this last time when i was having air condition problems the first tec stalled me around for about 3 days before telling me to get someone else or call him back later in week. the second company,you people sent were great! very knowledgable ,efficient and made the repair in a timely manner,the tec name was ****,the name of the co skipps my mind right now but your records should reflect the name. whom ever and what ever way you decide on a repair company needs reviewing ! my contract with ahs expires in about 2 months and i intend to do some research through consumers digest ,and several neighbors that now have ahs . respectfully jeffrey smith jeff.smith2723@ gmail.com.

Icon

Stephen L Carter, Douglasville

On Nov 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Prime Plumbing provided excellent service, responsiveness, and feedback to repair concern. Expedient repair with informative and knowledgeable service technician. Service person reported to job in timely manner and was COVID prepared and conscious.

Icon

Wyman C Inglett JR, Townsend

On Nov 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

IAmerican Home Shield has always been attentive to my problems. They have arranged meetings with technicians and appointments. Experienced technicians have always been assigned. All have been very personable and efficient. They are thorough when diagnosing problems, ordering parts and completing work. I received an email stating that I needed to respond to this site. Refridge is still doing what I originally requested service for. It runs 24 hrs a day and does not cool.

Icon

Jayden Boi, Cumming

On Oct 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

At first, it was great. Called in, started a claim, they sent a contractor who was so kind out 3 days later who said it was not repairable and that\'s when it all went down hill. 7 hours on hold to have it replaced, disconnected 3 times, still haven\'t spoken to anyone, no answer as to what I\'m supposed to do to get a new washing machine with a warranty company I pay for every single month.

Icon

John, Stone Mountain

On Oct 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Horrible customer service, will not help, will not transfer to supervisor or manager. No escalation department, the people they send you to (as a so called escalation department) cannot do anything to escalate only tell you to wait on what the agent that could not help you escalate did, they cannot escalate the request and cannot transfer you to anyone else, just place you on hold and you hear the beep when they pick back up and place you back on hold) I have been waiting on my cash out for a repair that they said they could not do without modifying my AC unit at an additional $2500 for the modification, but got a local company to replace the part with the actual replacement part that fit without modification but now have been waiting for over a month for my cash out. They do not seem to use replacement parts that are compatible but want to upsell you by using replacement parts that are comparable but require modifications to your systems. BETTER OFF JUST SAVING YOUR MONEY AND PAY A LOCAL REPAIR COMPANY THEY COST LESS THAN WHAT YOU PAY PER YEAR FOR NO CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Icon

Bob V, Canton

On Oct 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fantastic sums it up! Purchased AHS warranty when we closed on a home we recently purchased. About 5 weeks later, the washer starting making all sorts of strange noises and would only spin at low speed. I contacted AHS on 09/01 through their website, paid my deductible and the next day was contacted by GE Factory Service. We agreed on an appt time for 09/10. GE actually called me on Wednesday and asked if they could come a day early which was fine with me. The GE Tech diagnosed the problem and said it would probably cost more to repair than it was worth (transmission) but that would be up to AHS. He said they would contact me in about a week with the next steps since it had to go through the approval process, sort of like an insurance claim. AHS e-mailed me on 09/15 and provided a list of washers I could chose from to replace mine at no charge! Unfortunately the only models in stock at the time had an impeller and we wanted an agitator like our old washer. I checked back every day for a few weeks and while other impeller models became available, there were no agitator models. AHS has options to upgrade to a better model if you pay a little more money. I was able to find a very nice GE model which would only cost me a little over $200 more. I priced this model at a big box store and they were selling it for $850. So I paid $200 for the $850 model, a $650 savings, not to mention the big box store was charging for delivery and setup and new hoses, so I actually saved even more. The order was processed through ** ******* and they delivered on 10/06. Yes it was almost a month from the time GE Service diagnosed the issue, which for many may not be acceptable, but a few weeks of that delay was on me since I was waiting to see if a specific washer became available. Our old washer was still limping by so I had time on my side. From the initial contact through AHSs website, to follow up by GE, to getting my offer to replace the washer at no charge from a specified list was about 2 weeks. Considering all the delays we are still suffering with from Covid (that was the reason for the low stock situation with washing machines), I feel that was perfectly acceptable. Of course if my furnace was out in the middle of winter, that may not be the case, but I believe AHS would probably prioritize such cases. Im extremely happy with AHS and ** *******. Delivery was quick, they disconnected the old model, connected the new model and told me to let it run through a cycle before using. Twenty minutes tops for the delivery and setup, nice job! I did have to pay a little more to get a washer with an agitator (and lots of other bells and whistles), but I saved a bundle over purchasing it on my own and love the new machine. Hopefully nothing will break within the next year, but if it does Im sure AHS will provide excellent service again if needed. This is not a paid endorsement, Im just very happy with how the entire process went. Thanks AHS!!

Icon

Millie Cooper, Atlanta

On Sep 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Design Atlanta Heating and Air was outstanding. If this service is needed in the future, please send them back to me again!!! I don’t recall the name of the service technician , but he was very through and checkout my unit and answer all question to aid in my understanding

Icon

Lilla Maxwell, Marietta

On Sep 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have, once again, had someone from American Home Shield come to my house and fix a problem I had. This time it was a Washing Machine, and it was past repair. I have now received and had the new washer installed. I tried it right away and it is so spectacular. American Home Shield and their staff are truly spectacular. I have saved more money than I could have ever imagined with them as well as never had a hastle when I needed them to come look at anything. Being 73, this is quite important to me.

Icon

Caroline Wike, Atlanta

On Sep 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We were impressed by the quick service that American Home Shield delivered. Our AC was fixed within one visit and the technician was very knowledgable. We appreciate the professional help we received. Thank you!

Icon

Yoliallen, Mcdonough

On Sep 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had submitted a claim for repairs on my LG Dryer(keeps), and my Samsung Refrigerator (ice maker not working, and compressor not working properly, which is causing food to spoil, and is not cooling at the proper temperature). My claim was submitted on Aug 14, 2020. AHS had sent out Sanders Appliances Repair Service about one week later. He diagnosed the problems and submitted to AHS the parts needed to repair. Over these past weeks, have not heard from vendor, I did receive emails from AHS stating that parts has been ordered. I reached out to vendor, but no response for the last three weeks; his phone goes straight to voicemail, and it is full, so I cannot leave messages. Contacted AHS to inquire about status of when my appliances will be fixed, and stated that I cannot reach the vendor, and upon my research of said vendor; discovered that his reviews are negative, and subpar. His customers has stated that he does poor work, and does not respond back. I relayed this information to AHS, and asked them why would they send a vendor who has poor work quality out to their clients. I have been back and forth communicating with AHS on when they will be able to send another contractor out to repair my appliances, but they keep say that they have to reach the vendor first, but they have tried just as I have tried and they don’t get any response. It has been over a month and I still have not had my issues resolved. I have talked to AHS Customer Service at least 7 different times, but am still getting the same response with no resolution. They do not call back when promised. I have asked on numerous occasions to speak with someone of authority, but I get the same spiel; ie...we will send an email to Contract Relations Dept, but I, the customer still do not get any satisfactory response and results. At this point, I have been requesting to AHS Customer Service that AHS either send out a new qualified, and experienced technician, or purchase a new refrigerator, because the one I have and requested service on is not working properly at all now, and I am losing money from food spoilage. I feel that AHS does not put their customers first, but is quick to debit my account for their service call fee. I also feel that this company needs to be investigated due to the extremely poor reviews received by thousands of customers as to lack of quality service, shoddy and shady vendors, unethical behavior, and poor customer service.

Icon

Bill Mcelwee, Savannah

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Compressor failed on air conditioner. Typical cost to replace is between $1200-$1800. I opted for ash to replace it on my own. AHS is offering $599 for the compressor. They claim that’s what it would cost them if they did the repair...covers new compressor, parts and labor...I would have to shell out $799 for refrigerant and parts not covered. Not happy with AHS cash payout.

Icon

Bill Mcelwee, Savannah

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Compressor failed on air conditioner. Typical cost to replace is between $1200-$1800. I opted for ash to replace it on my own. AHS is offering $599 for the compressor. They claim that’s what it would cost them if they did the repair...covers new compressor, parts and labor...I would have to shell out $799 for refrigerant and parts not covered. Not happy with AHS cash payout.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020