ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   Georgia
last_updated_icon Last updated: July 28, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN GEORGIA

Georgia has become a popular state to move to, due to its relatively low living costs. As the homeownership rate is on the rise, many home warranty companies strive to serve Georgia homeowners with annual and monthly service contracts. Home warranties can be a worthwhile investment for a homeowner in Georgia because they help save money on home maintenance.

Nearly half of Georgia homes were built before the year 2000. Homes built over two decades ago indicate that most home appliances and systems are approaching the stage of rapid decline. Studies suggest that about 35% of homeowners spend up to $999 per month on maintenance costs, while 40% spend more than this amount.

A service contract for inexpensive repairs and replacements can help reduce such costs. To help you take the first step in this regard, we have ranked the best home warranty companies in Georgia. Also, find tips to identify home warranty plans that fit your needs.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service Plus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

TOP-RATED HOME WARRANTIES IN GEORGIA

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Sears Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

PRICING

$49.99 - $69.99

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

WHO SHOULD BUY A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA?

Home warranty plans benefit most groups of consumers. As stated above, most homeowners in Georgia lose up to 35% of their income in monthly maintenance costs around the home. Home warranties come in handy, by reducing these costs, especially if you factor in the hassle of finding a qualified repair contractor.

Besides the above points, home warranty customers face differing problems with home ownership and maintenance. Here are some key points to consider when deciding if a home warranty is the right buy.

  1. First-time home buyers: The Georgia real estate market has recovered quickly in 2021, and the global changes in remote work policies have made the state a favored destination for first-time home buyers. The median sale price in Atlanta is around $333,000, due to this demand spike.
    Many buyers show interest in pre-owned Georgia homes, which may be a little more affordable. Home warranty plans bring home buyers peace of mind, knowing that the older home systems and appliances are accounted for, after making such a significant investment.
  2. Home owners: Home maintenance and living costs continue to rise every year in Georgia, and it gets more expensive to hire quality repair professionals. Even if you're a homeowner who likes DIY repairs, you'll eventually run into a problem you can't fix alone. Home warranties provide access to skilled contractors at a fraction of the usual cost.
  3. Retirees: A home warranty can be an essential home protection measure for this group, in particular. Georgia's friendly atmosphere and clean environment make it a good destination for retirees. Maintaining older home systems and appliances can be an extra hassle at this age. So, choosing a home warranty company with special services, like HVAC tune-ups and rekeying, can be beneficial.
  4. Home sellers: Popular cities like Atlanta are a seller’s market at the moment, and sellers can get even better prices by equipping their homes with home warranties. Home sellers in rural areas can also benefit, as top companies provide coverage for HVAC, electrical systems, plumbing, etc.
  5. Landlords: Rental prices are increasing in GA, and in Atlanta, 50% of the homes are rented out. The biggest annoyance for landlords is home maintenance for tenants. Tenants can directly call the home warranty company for repairs and replacements, rather than the landlord run over.

WHAT TYPES OF HOMES ARE COVERED BY A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA?

Home warranty plans are usually purchased by owners of single-unit homes less than 5000 sq. ft. in size. However, they cover bigger houses, and a free quote will help you determine the pricing for these types of homes. The companies also cover multi-unit dwellings, condos, duplexes, and apartments, making them a worthwhile purchase as a landlord.

A GLIMPSE AT AVERAGE PREMIUM IN GEORGIA

Average Premium In georgia

Min Average Premium in georgia Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in georgia (GA) major towns:

Albany Athens Atlanta
Augusta Columbus Macon
Marietta Roswell Sandy Springs

Population : 9,687,711

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

BEST HOME WARRANTY PLANS IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Here are some top home warranty plans provided by the best companies in Georgia to protect your home appliances and systems. Compare each companies' company's offerings and services, and check out reviews to make the right choice for your home.

Total Home Protection: THP offers comprehensive plans at affordable prices. They have a basic coverage plan called the Gold Plan, ideal for homes where the bulk of items have recently expired OEM warranties. Their Platinum Plan is a good option for older homes where many systems and appliances are aging. They also include free roof leak coverage. THP’s customer service is well-rated.

Choice Home Warranty: This company has been favored by residents of Georgia, due to their prompt scheduling when claims are filed. With a good network of contractors across the states they operate in, their plans make for a no-frills, reliable home warranty purchase. They have a Basic Plan and a Total Plan, covering all of the critical home systems and appliances prone to wear and tear. In addition, customers have praised their response time.

American Home Shield (AHS): AHS provides services to a wide range of customers, since the home warranty pioneering decade of the 1970s. AHS only sends contractors from within its network to perform service requests. The company offers three plans, Shield Platinum being the most comprehensive, and they have the best coverage limits among all of the Georgia companies.

IMPORTANT TIPS FOR BUYING A HOME WARRANTY IN GEORGIA

  1. Quite a few neighborhoods in Georgia are affordable. However, others are expensive, like Dahlonega, College Park, Atlanta, Chamblee, Norcross, and Marietta. This means that repairs and replacements for your home equipment can turn out to be a financial blow. So, choose a budget-friendly home warranty if you live in these types of areas.
  2. It takes almost 74 days to sell a home in Georgia. For realtors looking to speed up the selling process, the right Georgia home warranty company can help get the house sold faster. Look out for companies that offer quality home warranty plans for real estate professionals.
  3. Just because you see eye-catching advertisements for a warranty company, it does not mean they are the best. Make sure you read online user reviews of the companies and then decide whether to do business with them.
  4. Choose a home warranty that does not restrict coverage based on the age, make, or model of your home appliances and systems.
  5. Double-check that your preferred home warranty company in Georgia provides extensive coverage and flexible plans.
  6. Not everything will be covered when your appliances and systems get damaged. Home warranty companies have an exclusion list, which states the various circumstances under which they are not liable to provide coverage. For example, most home warranty companies cover devices that have stopped functioning, but if the homeowner has maintained the appliance well. Make sure you read the exclusion list to avoid any future disappointments.

GEORGIA WEATHER CONDITIONS AND IMPACT ON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS

Georgia has a humid subtropical climate with long, hot summers and short, mild winters. As a result, it experiences various weather phenomena that may affect your appliances and home systems, forcing you to undertake repairs or replacements to ensure that your daily routine goes smoothly.

The humid summers of Georgia can also take a toll on some of your most expensive appliances. For example, air conditioners in the hot, humid environment run for extended hours, causing stress, strain, and burnout. This is also true for refrigerators and ceiling fans. Purchasing a home warranty makes it easier for you to enjoy cool summers with quick repairs and replacements.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it worth buying a home warranty in Georgia?

Home warranties may help in significantly reducing the repair and replacement costs of home systems and appliances that are aging and prone to regular breakdowns. For a few hundred dollars, over 10 items may be covered by the plans, based on the company you choose. If you select a company with high coverage caps, the plan may be well worth it.

Who regulates home warranty companies in Georgia?

Although a home warranty is not considered home insurance, the Georgia Department of Insurance may regulate the companies. State law mandates home warranty companies to ensure proper financial backing and insurance, but there is no actual procedure for checking if they have done so. The Governor's Office of Consumer Protection also assists residents with issues.

Does Choice Home Warranty cover Georgia?

Yes, Choice Home Warranty provides services in Georgia and is one of the top-rated companies operating in the state.

How does a home warranty claim work?

When any covered home system or appliance breaks down, you have to file a claim. The company representative will determine if there is preliminary coverage, and assign a service technician to visit you and diagnose the problem. If the technician diagnoses failure of a covered component, the company will decide whether to repair or replace the item. You will be required to pay a trade call fee to help cover the costs of parts and labor.

I have homeowners insurance. Do I need a home warranty?

Although a home warranty is not mandatory, like home insurance (if you have a mortgage), having one can help cover liabilities that home insurance misses. As home appliances age, they are prone to breakdowns, which can be costly. Home insurance does not cover these situations. You can learn more by checking out the differences between the two.

Do builders offer home warranties?

Builders do offer new home construction warranties or structural warranties, an entirely different product. Newly built homes typically have OEM warranty covering the home systems, so a home warranty may not be helpful.

Georgia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lilla Maxwell, Marietta

On Sep 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have, once again, had someone from American Home Shield come to my house and fix a problem I had. This time it was a Washing Machine, and it was past repair. I have now received and had the new washer installed. I tried it right away and it is so spectacular. American Home Shield and their staff are truly spectacular. I have saved more money than I could have ever imagined with them as well as never had a hastle when I needed them to come look at anything. Being 73, this is quite important to me.

Icon

Caroline Wike, Atlanta

On Sep 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We were impressed by the quick service that American Home Shield delivered. Our AC was fixed within one visit and the technician was very knowledgable. We appreciate the professional help we received. Thank you!

Icon

Yoliallen, Mcdonough

On Sep 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had submitted a claim for repairs on my LG Dryer(keeps), and my Samsung Refrigerator (ice maker not working, and compressor not working properly, which is causing food to spoil, and is not cooling at the proper temperature). My claim was submitted on Aug 14, 2020. AHS had sent out Sanders Appliances Repair Service about one week later. He diagnosed the problems and submitted to AHS the parts needed to repair. Over these past weeks, have not heard from vendor, I did receive emails from AHS stating that parts has been ordered. I reached out to vendor, but no response for the last three weeks; his phone goes straight to voicemail, and it is full, so I cannot leave messages. Contacted AHS to inquire about status of when my appliances will be fixed, and stated that I cannot reach the vendor, and upon my research of said vendor; discovered that his reviews are negative, and subpar. His customers has stated that he does poor work, and does not respond back. I relayed this information to AHS, and asked them why would they send a vendor who has poor work quality out to their clients. I have been back and forth communicating with AHS on when they will be able to send another contractor out to repair my appliances, but they keep say that they have to reach the vendor first, but they have tried just as I have tried and they don’t get any response. It has been over a month and I still have not had my issues resolved. I have talked to AHS Customer Service at least 7 different times, but am still getting the same response with no resolution. They do not call back when promised. I have asked on numerous occasions to speak with someone of authority, but I get the same spiel; ie...we will send an email to Contract Relations Dept, but I, the customer still do not get any satisfactory response and results. At this point, I have been requesting to AHS Customer Service that AHS either send out a new qualified, and experienced technician, or purchase a new refrigerator, because the one I have and requested service on is not working properly at all now, and I am losing money from food spoilage. I feel that AHS does not put their customers first, but is quick to debit my account for their service call fee. I also feel that this company needs to be investigated due to the extremely poor reviews received by thousands of customers as to lack of quality service, shoddy and shady vendors, unethical behavior, and poor customer service.

Icon

Bill Mcelwee, Savannah

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Compressor failed on air conditioner. Typical cost to replace is between $1200-$1800. I opted for ash to replace it on my own. AHS is offering $599 for the compressor. They claim that’s what it would cost them if they did the repair...covers new compressor, parts and labor...I would have to shell out $799 for refrigerant and parts not covered. Not happy with AHS cash payout.

Icon

Bill Mcelwee, Savannah

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Compressor failed on air conditioner. Typical cost to replace is between $1200-$1800. I opted for ash to replace it on my own. AHS is offering $599 for the compressor. They claim that’s what it would cost them if they did the repair...covers new compressor, parts and labor...I would have to shell out $799 for refrigerant and parts not covered. Not happy with AHS cash payout.

Icon

Evan, Atlanta

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Please, do yourself a huge favor and use a different home warranty company besides American Home Shield. I\'ve had AHS for several years and had such a poor experience with the 4-5 service calls I\'ve had to make for our home. They\'ve done what they were supposed to do for 1-2 of them, but not without my having to wait weeks for a legit repair. A year ago, our microwave stopped working and we have 3 kids under six. Needless to say, we use our microwave a lot! AHS dispatched a technician who came out, diagnosed the problem, ordered parts and eventually got it working again after 3 visits in total (2-3 weeks). The same problem began happening a few months ago so I recently had to file another service call. Only this time, ten days after the call when the technician attempted to repair the microwave with new parts, it was still not working. He left my home two weeks ago and the repair company is not responding to my calls or texts, as well as the emails/calls that AHS has attempted. Did AHS bother to follow up with me to keep the ball moving? Nope, I've had to call AHS twice this week and sit on the phone with them for 40 minutes on Sunday and 75 minutes today. It's now been over three weeks since we've had a microwave working and AHS said today they would have to get me over to a different department to have them look into it again. When I asked to speak to a manager, I was put on hold for 20 minutes and the rep did not once check on me to let me know she was working on it. Turns out the "escalation department" doesn't even have managerial capabilities to actually alleviate a customer's frustration and ultimately solve the problem. All they do is explain the BS (fine print) processes the company adheres to. When I politely mentioned that I would like to have this resolved today and asked to speak to her supervisor, she told me that she did not have one. (This example doesn't include the experience I had with them and a plumbing contractor last year who caused a worse leak while fixing a pipe and then had his insurance deny liability for a very large damage claim. They essentially called my bluff that I wouldn't sue them and I had to put it on my own insurance claim, costing me my $3,000 deductible. AHS was zero help during that process even though they are the one who assigns the contractor--couldn't even get a supervisor or someone from corporate AHS to return my calls. There is zero accountability for this company and they know that. They will drag you along until you get so pissed that you give up. The sad thing is, I truly believe this is intentional to some degree. As I said, do yourself a favor and go with another home warranty company.

Icon

Betty Miller, Savannah

On Sep 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield responded to my request promptly and sent High Priority to do what was necessary. They were on time and courtesy and efficient. I will continue to use AHS when needed in the future.

Icon

Johnny Carino, Saint Simons Island

On Sep 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Refrigerator deemed unfixable. Cant get in contact. Vendor closed. AHS has not contacted me to replace. Why do you not set up a new fridge as stated? How do i live with no fridge?

Icon

David Mayo, Conyers

On Sep 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Extremely Quick Response. Technician arrived on time and was extremely courtieus and resolved my issue quickly. Even the office was on top of everything. Would recommend AHS to anyone looking for an excellent home warranty.

Icon

Carole , Covington

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’ve been very pleased with the professionalism that AHS exhibits. There customer service is excellent. I don’t have any complaints with the service I have received. I would recommend them to family and friends.

Icon

Judy Lattimore, Mcdonough

On Aug 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The technicians you send out are excellent, the are very very cordial, professional, courteous and most of all they work a job and they are out. Thank you Home Shield

Icon

Marilyn Udeh, Atlanta

On Aug 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My husband and I were very please with the services received today. The technician was very knowledgeable about making the repairs on the oven and on the refrigerator. He was very polite, courteous, and patient with us and he want to make sure that we understood everything.

Icon

Lauren Harvill, Mcdonough

On Aug 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Poor service. Washing Machine has been down a month. They tried to order parts, delaying repairs. Now more parts are pending. Trying to talk with a manager or corporate management is futile. For as much has they have spent on parts, they could have provided a new machine. NEVER again! Do not recommend this service.

Icon

Tim Beverage, Douglasville

On Aug 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had a problem with our air conditioner after buying our house. American Home Shield was very responsive, had a technician out to our house the next day. Now we are back to a cool home in the hot summer days of Georgia.

Icon

Linda Hinton, Decatur

On Aug 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

the service was quick and during the time specified. the recognized the issue right away. the technician was friendly and wore a mask and shoe coverings when he entered my home.

Icon

Alfreida Doe, Riverdale

On Aug 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The overall experience went quite well. The only thing that I did not care for was that with my home having 2 ac units, I had to do an individual work order for each unit to have them both serviced at the same time.

Icon

James Harper, Conyers

On Aug 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our AhS coverage had just gone into effect when we suffered two plumbing problems. I called, explained the situation and AHS sent a plumber from High Priority Plumbing as soon as possible to fix the problems. The repairs were handled expediently and professionally. My only regret is that we had not purchased our AHS warranty sooner. Dr. James D. Harper, Sr.

Icon

Mario Diaz, Sharpsburg

On Aug 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fast response from AHS and their designed service provider. Repair seems to be working fine at this time. The $100 deductible is a little high for me at this time in my retirement.

Icon

Antoinette Benee Waithe, Snellville

On Jul 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Awful company. If I could give no stars I could. Horrible customer service, long wait times, shady contractors, charging unnecessary fees, not honoring conditions of your contract, lack of diversity among said contractors, just to name a few complaints. I placed a service call for my A/C units. The original company they sent to my property tried to charge me three times more for the refrigerant saying we needed 15 pounds for one unit! The unit holds a maximum of five pounds! In addition, the service tech unplugged my other two units as well as poked holes in them to cause leaks. They of course stopped working. I called AHS and told them what I discovered and they tried to charge me another fee. When I requested a second opinion from another company ( per the terms of my contract) the second company said that the repairs the original company suggested would only cause problems two months down the line and that we needed a new unit. AHS refused the second opinion stating that it was the same as the first and tried to charge me which goes against the terms of my contract. There is so much I could say about the horrible customer service I experienced.. but I am so traumatized by this company I will just leave you with a warning. Please find another company. This one is a complete waste of money!

Icon

Betty Mitchell, Savannah

On Jul 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experiene was outstanding. I called to request service and was given a response right away. I was given a company to handle my repairs and a customer number. By the time I hung up from requesting service the company was calling to see what day was available for them to come to service my item. AHS is wonderful and the copay is unbelivable.

Icon

Ben Morall, Lawrenceville

On Jul 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had 3 claims in 3 years and each one has been a great experience with wonderful professionals fixing my garage door, Dishwasher and AC Unit. Good job with everything. Would definitely recommend.

Icon

Tim Roberty, Cumming

On Jul 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Called AHS to report issue with my A/C. Within minutes they assigned a tech to the job. Within an hour May Heating and Air contacted me to schedule the appt. The appt was made within 3 days of my initial call to AHS. The tech show up on time and he was very professional. The job was complete within 30 minutes. Overall the experience was perfect.

Icon

Dee Knolls, Cumming

On Jul 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was impressed with the service that was provided to fix my air-conditioning as it only took 2 days to come and diagnosis the problem, the evaperator coil was leaking and needed to be replaced. I was thankful to have the warranty because I certainly don\'t have money for such a costly repair. I was called by your company and told that replacement coil and freon were covered, however I also needed to have a Mastic and a wet switch added ($250.00 each) to be "up to code". When I told your representative that I don't have that kind of money to cover this extra expense, they said that I couldn't use the servicer provided and could find someone else to fix it. I had to wait 8 days to be scheduled to have it fixed and they needed full payment before serviceman would come back. Payment plan was Not an option. Question- If the warranty you are providing is fixing or replacing an appliance, then why are you charging for additional parts I never asked for??

Icon

Yolanda Fann, Smyrna

On Jul 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good work. But due to the 4th of July I Called the A/C company that I received from HSA on Friday, , but did not get an appointment until Monday. Too long ....there should be an emergency visit option. It was 90 degrees in my house.

Icon

Phyllis Freeman, Atlanta

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very professional and processed my claim in a timely manner. My service guy was great. Mask on and quick and efficient. Thanks for a job well done. I would most definitely recommend American Home Shields.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020