ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: August 11, 2022

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In illinois

Min Average Premium in illinois Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in illinois (IL) major towns:

Aurora Chicago Cicero
Elgin Joliet Naperville
Peoria Rockford Springfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

plus_icon_home

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Residential Warranty average deductible for a contract is $54.26
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Network of N/A service contractors
mapicon

Global Home USA Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.0
  • Been in the industry since 1994
mapicon

Residential Warranty Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.4
  • Been in the industry since 1988
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.4
  • Been in the industry since 1988
mapicon

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Lowe's is the second largest hardware chain in the United States
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.9
mapicon

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.8
  • Been in the industry since 1978
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 1.6
mapicon

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

United Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Been in the industry since 1993
mapicon

ORA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.6
  • Been in the industry since 1985
mapicon

TMI Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
  • Provides services in 2 states
mapicon

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

Illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

K Pederson, Carol Stream

On Apr 18, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not buy Lowes protection plan. I bought one on an L* refrigerator and within 1 year had an issue with the water dispenser not stopping for 2-3 seconds after removing the class from the dispenser causing water to continue to pour out onto my floor. I called for service and they contract with a company named L-E**********. The serviceman, D***** came and said there was nothing wrong with the dispenser since it was not doing it while he was there. It happens randomly, sometimes 5-6 times a day sometimes not for 1-2 days. He refused to do anything because he said it was a very difficult repair. 1 week later we called again because it kept doing it, he came and tried it and again refused to do anything. He said to my wife "The little woman doesnt know how to use her appliances" and then said "Just open the refrigerator door and it will stop". That isnt fixing my issue now is it. I put up with this issue (with an additional cup sitting on top of the refrig just to use if the water didnt stop). I called Lowes agian and said i do not want L-E********** coming again and to send another provider. They have now taken over 10 days to find another provider and have not done anything yet. I repeat, DO NOT BUY LOWES PROTECTION PLAN.

Icon

Gina Krizman, Elburn

On Apr 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I paid my ANNUAL premium in September 2021. In March 2022, they started not only charging me, but charging me TWICE per month. I have called at least 2x per week since March 12, 2022 to get it corrected and the charged reversed. The problem was never resolved. On April 11, I was again charged 2 times. Now I am owed a refund of 4 monthly payments. I have continued to call. I finally got a refund for all 4 payments on April 14, 2022. Once the refund was processed, my account then showed PAST DUE! The topper on the cake was that the very next day, I was charged 4 TIMES!! So now I've again called 2 different days since then to get a refund processed and to have my account fixed. I still have no solution, no refund, and my account online shows that I'll be charged again in May.

Icon

Gina Krizman, Elburn

On Apr 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I paid my ANNUAL premium in September 2021. In March 2022, they started not only charging me, but charging me TWICE per month. I have called at least 2x per week since March 12, 2022 to get it corrected and the charged reversed. The problem was never resolved. On April 11, I was again charged 2 times. Now I am owed a refund of 4 monthly payments. I have continued to call. I finally got a refund for all 4 payments on April 14, 2022. Once the refund was processed, my account then showed PAST DUE! The topper on the cake was that the very next day, I was charged 4 TIMES!! So now I've again called 2 different days since then to get a refund processed and to have my account fixed. I still have no solution, no refund, and my account online shows that I'll be charged again in May.

Icon

Allison Hagen, Brighton

On Apr 14, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Becoming a customer of American Home Shield is one of the best decisions I\'ve made in a long time. Customer service is exceptional. Contractor that fixed my furnace is above average. I\'m very please with their work & caring about the customer. I\'d recommend them to anyone. The contractor was right on top of calling me asap & getting a mechanic out to my home for repair. Having AHS gives me peace of mind. My furnace is like brand new again.

Icon

Jacquie , Oswego

On Apr 11, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Once they arrived, they were quick to fix the clogged sink. I had asked for a window and was given a four hour window. Called when that was up and told that I was still on the schedule. They were her within the hour after that.

Icon

katrina lambros, Mount Prospect

On Apr 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Best experience ever! So the 2 gentleman that delivered my new washing machine just left. They were polite, efficient, and did an amazing job. The whole experience was great. I was skeptical but American home shield made the whole process so easy and did everything they said they would. I will forever be a life long customer!

Icon

Laura Buchanan, Crystal Lake

On Apr 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I Always a positive experience with American Hime Shield. My problems are resolved or the item is replaced. The contractors have all been outstanding. Very knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend American Home Shield to anyone who owns a home. It\'s so worth it.

Icon

Steve, Mchenry

On Apr 05, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

B*** p******* was great. They showed up earlier than their time window and were done with the repair within an hour. They were neat, polite, and very thorough. The only downside to this was that they were unable to get to my home for four days due to their schedule load. Took some really cold showers.

Icon

V Larson, Morton

On Apr 01, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We are so glad our seller purchased this protection for us. We’ve used it twice already.l during the first few months in the house. Communication between us and AHS, and through the service provider keep us in the loop.

Icon

antonio sian, Tinley Park

On Mar 31, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Ahs did excellent job by scheduling the work right away. My big concern was it was scheduled after two days buy the contractor. Considering the temp is very cold during those 2 days wait. other than that no other complain.

Icon

Jennifer Yu, Park Ridge

On Mar 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Easy to make claims. Helpful claims dept and good company sent. Would recommend to family and friends. No hidden fees. I have peace of mind that if anything breakas in the house, i dont have to worry on who to call

Icon

edwin martinez, Gurnee

On Mar 26, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It took the contractor 5 days before they could do the job, We called the AHS and they don\'t have anyone that could do the job sooner, they should more list of contractor that could do weekends.

Icon

Arthur, Rock Island

On Mar 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience was great and the repair man was kind and friendly. The kind of person you would love to have do you repairs. He knows his job.he was curtious and brilliantly. He was on time had good custume

Icon

Tom Beneventi, Glen Ellyn

On Mar 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been a customer of American Home Shield for over 10 years and have been very happy with the coverage and service provided. Every home owner should strongly consider becoming a customer of American Home Shield.

Icon

Lynn Scudieri , Joliet

On Mar 03, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This is our 1st time having to use the warranty & unfortunately our dryer & dishwasher went out within 10 days of each other. Both experiences went flawlessly and we were thrilled with both appliances being fixed! So excited to suggest AHS to all our neighbors.

Icon

Susan L Hernandez, Cary

On Feb 23, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have had AHS for at least 20- 25 years. That\'s a long time to stay with the same company but we have been happy up until now.. I just noticed our policy went up over $30.00 a month. I called And the lady couldn\'t understand what I was asking. I wasn\'t notified of this increase. She said they emailed me. I don\'t have any email from AHS stating that we were having an increase. Unfortunately I've paid 6 months at the higher price.

Icon

David E Lyles, Brighton

On Feb 11, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great insurance company to deal with. They found the right people to repair our S**-Z*** fridge. The repair company kept us apprised along the way. Just an overall great experience, which is rare these days. I highly recommend AHS insurance!!!

Icon

Tanesha Jackson, Lansing

On Feb 11, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fast response time on any service request. Very pleased with the service. Very please with the outcome of the repairs. Always done within a very quick time frame. If repairs can’t be made another option is offered quickly.

Icon

Pamela Pool, Moline

On Feb 10, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service and fast service. I have peace of mind that my stuff will be covered and fixed or replaced. Anytime I have needed service it was prompt and knowledgeable service technicians that came.

Icon

A Watson , Chicago

On Jan 29, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company works hard to give you great service when you run into a problem. I would recommend American Home Shield to everyone. They are responsive. The customer service team makes sure that all of your questions are answered.

Icon

Roni Leavitt, Vernon Hills

On Jan 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My heat went out on the coldest day in Chicago. My furnace was repaired 12 hours later as an emergency repair. My furnace got a new motor for $75, money well spent.

Icon

john paul, Lincolnwood

On Jan 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield is the best home warranty service we\'ve dealt with and well worth the investment! One click and forget - no more having to research endless repair companies and not knowing the cost!

Icon

John Marshall , Port Byron

On Jan 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The online claim process was quick and easy, and the service provider contacted us within two hours. The service technician arrived later that day; made an assessment of our total needs, and ordered the parts. The repairs were successfully completed in an expedient, and professional manner. Thanks!

Icon

Stephanie P, Libertyville

On Jan 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’ve had a good experience with AHS. I’ve had them for 5.5 years and have had good service with a few different repairs. I would recommend a home warranty plan to every homeowner.

Icon

Debra Gassman, Skokie

On Jan 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Overall, this is a very worthwhile Warranty to have as a homeowner. However, it is extremely difficult to get through to customer service when an issue does arise. Despite the name, American Home Shield, none of the representatives are American.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020