ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2020

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

A Glimpse At Average Premium In illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Coverage in illinois (IL) major towns:

Aurora Chicago Cicero
Elgin Joliet Naperville
Peoria Rockford Springfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

Globe Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 232 Reviews
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 4.4
  • Been in the industry since 1994
Universal Home Protection
2.5
/ 5
Based on 33 Reviews
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.9
  • Been in the industry since 1992
Home Warranty Inc
1.5
/ 5
Based on 41 Reviews
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.2
  • Been in the industry since 1999
Global Home USA Warranty
1.5
/ 5
Based on 74 Reviews
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.0
  • Been in the industry since 1994
HomeServe USA
1.5
/ 5
Based on 7 Reviews
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Been in the industry since 1993

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

Richard Kosack, Glenview

On Mar 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The service are as advertised. It’s convenient to order help on line and get a contractor assigned quickly. The technicians are proficient and get the repair done quickly. I would recommend this program just for the peace of mind it provides!

Icon

NICHOLAS VELEZ, La Grange

On Mar 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

great service on my electric and my dryer both repairs were done on time and was in a and were both to my satisfaction would give them a great review good work

Icon

Amy Ferguson, Westchester

On Feb 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Microwave stopped working on a Friday morning. I filled out an online claim and in less than a few hours, we had a service appointment scheduled for Monday morning. Tech came as promised, replaced a thermal fuse in under 15 minutes and we were back in business.

Icon

Chris Hixon, Glencoe

On Jan 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield has proven to be highly valuable in insuring and protecting the appliances and mechanicals in my home. There service model is simple and easy to follow with online or telephone support and the contractors they have provided have all be professional, timely and very helpful. Knowing that I have AHS to support me has really helped to eliminate any stress I may have felt when I have experienced challenges with expensive home appliances or mechanicals. I highly recommend AHS!

Icon

Patricia Guhrs , Woodridge

On Jan 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The company was very prompt and efficient did a good job , the service was fast and workers where very pleasant and answered all my questions.. I would definitely use and recommend this service for future reference..Thank You

Icon

Lin Crisco, Carterville

On Jan 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

A great experience! Extremely professional and courteous. Quickly diagnosed the problem and solved it in one afternoon. This is the second time I have been referred to this company through American Home Shield and glad you recommended them!!!

Icon

Ellis, Highland

On Jan 10, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

We purchased a whirlpool refrigerator in June 2018 and purchased a 5 year extended warranty. Beginning 9/25/2019 the frig started to freeze everything inside. This is January 8, 2020 they have now come out for service 5 times and tomorrow will be 6 since sept. They replaced one part now three times and numerous other parts and it still freezes. We cannot get anyone to help, everytime I call I get a different excuse. I DO NOT recommend this warranty program.

Icon

Jen, Oswego

On Jan 10, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Bought a new Samsung French Door Fridge for my new home. In less than 2 years, the computer in the back needs to be replaced. The lady on the phone with Lowe\'s Warranty was very nice and helpful. The service man came out the next business day and was very kind and explained everything well. HOWEVER.. waiting for Lowes to send the parts to the 3rd party repair company is something to be desired. I'm now well over a week without a working refrigerator and still waiting with no ETA on when the part comes in.. Then of course, they need to schedule to come back out to install it. I will NEVER purchase another appliance from Lowes

Icon

Daniel E Hettinger, Hudson

On Jan 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had American Home Shield for several years, have used it on a few occasions. On none of these service needed situations were we disappointed. Never had to have a return call by technician until this last call on a furnace call. Due to a simple mistake another gentleman came the next day and solved our problem in minutes. I can not see us without this service from AHS.

Icon

Sam , Frankfort

On Jan 05, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Lg Washer not working for the last 3 weeks Lowe’s hires old sears service company who has no urgency what so ever First appointment no show Second appointment 2 hours late, technician ordered control board, send a repair time after 10 business days Third appointment late 2 hours, part didn’t fix the washer, new technician order another part and set a new appointment after a week!!! Now waiting for the repair Very poor service and support from Lowe’s

Icon

Mike Jackiw, Wonder Lake

On Dec 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our furnace started to act up, it was cycling oddly the past week or so, and then late on a Friday night it wasn\'t responding to the thermostat properly. We\'d had a couple intermittent moments before, but this time no good. Late at night too. I put in a ticket with AHS and though the furnace finally kicked on after that I let the ticket stand as I didn't want ti happening again. AHS got a tech out Saturday morning early (yes, a weekend!). The guy came out and found...a bat...in the transformer! Somehow the poor guy got down all the way into the transformer and his crispy body was causing intermittent connections with the thermostat. The tech did a cleaning and check of everything and it's been fine since.

Icon

Karl Fustin, West Frankfort

On Nov 25, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

No problems at all, I filed a claim online because my furnace stopped working, they had a service man there the next day. It needed a part, but he was able to get it working for me until the new part came in a couple of days. Fast and friendly!

Icon

Bob Kelly, Rock Island

On Nov 20, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a great experience. The technician didn\'t stop working until he got it right. AHS came through again!

Icon

Norman Alston, Andalusia

On Nov 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

From the time I entered my service request (Friday) on the website, I received a call from the vendor less than 15-minutes later. An appointment was scheduled, and my problem resolved the following Monday.

Icon

Lewis Donley , Normal

On Nov 05, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Dryer stopped working technician was unable to fix AHS replaced my appliance with no problem. My only drawback is if you need to take the reimbursement option (as we did) the process takes weeks which is longer than it should in 2019 going into 2020

Icon

Joan Andler, Highland Park

On Nov 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

A furnace inspection was offered through AHS at a very reasonable price. I accepted the offer and scheduled an appointment immediately to avoid the seasonal rush. It revealed a burned out wire on my electric furnace. Service person explained, replaced, fully repaired problem and offered a quotation on a new unit. When I asked him how much I owed, he said “nothing! You already paid through AHS.” Great experience! Thanks AHS.

Icon

Justin Stojkovic, Westmont

On Nov 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Haven\'t had to claim anything just yet. I used an offer by you for a tune up service and it was really easy to use. So far so good.

Icon

Joe Santisteban, Lake Villa

On Oct 27, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I used AHS this time to have my furnace inspected, and repaired if needed. It was a HVAC service that I do annually, also through AHS. The setup was easy and quick and JT Services sent a technician at the requested time. He was knowledgeable and professional and was done in minimum time. Gave me some good suggestions and pointers. Completely satisfied with both JT Services and AHS. Thank you!

Icon

Dan Woodall, Hoffman Estates

On Sep 11, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield has been a horrible experience for me. I called for service on a broken pipe in the winter. they denied coverage because frozen pipes aren\'t covered. ok. I paid for the repair. I had problems with the same pipes and they denied coverage AGAIN, saying it was due to frozen pipes, yet the company they sent the first time didn\'t fix it properly. in speaking with their customer service, I asked if I would get a pro-rated refund for cancelling, and they tell me they will CHARGE ME $50 to cancel, even though I am a little more than halfway through the 2 year term. stay far, far away from this company, it is simply not worth the money and frustration.

Icon

John Levine, Winnetka

On Jul 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I needed to have a capacitor replaced on my air conditioner compressor because it had been rated out of spec for controlling the current. Customer service handled my question about coverage under my warranty promptly and put in the work order for the repair. The technician came out within a couple of days and handled the repair quickly and courteously.

Icon

Scott P., Decatur

On Jul 15, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Last week our A/C unit was not cooling our house. I got online and submitted my service request to American Home Shield that evening. By 10:30 AM the following morning, AHS had our service technician at our door! The technician quickly diagnosed the issue and repaired the A/C in about 90 minutes. The standard AHS service fee was all that we paid on what could have been a near $1,000.00 repair. Thank you AHS for taking such good care of us during this matter!

Icon

Kayla Beights, Decatur

On Jul 11, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had the worst experience with this warranty company. If I could give 0 stars, I would. Our A/C has been repaired/looked at 5 times in 18 months. Finally we have an issue about 6 weeks ago and they replace a part. 3 days later the A/C goes out completely. Our first service call is a recommendation to AHS to replace the full unit and AHS wants a second opinion. That takes another week and a half. They recommend a full system replacement as well. I was told 2 weeks to have the unit replaced. That was June 7. They shipped the wrong part, didn't correct it for weeks, and I've been calling for updates and no answers are available. We have been without air for over a month. Parts expedites are "not company policy". Must be company policy to take monthly payments and service charges but not repair or provide service. Don't waste your time or money with this joke of a company.

Icon

Lillian Blake, Peoria

On Jul 10, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I NEVER received a copy of my contract until 40 days after I initiated the plan. I attempted on several occasions to contact the company, but was unsuccessful. This warranty is a joke and not worth the paper it is written on. I\'ve disputed the charges at my bank and have filed a complaint with the BBB. DON\'T waste time or money with them!

Icon

Raul Gonzalez, Lake Villa

On Jul 08, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had some leakage from my water line on my refrigerator. Called AHS, and the following day they had local plumbing company take care of the problem. The process was quite easy. I just had to pay my deductible, and AHS took care of the rest. Anyone who owns a home and is not handy, this service is a must. Were it not for AHS, I would be at the mercy of what ever the company charges me to correct the problem. With AHS they handle all the expenses, I pay my monthly fee, and if anything happens with my appliances, I call them, pay my deductible, and they handle the rest..

Icon

ella williams, Aurora

On Jun 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

The service was quick , They came out and did what was needed , explained what he was doing ( the plumber ) showed what was blocking the line . cleaned up and left . Home shield had given me the number to the plumber so i called and asked them to come right away and they did . Thank God for american home shield

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020