ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: September 19, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN chicago, illinois

Average Premium In illinois

Min Average Premium in illinois Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Chicago
country icon COUNTRY: Cook County
state icon STATE: IL
population icon POPULATION: 2680484
area code icon AREA CODE: 312
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 60290, 60601, 60602, 60603, 60604
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in chicago, illinois

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Fidelity National Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are known for offering comprehensive warranty plans at pocket-friendly prices. Fidelity National Home Warranty does not have an age limit on appliances and systems they cover. The company has a 30-day waiting period.

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was founded in 2003. Since their inception, they have served more than 4 million customers and have been recognized as the most trusted service provider. Service Line Warranties offers three cost-effective plans.

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Founded in 1978, the company has served more than 80,000 customers. They have a network of 40,000 licensed and insured contractors nationwide. They offer three plans which cover a wide range of appliances and systems.

Globe Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Globe Home Protection covers major systems and appliances in your home. Headquartered in Albuquerque, New Mexico,the company offers services for homeowners and realtors. With the option of 24/7 customer support, you are assured that your requests are serviced punctually.

chicago Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Robert, chicago

On Apr 25, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Overall we had a very mixed experience with AHS. Technician wise we\'ve had reasonably timely fixes from decent contractors. However, we recently sold our property and the process to cancel the contract left much to be desired. No one online can help you with this, all they can do is \'submit a form and someone will call back within 24 hours\'....i tried this twice and never received a call. The other option is to try to call AHS - after long holds on the main line (an issue for requesting fixes often as well) we got transferred to a different department and dropped 3x. All in all it took 5 attempts to cancel the contract, and in that time we were charged for another month of coverage even though we no longer owned the property. Also, they have fine print that you will be charged a month's "admin fee" if you cancel before the contract is up. I understand attempts at customer retention, and even could grasp a clearly communicated cancellation fee if customers randomly drop the service mid term, but if a home is sold it should be significantly easier to cancel this service....and without hidden fees. Before the cancellation experience I recommended this service to friends, which I can no longer do with a good conscience.

Icon

Robert Mulhim, Chicago

On Mar 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In insurance there is a saying around when you will know that you have selected a good company or not, in the claims world it is called "the moment of truth". When I had a situation when my furnace not working on a Sunday, temperature 30 degrees outside and going down to lower than 30, and having a dog at home, called AHS and got no help. I had to find help on my own and followed all their directions just to be informed that they would not reimburse me. Extremely bas customer service.

Icon

Reid Bennett, Chicago

On Mar 03, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Nice service. Very responsive with professional people for onsite visits. Only problem is the operator used for my second call did not know the service wasn’t covered so it was a waste of $100 for a service call. I called them back to explain and they simply said sorry but would not refund the $100.

Icon

Bernice IkJangMi Johnson, Chicago

On Jan 31, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We\'ve had to call twice. The first was for a garage door issue that was fixed within days. The second was for a furnace. The repair person came out the same night, but the furnace went out again after a few days. Turns out they need a part that takes days to arrive. When it came in, it was the wrong part. We are still waiting for the new part, meanwhile in Chicago, it's getting cold again and the other furnace is constantly firing. I wished the repair person just found the real problem the first time. We are going on 6 weeks without a repair.

Icon

Anonymous Customer, Chicago

On Dec 18, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is fine, unless you have to speak to someone. They don\'t answer emails, and they keep customers on hold for an hour every time you have to call. Who has an hour to sit on hold? So your home repairs have to wait until you have a day to sit on hold, which makes the warranty itself less useful. Contractors also don\'t like dealing with AHS as they also complain about the long hold times.

Icon

Stephen Frausto, Chicago

On Oct 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

1.Takes too long (40-60 min.)at times to speak to a customer service representative. 2.If you have an issue to resolve in regards to a service fee,the customer representative has to be told to please look at the notes on the account and after you catch them up to speed they still transfer you to another department. 3.No one in the customer service department can send you a confirmation email stating your issue and balance on your account are resolved. 4.The CONTRACT.When looking at coverage it indicates your covered then says look at another section for further coverage details.Why not include it next to that particular item. I did not go into great detail about my experiences with AHS at this time cause I'm still trying to get my issues resolved.

Icon

Anastasia , Chicago

On Sep 21, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I feel cheated by this company. My AC went out 2 years ago and AHS has yet to provide a competent person to come out and fix my unit. I work from home in sweltering heat. And when I call AHS to find out why the repair man has not come out to fix my unit, I have to wait on hold for an hour to be told that they will call the company for me and leave a voicemail (I've already done that about 100 times) - and that I should call AHS again tomorrow to see if the repairman called AHS back. Mind you, I have to call AHS and waste another hour of my time on hold. They need to re-evaluate their customer service, pool of technicians, and their call center staffing. I've put a lot of money into AHS and it has gotten me nowhere. :( SCAM! I feel nobody will help me or cares. They only care that you pay your monthly fee.

Icon

PHil, Chicago

On Jul 24, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We called AHS for our broken AC unit. The first technician never even went outside to look at the unit. We were then told that he doesn\'t serve our type of AC unit and that he would tell AHS to send someone who does service our unit, After waiting for over a week and a half for the next technician to arrrive, he told us almost immediately that he does not service our type of AC unit. Which means either the first technician never told AHS to send someone who could service our unit or AHS never sent out the right person. In either case, we then had to call AHS and after an hour on the phone were informed we could hire a 3rd party technician of which we might have to pay out of pocket for. What's the point of having AHS and paying the premiums, when we might have to pay out of pocket to fix the problem anyway. The 3rd technician simply flushed out the grill on the AC unit and it was working. It was the simplest fix that could have been accomplished over a month ago. Then we had to fight tooth and nail to get reimbursed for paying out of pocket. The cherry on the top, was that AHS has the gall to charge us two service fees, even though the 2nd technician was at our home for literally 30 seconds. We are still waiting to get reimbursed for the 3rd technician. Total wait time approx 5 weeks and 3hrs on the phone. Oh yeah, we have a 2 year old who doesn't sleep well in the heat, so that was fun too. Definitely do not recommend AHS.

Icon

Megan White, Chicago

On Jul 14, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The response time is phenomenal and the customer service staff is friendly and so helpful.

Icon

Lucy, Chicago

On Jul 11, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have this time to spare because I\'ve currently been on hold with AHS for over an hour; they can not be bothered to pick up the phone, just an automated reply.. I called for service for my dryer 15 days ago. They sent a service tech that said it would take 5 business days for them to get the part in. I\'ve received no follow-up call, absolutely nothing in 15 days. I'm totally absolutely dissatisfied with this company,

Icon

CLAUDETTE ANDERSON, Chicago

On Nov 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

one 0of my three A/C\'s went out and you got here in two days. Thank touy. The compressor was out and you furnished me a new one and installed it. Thank you!

Icon

KIM LEVITIN RUFF, Chicago

On Oct 27, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor I requested - AirDr. - is exceptional. They responded the same day (not just within 24 hrs) and had a tech there later the same day. On a Sunday. They are the best!

Icon

Edith Brown, Chicago

On Oct 19, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We are very satisfied with the company. The timing of the service tech. Was awesome and very polite. The emails to ask if we was satifide was greatly appreciated...we r completely satisfied with y\'all. Again we want to thank y\'all..

Icon

SHIRLEY HOLLE, Chicago

On Oct 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor called me within hours of submitting my request, scheduled me when I was available, gave me a call to let me know he was coming. He did a great job and all is well.

Icon

MILO R HARDENBROOK, Chicago

On Oct 12, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Recently AHS change contractor for HVAC system.. The new contractors personnel are better dressed and seem much more qualified. All repairs done through AHS have been timely and well done.

Icon

Rhett Chase, Chicago

On Sep 05, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Needed a plumber on my condo. Couldn't have been easier! Made the request for service online. The plumbing service called me within 24 hours to schedule an appointment. On the appointment date, the plumber was on time, friendly, knowledgeable and did not try to sell me anything I did not need. Everything was up front and extremely professional! No hidden surprises!

Icon

Walter Winiger, Chicago

On Aug 14, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON WHO HANDLED MY CLAIM WAS EXTREMELY NICE AND EFICIENT. THE REPAIR PERSON WAS PROMT AND THE WORK WAS COMPLETED. WE WERE VERY SATISFIED. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY - THE GARAGE DOOR IS WORKING PROPERLY

Icon

Clif Kelley, Chicago

On Jul 29, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor is one that I would choose (and have) to do work for me not covered by American Home Shield. The repair was completed promptly, accurately, and completely - without 'throwing parts' at the problem - i.e. the diagnosis accurate and only the repairs needed performed with the contractor responding as the agreed upon time after coordinating with my schedule and theirs. Finally, the actual repair person was, simply, excellent.

Icon

Chris Karayannis, Chicago

On May 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS responded quickly and professionally to a recent service request. They worked diligently to provide repair services to my AC unit during an extremely hot and humid time. This was particularly important as I have two small children at home. Fast, friendly and completely professional with their service and follow up to make sure everything was done to my satisfaction.

Icon

Paul Velasquez, Chicago

On Apr 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I've been very impressed with the customer service and responsiveness to requests. All of my issues have been addressed in a timely and appropriate manner. I would like to pay less per visit - perhaps 90$ instead of $125.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020