ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: October 22, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN baton rouge, louisiana

Average Premium In louisiana

Min Average Premium in louisiana Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Baton Rouge
country icon COUNTRY: East Baton Rouge Parish
state icon STATE: LA
population icon POPULATION: 378909
area code icon AREA CODE: 225
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 70801, 70802, 70803, 70804, 70805
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in baton rouge, louisiana

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE
offer

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are one of the leading home warranty companies in the industry. They are known for covering appliances and systems with unknown pre-existing conditions and Protection against rust and corrosion.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img Get FREE coverage for first 2 months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
offer

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was founded in 2003. Since their inception, they have served more than 4 million customers and have been recognized as the most trusted service provider. Service Line Warranties offers three cost-effective plans.

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Founded in 1978, the company has served more than 80,000 customers. They have a network of 40,000 licensed and insured contractors nationwide. They offer three plans which cover a wide range of appliances and systems.

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Over the last ten years, the company has protected more than 3.4 million homes in the United States. They are known for providing emergency repair solutions at affordable prices. They offer a one year guarantee on all covered repairs.

baton rouge Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lenora Young, Baton Rouge

On Nov 29, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They responded immediately when service was requested and sent someone out immediately. They offered to replace what they couldn’t repair.

Icon

Rick Stewart, Baton Rouge

On Aug 20, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have used our AHS warranty 3 times in the last couple of years regarding air conditioner work. The contractor that the work was assigned to contacted us within a couple of hours of putting the request in on the internet. I believe we are getting good value for the money.

Icon

DT, Baton Rouge

On Apr 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have an unresolved issue with a kitchen appliance that is going on 3, maybe 4 weeks. I\'ve lost count. American Home Shield needs to find an easier way to report a claim. I was on hold for 45 minutes before speaking to an agent. After finally being transferred to the appliance distribution center, the customer service rep was rude and wasn\'t interested in resolving the issue. I'm still waiting to resolve my claim.

Icon

Margaret Albertine, Baton Rouge

On Mar 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was super pleased with the work done by AHS recently. Fred fixed the dryer within a short time and I was off and running again. Good job!

Icon

Kathy, Baton Rouge

On Feb 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had AHS since 2009. I have used the service 5 to 6 times. It is extremely easy to request service either online or telephone. I have been extremely satisfied with customer service and the services performed in my home. I like the fact that I do not have to decide which company to call to perform a service, and AHS guarantees the work performed. The only negative is my premium goes up a couple of dollars each year. My deductible went up only once. I plan on to keep my policy. However, if the premium continues to increase, I will have to evaluate if it is worth maintaining my policy.

Icon

Amy Hall, Baton Rouge

On Jul 29, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have had 5 different repair services to our home. 4 were very efficient and 1 was slow to respond. Excellent customer service and excellent web response.

Icon

Carla Richardson, Baton Rouge

On Jul 24, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good company and I have had numerous things repaired and had no problems. everyone that was refer to me was excellent.

Icon

Kathy Horton, Baton Rouge

On Aug 19, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service and the contractor came quickly. Both AC and plumber were professional and explained what they found and what they did to repair and fix the peoblem. Happy Camper!!

Icon

Thomas Costello, Baton Rouge

On Jun 25, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had a problem with our refrigerator's water dispenser. Through AHS we were able to get an appointment with a plumber right away. He came on time and described the problem, fixed it quickly and told us how to avoid it in the future.

Icon

Walter Lescano, Baton Rouge

On Sep 26, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was very effective and efficient with their service. They are able to provide you with thorough and proffesional vendors taking away any concerns for the homeowner. They have been wonderful to work with and would recommend them to my friends and family.

Icon

Alex, Baton Rouge

On May 21, 2015

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Save your life, and stay away from this company. Horrible! After making a claim to them, I thought it would be even better to forget about them in the beginning. Their customer service had really bad attitude. The woman was just trying to argue with me, not solving my problem. And their contractor was not responsible. He delayed my appointment many times, in the hot and humid Louisiana summer, for the AC repairment. I would call this guy Mr Tomorrow, as he always say you are in my list and I will probably come tomorrow. He even ask me for more than deductible, saying that line modification is not covered. When he come in, he ask for payment first, otherwise, he will leave. Otherwise we will have another day without cold rooms. It's an apparent coercing. This contractor is called Craig Rhodus. I would never do any business with this guy if the warranty allowes me to hire anyone else. When you ask him to come, he is the boss. He always has the excuse, everyone's AC is broken down now, I have a long list, I cant do any special for you. If so, simply say "I'll come next week/month/year" don't say tomorrow!!!

Icon

Cory LeSaicherre, Baton Rouge

On Feb 20, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The whole process was painless. I called AHS about an electrical issue and they promptly arranged a service contractor to contact me. Within 30 minutes of hanging up with AHS, I had made an appointment with the service contractor and the very next morning they arrived at my home and took care of the issue.

Icon

Mark Shreve, Baton Rouge

On Jan 10, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a customer of AHS since 1997. For routine repairs, they do well, and over the years I have been satisfied. In the past couple of years they seem to have developed a new approach and are trying hard not cover a repair if it costs them anything and they either find a reason why it is not covered (have had 2 of these incidents) or try to band aid a problem vs. repair or replace when indicated. We have had issues with an AC unit and had three calls to date ($75 each call!) on the same problem, with no resolution. Worse, they authorized adding Freon (at mostly my expense)without repairing the leak. The unit failed again (who would have guessed that would have happened?! Duh) and leaked damaging our hardwood flooring. Even though they would not repair the A/C issue and thus created the condition, they stated they would not cover secondary damage. Then, on the second call, they only authorized adding Freon (again!, which I had to purchase as they only cover a very small amount). The fact that it would not have leaked out if the unit were actually repaired was lost on them. Finally, on the 3rd call, the replacement of the unit was approved, but my out of pocket expense was ~$1200 while AHS only had $650. As an analogy, this would be like getting a new engine for your car, but then finding out that you were responsible for all of the accessories (A/C. alternator, fan, etc.) that were affected by the switch and labor to install them. Of course, again they expected me to cover the Freon. Unbelievable! I understand and support the desire to make money, but being this greedy and expecting the customer to pay extra for the consequence of their decision is abusive. Based on recent experience with AHS, you would be better off just saving the premiums and service call charges and managing incidents yourself. At this point, I am not just disappointed with AHS, I am offended.

Icon

Bob Graham, Baton Rouge

On Nov 22, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our last contact was for plumbing. The contractor was prompt, professional, and very nice. We had a water leak from upstairs to the downstairs ceiling. We had all our water lines replaced less than a year ago, so we were concerned that something was loose. As it turned out, the plumber had not caulked well around the shower head and faucet in the tub. The plumber let us know that was not covered under our policy; however, he had caulk on his truck and he caulked it for us. Also, we did pay of course the $75 copay. A little later that day a lady from AHS called and almost scolded us for calling in when the service was not covered.We had never had a call like that before - everyone has always been extremely nice. She reiterated several times that caulking was not covered under our policy. The contractor we felt went above and beyond. and the lady from AHS must have been having a bad day.

Icon

David Strauss, Baton Rouge

On Sep 08, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a customer for a few years. Recently, my 4 ton a/c compressor went out. AHS is allowing approximately $700. This does not include Freon for the unit that is 19 years old. I am sure that other things will soon go wrong with it. Perhaps there should be an expiration age at which AHS will replace the entire unit. I am sure that I will NOT renew with AHS. I have called around. The AHS policy is by far the most RESTRICTIVE one out there. Other replace more parts and are more generous with the amount they will pay if you want to cash out. SHOP AROUND!!!!

Icon

Susanna Arceneaux, Baton Rouge

On Aug 19, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good: They have a network of great repairmen. Bad: The repairmen have to apologetically take your money for the deductible without actually doing repairs due to nitpicking AHS policy requirements. Read your contract very, very carefully and think about if you could meet every conditions under the most scrupulous judge. The answer is likely no, and if so save your money for when you need it.

Icon

Shawn Wilson, Baton Rouge

On Jan 13, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield was quick to take our call and get the contractor we needed to our home. The phone call was short but the person taking the call took all the needed information to help get us to the right person. Our contractor was timely and super friendly. The work we needed done was done quickly and explained to us on what happened and how to prevent an issue in the future.

Icon

Bob, Baton Rouge

On Jun 03, 2013

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In all honesty, they do not tell the truth. We signed up and paid for years. When our A/C unit finally broke it took several weeks of threats and finally a note from our lawyer before they agreed to replace the indoor unit but not the outside. The company that replaced the indoor unit left kinks in the cooling piping (from previous home owners' repairs) that burned out our outside unit because the kinks caused the outside unit to run hot. All of this could have been avoided if the people installing the replacement would have let us know about the kink in the pipes. But when I asked the A/C repairman I use now use he said companies can't comment on anything but the job they are contracted for. Otherwise the home warranty company has to pay for more repairs. Just don't deal with a home warranty company. The deductibles are too high for common repairs and they weasel out of their agreements for bigger replacements.

Icon

Trina, Baton Rouge

On May 07, 2012

Old Republic Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is HORRIBLE...I've been in my new home for only 1 year and the air has gone out 3x's. ORHW keeps sending out these lazy, incompetent AC workers. They are so rude...I mean who select these contractors. My air is going in and out and I told them that, Able AC walk in my home, felt cold air and assumed the air fixed itself. I told the idiot it works in and out. Well they told ORHW nothing was wrong and thought I was going to $75 for him doing nothing...it's like taking your car to get an oil change, paying for the service and leaving without getting your oil changed. My money is of more value than them lazy workers. Calling someone professional to come out and going to seek reimbursement from ORHW. This company SUCKS!

Icon

Guy McFarland, Baton Rouge

On Apr 18, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company should remove service from their name as it is no existent and the Shield in the name is to shield the company from its insured's. I have had them change parts on a clothes dryer at lesast 6 times and you guessed it i spent approximatle $360.00 in fees every time they sent someone out to repair this dryer that didn't cost that much purchased new 25years ago. Our latest debacle with the company occurred on 4/5/12 when the ceiling started leaking in our daughters room. This happend on "Good Friday" which is observed by most in Baton Rouge La. and at the time we had family over for a crawfish boil. I climbed into the attic to check the overflow pan but found it was bone dry before calling America Home Shield. Needless to say i was put on hold, but finally reported the incident. We were advised that someone would be out Monday to look at our AC unit and diagnosis our problem. True to their word a repair truck drove up and two men got out and came to the door. The two came into my home and went into the attic. When they returned from the attic One of the men we assume was the tech informed my wif and I that the unit was rusted on the bottom by the exaporator coil and the water was by passing the overflow pan leaking out into the insulation and onto the ceiling down to the floor. I note we had turned the unit off and only turned it on when the tech arrived. The tech informed me that he would have to find a coil to fit this unit which had been installed new when the home was buit in 1974. Howver he stated to my wife and I that he has seen times that American Home Sheild would replace the unit rather than repair it because of the age. However, he would have to contact his boss and let me know Tuesday 4/10/12. I came home after work without hearing from anyone. I called AMHS and spoke to one of their employees named Chris and explained the problem and he assured me he would get in touch with me on Wed 4/11/12. Chris never called, I called the company again and this time spoke with "Grace". I explained our situitation again and she informed me that their AC company was able to locate the part and they could install it into the unit and make it work. I then advised Grace that I did not want a band aid on a 38 year old unit. At that time she begin to read the small print on our policy on what is covered and what is not. After about 10 minutes of this with me trying to speak she stopped and asked if I was still there. Aparently the mute button was pushed on her side and she was unable to hear me protesting. Finally around 9pm I was able to get through to Grace that; 1. I did not want those techs to do the work and 2. I would like to exercise my cash out option. Grace told me it would take some time to fill out the paperwork so I asked her if she would call me back as my wife and I had been put on hold and knocked off the line a mumber of times prior to speaking with Grace. Grace indicated she would do so and she called us back around 9:45pm. Grace stated she had filled out the necessay documents for my cash out and sent them up the chain. I asked her if she could tell me how much the cash out was. She explained the cash out department would have to call me and give that information as she did not have it. On 4/17/12 we finally recieved a call from the "cash out dept" but unfortunatley they had closed. Finally on 4/18/12 I was able to speak to someone in that department who informed me that as soon as i submitted a paid invoice the would issue me approx $1,250.00 dollars. I explained that I had waited so long that I had hired a AC contractor to give me a bid for replacement of the unit and also to write what he found wrong with the unit. Our Contractor advised that over the years the unit which is 62inches long had fallen at the end it was leaking at and was no longer level. He also indicated that the outside compressor unit that AMHShield replaced approximatley 5 years ago did not match the the tonanage of original unit leaking upstairs. This unit had been installed before my with and I ever got home and it was one of if not the cheapest compressors they could find. At this point i have taken photos of the unit before it is removed and my AC contractor has taken the serial # of the upstairs unit and the compressor. I have also written to our Louisian Dept of insurance, and I guess my next step is litigation. Think before you use this company. They do not have their customers welfare at heart. I have paid them enough over the years I could have made all my repairs with that money.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020