ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN baltimore, maryland

city icon CITY: Baltimore
country icon COUNTRY: Baltimore city
state icon STATE: MD
population icon POPULATION: 632623
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,10,44,36,67,301
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 21201, 21202, 21203, 21205, 21206,
city icon CITY: Baltimore
country icon COUNTRY: Baltimore city
state icon STATE: MD
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 21201, 21202, 21203, 21205, 21206,
population icon POPULATION: 632623
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,10,44,36,67,301
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in baltimore, maryland

Editors choice

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

2 / 5
(2,284 Reviews )

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Complete Appliance Protection

3.5 / 5
(180 Reviews )
The company has been protecting homes since 1998. They offer a wide range of warranty plans that cover all major appliances and systems. Their policy comes into effect immediately.

American Residential Warranty

4.5 / 5
(489 Reviews )
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

1.5 / 5
(224 Reviews )
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

1.5 / 5
(140 Reviews )
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

baltimore Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Jennifer Russell, Baltimore

On Oct 18, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had AHS for our rental house in Baltimore, MD. We have requested services on our AC, Electrical, and plumbing issues. Most times we have become so frustrated with the services provided by the AHS contractors that we have just hired outside services to come in and finish the jobs that AHS claims they can not cover or contractors that are incapable of diagnosing and fixing the problem! There seems to be many loopholes that will just give the company a reason to not cover repairs. We will be cancelling our plan on the Baltimore, MD property. On the other hand, we have been happy with the contractors and services provided by AHS to our main home in Atlanta, Ga. and plan to renew this policy.

Icon

Patrick Lancaster , Baltimore

On Aug 19, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

the first time it took forever to get through to them the second time we used them I did it over the internet and it worked great.The Contractor they sent was awesome friendly showed up when they said they would and did a great job

Icon

Tyra , Baltimore

On Jul 22, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am satisfied with the warranty so far. I am disappointed with paying a deductible and not having any service done. I had a Plummer come because of a sewer odor I smelled, he didn\'t smell anything so didn\'t have to perform any work. I thought that was a waste of my money.

Icon

WILLIAM KITTLE, Baltimore

On Nov 07, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

To assign the service was very simple and quick. The contractor responded within 48 hours. Everything was very convenient.

Icon

Lorita Burlew, Baltimore

On Jan 03, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very smooth process. Put in a service request through the website and was immediately assigned a contractor. Contractor got in touch with me and we set up a time to diagnose the problem. Contractor was on time and very courteous. Figured out what the issue was in less than 10 minutes, ordered the necessary part and it was installed a few days later.

Icon

Joanne, baltimore

On Oct 29, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had AHS for a rental property to handle things easily and efficiently. Last winter during a water emergency they utterly failed and never resolved it. A pipe burst and water was spewing in the basement. AHS was called, told it was an emergency, that water was actively streaming from a broken pipe. When I called them to find out why, a day later, no one had been sent to the property, they said it was up to the companies they called to show up and they hadn't marked it as an emergency. They took no responsibility for their promise to repair emergency issues in an emergency fashion, whether it was AHS or the businesses they choose to use, and the service reps contradicted each other each time I called. I had to call multiple times because each time I asked to speak to a supervisor, it happened to be when no supervisors were on site...which happened at least twice. So, in my experience AHS is very good at cashing checks, but not in responding to emergency calls, not in polite, clear customer service, not in passing messages to supervisors, or the supervisors just don't call back and the lies that each customer service person told when they had me REEXPLAIN everything to them, even though they would have NO ability to help me and were going to refer me to a supervisor who does not exist...I have no respect for this company. I never did get a call from anyone, so cancelled the 'service' and moved on. But they cost me time, money and frustration as I had to pay another company to come out to fix the problem, as they did not. I hired them as a means to avoid delays and expense and headaches and provide a safe residence for my tenant. AHS did not do that. Not did they attempt to resolve the issue though I called several times and was told, at least twice, that they'd have a supervisor call me.

Icon

Jeffrey Slater, Baltimore

On Oct 22, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield has sent out contractors for air condition, garage and dryer. The contractors has respond in a very fashionable manner within the hour of hanging from our representative. Each of the contractors made contact and then even made another call when they were within 10 to 15 minutes away. The contractors spoke to us about the problem and then gave us solutions. Each of the contractors cleaned and went out of there way to make sure I (Wanda Slater as the wife) was pleased with there work.

Icon

David Mcdermo, Baltimore

On Jun 21, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

When we started AHS but did not know we where going have such great service and fast responses. With in the first six months we have our hot water heater, fridge and washing machine go out. Everything was replaced with no questions asked and with much better service than I could have found. I would and have been recommending them to everyone. All the best, David Haarsager Everett, WA

Icon

Nathan S, Baltimore

On Feb 07, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Stay far far away. Most on line reviews are fakes. Company hires the lowest grade contractors you can imagine and the Memphis call center is a labyrinth of poor customer service that passes the buck.

Icon

Bobby Jones, Baltimore

On Feb 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Stay far far away..I've been a customer for two years and virtually every phase of their operation is smoke and mirrors. The quality of their service companies is generally very poor. Their Memphis call center is the ultimate frustration waiting for an operator, no checks and balances on the contractors, suppliers, or the speed of service. If it sounds too good to be true...

Icon

Michael Batchelor, Baltimore

On Jan 05, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

The Service Technician that fixed my Air Conditioning problem was able to diagnose the problem very quickly, and he went out of his way to make sure I understood what the problem was and how long it would take to get the right part and fix it. He was very clean and professional. The part came in when he expected it to and he called to schedule a follow up appt. to install the part. He arrived on time for the follow up, and installed it as quickly as he could. The AC worked perfectly after installation. Very Satisfied.

Icon

Connie Bryant, Baltimore

On Oct 05, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

M y experience with American Home Shield is excellent. The customer service is very professional good manner and very helpful. She take care my problem right away. The contractor call me right away and schedule my appointment. I am very please because I did not wait to long to fix my Garbage Disposal. The contractor is very friendly, professional, clean appearance, respectful and he answer all my question. My Garbage Disposal is working great within an hour. So I recommend to anyone the American Home Shield Co. I been with this Company since 2002. Thanks!

Icon

Diana G, Baltimore

On Aug 04, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

My experience with AHS has been very positive. Customer service has been very knowledgable and helpful. My only complaint is that it is hard to find someone in our area to come out to service or check on my problem. I live in a small town in central Texas and they always have to call Sears and it takes them forever to get out. Sometime it takes 2 or 3 weeks to get them out. Other than that every other thing has been wonderful. All of the contractors have been very professional and dressed that way.

Icon

Bernis Jordan, Baltimore

On Jul 22, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

The customer representative at american home shield was very helpful in schedueing an appointment. The technition arrived within the scheduled time. The work was performed in a professional manner. However the part that was replaced was the wrong one and had to be reorderd. The work is pending.

Icon

David J. Mitchell, Baltimore

On Dec 08, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

My objective view is that reflects that my service began well. When I needed service I called and several days later I received said repairs. However I began to notice a fatal l flaw. When repairs are needed, because AHS is a broker, a third party is needed to complete the deal. AHS passes your situation along to an available company without any knowledge of their scheduling. It can take up to another 24 hrs for the company to call and schedule. In the extreme this takes a full day only to get to the 1st step scheduling. Once the company calls it may not be able to come out for several days. On top of this, the call may only end up being an assessment of the situation. This does not bode well if repairs are needed on a wash/dryer or water heater as in my case (last straw). I believe BGE is a better option (in my area) because they handle everything all in one company, thus are accountable. I downgraded the customer service because of very poor follow through for missed appointments or poor work. They were not sensitive in that they were not directly connected to the companies providing direct service. Just my experience.

Icon

Maamoun Ismail, Baltimore

On Dec 05, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would say that customer service reps have their hands tied up. They are good but the rules the company has are sometimes not fair. For example not paying the tech because of a recall of service encourage the tech to write something unfavorable to the customer. Like my last service call.

Icon

Michael Carmel, Baltimore

On Sep 24, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had this company for three of my houses (live in one, kids in college at the other and rental property the 3rd.) We are down to one. Their initial price was reasonable and then it started going up and up. They were willing to give me a $1.00 discount. Yes, one dollar. Their contractors were shaky at best, one contractor stated that our AC unit was totaled and needed to be replaced ($5000 to $8000, depends on the contractor). Finally had a technician fix it for $200. Another time, a contractor came for my hot water heater and told me it was the wind that blew out my pilot light, charged me $55 and left. 30 days later I called them again, was tired of lighting the pilot over and over, informed them that a third party told me that the sensor is bad. The technician came back, replaced the sensor and charged me $55 again. They are not worth it unless you get a great introductory price. Their deductible is one of the highest in the industry.

Icon

P Carlton, Baltimore

On Sep 06, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

The customer service reps were pleasant, the contractor was nice enough. This is our first claim and hope if any more it will go the same. The service was completed in a timely manner by a very qualified and personable technition. There was no hesitation by AHS about repairing the machine. Thankfully my house is comfortable again.

Icon

Walter Barham, Baltimore

On Jun 20, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS for about 20 years but their service has greatly diminished. Service has decreased in response time as well as over the years the company has gradually removed items from coverage. First my AC then My furnace and refrigerator. I am doing some company comparisons now with the thought of switching. It is pity that service has gone down because I have referred so many people over the years and I think few have stayed with you. I would have hoped that true customer service would try band locate some of the problems and fix them.

Icon

Raquel Gilmer, Baltimore

On Sep 28, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Do not sign up for this warranty program. They do not care about their customers and they do not honor the requirements of their warranties. I am so disappointed in this company and I want to make sure no one else gets ripped off. I received the AHS warranty when I purchased my home. The first year, I only had one claim on my warranty for a clogged toilet. That time the service was good. The technician came out and identified the problem and resolved it. After it expired, I purchased the warranty again for our home as well as our rental property. I never made any claims for the rental property but in July I made a claim for a stopped up toilet. The technician came out and said that AHS requires them to try to get to the clog through the shower first instead of the toilet where the problem originiated. While going through the shower, the technician brought up a significant amount feces into the shower. AHS told him that they wouldn't pay him to stay and wait for the feces to drain down. I got on the phone with the AHS representative and he told me that that was their policy and there was nothing I could do. I said what about my shower and he said they would not authorize the plumber's time to wait for the shower to drain. They told me once in drained then I could make another service call. The plumber already informed me that they were pretty booked so I knew the chances of me getting my bathroom fixed in a timely manner was unlikely. I took matters into my own hands and got the problem fixed. I then received a bill for the service call which I refused to pay because they didn't fix the problem. I was informed that I had to pay no matter what. The representatives were very condescending about the fact that I was supposed to pay at the beginning of the service call and that it didn't matter if my problem was resolved. The AHS representatives acted like I was being unreasonable to not want to pay for service that was not completed. They finally agreed to give me a free service card but I have to pay for the call that wasn't completed. The supervisor actually said she would honor the complimentary service call since it had been offered to me as if she didn't want to provide me with any remedy. This is not a pleasant company to deal with and they are not customer focused.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020