ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  Missouri
last_updated_icon Last updated: December 10, 2019

Best Home Warranty Companies in Missouri

With reviews from thousands of real customers, HomeWarrantyReviews.com helps you to find the best home warranty companies in Missouri. The humidity and weather extremes can influence the rate at which home systems need repairs. 

You can see Missouri’s top home warranty companies on this list we have compiled. They have been ordered based on the reviews, customer service quality, premiums, deductibles, etc. Purchasing a home warranty comes at an average premium of $318.98 and a deductible of $40.55 in this state.

You can get a free home warranty quote from any company on our site. 

A Glimpse At Average Premium In missouri

Coverage in missouri (MO) major towns:

Blue Springs Columbia Independence
Jefferson City Kansas City Lees Summit
O Fallon Springfield St Louis

Population : 5,989,128

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Why Should You Get a Home Warranty?

American Home Shield (AHS)
4
/ 5
Based on 13,748 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 6,910 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,914 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 4,331 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.5
/ 5
Based on 713 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

missouri Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Kelly McNerney, Saint Louis

On Oct 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We\'ve had to call them numerous times to follow up on plumbers that did not fix our pipes. They charged us the $100 service fee immediately, and then closed our service request ticket many times, after we have called them to let them know that, NO our issue has not been fixed. The plumber they had sent looked at the pipes, said he needed to "follow up on a piece", and then refused to ever return any phone calls. Really just terrible, dishonest service. We feel very much cheated by this company after paying $500 for a warranty, and then $100 for a service, only to have them refuse to give any explanation or help, or resolve the issue in any way. We'll end up paying out of pocket for someone to help solve our plumbing issue, as AHS has proved to be useless.

Icon

Kelly McNerney, Saint Louis

On Oct 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We\'ve had to call them numerous times to follow up on plumbers that did not fix our pipes. They charged us the $100 service fee immediately, and then closed our service request ticket many times, after we have called them to let them know that, NO our issue has not been fixed. The plumber they had sent looked at the pipes, said he needed to "follow up on a piece", and then refused to ever return any phone calls. Really just terrible, dishonest service. We feel very much cheated by this company after paying $500 for a warranty, and then $100 for a service, only to have them refuse to give any explanation or help, or resolve the issue in any way. We'll end up paying out of pocket for someone to help solve our plumbing issue, as AHS has proved to be useless.

Icon

Devan, Saint Louis

On Oct 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called for rekey and dryer servicing. The company responded to request and found someone who arrived in our home within 1-2 days. They were professional, prompt, responsive, and completed the task effectively. Excellent service!

Icon

Maureen, Saint Louis

On Oct 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have been very pleased with AHS, we\'ve used them w/our primary residence and our rental house for 15 + years :) We recently had an the control panel of our oven go out, there was no part available so AHS went out their way to get the part repaired, saving us 1000\'s of dollars. Thank you AHS!

Icon

Phyllis, Saint Louis

On Oct 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'ve always heard great things about AHS, its a wonderful Home Warranty program to have. It\'s a lifesaver, I have use it in time of troubles and breakdowns. I have been a member since 2018.

Icon

Nancy Queenen, Kirbyville

On Oct 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great job the repair gentleman was very nice and worked in a timely manner and finished when he said he would. Traveled on the weekend to complete the work.

Icon

Queonna Jackson, Saint Charles

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My rating for this company is a big fat “F”! AHS has failed to serve me as a customer over, and over and over again. I’m currently searching for a different home warranty company and WOULD NOT under any circumstances continue to do business with them let alone refer someone to them. This has been the worst experience of my entire life as AHS care absolutely NOTHING about their customers. They are greedy, selfish and self centered.

Icon

Steve Shiveley, Cassville

On Sep 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is a great company. I have never had a problem with anything with them. Every issue we have had has been covered with no complaint or problem with them. They fixed plugged drains, they have replaced a water heater, and have replaced leaky faucets. Everything is easy and fast.

Icon

David Klein, Saint Louis

On Aug 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS provided the most outrageously poor customer service I have ever experienced. This complaint is in the context of the their failure to provide service in a timely and cover my related warrantied expenses during an air conditioning outage. This company takes your premniums and then hides behind a virtually impenetrable wall of outrageous phone wait/hold times, foreign based call centers, passing a customer from team to team without resolution, lying and not doing what they say they will do, and specializes in being polite will offering absolutely no substantive assistance. One customer service rep tells you something that turns out to not be true when you speak to another. I was passed from one person/department to another, none of whom could provide a HVAC contractor to me in a timely fashion. I was told my claim was being "expedited" which was utter nonsense. One contractor after the next couldn't service my A/C in a timely way or just never bothered to call me back after AHS authorized them to service my unit. I asked to speak to a manager multiple times, I was told one was unavailable but that they would call me back. They never did. Other important "next step" return phone calls in the process I was told I would receive either from AHS or their contractors never came. After 4 days of no air conditioning during the hottest week of the year with a medically compromised child in the house, spending many hours on hold and getting bounced from one rep and team to the next, I begged for authorization to get my own contractor. They approved this verbally and said I only needed to call the authorization department to tell them my technicians diagnosis and to confirm he was licensed. I asked for written authorization so they would make good when the bill came. They explained "we don't do that." I now know this is simply so they can deny your claim and you have nothing to prove it. I continued to contact AHS to try to resolve the problem. They are now just saying I didn't follow the guidelines and there is nothing they can do. I am now stuck with a ~$9,300 bill as my A/C was severely damaged, would have required severe repair costs, and due to its age of 17 years, was not recommended by my HVAC contractor. I simply followed my contractors professional opinion and now AHS is refusing to pay anything (the replacement cost or even the cost of the repair) claiming that I didn't follow their "guidelines." Then they had the nerve to charge me for a $100 service call there approved contractors never performed. Now it is 30 days later--I have yet to hear from a manager. When I called Chase bank to cancel recurring monthly premium payments on my CC, the rep said she had worked with many similar complaints against AHS. This company is absolutely unethical and soulless. They took my money and turned my A/C outage into an absolute nightmare of countless hours of frustration and obstruction and now, a severe financial loss to my family during these hard times. This company is a SHAM--they collect your money and then make it virtually impossible to get coverage you paid for when you desperately need it. Would absolutely give them zero stars if I could submit this with zero which exactly what this company deserves. Buyer beware.

Icon

David Klein, Saint Louis

On Aug 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS provided the most outrageously poor customer service I have ever experienced. This complaint is in the context of the their failure to provide service in a timely and cover my related warrantied expenses during an air conditioning outage. This company takes your premniums and then hides behind a virtually impenetrable wall of outrageous phone wait/hold times, foreign based call centers, passing a customer from team to team without resolution, lying and not doing what they say they will do, and specializes in being polite will offering absolutely no substantive assistance. One customer service rep tells you something that turns out to not be true when you speak to another. I was passed from one person/department to another, none of whom could provide a HVAC contractor to me in a timely fashion. I was told my claim was being "expedited" which was utter nonsense. One contractor after the next couldn't service my A/C in a timely way or just never bothered to call me back after AHS authorized them to service my unit. I asked to speak to a manager multiple times, I was told one was unavailable but that they would call me back. They never did. Other important "next step" return phone calls in the process I was told I would receive either from AHS or their contractors never came. After 4 days of no air conditioning during the hottest week of the year with a medically compromised child in the house, spending many hours on hold and getting bounced from one rep and team to the next, I begged for authorization to get my own contractor. They approved this verbally and said I only needed to call the authorization department to tell them my technicians diagnosis and to confirm he was licensed. I asked for written authorization so they would make good when the bill came. They explained "we don't do that." I now know this is simply so they can deny your claim and you have nothing to prove it. I continued to contact AHS to try to resolve the problem. They are now just saying I didn't follow the guidelines and there is nothing they can do. I am now stuck with a ~$9,300 bill as my A/C was severely damaged, would have required severe repair costs, and due to its age of 17 years, was not recommended by my HVAC contractor. I simply followed my contractors professional opinion and now AHS is refusing to pay anything (the replacement cost or even the cost of the repair) claiming that I didn't follow their "guidelines." Then they had the nerve to charge me for a $100 service call there approved contractors never performed. Now it is 30 days later--I have yet to hear from a manager. When I called Chase bank to cancel recurring monthly premium payments on my CC, the rep said she had worked with many similar complaints against AHS. This company is absolutely unethical and soulless. They took my money and turned my A/C outage into an absolute nightmare of countless hours of frustration and obstruction and now, a severe financial loss to my family during these hard times. This company is a SHAM--they collect your money and then make it virtually impossible to get coverage you paid for when you desperately need it. Would absolutely give them zero stars if I could submit this with zero which exactly what this company deserves. Buyer beware.

Icon

Sara , Saint Louis

On Aug 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is a waste of money. Examples: 1. Our basement floods with sewage on a weekday. The company says we can’t get a plumber to come out for at least 48 hours but it could be longer. If you chose to hire someone on your own you will be responsible for any and all repairs because you aren’t using our contracted company. 2. Microwave blows the circuit when we turn it on. We go months without a working microwave. Charged for 3 service calls ($225), finally get a part replaced which allowed the microwave to run for a few days before no longer working. We did finally get a new microwave but it was months of headache and “repairs”. With all of the service fees plus the cost of the warranty we are out more money than we would be without the warranty and purchasing a microwave on our own. 3. Dishwasher door broken. We are currently on nearly 2 months of waiting for repairs or replacement. We have been on hold for nearly 3 hours to either be hung up on or getting no answer. I have messaged the FB page and sent emails. No response to any attempt. 4. I am still being charged for a warranty that is useless. 5. Cancelling the warranty is next to impossible. Again, hours of wait time only to continue to be charged. To perspective customers: the security of this company is false. You will spend a lot of money for little to no security. We are first time home buyers and we received the same warnings but hoped we would have a different experience. Sadly, we have not. For the amount of money we have spent on the warranty we could have paid for repairs/replacementS on our own and still would have spent less money.

Icon

roland balthazor, Kansas City

On Aug 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

first time to use the services, was on the air condition, prompt arrival by service found the problem came back several days later to put in parts. was very happy with AHS, and the company that came out. would call it a 5 star event

Icon

Veronica, Saint Louis

On Jul 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had trouble with our refrigerator since 02/14/2020. We’ve made multiple service request that did not solve the problem, and had to pay for each of them. It has gone like this: 1st repair company didn’t service our brand of refrigerator. 2nd repair “company” was an individual who said the coolant was leaking, put more coolant in without fixing the leak, and closed the service request as “complete”. Tried to get in touch with AHS after refrigerator failed again. They told us to reach out directly to the repairman who did not answer his phone. Called AHS multiple times and each time I was on hold for 45 minutes before they hung up on me without me ever speaking to a person. We made a new service request. The new repair company rescheduled and delayed multiple times just to come out to look at it. After they looked at it, they never got back to us. I called them, they said to talk to AHS. I called AHS, they said to talk to the repair company. Again, multiple appointments were rescheduled and delayed. We’ve had a bad fridge for 4 months now. Finally we decided to buy a new fridge on our own because we don’t want to spend the rest of our lives with food going bad before we can utilize it. The new fridge was installed yesterday. I called today to cancel with the repair company that has been cancelling on us because we don’t need them anymore. AHS continues to keep me on hold and hang up on me, and there is no other way to contact them. I want them to cover part of the cost of the new fridge as they failed us on the repair of our fridge and caused the rotting of I don’t even know how much money worth of food over the past 4 months.

Icon

Veronica, Saint Louis

On Jul 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had trouble with our refrigerator since 02/14/2020. We’ve made multiple service request that did not solve the problem, and had to pay for each of them. It has gone like this: 1st repair company didn’t service our brand of refrigerator. 2nd repair “company” was an individual who said the coolant was leaking, put more coolant in without fixing the leak, and closed the service request as “complete”. Tried to get in touch with AHS after refrigerator failed again. They told us to reach out directly to the repairman who did not answer his phone. Called AHS multiple times and each time I was on hold for 45 minutes before they hung up on me without me ever speaking to a person. We made a new service request. The new repair company rescheduled and delayed multiple times just to come out to look at it. After they looked at it, they never got back to us. I called them, they said to talk to AHS. I called AHS, they said to talk to the repair company. Again, multiple appointments were rescheduled and delayed. We’ve had a bad fridge for 4 months now. Finally we decided to buy a new fridge on our own because we don’t want to spend the rest of our lives with food going bad before we can utilize it. The new fridge was installed yesterday. I called today to cancel with the repair company that has been cancelling on us because we don’t need them anymore. AHS continues to keep me on hold and hang up on me, and there is no other way to contact them. I want them to cover part of the cost of the new fridge as they failed us on the repair of our fridge and caused the rotting of I don’t even know how much money worth of food over the past 4 months.

Icon

Stephanie Ivery, Hazelwood

On Jul 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'m so glad that I have this insurance because it\'s working so good for. The workers are so friendly professional I would tell a friend about using this company Thank You again.

Icon

Glenise Caswell, Florissant

On Jul 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

So far, so good! I have been a customer for a year and had to make 3 service calls, all of which were handled professionally and efficiently. There was even an occasion where I thought I needed service, but was able to cancel it and get a refund without any hassles.

Icon

Sheldon Berberian, Warrenton

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My wife and I recently purchased a house. The house came with a home warranty provided by the seller. We had to call the warranty in as the hot water heater was not working well. We paid the $100.00 service call online. We received an email and text informing us of the service company assigned to our call. On the day of service I got a call/text saying the service technician was on the way. The technician/plumber showed up on time and was very professional. He advised that the lower element in our water heater had shorted out due a leak in the water heater tank. He replaced the element (He had to run to the hardware store to get a wrench as he had left some of his tools on another job) he promptly returned and finished the replacement of the lower heating element. Hindsight being 20/20, I should have saved the $100.00 and replaced the water heater myself as the heater is a 6 year life span with a date of birth of 2012. This thing is an accident waiting to happen and after the repair may last 6 months if that before a full replacement is needed. Oh well, live and learn. I wont be calling you for anything else unless its already a catastrophic failure.

Icon

Phillip Braniff, Kansas City

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Good experience! A professional experienced plumber resolved initial problem and two additional problems that were found after initial assessment. The additional repairs were performed at no additional charge beyond the required fee for the call out per the warranty agreement.

Icon

Carol Peach, Independence

On Jun 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am so glad I have AHS on my side. This was just for a routine check, but I have always been pleased with the services I have received. This service person was courteous, and very efficient, and had my AC running cleanly in very little time. He said it was old, but purring like a kitten.

Icon

Sandy Woltering, Farmington

On May 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Awesome. Takes long time to get appointment but service is great. Worth the monthly fee. Have used it 4 times. No hassle just great service. They do a great job with repairing what’s broke.

Icon

Mary, Florissant

On May 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Didn’t fix issue first time. Repair lasted 61 days, therefore had to pay another fee. Feel I should not pay second fee. First company just tightened up some screws. BBB. BBB bbb bbb bbb

Icon

David Courtright, Independence

On Apr 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Pleasant and though and communicated well through out the repair process. He hunted down the short through difficult areas and got the AC working again. Maintained social distancing dictated by the corona virus.

Icon

Kevin Carnino, Kimberling City

On Apr 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been very impressed with AHS. No problem in contacting them and getting a timely response. They maintain a good network of solution providers and stay on top of them. I live in a small town area and are impressed with this service. Good Job.

Icon

Rodolfo Martinez, Kansas City

On Apr 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our assigned technician showed up, diagnosed the problem in 5 minutes, then ordered the parts needed, telling us it would be about a week. One week later, he showed up early, with mask and gloves, installed the parts and was out the door in about 30 minutes. Our 24 year old refrigerator is working as well as ever!

Icon

Joe Raggette, Ballwin

On Mar 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had been in our new home for about a week and I noticed that the water was not getting hot. I went to the water heater and noticed that the pilot light was out. I tried re-lighting the pilot and it would come on but wouldn\'t stay on. I submitted an online request for service and within minutes I had a service company assigned. I was a bit skeptical as the reviews of the service company assigned left a lot to be desired. In addition (not AHS fault) the service company was unable to provide service for 3 days. I kept re-starting the pilot light and it remained lit. I still had the service tech come out to be sure nothing else was wrong with the unit. It checked fine and I've had no issues since. Thanks AHS for a seamless first experience using my home warranty.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Missouri

We have several user reviews of the different home warranty companies to give you insight into their service quality. You can make an informed decision based on them. You can also write your own reviews if you have any prior experiences you would like to share.

How to Choose the Right Home Warranty Plan 

Before you shortlist the best home warranty plans in Missouri, read up on the reputation of the company, the contract cost and the details of services it offers. Don’t miss any fine print to get the most out of your purchase.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020