ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  New-jersey
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2020

Top New Jersey Home Warranty Companies

Looking for a home warranty in New Jersey? The population in New Jersey is quite high and hence, home warranty companies are in plenty, offering some of the best services in the state. HomeWarrantyReviews.com is a one-stop destination to know about all the top-performing companies in the state.

We’ve compiled a comprehensive database on the New Jersey home warranty companies by collecting customer reviews and ratings on home warranty companies and plans. This helps you in making an informed decision.

SPECIAL OFFER

A Glimpse At Average Premium In new jersey

The average premium for a home warranty in NJ is $318.98 and the average deductible is $40.55. The graph represents the average costs for home warranties in the state. The X-axis denotes the premium price and the Y-axis denotes the number of homeowners.

Coverage in new jersey (NJ) major towns:

Brick Township Camden Clifton
Edison Elizabeth Jersey City
Newark Paterson Toms River

Population : 8,791,894

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Compare Home Warranty Companies In New Jersey

First American Home Warranty
3
/ 5
Based on 1,924 Reviews
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
HSA Home Warranty
3
/ 5
Based on 2,175 Reviews
  • Been providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)
4.5
/ 5
Based on 818 Reviews
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Home Warranty of America
3
/ 5
Based on 2,192 Reviews
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
Amazon Home Warranty
4.5
/ 5
Based on 300 Reviews
  • Amazon Home Warranty has a Network of 10,000 licensed and insured contractors and service providers
  • Provides a service recall period of 90 Days on parts
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

New Jersey Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Homeowners in the northern part of New Jersey experience a climate that varies greatly with its southern part. The northwestern part of the state is the snowiest of all as a result of the highlands. It experiences snowstorms called the Nor’easters.

The freezing temperatures make parts and components of home devices brittle. Cracks can occur as a result of contraction and expansion in these frigid climatic conditions. The cold temperatures can also make home devices to shut down or run staggeringly. A solution to this inconvenience is a home warranty coverage.

In contrast, South New Jersey is much warmer. This means that your appliances like your refrigerators and air conditioners will have to undergo much strain in order to maintain the required cool temperatures. As a result, some components and parts may wear out, run inefficiently, and finally come to a halt. But with a home warranty, you can repair or replace components by a professional quickly and inexpensively.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of New Jersey

We have mentioned here some of the best home warranty plans in New Jersey. You can compare the various plans from popular home warranty companies and make a sound investment.

American Home Shield (AHS) is a popular home warranty company in New Jersey. The company offers the Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-own-Plan. The price of these range from $299-$500+. You can also cover extra items at an additional cost.

Choice Home Warranty provides two options—the Basic Plan and the Total Plan. The annual premium ranges from $370-$450. As the name suggests, The Total Plan is more comprehensive and covers all items within the basic plan.

First American Home Warranty has a Basic Plan and a Premium Plan. The first covers appliances but not home systems. The Premium Plan covers a combination of both.

The average premium from First American Home Warranty is between $336 to $534. No credit card details required.

Want to protect your house with a New Jersey home warranty plan? Choose the right company and get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In New Jersey

  1. The average cost of living in New Jersey is comparatively higher than the rest of the states, which means repairs and replacements to malfunctioned home devices can be unaffordable. A home warranty coverage, even when serviced by a professional, can make repairs and replacements much affordable.
  2. Do your research about the home warranty company. Don’t just blindly buy a company’s services, as it will cost you dearly later on. Learn about the company’s mission, and the level of customer service they will be offering. Know to what extent the company is willing to cover your appliances and systems, and the kind of personnel they hire to provide services.
  3. Make sure to read the exclusion list and the terms and conditions they set forth when providing coverage. For example, home warranty companies promise to repair or replace appliances, but only when they break down due to normal wear & tear. They do not provide coverage if the component of the appliance has malfunctioned due to improper installation, lack of maintenance, etc.
  4. Usually, home warranty companies that have a long-standing experience, know more about how to provide quality services to customers. Years of experience have given them an idea about what works in the market and what does not. So, it is better to opt for such home warranty companies.
  5. Enquire with the home warranty company about whether they have 24/7 customer support services.
  6. When opting for a home warranty company, do take the time to read online reviews of customers. Most of them write about the professionalism of the contractors, the speed of the delivery of services, the level of customer support, and whether a certain home warranty plan was worth it or not. They also mention the many negative aspects that they have personally experienced. These reviews point out the direction of where you need to invest your money for good returns.

new jersey Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in New Jersey. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled several reviews for you to invest in the right plan of the right home warranty company.

Icon

Lou Lupo, Barrington

On Jul 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Easy to request service online anytime of day and night. Prompt response by contractor. Return visit if needed within 30 days of original service performed with no fee. I have had a contract with AHS for 13 years!

Icon

Kerry Marie OBrien, Jackson

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The representative was very nice when he called me back (I was unwilling to wait 45 mins on hold). He understood that in that time I was able to re-register my account online and request service that way.

Icon

William Garvin Jr, Lawnside

On Jun 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience when my gas oven stopped working, they scheduled an appointment in a timely manner. The service company contacted us in advance and showed up when scheduled and repaired my oven in a timely and outstanding manner.

Icon

SOPHIA , Sicklerville

On Jun 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great repair experience Timely Efficient Professional Thorough The process of requesting service was quick and user friendly Responsive with text and emails about ther status Would highly recommend this home warranty to my friends

Icon

Mark Hicks, Denville

On Jun 12, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I purchased a fridge from Lowes, paid $120 for the 5 year EPP Major Appliance plan, and $75 shipping. The fridge died 2 years later. Took me 2 weeks to get them to send someone out, the tech said it needed too many parts so they would be contacting me to arrange a replacement. However a week goes by and they tell me they are going to exercise the "buy out" clause meaning they are going to reimburse me back the purchase price plus tax only. Lost are the loss of items in the fridge, the 5 year protection plan that is non transferrable and we only got 2 years out of and no refund on that, nor the cost of delivery of a new one or removal of the old one. They did not give the option of replacing it. What they are not covering is about $400 of loss. Having to pay to have a new one delivered and the dead one taken away $100. The balance of the 5 year plan about $80, and the loss of the food. Not a deal by any reach of the imagination.

Icon

Bill McMorrow, Woodcliff Lake

On May 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very satisfied from the time I placed the claim until the repairman came and fixed the problem. The motor on our refrigerator stopped working and I honestly thought it was unfixable. The tech sized up the problem immediately, replaced a part and voila, like new. Put me down as a very happy customer..

Icon

Scott Peters, Mullica Hill

On May 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We received the warranty as part of a real estate sale. We had a number of issues after the sale and they took care of all of them for us. We were always DIY people but this experience has taught the value of a good warranty.

Icon

Cheryl Agron, Wharton

On Apr 30, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Trying to get resolution on broken appliance with extended warranty is horrible. I have bought my last appliance from them. Home Depot is closer and more customer oriented. I bought a new whirlpool refrigerator in 2015 and had a few service calls in 2017 for the ice maker. Now I am having a problem with both the refrigerator and freezer staying cold. The ice melts and no water comes out for 24 x48 hrs. Then it kicks back on by the time the tech gets here. I have lost hundreds of dollars in food & diabetic meds. Refuse to buy back after 5 visits and 4 techs and 2 repair companies. I recently bought a whirlpool washer and dryer from them. Hope I don’t have to go through this crap with them also. Wake up Lowe’s this is the way you lose customers,,,,

Icon

Zameer Ahmad, Howell

On Apr 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Excellent experience. I got an email shortly after the claim was created online stating that my claim is assigned to a local company and will be contacted soon. I got the call within 2 hours to schedule the time and the next day tech came to fix the issue. Very professional and courteous service.

Icon

Alex Easton, Freehold

On Apr 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been a client of AHS for over decade and they are truly a wonderful company. They contract with top rated contractors and I have never been more happier with them. Thank you AHS

Icon

Carlos Borrego, Plainfield

On Dec 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Efficient, professional, convenient.

Icon

Joe D, Fords

On Nov 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Such a great experience! Our dishwasher drawer needed a latch. They came and ordered the part and within 4 days they had the part in. So happy with American HomeShield!!!

Icon

Martin Pinder, Mullica Hill

On Nov 18, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Tech called within 2 hours of our service request to schedule at our convenience. Problem solved, could not be happier! Takes all the worry out of the equation knowing that American Home Shield is there to help!

Icon

Mana Soma, Plainsboro

On Sep 24, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

It is regarding my furnace which was changed last year to new one . . the motor has gone with in one year. called coleman the manufacturer and they will replace the motor and i have to pay $ 230 dollars for installation. It is unacceptable

Icon

Joseph DiTorrice, Belle Mead

On Jul 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Absolutely horrible. NOT EVEN ONE STAR AHS did pay for anything. Both my AC and well pump went in the same week. The AC contractor didn\'t call for 4 days. We had to call them. When they finally came, the the service techs hands were tied b/c he said AHS would have to approve more tests and I would most likely need a total replacement. The tech did not fix anything. As for well pump - I had no water for 2 days. No call from AHS, so I had to get a local contractor who came right away. AHS REFUSED to reimburse me for the repair!! No household can survive without water!

Icon

Sharynn Binnig, Riverside

On Jul 27, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Bought a washing machine that comes with a 1 year MFG warranty and added a 5 year warranty to that. Now, needing service the one year manufactures warranty is not in existence as the 5 year starts the day of purchase! Never had this problem with other purchases. It was 1yr plus the 5 year! Informed us that their policy changed. So, we then actually voided that first year of coverage by the MFG as our extended policy covers that first year too.

Icon

Patricia Durante, Verona

On Jul 17, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have used AHS for several years. It has been necessary for me to use their services multiple times. Previously, there have been long wait times when calling; however, recently wait times have improved. All contractors sent to repair my issues were professional and resolved the problems. Recently a refrigerator could not be repaired. I chose to order one from a local store, within the price range AHS had provided. My refrigerator was delivered the next day, I submitted the bill to AHS and I received a check for the full amount within 10 business days. I am very pleased with their service.

Icon

Christopher Conzen, Succasunna

On Jul 10, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have nothing positive to say about AHS. I\'ve submitted a variety of requests over the past year that we have had them, and have had to cancel almost all of them. First, when the do assign a contractor it\'s someone 40 minutes to an hour away (and some have even been in another state). The first time we ever requested service, and we were able to get in touch with the assigned contractor, they told us they actually didn't service our area - so I had to get back in touch with AHS to find a new one. The lowest point was when our oil furnace failed on a Saturday evening during the winter. I made this request on the phone, vs online, to make sure they knew this was an emergency call. Each contractor they assigned did not answer their phones over the weekend. AHS will say that if they can't find a contractor, they will allow you to use your own, but they insisted on using one in their network, even reassigning one that I had already told them was unresponsive. The last straw was when our central AC failed and they, yet again, assigned a contractor that's 1 hour from us and we have tried numerous times to call them, only to get voicemail with no return call. Biggest waste of money. And to add a word of caution - when you sign the contract, you also sign away your right to seek any help from small claims court. So, if AHS does not live up to their end of the contract, your only recourse is to seek arbitration AND it must be with the specific company stated in the contract. Using this company will cost a few HUNDRED dollars just to file a claim. When all else fails, you can cancel your contract and receive a prorated refund - MINUS a cancellation fee. It's just one big racket, so save your money and avoid at all costs.

Icon

David Muschel, Englewood

On Jul 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

i have been EXTREMELY dissappointed in american home shield We are waiting four weeks for our air conditioning to get repaired. The contractor is awol and non responsive We continue to call both home shield and the contractor to no avail i hope others do not experience same Check the fine print because they do not respond

Icon

Bruce Lake, Somerville

On May 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Quick service and great work in obtaining contractors and making adjustments to work that had to be accomplished

Icon

Ron G, Margate City

On May 17, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our washing machine stopped working and AHS sent a technician within 2 days . When he discovered that the part was no longer available, AHS had a new washer delivered and installed at our home. We are very pleased with AHS and highly recommend them!!!!

Icon

Rachel , Oceanport

On Apr 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield is a joke. They put you on hold for hours and have an excuse for everything. We have had to pay the $106 fee every time we call and no one has ever done any work for us. All repair people say it\'s not covered under warranty and then leave within 2 minutes of their arrival. They are no help and a rip off. They also do not allow you to rate them online so no one knows how bad they are.

Icon

Kathy, Allentown

On Mar 01, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I agree with what others have stated. LOWES does not honor their warranty and you will spend alot of time and energy. I believe appliances manufactured today are made to break--this was disclosed to me by a repairman sent by LOWES. Best advice I would say is to buy from HOME DEPOT or another company and purchase the cheapest model WITHOUT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY so when it breaks you have not spent alot of money. Extended warranties are a big money maker for business including car dealers.

Icon

Mark Holbert, Metuchen

On Dec 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I wish I could give this company a minus 5 Stars as a rating. This company is HORRIBLE! A total ripoff! I requested service for a broken furnace over a month ago and to date I still have not received service. AHS assigned a vendor who came out, took my furnace apart over a month ago, and has never returned. Numerous calls to the vendor go directly to voicemail, and the vendor does not even have the courtesy to return my calls. AHS has done nothing about it but contact the vendor and get hollow promises that he would act. Do not use this warranty company, and if you do, be prepared to get a lawyer.

Icon

Renata Hobbs, Jersey City

On Oct 25, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

This place is a joke if you live in Northern NJ. I was under contract for the one year. Giving the previous repairs that I needed to do on my home, I thought that this was a good thing to have. I went 8 months with nothing going wrong. So I was planning on renewing. Then my hot water heater went out. The contract with J & C PLUMBING AND SEWER SERVICE INC to come fix it. Unfortunately, it was shot. So I needed a replacement. The customer service lady was nice but informed me that while I am covered for the replacement of the heater, J & C PLUMBING AND SEWER SERVICE INC quoted a $800+ fee to get the gas line and something else "up to code". I told the lady that my lines had just been checked and I was up to code (Recently had the boiler replaced and they shared the line) They told me that I had to take it up with J & C PLUMBING AND SEWER SERVICE INC myself who did not want to change their answer. AHS took the deductible and closed the ticket without me receiving any service. I ended up getting it replaced by the electric company and it was a complete swap. No modifications was necessary to bring it "up to code." Better look at YELP reviews!!!!!

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in New Jersey

Home warranty reviews help you understand the pros and cons about different home warranty companies, allowing you to make the right investment. If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company that you would like to share, be it good or bad, go ahead and write a review. Help out other homeowners just like you by contributing to our list of home warranty user experiences.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020