ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: August 4, 2021

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN durham, north carolina

Average Premium In north carolina

Min Average Premium in north carolina Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Durham
country icon COUNTRY: Durham County
state icon STATE: NC
population icon POPULATION: 256789
area code icon AREA CODE: 919
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 27701, 27702, 27703, 27704, 27705
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in durham, north carolina

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was founded in 2003. Since their inception, they have served more than 4 million customers and have been recognized as the most trusted service provider. Service Line Warranties offers three cost-effective plans.

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They have been in the industry for over 35 years. The company has a vast network of 40,000 licensed technicians who offer high-quality services. They offer several benefits like online policy renewal, 24/7 online claim process, no home inspection, and customized plans. 

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Founded in 1978, the company has served more than 80,000 customers. They have a network of 40,000 licensed and insured contractors nationwide. They offer three plans which cover a wide range of appliances and systems.

Home Warranty Inc

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company offers customers the option to pick local providers to service their systems and appliances. Customers can also opt for the cash-out option for repairs when they file a home warranty claim. Home Warranty INC also offers customers the option of 14 months of coverage.

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

Global Home USA Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company offers three plans for homeowners. Their policies include no waiting period. If the contract is canceled within the first 60 days and no claim is filed, the company will refund the full purchase price of their services.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

durham Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lynette Cradle , Durham

On Nov 20, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I really have benefited over the last few months from your service. The repairman with your company have been efficient and courteous.

Icon

Sacha Porges, Durham

On Nov 02, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Whenever we need service, AHS consistently comes through - we have been Customers for over 15 years and at least once a year we find ourselves very grateful that AHS is there to help us. Their service contractors are unfailingly polite, punctual and do a great job. Overall, we are very pleased.

Icon

D Caballero, Durham

On Aug 23, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had several items that needed servicing. Made one call and within a few days they all were fixed: a ceiling fan, the fridge and the A/C. Sure, I had to pay a separate deductible for each item, but I would have probably paid the $225 just to get the fan fixed. Courteousness was the order of the day from the CSR to the technicians who served us in our home. I would recommend AHS to anyone who asked from whom they should get their home warranty.

Icon

Jason R Redmond, Durham

On Jul 17, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was a bit unsatisfied with the money I had to pay for repairs to my water heater. Felt the upgrades could have been covered, but its water under the bridge.

Icon

k Smith, Durham

On Nov 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve had AHS for two and a half years, and they continue to disappoint me. Their contractors are unreliable, unprofessional, and more often than not, incompetent. I have had work done on my AC/Heat unit four times now, instead of replacing - it\'s been bandaided again and again. The most recent breakdown left me in the middle of summer without an AC unit, and none of their contractors could make it out to even look/diagnose the unit for days. I had to find my own servicer and was told that I could submit the bill for reimbursement; five months later, I received a check for 1/4 of the repair cost that I had already paid, and the company will not work with me on the full reimbursement (as stated in email). I've had similar issues with plumbing repair, having to have service men out three times to fix the same one problem - with the second spending more time talking about how bad the first contractor was than they did repairing; having done no better as I had to have a third contractor come out to fix. I could go on, but have wasted enough of my day on the phone with customer service trying to get help (to no avail). Please save yourself time and money and do NOT purchase a warranty through this company.

Icon

Justin Perry, Durham

On Sep 21, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not believe all these positive reviews. AHS obviously filters out the Bad ones on this site. Look at Rip off Report and talk to the better BBB in your area. The contract has all sorts of Loopholes where they rape your wallet. I can deal with the fact they screw their customers but waiting on hold for and hour+ is what kills me. I have spent so many hours holding just trying to talk with someone its ridiculous and I am a patient person. I assume if they make me hold for hours my phone will die or I will just give up.

Icon

Frank Edwards, Durham

On Sep 12, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I recently signed up for AHS because my experience at my home in Tampa Fl. was very positive. I received very good service there. I have not had any need to call upon AHS since I signed up a few months ago, but it is comforting to know that I have a reliable service to call upon when needed.

Icon

West Patrick, Durham

On May 27, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had to have my garbage disposal checked out because it had stopped working. the tech that came out was very friendly, and knowledgeable, he repaired the disposal. afterwards he even advised me if the problem happen again what I could do myself. I was very saticfied with his work, his attitude, and professionalism.

Icon

Mary Jennings, Durham

On Dec 04, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The person I initially spoke to on the phone was understanding and empathetic . I was quickly paired with a contractor in my area. The contractor and I made contact and he was quite professional, timely, and did quality work.

Icon

James Bulfin, Durham

On Dec 04, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor, who was very upbeat and professional had to return to my home to resolve a repair leak issue from my garbage disposal. the contractor, found the issue immediately, and reset the disposal. He apologized for having to come back out, and not repairing it right the first time. I have not had a problem with the disposal since.

Icon

R. Vinson, Durham

On Mar 02, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I'm thankful for having this service and I got it right on time because my heating system went out and AHS replaced it without a problem. The operator was very professional in setting up the appointment and the contractor was very pleasant and explained everything that he did for us. I have been letting people know how great this insurance is. I don't have to worry about a thing with AHS' service.

Icon

Jeffery S., Durham

On Jul 08, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The AHS contractor arrived early from the scheduled time and after a brief explanation of my HV/AC issue, he proceeded to take a look at the unit. He quickly diagnosed the problem and came in to clearly explain my options and the cost to recharge my older a/c system. He reminded me that my AHS contract pays for the 1st $10/pound and I was responsible for the remainder of the $50/pound fee. He estimated the amount of refrigerant needed and I gave the ok to proceed with the repair. The contractor appearance remained neat... even though he was working in 95 degree heat outside! Over the years I have had my AHS contract I have had the occasion to meet different contractors and all have been professional in their dealings with me and my family. So i would not hesitate to recommend AHS for anyone looking for peace of mind when they are seeking qualified repair services for their home.

Icon

Juanita Anyane-tow, Durham

On Aug 21, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Ive been with AHS for 5-6 years ,but I've noticed they will do whatever it takes to keep from spending much money. It's not about repairing your appliance to complete satisfactory, it's about saving the company a dollar. They make dumb decisions to save replacement with a new appliance. Sears came out to repair an 19 year old Maytag washer. They ordered parts, received incorrect parts and reordered. To the tune of 3 months and changing most parts to the tune of approximately $900, and still old technology instead of authorizing a new machine. Whenever I called to complain that they were wasting my time their response was that they were sorry and will check on it. I am annoyed and outraged that they raised their fees. They must be repairing somewhere else, definitely not here. I eventually purchased my own energy efficient washer.

Icon

juanita Anyane-Ntow, Durham

On Jul 04, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been with this company for approx 8 years. They spent more on an 19 year old washer by having Sears to replace every part except the motor. They had to order different each week. I was without a completely repaired washer for 3 weeks. Meanwhile it is still old technology. I called to complain with supervisor, and each time I was told khere wasn't anything they could do once the company ordered and were waiting for parts. I told themselves for the money spent on parts and labor, that could have gone toward a new washer. They are negative , minus minus in customer service!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020