ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN wilmington, north carolina

city icon CITY: Wilmington
country icon COUNTRY: New Hanover County
state icon STATE: NC
population icon POPULATION: 186140
area code icon AREA CODE: 910
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 28401, 28402, 28403, 28404, 28405,
city icon CITY: Wilmington
country icon COUNTRY: New Hanover County
state icon STATE: NC
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 28401, 28402, 28403, 28404, 28405,
population icon POPULATION: 186140
area code icon AREA CODE: 910
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in wilmington, north carolina

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,546 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,815 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,845 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,316 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(704 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

wilmington Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

William T Bertrand, Wilmington

On Aug 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had American Home shield for 5 years and I have had a fairly substantial need for their services over the years. I have been a licensed Real Estate Broker since 1970 and I was introduced to the program in 2005 when I was helping my wife as a Buyer\'s agent. The program is inexpensive when you consider the cost of repair or replacement of a front load clothes washer or even worse, an HVAC system. Working as a Broker, it was very comforting to a buyer of a home that had a Warranty knowing that many items subject to failure was covered by a warranty. I don't know about other home warranty companies but with American Home Shield, every thing in my house that has failed has been repaired by very competent pros. Not everything is covered of course and you need to read the contract and remember what is and what is not. In regard to dealing with the people at AHS, I have found them cordial and eager to get jobs done. When you sign up for the program, they accept all of your equipment as is no matter how old it is. As a final word, AHS has done just exactly as promised and I am very pleased.

Icon

Debbie Gizzi, Wilmington

On May 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had an issue with my well pump. They were prompt and fixed it so we had water again. Glad I have this plan. I have had great service with everything that I have had them come to fix.

Icon

Doug Mcnay, Wilmington

On Feb 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a leaking outdoor faucet. Parlier Plumbing was dispatched to take care of the need. They arrived in a prompt timeframe. The repair was made. Prompt, courteous, and professional. Very satisfied.

Icon

GRAMMIEBUD, Wilmington

On Aug 06, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Well, we received our 2019 refund on the horrible Samsung French Door, Twin Cooling, that was purchased in 2014. Extended warranty was still in effect. Samsung wouldn’t take responsibility for its inferior product and sent me to Lowe’s. Lowe’s sent me back to Samsung. Went straight to our Attorney General’s Consumer Affairs office and received a full refund. Lowe’s issued the refund as the fridge was deemed unrepairable.

Icon

Terry Noe, Wilmington

On Jun 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had both good and bad luck with AHS. Sometimes my problem is fixed within a week, but when your HVAC goes out and it takes them 6 weeks to figure out who is on first with the service people who speak broken English at best, it\'s not fun. Right now I have two ongoing problems as the Sales Department sold me a new contract that I have paid for that works best for me, however, nobody in the other departments has my new information. I might as well not have a contract at all as I can not get any services to go through. It's been a nightmare and I am still waiting on one department to talk to another department so we all can be on the same page. Not Happy at all.

Icon

Frank Gilliland, Wilmington

On Jun 19, 2018

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

After one month and 5 phone calls to Tech and office. We are still without a Frig. No return calls form anyone. No reason given until today and that was about as much bull as one could believe. I can not understand how this company is allowed to take your money and offer nothing in return. Sorry isn\'t cutting it at this point. Someone at this company should start reading their own standards published in it's plan. We Care,We Listen,We're Dependable,We're helpful and sincere,We Know, and the Best of all--We set the Premier Example. OVER ONE MONTH!! What kind of Example is That!! We have ice chest setting in our kitchen in place of a refrigerator. We have had company that can't believe someone at this company gives a Damn after they get your money. ONE MONTH for a PART. This has SCAM written all over it. This is about as bad as it gets.

Icon

Anthony C, Wilmington

On Apr 03, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

REPLACEMENT OF HVAC I put two stars because the representative treated me like a check list\ call list. I vividly remember being upset with the options given me with the insurance. He (the representative) asked me several times was there any other questions as he was trying to end the call, now I\'m already displeased with AHS and was vocalizing my frustrations with a $2000.00 repair (not unpleasant but frustrated). The representative then told me I could have the system replaced for a additional $1800.00. I suggested that he should have given me all my options in the beginning. My comment was quote "you tried to get off the phone with me on two separate occasions by asking if I had any more questions but after voice my displeasure with AHS I was given the option of replacement". I felt like the representative was uncaring and unconcerned. Please know that by this time my wife and I had been basically confined to the bedroom for about week due to lack of heat. We were thankful that the T.V. stand is also a infrared heater. We are thankful that we had the option of replacing a 10 year old American Standard unit for a $3800.00 new Carrier HVAC system. Very happy with the system thus far. We do not care to be treated like we do not matter when paying for a service. I encourage management to listed to the call if it was recorded, I just hope he was not following policy requirements. I am giving 5 stars Overall because of Island Breeze H-vac and there team . Anthony

Icon

Marilyn Reyna, Wilmington

On Jan 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have probably been one of AHS\'s greatest cheerleaders over the years that i have had my home warranty (8). I especially encouraged single and divorced women to check into it as a protection against being taken advantage of by individual repair people. I have not had a bad experience with service calls. However, I recently put in a call for my HTG/AC. It has been repaired through AHS several times over the years. The gentleman who responded said parts were no longer available for my unit and the law now requires the compressor and intake to match. The entire unit would have to be replaced. My last contact with the service person was that AHS would pay $1000 on the over $5000 replacement. I have not heard directly from AHS, but this company has such a good reputation, I'm confident that the outcome will be better than what has been presented to me by the repair person. To be continued..

Icon

Tom Cunningham, Wilmington

On Aug 14, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I tried to call about a service I needed and was put on hold for 55 minutes. I did not want to use the service agency AHS had contracted. I was told they would find a different servicing company. The next day I got an email from the company I did not want saying they had been contacted by AHS to do my work. I called back to AHS and was put on hold for 57 minutes. Spoke to a representative who asked when the service was scheduled and I told her in 2 weeks. She said no problem she could schedule me with a new company. Never heard anything more about it and I am not about to call back and get put on hold for another hour. The actual service I have gotten from different companies has been great. No complaints there. I just find it hard to listen to a recording telling me how important I am and yet you will let me sit on hold for almost an hour. Not important enough to have enough people to take care of you in a timely manner. I can't remember ever being on hold that long anywhere else.

Icon

John Moyer, Wilmington

On Aug 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS was very accommodating in promptly assigning the HVAC contractor that has been most familiar with our system. Indoor Mechanical Heating & Air Service provided prompt and immediate resolution of our problem and even came after hours.

Icon

Terise Bransford, Wilmington

On Jun 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

TEXAIRE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING were the best ... they were old school ... it reminded me a lot of my late father-in-law who was a mechanical contractor in Fort Worth for almost 50 years. The crew was down to earth, practical, and didn't need to waste time checking what could be wrong. They knew the problem and fixed it quickly and correctly. If it were possible, these are the people we would want AHS to always send out to address our heating and air conditioning needs.

Icon

lisa vargas, Wilmington

On Feb 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

They were great. It only took a few hours after I requested service from AHS and they called me and came on the next day. They fixed the AC problem I had. A few days later, there was another problem and they quickly came back and solved it with not cost at all.

Icon

Cathy English/ Mildred Ortiz, Wilmington

On Aug 03, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a garbage disposal problem and the repairman lied to AHS who then declined the service and the repairman from Paulier's Plumbing turned around and said I had to give him 100 dollars anyway. I then tried to call AHS as they declined the service but never called me to discuss why I have been on hold for 1 1/2 hours and no results. I sent them and email requesting they contact me and I am also still waiting. I believe this is poor customer service for sure.

Icon

William Bell, Wilmington

On Dec 24, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS could not fix a urinary tract infection even if they owned a cranberry farm.

Icon

Song Thomas, wilmington

On Oct 06, 2014

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

Protection plan came with the home we purchased. We had VA home inspectors inspect the home and by the time we closed on our home, it was good to go. Two days after the closing date, our shower handle fell off after attempting to take a shower. The Old Republic Protection associate "Patty" declined my request for work order. I asked for the Supervisor to call me which she did and she "Falin" declined it as well. Supervisor claimed the plan applies to when everything in the home is installed and working properly. Hello, we got a thumbs up, a green light from the inspector. She said that does not count. WHAT?!?! When I explained the plumber said it's wear and tear of the shower valve, she claimed there is no such thing as showers Westin and tearing. It was a long two hour conversation. Took everything to call her incompetent supervisor. She kept talking over me. Three days later my realtor called them and told them they witnessed everything in the house to be in good working condition, they were willing to send a technician out to the house to fix the shower. This tells me this company is not customer friendly, incompetent, and waste of money and time. I have notified all of my military friends, family, soldiers and community. I also reported them to BBB, my realtor and they will not recommend them to their home owners.

Icon

Joanne, Wilmington

On May 30, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have been customers of AHS for over 10 years and when our heat pump stopped working we were very nervous about repairing vs.replacing the system. The contractor (Indoor Mechanical Heating & Air)said the unit needed replacing. Within 24 hours we had the approval to replace the unit. Everyone involved from the contractor and the electrician to the AHS representatives were always helpful and professional. We are so glad to have purchased our home warranty with AHS and would recommend them to anyone looking for a reliable warranty company.

Icon

KATRINA ALDRICH, WILMINGTON

On Apr 08, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

I was with this company for 11 years. Paid on time monthly and had limited service calls. After 11 years they send me a notice they are not renewing my policy--apparently I did not fit into some "formula" they use. In other words, they weren't making enough money of of me, but I assure you they were making plenty since I paid out annually over 600.00 and averaged 2 service calls a year that I paid 75.00 for each. There were some years I didn't even have a service call request. This company has no regard for customer loyalty. THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF--and as soon as you need them they will dump you.

Icon

TAL, Wilmington

On Sep 13, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

An utter horror. The worst, most fraudulent company ever. The Atty General of the US should shut them down. TOTAL SCAM! AVOID!!!!!!!!

Icon

TL, Wilmington

On Jun 21, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

HORRIBLE everything. Cust service hung up on me! Contractors incompetent. It took 6 weeks to tell me they would not fix my AC. CANCEL YOUR POLICY NOW!!!! Rude, incompetent, just plain pathetic. AHS is what is wrong with customer service. THEY ARE CROOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020