ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN philadelphia, pennsylvania

city icon CITY: Philadelphia
country icon COUNTRY: Philadelphia County
state icon STATE: PA
population icon POPULATION: 1526206
area code icon AREA CODE: 215
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19019, 19092, 19093, 19099, 19101,
city icon CITY: Philadelphia
country icon COUNTRY: Philadelphia County
state icon STATE: PA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19019, 19092, 19093, 19099, 19101,
population icon POPULATION: 1526206
area code icon AREA CODE: 215
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in philadelphia, pennsylvania

First American Home Warranty

3 / 5
(1,924 Reviews )

They have more than 35 years of experience in the industry. They offer several benefits to their customers, including flexible payment options, 30 days money-back guarantee, unlimited service calls, etc.

HSA Home Warranty

3 / 5
(2,175 Reviews )
The company was founded in 1984. Since their inception, HSA has served thousands of homeowners and has been recognized as one of the companies offering niche services. The standout feature of HSA is it is an online portal for solving customer problems.

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

4.5 / 5
(818 Reviews )

APHW has been in the industry since 1999. The company is known for providing roof coverage and accepting invoices for repairs from technicians they couldn't dispatch. APHW offers several benefits to its customers, such as allowing the customers to get their preferred technicians, among others.

Home Warranty of America

3 / 5
(2,191 Reviews )

The company has been protecting homeowners since 1996. Their policy comes into effect immediately and lasts for 13 months. They are committed to customer satisfaction and therefore offer 30 days recall period on labor and 90 days on parts.

Amazon Home Warranty

4.5 / 5
(300 Reviews )

philadelphia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Linda Chamberlain, Philadelphia

On Jan 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had worries when my toilet started to leak but the AHW Plumber came it and in minutes resolved the problem and no more leaks. I very satisfied with the services and have been using the for three years.

Icon

J cox, Philadelphia

On Jan 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Professional and customer focused approach. Discussed options helping me to make best solution. Left work area clean. It gives us piece of mind to have reliable service providers that have been vetted.

Icon

Jonathan G Barnes, Philadelphia

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Super responsive and easy. Been a great experience.

Icon

Helen Owen , Philadelphia

On Mar 11, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Home Shield found me a technician quickly. It was easy to make an appointment for the next day and the technician arrived early in the window that I was given. He was friendly and professional. He diagnosed the issue in no time and the dishwasher was back in business.

Icon

Michael McRae, Philadelphia

On Jan 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Though I have had minimal issues with repairs once they have been completed, the time that elapses from the initial service request and completion of the Job has continuously grown over the years, along with the service fee! For the second time in three years AHS has taken over 30 days to properly address and resolve a heating issue in the dead of winter. It is seriously time to look for another provider. Their continuous proclamation of being sorry for the inconvenience does not warm a cold house!!! Expedited service and reasonable compensation for horrific time customer service and ridiculously long resolution is the only sorry customers want to hear!!!!!

Icon

Tyrone Medley, Philadelphia

On Dec 27, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I love the fact that the service providers are from legitimate businesses. I say that because I dealt with other warranty companies & people show up getting out of the passenger side of their girlfriends car with a power drill & a flashlight.

Icon

Michael Phillips, Philadelphia

On Dec 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield came through for us on multiple occasions. Fast, efficient and effective service to address our issues. We planned to only retain the plan in the first year of ownership but will be extending our policy for the future.

Icon

Rosanna Londero, Philadelphia

On May 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I decided to cancel my warranty please stop taking money out I did send you a letter explaining why

Icon

Paul Caracciolo, Philadelphia

On Feb 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

There was a turn around time of over a week for a technician to diagnose why my heater was not working in the middle of winter. The technician then said the reason was the Chimney was clogged, which was not covered by the warranty. He said he could fix it for me out of pocket, but it would cost at least $1,000. Because that sounded insane, I called the highest reviewed AC and Heat technician on Yelp. The technician I found on yelp said it had nothing to do with the chimney, and replaced a part for around $500. The heat has worked all winter long since then. When I asked AHS to reimburse me, they said they would have to send a technician to verify it was indeed working. So they sent one, and he confirmed. They still refused to reimburse me because I used the technician who correctly diagnosed the problem, rather than their incompetent or duplicitous technician. This warranty has been worthless to me. This warranty either employs inept technicians, or is a scam. Don't bother wasting your money.

Icon

Dan Thomas, Philadelphia

On Jan 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I got a renewal notice in the mail today and I found it funny because after I filed a claim (number 438137252) on December 16th, 2017 to replace a leaking water heater and supply pipe I never heard from your company again. The "vendor" you recommended never called, or showed-up. We called you and the vendor back all day with zero response. After waiting all day we decided to call our own plumber to replace the water heater, which of course we had to pay for out of pocket. I never got a return call from the vendor or even you to inquire about the service. So, after one of the worst customer service experiences my wife and I have ever experienced your response is to send a renewal notice in the mail? I've been a ServiceMaster employee for over 25 years and I can tell you this well below the level of customer service the owner of my company represents or that I expect from the people who report to me. If we treated our customers the way I was treated we would be out of business. The person @ AHS I spoke to informed me, "we don't have a lot of plumbers in your area, so it may take some time". Clearly making YOUR problem, our problem...not a good way to run a business. I'm sure this review will fall on deaf ears, and I will likely never hear back from someone. But if there's one thing I've learned after being in a customer service industry, is that a bad experience has a much bigger impact than a good experience on your business. A customer that has a bad experience is more likely to share it with friends and family...and I will. Including our real estate agent who also happens to be a personal friend and recommended you. She was very curious to hear that we had this experience with your company. 

Icon

Vrejash Patel, Philadelphia

On Dec 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Terrible terrible service from AHS. They apparently used to be a premium service but have fallen apart. I had wait times on the phone in excess of 2 hours and when I finally got a call from a rep it was when my parts came in so conveniently. The rep argued that there is no way the hold times can be more than 1 hour and that I had a fake number. Had to fight my way to a refund. The vendors though are really good. They couldn’t fix my microwave but they were great. Don’t expect a comparable replacement either. My microwave is valued at $600 AHS max will give me $380. It’s a joke. I will not be continuing with this company.

Icon

Rashiid K Coleman, Philadelphia

On Nov 10, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is money well spent! I have had years of exceptional service when appliances need repair or something in the house malfunctions. I tell everyone I can about the warranty and advise them to look into it. AHS and their certified service providers are always professional, courteous and excellent.

Icon

CLIFFORD WEYRICK, Philadelphia

On Feb 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

The contractor arrived on time, took care of the problem after a thorough research of the problem. He was very professional and explained in terms we understood. We were very satisfied.

Icon

Vetta Stanley, Philadelphia

On Jul 30, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would first have to say the customer service is excellant. I have been with the AHS for so long and have never had a bad experience. They ensure that they keep you informed on all changes that are going to happen. The best part is that they do a follow up on services.

Icon

Darrell Welsh, Philadelphia

On Jul 12, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS has always been very helpful and timely. In our last experience the contractor was very slow in completing the work. I would not want to deal with this contractor in the future. Two weeks is too long of a wait for the a/c to be repaired. Overall, we have been pleased with AHS.

Icon

mary bakeoven, Philadelphia

On Jun 16, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a warranty contract with this company before, and I had 3 service calls in a year. The first was for my central air, just a loose wire no problem, second time my Hot Water Heater went, I was charged $100 for the service call and and additional $285, the third time was for a leaky and broken pipe that was in the same area as the hot water heater was replaced. I was charged $100 plus an additional $250. I realized that between was I was paying monthly and these service fees in was not worth it, so after a hassle for about 3 months and with the help of BBB I was able to cancel. I am a widowed senior citizen, and sometimes need help so I read some reviews and deceided to try this again. I applied for a warranty in May 2016, it was effective June 4,2016. On June 6,2016 My bathroom sink hot water faucet started, I noticed it when I woke up, dripping a steady stream of water, at that time I put in a service call. By evening I had a full stream of hot water flowing, I had my son turn the hot water off under the sink. The service man came out on June 10, He took the faucet handle told me it was broke, he would be back to replace the faucet. As for the hot water he said turn it on and off by the stem. He said he needed the service at that time, I asked him for a receipt and was told,per AHS, he cannot give me a receipt until the job was complete. Now they are refusing to replace the faucet. So now I am left with a faucet that is in pieces and a stem to turn the water on and off.I think these warranty companies are a rip off and I will be going back to the BBB

Icon

Peter Norris, Philadelphia

On May 07, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Efficient process of responding to a customer need. I called to say that our heating system was not working. Within a few hours we were called back to say that the contractor would be calling to setup a time to investigate the problem. They were out within 24 hours and the problem was corrected. (bad relay to the heating coil). Contractor was knowledgeable, courteous and cleaned up after himself.

Icon

yelrak, philadelphia

On Apr 20, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had an awful experience with AHS. Had a CO leak in the house found in the end of 4/2016 due to a cracked heat exchange per the technician that AHS sent to my house. Thought they would replace the part since it was visibly broken after a few months of winter. I was wrong. I had my home inspected prior to move in in 2/2016 and had a clean, strong furnace. However, AHS told me that my heater could not have broke due to "normal wear and tear" and that it couldn't have happened from the time I bought the warranty which was almost 3 month ago. I thought the reason you bought a warranty was to have some assurance when things break... I was wrong! Apparently, AHS doesn't hold up their end of the bargain. I bought the warranty effective in February and put in my first claim at the end of April and apparently my heater could not have broke during that time... even though we've had snow here in PA up until the first week in April and my heater has been on consistently for the past 3 months. Pretty crazy. Will NEVER recommend this company and will definitely not renew my contract. What a joke! Customer service in the appeals department has been horrible- what attitude... Please do not explain my denial by reading off of a piece of paper the diagnosis of my heater, I know what the diagnosis is, I was there when the technician diagnosed it- I want to know WHY it was denied by AHS, if it wasn't normal wear and tear then what is normal wear and tear?

Icon

Robyn Connelly, Philadelphia

On Mar 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

called for my washer and dryer to fixed. The company came out and stated that the washer was beyond repair. You then contacted me and offered us a new washer and had it delivered to my home. The dryer was fixed this week as of yesterday. The company you sent did an very great job in the servicing of my washer ad dryer.

Icon

Janet Ralph, Philadelphia

On Mar 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My most recent experience was about 2 years ago. My hot water tank sprung a leak. I called for service and was promptly told by your representative that I would receive a call from a tech. Within a couple of hours a tech was here and determined the tank needed replaced. He ordered the tank was was back (I believe) the next day to install. I have only used the service a few times and have been very please with response time and service.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020