ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN philadelphia, pennsylvania

city icon CITY: Philadelphia
country icon COUNTRY: Philadelphia County
state icon STATE: PA
population icon POPULATION: 1526206
area code icon AREA CODE: 215
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19019, 19092, 19093, 19099, 19101,
city icon CITY: Philadelphia
country icon COUNTRY: Philadelphia County
state icon STATE: PA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19019, 19092, 19093, 19099, 19101,
population icon POPULATION: 1526206
area code icon AREA CODE: 215
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in philadelphia, pennsylvania

Editors choice

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

2 / 5
(2,270 Reviews )

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

Complete Appliance Protection

3.5 / 5
(180 Reviews )
The company has been protecting homes since 1998. They offer a wide range of warranty plans that cover all major appliances and systems. Their policy comes into effect immediately.

American Residential Warranty

4.5 / 5
(489 Reviews )
They are among the most popular home warranty providers. They allow customers to review policy for 30 days and change their plan within those 30 days. The added advantage of American Residential Warranty is they do not force long term contracts upon the customers.

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

1.5 / 5
(223 Reviews )
Lowe's is a leading home warranty company. The company was founded in 1946 and is known for its unmatched customer service. Their plans come into effect immediately. They repay you 30% of the premium protection plan's cost if you haven't requested service before expiration.

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

1.5 / 5
(138 Reviews )
The company was established in 1978. Their policy does not include any waiting period and deductibles. The Home Depot's plans include several features such as power surge protection, reimbursement, or replacement if the device is beyond repair, heat and humidity coverage, etc.

philadelphia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Tyrone Medley, Philadelphia

On Dec 27, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I love the fact that the service providers are from legitimate businesses. I say that because I dealt with other warranty companies & people show up getting out of the passenger side of their girlfriends car with a power drill & a flashlight.

Icon

Michael Phillips, Philadelphia

On Dec 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield came through for us on multiple occasions. Fast, efficient and effective service to address our issues. We planned to only retain the plan in the first year of ownership but will be extending our policy for the future.

Icon

Rosanna Londero, Philadelphia

On May 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I decided to cancel my warranty please stop taking money out I did send you a letter explaining why

Icon

Paul Caracciolo, Philadelphia

On Feb 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

There was a turn around time of over a week for a technician to diagnose why my heater was not working in the middle of winter. The technician then said the reason was the Chimney was clogged, which was not covered by the warranty. He said he could fix it for me out of pocket, but it would cost at least $1,000. Because that sounded insane, I called the highest reviewed AC and Heat technician on Yelp. The technician I found on yelp said it had nothing to do with the chimney, and replaced a part for around $500. The heat has worked all winter long since then. When I asked AHS to reimburse me, they said they would have to send a technician to verify it was indeed working. So they sent one, and he confirmed. They still refused to reimburse me because I used the technician who correctly diagnosed the problem, rather than their incompetent or duplicitous technician. This warranty has been worthless to me. This warranty either employs inept technicians, or is a scam. Don't bother wasting your money.

Icon

Dan Thomas, Philadelphia

On Jan 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I got a renewal notice in the mail today and I found it funny because after I filed a claim (number 438137252) on December 16th, 2017 to replace a leaking water heater and supply pipe I never heard from your company again. The "vendor" you recommended never called, or showed-up. We called you and the vendor back all day with zero response. After waiting all day we decided to call our own plumber to replace the water heater, which of course we had to pay for out of pocket. I never got a return call from the vendor or even you to inquire about the service. So, after one of the worst customer service experiences my wife and I have ever experienced your response is to send a renewal notice in the mail? I've been a ServiceMaster employee for over 25 years and I can tell you this well below the level of customer service the owner of my company represents or that I expect from the people who report to me. If we treated our customers the way I was treated we would be out of business. The person @ AHS I spoke to informed me, "we don't have a lot of plumbers in your area, so it may take some time". Clearly making YOUR problem, our problem...not a good way to run a business. I'm sure this review will fall on deaf ears, and I will likely never hear back from someone. But if there's one thing I've learned after being in a customer service industry, is that a bad experience has a much bigger impact than a good experience on your business. A customer that has a bad experience is more likely to share it with friends and family...and I will. Including our real estate agent who also happens to be a personal friend and recommended you. She was very curious to hear that we had this experience with your company. 

Icon

Vrejash Patel, Philadelphia

On Dec 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Terrible terrible service from AHS. They apparently used to be a premium service but have fallen apart. I had wait times on the phone in excess of 2 hours and when I finally got a call from a rep it was when my parts came in so conveniently. The rep argued that there is no way the hold times can be more than 1 hour and that I had a fake number. Had to fight my way to a refund. The vendors though are really good. They couldn’t fix my microwave but they were great. Don’t expect a comparable replacement either. My microwave is valued at $600 AHS max will give me $380. It’s a joke. I will not be continuing with this company.

Icon

Rashiid K Coleman, Philadelphia

On Nov 10, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is money well spent! I have had years of exceptional service when appliances need repair or something in the house malfunctions. I tell everyone I can about the warranty and advise them to look into it. AHS and their certified service providers are always professional, courteous and excellent.

Icon

CLIFFORD WEYRICK, Philadelphia

On Feb 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

The contractor arrived on time, took care of the problem after a thorough research of the problem. He was very professional and explained in terms we understood. We were very satisfied.

Icon

Vetta Stanley, Philadelphia

On Jul 30, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would first have to say the customer service is excellant. I have been with the AHS for so long and have never had a bad experience. They ensure that they keep you informed on all changes that are going to happen. The best part is that they do a follow up on services.

Icon

Darrell Welsh, Philadelphia

On Jul 12, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS has always been very helpful and timely. In our last experience the contractor was very slow in completing the work. I would not want to deal with this contractor in the future. Two weeks is too long of a wait for the a/c to be repaired. Overall, we have been pleased with AHS.

Icon

mary bakeoven, Philadelphia

On Jun 16, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a warranty contract with this company before, and I had 3 service calls in a year. The first was for my central air, just a loose wire no problem, second time my Hot Water Heater went, I was charged $100 for the service call and and additional $285, the third time was for a leaky and broken pipe that was in the same area as the hot water heater was replaced. I was charged $100 plus an additional $250. I realized that between was I was paying monthly and these service fees in was not worth it, so after a hassle for about 3 months and with the help of BBB I was able to cancel. I am a widowed senior citizen, and sometimes need help so I read some reviews and deceided to try this again. I applied for a warranty in May 2016, it was effective June 4,2016. On June 6,2016 My bathroom sink hot water faucet started, I noticed it when I woke up, dripping a steady stream of water, at that time I put in a service call. By evening I had a full stream of hot water flowing, I had my son turn the hot water off under the sink. The service man came out on June 10, He took the faucet handle told me it was broke, he would be back to replace the faucet. As for the hot water he said turn it on and off by the stem. He said he needed the service at that time, I asked him for a receipt and was told,per AHS, he cannot give me a receipt until the job was complete. Now they are refusing to replace the faucet. So now I am left with a faucet that is in pieces and a stem to turn the water on and off.I think these warranty companies are a rip off and I will be going back to the BBB

Icon

Peter Norris, Philadelphia

On May 07, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Efficient process of responding to a customer need. I called to say that our heating system was not working. Within a few hours we were called back to say that the contractor would be calling to setup a time to investigate the problem. They were out within 24 hours and the problem was corrected. (bad relay to the heating coil). Contractor was knowledgeable, courteous and cleaned up after himself.

Icon

yelrak, philadelphia

On Apr 20, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had an awful experience with AHS. Had a CO leak in the house found in the end of 4/2016 due to a cracked heat exchange per the technician that AHS sent to my house. Thought they would replace the part since it was visibly broken after a few months of winter. I was wrong. I had my home inspected prior to move in in 2/2016 and had a clean, strong furnace. However, AHS told me that my heater could not have broke due to "normal wear and tear" and that it couldn't have happened from the time I bought the warranty which was almost 3 month ago. I thought the reason you bought a warranty was to have some assurance when things break... I was wrong! Apparently, AHS doesn't hold up their end of the bargain. I bought the warranty effective in February and put in my first claim at the end of April and apparently my heater could not have broke during that time... even though we've had snow here in PA up until the first week in April and my heater has been on consistently for the past 3 months. Pretty crazy. Will NEVER recommend this company and will definitely not renew my contract. What a joke! Customer service in the appeals department has been horrible- what attitude... Please do not explain my denial by reading off of a piece of paper the diagnosis of my heater, I know what the diagnosis is, I was there when the technician diagnosed it- I want to know WHY it was denied by AHS, if it wasn't normal wear and tear then what is normal wear and tear?

Icon

Robyn Connelly, Philadelphia

On Mar 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

called for my washer and dryer to fixed. The company came out and stated that the washer was beyond repair. You then contacted me and offered us a new washer and had it delivered to my home. The dryer was fixed this week as of yesterday. The company you sent did an very great job in the servicing of my washer ad dryer.

Icon

Janet Ralph, Philadelphia

On Mar 11, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My most recent experience was about 2 years ago. My hot water tank sprung a leak. I called for service and was promptly told by your representative that I would receive a call from a tech. Within a couple of hours a tech was here and determined the tank needed replaced. He ordered the tank was was back (I believe) the next day to install. I have only used the service a few times and have been very please with response time and service.

Icon

Sharon Sutor, Philadelphia

On Oct 20, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

My recent experience with AHS has been great. When my HVAC unit stopped working, the repair person was at my home within 24 hours. He was courteous and knowledgeable about my options and what would work best to make sure I did not have any further problems with the unit. I would highly recommend AHS to anyone on a fixed budget that wants to keep his or her home maintained at a high level.

Icon

William Hinton, Philadelphia

On Aug 13, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

When the first man came he was very neat and clean. He knew want he was doing, found out how the A/C needed to be care for to work. Then the second team came in and very nice looking for 99 degree outside. They worked on the A/C for over 3 hours, but the unit works better than it has sent we brought the house one and half year ago. Most of the work was done outside, and they were very cool and calm and did a great job.

Icon

Vernon Hess, Philadelphia

On Dec 08, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

My experience with American Home Shield was a great experience. It was the dead of winter and the furnace was not working in the house. Contacted American Home Shield. We were delighted to have someone come out that very day. My daughter has two young children and they were freezing. The man was very nice, explained clearly what the problem was and did a temporary fix to get them heat until he could come back a few days later with the part. He came back when he was suppoed to and had us up and running great

Icon

Robert Zuczek, Philadelphia

On Dec 03, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

When our slab leak occurred, we were very frustrated. We contacted AHS and our claim was processed and dispatched on expeditiously. A plumber came the next day and immediately confirmed the problem and submitted an estimate to repair. The estimate exceeded the policy's cap on slab leaks. AHS's customer service called us back quickly and explained that they were going to cash out the claim by mailing us a check for $500.00, the cap on slab leaks, and that we would be able to contact a plumber of our choice to deal with the issue. We did that, and although we took a more preventative route and had our entire house re-piped, AHS honored the claim and processed it in direct accordance of our policy. We have always had good experiences with AHS in that any claim we submitted, we were treated fairly, courteously, and professionally. When the claim was valid, it was handled and paid for accordingly without question. We will continue to renew our policy with AHS and have had nothing but honest and good experiences.

Icon

Judy Zorn, Philadelphia

On Dec 02, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is a really great company and I am so glad that I can afford to have them again. I purchased my Whirlpool gas range in 2005 from Lowe's. Since that time I have had the oven repaired numerous times because it fails to heat up. But I just reinstated my AHS insurance last April because I was not working and could not afford to have it. Last month my oven failed to get hot again. So, I called AHS and they sent Gary from Fix It Quick out to see what was wrong with it. He said it was the ignitior. He had to order a new part. When it arrived he came back to my home and installed it. Then the oven still would not get hot. So, he had to order another part. He ordered it and then about a week later came back to my home & installed that second part. Well, that fixed the problem. So far so good. My oven works good now. Gary was very nice and knowledgeable. He told me that there were only two parts to my oven that makes it actually get hot. And he had replaced everything. He said that the only other solution was to turn in a claim and have AHS replace my entire range for free. But so far my oven is working and I have not had to do that yet.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020