ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN reading, pennsylvania

city icon CITY: Reading
country icon COUNTRY: Berks County
state icon STATE: PA
population icon POPULATION: 213013
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,84,610
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19601, 19602, 19603, 19604, 19605,
city icon CITY: Reading
country icon COUNTRY: Berks County
state icon STATE: PA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 19601, 19602, 19603, 19604, 19605,
population icon POPULATION: 213013
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,84,610
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in reading, pennsylvania

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,564 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,819 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,859 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,317 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(705 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

reading Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

david washington, Reading

On Jun 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Claim initiated 6/10/18 I have read all suggestions from the Social Media Bot/ Person. I have not received a call from anyone at your company to resolve my issue with my AC unit or to discuss the Cash out option. I called almost every day and I get the same answer that someone will contact me...what a joke. My call today had the same result. The CIL department has my paperwork or request and will be contacting me. I was told on Monday, 6/18/19, that the request was submitted to CIL. I requested the CIL process on 6/15 when you finally received the evaluation, 5 days later, from the vendor(CLIMATE CONTROL HEATING & AIR LLC) you sent to my home on 6/10. However, my request was never recorded or processed. I am sitting here in my office trying to find a way to use the judicial system to find a resolution for my issues with American Home Shield. I bet I would get a lawsuit filed faster than it will take to resolve my claim(Reference #: 458637262) with AHS! acct#225829012

Icon

Jaron, Reading

On Aug 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had the hot water valve to my kitchen sink fail and some of the o-ring pieces from the valve clogged up the hot water supply line of my faucet as a result. AHS replaced the shutoff valve but refuses to fix the faucet. Why? Because it's not considered "normal wear and tear" since it is a "foreign object" blocking the line. Yes, the foreign object that is a direct result of a non-foreign, covered item, inches ahead of the faucet in the supply line. Even the plumber that AHS sent out said it was a common wear and tear issue for older homes like mine and should be covered! Bottom line is that I could not recommend AHS to anyone after watching them do all they can to avoid fully processing a claim even though all parts in question are listed as covered in our agreement (specifically sections C.3.a-e and F.4).

Icon

Jaron, Reading

On Aug 09, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I filed a claim with AHS about how the hot water line on my faucet was blocked and didn't work. They sent in a plumber a couple days later and confirmed what I already knew - that it was the shut-off valve that was the issue. However, they told me that the faucet would not be covered since it was a secondary issue. They used section D.8 of their agreement - which is there to keep them from being liable for things like spoiled food in a broken fridge or water damage from a hot water heater bursting - to say that they would not cover my faucet despite it being covered according to C.3.a-e and F.4. Had I replaced the valve myself I would have been fine but now they won't even let me put in another claim for the faucet! In the end, I had to pay $510 for a warranty, plus $75 for something I could had done for $10, and had to buy and install my own faucet (would have been $170 replacement cost for the faucet + $99 quoted for installation). Bottom line is stay away from AHS. They will do whatever they can to take your money and then get out of providing service! (BTW, their rep won't even call my realtor back about this issue!)

Icon

Wendy Martin, Reading

On Jul 29, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

The contractor was very helpful. Unfortunately, it took a process of elimination to correct the problem, but he kept us informed all along the way, and was working with the water heater manufacturer to fix the problem in the best manner. He was always here when he said he would be and could have shuffled us to the side, but never did. Until the job is done

Icon

Linda Taylor, Reading

On Sep 29, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Thus far my experience has solely been with the customer call center. This was on 9/6/15. The experience was excellent. I called in to check on my coverage as I had a leak for which I was not sure if I needed a plumber or heating and air technician. The specialist reviewed my concerns and processed a claim explaining if we chose the incorrect technician I would only be responsible for one service fee.

Icon

LORRAINE M KORBER, READING

On Jun 10, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

overall good - great understanding customer service reps - a little on the pricey side - i wantto stay with you yet your cost is way more on dedcutible and contract - can we figure something so i an sty when expires nad i can possibly add my 2nd home

Icon

Dean, Reading

On Jan 02, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

The problem could have been resolved in a more timely manner. It took a few days from initial contact of my broken water heater to get a contractor out to look at the problem. This made for a few days of cold showers. After the initial consult the ball started rolling pretty quick. Contractor was very helpful and knowledable.

Icon

Paul, Reading

On Jul 17, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

Well, I am seeing that my experience is inline with folks below. We got the contract on settlement day, went home and moved our stuff into our new house. Finally we sat down to dinner, put the dishes in the dishwasher and went to bed. When we woke up in the morning, we found that the dishwasher had not run (even though it said it was done), and the tub was filled with water. So we followed procedure and called AHS and had a technician out the next day. Fast forward nearly 3 weeks, and I call to find out the status of my claim - I should have heard something by now. Nope - DENIED. They claim it was a pre-existing issue and could not have broken when I used it. I am checking their contract from the website, and see nothing that gives them the legal standing to deny my claim. If my reading of their own contract to them does not resolve my issue, I plan to sue and recommend others to do the same. From the experiences below, this has class action lawsuit written all over it.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020