ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: March 17, 2021

Best Home Warranty Companies In Texas

Texas is one of the best states to live in as the monthly home maintenance costs are less than 15% of the household income for most people. But more than 50% of Texas homes were built prior to 1999 and thus the home maintenance costs may rise over time. If you live in bigger cities like Austin or Houston, where the cost of living is high, a residential warranty can protect your home items and your pocket by reducing the proportion of household budget devoted to unexpected repairs.

We understand that choosing an ideal home warranty provider among the best home warranty companies in Texas can be challenging. To help you with your search, we at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have listed home warranties in Texas with premium and deductibles details and customer reviews.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
TOTAL HOME PROTECTION
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Home Warranty Companies In Texas

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers exciting discounts and budget protection.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$369 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$45 or $60

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In texas

To make it easier for you to decide on a home warranty company, we have created a graph that shows you the average premium in Texas. The average premium for home warranty plans in Texas is $324.07, and the average deductible is $41.93. The X-axis indicates the number of homeowners, while the Y-axis indicates the premium price.

Average Premium In texas

Min Average Premium in texas Max $ 319.43 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in texas (TX) major towns:

Arlington Austin Corpus Christi
Dallas El Paso Fort Worth
Houston Laredo Lubbock

Population : 25,144,800

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Texas

Many companies offer warranty plans in Texas that include coverage for all major home systems and appliances. Here, we have listed popular plans offered by leading warranty companies. The quality of services and coverage options differ from one company to another.

American Home Shield (AHS) is the industry leader in offering warranty plans. The company offers plans, such as Systems plan, Appliances plan, Combo Plan and Build-Your-Own plan. Their plans range from $299-$499, and deductibles can cost between $75-$100.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) offers three plans, namely, Basic plan, Total plan, and optional coverage to their customers. The optional coverage protects additional home items at an additional cost.

First American Home Warranty (FAHW) is a popular warranty provider in Texas. The company offers a Basic plan and a Premium plan for its customers. Their plans' annual premium range from $334-$554, and deductible cost around $75. FAHW's Premium plan covers a wide range of home appliances and systems and is ideal for older homes.

Select Home Warranty, a leading warranty provider in Texas, offers a range of plans to their customers. The popular plans provided them include Gold plan, Bronze plan, and Platinum plan. The average deductible is approximately $75, and the annual premium cost up to $ 485.

Are you looking forward to buying a home warranty plan? Get your free home warranty quote from your preferred company.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Texas

  1. Some appliances and home systems are more prone to damage than others. So, when considering the extent of your home devices' coverage, make sure to give priority to the ones that get damaged more quickly due to the seasonal forces of nature.
  2. Some of your wisest choices can be based on other people’s first-hand experience with home warranty services. As a new home warranty buyer, enquire with your friends and neighbors about the best home warranty services in Texas that they have come across.
  3. Texas has sweltering summers. When temperatures soar high, many of your home appliances and systems have to work overtime to beat the heat. Therefore, they may eventually break down, so look for a home warranty with comprehensive coverage covering home items prone to damage in summer.
  4. A home warranty coverage is limited to the terms and conditions set by the company. Unless the damage to the home appliances and systems come within these pre-determined boundaries, your home warranty plan will be of no benefit to you. Make sure to read the fine print and exclusions before finalizing your decision on a particular home warranty plan.
  5. Make sure to do your homework. Take the initiative to know more about a home warranty company by visiting its website and reading customer reviews. Most home warranty service providers don’t cover pre-existing conditions, so ensure that your devices are functional.

Texas Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in Texas are incredibly diverse and are characterized by extreme temperatures, which can speed up normal wear of your household appliances and systems. Summers in Texas are hot and humid, and the major appliances most vulnerable during this time, are the refrigerators and the HVAC.

Both these items have to overwork to maintain the optimal temperatures, and this can exert immense strain on various parts and components of the machinery. This eventually results in the appliances breaking down, and fixing them can burn a hole in your pocket. But with a home warranty plan, you can get your appliances or systems fixed for a few dollars.

Winters of Texas aren't friendly either. So, be it in summer or winter, home warranty plans can protect your home appliances and systems and your pocket from a costly repair or replacement. With a home warranty, you can also get easy access to insured and licensed technicians' high-quality services, 24*7 customer service, unlimited service requests and many other benefits.

Several top home warranty companies offer excellent plan options at affordable rates in Texas. But before buying one, you must carefully analyze these plans regarding the coverage offered, service call fee, and annual and monthly premium. Always choose a plan that best fits your home’s requirements, needs, and budget.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best home warranty company in Texas?

Both regional and national home warranty companies serve Texas homeowners, and the best to the worst rating is therefore somewhat subjective based on customer preferences. Texan users of HomeWarrantyReviews.com have reviewed AHS, Choice Home Warranty, and THP favorably for the range of comprehensive plans, pricing, and technician quality.

Homeowners Insurance vs. Home Warranty: What's the Difference?

A home warranty is a service contract to obtain inexpensive repair and replacements of home systems and appliances wearing out usually. On the other hand, home insurance is meant to cover damage to the insides and outside of your home, losses due to theft, and liability coverage. Home insurance is a legal necessity to avail of a mortgage.

Are home warranties required in Texas?

Home warranties can be really useful in Texas because the heat accelerates the turnover of the covered systems and appliances. Therefore, breakdowns are more likely to occur, especially if you have an older home. They aren’t mandatory, unlike home insurance but having a plan gets you some peace of mind for a low monthly cost.

What are the home warranty regulations in Texas?

Home warranty operators are regulated by the Texas Real Estate Commission and self-regulated by the National Home Service Contract Association. NHSCA is an industry body where members are expected to adhere to certain standards. The companies have to operate according to the TREC guidelines and offer an efficient claims process.

Do home warranties cover plumbing stoppages?

Yes, home warranty plans cover plumbing stoppage repairs. If there are stoppages in drain and sewer lines up to 100 feet from access point, leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines, the home warranty technician will fix it. However, home warranty companies exclude stoppages due to roots, collapsed, broken, or damaged lines, especially, outside the perimeter of the main foundation.

Texas Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Customer reviews will help you determine which company offers the best service in Texas. To help you gain better insight into the quality of services provided by various home warranty companies in Texas, we, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have listed genuine customer reviews. You can read reviews about different home warranty companies in Texas here.

Icon

Genevieve Sherry, Kempner

On Apr 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Am glad I got American Home Shield. I had to use them twice in the same month due to power outage. My furnace and outside pipe faucet. The company they set out was good and efficient. Thanks American Home Shield.

Icon

Kenneth Duhon, Beaumont

On Mar 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Usually very good service. One incident with an air conditioner when the technician said I had broken the unit. I asked for a second company. The second technician stated it was impossible for me to have broken the unit and the air conditioner was replaced. All other repairs have been handled very professionally.

Icon

Clifford Moore, Harker Heights

On Mar 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The fan in the freezer of my refrigerator went out and was replaced quickly and professionally. I would recommend this service contractor to anyone. The technician was courteous and polite. He explained what he was doing and why. He said the amount of time that it would take to complete the job. He finished quickly and explained about the warranty. Great job overall.

Icon

Sharon, Fort Worth

On Mar 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Refrigerator quit dispensing water. **** ****** with Wright Appliance Service came to my house. He fixed the problem, was knowledgeable, courteous & efficient. Extremely pleased with service. Refrigerator is dispensing water

Icon

Ed Reynolds, Austin

On Feb 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I bought an infrastructure warranty on an older home in Texas ad, guess what? The heat failed during the snowpocalypse! But American Home Shield\'s warranty company was the first one to become available to come and fix it and the company they chose did an excellent job. They even found a wiring problem that contributed to the failure and filed a claim for me with AHS. All working great now.

Icon

Harvey S McClanahan Jr, Hutto

On Feb 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Used the website to submit a claim and once tech was scheduled, I was able to let him know issue and schedule an appointment. Repair was completed in one visit. Tech was professional and cleaned up after he completed the job. He showed me the completed job and explained everything.

Icon

Walter Warner, San Antonio

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Heating System not working. AHS dispatched a heating company even in ice. They came and did not fix it correctly. I advised AHS and they immediately contacted the company in the snow they came and made good their repair.

Icon

Chris, La Coste

On Feb 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have responded and provided quality contractors every time. We bought an older home and are very happy we included American Home Shield in our purchase! Heating issues, washer and dishwasher issues, plumbing issues all coming up 30 days after our purchase and yes we had a very good home inspection prior to purchase. Only small challenge I had was with a communication barrier taking my maintenance requests. Additionally all contractors communicated they were on their way and provided follow up on the repair.

Icon

CD, Copperas Cove

On Feb 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was quick on contacting someone to get my heater fixed on the same day. Awesome customer service and quick response time. Happy that I have them. One time service fee is also great! Don’t have to worry about coming out of pocket for any large costly repairs.

Icon

Alia Ouali, Killeen

On Feb 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is the best home warranty service you can get. Other than the peace of mind of having a home warranty, their services are efficient and reliable; we have them since last year and so far they fixed three of our appliances. We didn\'t have to deal with phones calls or emails, the service request is just one click away. We are very appreciative to have them!!!

Icon

Victor Tran, Frisco

On Feb 03, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS gives me peace of mind as a first-time homeowner when it comes to appliances, plumbing and all the other big items that they greatly cover. Their easy-to-use request form, instant response time and amazingly friendly tech companies make the whole experience an absolute delight.

Icon

Dudley Lloyd, Bedford

On Jan 30, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I thought my washer was leaking water. When the technician got here he found it is a plumbing leak and close the request, instead of transferring the request to a plumber. Another $108.25 spent to have someone clarify what was wrong.

Icon

Jessie Andrews, Bridge City

On Jan 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

For the most part I’ve been happy with AHS. When I had my hot water heater replaced, I had to pay an extra fee to Short Plumbing because my hot water heater was in the attic. I didn’t feel that was FAIR. I was told it took an extra man to remove old one from attic and I didn’t think that was my responsibility. They sent me a *** **** from 7-H appliance repair to check dishwasher and he was rude and didn’t fix my problem. A and E came this week and is getting the problem resolved. Now I’m waiting for an E card to ****’s to replace the dishwasher. Thank you.

Icon

C Leonard, San Antonio

On Jan 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Repair service was excellent. The Appliance Guy, ****, did a great job. Repair was to ice maker in our refrigerator. Juan found a broken wire and fixed it in less than 30 minutes.

Icon

Lyn Clements, Tyler

On Jan 22, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My Maytag washer purchased in 2018 stopped working on Nov. 18, 2020, due to a malfunctioning lid lock. I had purchased their 5 year extended warranty. The part has been on back order since then and as of Jan. 22, 2021, I am still without a washer. Lowes refuses to refund or replace the washer and insists I have to wait until the part is available.

Icon

Thomas Walker, Round Rock

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

*** was very professional and knowledgeable concerning the electrical issue. Look forward to continuing to receive good service from American Home Shield. We’ve been customers since 2005. Ease of scheduling and quick acknowledgment of the request.

Icon

Doug Bearden, Hurst

On Jan 21, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have had 2 different repairs and both times they had part needed on van and repaired in a very short time. Very knowledgeable repair tech,repaired my gas oven and second time my over the stovr microwave.

Icon

Perry Carlson, College Station

On Jan 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When we purchased our new home we noticed that both toilets rocked, and one of the toilet anchor bolts was broken. We called American Home Shield and paid the $75 dollar fee, a plumber contacted us, scheduled a time to come out, and fixed both toilets.

Icon

Katherine Smart, Denton

On Jan 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My husband and I have chosen American Home Shield for all our homes since the late 1980\'s. They have been great to work with. Their choice of contractors have been first class and follow up has always been great. I have and will continue to recommend their services to anyone who\'s looking for a home warranty company. Thank you AHS! Kathy and Ron of Denton, Texas.

Icon

ReVae , Corpus Christi

On Jan 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am highly disappointed at the service from American Home Shield. All this company does is take your money and not help at all when something really breaks! This is the timeline of the “help” I received. 10/23/2020 – Needed service on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling 12/10/2020 – Needed service again on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling (had to pay the service fee again) 12/29/2020 – Needed service again on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling (had to pay the service fee AGAIN and request a new subcontractor to look at it) My debit card number changed. They were quick to call to say my monthly payment was rejected but still hadn’t fixed my refrigerator 1/11/2021 - After my final service appointment, they finally agreed to buy me a new refrigerator via e-card. It should take up to 5 business days to receive from Lowe’s 1/14/2021 – Tell me my e-card will be sent from Lowe’s 5 days from yesterday when it was processed. Was told if you call in to AHS they process it faster than when you select an option they send you via email. HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED AND DISTRURBED AT THE WAY THIS COMPANY IS RUN. I HOPE THEY NEVER HAVE TO HAVE THEIR FAMILY EAT FOOD OUT OF ICE CHESTS BECAUSE THEIR REFRIGERATOR HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR OVER A MONTH AND HAVE HAD NO ASSISTANCE!!!!!!!!

Icon

David, Houston

On Jan 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

There was no follow up on the call, the person came out and was missing a tool so he had to come back. I had to chase AHS in order to schedule his next visit, after drywall needed some patches and again no follow up and it took almost three weeks and several calls to get it scheduled. A better job about scheduling needs to be done, to say the least, no issues on the contractor side, both that came out where really good.

Icon

Julia Ji, Houston

On Jan 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The repair team was very professional and responsive. When they determined that my appliance was not repairable, they worked closely with AHS and then AHS provided me with a few replacement options the next day. They even followed up afterwards to make sure my problem was being taken care of. The only thing I would suggest that could improve is the replacement email as the instruction is slightly misleading. But that is just a minor thing. Overall I am very satisfied with the service I received from AHS and the repair team.

Icon

Elizabeth Gay Swanson, San Antonio

On Jan 07, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I did have to have more than one person come out due to the vent being clogged the first time and American Shield Home Warranty does not work on the dryer vents. After the vent was cleaned the vent cleaner did not put in a new flange which holds the vent and coil together. Again this is not covered by ASHW. I was asked to have the vent cleaner out again. The third man that came to fix the dryer noticed a part was bent in the dryer and it needed replacing to allow the air to flow properly out the vent. He gave me the name of another company that cleans vents and replaced the flange. I was very pleased with the problem being resolved and the recommendation for a company that could complete the job.

Icon

April Estrada, Lewisville

On Jan 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

at first the service was questionable - making me question whether we made the right decision to choose AHS - but letting them know we could not wait a week for a repair due to the 4 yr old frig went totally out was out of question - they were able to get someone out within 2 days - our repair person very informative and had great service.

Icon

DELORIS , Lindale

On Jan 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had excellent service from both electric companies. BJ’s had a small hiccup because the switch for the stove did not fit twice. He had to reorder it. When it came in, he fixed it within a couple of minutes.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE