ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: January 13, 2021

Best Home Warranty Companies In Texas

Texas is one of the best states to live in as the monthly home maintenance costs are less than 15% of the household income for most people. But more than 50% of Texas homes were built prior to 1999 and thus the home maintenance costs may rise over time. If you live in bigger cities like Austin or Houston, where the cost of living is high, a residential warranty can protect your home items and your pocket by reducing the proportion of household budget devoted to unexpected repairs.

We understand that choosing an ideal home warranty provider among the best home warranty companies in Texas can be challenging. To help you with your search, we at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have listed home warranties in Texas with premium and deductibles details and customer reviews.

SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

Home Warranty Companies In Texas

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 834 Reviews
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$499

SERVICE FEE

$50, $100, $125

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
3.5
/ 5
Based on 1,928 Reviews
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

OneGuard Home Warranties

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 393 Reviews
  • Oneguard Home Warranties has been providing home warranty services since 1990
  • Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • Policy has no waiting period
mapicon

The company provides you quick response time to make sure all your items are up and running ASAP.

PRICING

$399-$599+

SERVICE FEE

$69

mapicon

Landmark Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 1,352 Reviews
  • Provides regular HVAC tune-ups
  • Regional warranty provider serving Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, and Utah
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Best Regional
mapicon

PRICING

$410-$670

SERVICE FEE

$60, $70, $100

mapicon

Liberty Home Guard

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 39 Reviews
mapicon

PRICING

$399 - $599

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In texas

To make it easier for you to decide on a home warranty company, we have created a graph that shows you the average premium in Texas. The average premium for home warranty plans in Texas is $324.07, and the average deductible is $41.93. The X-axis indicates the number of homeowners, while the Y-axis indicates the premium price.

Average Premium In texas

Min Average Premium in texas Max $ 325.24 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in texas (TX) major towns:

Arlington Austin Corpus Christi
Dallas El Paso Fort Worth
Houston Laredo Lubbock

Population : 25,144,800

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Texas

Many companies offer warranty plans in Texas that include coverage for all major home systems and appliances. Here, we have listed popular plans offered by leading warranty companies. The quality of services and coverage options differ from one company to another.

American Home Shield (AHS) is the industry leader in offering warranty plans. The company offers plans, such as Systems plan, Appliances plan, Combo Plan and Build-Your-Own plan. Their plans range from $299-$499, and deductibles can cost between $75-$100.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) offers three plans, namely, Basic plan, Total plan, and optional coverage to their customers. The optional coverage protects additional home items at an additional cost.

First American Home Warranty (FAHW) is a popular warranty provider in Texas. The company offers a Basic plan and a Premium plan for its customers. Their plans' annual premium range from $334-$554, and deductible cost around $75. FAHW's Premium plan covers a wide range of home appliances and systems and is ideal for older homes.

Select Home Warranty, a leading warranty provider in Texas, offers a range of plans to their customers. The popular plans provided them include Gold plan, Bronze plan, and Platinum plan. The average deductible is approximately $75, and the annual premium cost up to $ 485.

Are you looking forward to buying a home warranty plan? Get your free home warranty quote from your preferred company.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Texas

  1. Some appliances and home systems are more prone to damage than others. So, when considering the extent of your home devices' coverage, make sure to give priority to the ones that get damaged more quickly due to the seasonal forces of nature.
  2. Some of your wisest choices can be based on other people’s first-hand experience with home warranty services. As a new home warranty buyer, enquire with your friends and neighbors about the best home warranty services in Texas that they have come across.
  3. Texas has sweltering summers. When temperatures soar high, many of your home appliances and systems have to work overtime to beat the heat. Therefore, they may eventually break down, so look for a home warranty with comprehensive coverage covering home items prone to damage in summer.
  4. A home warranty coverage is limited to the terms and conditions set by the company. Unless the damage to the home appliances and systems come within these pre-determined boundaries, your home warranty plan will be of no benefit to you. Make sure to read the fine print and exclusions before finalizing your decision on a particular home warranty plan.
  5. Make sure to do your homework. Take the initiative to know more about a home warranty company by visiting its website and reading customer reviews. Most home warranty service providers don’t cover pre-existing conditions, so ensure that your devices are functional.

Texas Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in Texas are incredibly diverse and are characterized by extreme temperatures, which can speed up normal wear of your household appliances and systems. Summers in Texas are hot and humid, and the major appliances most vulnerable during this time, are the refrigerators and the HVAC.

Both these items have to overwork to maintain the optimal temperatures, and this can exert immense strain on various parts and components of the machinery. This eventually results in the appliances breaking down, and fixing them can burn a hole in your pocket. But with a home warranty plan, you can get your appliances or systems fixed for a few dollars.

Winters of Texas aren't friendly either. So, be it in summer or winter, home warranty plans can protect your home appliances and systems and your pocket from a costly repair or replacement. With a home warranty, you can also get easy access to insured and licensed technicians' high-quality services, 24*7 customer service, unlimited service requests and many other benefits.

Several top home warranty companies offer excellent plan options at affordable rates in Texas. But before buying one, you must carefully analyze these plans regarding the coverage offered, service call fee, and annual and monthly premium. Always choose a plan that best fits your home’s requirements, needs, and budget.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best home warranty company in Texas?

Both regional and national home warranty companies serve Texas homeowners, and the best to the worst rating is therefore somewhat subjective based on customer preferences. Texan users of HomeWarrantyReviews.com have reviewed AHS, Choice Home Warranty, and THP favorably for the range of comprehensive plans, pricing, and technician quality.

Homeowners Insurance vs. Home Warranty: What's the Difference?

A home warranty is a service contract to obtain inexpensive repair and replacements of home systems and appliances wearing out usually. On the other hand, home insurance is meant to cover damage to the insides and outside of your home, losses due to theft, and liability coverage. Home insurance is a legal necessity to avail of a mortgage.

Are home warranties required in Texas?

Home warranties can be really useful in Texas because the heat accelerates the turnover of the covered systems and appliances. Therefore, breakdowns are more likely to occur, especially if you have an older home. They aren’t mandatory, unlike home insurance but having a plan gets you some peace of mind for a low monthly cost.

What are the home warranty regulations in Texas?

Home warranty operators are regulated by the Texas Real Estate Commission and self-regulated by the National Home Service Contract Association. NHSCA is an industry body where members are expected to adhere to certain standards. The companies have to operate according to the TREC guidelines and offer an efficient claims process.

Do home warranties cover plumbing stoppages?

Yes, home warranty plans cover plumbing stoppage repairs. If there are stoppages in drain and sewer lines up to 100 feet from access point, leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines, the home warranty technician will fix it. However, home warranty companies exclude stoppages due to roots, collapsed, broken, or damaged lines, especially, outside the perimeter of the main foundation.

Texas Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Customer reviews will help you determine which company offers the best service in Texas. To help you gain better insight into the quality of services provided by various home warranty companies in Texas, we, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have listed genuine customer reviews. You can read reviews about different home warranty companies in Texas here.

Icon

Julia Ji, Houston

On Jan 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The repair team was very professional and responsive. When they determined that my appliance was not repairable, they worked closely with AHS and then AHS provided me with a few replacement options the next day. They even followed up afterwards to make sure my problem was being taken care of. The only thing I would suggest that could improve is the replacement email as the instruction is slightly misleading. But that is just a minor thing. Overall I am very satisfied with the service I received from AHS and the repair team.

Icon

Elizabeth Gay Swanson, San Antonio

On Jan 07, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I did have to have more than one person come out due to the vent being clogged the first time and American Shield Home Warranty does not work on the dryer vents. After the vent was cleaned the vent cleaner did not put in a new flange which holds the vent and coil together. Again this is not covered by ASHW. I was asked to have the vent cleaner out again. The third man that came to fix the dryer noticed a part was bent in the dryer and it needed replacing to allow the air to flow properly out the vent. He gave me the name of another company that cleans vents and replaced the flange. I was very pleased with the problem being resolved and the recommendation for a company that could complete the job.

Icon

April Estrada, Lewisville

On Jan 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

at first the service was questionable - making me question whether we made the right decision to choose AHS - but letting them know we could not wait a week for a repair due to the 4 yr old frig went totally out was out of question - they were able to get someone out within 2 days - our repair person very informative and had great service.

Icon

DELORIS , Lindale

On Jan 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had excellent service from both electric companies. BJ’s had a small hiccup because the switch for the stove did not fit twice. He had to reorder it. When it came in, he fixed it within a couple of minutes.

Icon

Kimberley Bell, Houston

On Jan 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve enjoyed AHS for the past 3 years, but had my very first disappointment with a vendor. SAP Home Services for my kitchen sink link. When the rep arrived, he refused to stay more than a few minutes stating the leak was fixed. I advised him the leak was coming from a different area, but he disagreed with me saying it was fixed. The next morning, I had another flood under my kitchen sink, now the cabinet is buckling. I called AHS back, but was told they could not get the plumber back out until the next day, even under my emergency situation. I'm very disappointed because I depended on my home warranty to send a company out in my emergency.

Icon

Andrew Ribar, Medina

On Dec 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our hot water heater went out on Christmas Eve, so we called AHS. A house full of visitors left early. Today is New Years Eve and we still don\'t have hot water and nobody has come out. AHS customer service assures us that somebody will fix our water heater next week, some time, January 4th or later. They did take service call charge out of our account promptly.

Icon

Phutnoo, Lake Dallas

On Dec 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

WOW...first experience with this company and I must admit it was horrific. Could hardly understand their representative and then they assigned a plumbing company who has horrible reviews as well to address a gas leak. The plumber got here and spent 3 minutes and guessed that the issue was the result of a punctured line from roofing contractor but never evaluated it properly. Then AHS denied coverage and quoted me $2700 to fix it. I said W T F as this was a guess not a correct evaluation. Had it fixed for $180. AVOID THIS SCAM AGENCY!

Icon

Eric Pritchard , Belton

On Dec 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Waste of time and money. Hold time when calling is unacceptable and then the agent will put you on another long hold to check for resolution, only to back back with unsatisfactory solutions.

Icon

William Balmer, Alba

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I put in a request for service for a clogged kitchen sink drain and it is 6 days later and the contractor hasn\'t shown up. He said he was busy and would be here yesterday afternoon, but he never showed up and never called. I tried calling him, but he doesn\'t answer and his voicemail is full. I am really mad. I call AHS and find out it is a 10-20 minute wait to talk to someone. Online chat is the same way.

Icon

Ilona Pope, New Braunfels

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cant stress it enough. DO NOT PURCHASE A HOME WARRANTY FROM THIS COMPANY. Our oven went out in August. It is now the end of the year and I still do not have a replacement. Their supplier is out of the our oven model, yet we can find the exact model (using the model number AHS gave us) everywhere. *******, *****, *********, *****, you name it, they have it. But AHS cant get one??? Fraud. They try to get us to take the cash out option; but it is LESS THAN HALF of the cost of the appliance! And then we would still have to pay to get it installed. This is a fraudulent company and will not do anything about replacing your broken appliances.

Icon

Lezlie Kinunen, Grapevine

On Dec 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

***** and his team from Service 1 Heating and Air were awesome! They did back-breaking work in my less than accommodating attic on my less than accommodating retractable ladder. Despite setbacks from *****, they remained professional and quickly readjusted their plan. The job was completed on time (they had Christmas carols playing while they slaved in my horrible attic), and helped me label my breaker panel correctly. ***** explained what was happening w/the system once it was up and running, tweaked it to perfection, called ***** to make sure I was getting all information correct regarding service enhancements before I signed off on the loan. They cleaned the floors before they left, even though I told them not to bother, and made sure I had a contact number if any problems arose. Too, ***** **** went above and beyond to find a furnace quickly, kept me informed (worked past 7:00), was very pleasant, and available for any and all questions! I cant say enough about the entire process. I would recommend Service 1 wholeheartedly to anyone needing HVAC replacement or repair.

Icon

Richard Hester, Allen

On Dec 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS home warranty program works great. I had my furnace, stove, and AC fixed. I think it\'s pricey due to the monthly fee and co-payment when service is needed. The vendors who work with AHS are good.

Icon

Meyata Farley, Red Oak

On Dec 15, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My Whirlpool refrigerator has been out since November 14th. They sent a technician out who said the part would be in in 5-10 business days. It\'s been 16 business days and no word from them. I leave messages with no return call. So I call Lowes customer service to get an update. They said someone will call in 2 business days. No one calls. I call back and they tell me the same thing. Another 2 business days go by and still no call. I call yet agaim and I'm assured that someone will call or email me in 1 business day. Guess what? Still nothing. I've been a whole month without a refrigerator and not answers. I will NEVER buy another appliance from Lowes. Worst service ever. Now I'm about to go into the Christmas holiday with no refrigerator just like I did for Thanksgiving. Trash company!!

Icon

Sue Coles, Austin

On Dec 12, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company (USAir) was recommended for my heating problem. The tech that came was only at my home for a few minutes and did not fix the problem. I called the company and two days later a second tech was perfect and fixed the problem, was very cordial, and replaced the thermostat which should have been done on the first trip. My home was cold for the two days. Im happy with AHS but definitely not ***** and would not have them in my home again!

Icon

Ade, Missouri City

On Dec 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

No fuss no hassle request made online. Contacted within 24 hrs by the contractor. Initial problem diagnosed and fixed but inital problem had caused a fuse box issue not diagnosed. Electrical team sent out to fix fuse and I don\'t have to hand wash dishes.

Icon

Kay Savant, Arlington

On Dec 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had problems calling in my repair request...the voice activated non human contact did not work well at all! I FINALLY got to a real life person after a long wait on the phone. I was VERY impressed with F6 plumbing and their prompt & professional assistance but the problem I found unacceptable was the robot answering the phone and trying to be a human...it just does not work!

Icon

Cher P, San Antonio

On Dec 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Exceptional Service from the company that American Home Shield supplied. Technicians were very fast and professional. The company sent a technician out the next day and made all repairs within 5 days because it was a holiday weekend.

Icon

T Philips, Georgetown

On Nov 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Been with American Home shield for 8 years, never missed a payment. Had my first claim with them on water heater that had to be replaced. They came out, agreed it had to be replaced. 4 weeks later still without hot water. No calls, no texts and 2 hours of wasted calling in to hear same old message that It has been ordered. After giving up, I asked for a cash out (at lower price) but at least I could then go and buy my own water heater and install myself. Not so fast, they said "you need to purchase it your self and submit all copies of who did the work before they would even consider the claim". TERRIBLE COMPANY, HORRIBLE CS, STAY AWAY!!!

Icon

Mazhar, Spring

On Nov 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Reasonably okay - quality of repair is not that satisfactory - it keep breaking again Should have more qualified contractors and the ones who take ownership of the work , they do act timely but quality is lacking

Icon

Barbara Merriwether, Richmond

On Nov 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Last week my water heater stopped producing hot water. American Home Shield worked diligently with me and the technician to ensure that it was working properly again. I received both an email and a text before each visit to keep me abreast of what was going to happen and when to expect it to happen.

Icon

Trevor Isra, Cypress

On Nov 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

After our new build home warranty expired, I needed a peace of mind for everyday life’s unexpected. That peace of mind is American Home Shield (AHS). We just encounter our first stress tester. Upstair A/C was not working. I submitted a claim online, 10 minutes later I was connected to a tech. Tech visited, diagnose, communicated with AHS, AHS approved, parts ordered, and repair completed. Whole experience took about 4 days with ordering parts, but the experience as a home owner was flawless. Everything agreed upon on contract was upheld. For less then $3 a day, I’m feeling bless then stress.

Icon

Thomas Kraven, Wylie

On Nov 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent service, which included a 90 day direct, no cost call back should the part replaced fail. We were warned that this happens on occasion and did not want us to have to go thru AHS to be serviced again.

Icon

Tyrone Faust, Kingwood

On Nov 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our AC contractor was awesome - they came right out on Monday when our ac went out on Friday - this contractor was exceptional! Having said that, not all their contractors are this good in my opinion, but communication is always good and the contractors always fix the problem!

Icon

Judy OBar, Kingwood

On Nov 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We recently called American Home Shield (AHS) for a problem with our dishwasher. It was determined that there was a problem with the motor, and a new one was ordered and installed. The problem occurred again the next time the dishwasher was used. This time my husband recorded the sound being made by the dishwasher and called the repairman and played the recording for him. He made a diagnosis and came out again to install a new part. Our dishwasher is now working like new, and we are very happy with it. This is the second problem we have had since we started coverage with AHS early this year. Based on our experience, AHS is an excellent company and we highly recommend them.

Icon

Thomas Bridges, San Antonio

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am disappointed with AHS, have been a customer for 12 years. My washing machine stopped working and it was not repairable. Rather than replace the machine, AHS offered to reimburse me with 50-60% value. this is not customer service and other companies replace item in question. I thought AHS was a fair customer focussed company, but I was totally mistaken, there appears to be no honor, nor provide customer service.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020