ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: June 21, 2021

Best Home Warranty Companies In Texas

As a Texan homeowner, the last thing you want is to be stranded with a broken-down AC or refrigerator in the hot summer months. Considering that over half the homes in Texas were built before 1999, it's highly likely that home maintenance costs will rise due to age-related wear and tear. A home warranty plan can come to your rescue with the coverage you need for repairs and replacements of these critical home systems and appliances.

As the state with the second-largest economy, Texas has several home warranty providers offering plans. We have evaluated the major home warranty companies in Texas to present our readers with unbiased reviews of their offerings, customer service, pricing, and recommended the best options.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

TOTAL HOME PROTECTION

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Top Home Warranty Companies In texas

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Total Protect Home Warranty provides a 180-day workmanship guarantee for any covered repairs and replacements
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Offers a coverage limit of $10K
mapicon

PRICING

$491 - $1055

SERVICE FEE

$100

mapicon

Globe Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 4.4
  • Been in the industry since 1994
mapicon

PRICING

$369 - $459

SERVICE FEE

$50

mapicon

Home Warranty Inc

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.2
  • Been in the industry since 1999
mapicon

PRICING

$480

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Residential Warranty average deductible for a contract is $54.26
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Network of N/A service contractors
mapicon

PRICING

$402

SERVICE FEE

$50

mapicon

Global Home USA Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.0
  • Been in the industry since 1994
mapicon

PRICING

$360-$500

SERVICE FEE

$50-$75

mapicon

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Lowe's is the second largest hardware chain in the United States
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.9
mapicon

PRICING

$348

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.8
  • Been in the industry since 1978
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 1.6
mapicon

PRICING

$N/A

SERVICE FEE

$N/A

mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 3
mapicon

PRICING

N/A

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Complete Care Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 5
  • Been in the industry since 2016
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 5
mapicon

PRICING

N/A

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS COVERAGE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$349-$499

SERVICE FEE

$45 or $60

mapicon

IMPORTANT TIPS ON BUYING A HOME WARRANTY IN TEXAS

Some systems and appliances are more prone to breaking down than others, depending on the climate where you live. Begin your home warranty research by taking inventory of all such home systems and appliances.

  1. A home warranty coverage is limited to the terms and conditions set by the company. Unless the damage to the home appliances and systems come within these pre-determined boundaries, your home warranty plan will be of no benefit to you. Make sure to read the fine print and exclusions before finalizing your decision on a particular home warranty plan.
  2. Find out everything about a home warranty company by visiting its website and reading customer reviews. Most home warranty service providers don’t cover pre-existing conditions, so ensure that your devices are passing home inspection tests beforehand.
  3. Texas has sweltering summers. When the temperatures soar high, many of your home appliances and systems have to work overtime to beat the heat. Therefore, look for a home warranty with comprehensive coverage of home items prone to damage in summer.
  4. As a new home warranty buyer, enquire with your friends and neighbors about the best home warranty services in Texas that they have come across.

A GLIMPSE AT AVERAGE PREMIUM IN TEXAS

To help you figure out how much Texans spend on home warranty, we have compiled some data and represented the pricing information in a graph. Most Texas homeowners choose mid-range home warranties at an average premium of $324.07 and a deductible of $75. Some homeowners prefer more comprehensive coverage and are willing to shell out more and vice versa.

Average Premium In texas

Min Average Premium in texas Max $ 319.43 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in texas (TX) major towns:

Arlington Austin Corpus Christi
Dallas El Paso Fort Worth
Houston Laredo Lubbock

Population : 25,144,800

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

TOP HOME WARRANTY PLANS IN THE STATE OF TEXAS

Many companies offer warranty plans in Texas that include coverage for all major home systems and appliances. Here, we have listed popular plans offered by leading warranty companies. The quality of services and coverage options differ from one company to another.

Total Home Protection: The Platinum Plan offered by Total Home Protection is ideal for the Texas home that uses the HVAC system extensively. With air conditioning. Ductwork, heating system coverage along with optional coverage for additional heating and A/C systems, plus 17 more items, this plan offers the comprehensive protection needed by older homes. Get your free quote to find out the exact premium and you can also avail a $200 discount.

American Home Shield: The ShieldGold plan by AHS is quite popular with homeowners who don’t need very extensive coverage but want their HVAC systems and plumbing covered well. The ShieldGold plan has an appliance coverage cap of $3000 per item.

Select Home Warranty: Some Texan homeowners only want some basic coverage over home systems that are used extensively like the HVAC systems, and electrical systems. The Select Home Warranty Gold Care plan is quite popular. The premium is quite affordable as you can find out from your free quote and there are often discounts from the company.

TEXAS WEATHER CONDITIONS AND IMPACT ON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS

Weather conditions in Texas are characterized by extreme temperatures, which can speed up the normal wear of your household appliances and systems. Summers in Texas are hot and humid, and the appliances most vulnerable at this time are the refrigerators and the HVAC system.

The overwork to maintain optimal temperatures exerts immense strain on various parts and components of the machinery. This eventually results in the appliances breaking down, and fixing them can burn a hole in your pocket. But with a home warranty plan, you can get your appliances or systems fixed for a few dollars.

Texas winters aren't friendly either and cause the heating systems to be vulnerable to wearing out. So, be it in summer or winter, home warranty plans can protect your home appliances and systems from a costly repair or replacement. With a home warranty, you can also get easy access to insured and licensed technicians, 24*7 customer service, unlimited service requests and many other benefits.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best home warranty company in Texas?

Both regional and national home warranty companies serve Texas homeowners, and the best to the worst rating is therefore somewhat subjective based on customer preferences. Texan users of HomeWarrantyReviews.com have reviewed Choice Home Warranty, Total Home Protection and AHS favorably for the range of plans, pricing, and technician quality.

How do I make a home warranty claim?

To file a home warranty claim, you have to login in to your customer account on the website or call up the customer support team of the home warranty company. You have to describe the problem and the service representatives will schedule a visit from a licensed technician. If the technician determines that the breakdown is covered by the policy, the company will pay for the service.

Are home warranties required in Texas?

Home warranties can be really useful in Texas because the heat accelerates the turnover of the covered systems and appliances. Therefore, breakdowns are more likely to occur, especially if you have an older home. They aren’t mandatory, unlike home insurance, but having a plan gets you some peace of mind for a low monthly cost.

What are the home warranty regulations in Texas?

Home warranty operators are regulated by the Texas Real Estate Commission and self-regulated by the National Home Service Contract Association. NHSCA is an industry body where members are expected to adhere to certain standards. The companies have to operate according to the TREC guidelines and offer an efficient claims process.

Do home warranties cover plumbing stoppages?

Many home warranty companies do cover plumbing stoppages like Select Home Warranty. If there are stoppages in drain and sewer lines up to 100 feet from the access point, leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines, the home warranty technician will fix it. However, home warranty companies exclude stoppages due to roots, collapsed, broken, or damaged lines, especially, outside the perimeter of the main foundation.

How to file a home warranty deed in Texas?

A home warranty deed has nothing to do with home warranty for repairs and replacements. It's a document that establishes you as the rightful owner of your property with no competing claims. You can file a home warranty deed by getting one from your real estate agent or downloading it online. Fill it up with the right documentation and then get a signature before a public notary.

What does a home warranty cover?

A home warranty covers most home systems like HVAC, electrical and plumbing systems, and home appliances like washing machines, refrigerators, built-in microwave, oven, range and cooktop, garbage disposal, etc. The exact coverage details are specified in the contract and should be studied carefully. Home warranties do not cover all parts and components of the mentioned systems and appliances.

Is a residential service contract the same as a home warranty?

Yes, a residential service contract is the same thing as a home warranty. Home warranty companies are also called residential service contract companies.

Homeowners insurance vs. home warranty: what's the difference?

Homeowners insurance is a mandatory requirement for getting a mortgage. It's an insurance policy that covers the cost of destruction and damage to the exterior and interior of a house, losses due to theft and personal liability for accidents. On the other hand home warranty is a service contract that covers the cost of repair and replacement of home systems and appliances due to normal wear and tear.

Texas Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Ed Reynolds, Austin

On Feb 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I bought an infrastructure warranty on an older home in Texas ad, guess what? The heat failed during the snowpocalypse! But American Home Shield\'s warranty company was the first one to become available to come and fix it and the company they chose did an excellent job. They even found a wiring problem that contributed to the failure and filed a claim for me with AHS. All working great now.

Icon

Harvey S McClanahan Jr, Hutto

On Feb 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Used the website to submit a claim and once tech was scheduled, I was able to let him know issue and schedule an appointment. Repair was completed in one visit. Tech was professional and cleaned up after he completed the job. He showed me the completed job and explained everything.

Icon

Walter Warner, San Antonio

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Heating System not working. AHS dispatched a heating company even in ice. They came and did not fix it correctly. I advised AHS and they immediately contacted the company in the snow they came and made good their repair.

Icon

Chris, La Coste

On Feb 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have responded and provided quality contractors every time. We bought an older home and are very happy we included American Home Shield in our purchase! Heating issues, washer and dishwasher issues, plumbing issues all coming up 30 days after our purchase and yes we had a very good home inspection prior to purchase. Only small challenge I had was with a communication barrier taking my maintenance requests. Additionally all contractors communicated they were on their way and provided follow up on the repair.

Icon

CD, Copperas Cove

On Feb 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was quick on contacting someone to get my heater fixed on the same day. Awesome customer service and quick response time. Happy that I have them. One time service fee is also great! Don’t have to worry about coming out of pocket for any large costly repairs.

Icon

Alia Ouali, Killeen

On Feb 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is the best home warranty service you can get. Other than the peace of mind of having a home warranty, their services are efficient and reliable; we have them since last year and so far they fixed three of our appliances. We didn\'t have to deal with phones calls or emails, the service request is just one click away. We are very appreciative to have them!!!

Icon

Victor Tran, Frisco

On Feb 03, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS gives me peace of mind as a first-time homeowner when it comes to appliances, plumbing and all the other big items that they greatly cover. Their easy-to-use request form, instant response time and amazingly friendly tech companies make the whole experience an absolute delight.

Icon

Dudley Lloyd, Bedford

On Jan 30, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I thought my washer was leaking water. When the technician got here he found it is a plumbing leak and close the request, instead of transferring the request to a plumber. Another $108.25 spent to have someone clarify what was wrong.

Icon

Jessie Andrews, Bridge City

On Jan 29, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

For the most part I’ve been happy with AHS. When I had my hot water heater replaced, I had to pay an extra fee to Short Plumbing because my hot water heater was in the attic. I didn’t feel that was FAIR. I was told it took an extra man to remove old one from attic and I didn’t think that was my responsibility. They sent me a *** **** from 7-H appliance repair to check dishwasher and he was rude and didn’t fix my problem. A and E came this week and is getting the problem resolved. Now I’m waiting for an E card to ****’s to replace the dishwasher. Thank you.

Icon

C Leonard, San Antonio

On Jan 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Repair service was excellent. The Appliance Guy, ****, did a great job. Repair was to ice maker in our refrigerator. Juan found a broken wire and fixed it in less than 30 minutes.

Icon

Lyn Clements, Tyler

On Jan 22, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My Maytag washer purchased in 2018 stopped working on Nov. 18, 2020, due to a malfunctioning lid lock. I had purchased their 5 year extended warranty. The part has been on back order since then and as of Jan. 22, 2021, I am still without a washer. Lowes refuses to refund or replace the washer and insists I have to wait until the part is available.

Icon

Thomas Walker, Round Rock

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

*** was very professional and knowledgeable concerning the electrical issue. Look forward to continuing to receive good service from American Home Shield. We’ve been customers since 2005. Ease of scheduling and quick acknowledgment of the request.

Icon

Doug Bearden, Hurst

On Jan 21, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have had 2 different repairs and both times they had part needed on van and repaired in a very short time. Very knowledgeable repair tech,repaired my gas oven and second time my over the stovr microwave.

Icon

Perry Carlson, College Station

On Jan 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When we purchased our new home we noticed that both toilets rocked, and one of the toilet anchor bolts was broken. We called American Home Shield and paid the $75 dollar fee, a plumber contacted us, scheduled a time to come out, and fixed both toilets.

Icon

Katherine Smart, Denton

On Jan 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My husband and I have chosen American Home Shield for all our homes since the late 1980\'s. They have been great to work with. Their choice of contractors have been first class and follow up has always been great. I have and will continue to recommend their services to anyone who\'s looking for a home warranty company. Thank you AHS! Kathy and Ron of Denton, Texas.

Icon

ReVae , Corpus Christi

On Jan 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am highly disappointed at the service from American Home Shield. All this company does is take your money and not help at all when something really breaks! This is the timeline of the “help” I received. 10/23/2020 – Needed service on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling 12/10/2020 – Needed service again on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling (had to pay the service fee again) 12/29/2020 – Needed service again on my refrigerator because it wasn’t cooling (had to pay the service fee AGAIN and request a new subcontractor to look at it) My debit card number changed. They were quick to call to say my monthly payment was rejected but still hadn’t fixed my refrigerator 1/11/2021 - After my final service appointment, they finally agreed to buy me a new refrigerator via e-card. It should take up to 5 business days to receive from Lowe’s 1/14/2021 – Tell me my e-card will be sent from Lowe’s 5 days from yesterday when it was processed. Was told if you call in to AHS they process it faster than when you select an option they send you via email. HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED AND DISTRURBED AT THE WAY THIS COMPANY IS RUN. I HOPE THEY NEVER HAVE TO HAVE THEIR FAMILY EAT FOOD OUT OF ICE CHESTS BECAUSE THEIR REFRIGERATOR HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR OVER A MONTH AND HAVE HAD NO ASSISTANCE!!!!!!!!

Icon

David, Houston

On Jan 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

There was no follow up on the call, the person came out and was missing a tool so he had to come back. I had to chase AHS in order to schedule his next visit, after drywall needed some patches and again no follow up and it took almost three weeks and several calls to get it scheduled. A better job about scheduling needs to be done, to say the least, no issues on the contractor side, both that came out where really good.

Icon

Julia Ji, Houston

On Jan 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The repair team was very professional and responsive. When they determined that my appliance was not repairable, they worked closely with AHS and then AHS provided me with a few replacement options the next day. They even followed up afterwards to make sure my problem was being taken care of. The only thing I would suggest that could improve is the replacement email as the instruction is slightly misleading. But that is just a minor thing. Overall I am very satisfied with the service I received from AHS and the repair team.

Icon

Elizabeth Gay Swanson, San Antonio

On Jan 07, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I did have to have more than one person come out due to the vent being clogged the first time and American Shield Home Warranty does not work on the dryer vents. After the vent was cleaned the vent cleaner did not put in a new flange which holds the vent and coil together. Again this is not covered by ASHW. I was asked to have the vent cleaner out again. The third man that came to fix the dryer noticed a part was bent in the dryer and it needed replacing to allow the air to flow properly out the vent. He gave me the name of another company that cleans vents and replaced the flange. I was very pleased with the problem being resolved and the recommendation for a company that could complete the job.

Icon

April Estrada, Lewisville

On Jan 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

at first the service was questionable - making me question whether we made the right decision to choose AHS - but letting them know we could not wait a week for a repair due to the 4 yr old frig went totally out was out of question - they were able to get someone out within 2 days - our repair person very informative and had great service.

Icon

DELORIS , Lindale

On Jan 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had excellent service from both electric companies. BJ’s had a small hiccup because the switch for the stove did not fit twice. He had to reorder it. When it came in, he fixed it within a couple of minutes.

Icon

Kimberley Bell, Houston

On Jan 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve enjoyed AHS for the past 3 years, but had my very first disappointment with a vendor. SAP Home Services for my kitchen sink link. When the rep arrived, he refused to stay more than a few minutes stating the leak was fixed. I advised him the leak was coming from a different area, but he disagreed with me saying it was fixed. The next morning, I had another flood under my kitchen sink, now the cabinet is buckling. I called AHS back, but was told they could not get the plumber back out until the next day, even under my emergency situation. I'm very disappointed because I depended on my home warranty to send a company out in my emergency.

Icon

Andrew Ribar, Medina

On Dec 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our hot water heater went out on Christmas Eve, so we called AHS. A house full of visitors left early. Today is New Years Eve and we still don\'t have hot water and nobody has come out. AHS customer service assures us that somebody will fix our water heater next week, some time, January 4th or later. They did take service call charge out of our account promptly.

Icon

Phutnoo, Lake Dallas

On Dec 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

WOW...first experience with this company and I must admit it was horrific. Could hardly understand their representative and then they assigned a plumbing company who has horrible reviews as well to address a gas leak. The plumber got here and spent 3 minutes and guessed that the issue was the result of a punctured line from roofing contractor but never evaluated it properly. Then AHS denied coverage and quoted me $2700 to fix it. I said W T F as this was a guess not a correct evaluation. Had it fixed for $180. AVOID THIS SCAM AGENCY!

Icon

Eric Pritchard , Belton

On Dec 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Waste of time and money. Hold time when calling is unacceptable and then the agent will put you on another long hold to check for resolution, only to back back with unsatisfactory solutions.