ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN alexandria, virginia

city icon CITY: Alexandria
country icon COUNTRY: Alexandria city
state icon STATE: VA
population icon POPULATION: 321490
area code icon AREA CODE: 5,71,703
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 22301, 22302, 22303, 22304, 22305,
city icon CITY: Alexandria
country icon COUNTRY: Alexandria city
state icon STATE: VA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 22301, 22302, 22303, 22304, 22305,
population icon POPULATION: 321490
area code icon AREA CODE: 5,71,703
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in alexandria, virginia

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,564 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,819 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,859 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,317 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(705 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

alexandria Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Kim, Alexandria

On Apr 24, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS for about a year. I went through them to get my washing machine repaired, and it has now been 23 days and my washing machine is still not repaired. That should speak for itself, but I\'ll go on. The contractor they utilized to come out and fix the washing machine has been horrible; they don\'t answer their phone or return calls, they have taken nearly a month to get a part, they didn't get the right parts...just an unending supply of excuses and poor customer service. I reached out several times to AHS, begging them to send a different contractor so I can, you know, do my laundry, and each time it has been an extreme hassle to even get through to a live person, and each time the customer service representative has been dismissive, rude, and not helpful in the slightest. This is unacceptable, in my opinion. Not to mention you have to pay a $75 service fee, so I have paid to be treated like dirt by this home warranty company. I will never, ever use this company again. Even if you are getting a free home warranty from a home seller, they are not worth it.

Icon

Fiona C, Alexandria

On Mar 20, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had them as my home warranty company for several years, and they have gotten worse and worse over the years. Most recently, my rates went up, and though I don\'t have automatic renewal, they began taking the higher rate out of my checking account without sending me a new contract to sign. In addition, my most recent service request has gone un-serviced. I was told the vendor would call me to make an appointment within 24 hours, I never got a call. When I called American Home Shield to find out what happened, after speaking to about 4 different representatives, no one was able to mitigate the issue by finding out what happened to the initial vendor or finding me a new one to take care of my service problems. I have sat on hold for literally hours at a time trying to get someone to help me. No help yet. But they happily take money from me every month. POOR customer service experience. I will definitely be looking for a new home warranty company.

Icon

Michel Rau, Alexandria

On Jul 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

A refrigerator in my rental house has been broken since early May 2018. AHS has sent multiple technicians to the house to attempt to fix it, all unsuccessful. The last technician replaced some leaking fluid on June 30 and told my tenant that if this did not work, then the fridge would need to be replaced. He indicated that AHS should call him to verify. When AHS called to verify he told them that the fridge was working when he left the last visit. I understand that AHS has to go by what the technician states, but they do not make it easy for the technician to call while still on the repair visit. After 2.5 months without a working fridge, this issue needs to be resolved, not with yet another technician visit. AHS would not budge on this and thus I am forced to purchase my a fridge in order to resolve this issue in a timely matter.

Icon

hiwota berhane, Alexandria

On Mar 15, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

When the problem is small it is ok to use them. But if you run into emergency you are waistting your money. Replacing washing machine and dryer took one month. During the coldest winter ever, my heating pump took 2wks leaving my tenants without heat. When my water heater leaked it took them 5 days to say it needs to be replaced and when I decided not to wait they refused to pay despite my leak was causing damages to my neighbors. Therefore I would never suggest AHS even to my worst enemy.

Icon

Tami Echard, Alexandria

On Sep 19, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

They were quick to get me an appointment. That part went smoothly. However, I have a Carrier Infinity AC System. I understand that it is pricy to fix and most companies do not carry the part. So it took quite some time to get the AC fixed. That was not the issue. I had a two stage system. They replaced the part with a one stage system. I did not know they were doing that. It decreased the efficiency of my expensive AC System. I wish they would have given me the two options and allowed me to pay the difference to keep my better system. On top of that, the new, sub-par part required reworking some duct work which was entirely my financial responsibility. Bottom line it's working, but I felt they just did what they could to get it to work and not what was best for me.

Icon

Sameera hosseini, Alexandria

On Aug 14, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

One of the best experience i had with home warranty. On month of July 2017 my ac blew regular air. I called the technician, scheduled an appointment. Technician told me my ac needs replacement and he needs to get approval. Within one week, hassle free, my ac was replaced. I highly recommend American Home Shield Warranty.

Icon

Shana, Alexandria

On Jul 21, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Each technician arrived in a timely manner and were courteous, professional, and knowledgeable. We did have a 5 day wait time for our hot water heater but that was due to the ordering process. HVAC repairs were extremely timely but did have to come back one more time due to a failure.

Icon

Tonya, Alexandria

On Jul 17, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I recently used my warranty to service my AC system. The appointment was made quickly and the technician provided great customer service. He diagnosed the issue which was a much less expensive repair quoted by other HVAC technicians. He also cleared the hose and showed me how to care for my system. The whole process was quick and easy.

Icon

Duane, Alexandria

On Jun 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I've used several home warranty companies in the past 10 years and they are all pathetic. But AHS is the worse. Aside from the 45 minute wait times to speak with someone on the phone, they are steadfast in their belief that equipment should be repaired over and over and over again but never, ever replaced. And don't get me started on the crap service providers that they hire. In my area at least, every provider that has come to my house barely speak English, and their office staff are just as bad. My most recent complaint regarding AHS concerns my AC. My 3-year old Trane system died a few weeks ago and the first provider sent by AHS said that it needed part "X' and that I would have to pay $1200 for all new refrigerant. This didn't sound right to me so I called the company who installed it. They disagreed and opined that the system was simply low on refrigerant. They wanted $450 to find the source or the leak and another $400 to add refrigerant. Hoping AHS would cover the cost to find the leak, I called them (thank you 45 minute on-hold wait times) and they agreed to send out another provider to get a second opinion. That provider agreed that the system was simply low on refrigerant. Three days later, AHS tells me they won't pay to find the source of the leak and would only authorize the provider to add some sort of 'stop leak' to the system. I would have to pay $300 for new refrigerant, and who knows how much refrigerant I'll have to buy later when the fix leak crap doesn't work. This is how AHS operates - they don't fix things the 'right way'; they fix them in the least expensive way possible. But, in my experience, all home warranty companies are like this. $60/mo might buy _some_ piece of mind, but don't count on AHS doing anything more than the bare minimum. Did I mention the insane wait times to reach them via phone? I'm on hold with them now and have been for 45 minutes. At noon. On a Wednesday. They just suck. Period.

Icon

Van Kazandjian, Alexandria

On Jan 13, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Hello, Every time, not just the last time, I have been so pleased with the results of having contacted AHS. I truly can't live without them. I'm a senior citizen on a very limited budget, but I make sure that I can afford to be covered by AHS. It's as important to me, as my car insurance. The people they send are always extremely courteous, professional, clean, personable and they get right to the issue, fixing the problem with speed and efficiency. I can't say enough good things about AHS. I've referred them to all of my friends and I am so thankful to my friend who told me about them. You might say, I'm a walking advertisement for AHS. Thank you for the security you provide me.

Icon

Maryam Balali, Alexandria

On Aug 02, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very dissatisfied with service timeliness. If a company that is supposed to find you repaire services, cannot disbatch anyone for 20 hours, then why am I paying them so much? My airconditioning is having problems so I called on Saturday and all I have been hearing is they cannot find anyone. It is so hot. If they are in this business, then they need to have companies on call over the weekends. Very poorly managed. I finally got a call that someone can come on Monday - in the middle of the hot summer. And then they offer that I can find my own contractor!!!! Are not they supposed to have many?

Icon

Ellis Dykes, Alexandria

On Apr 02, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

The contractor AirWise was here on time and did a great job. He was very clean. He found the problem and had to order the part, Once the part came in, it was repaired and is now working good. If we are to have any problems with our Heating and air we will request to have AirWise. They are a great company and have contractors that care for the customers.

Icon

Kristian De Meo, Alexandria

On Sep 17, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

BEWARE OF AHS. I have had an absolutely TERRIBLE experience so far with them. My washing machine broke and so AHS sent a contractor out to diagnose. No problem. I took off work and the contractor came out, inspected and submitted his diagnosis to AHS. AHS then set up a second contractor to come out for a second opinion, the following week. So I took off work again so that the second contractor could come out in which his diagnosis was the same as the first contractor's. Now today, I have received a call from a THIRD contracting company to set up a time to come out and DIAGNOSE the issue. So now we're heading into week three and I'm again, rearranging my schedule to wait for another contractor's diagnosis, and then wait and HOPE that AHS will "approve" the repair. AHS is also not very helpful when I call for assistance or help over the phone. In fact they are quite indifferent and aloof at best. It's safe to say that I am being bullied about and strung along by AHS, when it is their business to resolve and repair issues. I have more than paid for this one issue alone over the years and I would hope to expect leading service from a company who claims to provide it. I won't be recommending them to anyone.

Icon

Jennifer C, Alexandria

On May 29, 2012

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

I had Old Republic for two homes for two years in a row. The second year they raised their premium to $500 and deductible to $100 which made it too expensive to call them for service. It is my opinion that they are way too expensive. I ended up moving to Stanley Warranty which charges no deductibles. The coverage is the same and I saved $80 on the premium.

Icon

Wes, Alexandria

On May 29, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

I absolutely hate these people. We bought a house with the warranty included. After about 10 months we had a water supply pipe to our second floor bathroom leak and damage the ceiling on the first floor. So I called them to file a claim. Their response was that they ONLY cover plumbing repairs from the face of the wall out. SERIOUSLY??? 95% of plumbing is inside the walls!!!!!! To add insult to injury, their marketing people called me 2 days later (totally unaware that I'd tried to file a claim) and asked if i wanted to renew my policy. It was all I could do to keep from a) laughing at the representative b) chewing the rep out. Of course it wasn't her fault so I did neither. It's just a terrible company.

Icon

Rufus Littlejohn, Alexandria

On Mar 24, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

I bought the contract 2 months ago, and last week I called for a refrigerator repair. I was called by the service company within an hour and we scheduled an appointment for next day. Repairman arrived within my requested time window, diagnosed and completed his job in less than an hour. Paid $60.00 service fee for $400 worth of labor and parts. No worries here. I am buying more policies for my other rentals. Should have done it years ago and saved thousands on replacements and repairs. Very Pleased.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020