ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN chesapeake, virginia

city icon CITY: Chesapeake
country icon COUNTRY: Chesapeake city
state icon STATE: VA
population icon POPULATION: 222272
area code icon AREA CODE: 757
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 23320, 23321, 23322, 23323, 23324,
city icon CITY: Chesapeake
country icon COUNTRY: Chesapeake city
state icon STATE: VA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 23320, 23321, 23322, 23323, 23324,
population icon POPULATION: 222272
area code icon AREA CODE: 757
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in chesapeake, virginia

First American Home Warranty

3 / 5
(1,924 Reviews )

They have more than 35 years of experience in the industry. They offer several benefits to their customers, including flexible payment options, 30 days money-back guarantee, unlimited service calls, etc.

HSA Home Warranty

3 / 5
(2,175 Reviews )
The company was founded in 1984. Since their inception, HSA has served thousands of homeowners and has been recognized as one of the companies offering niche services. The standout feature of HSA is it is an online portal for solving customer problems.

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

4.5 / 5
(818 Reviews )

APHW has been in the industry since 1999. The company is known for providing roof coverage and accepting invoices for repairs from technicians they couldn't dispatch. APHW offers several benefits to its customers, such as allowing the customers to get their preferred technicians, among others.

Home Warranty of America

3 / 5
(2,192 Reviews )

The company has been protecting homeowners since 1996. Their policy comes into effect immediately and lasts for 13 months. They are committed to customer satisfaction and therefore offer 30 days recall period on labor and 90 days on parts.

Amazon Home Warranty

4.5 / 5
(300 Reviews )

Amazon Home Warranty offers three different plans for the diverse needs of homeowners. The company’s plans cover all your critical devices. Also, the company’s effective technicians tend to get all your claims promptly.

chesapeake Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Val claiborne, Chesapeake

On Dec 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Excellent response time. The repair was efficient and seamless. The technician was knowlegeable and very polite. Thank you for your assistance.

Icon

Richard Eley, Chesapeake

On Jun 03, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS did a great job of replacing my old AC unit. Thank goodness it was changed out before the real hot weather hit my area. The installer worked fast and knew exactly what he was doing. Every step of this process was done professionally and to my satisfaction. The installer also removed all the trash and cleaned the area. Great Job AHS!

Icon

James Edgerton, Chesapeake

On Apr 15, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS sent contractor to check leaking dishwasher. He saw a crack in the tub. He reported the dishwasher to AHS as needing to replace. AHS approved the replacement within one day. My dishwasher is being delivered and installed tomorrow. I recommend AHS to anyone.

Icon

Brian Shaver, Chesapeake

On Sep 01, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I see AHS commercials on TV and I warn you now, you will not be satisfied. I purchased because I’m a firefighter and a part time contractor and never had the time to fix my on issues. We paid more in premiums than service we received. 3 different plumbing issues and all 3 times I had to loan tools or supplies to the service tech to complete my repair. One must have smoked a pack of cigarettes before he came in my house. 5 hours later when my wife came home she asked “ who had been smoking in our house”. One techs van leaked oil in my driveway the size of a basketball and it’s still there 2 years later. They only do repairs to your home, they don’t replace items (ie water heater, furnace). If it’s too old to repair they recommend replacing but that cost is on you. The commercial is misleading. Most people hear replacement but it’s only repair. You can pay out of pocket for repairs to equipment and still save your premium money. I don’t recommend them but this is my experience. Some people like them. Good Luck in your decision

Icon

Pragnya Amin, Chesapeake

On Aug 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Piece of mind to have AHS coverage. . Only problem is long delays on phone requests for repairs or to resolve disputes

Icon

Christy Hogan, Chesapeake

On Jun 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I needed my AC unit repaired. It took a few days for the contractor to call and they had to order a part. American Home Shield does not follow up on the service calls so the contractor never got my part for my AC unit. This is a rental home and the temperature was very hot. After three weeks of the part still on order we had to come out of pocket to just replace the system because we could not leave our tenants in the heat any longer. The customer service people were nice but I believe the lack or follow up cost us $7200 in the long run.

Icon

Amy Smalls, Chesapeake

On May 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had AHS for many years, but when I actually started to have service done they raised my premium to almost $2,000.00 and told me that my service would be cancelled if I did not agree Some of the contractors doing work are not up to standards and I complained and sent photos when work was not completed correctly. I filed a claim with them and never got a response. I find that it is better to hire a professional than to use this product. A busted pipe will continue to bust with them because they will only patch the problem and not fix it completely. My washer went out and they wanted to give me $300.00 to buy a new machine.

Icon

Tanaya Goodson , Chesapeake

On Feb 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Have been dealing with an issue since Dec 21 trying to get a contractor to check our A/C. Each time I talked to a customer service representative , it was at least 30-45 wait times. Finally got a work order to have a contractor come out . After waiting 48 hours 72 hours, maybe even a week, no call received from contractor. Called AHS to tell them and was told that the service request had been cancelled. Still have no idea who cancelled it . Got another service request , and this time I personally called the contractor . It’s been a week and still no response . Very frustrated . May start looking for another home warranty company if no resolution this week.

Icon

Eric Bannister , Chesapeake

On Jan 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS was recommended to me by a co worker after hearing me complain about a very expensive AC repair. Five years later it was the best advice in a long time. One phone call and I know help is on it\'s way and no worries about a huge repair bill.

Icon

Louise A Mccourt, Chesapeake

On Sep 20, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Calling in a complaint is always a lengthy project because you can sit on hold for 45 minutes to an hour. The wait time for them to replace an item is also lengthy it was almost 2 months for a refrigerator. The peopleare great and always friendly and helpful

Icon

Frank Brown, chesapeake

On Jul 15, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I love AHS they are prompt in responding to your needs. The techs are knowledgeable and pleasant. Thank u so much

Icon

Raynald David, CHESAPEAKE

On Jul 25, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERNS, I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER OF AHS FOR ABOUT 9 YEARS NOW.I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN I PLACED A CALL TO REQUEST SOME SERVICE FOR MY CENTRAL A/C AND LEGUMS HEATING AND AIR WAS SENT OVER MY RESIDENCE TO DETERMINE WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. THE TECHNICIAN FIRST WORDS TO ME WAS: SHOW ME YOUR THERMOSTAT? I DID AND THEN HE TOLD ME THAT THE UNIT NEEDS SOME REFRIGERANT WITHOUT CHECKING ANYTHING TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND HE PROCEEDED TO LET ME BEFORE HE DOES ANYTHING THAT I HAD TO PAY HIM $255.00. I REPLIED, I USUALLY PAY $75 PER REQUEST AND WHY IS IT SO DIFFERENT THIS TIME? AND HE STARTED ARGUING WITH ME IN A VERY DISRESPECTFUL MANNER THAT AHS IS NOT GOING TO COVER FOR YOUR FREON., YOU HAVE TO PAY ME $255.00 OR I WILL BE GONE AND I RESPONDED THAT'S FINE AND HE LEFT. SO I CONTACTED AHS RIGHT AWAY TO REPORT THE INCIDENT AND THE OPERATOR TO WHOM I EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND SHE PROPOSED TO SEND ANOTHER COMPANY FOR A SECOND OPINION. THE SECOND COMPANY SHOWED UP AND TOLD ME THAT THE COMPRESSOR NEEDS SOME AND HE SMELLS SOME ODOR AND THAT I NEED ABOUT TWO POUNDS OF FREON TO MAKE IT WORK. AND I REPLIED TO HIM WELL, GO AHEAD AND START WORKING AND HE REPLIED THAT HE DOESN'T HAVE ANY AUTHORIZATION TO DO ANY WORK BUT JUST THE EVALUATION AND THAT HE SHOULD COLLECTED THE $75 FEE AND HE TOLD THAT HE'S GOING TO SEND HIS REPORT TO THE COMPANY AND ANOTHER PERSON WILL BE DISPATCHED TO COMPLETE THE WORK. I NEVER HEARD FROM THE COMPANY ALL DAY AND I DECIDED TO CALL THEM MYSELF AND THAT IS WHEN I FOUND OUT THAT THE WORK IS NOT COVER. I CONTACTED AHS AGAIN TO VERIFY THAT. AHS TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE TO SEND LEGUMS HEATING AND A/C BACK TO COMPLETE THE WORK. BUT THAT I HAVE TO PAY THEM OUT OF MY POCKET FOR THE FREON. WELL LEGUMS CANNOT COME BACK UNTIL WEDNESDAY AS I HAVE A SICK WIFE AT HOME RECUPERATING FROM MAJOR SURGERY. SO I HAVE TO CONTACT ANOTHER COMPANY TO COME OVER AND DO THE WORK FOR ME AND HE FOUND OUT THAT THE COMPRESSOR NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED AND THERE IS A LEEK IN THE ATTIC AND NEITHER ONE OF THE COMPANIES WANTED TO DO THE WORK THAT WAS MISDIAGNOSED. THEREFORE I AM REQUESTING A REFUND FROM AHS FOR THE S75 FEE THAT I HAVE PAID TO THE SECOND COMPANY FOR THE WORK THAT WASN'T DONE IN ADDITION TO THE $350.00 THAT I PAID TO HAVE THE WORK DONE BY A THIRD COMPANY.

Icon

Margaret Boehm, Chesapeake

On Jul 01, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

My daughter had AHS for years and tried to get us to sign up. After our AC unit went out we realized we had made a mistake in not taking her advice. We are now members and completely satisfied with the service charge we have to pay and the monthly fee. Our experience with AHS service and all the contractors have been excellent. I often recommend AHS to anyone I can. My daughter is now a realtor and recommends AHS to all her buyers.

Icon

Tim R., Chesapeake

On Feb 14, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great customer support, fantastic service, great contractors, stress free repairs. I have had AHS for 2 years now. I had a new AC system installed by a so called "highly rated" local company in Virginia Beach in 2009, I even payed extra for the maintenance plan through this company. Yet, this new AC system failed multiple times over the first few years, and each time this local company would do everything in their power to not take responsibility, even though it was under warranty. Finally the system suffered complete failure. This local company said it wasn't their problem and wanted to charge us thousands of dollars for a new system. Fortunately I had AHS, who I contacted after receiving this news. They sent out their technicians, who isolated the problem, got the approvals for repair, and got me back up and running in a matter of days, all repairs covered by AHS warranty. As long as I own a home, I will have AHS.

Icon

R. T. Brown, chesapeake

On Feb 04, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS, was there when I needed them over the last couple of months. I'm currently stationed overseas in Timor-Leste. Recently there has been rash of issues back at home. The professionalism and attention that my wife recieved. Was refreshing and reassuring to see the service provided by AHS was exceptional. The ease of the online request system. The prompt response upon recieving those request. The companies that provide the service was outstanding. We continue to promote AHS to our friends and family and our neighbors in community.

Icon

Kimm E, Chesapeake

On Jan 03, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been a AHS Customer since 2004 and have been happy with the services for the most part. The only thing I haven't been pleased about is the fact that the policy/deductible has increased in the 9 years I've been a customer. I know, I know...the cost of everything has increased, but in my opinion, new rates should only apply to new customers. Everyone should be "grandfathereed" into the rate they signed on with. I know it's still cheaper than having to pay full price, but for those that are on a fixed income or in a family with just one income, that little bit of money means a lot. I also wish they would either let you pick the service company or give you a list of service companies to chose from.

Icon

Kimm E, Chesapeake

On Jan 03, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had service with Cutting Edge Heating and Cooling (1/2/14). I have mixed opinions about the service. First off, they were supposed to arrive between 3pm & 5pm. By 5 no one had showed up or called to tell me they were/weren't coming. Someone showed up at 5:59. I said "You guys were supposed to be here between 3&5" and the guys says "yeah"? (I pretty much took that as, ok so I'm here, do you want my service or not?). He asked me was it ok for him to come in or did I want to reschedule. I let him in, turns out it was only a dirty filter that needed to be replaced. I was a little disappointed for a few reasons (1)he was late, (2)he told me it was the filter, but didn't offer to replace it; I'm sure he had some in his van. I figured that's the least he could do for being late and since I still had to pay the $75 service fee anyway, I feel I should have at least gotten a filter out of it!

Icon

Jung, Chesapeake

On Jul 11, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

Dealing with AHS is one of the worst experiences I've ever had with this kind of service. I've had Home Warranty service before and had a very positive experience so when I moved again I included home warranty in the process. Unfortunately I wound up with AHS. Initially the service was acceptable, not great but acceptable. My electric range wouldn't operate, there was a broken part on the dishwasher, and several expensive ceiling fans were having various issues so I contacted AHS. The range and dishwasher were serviced in one call. The tech came out and promptly stated "My first priority today is the dishwasher." I explained to him that I could wash dishes by hand but I couldn't prepare food without a working stove (range). He said "Sorry, I didn't think of that." Funny, it seemed obvious to me. Still, he did fix the dishwasher and he did diagnostics on the stove and found the problem so he ordered the part. Other than his attitude I supposed this was the best that could be reasonably expected so I shrugged that off and when the part came in the repair was made to the range. Not perfect service but the job got done. IN fairness, it probably couldn't have been done much quicker than it was. The ceiling fans are a whole different matter. Rather than get into a description of every single problem I'll just say that I submitted the claim in late May and it's now mid-July and I'm still waiting for some of them to be repaired or replaced. AHS is trying to wiggle out of as much as they can on this claim. As if that weren't bad enough, my pool pump quit. I had the pool perfect and ready for summer when this happened. I called AHS immediately and they did their little contractor dance and had a contractor call me. The contractor couldn't even come to look at the problem to get authorization from AHS for over two weeks. AHS promises 48 hour service. I called AHS and told them what the contractor had told me. They said they needed to verify with the contractor that the contractor couldn't hit the 48 hour service window. They couldn't get in touch with the contractor and they didn't let me know either, so I kept calling them. Because this is a salt water pool, if there's no water flow over the salt cell (because the pump is dead) then it doesn't make chlorine. Of course it can't filter the water either. The longer that condition exists the nastier the pool gets no matter what chemicals you dump into it. AHS kept telling me that they had solved the delay problem, but when I called the new contractor they had chosen over the first one- after a week of arguing with them to get someone else and get this pool back up before it cost me a fortune in chemicals to clean it up again- I got the same "we can't get there for two weeks". A lot more phone calls occurred, nothing got done any faster, and 21 days from the day the pool went down I finally had a new pump installed. It cost over $300 in chemicals to clean it up and get it serviceable again. AHS violated the terms of our contract by not hitting that 48 hour window or even close. Had they done what the contract states it all would have been taken care of in one week instead of three and it would only have cost me about $15 in DE filter powder to clear my pool up again. It would have been cheaper to just go buy a pump motor and install it myself. I shouldn't have to do that, that is why I pay for a home warranty. We're now in the process of trying to cancel our agreement with AHS and get a different home warranty company. AHS is so bad that we're not interested in continuing our relationship with them any longer. AHS is useless and frustrating. They don't abide by the terms of their own contract. I cannot recommend them to any other home owner and I sincerely hope you haven't made the choice to use them for your home warranty service.

Icon

Chaniece W, chesapeake

On Aug 25, 2012

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had AHS for over a year without having to use their services. I put in my first request in June and did not get a contractor out for my ac until mid July. When the contractor came out they diagnosed our unit as a maintenance issues charged us 150$ and moved on. A few days later the entire heat compressor outside went out and we put in an emergency work order due to the 105 degree weather. They told us they couldn't find a contractor and that we could hire outside and they would reimburse for the repair. We got an estimate but I was hesitant to do the repair without a guarantee of reimbursement (the repair was 2800$) After I called them back with the estimate they claimed they never told me I could use an outside contractor and that my contractor broke the unit which they were now not covering (the contractor only diagnosed never repaired). When I threatened to cancel my contract this is where the fun begins. They transferred me to their retention dept who then sent out a third contractor who diagnosed the unit as not a maintenance issue but needed to be replaced, they paid for us to receive a window unit and stated that the new part would need to be ordered (everything up until this point has now taken 2 weeks). After an additional week of no contact regarding the new unit, they finally send out reliable ac and repair who comes out and diagnoses the new unit as defective. Again AHS takes almost a week to tell us that they would not be able to replace the defective part (brand new replacement part) due to it being a manufacturing issue which we would have to handle. Again several days of going back and forth until they finally agree to replace but the manufacturer would have to accept the part. 2 additional weeks go by with reliable only contacting the manufacturer and not AHS (by the way the contractor had missed 4 scheduled repair appts due to his personal water heater bursting, being stuck in traffic twice and then just no call no show). In addition by this point the contractor came out to our house and bypassed the thermostat with the defective unit so now we have an AC unit blowing at 50 degrees with no way to cut it off for over a week. After this (now over a month since the initial call) we filed a formal complaint and contacted an attorney. Now we have another contractor who came out immediately who stated that the first contractor never contacted the manufacturer and had incorrectly installed the new unit and broke some of the parts which now needs repair. This is now going into month 2 and we will hopefully have our repair done monday. We are definitely cancelling our contract after this because on top of this negative experience they raised our premium!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020