ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   Washington
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 19, 2021

Best Home Warranty Companies In Washington

By 2022, the homeownership rate in Washington will be 65%. These growing numbers of Washington homeowners spend, on average, 15% of their monthly expenses on home maintenance. In contrast, the average cost of a home warranty is $318.98 per year, a much smaller amount than the $1000-$3000 they’d otherwise spend. Considering these numbers, you can see why investing in a home warranty may be a good idea.

Home warranties cover mechanical failures and breakdowns due to regular wear and tear. A major economy like Washington offers a lot of home warranty choices. To help you choose the right one, we have evaluated the plans, prices, coverages, and many more factors of the top home warranty companies serving here.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

Top Home Warranty Companies in Washington

Super Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.7
mapicon

PRICING

$729-$1399

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

HMS Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • HMS Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $90.51
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Offers a coverage limit of $3K
mapicon

featured-icon

HMS is now known as Cinch Home Services & offers a free water sensor to detect leaks.

PRICING

$400 - $600+

SERVICE FEE

$100 - $200

mapicon

Total Protect

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Total Protect Home Warranty provides a 180-day workmanship guarantee for any covered repairs and replacements
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Offers a coverage limit of $10K
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer coverage for pre-existing conditions & rust & corrosion.

PRICING

$491 - $1055

SERVICE FEE

$100

mapicon

American Residential Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Residential Warranty average deductible for a contract is $54.26
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Network of N/A service contractors
mapicon

PRICING

$402

SERVICE FEE

$50

mapicon

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Lowe's is the second largest hardware chain in the United States
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.9
mapicon

PRICING

$348

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 1.8
  • Been in the industry since 1978
  • Has a Customer Service rating of 1.6
mapicon

PRICING

$500

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Residential Warranty Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.4
  • Been in the industry since 1988
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.4
  • Been in the industry since 1988
mapicon

PRICING

$375

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

HomeServe USA

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3
  • Been in the industry since 1993
mapicon

PRICING

$239-$379

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Global Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Entered the industry in 2019
  • Provides 30 days moneyback guarantee on all plans
  • The waiting period is 30 days
mapicon

PRICING

$299-$599

SERVICE FEE

$45

mapicon

Sears Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
mapicon

PRICING

$49.99 - $69.99

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Washington

This graph shows you the average cost of home warranties in Washington. The average premium that customers pay is $318.98, and the deductible amount is $40.55. The X-axis displays the number of homeowners, and the Y-axis indicates the premium price.

Average Premium In washington

Min Average Premium in washington Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in washington (WA) major towns:

Bellevue Bellingham Everett
Federal Way Kent Seattle
Spokane Tacoma Vancouver

Population : 6,724,629

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Washington

Several home warranty companies operating in Washington make it difficult for any consumer to choose the most suitable plan that meets all their needs. So, we have compiled a list of the most preferred plans for homeowners in Washington.

American Home Shield (AHS) - American Home Shield is a pioneer in the home warranty market of Washington as the first company ever established in 1971. The Shield Platinum plan of AHS is a good option for people who want mid-level coverage against breakdowns due to the wear and tear of home systems and appliances. They also offer coverage boosts to extend the dollar limits on payout amounts.

The Home Service Club (HSC) - HSC offers two plans, Standard Coverage Plan and Comprehensive Coverage Plan, including critical household systems and appliances. They are one of the few companies that allow customers to follow the status of repairs using their login accounts. The plans are pretty affordable with a reasonable TCF.

First American Home Warranty (FAHW) - Washington residents also opt for FAHW as this home warranty company offers affordable coverage with add-on plans having additional items. It has a Basic and Premium plan covering all major household systems and equipment prone to wear and tear.

You can even select Cinch Home Services as they also have comprehensive coverage plans for your home systems and appliances. Based on customer reviews, we recommend taking a look at Home Service Club’s Comprehensive Coverage Plan. If you want to know the exact pricing details for any top companies, get your free home warranty quote now!

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Washington

  1. Some home appliances are sensitive to electrical fluctuations like power failures and power surges. When the voltage is too high or too low, it stresses the device, reducing the service life of the appliance. So, make sure your electrical system is protected from the wear and tear caused by frequent power outages in Washington (which has one of the worst in ratings for power grid dependability in the US).
  2. Washington has hard water, which may cause difficulties with your sink and shower drain. Hard water produces heavy mineral accumulation throughout the pipes, eventually leading to clogs in the sink and shower drain. This results in leaks and other problems. Therefore, search for a home warranty that covers your plumbing system comprehensively.
  3. Choose a home warranty plan depending on the age of the home. For example, newly built homes in Spokane usually have a manufacturer's guarantee on home systems and appliances, eliminating the need to purchase a home warranty for the first few years. However, when purchasing a pre-owned home, the home systems and appliances are likely to be worn out, so it is best to get a home warranty plan.
  4. Are you wondering whether a home warranty helps minimize repairs and replacements costs for your home appliances? Then, use our Home Maintenance Calculator tool that will answer this question. It analyzes the cost of home maintenance based on the age of your home and the number of repairs needed every year.
  5. We recommend getting a home inspection if you have older systems and appliances, even if the home warranty companies don’t make it mandatory. It reduces the chances of claim denial if the company doesn’t cover pre-existing issues.

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Washington can get quite humid in the summer. The state also experiences a decent amount of rainfall during the monsoon. Washington has also been experiencing heat waves in the summer, which have been getting hotter every year. The high level of hot moisture in this climatic zone may accelerate the wear of your devices, and such repairs will burn a hole in your pocket.

The long cold winters in Washington require you to run your heater to continue to keep the home warm and cozy. As they work overtime, heating systems may wear out, and fixing them requires expertise. With a home warranty plan, you can not only protect this device but also get it serviced by a top-class technician.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who regulates home warranties in Washington?

Washington home warranty companies are regulated by the Washington State's Insurance Commissioner's Office. This authority is responsible for licensing home warranty companies, So before signing a contract, don’t forget to check if the company is registered and licensed.

How should I choose a home warranty company in Washington?

When thinking about buying a home warranty in Washington, you should always read the reviews and check the rankings of the home warranty company and then evaluate the plans and coverage. Check if the inclusions cover the most critical parts and components. You should carefully read and understand all of the terms and conditions of the contract before signing it.

Is a home warranty required in Washington?

It’s not mandatory, but a home warranty plan can provide you with peace of mind, knowing that you can call upon licensed technicians whenever you need them. Secondly, Washington has a high living cost, so repairs or replacements can burn quite the hole in your household budget. Getting a home warranty can reduce the costs of unexpected repairs and replacements due to the regular wear and tear of home systems and appliances.

Who needs a home warranty in Washington?

Home warranties can benefit Washington homeowners, real estate agents, and homebuyers who want to cover repairs & replacements of their aging home systems and appliances.

Do home warranty companies replace appliances?

Yes, warranty companies may replace the appliances that fail due to mechanical wear and tear. However, the home warranty provider will pay a prorated amount in lieu of replacement (if they cannot do it themselves), based on the assessment of the repair contractor.

Do I need a new home warranty in Washington state?

A new home or third-party warranty or builder warranty is different from the home warranty spoken about here. It is generally included when you purchase a new home or remodel your old home. It covers a structural part of the home, such as concrete flooring, plumbing, or electrical work. So, it will be a wise decision to have a new home warranty in Washington to deal with structural issues that may crop up years later.

Washington Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Jim, Coupeville

On Aug 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very professional. Arrived within the allotted time. Investigated and Found the issue quickly and did not try to over-sell. Provided sound advice. Pleased with the service. Would recommend to others and may use in the future.

Icon

Cindy Schaumberg, Chewelah

On Aug 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Poor service. We tried to contact them three times and waited 60 minutes each time. To no avail. We tried to cancel the same number of times. We finally have called someone independently. Very disappointed. Cindy Schaumberg

Icon

Christine Gregory, Kennewick

On Jun 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a customer with American Home Shield for about fourteen years. I recently recommended the pick-10 home warranty plan to several friends, because I have been very happy with AHS\' coverage and service over the years. The first couple, who signed up with the service due to my recommendation and whose coverage began on 6/3/2020, are experiencing significant problems in getting their electrical repairs covered. They are being told, that the warranty does not cover "preexisting conditions" or modifications. Upon reading their contract, it is obvious that the coverage specifically _includes_ both. There appears to be a basic misunderstanding of the contract terms among AHS's authorization department, customer service and sales force. The last two sales agents I talked to also mentioned "preexisting conditions", customer service cannot explain the authorization department's decisions adequately and the authorization department cannot be reached directly by customers. Please contact me to resolve this issue. My friends are about to cancel their contract with AHS in utter frustration and I feel extremely disappointed with with this situation. My other two friends are holding off on placing service requests pending the outcome of this situation. You may lose three new customers in one fell swoop. Thank you for your help. P.s. It is not easy to find current and accurate contact information for AHS' corporate officers these days. I left two messages in voice mail boxes at their corporate headquarters and tried to email Chelsea Sumrow, the VP for Marketing, and Scott Brown, the Senior VP for Customer Experience, without any results. BTW, emails to ahs.com seem to reject frequently. The last time I had a significant problem with my own contract about 10 years ago, I called Headquarters and got a callback within a day and a resolution shortly thereafter. There appears to have been a significant change in corporate culture since Frontdoor, Inc absorbed AHS. Elliot.org now recommends, that customers contact the insurance commissioner or take AHS to small claims court, if they can't reach anyone to address their concerns. https://www.elliott.org/company-contacts/american-home-shield-2/

Icon

Tory Klementsen, Marysville

On May 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Everything went so smoothly! Our washing machine broke down. After trying a few home remedies, we placed a request into American Home Shield and had a repair person out the next morning. He determined it was, sadly, beyond repair. AHS located a new GE Washing machine to replace our broken one. Now our home is whole again and no more trips to the laundromat!

Icon

Stanley P Padilla, Tacoma

On Apr 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our washer stopped working on Wednesday and we got an appointment the same day. Unfortunately we had to wait a few days for the part to come in, but the washing machine was fixed the same day the part arrived. Great experience during the Covid-19 lock down.

Icon

Sandra Martin , Yakima

On Apr 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We are very pleased with our service and value!! I highly recommend AHS to anyone, I will use them in my next home. They came within days. Quality and product were excellent. Extra costs were explained ahead of time .

Icon

Don Yagura , Gig Harbor

On Mar 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Overall it was a very positive experience. The time it took from my initial call to the service appointment, and then completion of the service work itself was excellent. No issues.

Icon

Rick Gregory , Snohomish

On Dec 06, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent service and repairs

Icon

Danielle , Renton

On Nov 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’ve had to schedule several service calls as I moved one tent out and another in...all repairs were done timely and without hassle. One required a replacement, got allowance, purchased new oven and submitted receipt per instructions...expect a check within 21 days. Nice piece of mind.

Icon

Marian S Drechsel, Yelm

On Nov 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very good experience. Both toilets were having issues with the water levels. I tried everything and could not get the water to fill in the bowl to an adequate level. Called AHS and a plumber was sent and fixed the problems. Very nice and knowledgeable.

Icon

Suzette Sommer , Seattle

On Nov 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Each time I have needed a repair through AHS, they have made it a good experience and backed me up if the original contractor didn’t work out. Without complaining, they’ve done what needed to be done, in a timely way. Cheerfully and kindly, which is very appreciated under the stress of something breaking down.

Icon

Cynthia A Szurgot, Sammamish

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The problem was diagnosed and fixed quickly. Our fridge, freezer, and ice maker work like new. Very professional and did not track any leaves into the house ( that\'s pretty difficult right now).

Icon

Christine Hayes, West Richland

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had no idea AHS covered a leaking faucet but they do! The repairman came out and fixed it in 15 minutes.

Icon

ROBERT GOODING, Olympia

On Nov 08, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service!

Icon

Joe Leonardi, Camas

On Oct 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

All went well, but it took about 2 weeks to replace a microwave oven. There were 3 other entities involved, in addition to AHS: the initial diagnostic technician, the shipping company, and the installer. It was a serial process that required scheduling attention to complete in a timely manner.

Icon

Loretta Ryan, Seattle

On Oct 26, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good experience

Icon

M Jones, Renton

On Jul 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had water backed up in bathroom sinks, toilets running and very bad smell coming from pipes. Made a request online, received a callback in 1 day to confirm appt. They were prompt, very descriptive before starting any work and explained the process. I am very pleased with the service and how the work was done. Very thankful that I signed up with AHS, saves money and the work has been great!

Icon

Wanda Paisano, Walla Walla

On Jul 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Highly qualified technicians are sent out. Response time has consistently been 24-48 hours. We had a series of things crop up within a week. Technicians were all able to come out within 24 hours; work was excellent. Highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Angela, Kennewick

On Jul 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolute worst service ever. The only thing I ever hear is, "we are sorry for the inconvenience." A total run around. Refrigerator broke since May 29, 2019 and still no fix. Contractor wanted to sell me a new unit because he was not sure what was wrong. Multiple calls to the repair department with promises of return calls emails and yet nothing. Even attempts to cancel the account I am given the run around.

Icon

Terri Restad , Kennewick

On Jun 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fridge was leaking. Service was prompt and job was done in a timely manner.

Icon

Sharon Neal, Pasco

On Jun 06, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our a washing machine quit working. AHS had a technician out quickly and it has to be replaced. I was given the choice of ordering a new machine from them or purchasing one on my own. I picked out a new machine locally and am waiting for the check allowance from AHS (said it would be within 14 days). They were very easy to work with.

Icon

Jennifer, Walla Walla

On Jun 05, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My fridge broke shortly after moving into my new home. AHS was very responsive and had a technician out quickly to fix it. It could not be fixed so they replaced it with a new one. The process was easy, quick, and hassle free. Great customer service.

Icon

Alan, Lakewood

On Jun 01, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our refrigerator/freezer quit working. Notified AHS and within 2 hours I had set up an appointment to get it repaired by their recommended repair service. The repairman was on time, efficient, quick, and friendly. It was repaired quickly!

Icon

Gilbert Saenz, Sunnyside

On May 31, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has very bad customer service. I waited on the phone for close to 2 hours to speak to someone last night. I called again today and the service agent hung up on me. I have had this warranty for 7 years and the 1 time I need to use the warranty I get the run around on who can do the service call. The provider they are going to send out only comes to my area once every week on Wednesdays. And the service provider told me that if a part needs to be ordered then they wouldn't come back out to the following week on Wednesday. I called AHS to see if I can get another provider since I am living out of ice chests and they told me no. I would not recommended American Home Shield to anyone. After my current claim I will be canceling my service with them.

Icon

Megan, Wenatchee

On May 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company has terrible customer service and response time. We had 3 appliances go out in the course of a couple of months this winter. In order to get new ones, we had to wait for an email from AHS. We were out of a washing machine for over a month! Just because I couldn\'t get ahold of them by phone or email, and Facebook was less than helpful. "Call the number" they said. I had called several times, being placed on hold for up to an hour and a half, and still never got through! The next time was over an hour, still didn't get through. I sent email after email begging them to send that simple email to me. Finally got it taken care of but all of those appliances were horrible experiences to get taken care of. I also wish I had a choice in who came. We have had bad experiences trying to get people to come, and if the request gets canceled for any sort of reason, you have to go through the steps through Home Shield again, then get sent to the back of the line. Fast forward to now. We have a tub that is backed up. Our only tub. We are a large family and we need to bathe, especially our children. It has been over a week and both AHS and their plumber has failed on many attempts. I requested to have a different plumbing company come, and they refuse to switch. I have told them I can't deal with this over the phone as my phone completely died. Their response on Facebook? "Call our number". I'm tired of their lack of customer service, and poor customer service when we do get through. I would also like more flexibility in who we can use, or change it when said company fails to show up multiple times.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020