ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   Washington
last_updated_icon Last updated: October 27, 2021

Best Home Warranty Companies In Washington

By 2022, the homeownership rate in Washington will be 65%. These growing numbers of Washington homeowners spend, on average, 15% of their monthly expenses on home maintenance. In contrast, the average cost of a home warranty is $318.98 per year, a much smaller amount than the $1000-$3000 they’d otherwise spend. Considering these numbers, you can see why investing in a home warranty may be a good idea.

Home warranties cover mechanical failures and breakdowns due to regular wear and tear. A major economy like Washington offers a lot of home warranty choices. To help you choose the right one, we have evaluated the plans, prices, coverages, and many more factors of the top home warranty companies serving here.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

Top Home Warranty Companies in Washington

offer_img

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer_img

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Washington

This graph shows you the average cost of home warranties in Washington. The average premium that customers pay is $318.98, and the deductible amount is $40.55. The X-axis displays the number of homeowners, and the Y-axis indicates the premium price.

Average Premium In washington

Min Average Premium in washington Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in washington (WA) major towns:

Bellevue Bellingham Everett
Federal Way Kent Seattle
Spokane Tacoma Vancouver

Population : 6,724,629

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Washington

Several home warranty companies operating in Washington make it difficult for any consumer to choose the most suitable plan that meets all their needs. So, we have compiled a list of the most preferred plans for homeowners in Washington.

American Home Shield (AHS) - American Home Shield is a pioneer in the home warranty market of Washington as the first company ever established in 1971. The Shield Platinum plan of AHS is a good option for people who want mid-level coverage against breakdowns due to the wear and tear of home systems and appliances. They also offer coverage boosts to extend the dollar limits on payout amounts.

The Home Service Club (HSC) - HSC offers two plans, Standard Coverage Plan and Comprehensive Coverage Plan, including critical household systems and appliances. They are one of the few companies that allow customers to follow the status of repairs using their login accounts. The plans are pretty affordable with a reasonable TCF.

First American Home Warranty (FAHW) - Washington residents also opt for FAHW as this home warranty company offers affordable coverage with add-on plans having additional items. It has a Basic and Premium plan covering all major household systems and equipment prone to wear and tear.

You can even select Cinch Home Services as they also have comprehensive coverage plans for your home systems and appliances. Based on customer reviews, we recommend taking a look at Home Service Club’s Comprehensive Coverage Plan. If you want to know the exact pricing details for any top companies, get your free home warranty quote now!

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Washington

  1. Some home appliances are sensitive to electrical fluctuations like power failures and power surges. When the voltage is too high or too low, it stresses the device, reducing the service life of the appliance. So, make sure your electrical system is protected from the wear and tear caused by frequent power outages in Washington (which has one of the worst in ratings for power grid dependability in the US).
  2. Washington has hard water, which may cause difficulties with your sink and shower drain. Hard water produces heavy mineral accumulation throughout the pipes, eventually leading to clogs in the sink and shower drain. This results in leaks and other problems. Therefore, search for a home warranty that covers your plumbing system comprehensively.
  3. Choose a home warranty plan depending on the age of the home. For example, newly built homes in Spokane usually have a manufacturer's guarantee on home systems and appliances, eliminating the need to purchase a home warranty for the first few years. However, when purchasing a pre-owned home, the home systems and appliances are likely to be worn out, so it is best to get a home warranty plan.
  4. Are you wondering whether a home warranty helps minimize repairs and replacements costs for your home appliances? Then, use our Home Maintenance Calculator tool that will answer this question. It analyzes the cost of home maintenance based on the age of your home and the number of repairs needed every year.
  5. We recommend getting a home inspection if you have older systems and appliances, even if the home warranty companies don’t make it mandatory. It reduces the chances of claim denial if the company doesn’t cover pre-existing issues.

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Washington can get quite humid in the summer. The state also experiences a decent amount of rainfall during the monsoon. Washington has also been experiencing heat waves in the summer, which have been getting hotter every year. The high level of hot moisture in this climatic zone may accelerate the wear of your devices, and such repairs will burn a hole in your pocket.

The long cold winters in Washington require you to run your heater to continue to keep the home warm and cozy. As they work overtime, heating systems may wear out, and fixing them requires expertise. With a home warranty plan, you can not only protect this device but also get it serviced by a top-class technician.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who regulates home warranties in Washington?

Washington home warranty companies are regulated by the Washington State's Insurance Commissioner's Office. This authority is responsible for licensing home warranty companies, So before signing a contract, don’t forget to check if the company is registered and licensed.

How should I choose a home warranty company in Washington?

When thinking about buying a home warranty in Washington, you should always read the reviews and check the rankings of the home warranty company and then evaluate the plans and coverage. Check if the inclusions cover the most critical parts and components. You should carefully read and understand all of the terms and conditions of the contract before signing it.

Is a home warranty required in Washington?

It’s not mandatory, but a home warranty plan can provide you with peace of mind, knowing that you can call upon licensed technicians whenever you need them. Secondly, Washington has a high living cost, so repairs or replacements can burn quite the hole in your household budget. Getting a home warranty can reduce the costs of unexpected repairs and replacements due to the regular wear and tear of home systems and appliances.

Who needs a home warranty in Washington?

Home warranties can benefit Washington homeowners, real estate agents, and homebuyers who want to cover repairs & replacements of their aging home systems and appliances.

Do home warranty companies replace appliances?

Yes, warranty companies may replace the appliances that fail due to mechanical wear and tear. However, the home warranty provider will pay a prorated amount in lieu of replacement (if they cannot do it themselves), based on the assessment of the repair contractor.

Do I need a new home warranty in Washington state?

A new home or third-party warranty or builder warranty is different from the home warranty spoken about here. It is generally included when you purchase a new home or remodel your old home. It covers a structural part of the home, such as concrete flooring, plumbing, or electrical work. So, it will be a wise decision to have a new home warranty in Washington to deal with structural issues that may crop up years later.

Washington Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Marian S Drechsel, Yelm

On Nov 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very good experience. Both toilets were having issues with the water levels. I tried everything and could not get the water to fill in the bowl to an adequate level. Called AHS and a plumber was sent and fixed the problems. Very nice and knowledgeable.

Icon

Suzette Sommer , Seattle

On Nov 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Each time I have needed a repair through AHS, they have made it a good experience and backed me up if the original contractor didn’t work out. Without complaining, they’ve done what needed to be done, in a timely way. Cheerfully and kindly, which is very appreciated under the stress of something breaking down.

Icon

Cynthia A Szurgot, Sammamish

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The problem was diagnosed and fixed quickly. Our fridge, freezer, and ice maker work like new. Very professional and did not track any leaves into the house ( that\'s pretty difficult right now).

Icon

Christine Hayes, West Richland

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had no idea AHS covered a leaking faucet but they do! The repairman came out and fixed it in 15 minutes.

Icon

ROBERT GOODING, Olympia

On Nov 08, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service!

Icon

Joe Leonardi, Camas

On Oct 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

All went well, but it took about 2 weeks to replace a microwave oven. There were 3 other entities involved, in addition to AHS: the initial diagnostic technician, the shipping company, and the installer. It was a serial process that required scheduling attention to complete in a timely manner.

Icon

Loretta Ryan, Seattle

On Oct 26, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Good experience

Icon

M Jones, Renton

On Jul 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had water backed up in bathroom sinks, toilets running and very bad smell coming from pipes. Made a request online, received a callback in 1 day to confirm appt. They were prompt, very descriptive before starting any work and explained the process. I am very pleased with the service and how the work was done. Very thankful that I signed up with AHS, saves money and the work has been great!

Icon

Wanda Paisano, Walla Walla

On Jul 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Highly qualified technicians are sent out. Response time has consistently been 24-48 hours. We had a series of things crop up within a week. Technicians were all able to come out within 24 hours; work was excellent. Highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Angela, Kennewick

On Jul 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolute worst service ever. The only thing I ever hear is, "we are sorry for the inconvenience." A total run around. Refrigerator broke since May 29, 2019 and still no fix. Contractor wanted to sell me a new unit because he was not sure what was wrong. Multiple calls to the repair department with promises of return calls emails and yet nothing. Even attempts to cancel the account I am given the run around.

Icon

Terri Restad , Kennewick

On Jun 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fridge was leaking. Service was prompt and job was done in a timely manner.

Icon

Sharon Neal, Pasco

On Jun 06, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our a washing machine quit working. AHS had a technician out quickly and it has to be replaced. I was given the choice of ordering a new machine from them or purchasing one on my own. I picked out a new machine locally and am waiting for the check allowance from AHS (said it would be within 14 days). They were very easy to work with.

Icon

Jennifer, Walla Walla

On Jun 05, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My fridge broke shortly after moving into my new home. AHS was very responsive and had a technician out quickly to fix it. It could not be fixed so they replaced it with a new one. The process was easy, quick, and hassle free. Great customer service.

Icon

Alan, Lakewood

On Jun 01, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our refrigerator/freezer quit working. Notified AHS and within 2 hours I had set up an appointment to get it repaired by their recommended repair service. The repairman was on time, efficient, quick, and friendly. It was repaired quickly!

Icon

Gilbert Saenz, Sunnyside

On May 31, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has very bad customer service. I waited on the phone for close to 2 hours to speak to someone last night. I called again today and the service agent hung up on me. I have had this warranty for 7 years and the 1 time I need to use the warranty I get the run around on who can do the service call. The provider they are going to send out only comes to my area once every week on Wednesdays. And the service provider told me that if a part needs to be ordered then they wouldn't come back out to the following week on Wednesday. I called AHS to see if I can get another provider since I am living out of ice chests and they told me no. I would not recommended American Home Shield to anyone. After my current claim I will be canceling my service with them.

Icon

Megan, Wenatchee

On May 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company has terrible customer service and response time. We had 3 appliances go out in the course of a couple of months this winter. In order to get new ones, we had to wait for an email from AHS. We were out of a washing machine for over a month! Just because I couldn\'t get ahold of them by phone or email, and Facebook was less than helpful. "Call the number" they said. I had called several times, being placed on hold for up to an hour and a half, and still never got through! The next time was over an hour, still didn't get through. I sent email after email begging them to send that simple email to me. Finally got it taken care of but all of those appliances were horrible experiences to get taken care of. I also wish I had a choice in who came. We have had bad experiences trying to get people to come, and if the request gets canceled for any sort of reason, you have to go through the steps through Home Shield again, then get sent to the back of the line. Fast forward to now. We have a tub that is backed up. Our only tub. We are a large family and we need to bathe, especially our children. It has been over a week and both AHS and their plumber has failed on many attempts. I requested to have a different plumbing company come, and they refuse to switch. I have told them I can't deal with this over the phone as my phone completely died. Their response on Facebook? "Call our number". I'm tired of their lack of customer service, and poor customer service when we do get through. I would also like more flexibility in who we can use, or change it when said company fails to show up multiple times.

Icon

David Tuthill, Pasco

On May 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Ice maker in freezer was making ice. Appointment was 2 days after I called in the issue. A part had to be ordered & a follow up appointment was made with in one week.

Icon

David Tuthill, Pasco

On May 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Air conditioner wasn\'t working, an appointment was made 1 day after the claim was called in. The problem was taken care of the same day of the appointment in about 35 minutes.

Icon

James Pillsbury, Yacolt

On May 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Refrigerator broke, then oven and then washer. Service was quick, employees were great. Would recomend to anyone

Icon

Susan and John Kuchman, Vancouver

On May 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very happy that I have this home warranty insurance. I have used them about 4 times on my two properties and both times, the repairs were timely, professional and well done. The contractors they hire for the repair are all very professional. One time, there was one contractor who did not feel that he can repair the damage, so he contacted AHS and within hours, I received an email saying that a new contractor was assigned. It was impressive that they were able to flawlessly coordinate their services. Having AHS is truly worth the peace of mind if something, big or small needs repair in my property, of course within the scope of the contract. So far, I have not had any repairs rejected. I had a leaky faucet, outdoor hose bib that was leaking, an oven that needed repair but was irrepairable so I was offered a cash amount which I think was a fair amount. Everything was handled very efficiently. Thank You, AHS!! I highly recommend this company to all my relatives and friends. I did not receive a compensation for this review.

Icon

Morgan, Port Townsend

On May 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We recently had our locks re-keyed using our AHS warranty. Such a relief after having so many contractors in and out for the first few weeks, some using and sharing keys, and every door key different. The contractor AHS used called us ahead of time, asked about the number and kinds of locks, and showed up on time. When he got here he got everything done right the first time, and now we can use the same key for everything!

Icon

Emily Braaten, Otis Orchards

On May 06, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

If looking for a Home Warranty company, I would not suggest American Home Shield just for the customer service alone. When calling for assistance, I asked to receive a confirmation number by email. The agent then said \'Oh my god\' and \'Just use your phone and, put the confirmation number in there\'. When I told her no, and asked for my confirmation number by email again, she placed me on hold and then disconnected the call. I have not been able to get in touch with an agent since after multiple calls.

Icon

William Howells, Ridgefield

On May 01, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Can\'t say how great I think they are. I\'m not a handy guy, so when our over the counter microwave went belly-up, AHS came to the rescue. They sent out a great technician, diagnosed that it needed replacement, quickly approved the replacement and offered me many options. New unit came quickly, was installed well, and I am one happy customer. If you're a homeowner, you could do yourself a big favor, and sign up with AHS. First time in my life (at 52) that I have written a positive review for an insurance program, but these guys and gals deserve it. Very happy customer.

Icon

Luis , Wenatchee

On Apr 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I like that when I called I had a vendor communicate with me the same day. They provided the contact information for them in email format as well. The process is easy, I like the standard service fee. I got my Central air replaced no issues.

Icon

Jonette Vidinha, Vancouver

On Apr 15, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was very prompt to schedule a repair service to fix a repair we needed. I was totally impressed and taken back with the extreme speed of service, professionalism of the repair guy and customer service they provided. It took less that 6 hours to report the request for service to fixing the problem we had with our jetted tub. I would most definitely recommend them to others and look forward to working with them in the future (if needed :) ).

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020