HMS Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for HMS Home Warranty

HMS Home Warranty
Customer Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.6 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 602
Total Quotes : 166
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real...
Years In Business 32
BBB Rating A+
Complaint Resolution Y
Offers Online Claims Y
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

This company also operates under the following alternate business names
  1. Total Protect
  2. Cross Country Home Services
  3. Haa Of Virginia
  4. HMS Home Warranty
  5. Home Warranty Service
  6. HomeSure of Americ

HMS National is one of the leading providers of home warranty products in the nation with over 30 years of experience in the industry. HMS is a member of National Home Service Contract Association and is committed to making homeownership a pleasant experience.

HMS has a network of over 40,000 contractors who are dispatched as and when service requests arrive. The company runs a customer service facility which functions round the clock to take customer complaints.

HMS National has a well maintained, information rich website which practically functions as an online office of the company. Many services and features designed to help planholders are available for use on the website. In addition to that, information regarding the company’s warranty products, prices and articles related to homeownership are available online. Following are some of the other online services available from HMS


  • Submit a Claim
  • Renew an existing warranty plan online
  • Contact Customer Service
  • Information regarding typical Items covered in a Home Warranty
  • Download Current State Brochure for warranty plans – Coverage and Pricing Varies By Region
  • Read about General Systems and Appliances Maintenance Tips

HMS Home Warranty main products are their warranty plans. The plans come in four variations, they are as follows.

  • Seller home warranty
  • Buyer conversion warranty
  • Buyer direct warranty
  • New home warranty
  • Open direct warranty
Other products offered by the company include real estate marketing tools such as Marketopia and a few other useful tools. Marketopia is a customizable tool that agents can use to attract customers.

Reviews & Ratings

Troy - MI 12-06-2016
Sadhan Mahanta,Troy MI
Posted On 12/06/16
Review No. 107472
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Called for furnace work, technician came and explained in details about the parts that was broken , he had to go the dealer shop and buy it and fix it within the time frame. In the mean time I called another heating and cooling place and asking for the repair rates for the similar job and I was told it would cost $250. I am completely satisfied with the technician's work . Would recommend other people. view less
Called for furnace work, technician came and explained in details about the parts that was broken , he had to go the dealer shop and buy it and fix it within the time frame. In the mean time I called another heating and cooling place and asking for the repair rates for the similar job and I was told it would cost $250. I am completely satisfied with the technician's work . Would
... view more
# 107472
Williamsburg - VA 12-06-2016
Bryce Hinsch,Williamsburg VA
Posted On 12/06/16
Review No. 107459
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Our realtor had us ask for home warranty as part of negotiations----never regretted it! almost immediately we had the fridge go out----as it was one that came with the home---it was an upscale one---we did have some problem finding a repair company----HMS could not find one---so we did. as we had not yet moved in---having the work done was easy to arrange and have done. Then after a month in the place the garage door opener needed work. HMS had Sears out the next day!!---surprised me---for sure!!---but all repaired and only paid the $100 deductible. I am satisfied with the service and repair companies we dealt with. I would recommend them and will resign next year. view less
Our realtor had us ask for home warranty as part of negotiations----never regretted it! almost immediately we had the fridge go out----as it was one that came with the home---it was an upscale one---we did have some problem finding a repair company----HMS could not find one---so we did. as we had not yet moved in---having the work done was easy to arrange and have done. Then after a month
... view more
# 107459
Frederick - MD 11-30-2016
Jason Hamilton,Frederick MD
Posted On 11/30/16
Review No. 107357
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
ABSOLUTE WORTHLESS. I had an electrical emergency and had to replace my whole electrical junction box. $2000 down the drain and guess what...did HMS honor any of their warranty remarks. NOT A PENNY! DO NOT GET SCAMMED BY THIS COMPANY!!! IT IS THE BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY OUT THERE!
# 107357
Annapolis - MD 11-17-2016
Kurt,Annapolis MD
Posted On 11/17/16
Review No. 107174
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
HMS has proved to be the most unreliable company I've ever had the pleasure of doing business with. We had a coil go bad in our AC unit in early October and it has still not been resolved 6 weeks later. We were told they had to order a part and it would arrive October 20th. October 20th came and went without an update from HMS. So I called and asked about the status of the part. We were then told it would arrive October 24th. October 24th came and went without an update from HMS. This happened 6 other times over the course of the next 4 weeks. I had to ask them to get a tracking number on the shipment so that we could see when it would actually be delivered. They didn't even think of that option. The two most important things to note are that not once did they call and ask if the temperature was okay in the house. We had two weeks during that stretch in the 80's. Very uncomfortable to sleep and be in the house. The other frustrating point is that we never once demanded or asked for the part to be installed or taken care of by a certain date. They were the ones that keep promising a particular date and then didn't follow through with it. This is certainly not a hard concept to grasp. Do what you say you are going to do. And if you can't do it, call and update us. To me that is a key point in the definition of customer service. Our contract year is also coming up and they never once said, we are so sorry for this inconvenience, how can we ensure you remain with us. Complete amateur hour at this company. view less
HMS has proved to be the most unreliable company I've ever had the pleasure of doing business with. We had a coil go bad in our AC unit in early October and it has still not been resolved 6 weeks later. We were told they had to order a part and it would arrive October 20th. October 20th came and went without an update from HMS. So I called and asked about the status of the part. We were
... view more
# 107174
Virginia - VA 11-10-2016
Barbara Anderson,Virginia VA
Posted On 11/10/16
Review No. 106970
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Do not obtain a warranty from this company. They are the worst on multiple accounts. They never cover anything, their service people are sub-par and they claim everything is a pre-existing condition (which is not), thus not covering anything.
# 106970
Crawfordville - FL 11-05-2016
Jack DiMatteo,Crawfordville FL
Posted On 11/05/16
Review No. 106890
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is the worst company going, should be closed down. Customer service is A joke. All they do is lie to you. Had a dishwasher not working, called Customer service. They told me they will send service man over in two weeks. Well after four times service man had to come out and two months later, he told us it could not be fixed. Although he told HMS the first time it could not be fixed HMS made him come back four times. So after two months without our dishwasher not working, We get a call from Customer service (after calling them ten times) saying we are getting a new dishwasher. They said the delivery men were to take it into my home and install it and take the old one back. Delivery truck pulls up I go outside to talk to them the man tells me they do not bring it in the home and do not install it. They just left it in the street and told me it was my responsibility to take it inside. We called HMS right away and they spoke to delivery men and said they should install it. They refused. HMS then told us we would have to get a plumber (and pay another deductible of $100) and they would come back to pick up old dishwasher if we paid yet another $100 deductible! This lying piece of crap of a company should be forbidden to do business! view less
This is the worst company going, should be closed down. Customer service is A joke. All they do is lie to you. Had a dishwasher not working, called Customer service. They told me they will send service man over in two weeks. Well after four times service man had to come out and two months later, he told us it could not be fixed. Although he told HMS the first time it could not be fixed HMS
... view more
# 106890
HMS
11-15-2016
Jack - I appreciate your feedback and totally understand your frustration. I sincerely apologize for the delays that you experienced with having your dishwasher replaced - this is definitely not the type of service we aim to provide. Our records indicate that a reimbursement for the installation of the new dishwasher has been sent and you should expect the check within 7-10 business days. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and it will go a long way in helping us improve our services going forward. Sincerely - John view less
Jack - I appreciate your feedback and totally understand your frustration. I sincerely apologize for the delays that you experienced with having your dishwasher replaced - this is definitely not the type of service we aim to provide. Our records indicate that a reimbursement for the installation of the new dishwasher has been sent and you should expect the check within 7-10 business days.
... view more
HMS
11-30-2016
Jack - I appreciate your feedback and totally understand your frustration. I sincerely apologize for the delays that you experienced with having your dishwasher replaced - this is definitely not the type of service we aim to provide. Our records indicate that a reimbursement check for the installation of the new dishwasher has been sent. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and it will go a long way in helping us improve our services going forward. Sincerely - John view less
Jack - I appreciate your feedback and totally understand your frustration. I sincerely apologize for the delays that you experienced with having your dishwasher replaced - this is definitely not the type of service we aim to provide. Our records indicate that a reimbursement check for the installation of the new dishwasher has been sent. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience
... view more
Springfield - OH 11-02-2016
Adrian N Auckerman,Springfield OH
Posted On 11/02/16
Review No. 106844
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We purchased HMS home Warranty when we bought our home almost 4 years ago, since then we had to have a new pump for the well, a new water softner, Furnace and A/C, HMS has been a God send to us, They were quick to respond to my request and found someone right away to take care of my problems. Thank you HMS. I will recommend HMS to anyone who is looking for home warranty company
# 106844
Ashburn - VA 10-24-2016
Bobby Reay,Ashburn VA
Posted On 10/24/16
Review No. 106706
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I'm giving this one star for the moment. I had a technician come out sent by HMS to repair my leaking AC. The condensation pump had to be replaced and the drain had to be cleaned. First off, $285 to clean a pipe seems extremely excessive. It literally took the guy 5 minutes They also had to replace the condensation pump which was $370. And then tack on the $100 service call, HMS covered absolutely none of this so I had to pay $755 all out of pocket. Why am I paying $500 a year for a home warranty when it doesn't cover simple repairs to my AC? I will not be renewing my warranty and I will write a negative review about HMS in every place I can think of on the internet unless this is resolved. They're scam artists and will get out of paying for anything. view less
I'm giving this one star for the moment. I had a technician come out sent by HMS to repair my leaking AC. The condensation pump had to be replaced and the drain had to be cleaned. First off, $285 to clean a pipe seems extremely excessive. It literally took the guy 5 minutes They also had to replace the condensation pump which was $370. And then tack on the $100 service call, HMS covered
... view more
# 106706
HMS
10-25-2016
Bobby - We sincerely apologize that the outcome of your air conditioning claim did not meet your expectations. Please know that we make every effort to ensure that our claim decision adheres to the terms of the warranty for both covered and non-covered items. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Sincerely - John
Thurmont - MD 10-20-2016
Josmith,Thurmont MD
Posted On 10/20/16
Review No. 106636
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Horrible company and experience! Not worth the frustration and they just take your money!
# 106636
West Milford - NJ 09-27-2016
Joshua Katz,West Milford NJ
Posted On 09/27/16
Review No. 106132
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Please note. This company will only pay for equal replacement should it be necessary to replace anything. However they send shady service people, they don't pay much on the service calls, Although you pay your $100 deductible. If its not a full replacement, even if its required. They only ever do the minimum repair so you also have to pay for the service calls.

This warranty was provided to me at the purchase of my home in October 2013. Since I moved in, I have had to have my refrigerator repaired twice. The 1st time a $11 part that cost me the deductible and labor over $250.00. The 2nd time, service company came to fix my waterline. They used duct tape to fix my water line. Didn't see that until after it started leaking again. This cost me the same.

My home is 20 years old. Last summer 2015 I had issues with my central air where they sent someone to give an estimate as to what would be require to fix my system. I had a 20 year old Carrier R22 split system which the compressor was not working fantastically. However, they were able to recharge my system but estimated I would have to replace the entire system within 6 to 8 months. 10 months later the system failed. I called in my claim, I asked for them to send the company who had come the 1st time. However, since they sent some other guy who claims I needed to replace the coil in the house. They came and replaced it with a A410 coil which they had to put an adapter to accept R22 since they refused to fix or replace the ac unit. This cost me over $700.00 This too created issues.. it was failing as well. That company refused to answer further service calls. I filed several complaints with HMS. They sent a local guy to see what the issue was. He said it was the compressor in the ac unit but all he would do is recharge the system. I had to go out of the HMS network to find out that the coil can not be used with any replacements and it would cost me additional to have a new ac unit replaced, new coil, and new furnace because its a split system and you can do one without the other. In the interim, I had to spend $12,000.00 to replace my full system. Which was not including the $1000.00 plus I had to pay for the shady companies HMS sent. THIS COMPANY IS NOT WORTHY. view less
Please note. This company will only pay for equal replacement should it be necessary to replace anything. However they send shady service people, they don't pay much on the service calls, Although you pay your $100 deductible. If its not a full replacement, even if its required. They only ever do the minimum repair so you also have to pay for the service calls.

This warranty was
... view more
# 106132
HMS
10-12-2016
Joshua – As with most home warranties, we make our decisions to repair or replace items based on the terms and conditions of the warranty Agreement. We strive to ensure our homeowners are provided with every benefit the Agreement provides. We regret to hear that your coverage and your experience with our service providers did not meet your expectations. Sincerely - John
Oak Ridge - TN 08-08-2016
Jerry Taylor,Oak Ridge TN
Posted On 08/08/16
Review No. 104623
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Should be minus stars for this company. Warranty is not worth the paper it's written on. Buyer beware. Please read the fine print before wasting your money. If company doesn't like the answer they receive from a contractor; they will try to find a company that will give them the answer that they long for ( no repairs needed or not covered) ! Warranty is TOTALLY. WORTHLESS, I really could care less if company addresses this or not. Just letting people know to be very aware of this warranty. Read all the fine print and don' take anyone's recommendation as it pertains to HMS National/Cross Country ! view less
Should be minus stars for this company. Warranty is not worth the paper it's written on. Buyer beware. Please read the fine print before wasting your money. If company doesn't like the answer they receive from a contractor; they will try to find a company that will give them the answer that they long for ( no repairs needed or not covered) ! Warranty is TOTALLY. WORTHLESS, I really could care
... view more
# 104623
Midlothian - VA 08-06-2016
Kristie Moore,Midlothian VA
Posted On 08/06/16
Review No. 104589
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I purchased a home with a 2 zone HVAC system. I contacted HMS when my ac was not cooling upstairs. While speaking with the company about my service request she recommended I upgrade the warranty to cover additional expenses the standard warranty did not cover. I paid for the upgrade and they contacted one of the vendors to come out. They sent a repair man out 2 days later and he informed them via speaker phone so I could hear the conversation the original unit that runs the upstairs had a leak in the coil .That same day they called me stating the claim might not be paid because it may be pre-existing . I sent them my home inspection which stated the condition of the 2 systems . They took 2 weeks to contact me and informed me tat they would not cover it because the inspection stated it was not hooked up correctly. I pointed out to them the system noted that was not hooked up correctly was the down stairs unit and that referred to a pan not being installed under the indoor unit-again not the unit I had them come out to repair and even if it was the pan plays no art in performance of the unit or the coil. It is just a precaution pan to catch water. They refused to let me talk to a supervisor. view less
I purchased a home with a 2 zone HVAC system. I contacted HMS when my ac was not cooling upstairs. While speaking with the company about my service request she recommended I upgrade the warranty to cover additional expenses the standard warranty did not cover. I paid for the upgrade and they contacted one of the vendors to come out. They sent a repair man out 2 days later and he informed
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104589
Indian Head - MD 08-05-2016
Dave R,Indian Head MD
Posted On 08/05/16
Review No. 104554
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolutely the worst service I have ever received. The customer service representatives are poorly trained and/or incompetent. They will seldom, if ever, call you back to explain the status of your claim. I have had to call them back many, many times to have repair issues addressed and resolved and when I do call them I'm on hold for 25 minutes typically. My dryer repair is now going on over 30 days and is still not fixed. I have had similar issues on several claims and I'm done with the company. I have provided feedback on several occasions and have never received any follow up from HMS. I even had an issue raised to a manager who promised me that they would resolve a particular issue with a repair company but she never returned my call and I ended up fixing my washing machine myself because I was so frustrated -what a waste of money. I recommend that NO one ever use this company. view less
Absolutely the worst service I have ever received. The customer service representatives are poorly trained and/or incompetent. They will seldom, if ever, call you back to explain the status of your claim. I have had to call them back many, many times to have repair issues addressed and resolved and when I do call them I'm on hold for 25 minutes typically. My dryer repair is now going on
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104554
Oakton - VA 08-05-2016
Al Grasso,Oakton VA
Posted On 08/05/16
Review No. 104546
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have used this warranty company for many years. Service has declined over the years and it has been difficult to get a competent service provider. I have serious ethics and integrity concerns. Most recently, I had a dishwasher issue. It took over a week to get a service check. The first provider never showed up. The second provider spent no more than 5 minutes at the house, turned the dishwasher on and determined that it had a bad motor. He took nothing apart and speculated that broken glass may have gotten in the motor. No glass was found nor do we have any recollection of having had broken glass in the dishwasher. The claim was denied. It seems like a convenient outcome for HMS. I will no longer use this company. When it comes to ethics and integrity, I draw the line view less
I have used this warranty company for many years. Service has declined over the years and it has been difficult to get a competent service provider. I have serious ethics and integrity concerns. Most recently, I had a dishwasher issue. It took over a week to get a service check. The first provider never showed up. The second provider spent no more than 5 minutes at the house, turned the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104546
Indianapolis - IN 08-04-2016
Bobby Ferguson,Indianapolis IN
Posted On 08/04/16
Review No. 104507
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have been without Air Conditioning since July 17th. On Monday, July 18th I was in contact with your customer service department and a service provider was assigned to my claim. That provider showed up on Wednesday 7/20 and did not do what he was supposed to do per your own customer service department (AC unit was completely out of coolant/refrigerant and instead of just refilling the unit the service provider should have called in and asked to do a test since it was more than 2 pounds low). The very next day the AC was not working again, and I called your customer service back that afternoon July 19th. I was told the service provider would return the next day, and he never showed. Service provider finally showed up on Saturday, July 23rd; he performed the leak test and the leak was identified.
Monday the 25th I called in to see what the plan was to fix the leak, only to find out that the service provider did not submit his report and there was nothing new in the HMS system. This is the same day I was offered reimbursement for a portable AC unit by a Kristen Gilliland, and I purchased one that night. Tuesday the 26th I submitted my receipt for reimbursement and was told that the service provider’s report was finally entered into the system and they began the research process. Thursday the 28th I was told that we were ordering a part and it would be available in 3-5 business days. I patiently waited 3-5 business days. Today when I called I was told the part will be in on August 29th. This is unacceptable. If that ETA is real it will be 43 days without air conditioning during the hottest 43 days of the year.
I pay HMS Home Warranty for service and solutions, not for excuses. I have received one update call the entire time this claim has been active… while I have taken HOURS out of my days on hold trying to get an update, even though on every call I make. There has to be a better solution than putting me in an inhumane situation for 43 days. view less
I have been without Air Conditioning since July 17th. On Monday, July 18th I was in contact with your customer service department and a service provider was assigned to my claim. That provider showed up on Wednesday 7/20 and did not do what he was supposed to do per your own customer service department (AC unit was completely out of coolant/refrigerant and instead of just refilling the unit
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104507
Elgin - IL 08-02-2016
Scott,Elgin IL
Posted On 08/02/16
Review No. 104404
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The worst customer service ever. After waiting over an hour on hold to talk with a representative I was told that because I replaced my failed sump pump to avoid my basement flooding the work was unauthorized and would not be covered. All I wanted was the cost of the pump less the deductable as I had replaced it myself instead of calling an expensive plumber for an emergency call. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was transferred to another less than helpful rep who would not work with me. Asked to speak with her supervisor and was denied the opportunity and told that they where to busy to speak with me. I was told that the next supervisor would call me within 24 hours and two days later still have not received a call back. Would not recommend this plan to anyone... view less
The worst customer service ever. After waiting over an hour on hold to talk with a representative I was told that because I replaced my failed sump pump to avoid my basement flooding the work was unauthorized and would not be covered. All I wanted was the cost of the pump less the deductable as I had replaced it myself instead of calling an expensive plumber for an emergency call. I asked
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104404
Burlington - NC 07-28-2016
Renee Key,Burlington NC
Posted On 07/28/16
Review No. 104189
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
HMS is the absolute worst appliance insurance company ever. The information that is presented to you is very misleading and sensationalized, you are told that you are taken care of when all actuality you are not taken care of in the least. You are placed under the impression that if you have a problem it's easy as 1 2 3 and you, the customer is valued and their concern so NOT TRUE! What they care about you as a customer is nothing until time to collect but when it's time for this company to do what they claim they are going to do they have every reason in the book and under the sun of how they will streamline their part and how now you are responsible and out of pocket for the rest. So my question is what good of having this as protection it's NOT. I was totally mislead & lied to about this insurance this company is scandalous and a scam DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME like I have please be cautious and do your homework so that you avoid this kind of foolery. view less
HMS is the absolute worst appliance insurance company ever. The information that is presented to you is very misleading and sensationalized, you are told that you are taken care of when all actuality you are not taken care of in the least. You are placed under the impression that if you have a problem it's easy as 1 2 3 and you, the customer is valued and their concern so NOT TRUE! What they
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104189
Cortland - OH 07-27-2016
steve flaviani,Cortland OH
Posted On 07/27/16
Review No. 104137
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
this company is for bleep! I have been without a fridge for 3 weeks, they put $500+ into a 13yr old refer, (stupid fng decision) and now its like a microwave. I had at least the cooler section before and no freezer. Been on the phone for 8hr + with this place and do not give a shit about anyone except their pockets. My family counsel is now involved, along with BBB. I will take this to the extreme with these people......Just the begining.... MFers are going down Ive lost 2days of work, alot of food been living out of a cooler for this whole time view less
this company is for bleep! I have been without a fridge for 3 weeks, they put $500+ into a 13yr old refer, (stupid fng decision) and now its like a microwave. I had at least the cooler section before and no freezer. Been on the phone for 8hr + with this place and do not give a shit about anyone except their pockets. My family counsel is now involved, along with BBB. I will take this to
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104137
Philadelphia - PA 07-27-2016
Lilah,Philadelphia PA
Posted On 07/27/16
Review No. 104106
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
If I could I would give this company zero stars this company is fraud they're very honest and buyers should be aware I would not recommend getting this warranty you think you're covered but you're really not they try to find ways around fixing your problem such as using cheap parts and on etiquette parts and trying to make you pay For modifications for the cheap parts to fit into your units very very bad business !!!!! view less
If I could I would give this company zero stars this company is fraud they're very honest and buyers should be aware I would not recommend getting this warranty you think you're covered but you're really not they try to find ways around fixing your problem such as using cheap parts and on etiquette parts and trying to make you pay For modifications for the cheap parts to fit into your units
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104106
Morningside - MD 07-26-2016
Ryan Myers,Morningside MD
Posted On 07/26/16
Review No. 104056
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I would advise anyone never to never obtain coverage through HMS Home Warranty. Our air conditioner just went out and we spent over $7,000 to get this repaired. The most HMS Home Warranty would give us as a buy out is $500 (shaking my head). According to the representative, the coil went out and the water leaked on the motor (another thing not covered). Not renewing my policy in January.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104056
Lee's Summit - MO 07-22-2016
J. Houser,Lee's Summit MO
Posted On 07/22/16
Review No. 103877
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My washing machine has been broken for over a month. HMS has sent Sears service to look at it 4 times. Each service tech was a different person. The last tech said he believed a part that was replaced on the 2nd service call needs to be replaced again. I've called HMS customer service on more than one occasion and asked how many times they are going to send Sears out and how many times are we going to replace the same parts? HMS customer service is always sympathetic and nice but sympathy is not getting my machine fixed. It is extremely difficult to run a household without a washing machine! I've missed work to accommodate the service calls and I have spent $175 so far at the laundromat (about $35 a week). I've asked that a different service company be sent because I have no confidence that any of the Sears service techs have the first clue as to whats wrong. I was told that would take manager approval but they won't let me speak with a manager. The 5th Sears service tech is scheduled to come 7/26/2016 which means another weekend at the laundromat. I received the part and called HMS to schedule an early appointment. I pleaded with them and explained again (you get a different person every time you call) all that I've been through. The HMS rep claimed they tried to get me an earlier appointment but they had none but I'm on some sort of call list if Sears has a cancellation. I honestly wonder if they think I'll just give up and buy a new machine and leave them alone, which I've considered out of shear frustration. However, I can't afford that and it defeats the purpose of the home warranty. I've persisted based on principal alone. I paid for a home warranty for exactly these situations and I want what I paid for... a satisfactory repair or the unit replaced and I want it done in a timely manner! view less
My washing machine has been broken for over a month. HMS has sent Sears service to look at it 4 times. Each service tech was a different person. The last tech said he believed a part that was replaced on the 2nd service call needs to be replaced again. I've called HMS customer service on more than one occasion and asked how many times they are going to send Sears out and how many times are we
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103877
Washington - DC 07-13-2016
DS,Washington DC
Posted On 07/13/16
Review No. 103434
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst customer service. Any repairs I've had take weeks on weeks, phone calls and emails do not get responses, and scheduling takes weeks. I started an AC repair request on June 20th. It is not July 13, and they haven't come to finish the repair yet. I will not be renewing. This is one of the worst home warranty companies.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103434
Hilliard - OH 07-13-2016
Emily,Hilliard OH
Posted On 07/13/16
Review No. 103430
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Spent more than one hour on HOLD and was assured I would receive return call from a supervisor in 30 minutes. Guess what? No return call. I have been assured parts to repair my air conditioning will be shipped in 3 - 5 business days. Let's see if this is the same old, same old. BTW, have been waiting six weeks already!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103430
Highland - IL 07-12-2016
Tish Bates,Highland IL
Posted On 07/12/16
Review No. 103381
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
If I could give them negative stars I would! This company is a total scam!! We bought a house where the sellers provided a home warranty. This is the company it is through. So, we move in and within 2 weeks our pool's filtration system and pump goes out. It takes them a week to send someone out to look at it (meanwhile we throw hundreds of dollars in chemicals into the pool to try to keep it clean without working filtration). Then the company finally shows up and says it looks like it was working but has died and parts cannot be gotten for the 10 year old system anymore. Then starts the RESEARCH by HMS. They shop prices to see who is cheaper, what they don't tell you is that can take 3-5 more business days (pool still turning green - nothing we can do). I call daily, spend 45 minutes a call on hold or more only to be told no manager is available (I wonder why with this level of crappy service) so I spend another hour on hold waiting for a manager. At this point I have over 8 hours on the phone with these people and am being told research will not be done until tomorrow -well over a week and a half from the time we submitted the claim. You would think if they send out their APPROVED service companies, the service the recommend would be approved and would not require DAYS of research - totally ridiculous! They claim they make home ownership easy - total load of crap! They take your money and fix nothing! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!!! THEY ARE A SCAM!!! view less
If I could give them negative stars I would! This company is a total scam!! We bought a house where the sellers provided a home warranty. This is the company it is through. So, we move in and within 2 weeks our pool's filtration system and pump goes out. It takes them a week to send someone out to look at it (meanwhile we throw hundreds of dollars in chemicals into the pool to try to keep it
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103381
Nolensville - TN 07-08-2016
Susanna Vaughan,Nolensville TN
Posted On 07/08/16
Review No. 103252
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We were traveling out of state when I got a voicemail from a plumbing company about the work order they received for our house. Panicked, I called the plumbing company. They had received a fax from HMS stating that there was a gas leak in our hot water heater. Suspicious since we had had that exact problem six months ago, and it had already been fixed, I attempted to reach HMS to discuss. After four phone calls and being on hold over twenty minutes, I was unable to reach someone to assist us. I finally gave up and just asked a friend to go over to our house and confirm that there is no gas leak or plumbing emergency. Very very disappointed that HMS made this error and then was totally unavailable to help fix their mistake. view less
We were traveling out of state when I got a voicemail from a plumbing company about the work order they received for our house. Panicked, I called the plumbing company. They had received a fax from HMS stating that there was a gas leak in our hot water heater. Suspicious since we had had that exact problem six months ago, and it had already been fixed, I attempted to reach HMS to discuss.
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103252
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact hmsnational.com directly.