ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

Home  /   Companies /   Residential Warranty Services
icon Last updated: January 9, 2023

Residential Warranty Services Review

Residential Warranty Services, headquartered in Caramel, Indiana, USA, has been a part of the home warranty industry since 1988. The company operates across 50 states, offering services to buyers, sellers, homeowners, and real estate experts. Residential Warranty Services has two plans to minimize repair and replacement costs that cover household mechanical equipment such as garage door openers, icemakers, refrigerators, humidifiers, heating systems, etc.

Pros

  • No overtime fees for emergency claims
  • Free SewerGard Protection with every Simple Plan purchase
  • High aggregate limit in coverage cap

Cons

  • Not liable to fix renovated appliances or systems.
  • Not responsible for repairing damage due to natural disasters or acts of God
  • Only two plans available
 Residential Warranty Services
three_star
174 Reviews

Premium

$375

Deductible

$75

Coverage Limits

N/A

BBB Rating

A+

Active States

49

Complaint Resolution Program

No

$5000

Estimated Appliance Coverage

$10,000

Estimated System Coverage

49

No. Of Active States

No

Complaint Resolution Program

Residential Warranty Services Plans & Coverage

Residential Warranty Services offers two home warranty plans: the Simple Plan and the Advantage Plan.

  • Simple Plan: This plan provides broad coverage servicing contracts for nearly every mechanical component at home. In addition, it includes free SewerGard protection.
  • Advantage Plan: This basic plan offers coverage to many mechanical home systems and appliances, with options to expand protection.
Simple Plan
  • Central Heating System
  • Refrigerator
  • Washers
  • Dryers
  • Trash Compactor
  • Garage Door Opener
  • Electrical System
  • Water Heater
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Well Pump
  • Plumbing System
  • Sump Pump
  • Water Softener
  • Drain Line Stoppages
  • Microwave
  • Sewer Ejector Pumps
  • Exhaust Fans
  • Central air conditioning
  • Roof Leak Repairs
  • Termite Protection Plan
  • Garage Door Spring
  • Range/Oven
  • Dishwasher
Advantage Plan
  • Dishwasher
  • Trash Compactor
  • Garage Door Opener
  • Electrical System
  • Water Heater
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Whirlpool Bathtub
  • Sump Pump
  • Central Heating System
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen Refrigerator
  • Exhaust Fans
  • Central air conditioning
  • Range/Oven

Additional Coverage

Apart from the list mentioned above, Residential Warranty Services offers several items under Optional add- ons coverage for Advantage Plan.

  • Additional HVAC Systems
  • Sewage Pump
  • Additional Water Heaters
  • Garage Door Spring
  • Sump Pumps
  • Water Softener
  • Well Pumps
  • Roof Leak Repair
  • Appliances Located in the Kitchen
  • Termite Treatment
  • Pool/Spa Mechanical
  • Drain Line
  • Septic Tank Pumping

Upgrade package (Gold Package)

RWS customers can also upgrade their Advantage plan by purchasing the Gold Package at $150 to get coverage for the following items

  • Water Heater: Sediment
  • Heating System: Disposable Filter and Heat Lamps
  • Garage Door Opener: Hinges, Springs, and Remote Transmitter/Keypad
  • Dishwasher: Racks, Baskets, and Rollers
  • Microwave Oven: Interior lining, Clocks, and Shelves
  • Range/Oven: Clocks, Rotisseries, Racks, Handles, Knobs, and Interior lining
  • Smoke Detector: Both, Battery Operated and Hardwired Systems
  • Drain Line Stoppage
  • Washer/Dryer Coverage
  • Roof Leak Repair Coverage
  • Termite Treatment Coverage

Residential Warranty Services Cost

Residential Warranty Services pricing is based on a simple square footage method and can vary depending on the state of residence. Furthermore, the coverage period is offered up to 180-days per claim.

The cost of Residential Warranty Services contract plans may range between $435 and $535. The deductibles are $75 and $50 per claim, depending on the plan you choose, the appliances, and other factors. The Simple plan has a TCF of $150. The optional items cost an average of $110 but can go upto $185 at most. To get the pricing information based on your specific needs, you can submit a free quote

Residential Warranty Services Claims & Customer Service

A repair or replacement claim for the malfunction of the equipment submitted under the RWS contract is categorized under three claim types: Emergency Claim, Urgent Claim, and Non-Emergency Claim.

Here is how you can file a claim:

  • You can call on the phone number (1-800-544-8156) of Residential Warranty Services to file the claim in between the working hours of 7:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. on weekdays (Monday through Friday).
  • If the claim does not fall under the scheduled coverage, then you will be informed not to pay the deductible for the non-warranty issues.
  • If the claim appears to fall under the warranty coverages provided, then the processor will forward your claim to a contractor.
  • The contractor will then call you to schedule an appointment time at your earliest convenience.
  • A service call fee is to be paid by you to the company or the contractor. RWS will, however, bear the expense of repair or replacement.

Residential Warranty Services claims to have provided warranty services to almost 3.7 million households. The company aims to build relationships with their customers.

What are some of the exclusions of Residential Warranty Services Plans?

RWS contracts only cover the items within the perimeter of the home's foundation and associated garages. Appliances will only be treated if they are damaged due to normal wear and tear. The company will not cover appliances that have been damaged due to natural disasters or acts of God.

The company has the authority to determine whether a device should be fixed or replaced. The replacements will have comparable capacity and features; however, RWS is not responsible for matching brands, colors, measurements, or altering cabinets or structures of any sort. In addition, the company has the right to offer cash instead of item replacement (which may cost less than retail pricing).

They will not cover leased equipment and any systems and appliances with pre-existing conditions. Although they provide services for equipment that have been improperly installed, these services are subject to specific limitations and circumstances.

Residential Warranty Services is not liable for any damaged items due to a sewer or water line failure or repair. You may learn more about RWS restrictions and exclusions by going through the sample service contract.

Is Residential Warranty Services Worth The Money?

Residential Warranty Services has provided warranty services to almost 3.7 million households in 33 years of business. Their customers can avail of various benefits like the inclusion of accessory parts.

However, RWS Advantage Plan covers less than the industry standard. If you’re looking for a low-cost plan with limited coverage options for a newer home, have a look at the Best Home Warranty Companies of 2021. Based on the customer reviews and preferences, these three home warranty companies also offer a comprehensive coverage plan and good pricing.

Residential Warranty Services FAQs

How do I contact Residential Warranty Services?

You can contact the Residential Warranty Services by calling at 1-800-544-8156 or by sending an email at RWSWarranty.com.

Who owns Residential Warranty Services?

Nathan Thornberry owns Residential Warranty Services. He is also the CEO of the RWS.

How do I cancel my Residential Warranty plan?

If you want to cancel your services amidst your coverage period, you must request a cancellation by emailing them or calling 1-800-544-8156, and you have to pay a $35 cancellation fee.

Should I get a home inspection for buying an RWS plan?

No, a home inspection is not mandatory. It is a good idea, though, to have your home evaluated to ensure that everything is in working condition. The warranty does not cover any known and unknown pre-existing conditions that are causing problems.

What issues can RWS solve for me?

RWS can assist you in resolving a variety of mechanical failures that may happen to your home system and appliances, such as:

  • Dishwashers- Dishes remaining dirty and lack of water drainage
  • Roof problems- Roof leaks or external pipes freezing
  • Plumbing- Blockage in the drain and sewer lines, stoppages, leaks, and water breaks

For more information on what to expect from Residential WS in terms of issues they can help with, check out their sample contracts.

Click here to share your reviews

Residential Warranty Services Reviews

Icon

Carla Pearl, Pittsburgh, PA

On Jan 28, 2023

five_star

The guy was on schedule and finished swiftly repairing our refrigerator. He described the issue and taught us how to properly care for our refrigerator. We appreciate Residential Warranty Services' responsiveness to our claim. We heartily endorse them since they kept their word.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Maximino Random , Chicago, IL

On Jan 11, 2023

five_star

They didn’t have a partner technician in our area so they said that we could enlist the services of another technician to have our refrigerator fixed. They have a quick claim process. It only took me two weeks to get the refund.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Stephany Brent, Carmel, IN

On Jan 02, 2023

five_star

The air conditioner was not working and the kids were complaining. I contacted RWS and received a confirmation that a technician would arrive the following day. He discovered that there was a problem with the condenser and replaced it. I am happy that they were able to assist me with this.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Rosalia Feil, Zionsville, IN

On Jan 02, 2023

five_star

The air conditioner was not working and the kids were complaining. I contacted RWS and received a confirmation that a technician would arrive the following day. He discovered that there was a problem with the condenser and replaced it. I am happy that they were able to assist me with this.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Alex Zing, Carmel, IN

On Dec 25, 2022

five_star

A technician was dispatched to inspect our washing machine. He arrived at the scheduled time. In slightly over an hour, he finished the repairs.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Wilfred Heaney, Carmel, IN

On Dec 20, 2022

five_star

RWS goes above and above to satisfy its clients. Their services have gone better every year.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Nellie Walker , Atlanta, GA

On Dec 09, 2022

five_star

We needed a new warranty because we purchased a new house. They explained everything in detail and saw to it that I received the necessary home warranty-covered items.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Twenee Hyatt, Indianapolis, IN

On Nov 29, 2022

five_star

Processing my claims wasn't difficult for me; rather, it was a simple process. We didn't have to wait long to get reimbursed for our expenses. They kept their word and delivered.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Victor Eichmann, Carmel, IN

On Nov 16, 2022

five_star

Solid home warranty provider. Their thorough inspection allowed us to uncover defects and come up with a foolproof warranty. All our claims are always fully settled. I’m happy with them.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Neil Stephens, Westfield, IN

On Nov 12, 2022

five_star

So happy with the Premier Policy we got from them. From the roof to underground and everything in between, they cover it. An added bonus is that you can book your own contractor for the lowest rates, guaranteed schedule, and workmanship of course. Absolutely, the best and completest warranty provider out there.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

AtlRegan Kautzer , Washington, DC

On Nov 07, 2022

five_star

The technician works quickly and with professionalism. He repaired our washing machine after swiftly diagnosing the issue. His politeness and the manner in which he cleaned up after his work impressed us.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Estefania Relly , Carmel, IN

On Oct 27, 2022

five_star

They have an excellent customer service. I made a call about a water heater. I was unaware of some of the policies but they were very patient in answering my questions.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Jefrey Simons, Indianapolis, IN

On Oct 11, 2022

five_star

I have been with RSW for more than five years. I selected them because of the items covered in my warranty and the price. I discovered that they offered better coverage to similarly priced contracts.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Laverne Weber, Carmel, IN

On Oct 04, 2022

five_star

Best warranty provider, so far. And we have tried a lot. Helped us fix a massive mold problem in our newly purchased house. They covered the total cost of repair. And we didn’t have to wait long too.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Ryan Martin, Nolensville, TN

On Sep 30, 2022

one_star

Totally crooked company, their business model is to delay and not respond to you. Causing you to call into over and over again in hopes that you will just give up. Total story: We bought a home, 2 years later our downstairs AC unit failed. We found out there is a class action against the provider on this unit because it fails so frequently, but we were not eligible because we weren't the original own ..Read Full Review

Totally crooked company, their business model is to delay and not respond to you. Causing you to call into over and over again in hopes that you will just give up. Total story: We bought a home, 2 years later our downstairs AC unit failed. We found out there is a class action against the provider on this unit because it fails so frequently, but we were not eligible because we weren't the original owners. Open a claim in June, they tell us to go ahead and have the work done. Our contractor explains the parts that failed, and it would be cheaper to replace the unit. We do so, provide the invoice and cause of failure to the warranty company as well as a copy of our home inspection that stated our AC unit was in working order and maintained. No one calls back after two weeks I reach out, they tell me the invoice isn't in the correct format. Fine we get a new invoice submitted. A week passes, I call back in, now they need a more detailed listing of failed parts and reason for failing. Provide that immediately. Another week goes by I call back in, now they want an invoice to repair the parts instead of replacing the unit which we had done. I explain to them the replacement was $6K (as provided on the invoice), but repair was significantly more expensive. They still claim that's what they want. Takes me a couple of days, but get a repair invoice for $9K. 2 weeks go by (mind you they never reached out to me to state these issues), now they need maintenance records. That took me a couple of weeks to track down, got them submitted. Now we have provided everything they have requested, it's just a waiting game. I start calling in every 3 days only to be told in the queue. Mind you a typical hold time with this company is approximately an hour. And should the person disconnect they don't call you back, right back into the holding pattern. Call after call, only to be told "It's in the queue," I'd ask if there was an ETA "No." Finally we make it to September where they say it's an "Unkown preexisting condition and that is covered for $1,000," I'm told I receive a check within 4 weeks. Clearly frustrated I state that by that logic every claim is an unknown preexisting condition. After filing a claim with the BBB I finally receive a call back, I answer the phone to be greeted with, "This is RWS, what is the issue with your claim?" After constant interrupting back & forth, I was told this doesn't make sense and we must have had a crooked contractor. Explained to them we had been working with the contractor for months to locate the leak and hadn't filed a claim because it wasn't worth the hassle for $600 worth of Freon etc. Agent doubles down on a crooked contractor and a failure to maintain. We went back to the provided maintenance records and home inspection. Agent tells us it isn't possible, and we had a crooked contractor. Told them they reserved the right to have another contractor come look at it, but at no point did they exercise that right. At which point I was told, "I know the contract, I suggest you read it." At this point I have had enough and hung up, I don't need this anymore. Don't do business with this company. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Alberto Lopez , Chicago, IL

On Sep 26, 2022

five_star

I am a senior citizen and I requested service on my air conditioning unit. It was the middle of summer and we had a bad heat wave. Thank goodness that they sent a technician two days after my call.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Thomas Gillette , Indianapolis, IN

On Sep 13, 2022

five_star

I’ve been with RWS for over three years. I chose them because they came highly recommended by my parents and friends. I compared their plans and they came better than similarly priced plans from other companies. My parents also had extensive experience with their warranty claims and overall, they were satisfied with the service.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Kurby Stanley , Chicago, IL

On Aug 29, 2022

five_star

Very satisfied! I started using the Basic Plan but then decided to upgrade it. The service I received with the air conditioning and termite protection was excellent. Prices are affordable. The sales reps are professional and explain every detail upfront.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Brock Bednar, Cincinnati, OH

On Aug 20, 2022

five_star

The technician came the following day after we made a request. He came early, almost 30 minutes before our scheduled appointment. He completed the repair quickly. He told us later that he was very busy and was able to squeeze us into his schedule. I definitely recommend RWS!

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Penelope Maze, Chicago, IL

On Aug 05, 2022

five_star

First time I had to make a claim and the process was smooth and easy! The customer service agent was very friendly and helpful and I received my reimbursement quickly. I’m very happy I went with their coverage plan.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ready to share your home warranty experience with Residential Warranty Services? Click here to write your own review

Residential Warranty Services RATINGS

RATINGS
174 Reviews in Total

Customer Service

three_star

Repair Time

three_star

Quality of Repair

three_star

Claims and Settlement

three_star
https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020