ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

Home  /   Companies /   Service Protection Advantage
icon Last updated: July 22, 2020

Service Protection Advantage

Service Protection Advantage is an undertaking of the Assurant Solutions, a leading provider of warranty and insurance services. Extended warranty plans are the primary products of Service Protection Advantage. Assurant Inc’s inception can be traced back to early 1999 when American Bankers and American Security Group combined to form what is today known as the Assurant Group. The company later underwent massive expansion and extended its domain to various sectors. What began as in 1892 as a company offering disability insurance, now sells several warranty and insurance plans in almost all states of the U.S.
 Service Protection Advantage
hwc-logo
34 Reviews

Premium

$75 - $200

Deductible

N/A

Coverage Limits

N/A

BBB Rating

N/A

Active States

1

Complaint Resolution Program

No

N/A

Estimated Appliance Coverage

N/A

Estimated System Coverage

1

No. Of Active States

No

Complaint Resolution Program
Click here to share your reviews

Service Protection Advantage Reviews

Icon

Steven L., Wildomar, CA

On Jul 06, 2022

hwc-logo

Do not use this company. They lie about what is in their contract. Then when you call customer support they just hang up on you. Imagine a place run by teenagers who do not give a shit about you then call in and try to have a conversation with them. F-

thumbsup-imgHelpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Conchita Azcue, Brooklyn, NY

On Dec 17, 2021

hwc-logo

The service, from the agents, to the supervisors, to the repair service company has been beyond unsatisfactory. It is reprehensible that we have paid into this insurance company all these years and are unable to receive service.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
3 people found this review helpful
Icon

Kenneth Thornton, Fountain Hills, AZ

On Oct 23, 2021

hwc-logo

I purchased the 5 year extended warranty plan for the $12,000 G* built in refrigerator which i bought 14 months ago. It was supposed to start once the owners warranty expired, (2 months ago). The refrigerator just broke down. When I called to schedule a service I was told that it didnt kick in until a year after the manufacturers warranty expired which isnt what I was specifically told when I bought ..Read Full Review

I purchased the 5 year extended warranty plan for the $12,000 G* built in refrigerator which i bought 14 months ago. It was supposed to start once the owners warranty expired, (2 months ago). The refrigerator just broke down. When I called to schedule a service I was told that it didnt kick in until a year after the manufacturers warranty expired which isnt what I was specifically told when I bought the policy. I looked in the fine print of the contract and they are correct but it isnt what they said when they sold me the policy. So, I have pay for the repairs. Dont buy a policy from these people. They will find a way to wiggle out of it. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
6 people found this review helpful
Icon

Scott, Flushing, NY

On Oct 07, 2021

hwc-logo

Worse warranty company I’ve ever dealt with. They just hang up on you when they feel like it and don’t bother calling back. They claim to show up at your house and leave a min later so you have to pay and they don’t do the work. They are the biggest scam.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
4 people found this review helpful
Icon

Dale Stoneroad, Wesley Chapel, FL

On Sep 03, 2021

hwc-logo

We purchased this G* Refrigerator 8/2017. Since 7/2019 we have had FOURTEEN service calls/repairs. They have replaced the freezer fan, the refrigerator fan, the thermistor, the main computer board, drain line, housing cover for refrigerator fan and freezer fan, ALL 2-3 times each. Today they replaced FOUR parts again! We have dealt with water leaking all over our floors, food freezing in the refrigerato ..Read Full Review

We purchased this G* Refrigerator 8/2017. Since 7/2019 we have had FOURTEEN service calls/repairs. They have replaced the freezer fan, the refrigerator fan, the thermistor, the main computer board, drain line, housing cover for refrigerator fan and freezer fan, ALL 2-3 times each. Today they replaced FOUR parts again! We have dealt with water leaking all over our floors, food freezing in the refrigerator and then thawing and having to be thrown out, extremely loud noises (which we took video of and showed the tech multiple times), and the water on the door not working after they left. G* says its reparable because they can put a part in that will fix it for a few weeks. Then the cycle starts again. Because G* doesnt deem it as a defective product, A******* will not rectify the situation. G* says A******* should see all these repairs and buy out the contract or give cash value for the refrigerator. The G* Technician even feels there is something wrong and says he has NEVER seen this many issues before that keep happening over and over again. G* and A******* do both agree that 14 service calls in 2 years is excessive. Yet no one will rectify this situation. We were told by L****** at A******* (yesterday) to call Customer Service at 8**-4**-4**** when the tech was at our house today, and ask for the Claims Department. Then they would speak directly to the tech to find out why these same parts continue to need replaced. Well… that was a joke, because I spoke to T** who just said if there are parts there (again) just fix it. He was not interested in how many times the same parts have been replaced. As he tried to transfer me to customer relations, he hung up on me. I called back and then spoke to N****** who was extremely difficult to understand. Customer Relations said I needed to go back over to Claims (T**’s Dept), so she transferred me to D****. D**** was a higher up in Claims who just kept saying “If the refrigerator can be fixed, A******* will not do anything about it, even if it’s the same parts being replaced over and over again”. The ONLY way A******* will do anything is for the Tag people at G* to deem the refrigerator unrepairable. I have no idea what a Tag person is? I will NEVER buy another G* product, nor will I ever recommend A******* for anything. All we have gotten is the run around from both pointing us back to the other. There have been numerous losses in food cost, lost wages from missing work for the service calls, and its not something we look forward to having a tech in our house all the time during Covid issues. This is absolutely the worst customer service from both Companies (G* and A*******). Please save yourself the hassle and do NOT go with either Company for your needs. For now, I plan to write reviews on all possible sites until our situation is addressed. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
4 people found this review helpful
Icon

beckyn, Wayne, PA

On Aug 26, 2021

hwc-logo

Wish Id checked reviews before I purchased this. Dont make the mistake I did - do not buy this. Not worth the paper its written on. AND, if you want your money back, they will only refund up to $25. Bought from referral from G* - dont fall for it.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
3 people found this review helpful
Icon

OWEN DYKSTRA, Sparta, NJ

On Jul 31, 2021

hwc-logo

Had my dryer covered since 2006, service tech was great, was going to cost $700 to fix and SVC paid me less then $200 toward a new dryer... total waste of money, I could have bought 5 dryers with what I paid over the years and when it needs to be fixed, they walk away...

thumbsup-imgHelpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Ron Heller, Saint Louis, MO

On Jul 22, 2021

hwc-logo

Horrible customer service. Had refrigerator under contract for 17 years and now have to wait 3 weeks for a service call. Anyone I talked to or chatted with gave me incorrect or misleading information.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Gregory A Baryza, Quincy, MA

On Jul 13, 2021

hwc-logo

We took advantage of an offer from them to extend the warranty on the in-wall AC/heat pumps in our new condo. The first time we had occasion to use the service was a disaster. They scheduled a ** tech to come and do the diagnosis. That was fine. Then we had do wait for the report to be transferred to their system, for them to find a service tech and schedule the repair. After several days waiting, we w ..Read Full Review

We took advantage of an offer from them to extend the warranty on the in-wall AC/heat pumps in our new condo. The first time we had occasion to use the service was a disaster. They scheduled a ** tech to come and do the diagnosis. That was fine. Then we had do wait for the report to be transferred to their system, for them to find a service tech and schedule the repair. After several days waiting, we were mailed an appointment date about a week ahead. When that day arrived, we received a call from **. It was the local service techs supervisor asking why we had scheduled another diagnosis when he just did one. To add insult to injury, when they *scheduled* the second diagnostic, I received an email telling me the service had been completed, and asking me to rate the performance -- days before it actually happened. When you try and reach a representative via the website, thats when death comes by a thousand cuts. For example, when you manage to find a phone number contact and do call, the answering system tells you you it is prefereble to contact them via the website. It then presents a list of options. Number one is to have the website address texted to your phone. Number two is to repeat the list. DDUUUUUHHH!! To cancel the contract, you have to write them in R**** C***, SD. I surmise they do that to minimize the chance a crowd will show up on their doorstep with pitchforks and torches. When I buy a service contract, I expect the successful completion of the repair will be totally in the hands of the service contract holder and not be considered complete until I acknowledge it. A******** performance is as far from that standard as I can imagine. Ive given them one star = Not Good because that is as low as I am allowed to go. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

ashish singh, Groton, MA

On Jul 09, 2021

hwc-logo

Hi , I am sharing my bad experience with A******* till now . I have service plan on my G* microwave for model /Sno PVM9005SJ3SS/ RM260510A My contract number is : 473126363 I claimed for service and G* service guy name J*** S******* was there at my house on 18th June , he inspected and found that my microwave is not repairable , and informed both G* and a****** about that , also he sent me invoice. ..Read Full Review

Hi , I am sharing my bad experience with A******* till now . I have service plan on my G* microwave for model /Sno PVM9005SJ3SS/ RM260510A My contract number is : 473126363 I claimed for service and G* service guy name J*** S******* was there at my house on 18th June , he inspected and found that my microwave is not repairable , and informed both G* and a****** about that , also he sent me invoice. After that I called A******* multiple times but they have same answers that your service request is closed and they have no further information or claim, I am waiting for 3 weeks now without microwave and called multiple times without any result. they keep me waiting for an hour in each call and then disconnect it without final answer. I am without microwave and as its rangehood , I can not even cook as fire alarm goes on without that. If any one can help that will be great , I have to come here on social media as I am completely frustrated with A******* , my next step will be to file official complaint for a******* , as I have paid insurance premium of 150$ for $535 microwave , without any benefits which is fraud. Here are details of service done by John. Call Number: 064104982 Tech: 10923530 Tech Notes: TAG: Case Number: 06045191, Not Repairable Burnt Wave Guide Arcing; Invoice Notes: TAG: Case Number: 06045191, Not Repairable Burnt Wave Guide Arcing Problem Description: PRODUCT NOT WORKING-MICROWAVE HAS STOPPED WORKIN ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
3 people found this review helpful
Icon

Jim Clark, Somers Point, NJ

On Jun 28, 2021

hwc-logo

I have a policy covering my new * * Refrigerator and Dishwasher. It originally was with * *. When * * stopped making appliances the contract was apparently sold to this outfit, *. A*****, ** Service Protection Advantage. I think it is owned by A******* I**, Co. Had a claim because a water hose in the refrigerator broke and flooded our kitchen floor.. It was not useable after this break so we had a n ..Read Full Review

I have a policy covering my new * * Refrigerator and Dishwasher. It originally was with * *. When * * stopped making appliances the contract was apparently sold to this outfit, *. A*****, ** Service Protection Advantage. I think it is owned by A******* I**, Co. Had a claim because a water hose in the refrigerator broke and flooded our kitchen floor.. It was not useable after this break so we had a non functioning unit. Reported claim. The claim was given to another outfit, * & * Appliance Service to do the repair. They promised to be here in 5 days to do the repair. We waited all day and they did not show up. Received a text saying they were here but no one was home so we would have to reschedule. Can you believe the same thing happened 5 days later. When we called the only person you can talk to is a person with no authority to tell us to reschedule. We are now over 2 weeks after reporting the claim. Im fed up with * & * and SPA. Called a local repair service and they were here in 4 hours. Fixed the problem in 30 minutes. I asked them by letter to cancel and return my unused premium on June 11. Its now June 28 and nothing from them. Im contacting the State Insurance Commission today to report this episode. Rating is 1 ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Leticia Sanchez, Edinburg, TX

On Jun 25, 2021

hwc-logo

Had my dryer on their protection insurance with them since 2011 - attempted to cancel the coverage, because it kept appearing on my credit card for $8.60 every month. I attempted to cancel it today, June 24, 2021 a total of $1,135.20 (i could have purchased like 2 dryers & I still have the one that was insured); where i'm getting at is that...I COULD NOT MAKE THE CANCELLATION OVER THE PHONE...BUT WH ..Read Full Review

Had my dryer on their protection insurance with them since 2011 - attempted to cancel the coverage, because it kept appearing on my credit card for $8.60 every month. I attempted to cancel it today, June 24, 2021 a total of $1,135.20 (i could have purchased like 2 dryers & I still have the one that was insured); where i'm getting at is that...I COULD NOT MAKE THE CANCELLATION OVER THE PHONE...BUT WHEN I MADE THE CONTRACT IT WAS OVER THE PHONE NOT THRU AN EMAIL - THE LADY REPRESENTATIVE INFORMED ME THE ONLY WHY TO CANCEL WAS OVER THE EMAIL...WHAT??????? yet they never called or emailed to ask if the dryer was still available or what, but they were very quick to keep charging my credit card each month...how upsetting!!! The dryer was sold 5 years ago. I would give them a -1. Not once was I ever contacted either by mail/email. BAD COMMUNICATION! UPSET BECAUSE THEY WOULDNT TAKE THE CANCELLATION FOR THE PHONE!!! ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Linda McLoughlin, Westbury, NY

On May 01, 2021

hwc-logo

I have had a service contract with this company on all my kitchen appliances for over 8 years after my Company warranty expired. No problem until now. It now cost $25 to have a repair man com for each appliance. Needed a gasket for dishwasher they say not covered. Wont repair the control panel until I repair gasket and bottom try for dishes. (rust on tip) Microwave too old will reimburse me 149.00. ..Read Full Review

I have had a service contract with this company on all my kitchen appliances for over 8 years after my Company warranty expired. No problem until now. It now cost $25 to have a repair man com for each appliance. Needed a gasket for dishwasher they say not covered. Wont repair the control panel until I repair gasket and bottom try for dishes. (rust on tip) Microwave too old will reimburse me 149.00. Complete fraud. Took my money all these years but refuse service when you need it. Would give 0 stars. Rip Off ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
5 people found this review helpful
Icon

Tim, Odessa, FL

On Apr 21, 2021

hwc-logo

2nd attempt to use my Warranty agreement that Assurant failed us. Incompetent service relations. **** (told was the highest level of escalations), continued to lie about the coverage. Only have 2 venders to fix my Dishwasher (*** & ** Appliances.) *** rescheduled 3 times before telling me they could not do the repair. THen after multiple calls and being hung up on, they set up ** to come 8 days la ..Read Full Review

2nd attempt to use my Warranty agreement that Assurant failed us. Incompetent service relations. **** (told was the highest level of escalations), continued to lie about the coverage. Only have 2 venders to fix my Dishwasher (*** & ** Appliances.) *** rescheduled 3 times before telling me they could not do the repair. THen after multiple calls and being hung up on, they set up ** to come 8 days later. I bring this up because my last issue with them, after 45 days of excuses, they sent me a check to replace my fridge. Thats all great until you try to buy anything over $1000. No inventory to be had. Worst customer Service and no Accountability by Assurant ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
4 people found this review helpful
Icon

William P., Rapid City, SD

On Feb 12, 2021

hwc-logo

We have had a ** range for just over a year. Already I have had to replace the gas ignitors on two burners. And now the endcap on the oven door has fallen off. When I called that in to Service Protection Advantage I was told that this was a cosmetic repair and not covered by warranty. If this range were built to last I would recommend it. But clearly it is not.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Jeff David, Fairfax, VA

On Jan 12, 2021

hwc-logo

Had two experiences with them on two different appliances. a Monogram side by side refrigerator and a Monogram 6 Burner Range. The first repair took about 4 months with repeated calls to SPA and the "vendor" they assigned to the task. Call backs were non-existent. The second repair began last December. SPA assigned the same vendor as the first repair. The repair man showed and displayed k ..Read Full Review

Had two experiences with them on two different appliances. a Monogram side by side refrigerator and a Monogram 6 Burner Range. The first repair took about 4 months with repeated calls to SPA and the "vendor" they assigned to the task. Call backs were non-existent. The second repair began last December. SPA assigned the same vendor as the first repair. The repair man showed and displayed knowledge. Told me they had to order a part and would get it within a 1-2 weeks. I asked if I could pay for a rush order of the part with Christmas dinner approaching and no stove. He said I would have to talk to the main office after her submitted his paperwork that afternoon. Called, no answer and voice mail full. Texted, no response. Waited a day, repeated with same lack of response. Waited a few days, repeated, no response. Called SPA and they promised to correct. No changes. Called SPA to elevate to a supervisor. Promised to resolve, waited...... Called supervisor again. They said an appointment had been scheduled to repair. Interesting because no one had called me. But they assured me it was scheduled and game me a day and window. A week later repair day comes and I get a late afternoon call from a repairman. He says he is late but promises he will come. I wait all night and no repairman. The following morning at 755AM I get a call, sorry about last night can we come by today? ummmmmmm No, I am not waiting around for you to no show again. Please call me later in the day to schedule a new appointment. No call later. Saturday call to SPA, no reply. Monday call to SPA, no reply. Tuesday call to SPA, no reply. SAVE YOUR MONEY Find a local repair company and develop a relationship so you have someone to actually contact. The faceless SPA will let you down. and take your money in the process. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
4 people found this review helpful
Icon

Lee Marshall, Jacksonville, FL

On Dec 29, 2020

hwc-logo

This is a waste of money. They are very good at taking payments for service, but they do not follow through when you actually need something done. I have had my GE washer and dryer under a service protection plan for the last 10 years. This year, when I called to service my GE dryer, the service man came and said, the model number was not visible on the dryer and he could not touch it. The Assurant c ..Read Full Review

This is a waste of money. They are very good at taking payments for service, but they do not follow through when you actually need something done. I have had my GE washer and dryer under a service protection plan for the last 10 years. This year, when I called to service my GE dryer, the service man came and said, the model number was not visible on the dryer and he could not touch it. The Assurant customer service reps told me to contact GE give me something to "prove this was the dryer I had been paying on for the last ten years". In the meantime, they would not return the $50 deposit. Rather than waste time paying them, I'm going to start a "home repair account" and put my money into my account and hire local providers. Lesson learned. I hope this helps to save someone else from such a costly mistake. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
6 people found this review helpful
Icon

Tom, Santa Barbara, CA

On Sep 15, 2020

hwc-logo

The company sent me an email offering a service warranty shortly after I registered my new Range with GE. In the process of checking out their offer they added a plan to my shopping cart. There was no other way to see the offer and pricing. Now they are sending me emails saying that I left items in my shopping cart and requesting that I complete the purchase. There is no method offered to clear the shopp ..Read Full Review

The company sent me an email offering a service warranty shortly after I registered my new Range with GE. In the process of checking out their offer they added a plan to my shopping cart. There was no other way to see the offer and pricing. Now they are sending me emails saying that I left items in my shopping cart and requesting that I complete the purchase. There is no method offered to clear the shopping cart. It seems clear that they are aggressive and sneaky marketers. Looks like I should then put them on my ignore list. ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
5 people found this review helpful
Icon

Monika Yungert, San Francisco, CA

On Sep 01, 2020

hwc-logo

The worst service EVER. I have been dealing with a refrigerator issue (not working at all) since July 20, 2020!!! I have had 2 repair people come out and tried replacing 2 parts but didn't correct issue. I was told to find my own repair person and will get reimbursed - I have done that and cost to repair. I have submitted the estimate and now I get no response from Service Protection Advantage. You ..Read Full Review

The worst service EVER. I have been dealing with a refrigerator issue (not working at all) since July 20, 2020!!! I have had 2 repair people come out and tried replacing 2 parts but didn't correct issue. I was told to find my own repair person and will get reimbursed - I have done that and cost to repair. I have submitted the estimate and now I get no response from Service Protection Advantage. You CAN'T get a live person to talk to; when you call the number you have to listen to a long phone tree and more than likely you'll get disconnected and then you have to call back AGAIN. I am a sitting and waiting for a response. Family of 4 without a refrigerator since 7/20/20 is NOT acceptable. They have not issue collecting my monthly payment but can't give me the time of day to respond. Once I get resolution (whenever that will be) I will cancel this service. Not worth it ..View less

thumbsup-imgHelpful
7 people found this review helpful
Icon

j, Fort Lee, NJ

On Jan 21, 2020

hwc-logo

Their customer service department lacks decision makers. They pass the buck and no one appears to have the authority to override poor decision making nor consider the fact they are supposed to service customer not act like a bunch of robots. Over the years I have lost hundreds of dollars due to faulty repairs, spoiled food, flood damage and being over charged for policy errors.

thumbsup-imgHelpful
7 people found this review helpful

Ready to share your home warranty experience with Service Protection Advantage? Click here to write your own review

Service Protection Advantage RATINGS

RATINGS
34 Reviews in Total

Customer Service

hwc-logo

Repair Time

hwc-logo

Quality of Repair

hwc-logo

Claims and Settlement

hwc-logo
https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here