ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

Home  /   Companies /   Service Protection Advantage
icon Last updated: July 22, 2020

Service Protection Advantage

Service Protection Advantage is an undertaking of the Assurant Solutions, a leading provider of warranty and insurance services. Extended warranty plans are the primary products of Service Protection Advantage. Assurant Inc’s inception can be traced back to early 1999 when American Bankers and American Security Group combined to form what is today known as the Assurant Group. The company later underwent massive expansion and extended its domain to various sectors. What began as in 1892 as a company offering disability insurance, now sells several warranty and insurance plans in almost all states of the U.S.
Service Protection Advantage
1.5 / 5
Based on 17 Reviews | Write A Review

N/A

Estimated Appliance Coverage

N/A

Estimated System Coverage

1

No. Of Active States

No

Complaint Resolution Program

People are also interested in

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5
/ 5
Based on 13,655 Reviews
Total Home Protection

Total Home Protection

4.5
/ 5
Based on 708 Reviews
Choice Home Warranty

Choice Home Warranty

4
/ 5
Based on 6,857 Reviews

Service Protection Advantage REVIEWS

Icon

Tom, Santa Barbara, CA

On Sep 15, 2020

The company sent me an email offering a service warranty shortly after I registered my new Range with GE. In the process of checking out their offer they added a plan to my shopping cart. There was no other way to see the offer and pricing. Now they are sending me emails saying that I left items in my shopping cart and requesting that I complete the purchase. There is no method offered to clear the shopp ..Read Full Review

The company sent me an email offering a service warranty shortly after I registered my new Range with GE. In the process of checking out their offer they added a plan to my shopping cart. There was no other way to see the offer and pricing. Now they are sending me emails saying that I left items in my shopping cart and requesting that I complete the purchase. There is no method offered to clear the shopping cart. It seems clear that they are aggressive and sneaky marketers. Looks like I should then put them on my ignore list. ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Monika Yungert, San Francisco, CA

On Sep 01, 2020

The worst service EVER. I have been dealing with a refrigerator issue (not working at all) since July 20, 2020!!! I have had 2 repair people come out and tried replacing 2 parts but didn't correct issue. I was told to find my own repair person and will get reimbursed - I have done that and cost to repair. I have submitted the estimate and now I get no response from Service Protection Advantage. You ..Read Full Review

The worst service EVER. I have been dealing with a refrigerator issue (not working at all) since July 20, 2020!!! I have had 2 repair people come out and tried replacing 2 parts but didn't correct issue. I was told to find my own repair person and will get reimbursed - I have done that and cost to repair. I have submitted the estimate and now I get no response from Service Protection Advantage. You CAN'T get a live person to talk to; when you call the number you have to listen to a long phone tree and more than likely you'll get disconnected and then you have to call back AGAIN. I am a sitting and waiting for a response. Family of 4 without a refrigerator since 7/20/20 is NOT acceptable. They have not issue collecting my monthly payment but can't give me the time of day to respond. Once I get resolution (whenever that will be) I will cancel this service. Not worth it ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

j, Fort Lee, NJ

On Jan 21, 2020

Their customer service department lacks decision makers. They pass the buck and no one appears to have the authority to override poor decision making nor consider the fact they are supposed to service customer not act like a bunch of robots. Over the years I have lost hundreds of dollars due to faulty repairs, spoiled food, flood damage and being over charged for policy errors.

Helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

CA, Houston, TX

On May 22, 2019

Very Rude customer service from their escalations department. I spoke with case manager named DAN. He was very rude and non apologetic. I informed him on the phone that his tone and manner of speaking to me was rude and unprofessional and he did not show any level of care for the 4 month struggle I was having at having my appliance fixed. I asked to speak to the manager and he said No I could not. I aske ..Read Full Review

Very Rude customer service from their escalations department. I spoke with case manager named DAN. He was very rude and non apologetic. I informed him on the phone that his tone and manner of speaking to me was rude and unprofessional and he did not show any level of care for the 4 month struggle I was having at having my appliance fixed. I asked to speak to the manager and he said No I could not. I asked him why. He says he was the highest level to speak to and I could not report him. I’m extremely disappointed in this level of service especially when the repair has taken 4 months already and it’s not even complete. The least they can do is provide kind and good customer service. ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Angela Hart, Hixson, TN

On Mar 20, 2019

I purchased a contract when I purchased my refrigerator 8 years ago. April of 2018 I purchased a 5 year contract and have used 11months of the service agreement, my refrigerator is non-repairable and I not only find out that I lose the remaining money on my contract but they compared my refrigerator to a stripped down model. I feel like I have been taken advantage of, and I am loosing $768.00.

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Thu Truong, Trabuco Canyon, CA

On Mar 13, 2019

I have a service contract on my refrigerator built-in Monogram since 5/4/2009. On 2/26/2019, I submitted a claim to Assurant as my frig stopped making ice, on the frig side all my foods are frozen and the temperature control knob was unable to turn. On 2/28/2019, GE Service man dispatched at my house advised me that the broken part was no longer made so it's not repairable and told me to call my insuranc ..Read Full Review

I have a service contract on my refrigerator built-in Monogram since 5/4/2009. On 2/26/2019, I submitted a claim to Assurant as my frig stopped making ice, on the frig side all my foods are frozen and the temperature control knob was unable to turn. On 2/28/2019, GE Service man dispatched at my house advised me that the broken part was no longer made so it's not repairable and told me to call my insurance company. I called Assurant the same afternoon to report the non-repairable part. The agent handled the call told me that they need to wait for the technician to submit his report. I called back the next day on 3/1/2019, the agent put me on hold to call GE Service and was told that the part was not repairable. The agent advised me that it would take 3 days until Wednesday 3/6/2019 for the claim office to make their decision. I called to follow up on 3/8/2019, the agent told me that my case was close and the technician already fixed it. It was not true as he did not do anything. It's still broken. I requested to talk to her supervisor. She dropped my call. I called back and they dropped my call again. I had to call 3rd time and waited for a long time. A supervisor named Eric finally talked to me. He was very rude. He said that if the frig is not repairable, how come I did not call on the same day of repair (2/28/2019). I assure him that I did call to report that on the same day 2/28/2019 and followed up on 3/1/2019. He insisted that I did not call. After reading through their notes, he acknowledged that I called. Why was he so rude to accuse me unprofessionally? I called on 3/11/2019, again no update. On 3/12/2019, I received an email update from Assurant to deny my claim as follows "We are sorry to inform you that based on our service provider's inspection we have determined that the reported loss/damage to your product is the result of rust. This type of loss/damage is not covered, as listed in the terms and conditions of your service plan." The rust in the ice bucket has nothing to do with the the broken thermostat which is not repairable. The similar situation happened on 4/4/2016, incident# 35908240. Another one happened on 10/1/16, incident# 36948223. Another one happened on 1/17/17, incident# 37408260. The service man could not fix it and made it worse. So, I had my home warranty 2-10 fixed it until it broke again on 2/26/2019. STAY AWAY FROM ASSURANT to avoid this situation. ..View less

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Thu Truong, Trabuco Canyon, CA

On Mar 13, 2019

I have a service contract on my refrigerator built-in Monogram since 5/4/2009. On 2/26/2019, I submitted a claim to Assurant as my frig stopped making ice, on the frig side all my foods are frozen and the temperature control knob was unable to turn. On 2/28/2019, GE Service man dispatched at my house advised me that the broken part was no longer made so it's not repairable and told me to call my insuranc ..Read Full Review

I have a service contract on my refrigerator built-in Monogram since 5/4/2009. On 2/26/2019, I submitted a claim to Assurant as my frig stopped making ice, on the frig side all my foods are frozen and the temperature control knob was unable to turn. On 2/28/2019, GE Service man dispatched at my house advised me that the broken part was no longer made so it's not repairable and told me to call my insurance company. I called Assurant the same afternoon to report the non-repairable part. The agent handled the call told me that they need to wait for the technician to submit his report. I called back the next day on 3/1/2019, the agent put me on hold to call GE Service and was told that the part was not repairable. The agent advised me that it would take 3 days until Wednesday 3/6/2019 for the claim office to make their decision. I called to follow up on 3/8/2019, the agent told me that my case was close and the technician already fixed it. It was not true as he did not do anything. It's still broken. I requested to talk to her supervisor. She dropped my call. I called back and they dropped my call again. I had to call 3rd time and waited for a long time. A supervisor named Eric finally talked to me. He was very rude. He said that if the frig is not repairable, how come I did not call on the same day of repair (2/28/2019). I assure him that I did call to report that on the same day 2/28/2019 and followed up on 3/1/2019. He insisted that I did not call. After reading through their notes, he acknowledged that I called. Why was he so rude to accuse me unprofessionally? I called on 3/11/2019, again no update. On 3/12/2019, I received an email update from Assurant to deny my claim as follows "We are sorry to inform you that based on our service provider's inspection we have determined that the reported loss/damage to your product is the result of rust. This type of loss/damage is not covered, as listed in the terms and conditions of your service plan." The rust in the ice bucket has nothing to do with the the broken thermostat which is not repairable. The similar situation happened on 4/4/2016, incident# 35908240. Another one happened on 10/1/16, incident# 36948223. Another one happened on 1/17/17, incident# 37408260. The service man could not fix it and made it worse. So, I had my home warranty 2-10 fixed it until it broke again on 2/26/2019. STAY AWAY FROM ASSURANT to avoid this situation. ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

ann avey, Leavenworth, WA

On Aug 24, 2018

My 1-1/2 year old dishwasher quit working. I called Service Advantage in approximately mid-June. Many calls later - over a dozen - my dishwasher still isn't working. No one has been out to repair. Over two months. The customer service people I've talked to have been very nice. They do NOTHING! Today, 8/24/18, I made my final call to this fraudulent company. (It is fraud if a company says it will repair y ..Read Full Review

My 1-1/2 year old dishwasher quit working. I called Service Advantage in approximately mid-June. Many calls later - over a dozen - my dishwasher still isn't working. No one has been out to repair. Over two months. The customer service people I've talked to have been very nice. They do NOTHING! Today, 8/24/18, I made my final call to this fraudulent company. (It is fraud if a company says it will repair your appliance, then refuses to, isn't it?) I called a local appliance dealer today. They will be out Monday morning! YAY!!! ..View less

Helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Icon

Eugene Ndianabo, Gaithersburg, MD

On Aug 11, 2018

Customer service is unprofessional needs huge improvement. Customers do not seem to be their priority and most of the times no satisfactory solution is reached for the customer. The company subcontracts third party companies to carry out repairs but these companies are careless and don’t care about the customer’s urgent need to have their appliances to be functional as soon as possible. My f ..Read Full Review

Customer service is unprofessional needs huge improvement. Customers do not seem to be their priority and most of the times no satisfactory solution is reached for the customer. The company subcontracts third party companies to carry out repairs but these companies are careless and don’t care about the customer’s urgent need to have their appliances to be functional as soon as possible. My first case is a range (oven). Although I paid the co-pay fee the appliance has never been repaired. Tech hardly speaks English and it is difficult to communicate. He wants me to do things for him when I believe these are parts of his duties. The range ya remained un-repaired simply because tech refused to unplug it from the mains and he wanted me (a non-tech) to that for him. I have kept quite. Second case is a fridge. A tech was sent to diagnose the appliance and ordered the required parts. Another appointment was done to fix the parts but tech did not show up on two appointments. Next two different techs came and messed up things but could not fix the appliance pretending that one more part was required. The fridge which was half working was now completely down and had to be unplugged. When I call service protection advantage they always want me to talk to the tech. The customer has no contract with your third party contractor and he has no obligation to deal with them. Service Protection Advantage has this obligation and they need to professionally take the case seriously. At another appointment the first tech came but found that the previous two had messed up and he could not do anything. After one month+ that this issue has been going on the fridge is not what working and I am not receiving any compensation from Service Protection Advantage for the inconveniences. They should be following up when th techs and eventually physically visit the customer on the day of the repair instead of relying on reports from the third party. I have seen numerous complaints and negative ratings on Service Protection Advantage and it is high time you improved your way of doing business. Or else you may need to close and people would go to more professional companies who would serve them better. ..View less

Helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Jerry Taylor, Fort Worth, TX

On Jun 07, 2018

my freezer has been broken since January with many visits by various repairmen. I think it is time for a new freezer.

Helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Twyla Richett, North Hampton, NH

On May 15, 2018

After having paid on this contract for several years, being told that there was no service provider available in my area to fix my refrigerator is just not acceptable. They say they should have information for me in 2 to 3 days. Days. Don't buy from this company.

Helpful
3 people found this review helpful
Icon

SANJAY SHARMA, McDonough, GA

On Feb 10, 2018

This is a very poorly functioning company and i would not recommend any one buying any contract thru them I had this company for more than three years but luckily my appliances did not give me hard time frequently, but when ever i needed them, they were never on time, had long weight time to talk to them and the contractors they hire locally are extremely poor quality, who have no work ethics i ha ..Read Full Review

This is a very poorly functioning company and i would not recommend any one buying any contract thru them I had this company for more than three years but luckily my appliances did not give me hard time frequently, but when ever i needed them, they were never on time, had long weight time to talk to them and the contractors they hire locally are extremely poor quality, who have no work ethics i had problem with my microwave and i waited for four months to get it done , till they got their money, I had problems with my gas range 6 months ago and they send a tech who said all my burners are bad and will order parts and later said all burners were bad due to abuse (I am talking about a high end professional range in a physicians house,) , they know how to skin your money. So I hired a local family owned business to fix my range happily and told me they did not wanted to do your work because it was labor intensive for them, it was not "abuse " This company has grown too big and they are treating their customers like on assembly line I have fired them today and i am going to keep my local guy who has great work ethics, not like these scammers THIS IS A VERY POORLY FUNCTIONING COMPANY , EVEN TODAY WHEN I CALLED THEM TO CANCEL THE REP WAS VERY RUDE AND EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL, DID NOT EVEN BOTEHR TO ASK WHY I WAS LEAVING "CHEAP COMPANY POOR ETHICS AND NO CUSTOMER SERVICE" STAY AWAY FROM THEM , GO LOCAL, GO WITH FAMILY OWNED BUSINESSES THEY DO A GREAT JOB, I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANY ONE ..View less

Helpful
2 people found this review helpful
Icon

Sue Yon, Beltsville , MD

On Nov 22, 2017

I have had this company come out at least 20 plus times in the last couple months and they still have not fixed this machine. They will not consider this piece of crap unrepairable because they can order parts for it. They order the parts and you have to wait for the parts to come in. This machine locks my clothes in it and then you have to wait for them to come out to get them out or sometimes 24-48 hou ..Read Full Review

I have had this company come out at least 20 plus times in the last couple months and they still have not fixed this machine. They will not consider this piece of crap unrepairable because they can order parts for it. They order the parts and you have to wait for the parts to come in. This machine locks my clothes in it and then you have to wait for them to come out to get them out or sometimes 24-48 hours later it may unlock for you. The parts have been changed over and over and they do not care about their customers. Before purchasing a GE product please reconsider. ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

Mary Tellis Nayak, chicago, IL

On Oct 31, 2017

I have used them for repair of my frig and cook top and my trash compactor until now. I called two weeks ago and they couldn't find a person to service the trash compactor (in Chicago???? - go figure). They said they would call in 2 days - a week later I called and the man assured me that I would get a call at the end of the day - no call. Now, we are almost 2 weeks from the initial call and I asked t ..Read Full Review

I have used them for repair of my frig and cook top and my trash compactor until now. I called two weeks ago and they couldn't find a person to service the trash compactor (in Chicago???? - go figure). They said they would call in 2 days - a week later I called and the man assured me that I would get a call at the end of the day - no call. Now, we are almost 2 weeks from the initial call and I asked to have the issue escalated to a managers attention and I was PROMISED by Michael that someone would call me before COB TODAY - still no call. If they cannot find a service provider for my trash compactor why did they sell protection for something they felt they couldn't repair - I would be very careful of purchasing insurance until you find out if they have a service provider in the area where you live. $1200 and no service. ..View less

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Luis Connecticut, Norwalk, CT

On Aug 26, 2017

ATTENTION DO NOT USE Assurant " Service Protection Advantage" horrible customer service specially the management . Quick to take your money every month but when your appliances breaks down they will give you run around. Its been 5 months that my washer is broken and im still waiting. I guess they still want me to pay that monthly . This company will steal your money!

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful
Icon

joann, Rockaway, NJ

On Oct 04, 2016

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY EVER FOR YOUR WARRANTY!!!! THEY HAVE BEEN OUT 5 TIMES TO SERVICE THE SAME EXACT PART ON MY FRIG AND WILL NOT CASH IT OUT AS A LEMON!!! THE FRIG LEAKS DOWN INTO THE LUNCH MEAT DRAWER CAUSING IT TO FREEZE CLOSED THEN LEAKS OUT THE SIDES(WHICH CAUSE DAMAGE TO MY HARDWOOD FLOORS). I HAVE HAD THE LUNCH MEAT DRAWER OUT AND SHOVED TOWELS IN THERE TO ABSORB THE WATER FOR ALMOST A YEAR. ..Read Full Review

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY EVER FOR YOUR WARRANTY!!!! THEY HAVE BEEN OUT 5 TIMES TO SERVICE THE SAME EXACT PART ON MY FRIG AND WILL NOT CASH IT OUT AS A LEMON!!! THE FRIG LEAKS DOWN INTO THE LUNCH MEAT DRAWER CAUSING IT TO FREEZE CLOSED THEN LEAKS OUT THE SIDES(WHICH CAUSE DAMAGE TO MY HARDWOOD FLOORS). I HAVE HAD THE LUNCH MEAT DRAWER OUT AND SHOVED TOWELS IN THERE TO ABSORB THE WATER FOR ALMOST A YEAR. THEY CLAIM ITS REPAIRABLE AND WILL COME OUT TIME AND TIME AGAIN TO REPLACE IT!!! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED THEY WILL DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU. I WILL NEVER EVER USE THIS BOGUS COMPANY AGAIN. ..View less

Helpful
Be the first one to find this review helpful
Icon

Bolt Lane, Sinclairville, NY

On Jun 27, 2016

Samsung® Washer was leaking out of te front right corner. Wife called Samsung® for service. Wife was offered a "Rescue Repair" and service plan for $355.27. At first, she declined. Wife purchased the service plan after "Brian" promised that if they couldn't fix the washer, they would issue a check to replace it. This was Lie# 1 Besecker & Coss Service of Olean, N ..Read Full Review

Samsung® Washer was leaking out of te front right corner. Wife called Samsung® for service. Wife was offered a "Rescue Repair" and service plan for $355.27. At first, she declined. Wife purchased the service plan after "Brian" promised that if they couldn't fix the washer, they would issue a check to replace it. This was Lie# 1 Besecker & Coss Service of Olean, NY (716) 372-0565 was dispatched: First trip: "Bad sensor" replaced sensor and also scratched floor and damaged wall panel, then unplugged our freezer and left it unplugged, which we discovered several hours after he left - the leaking problem recurred Second trip: "Bad computer" replaced computer third Trip: "Bad drain hose" replaced hose At five weeks she had ANOTHER service apt, but it was a "no-show" At six weeks we still have a leaky washing machine, PLUS now we have scratches in our floor, and a damaged wall panel to boot! The "good news" is that they admitted they couldn't find anyone to fix it - the "bad news" they refuse to make good on their replacement promise, and instead "credited" her credit card for the $355.27 I feel so good about this: The washing machine still leaks across the floor, but on the bright side: My utility room floor is always clean, and I get to build a new wall panel for my water pipes! Yay! I've got a project! They did "credit" her for the $355.27 - but somehow this doesn't make me feel any better about Assurant® Service Protection Plan® ..View less

Helpful
1 people found this review helpful

Ready to share your home warranty experience with Service Protection Advantage? Click here to write your own review

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020