CALL FOR A HOME WARRANTY
61,758 reviews | 80+ companies

AFC – Americas First Choice

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for AFC – Americas First Choice

AFC – Americas First Choice

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.4 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now
1337 Canton Rd STE B Marietta, GA 30066-6054
888-351-0908 $440
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
NHSCA Membership No
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 9
Total Reviews 194
Complaint Resolution No
BBB Rating B
Executive Profiles John B. Craddock - , CEO Kristin Lewis - , General Manager -
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters Marietta, GA
Address 1337 Canton Rd STE B Marietta, GA 30066-6054
Alias Crast, Inc America's First Choice Home Club Americas 1st Choice Home Club

Write an honest review now !

Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Write an honest review now !

Headquartered in Marietta, GA, America’s 1st Choice Home Club (AFC) was started by a group of service oriented people who had considerable experience in the home warranty industry.

The company claims that they provide affordable warranty products and has a nationwide coverage. AFC says that one of their most unique features is that they do not ask for personal information prior to providing a quote. This stems from their high respect for their customers privacy.

Apart from warranty products and home solutions, AFC also offers unique benefits to real estate agents and contractors. 1 and 3 year coverage plans are offered to real estate agents. Such plans do not place age restrictions or mandate home inspections prior to signing the deal. The company’s large contractor network consists of a large number of skilled and independent contractors. Contractors who wish to join the network can do so by applying online.

For both potential and existing customers, AFC’s official website is a useful tool to access online services. Users can log on to the company’s website to obtain quotes, read about plans, view sample contracts and even purchase plans. The company also has a blog on which several articles on home maintenance are published.

The company claims that they provide affordable warranty products and has a nationwide coverage. AFC says that one of their most unique features is that they do not ask for personal information prior to providing a quote. This stems from their high respect for their customers privacy.

Home warranty plans provided by AFC come in three different plans :

  • Club Plan Gold
  • Club Plan Silver
  • Club Plan Bronze
Gold plan offers maximum coverage while the Bronze plan offers the least. Additional coverage can be purchased for all plans by selecting individual items from a list of add-ons.

Reviews & Ratings

Fair Oaks - CA 07-16-2018
David Bell Fair Oaks CA
Posted On 07/16/18
Review No. 129416
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
As with other home warranties, AFC was the worst of the bunch. Not recognizing current day prices of items, depreciation value prices as old as the 17th century, and not one customer support person realizing that they are affecting people’s lives is just a start of things. We have called for warranty issues only to be given the sarcastic response of “Ok sir, we will do what you are asking us to do” when all we asked for is a technician to come out to the house and diagnose an issue with the HVAC unit. Two weeks before that, we already had someone fill the Freon in the system and the they didn’t honor to pay us for that Freon fill because the system is “too old” and “needs to be replaced”. Stay away from AFC. Stay very, very far away. view less
As with other home warranties, AFC was the worst of the bunch. Not recognizing current day prices of items, depreciation value prices as old as the 17th century, and not one customer support person realizing that they are affecting people’s lives is just a start of things. We have called for warranty issues only to be given the sarcastic response of “Ok sir, we will do what you are
... view more
# 129416
Hyattsville - MD 06-30-2018
AK Hyattsville MD
Posted On 06/30/18
Review No. 128705
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This business never follows up for any of the promises they make. I had my worst experience with this business. I strongly recommend that you do not waste your time and money by contacting them. dont even bother searching them on web search. They are not worth. Disgusting experience I had with this business services, products, and customer service reps.
They first tell you all greatest things when you purchase coverages but when you need them they will totally horribly with you and will not cover anything so in the end you just loose your money and waste time. If it’s up to me I would just shut this business down. That’s the experience I had. Disgusting. view less
This business never follows up for any of the promises they make. I had my worst experience with this business. I strongly recommend that you do not waste your time and money by contacting them. dont even bother searching them on web search. They are not worth. Disgusting experience I had with this business services, products, and customer service reps.
They first tell you all
... view more
# 128705
Kent - WA 06-30-2018
William Meleney Kent WA
Posted On 06/30/18
Review No. 128693
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible contractor. Never showed up nor called on second request for a refrigerator. Hung up the phone on me when I called about the first request for stove. Express Home Service is the contractor. Don’t buy from AFC and never use Express Home Service on your own.
# 128693
Oakton - VA 06-19-2018
Jiten Sanghvi Oakton VA
Posted On 06/19/18
Review No. 128047
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is the worst ever home warranty I have had. Our refrigerator stopped cooling. We called AFC and they said they have assigned a technician and the technician will call us. Since no one called until evening, we called the technician to find status. The technician said they would be able to come only after 4 days. AFC's contract documents state 24-48 hours response time. With a baby at home I am sure you all would recognize not having a refrigerator at home. We called back AFC and they said we don't have anyone else and that we can go with our own technician if we like. But the reimbursement would be dependent on AFCs review and may or may not include all costs. We questioned the 24-48 hour response time and they said that only "to assign a technician". Look how they mince words and fool people like us. So we decided we would go with AFC rather than fight the reimbursement battle and waited 4 days. On the day when the technician was supposed to come, we called up to confirm and the technician said they didn't have anything on their schedule. The technician's admin simply wouldn't respond. We called back AFC and the response was "Our job is to get you a technician and it is your (customer's) job to get the scheduling done with the technician". This is ridiculous beyond explanation. I have a hard time how this company which has so many bad reviews would receive backing of reputable organizations like NAR, BBB, Consumer Advocate etc. AFC is a company that collects money and makes the customer do everything that they are supposed to and does not take any ownership whatsoever of the situation.... horrendous experience view less
This is the worst ever home warranty I have had. Our refrigerator stopped cooling. We called AFC and they said they have assigned a technician and the technician will call us. Since no one called until evening, we called the technician to find status. The technician said they would be able to come only after 4 days. AFC's contract documents state 24-48 hours response time. With a baby at home
... view more
# 128047
Sherman Oaks - CA 06-15-2018
Mohsen Abdula Sherman Oaks CA
Posted On 06/15/18
Review No. 127895
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
After I called to repair my washing machine I was contacted back shortly. Engineers came by identified the problem, ordered and replaced the part. Thank you for your quick support
# 127895
Charlottesville - VA 06-13-2018
mary maldonado Charlottesville VA
Posted On 06/13/18
Review No. 127736
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We've been with AFC for almost two years and it's been a total waste of money, time , and effort. We've submitted two claims and have yet to receive an honest response to our claim. When our dishwasher broke, we were told it was considered "high end" and it would take a long time to find someone to repair it. It's a Samsung!! With that claim, we were forced to pay $90 to the repair because it was a Samsung!! We have a $60 deductible. Last week the dryer broke and their excuse was there are no third party appliance repair companies in our area. We live in a major city in Central VA!!! They gave us a list of companies to call which we did and had a repair man come out to replace the heating element. The bill was over $200,00 Now that the repair is done and we had to pay, they told us they will only pay $100 because the dryer is 10 years old and only worth $49.00!! It's a Maytag energy efficient machine and is worth more than $49.00!!! This company is a RIP OFF! Do not waste your money. Run, don't walk away from AFC. You're better off putting the money you'd pay them in a saving account and using it for unexpected repairs. We still have 3 months left on this policy and I pray nothing breaks because we'll feel compelled to make a claim but know darn well, we'll get the shaft. view less
We've been with AFC for almost two years and it's been a total waste of money, time , and effort. We've submitted two claims and have yet to receive an honest response to our claim. When our dishwasher broke, we were told it was considered "high end" and it would take a long time to find someone to repair it. It's a Samsung!! With that claim, we were forced to pay $90 to the repair because it
... view more
# 127736
Lompoc - CA 06-04-2018
James Morgenstern Lompoc CA
Posted On 06/04/18
Review No. 127236
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
When our program came up for annual renewal, I received a call from AFB. I told them that I wanted to think about it. It was renewed and charged to by credit card without my permission. When I received the policy and bill on my credit card, I immediately called them, only to get a recording. The call was never returned. I disputed this with the cred card company. They attempted to contact the company, with zero success. The high ratings they enjoyed 18 months ago are gone. view less
When our program came up for annual renewal, I received a call from AFB. I told them that I wanted to think about it. It was renewed and charged to by credit card without my permission. When I received the policy and bill on my credit card, I immediately called them, only to get a recording. The call was never returned. I disputed this with the cred card company. They attempted to
... view more
# 127236
Seabrook - TX 05-24-2018
Kristy Seabrook TX
Posted On 05/24/18
Review No. 126835
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Sales people are deceitful!!!! They tell you there is a 30 day waiting period, but they don't tell you that there is another 30 days after the first 30 (days 31-60) where they will only cover up to $150. They put it in a 12 page document that they know people won't read.

If they can mention the first 30 day wait period, why can't they mention the 2nd... Because they are SHADY and SNEAKY!!!

So 6 weeks after I got the contract I submitted a request and found out about the $150 limit.... Had I known, I would have waited another 7 business days and been past the 2 month wait period But now I'm screwed into them only paying $150. view less
Sales people are deceitful!!!! They tell you there is a 30 day waiting period, but they don't tell you that there is another 30 days after the first 30 (days 31-60) where they will only cover up to $150. They put it in a 12 page document that they know people won't read.

If they can mention the first 30 day wait period, why can't they mention the 2nd... Because they are
... view more
# 126835
Indio - CA 05-22-2018
Richard Scudder Indio CA
Posted On 05/22/18
Review No. 126721
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I heard about America's First Choice Home Club a long time ago and I looked for them on the internet. I signed up after leaving one of those terrible home clubs. America's First Choice Home Club’s price is reasonable and it stays the same forever. The deductible is only $60. And if they come out and they fix something and something goes wrong, when they come back out again, they don't charge me for it.

Their service is very easy. I just call in and talk to somebody or I can do it over the internet and they set it up. They find somebody in the area and the contractors come out and take care of my service. It took about a day to get my claim done when I had a problem with my air conditioner. The technician had to get authorization, came out the next day and put the part in. He was excellent! He knew his stuff and took care of the problem right away. Then, when I had my air conditioning service, there was a little difficulty. I called them and they came out. And they took care of it right away again. The quality of work was incredible! America's First Choice Home Club works perfectly. They are a wonderful company. They respond quickly and you can't go wrong with them. view less
I heard about America's First Choice Home Club a long time ago and I looked for them on the internet. I signed up after leaving one of those terrible home clubs. America's First Choice Home Club’s price is reasonable and it stays the same forever. The deductible is only $60. And if they come out and they fix something and something goes wrong, when they come back out again, they don't charge
... view more
# 126721
lynn - MA 05-12-2018
Olumide Olurinmade lynn MA
Posted On 05/12/18
Review No. 126230
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I usually don't leave bad reviews but I had to do this so nobody has to deal with this. I can't believe this company operates this way and are still in business. It's a pure scam. I signed up for their home warranty in December. I usually ask lots of questions up front because I like to know what is covered and what is not. It seems this company's business strategy is to tell you nothing, collect your money and then send you documents hoping you won't read it. My first issue came up when I contacted them for a plumbing issue and a problem with my stove they then responded saying there was a limit to how much can be paid out within the next 30days following the initial waiting period. I then asked them how come they never say this upfront and their excuse was that it was in the booklet they sent me. I spoke to a supervisor and spent some time trying to explain to him why that I could live with the fact that they couldn't possibly go over every single item that was covered but not providing that kind of detail up front was not a small matter. I also noticed it was a pattern and that it was intentional because I had referred my sister to them as well before the incident and when I contacted my sister to see if she was aware of the additional waiting period she was very surprised. Why would they be so sneaky and not tell a customer upfront. I recently called them to initiate a service request on a water heater and two boilers. After the technician came back and said one boiler had to be replaced and the other fixed, they came back and said they'd approve $113 out of over $6000. Their excuse was that it wasn't covered. I was in shock, so I basically paid $1185.00 for home warranty only to get turned down anytime something broke down. This is a daylight robbery. If I could collect my money back I would. AHS is a much better company than this one. These ones don't even care. I really should have paid attention to the reviews before signing up with the company. It's ironic, please see text from their brochure yet I am stuck with a costly repair.

"It takes a lot of inner workings to make your home “tick”. Don’t get stuck with a costly repair. When you become a home club member, based on the club plan you choose, you receive home protection and coverage on various items.
Our company was created to provide a ordable extened home protection plans so that homeowners never have to receive the bad news of an unexpected and costly repair bill. We have 3 great club plans and optional items you can add."
view less
I usually don't leave bad reviews but I had to do this so nobody has to deal with this. I can't believe this company operates this way and are still in business. It's a pure scam. I signed up for their home warranty in December. I usually ask lots of questions up front because I like to know what is covered and what is not. It seems this company's business strategy is to tell you nothing,
... view more
# 126230
Chatsworth - CA 05-02-2018
Ara Rasool Chatsworth CA
Posted On 05/02/18
Review No. 125822
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I Googled America’s First Choice Home Club and saw it was the top-rated one. I have filed two claims over the phone and it's been pretty quick. The reps were good and so were the technicians. They're still working on the garage while the washer had something with the computer. It was damaged and they replaced it.
I recommend AFC. So far, I have no problems with them.
# 125822
Cathlamet - WA 04-16-2018
James Tibbetts Cathlamet WA
Posted On 04/16/18
Review No. 125250
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Moved from America Home Shield to AFC when AHS became too expensive in July 2017. Had my first
problem and called AFC to get repairs, the problem was the motor on the heater fan went out. I had
AFC call and use the contractor I have used in the past and they did. Contractor got a new motor and installed the motor. Now comes the problem with AFC, they say they use a deprecation scale on the heater and since it is 26 years old, they will only pay $160 of the $804 bill leaving me to pay the rest ($644). The salesman (Randy Dodge) never said anything about a "Deprecation Scale". I never received a copy of the contract and was never able to get one until now that I've had a problem, they will send one right out. So the bottom line is keep your money and don't buy a contract through this company, all they want is your year dues with little to no help with paying. view less
Moved from America Home Shield to AFC when AHS became too expensive in July 2017. Had my first
problem and called AFC to get repairs, the problem was the motor on the heater fan went out. I had
AFC call and use the contractor I have used in the past and they did. Contractor got a new motor and installed the motor. Now comes the problem with AFC, they say they use a
... view more
# 125250
Seattle - WA 04-07-2018
LaDonia Skinner Seattle WA
Posted On 04/07/18
Review No. 124876
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I would rate this company a zero, but that option is not available. The customer service is the worst I have ever seen in a insurance company. I too have had the same problem that some have already mention. Fore instants, they have a technician to come out diagnose the problem, then he/she submits his/her findings to AFC, only to find out they want to give you a minimal about to repair or replace your item. And if that is not bad enough, they want you to submit a receipt for a purchase of another item before you can get the minimal amount they are planning on giving you after jumping through all their hoops. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND RUN FROM THIS COMPANY. view less
I would rate this company a zero, but that option is not available. The customer service is the worst I have ever seen in a insurance company. I too have had the same problem that some have already mention. Fore instants, they have a technician to come out diagnose the problem, then he/she submits his/her findings to AFC, only to find out they want to give you a minimal about to repair or
... view more
# 124876
Stoughton - MA 03-25-2018
Elaine Barry Stoughton MA
Posted On 03/25/18
Review No. 124264
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have been waiting over a week to have a leak repaired. when I call the AFC they say that companies are refusing to work with them so they are having trouble getting me service. Well no kidding every time I needed service I had to pay more its a hassle to make the tech wait while you are on the phone with afc for them to come back and say they will only pay a small part of things I don't know how they can be on the bbb they stink. And are liars will say anything to get you to join then screw you DO NOT USE THEM I AM TRYING OT GET OUT OF MY WARRENTY WORST COMPANY EVER THEY OTTA BE A SHAMED
view less
I have been waiting over a week to have a leak repaired. when I call the AFC they say that companies are refusing to work with them so they are having trouble getting me service. Well no kidding every time I needed service I had to pay more its a hassle to make the tech wait while you are on the phone with afc for them to come back and say they will only pay a small part of things I don't
... view more
# 124264
Chicago - IL 03-22-2018
Savannah Mullen Chicago IL
Posted On 03/22/18
Review No. 124164
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been with this company for 4 years now and each interaction I have had has been great! I was surprised to read some of the other reviews but I am happy. I just had a plumbing issue with my toilets and sinks backing up. I called them that morning and they had a plumber set up for me within a few hours. He snaked the lines and had to replace some piping which I know can't be cheap. I have had about a request a year so far and each time I have been happy, I feel like I am getting my monies worth and that I am appropriately protected. view less
I have been with this company for 4 years now and each interaction I have had has been great! I was surprised to read some of the other reviews but I am happy. I just had a plumbing issue with my toilets and sinks backing up. I called them that morning and they had a plumber set up for me within a few hours. He snaked the lines and had to replace some piping which I know can't be cheap. I have
... view more
# 124164
Wichita - KS 02-21-2018
Niamh Black Wichita KS
Posted On 02/21/18
Review No. 123033
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I am only leaving one star because I can't leave zero. I took a policy with AFC in November when our original policy expired with American Home Shield and the price went up to renew. We had been in our house a year and our home had had a lot of unexpected breakages in he first year so we took the platinum AFC coverage as insurance against any surprises. Our water heated broke last Thursday. Actually the pipe above it burst an was leaking on the heater. I called as soon as I noticed it and they called back the following day and left the message of a contractor to come and assess the heater. This was the first difference my prior experience, I had to arrange my own contractor. I called he company and they said they had never heard of AFC and didn't do warranty call outs except American Home Shield. I had used this plumber before however and knew they were a good firm. It took until Monday calling back and forth for them to send a work order to the plumber so they would come out . I got on he schedule and they came out Tuesday, by which time the slow leak was all over one corner of my unfinished part of the basement. I mentioned this to the service center and they said to "call back when the technician was in situ and they would be able to resolve the problem then and there." The technician came out and said the valve above the heater had failed and it was not a standard valve. I was present when he told the service center this on the call. They then said they could not resolve the claim " because the claims department has many cases prior to yours" Then there was an issue with the fact I have two water heaters which I told them when I was sold the policy. The they said they were likely under warranty and they had the wrong serial number. Then they said the water heater had failed and it was not covered. I was exasperated at this point and felt that they were flipping through a book to find reasons to refuse the charge and their response was neither in the spirit nor the letter of the warranty I bought. They offered a good will gesture of $125 against a $1360 repair. I was made to feel like a crook on the make rather than someone making a valid claim on an insurance policy I took out. I said at that point I would cancel my policy and save myself the money towards the repair seeing as vice days later all I had was a larger leak, a ton of aggravation and the number of the guy I would have called originally. They said to cancel they needed a certified letter their head office, a $75 cancellation fee and my policy would be prorated from when they received the policy. I rang their main office at that point and asked to speak to a supervisor. She called me the following morning and I gave hearth history. She said she wondered why I had two heaters and looked online and my house looked great, i have a lovely home, which I felt was way out of the scope of my complaint. I explained i had gone ahead and scheduled the repair being 6 days without water and having a sizable amount of water on my basement floor. She said she wouldn't cover heaters, I explained again the heater had not failed it was the plumbing to it which is clearly covered in all the information I had. I gave her the number of the technician who she called and confirmed. She said she would not cover the repair beyond $180 the cost of the heater and anode in Lowes, that the rest of the repair is labor which they wouldn't cover anyway and that's was only a good will gesture given as the valve was not standard. I expressed my frustration given that I was as a homeowner not surely expected to certify every pice of equipment prior to buying the policy and this was only the latest in a long list of reasons to try refuse the claim. That surely labor would be covered in any event as it was in my previous policy. My advice is keep your $600 towards any failure you might haven your home and stay well clear of these crooks, they fully intend to do nothing for any failure in your home and their customer service is by far the poorest I've encountered in a long time. I spend over 3 hours on hold in all this back and forth and never spoke to the same person twice. I will be canceling this policy. view less
I am only leaving one star because I can't leave zero. I took a policy with AFC in November when our original policy expired with American Home Shield and the price went up to renew. We had been in our house a year and our home had had a lot of unexpected breakages in he first year so we took the platinum AFC coverage as insurance against any surprises. Our water heated broke last Thursday.
... view more
# 123033
hIGH pOINT - NC 02-06-2018
kATHLEEN hIGH pOINT NC
Posted On 02/06/18
Review No. 122519
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The temperature was about 30% I called on a Monday my heater was not working. It took until Thursday for AFC to send out a technician. He arrived at 6pm in the evening he found out about 7pm what the problem was. He called the after hours office for AFC and no one answered he tried several times. Mind you I had no heat in three days he finally said he could not reach anyone for approval on repairing the furnance. I asked him how much was the parts and labor he informed me about $300.00 . I told him to fix because my home was cold. I called AFC the next day to inform them what had transpired the night before they told me they would not reimburse me because they had no record of service I should of had the prior year and that they recommend service on appliances each year mind you this was the first I heard of this and they had the nerve to say the technician did not call them for approval and I was standing there when he called. I will not be renewing my service with them and I had plan to give a years warranty to my son but not with this company.
view less
The temperature was about 30% I called on a Monday my heater was not working. It took until Thursday for AFC to send out a technician. He arrived at 6pm in the evening he found out about 7pm what the problem was. He called the after hours office for AFC and no one answered he tried several times. Mind you I had no heat in three days he finally said he could not reach anyone for approval on
... view more
# 122519
Fresno - CA 01-20-2018
Juan Fresno CA
Posted On 01/20/18
Review No. 121873
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
ONE OF THE WORST COMPANIES EVER. DIDN'T WANT TO COVER ANYTHING. I had other warranties but was not happy that the price was increasing so i decided to try AFC out. Big mistake, both claims have been rejected so far, my old company was easy to deal with and had no issues when something came up. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DONT BUY THEIR PRODUCT. Go else where.
# 121873
SAn Bernandino - CA 11-30-2017
Ron Skelesky SAn Bernandino CA
Posted On 11/30/17
Review No. 119097
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
My warranty kept going up and it almost doubled in price, and I was tired of it increasing. I Googled to find out who had the best prices in the United States, and I went with AFC Home Club. Submitting a claim was extremely easy. If had some questions about it, I called AFC and they answered my questions thoroughly and completely right from the beginning. I was a brand-new customer and unfortunately my air conditioner went out on the roof. I live in California and the temperature at that time was about 110 degrees. I was calling on a Friday, and they said they wouldn't be able to send anybody out until Monday or Tuesday. But it was over 100 degrees so they considered that an emergency and they told me to call my own heating guy and they'll take care of it.

The air conditioner guy came on a Saturday and an AFC rep was there in the office that day. The rep was able to call and make contact and the air conditioner guy got paid right over the phone before he completed the work. I was glad the problem was with a capacitor and not a whole unit. However, it wasn’t covered 100%. I had to pay the guy his service fee which was on the contract but I got a charge for something else that was not covered by AFC, and it was not explained on my bill. I was so happy just to get the air conditioner around that I let it go and I never said anything. I had a great experience with AFC overall but I would've liked to know what wasn't covered. view less
My warranty kept going up and it almost doubled in price, and I was tired of it increasing. I Googled to find out who had the best prices in the United States, and I went with AFC Home Club. Submitting a claim was extremely easy. If had some questions about it, I called AFC and they answered my questions thoroughly and completely right from the beginning. I was a brand-new customer and
... view more
# 119097
Stoughton - MA 11-09-2017
ELaine Barry Stoughton MA
Posted On 11/09/17
Review No. 118290
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
not happy sounds good they tell u that you only have to pay 60 dollar service fee then they come out tell the technician the same thing. Then change it cause the appliance is old. Its like getting a discount from the insurance not the actual total paid. Don't have money to get a new appliance. They are not very good at what they say. Was telling my friends to sign up, but retracted that and told them don't they say one thing and do another. view less
not happy sounds good they tell u that you only have to pay 60 dollar service fee then they come out tell the technician the same thing. Then change it cause the appliance is old. Its like getting a discount from the insurance not the actual total paid. Don't have money to get a new appliance. They are not very good at what they say. Was telling my friends to sign up, but retracted that
... view more
# 118290
Southlake - TX 10-27-2017
Jared Stanyer Southlake TX
Posted On 10/27/17
Review No. 117909
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Talked to Tyler Hurtt (sales rep) in early March of 2017 and got a Home Warranty. Stressed to him that I wanted FULL coverage since I have a pool and lots of extra things to have covered. He went through a few items and got me set up. In April my microwave went out, filed a claim and they said I didn't have coverage of my microwave. He said he didn't tell me about it because most peoples microwaves are sitting on the counter and not very expensive (mine was a built in unit and cost $750 with install). FIRST BIG FAIL. We went over coverage again and he added my second refrigerator and said I was all covered. Next, in October had an issue with my Double oven. The cost is $1100 for a control board and labor. They said I don't have coverage on a double oven but would "good will" help me with $235 leaving me to pay over $900. FAILED ME AGAIN..Not a good company to deal with. Seemed like the sales people want to get you off the phone and on to the next customer and not concerned to get the true coverage you need. Very Disappointed! view less
Talked to Tyler Hurtt (sales rep) in early March of 2017 and got a Home Warranty. Stressed to him that I wanted FULL coverage since I have a pool and lots of extra things to have covered. He went through a few items and got me set up. In April my microwave went out, filed a claim and they said I didn't have coverage of my microwave. He said he didn't tell me about it because most peoples
... view more
# 117909
Newport Beach - CA 10-20-2017
Ak Newport Beach CA
Posted On 10/20/17
Review No. 117408
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I've purchased home warranty on every house I bought. Every one of them will repair the problem or replace the item if they can't fix it. This company is the only one would not repair it, instead they take $60 deductible just to assess the problem, submit the claim to the company, and then they will call me and give a an allowance for repair or replace. The allowance is so minimal (1/5 of the cost of the cheapest model). You'll end up either pay majority of the repair cost or buy a brand new one. Which is not why we bought the warranty.
If there's a minus rating, I'll give them minus 5. view less
I've purchased home warranty on every house I bought. Every one of them will repair the problem or replace the item if they can't fix it. This company is the only one would not repair it, instead they take $60 deductible just to assess the problem, submit the claim to the company, and then they will call me and give a an allowance for repair or replace. The allowance is so minimal (1/5 of the
... view more
# 117408
Sammamish - WA 10-13-2017
Dilip S Janganure Sammamish WA
Posted On 10/13/17
Review No. 117164
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
It's catch, don't ever buy appliance warranty from this company. They repaired my refrigerator only once. For second time giving all kind of reasons and asking questions if I read agreement properly.
# 117164
Manassas - VA 10-12-2017
Jim Hyland Manassas VA
Posted On 10/12/17
Review No. 117097
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Had to replace $5800 HVAC system, they paid nothing, said it was too old. Tried to cancel membership and did not provide requirements (certified letter) until the third contact. Time enough to auto pay deduct from my account for that month. Said a manager would phone to discuss my disappointment, never heard anything back. Very unprofessional.
# 117097
Athens - GA 09-26-2017
Nick Athens GA
Posted On 09/26/17
Review No. 116529
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We have their GOLD plan and they do not cover known or UNKNOWN pre-existing conditions. This means that, in a case like mine, if the previous homeowner doesn't tell you the AC unit has a leak and the home inspection doesn't catch it, IT DOESN'T MATTER. They'll deny you coverage because it's a pre-existing condition. It's a waste of money to work with these scammers.
# 116529
Next

Rate AFC – Americas First Choice

You may receive the response within 12-48 hours. Please keep checking your Inbox/Spam/Junk box.

We work very hard to keep our reviews and ratings fair and accurate, so please agree to the following:

  • I am an actual customer, past or present, of the company named in the review.
  • I was not promised a reward of some kind by the company I have written this review for.
  • I am neither an employee of the company nor that of a competitor named in the review.
     I Agree
Please check this box to bring balance to the home warranty industry.
You're all set. Now track Complaint Resolution Program (CRP) to get a status update in the next 48 hours!
Thank you for your contribution. Now you can also vote for your favorite company AFC – Americas First Choice to win 2018 People's Choice award here: https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/poll-for-people?ref=MTUwOQ==
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact afchomeclub.com directly.