×

AFC – Americas First Choice

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for AFC – Americas First Choice

AFC – Americas First Choice

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.8 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Write an honest review now !

1337 Canton Rd STE B Marietta, GA 30066-6054
888-351-0908 $440
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
NHSCA Membership No
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 8
Total Reviews 175
Complaint Resolution No
BBB Rating B
Executive Profiles John B. Craddock - , CEO Kristin Lewis - , General Manager -
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters Marietta, GA
Address 1337 Canton Rd STE B Marietta, GA 30066-6054
Alias Crast, Inc America's First Choice Home Club Americas 1st Choice Home Club

Write an honest review now !

Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Headquartered in Marietta, GA, America’s 1st Choice Home Club (AFC) was started by a group of service oriented people who had considerable experience in the home warranty industry.

The company claims that they provide affordable warranty products and has a nationwide coverage. AFC says that one of their most unique features is that they do not ask for personal information prior to providing a quote. This stems from their high respect for their customers privacy.

Apart from warranty products and home solutions, AFC also offers unique benefits to real estate agents and contractors. 1 and 3 year coverage plans are offered to real estate agents. Such plans do not place age restrictions or mandate home inspections prior to signing the deal. The company’s large contractor network consists of a large number of skilled and independent contractors. Contractors who wish to join the network can do so by applying online.

For both potential and existing customers, AFC’s official website is a useful tool to access online services. Users can log on to the company’s website to obtain quotes, read about plans, view sample contracts and even purchase plans. The company also has a blog on which several articles on home maintenance are published.

The company claims that they provide affordable warranty products and has a nationwide coverage. AFC says that one of their most unique features is that they do not ask for personal information prior to providing a quote. This stems from their high respect for their customers privacy.

Home warranty plans provided by AFC come in three different plans :

  • Club Plan Gold
  • Club Plan Silver
  • Club Plan Bronze
Gold plan offers maximum coverage while the Bronze plan offers the least. Additional coverage can be purchased for all plans by selecting individual items from a list of add-ons.

Reviews & Ratings

Stoughton - MA 11-09-2017
ELaine Barry Stoughton MA
Posted On 11/09/17
Review No. 118290
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
not happy sounds good they tell u that you only have to pay 60 dollar service fee then they come out tell the technician the same thing. Then change it cause the appliance is old. Its like getting a discount from the insurance not the actual total paid. Don't have money to get a new appliance. They are not very good at what they say. Was telling my friends to sign up, but retracted that and told them don't they say one thing and do another. view less
not happy sounds good they tell u that you only have to pay 60 dollar service fee then they come out tell the technician the same thing. Then change it cause the appliance is old. Its like getting a discount from the insurance not the actual total paid. Don't have money to get a new appliance. They are not very good at what they say. Was telling my friends to sign up, but retracted that
... view more
# 118290
Southlake - TX 10-27-2017
Jared Stanyer Southlake TX
Posted On 10/27/17
Review No. 117909
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Talked to Tyler Hurtt (sales rep) in early March of 2017 and got a Home Warranty. Stressed to him that I wanted FULL coverage since I have a pool and lots of extra things to have covered. He went through a few items and got me set up. In April my microwave went out, filed a claim and they said I didn't have coverage of my microwave. He said he didn't tell me about it because most peoples microwaves are sitting on the counter and not very expensive (mine was a built in unit and cost $750 with install). FIRST BIG FAIL. We went over coverage again and he added my second refrigerator and said I was all covered. Next, in October had an issue with my Double oven. The cost is $1100 for a control board and labor. They said I don't have coverage on a double oven but would "good will" help me with $235 leaving me to pay over $900. FAILED ME AGAIN..Not a good company to deal with. Seemed like the sales people want to get you off the phone and on to the next customer and not concerned to get the true coverage you need. Very Disappointed! view less
Talked to Tyler Hurtt (sales rep) in early March of 2017 and got a Home Warranty. Stressed to him that I wanted FULL coverage since I have a pool and lots of extra things to have covered. He went through a few items and got me set up. In April my microwave went out, filed a claim and they said I didn't have coverage of my microwave. He said he didn't tell me about it because most peoples
... view more
# 117909
Newport Beach - CA 10-20-2017
Ak Newport Beach CA
Posted On 10/20/17
Review No. 117408
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I've purchased home warranty on every house I bought. Every one of them will repair the problem or replace the item if they can't fix it. This company is the only one would not repair it, instead they take $60 deductible just to assess the problem, submit the claim to the company, and then they will call me and give a an allowance for repair or replace. The allowance is so minimal (1/5 of the cost of the cheapest model). You'll end up either pay majority of the repair cost or buy a brand new one. Which is not why we bought the warranty.
If there's a minus rating, I'll give them minus 5. view less
I've purchased home warranty on every house I bought. Every one of them will repair the problem or replace the item if they can't fix it. This company is the only one would not repair it, instead they take $60 deductible just to assess the problem, submit the claim to the company, and then they will call me and give a an allowance for repair or replace. The allowance is so minimal (1/5 of the
... view more
# 117408
Sammamish - WA 10-13-2017
Dilip S Janganure Sammamish WA
Posted On 10/13/17
Review No. 117164
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
It's catch, don't ever buy appliance warranty from this company. They repaired my refrigerator only once. For second time giving all kind of reasons and asking questions if I read agreement properly.
# 117164
Manassas - VA 10-12-2017
Jim Hyland Manassas VA
Posted On 10/12/17
Review No. 117097
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Had to replace $5800 HVAC system, they paid nothing, said it was too old. Tried to cancel membership and did not provide requirements (certified letter) until the third contact. Time enough to auto pay deduct from my account for that month. Said a manager would phone to discuss my disappointment, never heard anything back. Very unprofessional.
# 117097
Athens - GA 09-26-2017
Nick Athens GA
Posted On 09/26/17
Review No. 116529
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We have their GOLD plan and they do not cover known or UNKNOWN pre-existing conditions. This means that, in a case like mine, if the previous homeowner doesn't tell you the AC unit has a leak and the home inspection doesn't catch it, IT DOESN'T MATTER. They'll deny you coverage because it's a pre-existing condition. It's a waste of money to work with these scammers.
# 116529
Los Angeles - CA 09-12-2017
Abhay Los Angeles CA
Posted On 09/12/17
Review No. 116020
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
America's First Choice Home Club had good reviews and they would let me use my own contractor, so I chose them over other providers. Dealing with their reps has been straight forward and I had no difficulties in submitting my claims with them. Also, the technicians who came out were capable people and I have no issues with their work.
# 116020
Bermuda Dunes - CA 09-11-2017
Steve Elliott Bermuda Dunes CA
Posted On 09/11/17
Review No. 115954
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
If you're thinking about buying a home warranty policy, and think that 'AFC Home Club' might be a good choice, think again! RUN, don't just walk away from these guys.

(They've actually been described as the 'rattlesnakes of the home
warranty business' by others in the trade, and they're so right!)

I bought a policy with AFC and here's what I found out, and regretfully, found out too late. The small print in their convoluted contract clearly states the following :
• They have a 'whopping' $1,500 maximum on each repair, and that makes little sense with their advertised 'repair or replace' program. If you need to replace an a/c for example, and if the broken or damaged item qualifies, they will give you up to $1,500 for the 'repair or replacement', no matter what the total bill is.
• They also have a 'lifetime' maximum per customer of $15,000, and in theory, that amount could be eaten up in a hurry. At that point they have the right to 'throws you to the wolves'.
• And, here's the best one; AHC Home Club is the only warranty company that I could find, who works on a 'depreciation' schedule on all of your items that happen to break down. And, they determine what items are to be depreciated and by how much. After a few months with these guys, I had an a/c break down and after several hours and 5 days of 'back and forth' with them, they agreed that everything was done correctly by me (they require an annual inspection, btw), but once depreciated, they would only pay $150 of the necessary $2,700 repair! Wow, huh?

Well, you probably guessed by now that I cancelled my policy with AFC! And, am writing this letter in the hope that I can save a few folks from making the same disastrous mistake that I obviously did. As with these folks - BUYER BEWARE.

Steve Elliott
view less
If you're thinking about buying a home warranty policy, and think that 'AFC Home Club' might be a good choice, think again! RUN, don't just walk away from these guys.

(They've actually been described as the 'rattlesnakes of the home
warranty business' by others in the trade, and they're so right!)

I bought a policy with AFC and here's what I found out,
... view more
# 115954
Black Canyon City - AZ 09-09-2017
Larry Tuttle Black Canyon City AZ
Posted On 09/09/17
Review No. 115905
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Worst company ever. Charge alot g money and when you have a claim they give you a stupid reason why they won't pay. I give them 0 stars.
# 115905
Bermuda Dunes - CA 09-07-2017
Steve Elliott Bermuda Dunes CA
Posted On 09/07/17
Review No. 115828
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
These guys sound good but are the worst! The details of my situation would take hours to list so all I can say is "BUYER BEWARE". Wish someone had passed that thought on to me before I made my purchase.
# 115828
Discovery Bay - CA 08-17-2017
Bob Barney Discovery Bay CA
Posted On 08/17/17
Review No. 114824
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Called for service 54 days from start of membership and was told they would only cover $150 until day 61. Then only what they deem appropriate. None of this was disclosed when I talked to the salesman on the phone and signed up. Went with them due to good reviews and high ratings. Misleading, they do not respond and do everything they can to avoid paying. Avoid this company. I cancelled right away and went back to Fidelity National. view less
Called for service 54 days from start of membership and was told they would only cover $150 until day 61. Then only what they deem appropriate. None of this was disclosed when I talked to the salesman on the phone and signed up. Went with them due to good reviews and high ratings. Misleading, they do not respond and do everything they can to avoid paying. Avoid this company. I cancelled
... view more
# 114824
Fredericksburg - VA 08-16-2017
Ryan Fredericksburg VA
Posted On 08/16/17
Review No. 114716
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Look at all the horrible ratings that highly outweigh the good ones. I put my claim im for my Air con unit not working. They referred me to a great local company. The local company contact them with details. I had to constantly call AFC for 3 days staright while my family was suffering im 100 degree heat with no AC. Even the local AC company told me they never dealt with a home warranty company who never returns thier calls and takes so long to approve a work order. After constantly calling they dissapproved my claim stating it was preconditon situation. The local company explained to AFC that AC coils can stop working at anytime and most of timr no preventive maintenance can stop it from happening. The manager from AFC was completely rude and never let me get a word in at all. She even laughed at me. Worst ecperience I have ever had with any company. view less
Look at all the horrible ratings that highly outweigh the good ones. I put my claim im for my Air con unit not working. They referred me to a great local company. The local company contact them with details. I had to constantly call AFC for 3 days staright while my family was suffering im 100 degree heat with no AC. Even the local AC company told me they never dealt with a home warranty
... view more
# 114716
Dallas - TX 08-08-2017
Noelle Dallas TX
Posted On 08/08/17
Review No. 114096
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
We were selling a home. I researched on the internet about home warranties and America's First Choice Home Club was ranked in the top 3 of a website that I saw. Their prices were good and affordable especially with the 15% discount I was given. I also like that their call out was $60. Also, the reps had been very friendly, too.

My biggest thing was that we bought it so that it would be active at closing and the new owner wouldn't have to have the 30 days. I asked three times if the warranty's transferable and the people from AFC said, "Yes." Then when I went to transfer it over to the new owner, they said that there's going to be a $50 charge transfer fee, and they never told me about that. The lady said that it's in the contract and sure enough, I found it in there. That was the only thing that I was not pleased with as I would've liked to have been told, "Yes. It's transferable but it costs $50 to do so." Other than that, the overall experience was easy and I would definitely recommend AFC. And in fact, we bought a house and bought the home warranty from them for the new house, as well. view less
We were selling a home. I researched on the internet about home warranties and America's First Choice Home Club was ranked in the top 3 of a website that I saw. Their prices were good and affordable especially with the 15% discount I was given. I also like that their call out was $60. Also, the reps had been very friendly, too.

My biggest thing was that we bought it so that it
... view more
# 114096
Irving - TX 08-08-2017
Gina Stewart Irving TX
Posted On 08/08/17
Review No. 114066
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. They are such a rip off. First of all they require a huge down payment (other home warranty companies does not). When my refrigerator stop working on a Saturday, I called them and received the answering service. They took a message and said that someone would return my call on Monday. Close to the end of business, no phone call, so I called again, another message. It took 3 days for someone to return my call. They sent no one out but said my refrigerator was old and that they would give me $150.00 for replacement cost. No one came out to even take a look at it.

When my car was stolen so was my wallet, I had to cancel my credit cards. They were on auto pay. When they called to get payment, at the time I didn't have my credit cards mail to me, once I did, I tried calling them....could not get ahold of anyone in the accounting dept. Their hours are from 9:30 to 4:30 est. When I called during those times, went to voice mail so I left my name, credit card number, date, and security code. A week later they cancelled my policy. They said since my policy was cancelled due to non-payment I was due no refund. At that time, I started looking around and went the American Home Shield. NO DEPOSIT, NO PRORATED AMOUNT ON OLD APPLIANCES, BETTER RATING, NO CONTRACT AND MOST IMPORTANTLY LESS MONTHLY PAYMENT . DON'T WALK AWAY, RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!! view less
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. They are such a rip off. First of all they require a huge down payment (other home warranty companies does not). When my refrigerator stop working on a Saturday, I called them and received the answering service. They took a message and said that someone would return my call on Monday. Close to the end of business, no phone call, so I called again, another
... view more
# 114066
Murray - KY 08-02-2017
Larry Lockhart Murray KY
Posted On 08/02/17
Review No. 113739
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
My concern with AFC is that they sold me a Gold Plan (the most expensive) and indicated that all that I would ever have to pay was the $60 service fee per repair or replacement. What they did not tell me was that every repair service has a deductible based on the age of the appliance. I have not been able to read my contract's fine print as it is located at another location but I am sure that the deductible clause is in there somewhere. However, it was not mentioned in the great sales pitch that I received 2 years ago but when I had a repair made, it was the first thing they asked. "What is the serial and model number so that we can determine the age of the appliance and calculate the depreciation factor to the repair". I even called and pretended to be a new customer and asked about any deductible and 2 separate individuals both told me that the deductible only applied to replacement, not repairs. I am not sure if they are not telling the truth or if they are being trained only on what management wants them to know. I do not recommend this company or anyone that has a deductible as by the time you pay for the plan, the service fee and have the repair cost discounted for the appliance age, you can pay for the repair yourself. view less
My concern with AFC is that they sold me a Gold Plan (the most expensive) and indicated that all that I would ever have to pay was the $60 service fee per repair or replacement. What they did not tell me was that every repair service has a deductible based on the age of the appliance. I have not been able to read my contract's fine print as it is located at another location but I am sure that
... view more
# 113739
Garden Grove - CA 07-14-2017
Janice Rogers Garden Grove CA
Posted On 07/14/17
Review No. 112549
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I had signed up for this company and paid my good faith deposit. Then after the 30 days I filed a claim. I was told I'd have to wait an additional 30 days otherwise I was going to be charged for the service. This company is a complete hoax and does not supply the services they are required per my agreement. They are in breach of contract. Do not use this company!
# 112549
Stockton - CA 07-14-2017
Connie Stockton CA
Posted On 07/14/17
Review No. 112532
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Really upset that no one could be reached to file my claim, that's not a good look at all.
# 112532
Phoenix - AZ 07-12-2017
Darlene Phoenix AZ
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112389
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I had a home warranty before but it did not work out well. However, the idea was good. It covers what insurance doesn't so I went with America’s First Choice Home Club. The people that I talked to were extremely helpful. They answered each question and were encouraging. We had issues with the hot water heater so I called them about it. The contractor called me the next day from the time I filed the claim. There was a sense of urgency because we didn't want it to explode and within the next day they were there. view less
I had a home warranty before but it did not work out well. However, the idea was good. It covers what insurance doesn't so I went with America’s First Choice Home Club. The people that I talked to were extremely helpful. They answered each question and were encouraging. We had issues with the hot water heater so I called them about it. The contractor called me the next day from the time I
... view more
# 112389
TUCSON - AZ 06-07-2017
Lory Warren TUCSON AZ
Posted On 06/07/17
Review No. 110802
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Only used it 1 time when my hot water heater stopped working. It needed the gas valve replaced. AFC depreciated the 15 years of the hot water heater on a repair! Not a replacement, but the repair. Never heard of that before. We had only had the policy about 4 months. Asked for a refund since I had put a downpayment for the 3 year price. They deducted a cancellation fee and the cost of the repair even though I paid a monthly installment. Rubbing salt in the wound, I received no refund!

We got home warranty insurance because our house and major components are now 15 years old. Even the salesperson that sold us the policy said they should not have depreciated a repair. Only replacements.

Bottom line, we paid enough between the repair and premiums to pay for 2 hot water heaters.

We have a rental house and have Fidelity home warranty for that. That house is 43 years old and we have never had them "depreciate" for repairs.

This company is a rip off! view less
Only used it 1 time when my hot water heater stopped working. It needed the gas valve replaced. AFC depreciated the 15 years of the hot water heater on a repair! Not a replacement, but the repair. Never heard of that before. We had only had the policy about 4 months. Asked for a refund since I had put a downpayment for the 3 year price. They deducted a cancellation fee and the cost of
... view more
# 110802
Hubertus - WI 04-19-2017
Patrick Hubertus WI
Posted On 04/19/17
Review No. 109588
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We were having problems with our fridge freezing items. The first service tech was a bit of a bust and didn't resolve the issue completely. I called back to let them know I was still having issues. That's when being a member really shined! The second repairman was a blessing and not only took care of the issue, helped us understand more about the fridge. In all this was a great experience. The customer service rep heard my issue with the first service tech and took care of the problem. I am a repeat customer with AFC and will continue to use them in the future. view less
We were having problems with our fridge freezing items. The first service tech was a bit of a bust and didn't resolve the issue completely. I called back to let them know I was still having issues. That's when being a member really shined! The second repairman was a blessing and not only took care of the issue, helped us understand more about the fridge. In all this was a great experience. The
... view more
# 109588
Virginia Beach - VA 04-08-2017
Donald Tompkins Virginia Beach VA
Posted On 04/08/17
Review No. 109425
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
They deny claims and give ridiculous excuses not to pay. Do not use this company--they are con artists.
# 109425
GAHANNA - OH 03-28-2017
Chinchilla GAHANNA OH
Posted On 03/28/17
Review No. 109268
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

I do NOT recommend this company. After making extensive attempts to work with them, I sent this final letter:

"Americas First Choice Home Club Representative:

Neither I nor my spouse have received a voice mail from you like you stated in your email, and I am very unsatisfied with how your company is handling this service request. In fact, I am now quite wary of your company. If my service issue cannot be resolved, I will initiate the dispute process with my credit card.

I purchased my policy with you last May, and at the time I paid $495.00 upfront. I was sold this membership and told that if I needed any service for my appliances, I would pay a flat service fee for repair or replacement, as is explained in the contract and on your website. I understand and made clear that some of my appliances are originals that came with my home, and while some of them are older, I was assured that I could rely on your company for assistance with repairs or replacements; I even bought the top-end plan you offered because of this. Your website also states clearly that 'if the item can be repaired, it will be for the flat service fee.'

My spouse and I have made no claims under this plan until now, and this has been my first experience trying to work with your company. When my spouse and I called to request service for my dryer and my oven, we understood from your representative that we would pay a service fee ($60 per appliance) to have the appliance fixed if possible. If repair wasn't possible then a limited cash value would be offered because of my appliance's age. My spouse paid the service technician $129.00 (2x $60 + $9 taxes, he requested). He told him that he couldn't help with the dryer, and referred us to another company, giving us their card and offering no other resolution (something I could have done with a YellowPages). With my stove, he told my spouse he could get the part and make the repair, but when he called your company, he was told you wouldn't pay more than $100 towards the repair. This is NOT what you had told us. The repair IS possible. Of course, because he was unfamiliar with who was to pay what, and because his company couldn't provide service before receiving full payment, he left. Now, at the very minimum, we are going to have to be available at home again to meet him. I question why your service providers do not know the details of your program, payment, and service expectations.

I have now paid $495 membership, plus $129 today, and I have received no resolution for my dryer problem. For my oven problem, I'm now being told that I must pay the service company another $217.65. And, in the meantime, I still have problems with the appliances!! Now, my latest contact with your company leads me to believe I am expected to pay more (yet another, different amount).

Please pay the service provider the necessary amount to have my oven repaired. You have already made clear that you will not help us with our dryer (even though we were charged for a service call for that too!). If your company will not take care to pay the service provider, I will begin the dispute process with my credit card company. I will not continue to do business with your company and will contact the Better Business Bureau. I can be reached at the number below, or you can reach my spouse..."

Of course, I received no response. My credit card company assures me that they will get one.
view less

I do NOT recommend this company. After making extensive attempts to work with them, I sent this final letter:

"Americas First Choice Home Club Representative:

Neither I nor my spouse have received a voice mail from you like you stated in your email, and I am very unsatisfied with how your company is handling this service request. In fact, I am now quite
... view more
# 109268
Wyandotte - OK 03-08-2017
JanetCoates Wyandotte OK
Posted On 03/08/17
Review No. 108980
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Beware if you live rural! Had a claim Dec 2016, AFC Manager called to say "Sears won't work with us, will have to coordinate yourself". So I did, had to pay the entire Sears bill, then submit for payment. I promptly sent copies of all receipts to AFC after coordinating over 2 more phone calls. I was told my refund would be sent. Weeks later, I had to call, would be 6 wks. Today, March 8. I had to call AFC to report NO CHECK!! Said would be mailed this week. They had no excuse as to why it hasn't already been mailed. Now I'll have to follow up again. Not a good 1st experience, Customer Service always friendly but POOR company results. view less
Beware if you live rural! Had a claim Dec 2016, AFC Manager called to say "Sears won't work with us, will have to coordinate yourself". So I did, had to pay the entire Sears bill, then submit for payment. I promptly sent copies of all receipts to AFC after coordinating over 2 more phone calls. I was told my refund would be sent. Weeks later, I had to call, would be 6 wks. Today,
... view more
# 108980
carrollton - TX 12-22-2016
soo carrollton TX
Posted On 12/22/16
Review No. 107787
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Don't use this company. This is cheating.
If I can give them no star, I am willing to give zero star to them.
When I got this warranty, they explained me that all the heating or a/c issue will be included.
The only thing I need to pay is just $60 trip fee, so I got the premium plan.

My heater is not working fine, so I just called help.
When the technician told me about it, they could just replace the control panel whatever, and I need to pay only $60 for trip charge.
I got a phone call from the company and I heard that they couldn't pay it cause the damaged one was control panel that they were covering, but the damage was from secondary source from some of my neighbors or some whether issue.
Wait a minute.
The damaged one, they pay. but they can't because it was damaged from other source? Then, what is other source? How come they could be damaged?
They don't know from where, and keep saying just from other source.
I feel like it is really ridiculous and they are trying not to pay money to fix it.
How come they say it is secondary damage if they don't know where it came from?

They are cheaters.
I will cancel it. They told me I can cancel anytime but I need to pay cancellation fee. They even didn't tell me about cancellation fee.
whatever, I am done.

Do NOT get this america's first choice home club.
They are trying to rip off your money and don't give any benefit.
Worst warranty company ever. view less
Don't use this company. This is cheating.
If I can give them no star, I am willing to give zero star to them.
When I got this warranty, they explained me that all the heating or a/c issue will be included.
The only thing I need to pay is just $60 trip fee, so I got the premium plan.

My heater is not working fine, so I just called help.
When the
... view more
# 107787
la habra - CA 12-21-2016
Gordon la habra CA
Posted On 12/21/16
Review No. 107761
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company does not deserve a single star . The customer service rep named Angie cancelled my service order and now I have been waiting on a plumber for a week during the xmas holiday . If Angie answers the phone hang up and call back . This company is about how they can avoid paying a claim rather than helping a customer . I will not be renewing and will be seeking legal counsel for a refund. DO NOT SIGN WITH AMERICAS FIRST CHOICE. view less
This company does not deserve a single star . The customer service rep named Angie cancelled my service order and now I have been waiting on a plumber for a week during the xmas holiday . If Angie answers the phone hang up and call back . This company is about how they can avoid paying a claim rather than helping a customer . I will not be renewing and will be seeking legal counsel for a
... view more
# 107761
Next

Rate AFC – Americas First Choice

Thank you for the feedback. Please regularly check your inbox or spam folder for further updates on this!
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact afchomeclub.com directly.