×

Residential Warranty Services

Hey, are you researching
Residential Warranty Services?

Get an accurate quote for free.

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Residential Warranty Services

Residential Warranty Services

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.2 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Write an honest review now !

P.O. Box 797 Carmel, IN 46082 AL, AR, IN, MI, MO, TN
888-351-0908 $375
Premium $375
Deductible $75
Effective Immediately
NHSCA Membership No
Coverage Area Selected States Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Michigan, Missouri, Tennessee
Years In Business 30
Total Reviews 8
Complaint Resolution No
BBB Rating A+
Executive Profiles P Nathan Thornberry - , President -
No. of Employees 51 - 200
Headquarters Carmel, IN
Address P.O. Box 797 Carmel, IN 46082
Alias NA

Write an honest review now !

Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Reviews & Ratings

Louisville - KY 04-19-2018
Rachel Louisville KY
Posted On 04/19/18
Review No. 125369
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Yes, they let you pick your own contractor. Yes, they supposedly cover more things than other home warranty companies. The deductible is a little higher than others at $99, but it’s supposedly worth it. But if you expect to get reimbursed for a claim, don’t hold your breath.

We had a dishwasher start leaking 2 months after we moved into our new home. We got a repairman out to look at it and paid for the repairs: $59 service call charge, $66 labor, $23 gasket, and $28 splash guard. About $180 total. Minus our $99 deductible, we were expecting to get about $80 give or take. Not much in the grand scheme of things. Weeks go by after we submitted our receipt and we never heard anything. I finally called and they told me that the gasket and the splash guard constitute two separate claims for the dishwasher, and therefore the $99 deductible applied twice and wiped out any money we might have received. Seriously? Come on. The splash guard took the repairman two seconds to put in, and didn’t cost any extra labor or service call while they were there. I should have at least gotten the $80 less the cost of the splash guard. But nevermind that because these parts were installed at the same time, Residential Warranty Services only had to pay one service call and one labor charge. If they had had to pay separately... two separate claims as they’re trying to argue, I figure they owe me $59 (service call) + $66 labor + $23 minus $99 for the gasket (net $49) and $59 + $66 + $28 minus $99 for the splash guard (net $54). So about $100 total using their logic. SMH.

Bottom line is, they don’t want to pay, and they won’t pay. God forbid something serious like the air conditioner goes out... I’m sure we’d be more totally screwed than just losing $80. Save your money and don’t use this company. They are dishonest and they don’t care about you once they have your money. view less
Yes, they let you pick your own contractor. Yes, they supposedly cover more things than other home warranty companies. The deductible is a little higher than others at $99, but it’s supposedly worth it. But if you expect to get reimbursed for a claim, don’t hold your breath.

We had a dishwasher start leaking 2 months after we moved into our new home. We got a repairman out
... view more
# 125369
Indianapolis - IN 04-13-2018
Lane Indianapolis IN
Posted On 04/13/18
Review No. 125162
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This warranty includes coverage for the roof, Main water line and sewer line, termite treatment, unlimited appliances, there are zero pre existing conditions when used in conjunction with a valid home inspection. Pool coverage and septic tank pumping can be added to it. It covers 29 items specifically excluded by most other home warranties including garage door springs and photo sensors. It even covers the low voltage wiring in the home and HVAC maintenance! You can even use your own contractor if you want so that you don't have any scheduling issues. They will move heaven and earth to help you through the annoyance of having something go wrong in your home and even help you to reduce the costs involved if on the rare occasion an issue falls outside of the terms of coverage. They will be there for you and that is what counts most. view less
This warranty includes coverage for the roof, Main water line and sewer line, termite treatment, unlimited appliances, there are zero pre existing conditions when used in conjunction with a valid home inspection. Pool coverage and septic tank pumping can be added to it. It covers 29 items specifically excluded by most other home warranties including garage door springs and photo sensors. It
... view more
# 125162
Indianapolis - IN 03-13-2018
Ryan Indianapolis IN
Posted On 03/13/18
Review No. 123723
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Residential Warranty Services is 100% a scam. I received their supposed "90 Day" warranty with my home inspection. Unfortunately, many things were missed during that inspection that caused problems. My inspector told me to file a claim against his provided policy. RWS has agreed that a portion of my roof leaks repairs were covered under their policy, though things like my garage door not working aren't covered. I've been dealing with my claim for over 4 months. Every time I call they want a different detail about the work required and the specific cause. Each time that information is provided by myself and my contractor a month goes by and I call again and they give me a different request for information. I'm on my 5th round of providing EXACTLY what they ask for and dealing with my 3rd person. I'm trying to determine how to take legal action against them because they are 100% a scam that doesn't pay any sort of claim. view less
Residential Warranty Services is 100% a scam. I received their supposed "90 Day" warranty with my home inspection. Unfortunately, many things were missed during that inspection that caused problems. My inspector told me to file a claim against his provided policy. RWS has agreed that a portion of my roof leaks repairs were covered under their policy, though things like my garage door not
... view more
# 123723
Kutztown - PA 01-30-2018
Sprague Kutztown PA
Posted On 01/30/18
Review No. 122245
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Do not use RWS! WORST COMPANY EVER!

We bought our home in July 2017. Literally the day after closing, we opened a cabinet in the finished basement to find black mold covering the back wall of the cabinet. Not sure how it was missed during the inspection, it was clearly visible once you open the cabinet door. It turned out we had quite a large mold problem in the basement and we spent $6000 on remediation as soon as we bought the house. That is just to get rid of the mold, it doesn't include any repair cost. All the cabinets had to be removed, along with a large portion of drywall and all the flooring. We have been fighting with them for six months. They wont return you call. Every time you call in, they say the claim is still under review. They will not let you talk to a manager and say a manager will call you back within 24 hours. Doesn't happen. We called in again at the end of December and the representative on the phone said it looked like we were going to be getting $1000. We told them that was unacceptable and they said a manager would review and call back. That didn't happen and then finally, after seven months, they sent us a check for $450. Called back in to complain and the rep said we should have gotten at least $1200, which is still way below what our policy says we are entitled to, and they told us they would escalate it and have a manager call. Still waiting for that call. Haven't cashed the check for fear they will say that doing so meant we accepted the terms. Still don't have drywall or flooring in our basement. view less
Do not use RWS! WORST COMPANY EVER!

We bought our home in July 2017. Literally the day after closing, we opened a cabinet in the finished basement to find black mold covering the back wall of the cabinet. Not sure how it was missed during the inspection, it was clearly visible once you open the cabinet door. It turned out we had quite a large mold problem in the basement and we
... view more
# 122245
Port St Lucie - FL 11-04-2017
Matt Port St Lucie FL
Posted On 11/04/17
Review No. 118109
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I'm pretty sure this company is a scam. I put in a claim for a broken A/C unit on a Wednesday, the representative told me that he'd submit it and someone would get back to me in a hour. After giving it almost 48 hours I called back to see what was going on, their response "We'll call you in a hour."

I called back 5 more times that day, talking to a representative and a supervisor, and all they would tell me is that they're working on it and they'll call back in a hour.

No one ever calls back, my last call they advised me to call someone and get the work done and they would reimburse us within 30 business days. When I asked what guarantee do I have I'll be reimbursed, their reply "you have a policy, so I guess we have to..." I feel like this company took my money and ran, in my opinion they're crooks.

view less
I'm pretty sure this company is a scam. I put in a claim for a broken A/C unit on a Wednesday, the representative told me that he'd submit it and someone would get back to me in a hour. After giving it almost 48 hours I called back to see what was going on, their response "We'll call you in a hour."

I called back 5 more times that day, talking to a representative and a
... view more
# 118109
Westfield - IN 10-31-2017
Richard A Westfield IN
Posted On 10/31/17
Review No. 118009
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
RWS has horrible customer service with a useless home warranty plan. I will outline the reasons I make this claim in the following paragraphs, but I wanted to start off by making clear that if you are planning on purchasing a service or product from Residential Warranty Service or if one of their “home warranty” plans are part of an agreement in the purchase of your new home, I would strongly advise you to keep shopping for other home warranties or negotiate for a different home warranty service. My advice and recommendation are based on the consumer experience that my family has endured as outlined below.

Issue #1: Our most recent experience involves the condition of our furnace. We just purchased our home in July of 2017, and last week had a reputable, well-known service company inspect and perform routine service on our furnace. The service technician uncovered serious issues that were not discovered during our pre-sale home inspection. The most serious issue being the overwhelming presence of bacteria growth, which the technician noted in his findings report. We were advised that continued use in the system’s current condition would pose a significant risk to the health of our family (my wife and two small children), essentially rendering the system useless. Of secondary concern were 3 pitted contactors which were causing an inefficient draw of electricity and would likely soon fail to turn on or off. The technician recommended total system replacement $10,000+, but also provided repair/bandaid options to return our furnace to usable condition (over $3000).

RWS’s response: Upon review of our home warranty with RWS we were relieved to see that furnace/HVAC system cleaning was included as stated on the paperwork we received at signing and the documentation on their website. This assumption was INCORRECT. The RWS representative informed my wife that system cleaning is only covered if there is a failure in the system. I have yet to find this fine print anywhere in their documentation. This begs several questions. 1) Even though the amount of bacteria growth renders our system unusable, this is still not considered a failure by RWS. What is RWS’s definition of system failure? And, most importantly 2) What other less-than-forthcoming marketing practices are they using to persuade consumers to buy their service, but fail to deliver in real-world scenarios?

They were willing to work with us on repairing the secondary issue (failing contactors), at least it seemed that way at first. After researching the issue, the manager/representative came back and said that they could cover the repair of the 3 contactors ($853 as quoted by the reputable repair service) after paying the $150 deductible on each. The manager/representative then told my wife that it would be cheaper to pay it out rather than pay the deductible. From this one dishonest statement, I can infer two things, 1) RWS has no respect for us as customers by openly insulting our intelligence and ability to do quick math, and 2) they are not afraid to tell their customers bold-faced lies and will stop at nothing to avoid paying out claims to their clients.

It is now November in Indiana, it is cold, and we need a working furnace. Because of RWS’s failure and misleading marketing practices, we are forced to pay out-of-pocket for these repairs to keep my family SAFE and WARM. A home warranty is intended to give you peace-of-mind when purchasing a new home, instead RWS has delivered STRESS, DISSAPPOINTMENT and discourteous conversation.
view less
RWS has horrible customer service with a useless home warranty plan. I will outline the reasons I make this claim in the following paragraphs, but I wanted to start off by making clear that if you are planning on purchasing a service or product from Residential Warranty Service or if one of their “home warranty” plans are part of an agreement in the purchase of your new home, I would
... view more
# 118009
Nashville - TN 11-30-2016
Anvil Nashville TN
Posted On 11/30/16
Review No. 107360
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
TOP 5 BAD INDICATORS YOU SHOULD NOT USE R.W.S.
No local contractors want to do work with RWS for plumbing or HVAC. Bad indicator No. 1.
Yelp rating of 1.0 stars... Bad indicator No. 2
Not accredited by the BBB and a "B" rating .... No. 3
Google rating of 2 stars or less depending on when you check... Bad indicator No. 4
Sold like hot cakes by realtors to unsuspecting home buyers... No. 5
BONUS..... 93 complaints made to the BBB. view less
TOP 5 BAD INDICATORS YOU SHOULD NOT USE R.W.S.
No local contractors want to do work with RWS for plumbing or HVAC. Bad indicator No. 1.
Yelp rating of 1.0 stars... Bad indicator No. 2
Not accredited by the BBB and a "B" rating .... No. 3
Google rating of 2 stars or less depending on when you check... Bad indicator No. 4
Sold like hot cakes by realtors to
... view more
# 107360
Okla City - OK 01-20-2016
Linda Jarvis Okla City OK
Posted On 01/20/16
Review No. 96747
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible customer service, never call back! After 3 months waiting for some communication I contacted a repairman and paid for the termite repair myself. Don't use RWS!!!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 96747

Rate Residential Warranty Services

You may receive the response within 12-48 hours. Please keep checking your Inbox/Spam/Junk box.

We work very hard to keep our reviews and ratings fair and accurate, so please agree to the following:

  • I am an actual customer, past or present, of the company named in the review.
  • I was not promised a reward of some kind by the company I have written this review for.
  • I am neither an employee of the company nor that of a competitor named in the review.
     I Agree
Please check this box to bring balance to the home warranty industry.
You're all set. Now track Complaint Resolution Program (CRP) to get a status update in the next 48 hours!
Thank you for your contribution. Now you can also vote for your favorite company Residential Warranty Services to win 2018 People's Choice award here: https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/poll-for-people?ref=MTM5MQ==
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact RWSWarranty.com directly.